Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. Feb 14, 2011
    91
    The possibilities are endless, and you'll experience something new in every match you play. Try to leave your preconceived notions about what this game should be at the door, pick it up, and just have fun because that's what this game is all about.
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    90
    It's still a wonderful, hugely fun game, because the fan service and foundation of its 3-on-3 fighting action is very sound.
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    90
    Fighting with the iconic Marvel and Capcom characters is a fun experience for experts and players who are new to the genre. There could be more stages, though.
  4. Feb 14, 2011
    90
    While not completely perfect, Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds is a helluva lot of fun. Packed with a good balance of Marvel and Capcom players, you'll find this almost entirely offensively minded game a non-stop fighting thrill ride that you won't want to stop riding.
  5. Mar 23, 2011
    90
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3 might be a bit light in the gaming modes, there's no denying that the core gameplay is solid enough stands on its own and has something to offer for every type of gamer. Fighting fans of all flavors will enjoy the hybrid 2D-meets-3D gameplay, the smooth animations, and the excellent character special moves.
  6. Feb 14, 2011
    93
    Small gripes aside, you shouldn't miss Marvel vs. Capcom 3 if you have even a passing interest in Capcom, Marvel, the fighting genre, or good games. This pugilistic prize mimics the polished, accessible reinvention of Street Fighter IV, forming another strong leg for the resurrected fighting genre to stand on.
  7. Feb 28, 2011
    90
    MvC 3 delivers pretty much exactly what I would've expected a modern-day MvC to be - crazy gameplay, fantastic controls, a lot of roster variety and depth, and jaw-dropping graphics. The only area it underperforms in is the online play, which is still a little too laggy even with the patch and its barren online mode selection doesn't do the game justice. Everything else is pretty much fantastic though, and that sole black mark isn't big enough to dissuade me from giving this a high recommendation.
  8. Feb 14, 2011
    90
    All in all, MvC3 is undeniably a fine product, the result of a labor of love from its creators, and, indirectly, the fanbase that supports them. I'm sure some will be dissatisfied -- if you're expecting to play MvC3 like tournament MvC2, you'll likely wind up disappointed
  9. Feb 19, 2011
    100
    MvC3 is the same crazy, over-the-top fighting game that fans loved back in 2000, just with a fresh control scheme and a new coat of 3D, hi-res paint. Fighting game fans will fall in love with the "easy to play, hard to master" format.
  10. Feb 17, 2011
    97
    Marvel VS Capcom 3 is definitely the sequel that you have waited all those years for.
  11. Feb 23, 2011
    91
    Just like with its predecessor, I found myself smiling and laughing constantly while playing this game, and I think that's a pretty darn good indicator that this one is a winner. Excelsior!
  12. Feb 14, 2011
    90
    With spectacular comic book presentation, some of the most chaotic action in any game ever and sufficient technical depth to keep even ultra hardcore fight fans happy, this is the impossible - a worthy successor to Marvel vs Capcom 2.
  13. Feb 16, 2011
    90
    Unapologetic in more ways than one, exulting in the methodized chaos of its fighting engine in a way that few other games can.
  14. Mar 25, 2011
    90
    Frankly if you're a fighting game fan you're doing yourself a disservice by not playing this excellent title.
  15. Feb 24, 2011
    93
    Capcom has managed to make a fighting game that everyone can play and enjoy. Marvel vs Capcom 3 satisfies the hardcore fighter, yet is approachable for fighting amateurs.
  16. Feb 14, 2011
    100
    A game made great by an enormous amount of love and attention to detail. It's a worthy sequel to one of the most beloved fighting games of all time, brought to a current-gen level. Expect this one to be in heavy rotation among fans of fighting games for a long time coming.
  17. Feb 15, 2011
    90
    So, if you like fighting games and are looking for something new then by all means get this. If not, then rent it first and see if the lure of Ryu versus Spider-Man in glorious 3D for ever more is enough to suck you right in for the purchase when it's time to give it back to the store.
  18. Feb 21, 2011
    95
    Far more than just a fun novelty. It's backed by a pure, serious fighting game engine and it manages to deliver on all levels. It's fun, approachable by the novice, works with any number of players from solo through online to a local party environment and has incredible depth.
  19. 90
    The magic of the game is in its approachability... For both hardcore fighting fans and genre newbies, Marvel vs. Capcom 3 offers a whole lotta bang for your buck. [Mar 2011, p.70]
  20. 90
    Wildly chaotic but obscenely enjoyable. [Mar 2011, p.91]
  21. Feb 15, 2011
    90
    Marvel vs Capcom 3 is not a game, it's a nuclear rainbow explosion on steroids. There's nothing as crazy, fast and spectacular as it in the fighting genre right now. The gameplay is sure to appeal to both casual gamers and experts, and it's even more balanced than we expected. So much that it might even conquer a niche in the competitive tournaments, and that's definitely saying a lot for a Marvel vs Capcom title. Maybe it will never have the great balancing of games like Blazblue or Street Fighter IV, but it's an exhilarating beat em up that anyone should try, and that's more than enough to make it a masterpiece.
  22. Feb 14, 2011
    92
    Capcom has provided players with a package that rivals any other fighter on the market and surpasses the best of them in terms of presentation.
  23. Feb 14, 2011
    88
    Highly recommended for 2D fighting fans, a must-have for those who enjoyed the previous game, an excellent chance to return to a genre for those who left it years ago, and also a good option for many to discover a new style of game, through a charming roster of characters.
  24. Feb 24, 2011
    90
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3 can get complex, but it ramps you up with a smooth learning curve. I could feel my skills improving as I discovered more of the game's intricacies.
  25. Feb 17, 2011
    87
    Although Marvel vs. Capcom 3 isn't quite the perfect fighter that they'd tried so hard to create, it's not far off, and thanks to 8-player winner-stays-on lobbies and a plethora of bonus content to unlock – that doesn't include the majority of the game's characters! – Capcom's latest fighting game is set to burrow its way into your hearts for many months to come. If only they could have got the online connectivity up to scratch, it would have been a 90+. Shame.
  26. 90
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3: Fate of Two Worlds is probably one of the best fighting games I've ever played, and it's a nice change to see a fighting game be so accessible to newcomers while still having the depth that all those more hardcore players can appreciate.
  27. Feb 16, 2011
    95
    It is next to impossible not to recommend this game to anyone who is a fan of either of these two brands, as you will most assuredly find a fighter that suits your play style. Aside from the lack of spectator mode and redundant characters that made the final roster, I have nothing negative to say about this game.
User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 60
  2. Negative: 10 out of 60
  1. Feb 26, 2011
    4
    Capcom kinda messed this up. On one hand they simplified the control scheme so casual players can easily gain access to the game. On the other hand the stripped back modes, limited offline play and emphasis on online play lean towards hardcore gamers/tournament players. I would say while I like fighters, I would have to be a casual gamer, and I am really doubting if I should every actually keep the game. The fighting is solid, but I don't know how to do the flashy techniques that I would see in gameplay videos... why? Because there is no true tutorial mode. Mission mode is a chore, even going through it, I still don't understand how to do half of these things. I was also hoping for (the as promised) story mode, but Capcom somehow did not follow through. There is just arcade mode.....and thats it.
    Finally the character roster is alright, not the best. They were leaning towards more well known, modern games for Capcom and I guess whoever Marvel wanted for their side. Yet the charm for Marvel vs Capcom 1/2 was the combination on these completely random characters. In removing veterans like Megaman (in which including NONE of his incarnations makes no sense), Captain Commando, Strider and Jin, the legacy of Capcom is kinda just not there. Hell, they go and include MODOK and Dormammu ascharacters when its obvious that casuals wouldnt know who the hell they were, why does this then apply to Capcom characters? Makes no sense.

    Anyway this game just doesn't work for me. As a basic fighter it is spot on, but as an overall package it is lacking. I recently bought Power Stone Collection for PSP and I found that alot more fulfilling an experience for a game thats around 10 years old. But I guess Capcom know that the ones that love this game so much will be the ones that will shell out the dollars for the crazy amounts of DLC that this game needs to feel like a complete package.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    this game is good it might not be what people wanted from MvC3 but it is still good most of the characters in MvC3 are usable unlike MvC2 where out of the 56 playable characters that they had only about 10 were good for use in hardcore play. Better graphics more streamline gameplay great characters this game is global EVO worthy Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    What a great game! There have been several games lately that a lot of people have been eagerly awaiting for a long time, but this is the first that actually seems worth the wait. Stunning visuals that look like you are playing an interactive comic book. Great music and character voices. Each character is brilliantly realized and is faithful to the source material (Deadpool is hilarious). The game is fun for the accomplished fighting game fan and newcomers alike. There is a great deal of depth in the fighting engine even though it has been streamlined a bit, and it hasn't been stripped so much that it will disappoint the hardcore fans. If you're a newbie you can switch on simple-mode and if your friends didn't know any better they'd think you're a pro, even though you'll still get crushed online. A lot of people are complaining about there only being 36 playable characters in the game (4 of which are unlockable), which is cut back from the nearly 60 in Marvel vs. Capcom 2, however a lot of those fighters were duplicates with swapped out palettes ( they had the same movesets, strengths, weaknesses, exploits, etc., they just looked like different characters). Each character in MvC3 is a total individual, unique in both appearance and play-style. Each has four different optional appearances, although these are just mainly color swaps. New characters have been announced as DLC later down the road and I'm sure more are on the way, this is the way videogames are made and marketed nowadays and I'm not going to deduct points for this as the omission of these items doesn't diminish the quality of the game, later they will merely add to it and keep the game fresh long after the "new" has worn off. The only issue I have with the game and the reason I docked it a point is the lack of game modes. You only really get arcade, versus, training, and online versus. They're all pretty much the same. The only difference is that at the end of the arcade mode you get a static cut scene ending featuring the character you won with, it's not enough to be considered a story mode. A new mode has been announced as DLC but for one reason or another Capcom decided not to include it on disc. This doesn't break the game but it certainly should have been included as the number of game modes was the sole area I thought was lacking in this game. That said, this is still a fast, fun, and highly addictive fighting game. Easy to pick up and play, but hard to master. It is great for solo play or even better as a party game because everyone has heard of most of these characters and it is so easy to just pick up and start wailing away on opponents. If you like fighting games, Marvel comics, or Capcom games, this will keep you entertained for a long time to come. Full Review »