User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 164 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 164

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 15, 2011
    10
    this game is good it might not be what people wanted from MvC3 but it is still good most of the characters in MvC3 are usable unlike MvC2 where out of the 56 playable characters that they had only about 10 were good for use in hardcore play. Better graphics more streamline gameplay great characters this game is global EVO worthy
  2. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    What a great game! There have been several games lately that a lot of people have been eagerly awaiting for a long time, but this is the first that actually seems worth the wait. Stunning visuals that look like you are playing an interactive comic book. Great music and character voices. Each character is brilliantly realized and is faithful to the source material (Deadpool is hilarious). The game is fun for the accomplished fighting game fan and newcomers alike. There is a great deal of depth in the fighting engine even though it has been streamlined a bit, and it hasn't been stripped so much that it will disappoint the hardcore fans. If you're a newbie you can switch on simple-mode and if your friends didn't know any better they'd think you're a pro, even though you'll still get crushed online. A lot of people are complaining about there only being 36 playable characters in the game (4 of which are unlockable), which is cut back from the nearly 60 in Marvel vs. Capcom 2, however a lot of those fighters were duplicates with swapped out palettes ( they had the same movesets, strengths, weaknesses, exploits, etc., they just looked like different characters). Each character in MvC3 is a total individual, unique in both appearance and play-style. Each has four different optional appearances, although these are just mainly color swaps. New characters have been announced as DLC later down the road and I'm sure more are on the way, this is the way videogames are made and marketed nowadays and I'm not going to deduct points for this as the omission of these items doesn't diminish the quality of the game, later they will merely add to it and keep the game fresh long after the "new" has worn off. The only issue I have with the game and the reason I docked it a point is the lack of game modes. You only really get arcade, versus, training, and online versus. They're all pretty much the same. The only difference is that at the end of the arcade mode you get a static cut scene ending featuring the character you won with, it's not enough to be considered a story mode. A new mode has been announced as DLC but for one reason or another Capcom decided not to include it on disc. This doesn't break the game but it certainly should have been included as the number of game modes was the sole area I thought was lacking in this game. That said, this is still a fast, fun, and highly addictive fighting game. Easy to pick up and play, but hard to master. It is great for solo play or even better as a party game because everyone has heard of most of these characters and it is so easy to just pick up and start wailing away on opponents. If you like fighting games, Marvel comics, or Capcom games, this will keep you entertained for a long time to come. Expand
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    10
    The visuals are fantastic, the characters are colorful, it is accesible to new players, deep and rewarding to competitive players, has Deadpool, and it controls better than Street Fighter 4. What more could you want in a fighting game?
  4. Feb 16, 2011
    9
    I'm not huge into the fighting genre but after playing it with friends, it's quite easy to pick up and the character list is just a blast to go through. I recommend this game to almost anyone interested in the genre and also newcomers to the genre.
  5. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3 brings the bang for buck. The graphics fit the style of an acrade action game and the number of characters are amazing. However, the attack instructions could use a little fine tuning, but besides that this game is worth it. If you are a fan of other games like Street Fighter and other Action Adventure game, then Marvel vs. Capcom 3 is the game for you!
  6. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3 is a solid 3v3 tag team fighting game with a few annoyances. It gets a ton of things right from the fighting mechanics to the characters included, but a few minor flaws such as lack of a true story really hold it back from reaching its full potential. The gameplay at first glance seems crazy and unpredictable, and if you're new to the series, it is. The game sets itself apart from traditional fighters by sticking to a crazy and incredibly over the top gameplay mechanic that includes various unique special moves, huge air combos and screen filling hyper combos. It may seem like a game based on luck but underneath all the glitz and flash is a deep fighting experience that can take years to master. The fighting consists of 4 main buttons, weak medium & heavy attack as well as a special button. It also has two assist buttons for calling in your team mates or tagging one out for another. This makes for some very hectic matches. Each character is also fitted with a ton of different special moves they can pull of by executing certain movements with the the thumbstick and a button press. The special moves can have various effects and are unique to each individual character, which makes the game perfect for different play styles. These specials can be combo'd into making for devastating attacks that look and feel great to pull off. Also included are the hyper combos, which are unique to each character as well. These hyper combos take up a bit of your hyper meter, which cumulates as you fight, and are incredibly powerful moves that really make or break a battle. Each character has at least two hyper combos and can be performed like a super but by pressing two buttons instead of one. All of these mechanics put together create a deep and hectic fighting game that will take years to discover all the hidden tricks. If this seems a little too daunting for you newcomers, fear not for there is an alternative. Simple mode basically takes button mashing and makes it playable by letting whatever button you press develop into a combo. While this may seem unfair to some don't worry, it is designed to help ease newcomers into the game, which means any experienced player will be able to defeat one. The story, or lack thereof, is where the game falls a bit. The game has virtually no story to be found. All you know is that at the end of Arcade mode you're fighting Galactus, who is supposedly eating the two worlds that the characters inhabit, that's it. When you do beat him you are treated to a character specific ending that is really just two still frames which do nothing to further the story. This failed to capture my interest unless it was a character I was fond of, and even then it was hard. This is a huge disappointment considering the beautifully animated cutscenes that led up to the games release. Why aren't those in the game Capcom? Although this isn't a huge gripe, it would've been nice seeing my favorite Marvel and Capcom characters come together for a true and engaging story. Visually the game looks great. It has it's own inky style that makes it look like a comic book come to life and is wonderfully colored. All the special moves and animations look fantastic and makes you really feel like you're part of the action. The character models, while a little on the simpler side, still look pretty good with some great detail here and there. The backdrops that the game has, while not many, are still fantastic looking, each of them brimming with life. From the parade near the Daily Bugle to the licker infested labs of the Resident Evil franchise the environments are a diverse bunch with plenty of things in the background that compliment the hectic nature of the gameplay instead of detracting from it. All in all the game looks great, the effects are amazing and the backdrops are stunning, the characters could've looked a little better but it won't matter too much when you're fighting with them. What's in the package of the game is good enough, although maybe lacking for some. The game includes 36 characters, 32 of which are unlocked from the get go. This gives you a lot of options to go with and provides plenty of different experiences as all of the characters are unique to themselves. Perfect examples are X-23 and She-Hulk, who may seem like clones of Wolverine and Hulk at first glance, but both play vastly different. I would like to post more but apparently i'm cut off even with enough characters left to post so I'll leave it at this: Go buy this game. It's a great fighting game with its own unique style that will be fun for years to come. Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2011
    9
    The majority of comments sounds as if the people have only played the game for a few hours, there is tons of complexity and combinations through the basic controls of L/M/H/A just do a basic youtube search and see the combos are as advanced as any other game.

    This is a great game and I find myself enjoying it a lot more then other fighters, some of the characters probably need a bit of
    tweaking but that's what you'd expect from a vanilla game. Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    the best game ever played.....but Capcom need to add more characters as Mvc2....
    I love KEN......i have been waited since last year to played this game...
    Thanks Capcom ...i hope MVC4 will have 80++characters....or more added Thanks
  9. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing not just because of the visuals but for the most important feature; the gameplay. Several people will have a negative knee-jerk reaction this game based on how user friendly it is. These same people think that because of the simplified controls and different button layout that the game has no depth, this has come mainly from people who have only spent a few hours playing the game which if anyone who is a fighting game fan knows that most games take months if not years for the meta-game(look it up) to fully evolve. But as it stands now its really easy to pick up and play which is a good thing for people not familiar with the series and it is extremely fun. Collapse
  10. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This is the best fighting game I've ever played. I've been a tournament player for ten years now and I find this game to be ridiculously amazing. It has an incredible amount of depth especially at high level play. This game is also good for newcomers to the fighting game scene. After playing MvC2 for eight years I noticed that none of my friends really enjoyed it because of how complex the games meta-game had become but with MvC3 a lot more of my friends can enjoy the as well(even if I win nearly all the matches because of my experience) and it makes for incredibly enjoyable experience for all us. Expand
  11. Nov 2, 2011
    10
    Truth be said,I love playing video games and been playing 30+ years.Fighting games aren't much of my thing except for the old mortal Kombat games and the new one on the 360,I'll tell you what,that has all changed after playing this game.To me it is by far better then any street fighter game which i have never liked any of them.This game is just bursting with style,creativity,depth,replay value,graphics oh graphics.This is a true gem to play and a title that will be popped into my system 5 years from now. Expand
  12. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    This really is the greatest crossover in all of gaming in fact I think this the greatest fighter I've ever played. I was blown way away by how this game looks and more importantly how it plays. There is so much freedom with all the characters and that alone makes it better than SSFIV and MvC2 imho.
  13. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Buy this game today! This is the is completely and utterly remarkable. It's a crazy insane ride all from day one even a novice could pick it. The button layout is similar to Blazblue and I think that's a good thing. If your interested in fight games at all, you definitely need to pick this game up.
  14. Jul 2, 2011
    10
    I thought this game was incredible! The graphics are awesome, granted - there's not an awful lot to do BUT, unlocking each character's ending can be a challenge and the online play is quite good. The controls are so much better that Street Fighter because even if your completely new at games like this, simple mode lets you do a variety of cool moves, and it's not that unbalanced because a lot of the moves you can only do on Normal mode. This game comes highly reccomended. BUY IT! Expand
  15. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    If you haven't played this game you need to I was thinkin this was gonna be like MK vs DC but boy was i wrong. This game makes that one look like a stiff piece of crap. I will be playing this for long time.
  16. Mar 3, 2011
    9
    Nearly perfect. Fast action, stunning visuals, and great character interactions. Only niggle would be not enough characters, not enough costumes, not enough stages, and no real story. But its a fighting game so who cares.
  17. Mar 15, 2011
    10
    This has got to be one of my favorite fighters ever. You have a great diverse cast of characters, fan service pouring out of every orifice, easy to pick up, difficult to master mechanics, and beautiful cell-shaded graphics. My only real issue with it is the relative lack of stages, and a few characters are poorly balanced (Dormammu, Phoenix). Otherwise, a fantastic experience.
  18. Apr 21, 2011
    9
    Marvel vs Capcom 3 is a great game with plenty of depth. At first glance it seems like a game that is easy to pick up and easy to master, but there is enough complexity and subtle substance that will allow the dedicated and gifted to succeed over those less dedicated and talented.

    Every single time I get into the lab with this game, I find something useful.
    Every single time I compete
    with friends (who also study, experiment, and practice), something new seems so incredibly good that we suspect it might be broken.
    Every single time we find something that we think might be broken, we prove ourselves wrong.

    The thing that's great about this game is that there are so many useful tools that can be used. Switch the order of your team and you're playing a different team with it's own nuances and subtleties. Switch the assist of your second or anchor character and you've changed your team significantly. It's great fun to figure out what's effective and what isn't, how different characters can compliment each other in a variety of ways.

    The tools in this game are great both in their number and their variance. Some aspects of one character might be similar too another (Storm and Magnito both have 8 way airdash and can use similar tricks to get the hit because of this, as an example), but honestly I haven't played a fighting game with this much usable diversity since Guilty Gear (that's a huge compliment by the way).
    Expand
  19. May 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The balance and depth in the game is astonishing, and even the odd characters have their distinct charms...What's really a shame here is that the developer didn't manage to find a way to supplement the core experience with extras that would extend the life of the game by adding some variety to the package. Expand
  20. Feb 26, 2011
    0
    This game is amazing not just because of the visuals but for the most important feature; the gameplay. Several people will have a negative knee-jerk reaction this game based on how user friendly it is. These same people think that because of the simplified controls and different button layout that the game has no depth, this has come mainly from people who have only spent a few hours playing the game which if anyone who is a fighting game fan knows that most games take months if not years for the meta-game(look it up) to fully evolve. But as it stands now its really easy to pick up and play which is a good thing for people not familiar with the series and it is extremely fun. Collapse
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 77 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 75 out of 77
  2. Negative: 0 out of 77
  1. May 24, 2011
    84
    The fluid and intuitive controls in Marvel vs. Capcom 3 feel great. The graphic effects and the versus mode are truly great too. A wonderful game.
  2. Mar 25, 2011
    90
    Frankly if you're a fighting game fan you're doing yourself a disservice by not playing this excellent title.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    90
    Marvel vs. Capcom 3 might be a bit light in the gaming modes, there's no denying that the core gameplay is solid enough stands on its own and has something to offer for every type of gamer. Fighting fans of all flavors will enjoy the hybrid 2D-meets-3D gameplay, the smooth animations, and the excellent character special moves.