User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 103
  2. Negative: 11 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    I felt obligated to review this game after reading the user scores. I bought this game on a used shelf at gamespot, played it for like 10 minutes, then didn't touch it for a long time. Years even. Like most of the bad reviews, at first glance the characters don't seem that different from each other and the perspective seems a little too removed from the combat. The first level (which II felt obligated to review this game after reading the user scores. I bought this game on a used shelf at gamespot, played it for like 10 minutes, then didn't touch it for a long time. Years even. Like most of the bad reviews, at first glance the characters don't seem that different from each other and the perspective seems a little too removed from the combat. The first level (which I never got past at first) seemed almost generic and I thought the whole game was going to be like that. All of that first glance stuff is utterly wrong, and it is a tragedy that players didn't get deeper into it and spread the word. This is one of the most addictive games I have ever played. The music is varied and great, the game is epic long with many pretty locations. The characters follow a basic template, but vary in unique ways that you wouldn't expect from a game that looks like this. Just try using a couple and seeing the differences. Spider man swings from the ceiling, Thor flies, Captain America has his signature homing shield attack teleporters can warp through walls, iceman can cold blast fires out etc. It's more than enough to make the characters fun and not just seem like alternate skins. Especially when you consider that focusing on even just one character is pretty addictive. However a note: I suggest you either pick up the special edition (aka platinum edition), or gold if you can find a good price. You can't download the DLC for this game anymore, so you better get it with the purchase. Alternatively you could get the PC version and mods to let you use other characters including ones from PSP version, and even made up characters.

    Either way you will have a hard time finding online players. Get a friend involved or browse some still active forums for the game at sites like gamefaqs.
    Expand
  2. RyanW.
    Nov 3, 2006
    3
    I returned this after a night of play. This is a button-masher and the Marvel characters are really just skins for what are basically two character types: distance and melee. Playing as wolverine feels exactly like playing as the Thing. Playing as Iron Man feels exactly like playing as Spiderman. Yup-gameplay has all the depth of Gauntlet. The RPG element adds little-powers improve as I returned this after a night of play. This is a button-masher and the Marvel characters are really just skins for what are basically two character types: distance and melee. Playing as wolverine feels exactly like playing as the Thing. Playing as Iron Man feels exactly like playing as Spiderman. Yup-gameplay has all the depth of Gauntlet. The RPG element adds little-powers improve as ememies get stronger-you would scarcely know it was there if you let the process automate itself (an option). With all the characters on the screen at the time it is hard to tell if you are trying to beat up a bad guy, or say Iceman. Level design looks boxy, like it was done with some really basic kit. Graphically, it is (was) the ugliest game I owned for the 360. The plot and dialogue are all very kitchy and aimed squarely at the younger gamers. I'm glad I unloaded it before becoming too invested in it. Expand
  3. Aug 1, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ok I had really high hopes for this game after all the positive feedback it's received from here and actual critics. But I was sadly disappointed. I have played both Xmen Legends games and loved them both, even with the occasional flaw. This game started out ok, but didn't last. I decided just for fun to unlock all the playable characters. This left me feeling really disappointed. There were a total of maybe 12. Marvel has a huge world of characters yet the character list was shorter than a 10 year olds attention span. Secondly, the DLC is no longer for sale so the characters that are DLC only are no longer able to be reached. Now lets hit some of the characters, Wolverine and Deadpool both are mutants with a healing factor, so ideally it would be part of the character, but nope, it's part of costumes you can unlock. Another major flaw is the super attack you eventually unlock for every character, if you do yours everyone on your team that has it available follows suit, wasting possible 1 to 3 super finishers. Thirdly stairs.... Stairs in this game are so terrible that when you land on them while jumping you slide down them. Last on my list is Deadpools teleport ability instead of a double jump. While sometimes you could do it through doors others wouldn't allow you to, yet hitting a certain spot on the door and poof you're through. Then at a point you need to double jump to make a set of 3 gaps where dragon statues breath fire, Deadpool just sticks in mid air and swings his Katana's. All in all i payed 6 bucks for this game used in a bundle with Forza 2 and wish i hadn't. do not play this game!!!! Expand
  4. HenryJ.
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    I really enjoyed playing Marvel: Ultimate Alliance, the combat/action elements are tight, and the RPG stuff is kind of unique. Not the best camera angle in the world, but certaintly the very best looking overhead RPG of all time.
  5. KirkD.
    Oct 30, 2006
    9
    This game is outrageously fun, but some of the characters are unbalanced, for example, Deadpool is invincible. As in, unless you accidentally leap off a ledge (made even more difficult, because he can teleport), you will never die. Meanwhile colossus (who is made of steel) is fairly easy to kill. Other than a few small things of this nature, the game is absolutely fantastic.
  6. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    5
    I was very dissapointed by this game. Not only was it very boring and repetetive but the graphics were like a PS1 game. I would rather play Superman returns than this.
  7. FalakD.
    Nov 10, 2006
    8
    The only reason that this game got an 8 was that one player with this game is just brutal. Your going to end up playing with your parents just to have some fun. Get your friends and this game will make you go crazy. Multiplayer is just so fun you'll forget that your actually playing. Another reason is the story line is kinda weird at first cause all their doing are throwing random The only reason that this game got an 8 was that one player with this game is just brutal. Your going to end up playing with your parents just to have some fun. Get your friends and this game will make you go crazy. Multiplayer is just so fun you'll forget that your actually playing. Another reason is the story line is kinda weird at first cause all their doing are throwing random monsters at you for you to fight them and that's it. But for real f you got siblings you might want to get this game because it is so jokessss! Expand
  8. RedXIII
    Oct 28, 2006
    7
    I agree with Mike G, this game is definitly not a next generation title, the graphics are comparable to the ps2's xmen legends, as well as the gameplay. Though that being said the game is very fun to play, being able to pick from more than 20 comic book characters is great, you can assemble a team of brute force or agility or a mix. This game is not that difficult but a lot of fun to I agree with Mike G, this game is definitly not a next generation title, the graphics are comparable to the ps2's xmen legends, as well as the gameplay. Though that being said the game is very fun to play, being able to pick from more than 20 comic book characters is great, you can assemble a team of brute force or agility or a mix. This game is not that difficult but a lot of fun to beat the snot out of the classic villians from the comic books, as well as bonus scenes if you have the hero/nemesis combination in battle. Ultimately this game is a whole lot o fun, the game play is fun, it looks good (not quite up to par with the next gen graphics ie:Oblivion) but still looks nice, the sound is good, upgrade system is good, overall quality is good, this game is worth it though if you dont like comic books I would not buy and wait for next months game explosion (gears of war, Tony hawk, COD3, etc) but this game is a nice end to the drought of GOOD 360 games. Expand
  9. MichaelB.
    Oct 31, 2006
    9
    I think this game is fantastic. At first I thought it was just like previous games (X-Men Legends, Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance), but as I leveled up a few characters I discovered the combat is much, much more varied and interesting. In addition to all the powers and combo moves, you can grapple for weapons (fighting to pull them from an opponent's grasp), throwing enemies over I think this game is fantastic. At first I thought it was just like previous games (X-Men Legends, Baldur's Gate Dark Alliance), but as I leveled up a few characters I discovered the combat is much, much more varied and interesting. In addition to all the powers and combo moves, you can grapple for weapons (fighting to pull them from an opponent's grasp), throwing enemies over ledges (or getting thrown yourself - ack!), smashing enemies into environmental objects, etc. Lots of unlockables (art, costumes, moves, cinematics, missions, achievements...), plus you can experiment with playing lots of different heroes. I think they did a great job of bringing all the comic book heroes and villains to life. Fine, it's not Gears of War, but it's fun and entertaining and well-executed. I expect to play it through several times, and that's even before considering the multiplayer/co-op aspect. Plenty of challenge, plenty of replayability, and most importantly, plenty of fun. Expand
  10. JohnA.
    Feb 19, 2007
    1
    Really overrated. It's a repetitive button masher, with way too much text, and an annoying virtual camera that you have to continually correct. You basically run through levels killing the same creatures over and over. The character selection is missing favs like the Hulk and Cyclops, while including plenty of lame ones like Spider Woman, MoonKnight, and Luke Cage. The end where you Really overrated. It's a repetitive button masher, with way too much text, and an annoying virtual camera that you have to continually correct. You basically run through levels killing the same creatures over and over. The character selection is missing favs like the Hulk and Cyclops, while including plenty of lame ones like Spider Woman, MoonKnight, and Luke Cage. The end where you fight Doom is ridiculously repetitive and difficult, and is a hugely anti-climactic moment after hours of thumb crunching gameplay. Fighting the Fantastic Four over and over and over is a really LAME way to end a game. Expand
  11. JohnG.
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    From a gamer who has played X-Men legends and X-men legends 2, when I first put this game in my console I was uninspired at best. After playing the first couple levels I was hooked. This game has so many different aspects that keep the game interesting. For example: 1)You cannot play the hard setting until you complete normal 2) A vast array of characters with different moves 3) Pickups From a gamer who has played X-Men legends and X-men legends 2, when I first put this game in my console I was uninspired at best. After playing the first couple levels I was hooked. This game has so many different aspects that keep the game interesting. For example: 1)You cannot play the hard setting until you complete normal 2) A vast array of characters with different moves 3) Pickups along the way which allow you to unlock characters 4) The achievements make the game that much better If you play this game with 3 of your friends it makes the game extremely challenging and thus really exciting because the computer controlled AI does not really lose all that much of their health during gameplay. Expand
  12. MarcD.
    Nov 3, 2006
    8
    This game suffers from numerous graphical and sound issues. The visuals and audio just don't seem to be next-gen enough. However, this is the only major issue I can find with this deep and fun game.
  13. DaveR.
    Nov 7, 2006
    6
    I agree this is not next generation material. This is worthy of the original XBOX only. There was absolutely no wow factor during this game. The design was unimaginative and repetitive.
  14. TheDarkKnight
    Oct 26, 2006
    7
    I was really dissapointed when I started to play this game. Mainly I think because I didn't like the story (which 1up will probably say is great since ethey thought justice league was terrible even though I thought it was perfect, like a comic book) But Its the same legend gameplay but I dunno I couldn't get that much into it as much as i did legends. I did play a good 3 hours I was really dissapointed when I started to play this game. Mainly I think because I didn't like the story (which 1up will probably say is great since ethey thought justice league was terrible even though I thought it was perfect, like a comic book) But Its the same legend gameplay but I dunno I couldn't get that much into it as much as i did legends. I did play a good 3 hours though and still nothing made me go this is great. Expand
  15. Matt
    Oct 28, 2006
    8
    Not as graphically stunning as I expect most next-gen games to be. Gameplay is simple beat 'em up style, but the level of customization, number of moves available, along with the formidable roster of Marvel characters are what makes this game worth playing. A must for Marvel fans and worth a look for the casual gamer.
  16. SebastianS.
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    Fun button masher that gets even better when your friends join. The game is meant to be an enjoyable romp more than an in-depth strategic fight system, but Marvel keeps gameplay between characters admirably unique. Iceman, for example, is definitely a ranged combatant, while the perpetually awesome Wolverine gets up close and personal. Possibilities for interesting synergy between Fun button masher that gets even better when your friends join. The game is meant to be an enjoyable romp more than an in-depth strategic fight system, but Marvel keeps gameplay between characters admirably unique. Iceman, for example, is definitely a ranged combatant, while the perpetually awesome Wolverine gets up close and personal. Possibilities for interesting synergy between characters exists--for example, Iceman's freeze rays allow for an instant kill on foes who receive a critical hit. Mr. Fantastic can use oversized fists to score a high critical hit rate. Put those two together and have some fun. Seasoned gamers will quickly discern exploitable powers & characters, but the game is still a blast. Have fun! Expand
  17. DavidH.
    Jun 12, 2007
    6
    A very bland title. Definitely not worthy of anything higher than maybe a 7, 8 if you're really in a good mood. While there is a nice wealth of unlockables and content, the gameplay itself is very 2 dimensional (no pun intended). The level design is awful; there is little more to do than mindlessly blast or hack your way through enemies. The attempts at introducing puzzles to the A very bland title. Definitely not worthy of anything higher than maybe a 7, 8 if you're really in a good mood. While there is a nice wealth of unlockables and content, the gameplay itself is very 2 dimensional (no pun intended). The level design is awful; there is little more to do than mindlessly blast or hack your way through enemies. The attempts at introducing puzzles to the fray are incredibly weak. Its a shame too considering how much effort was made to include so many characters from the Universe; but this game is in many ways a step backwards from the XML titles. Expand
  18. BryanM
    Sep 18, 2007
    8
    this is a pritty good game considering what kind of game it is. the graphics are not that great though becuase it is sapost to be a 360 game not a ps2 game. the controls are ok at best. there are a lot of charaters you can pick form and all have diffrent attacks. so if you have not played this game yet rent this game now.
  19. JacqueR.
    Nov 14, 2006
    10
    This game is very fun, very addicting, and very complete for any fan of the Marvel Universe. There are notable omissions from the game (Hulk, Punisher, etc..) but those are only because of contracts with other Developers. With 140+ characters used in the game, they are hardly missed. I only wish that Hawkeye wasn't a PSP exclusive to use on the 360. Fun single player mode, even more This game is very fun, very addicting, and very complete for any fan of the Marvel Universe. There are notable omissions from the game (Hulk, Punisher, etc..) but those are only because of contracts with other Developers. With 140+ characters used in the game, they are hardly missed. I only wish that Hawkeye wasn't a PSP exclusive to use on the 360. Fun single player mode, even more fun cooperating or competing against your friends! Expand
  20. JonJ.
    Oct 24, 2006
    10
    A very well thought our game that brings these characters out from the movies and into my living room.
  21. MikeG.
    Oct 26, 2006
    7
    Not next gen, but the game is fun. Has some framerate issuse but not that it hurts the game. Die hard comic collecters and super heroes fans a must have.anyone else I would say rent. I like the game but can only give a seven cause its not next gen and framerates tweaks.
  22. G.Camel
    Oct 28, 2006
    5
    It is worth checking out if you a die-hard marvel comic fan, but it lacks any originality. The mini games suck. I think the best aspect of this game will be the online multiplay.
  23. AnonymousMC
    Sep 21, 2008
    10
    Giving it a 10 to offset the low scores. This is a great game. If you love Marvel comics then you should own this game. The story does a great job of incorporating many characters and storylines. The character level ups and powers are all well done too. Also for fans of Xmen legends. Not the greatest in graphical terms but an amazingly fun game. Coop takes it to the next level.
  24. ringos
    Jul 21, 2009
    0
    Do not buy this game!!!!!!!i thought it would be ggod since it got such good reviews and Game informer gave it best comic book game ever, but it just sucked.you just go to one room, then press the same button over and over until everyones dead. Like ryan w. said every charector is either ranged or melee, and every member of each group plays the same. the graphics and camera sucks. IDo not buy this game!!!!!!!i thought it would be ggod since it got such good reviews and Game informer gave it best comic book game ever, but it just sucked.you just go to one room, then press the same button over and over until everyones dead. Like ryan w. said every charector is either ranged or melee, and every member of each group plays the same. the graphics and camera sucks. I don't see how anybody could possibly enjoy this "game". Expand
  25. Oct 29, 2012
    7
    Overall, Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is a real treat to all types of gamers, along with fans of comics. While nothing new is brought to the industry, the four-player campaign is something that has been shown successful, and definitely was a great feature to implement. This is recommended to anyone who likes violence, RPGs, and large casts of characters.
  26. Oct 4, 2011
    8
    Story: 5
    Characters: 10
    Graphics: 7
    Setting: 7
    Multiplayer: 9
    Soundtrack: 7
    Audio: 8
    Gameplay: 7
    Re-Playability Value: 7
    Fun Factor: 9

    Score: 7.6/10 = B
  27. Nov 7, 2011
    9
    It is an addicting game with a long storyline. You can play as so many different Marvel characters and that, combined with the great gameplay combat makes this easily recommendable.
  28. Mar 20, 2013
    8
    Marvel: Ultimate Alliance is a great game, for instance you can play as your favourite superheroes and villains. The graphics are not as good as the story and missions, because the missions in MUA2 really kicked ass, MUA1 also kicked ass. What else was good about the game is the boss battles, because they are really fun fight the villains everybody loves or hates. The bad thing is the gameMarvel: Ultimate Alliance is a great game, for instance you can play as your favourite superheroes and villains. The graphics are not as good as the story and missions, because the missions in MUA2 really kicked ass, MUA1 also kicked ass. What else was good about the game is the boss battles, because they are really fun fight the villains everybody loves or hates. The bad thing is the game is too short, it only took me about four days to complete. But overall MUA1 gets 8/10. Expand
  29. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    A mind-blowingly expansive story and lovely character diversity overcome some shoddy graphics. "Marvel: Ultimate Alliance" marks one of the greatest superhero games in gaming history.
  30. Jan 16, 2014
    9
    Marvel:Ultimate Alliance is a gem that should be bought by anyone who has a love for Marvel or any of it's characters. Before this game, Comic book characters were werent getting games that made gamers more interested into reading the fiction that the characters were based off of. X-men was garnering the attention of the common folk with their successful movies and its beloved and greatlyMarvel:Ultimate Alliance is a gem that should be bought by anyone who has a love for Marvel or any of it's characters. Before this game, Comic book characters were werent getting games that made gamers more interested into reading the fiction that the characters were based off of. X-men was garnering the attention of the common folk with their successful movies and its beloved and greatly played X-men Legends,along with its sequel,Rise Of Apocalypse. But who knew those two games would be the foundation for what was known for the only game featuring the most characters ever represented from Marvel in any video game ever? sure,about 24 or so characters were playable,and thats still alot of characters,but with every character you interact with fully voiced, it was still a sight to behold that the spectrum of villains and heroes,from known staples like Wolverine and Spider-Man,to lesser known characters like Vision and Winter Solider,were represented and depicted the way they have and should be. but i digress. the story here starts with the now widely known S.H.I.E.L.D Hellecarrier being attacked by Dr.Doom,forcing Nick Fury to call upon the collective team of Spider-man,Captain America,Thor,and Wolverine to step in and save the day.as the story progresses you will be taken to worlds like Asgard and Atlantica to the Skrull world and Latveria. one of the things this game does right is give you levels that take place in worlds respectfully designed and created depicting their known locales long enough to admire the scenery,but not so long as to overstay their welcome. one level will never feel too much like the last one before it. the story,although not entirely boring or original,does its job into justifying why and where you're going to where the game takes you. it serves it's purpose into keeping you involved or interested,if not anything else, reason to continue playing just to see where it takes you next. this game has also been released on virtually every platform,so accessibility to enjoying it is hardly a issue for anyone(except the GBA version,which is a colossal mess of a game).the graphics,no matter what version you pick up,is serviceable. while the Xbox360 is the best looking and the preferred console to play it on, the PS2,Xbox,and PSP renditions go down this Comic Book look and color,which works perfectly for the game,while the 360 shoots for a more realistic,detailed design. the gameplay should be familiar to anyone whos played the X-men Legends titles or a Diablo game. it sports an over-the-top view of a team of 4 super heroes you put together,unlocking more characters to play as you go on. while everyones powers arent completely distinct from one another,visually they depict the superhero well,and visually thats all you could ask for.it doesn't bring the game down,but it is somewhat of a disappointment,if not expected game design,seeing how they've crammed so much into one game alone. the gameplay is where this game is either made or broke. luckily,that is something that makes this game fun and involving. every character has powers showcasing the super in superhero.and as the game progresses they learn new powers through an RPG-like system of leveling up,so if you decide to play with the same superheroes throughout your adventure,you still wouldn't feel bored of playing this game. sure,the critics can complain about the game being repetitive, but i would reply by asking "wouldn't all games be repetitive?" in first person shooters,you're always firing at something. in RPG games,you follow a set structure to achieve the same goal. in Racing games,you're always going for first place.but then why doesn't it feel that way for those genres? same reason i would tell you for this game:it's because of the little details and the variation of the goals themselves and how they are depicted. sure,you'll be fighing one clone enemy after another,to which visually they differ from level to level,but are generally fought the same,sometimes they have shields you need to either remove or attack around,sometimes they have health regeneration that revive fallen enemies and continue healing themselves,and other times they have resistance to psychic abilities or elemtal attacks like ice and fire.then come the villains,who you will have to fight multiple times in a level. not the same villain,mind you,but for example, in the first level on the hellecarrier,you come across Scorpion. after him,you will then later on come across Nuclear Man and Winter Soldier. then you will come across Fing Fang Foom. so just when you get tired of fighting clone after clone,here comes a challenging and interesting cameo from a villain of the large world of Marvel to come and stop you in your goal. some people may say this is repetition cause in the most general sense this never changes level to level,but like i said,its the small details that make it feel different. the sound is servicable,but not oscar winning by any means. youll love MUA Expand
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 68 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 68
  2. Negative: 0 out of 68
  1. It's a well-made game that you can try again and again with numerous heroes and their plethora of powers. If you're a comic-book fan, this is probably the most satisfying videogame ever made for you.
  2. The critical path is incredibly long and is joined by bonus comic missions for most of the characters. The teammate AI is very impressive, often getting to baddies before you even see them, but once again, Raven has designed a game that is better through cooperative play.
  3. 82
    Despite a few welcome wrinkles to combat and character customization, this is pretty much the same game we have seen before. The level design and puzzles are a snooze, lacking any innovation. But who cares? This game is about gathering a few friends and laying the smack down on some villains.