Mass Effect 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3227 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2013
    5
    This was a very disappointing game and a step backwards from what made Mass Effect so good. To be fair, it once again had great character development and an intriguing story, but the gameplay was poor at best. It turns into a 3rd person shooter using the cover system more often. Baddies will take cover, fire a few potshots, rinse and repeat the entire game. It gets extremely predictableThis was a very disappointing game and a step backwards from what made Mass Effect so good. To be fair, it once again had great character development and an intriguing story, but the gameplay was poor at best. It turns into a 3rd person shooter using the cover system more often. Baddies will take cover, fire a few potshots, rinse and repeat the entire game. It gets extremely predictable and boring all too quickly. I can't recommend it. Expand
  2. AdamB.
    Mar 1, 2010
    7
    Fun, rent-worthy 10-hour single player RPG with little to no replay value. Once you beat it, there's no reason to go back to it. Most dialog options result in the same events, and the two lead voice actors become stale even if you choose to try new characters. The mining and exploration games are boring and the controls are a bit clunky overall. Tons of long load times, like the Fun, rent-worthy 10-hour single player RPG with little to no replay value. Once you beat it, there's no reason to go back to it. Most dialog options result in the same events, and the two lead voice actors become stale even if you choose to try new characters. The mining and exploration games are boring and the controls are a bit clunky overall. Tons of long load times, like the original. On the plus side, the game has amazing graphics and sound, and a highly engaging story, but in general it's not the greatest interactive experience and surely doesn't deserve its wild accolades. Expand
  3. AustinS.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    The original Mass Effect is considered to be a true RPG/3rd person shooter hybrid. Mass Effect 2 has scaled back most of the RPG elements while keeping the dialog options available and streamlining combat. There are no longer any skill based stats(decryption, first aid, etc) and equipment is very limited. During interviews every Bioware representative bragged and boasted that ME2 was such The original Mass Effect is considered to be a true RPG/3rd person shooter hybrid. Mass Effect 2 has scaled back most of the RPG elements while keeping the dialog options available and streamlining combat. There are no longer any skill based stats(decryption, first aid, etc) and equipment is very limited. During interviews every Bioware representative bragged and boasted that ME2 was such a vast improvement because combat was so well tuned now. What they dont mention is the neglect of nearly everything that made the game an RPG. Bioware is considered a top-tier developer of only the best games, but to be a great developer you need to be able to improve aspects of your games WITHOUT compromising others. Another aspect that they seemed to always be pushing in everyones face was the ability to port your ME1 character to the sequel. Gamers were led to believe that the decisions made in the first would have a moderate if not profound effect on the second. Unfortunately it only affects maybe 5 minutes of reading text. The plot is in no way affected by any choices you made in ME1. The new Mass Effect shed its RPG-TPS hybrid format to become a TPS with a few RPG inspirations and speech sim. ME was one of my favorite games ever. ME2 is one of the most underwhelming and disappointing games i have played. Expand
  4. JoeConsumer
    Feb 10, 2010
    5
    What happened to the RPG? Bioware I'm a little more than disappointed in you. KOTOR was one of my favorite Xbox titles. Mass Effect 1 was one of my favorite Xbox 360 titles. What you've done IMO is stripped out the parts of ME1 that made it fun and individualized and turned it into a linear mundane TPS. This is not an RPG/TPS anymore. It's just an average TPS. It's not What happened to the RPG? Bioware I'm a little more than disappointed in you. KOTOR was one of my favorite Xbox titles. Mass Effect 1 was one of my favorite Xbox 360 titles. What you've done IMO is stripped out the parts of ME1 that made it fun and individualized and turned it into a linear mundane TPS. This is not an RPG/TPS anymore. It's just an average TPS. It's not a horrible game. It's just not what I had hoped for being a fan of bioware's previous achievements. I will say that it's long cut scenes without firing a shot, the lack of the RPG elements that made ME1 so enjoyable and the sometimes hinky cover system have turned this into a disappointing sequel. Expand
  5. SamiL
    Feb 10, 2010
    5
    ME1 was a great game and now this... everything that was great in the first one is destroyed(okay, maybe plot and story telling is still fine). No more fine tuning characters armour, guns etc. And mission handling... nonono! Game feels so much more arcade than before. Sad sad thing.
  6. Aug 25, 2010
    5
    I can't understand all the praise this game recieved for it's so called "improvements" over the original. Bioware haven't tried to "improve" anything, though I'm not too sure how to improve a perfectly simple inventory in the first place. Oh..wait! That's right! By removing it altogether! So ya' can spend more time blastin' and less time trying to read those big words. Let's just cut theI can't understand all the praise this game recieved for it's so called "improvements" over the original. Bioware haven't tried to "improve" anything, though I'm not too sure how to improve a perfectly simple inventory in the first place. Oh..wait! That's right! By removing it altogether! So ya' can spend more time blastin' and less time trying to read those big words. Let's just cut the crap, apart from it's superficial impovements, this clearly is a step backwards in every way, at least for anybody with any brain cells anyway. Expand
  7. nmooney
    Mar 3, 2010
    7
    I agree with the sentiment that too many new games get glowing reviews. Mass Effect 2 is a plodding, linear bore. It does have it's moments of slick sci-fi production but fails to grab me and I doubt I'll finish. For all those with battlelines drawn between xbox and the ps3? Screw, that. I'm buying a ps3! Consider that if you've purchased 5 games you regret buying I agree with the sentiment that too many new games get glowing reviews. Mass Effect 2 is a plodding, linear bore. It does have it's moments of slick sci-fi production but fails to grab me and I doubt I'll finish. For all those with battlelines drawn between xbox and the ps3? Screw, that. I'm buying a ps3! Consider that if you've purchased 5 games you regret buying you've already paid for either console. It's not the consoles that are expensive...it's these darn games the industry keeps encouraging us to buy. I'd rather get the ps3 and expand my option for genuinely great games. Also, I'm on my second xbox 360 as are about half my gaming friends. We are the victim folks, all of us that game. Expand
  8. ChristopheM.
    Jan 31, 2010
    6
    Having played ME1 recently, I was very disappointed: I expected better and got less (very linear story, few and very linear missions, degraded interface,
  9. MarkR.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    great game let down by major story issues like the geth team member who after spending an entire game trying to wipe them out suddenly is welcomed aboard with open arms, miranda the cerberus devotee complete a mission suddenly shes ready to turn her back on them. this is story telling at its poorest, if it was a movie it would be comical, for a game costing fifty quid its unforgivable, great game let down by major story issues like the geth team member who after spending an entire game trying to wipe them out suddenly is welcomed aboard with open arms, miranda the cerberus devotee complete a mission suddenly shes ready to turn her back on them. this is story telling at its poorest, if it was a movie it would be comical, for a game costing fifty quid its unforgivable, and dont get started on the planets you survey , as you only need to check about half of em to get all the ore you need for the upgrades. a great game as i said ruined by the laziest, stupidest most nonsensical dialogue and story for a long time. we expect more from you bioware, sack your writer Expand
  10. DaveJ
    Feb 3, 2010
    7
    ME2 is a good shooter and a fun game, for what is is. The problem is that I wanted an RPG, not a shooter. I want depth, a non-linear structure, missions where I don't have to shoot stuff, character development, conversations that have an effect on the world and the characters in it. I want to explore and lose myself in an imaginary world, not just go down corridor after corridor ME2 is a good shooter and a fun game, for what is is. The problem is that I wanted an RPG, not a shooter. I want depth, a non-linear structure, missions where I don't have to shoot stuff, character development, conversations that have an effect on the world and the characters in it. I want to explore and lose myself in an imaginary world, not just go down corridor after corridor hiding behind conveniently-placed barriers shooting waves of aliens before flicking a switch and getting an end-of-level screen, like a 90s shooter. A good game for what it is, but a huge step backwards in every area (bar graphics) from the first game. Expand
  11. WarnieP
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    Dave J is spot on with his comments. When I picked this title up, I expected a solid RPG with shooter elements. After all, this is Bioware, a company who built their gaming foundation on so-called western RPGs; this is the company that gave us Baldur's Gate, the original Mass Effect, Knights of the Old Republic and Dragon Age Origins. Sadly, Mass Effect 2 shares very little in common Dave J is spot on with his comments. When I picked this title up, I expected a solid RPG with shooter elements. After all, this is Bioware, a company who built their gaming foundation on so-called western RPGs; this is the company that gave us Baldur's Gate, the original Mass Effect, Knights of the Old Republic and Dragon Age Origins. Sadly, Mass Effect 2 shares very little in common with any of those titles and, at the end of the day, however, Mass Effect 2 is a glorified third person shooter with poor excuses for RPG elements. . The game itself is extremely linear with the game holding your hand to each and every mission. You'll "level up" just by following the linear path and by the time you get to the final mission you'll have, at least, 3 of 5 skills maxed out, with just as many skills maxed out for each of your crew. No thought required, no pros and cons of choosing your points. . The story elements are also linear and contrived and have little to no effect on the result of the game. There are some choices which do have an effect at the end, but they are very few. Paragon and Renegade have been stripped of all meaning as you could be a world class a-hole and your crew will still LOVE you. . I WANTED to play the original Mass Effect several times and I played it for a good two months after release. I played Mass Effect 2 twice, just to keep my two ME1 characters in step and haven't turned it back on one week after playing. I've seen everything there is to see, I have every weapon, every upgrade, both my Shepards are level 30 already and rolling in money and resources. There's no reason to go back and do anything in the game, especially since exploration, hacking/bypassing and loot have been completely gutted from the game and replaced with shells of their former selves. . I'm extremely disappointed in the path Bioware took. If I wanted to play a cover-based or squad command shooter, I'd pop in Rainbow Six or Gears of War. I can only hope ME3 takes the strengths of ME1 and the strengths of ME2 and fuses them together to make a much better concluding title. Expand
  12. Sep 28, 2010
    5
    I've had very mixed feelings about this game, but ultimately I came to the conclusion that this game is disappointing in so many ways that I can't give it a high score. This game has a lot of positives but the negatives overshadow them unfortunately. The graphics for example: The art style is not bad, the game runs better than the first Mass Effect and the game can look really good atI've had very mixed feelings about this game, but ultimately I came to the conclusion that this game is disappointing in so many ways that I can't give it a high score. This game has a lot of positives but the negatives overshadow them unfortunately. The graphics for example: The art style is not bad, the game runs better than the first Mass Effect and the game can look really good at times. However, the inconsistency hurts the overall experience as the game can look pretty poor and have bad textures. The soundtrack has some good tracks, but overall I think it sounds too much like something you'd hear in a cheesy Hollywood movie. The gameplay, while the combat is better than the one in the original ME and is more epic in scope, is also lacking. The RPG elements in this game are poorly done and are almost non-existent. The game is also fairly linear most of the time and there is too much emphasis on the shooting, which makes it feel like a corridor shooter at times. The story is lackluster, the characters are really good IMO, I liked them a lot despite the fact that most of their loyalty missions were daddy issues. However, the main plot is bland, feels like filler and is almost non-existent. Mass Effect 2's plot can easily be summarized like this: Stop the collectors with a team of badasses. That's it, it doesn't go any deeper than that and that is truly a shame. To sum it up: It's not a bad game at all, I had my fun. But I can't say it's a good one either. It's mediocre and I'm not used to this kind of quality from Bioware. Hopefully Mass Effect 3 will be better. Expand
  13. LeonS
    Feb 20, 2010
    6
    ME2 suffer from the same problem from many sequels. The Devs trying to fix what isn't broken. While they have made some superficial improvements from the original game like better graphics and smoother combat., they removed many fun elements from the first game like exploration and many of the RPG aspects of the game. The story also isn't so good as the first one, the whole game ME2 suffer from the same problem from many sequels. The Devs trying to fix what isn't broken. While they have made some superficial improvements from the original game like better graphics and smoother combat., they removed many fun elements from the first game like exploration and many of the RPG aspects of the game. The story also isn't so good as the first one, the whole game is about collecting squadmates, like pokemon, the mainplot is about 4 missions long. The squadmates which were supose to be the focus of this game were very apathetic on the ship, never leaving their places and each one has only about 4 diferent dialogues. Besides, they have only 4 powers, and you can't change their armors. I hope Bioware reevaluate their priorities in ME3, and bring back all the positive qualities from the first game. Expand
  14. Jan 31, 2012
    6
    I think I am the only one that prefered mass effect 1 better. 8 hours in the game and I don't even want to continue anymore. They took away the inventory system and made it mainstream. I hate the new crosshair and ammo system, and i hate that the whole game is basically just finding new squad mates for one final mission. The new normandy looks nice, but I really don't like this game.
  15. Trey
    Jan 27, 2010
    5
    Good as a game, bad as a product. Includes a new consumer screw-over. "DLC" ships with it. Its not really extra content though, its part of the game they just chose to not put in (nothing new there). Its real purpose is to reduce used game sales and make more people buy it retail. Violation of our rights IMO.
  16. May 14, 2011
    5
    This game was supremely disappointing, in so many ways. It threw away its RPG roots for a more consumer friendly 3rd person shooter feel. Smooth gameplay, but you can tell this game was made for money, and not made to contribute a real, lasting RPG element to the realm of classical RPG's. This game is basically twenty hours of shoot this, shoot that, with a very predictable storyline and aThis game was supremely disappointing, in so many ways. It threw away its RPG roots for a more consumer friendly 3rd person shooter feel. Smooth gameplay, but you can tell this game was made for money, and not made to contribute a real, lasting RPG element to the realm of classical RPG's. This game is basically twenty hours of shoot this, shoot that, with a very predictable storyline and a few useless side missions that contributed little to nothing to the story. I was a huge fan on the first ME. And Bioware disappointed me greatly in their effort to make more money. They were clearly not supporting the hardcore fans that bought and enjoyed ME 1. The gameplay came out smoother then the first, and the graphics were even better. That is why I am giving it a five. Otherwise it was a very lackluster game. On a side note, the music in this game was hardly noticeable, and was in no way as memorable as the first, or as creative as the first. Basically the only songs I enjoyed were the remakes of the songs in the original Expand
  17. BenM.
    Jan 30, 2010
    6
    I felt Mass Effect 1 was a great mixture of RPG and action game. Sure it had issue that could be improved upon but it was a good mix Mass effect 2 starts off with a amazing opening cinematic, sets up players motivation and relationship to other characters, and does everything any AAA game should do. But then comes the problems: - The interface is blocky and the constant flood of pop-ups I felt Mass Effect 1 was a great mixture of RPG and action game. Sure it had issue that could be improved upon but it was a good mix Mass effect 2 starts off with a amazing opening cinematic, sets up players motivation and relationship to other characters, and does everything any AAA game should do. But then comes the problems: - The interface is blocky and the constant flood of pop-ups becomes annoying, Each popup fill about 15% of the screen. - The game doesn't pause if your 360 controller looses power. A break of Microsoft's quality rules. - NPC constantly mount scenery and on have a couple of times found myself pushed into blocked off areas that required a restart. - Most RPG elements have been cut down to appeal to a more casual and the FPS audience. - Exploration of world has been replaced with a rotating globe that moors even the most patient of players to death. - At the end of each level you are presented with a end of level summery. This thrown at you abruptly and completely breaks the flow of the game. They have tried so hard to make it a cinematic masterpiece but this one thing is the most out of feature in the game. - The level summery also provides completely useless information. Why do i need to have my experience abruptly stopped to be told about how much platinum i collected? I know this because i got a big sign in-game when i collected it and also its on my profile. - Level layout. Some of the levels feel far more linnier and made for the purpose of being a level. The environments feel like they don't have a real function apart from to challenge the player. For instance roes of walls across walkways. Don't get me wrong - the game has many fantastic moments and is a work of digital art. But it feels like it was made by share holders and not artists or designers. A must buy - but not a must enjoy. Expand
  18. Mar 11, 2011
    7
    Biggest disappointment of 2010 for me... I enjoyed the original ME even though it could have been a lot better gameplay wise. The story really hooked me and I found the setting, soundtrack and artistic style familiar but very interesting in its own way. ME2 on the other hand I didn't like at all. It feels much more generic and less mature. All the feedback the fans gave on the BiowareBiggest disappointment of 2010 for me... I enjoyed the original ME even though it could have been a lot better gameplay wise. The story really hooked me and I found the setting, soundtrack and artistic style familiar but very interesting in its own way. ME2 on the other hand I didn't like at all. It feels much more generic and less mature. All the feedback the fans gave on the Bioware forums didn't seem to have made any impact on the games development. The only thing they did seem to acknowledge was the unimpressive combat and A.I from the first game. Everything else was either watered down or simply scrapped entirely. Most of the interesting aspects like the RPG elements and the planet exploration just got removed. These things could have been improved vastly over the original, but instead they took the easy option and replaced them with much more casualised ideas. I saw a lot of potential for this IP after playing the first game, now all that has gone to waste with ME2. ME3 is no longer of interest to me. Expand
  19. MartinC
    Feb 4, 2010
    6
    Well... wasn't this game a dissappointment? Others here (of those with the red ratings) have commented on the lack of RPG-elements and boring 3rd person shooter gameplay. I just have one more example of how uninspired the developers must've been: I recently played through the The Ur-Quan Masters. (a port of the classic Star Control 2). An important part of this game is traveling Well... wasn't this game a dissappointment? Others here (of those with the red ratings) have commented on the lack of RPG-elements and boring 3rd person shooter gameplay. I just have one more example of how uninspired the developers must've been: I recently played through the The Ur-Quan Masters. (a port of the classic Star Control 2). An important part of this game is traveling to star systems and collecting resources. "Ah" you say. "That sounds like ME2!". Well, up to a point it is similar. The solar system is laid out in exactly the same way. You see the star, the planets, and their orbits. You move your ships between them to scan them and pick up resources. The thing is, though, that scanning the planets takes a few seconds in SC2, Then you launch a lander and drive around the planet (in 2-D view) shooting nasty aliens, dodging earthquakes, lightning and fire while picking up the resources. This entire process takes about as long as it takes to "loot" a planet in ME2. In ME2 the same process consists of scanning the planet (by holding down the left mouse button while slowly moving your mouse around) and collecting it's resources by clicking the right mouse button... Really. This is something you have to do quite a bit of in the game, and they couldn't come up with a system that was at least half as entertaining as what Accolade managed almost 18 years ago? Mass Effect 2 is a shadow of what it could've been. Expand
  20. BarryD
    Jan 26, 2010
    5
    I was expecting an RPG. Bioware has taken out almost all of the RPG elements and turned it into a TPS in space. Instead of improving upon the criticisms of the first game they have just outright removed those elements. The shooter aspect of the game is greatly improved from the first but has taken the front role in the game. In many ways I find this is a step backwards in the series with I was expecting an RPG. Bioware has taken out almost all of the RPG elements and turned it into a TPS in space. Instead of improving upon the criticisms of the first game they have just outright removed those elements. The shooter aspect of the game is greatly improved from the first but has taken the front role in the game. In many ways I find this is a step backwards in the series with most of your time spent accumulating alies. Closing note: This game has very little replay value. It is essentially the exact same game each play through. And considering you can beat it in under 20 hours I would suggest it as a rental. Also don't play this if you haven't played the first. Expand
  21. Shad0wCK
    Feb 2, 2010
    5
    Being a massive Mass Effect 1 fan, I was hyped for number 2. Mass Effect 2 IS good and I enjoyed the storyline, however there were many flaws I just couldn't overlook, like the not-so-amazing cover system, linear gameplay and, most annoying of all, the suprisingly average visuals. Like I said, this game is still a good RPG and I would recommend it to any ME1 fan, but it just seemed Being a massive Mass Effect 1 fan, I was hyped for number 2. Mass Effect 2 IS good and I enjoyed the storyline, however there were many flaws I just couldn't overlook, like the not-so-amazing cover system, linear gameplay and, most annoying of all, the suprisingly average visuals. Like I said, this game is still a good RPG and I would recommend it to any ME1 fan, but it just seemed to overhype and under-deliver to me. I would advise renting it. Expand
  22. FabioL
    Feb 1, 2010
    6
    It's kinda weird to see such high ratings to ME2. Not a bad game by a long shot, but it was SIGNIFICANTLY dumbed down in the sake of streamlining... The game is a thousand times more linear, the characters are much blander, the missions aren't quite exciting, and so on. As for the new mechanisms, the reloading isn't a great improvement over the overheating one in ME1. Now It's kinda weird to see such high ratings to ME2. Not a bad game by a long shot, but it was SIGNIFICANTLY dumbed down in the sake of streamlining... The game is a thousand times more linear, the characters are much blander, the missions aren't quite exciting, and so on. As for the new mechanisms, the reloading isn't a great improvement over the overheating one in ME1. Now you can't even TOUCH a weapon you're not proficient with. Inventory management, even if a pain, is way better than no inventory AT ALL. Weapon management is no longer relevant, as every member has the same upgraded version (some kind of Cerberus "standard issue" policy, perhaps?). Planet exploring, while buggy, was much more rewarding, interesting and "role-play-y" than the current boring and pointless "flash game" scanning. Bioware should try to reach some level of balance in their simplification attempts, or ME3 will probably be the D&D 4.5 ed, of videogames. Expand
  23. ms
    Feb 25, 2010
    6
    Whoa. A lot of 10's here. A lot of 0's. I'm not in the love it or hate it camp. I appreciate what they tried to do. I enjoyed it more than the first one, but less than just about every other game I've played in the past year or so. It just feels outdated. The story is linear, the levels are boring, the combat--while much improved from the first--is a quite boring Whoa. A lot of 10's here. A lot of 0's. I'm not in the love it or hate it camp. I appreciate what they tried to do. I enjoyed it more than the first one, but less than just about every other game I've played in the past year or so. It just feels outdated. The story is linear, the levels are boring, the combat--while much improved from the first--is a quite boring compared to almost every other TPS or RPG out there. (You always know when a battle is about to break out, because suddenly the room is filled with perfectly shaped things to take cover behind.) The graphics and cinematics are nice but not groundbreaking. The only thing that distinguished Mass Effect was the branching dialogue trees and story consequences, but many games do that now, and most of them do it better. ME-2 is ambitious, but ends up just a slightly above average game. They need to take more combat tips from MW, RPG tips from FF and graphics tips from Uncharted. I doubt I'll play ME-3. Expand
  24. Feb 1, 2012
    5
    The taint of EA is strong in this one. It's still mass effect, but dumbed down for the increasingly large casual fan-base. Removal of the tank and large scale planetary exploration has reduced this game to a dull grind. Reduced inventory, levelup, and exploration features in exchange for slightly more entertaining writing. If you want to continue the fun story grab it, otherwise theThe taint of EA is strong in this one. It's still mass effect, but dumbed down for the increasingly large casual fan-base. Removal of the tank and large scale planetary exploration has reduced this game to a dull grind. Reduced inventory, levelup, and exploration features in exchange for slightly more entertaining writing. If you want to continue the fun story grab it, otherwise the gameplay is nothing impressive here. Rather disappointing sequel. And seriously. It's the second game and we still have only seen male aliens. (Excluding the blue fetish women) Expand
  25. TylerH.
    Jan 27, 2010
    6
    Pretty good but can get boring alot throughout the process of playing, such as 45 min periods without even firing a shot.
  26. PeterR
    Feb 7, 2010
    5
    Mass Effect 2 is a great game, if you like to talk talk talk... and talk. Which just means selecting from a few predefined statements. I really felt lost sometimes and even worse... bored by the game. Sure: The universe created by Bioware and the graphics are quite nice and unique, but the gameplay can't back it up. The annoying planet-scans for resources and the mediocre combat made Mass Effect 2 is a great game, if you like to talk talk talk... and talk. Which just means selecting from a few predefined statements. I really felt lost sometimes and even worse... bored by the game. Sure: The universe created by Bioware and the graphics are quite nice and unique, but the gameplay can't back it up. The annoying planet-scans for resources and the mediocre combat made the game a hard pill to swallow. Expand
  27. Aug 12, 2010
    5
    Wait i just found out that it has no online. That doesn't matter but it would be better if it had online. I like Mass effect and the way that it changes the ending is very good but i thought the game would change more than the ending.
  28. Jan 19, 2011
    6
    Limited range of movement and interaction on levels makes this very frustrating. I do like the dialogue options and gameplay is fun, other than what was previously mentioned. This leaves a lot to be desired and I think it is very overrated.
  29. Jun 8, 2011
    6
    Mass Effect 2 is good and all, the story is good, the characters are interesting, the fighting is okay, and blah de blah; but I never felt immersed in the Mass Effect world. As the RPG I assume it is, it didn't feel like an RPG. It felt like a shooter with dialogue tossed in every now and again. This is not what I usually expect from Bioware. When I think Bioware, I think huge worlds likeMass Effect 2 is good and all, the story is good, the characters are interesting, the fighting is okay, and blah de blah; but I never felt immersed in the Mass Effect world. As the RPG I assume it is, it didn't feel like an RPG. It felt like a shooter with dialogue tossed in every now and again. This is not what I usually expect from Bioware. When I think Bioware, I think huge worlds like Baldur's Gate 2 and a ton of character development and side missions like KOTOR. Neither of those were here in Mass Effect 2. Sure, there were "planets," but you only ever really saw maybe one or two districts of it, probably less. Even if there was a big environment, there wasn't much you could explore. As far as character development goes, it was okay. There was about one side mission for each character, some dialogue that told their past, and that's it. In KOTOR, you got a lot of character development: hours of dialogue, a couple of side missions leading up to one big side mission, the characters interacted and talked to each other, there was always something new to learn about each character. Though, I do think that Mass Effect 2 wasn't going so much for the "huge, awesome world, lots of composition, thinking man's game" sort of style like KOTOR. It was probably going more for a "third person shooter with a good story." Mass Effect 2 is like if Uncharted was an RPG, and in space, sort of...

    Anyway, if you've ever wanted to play the game, you probably already own it. If your still on the verge of getting it, it's cheap nowadays so go right ahead. When you're done with it, trade it in for something else, it's not really worth keeping unless you want to see every possible outcome of the game.
    Expand
  30. Nov 1, 2011
    6
    Under all the glitz and polish, bioware tried to sneak in the fact that they think gamers are stupid. Has no one else noticed that their writers ran out of good ideas ages ago? I can forgive small similarities with other sci fi series but most of the Mass Effect universe is recycled! Babylon 5 had most of these ideas 5-10 years ago. Its atrocious! The lack of depth or consequence is veryUnder all the glitz and polish, bioware tried to sneak in the fact that they think gamers are stupid. Has no one else noticed that their writers ran out of good ideas ages ago? I can forgive small similarities with other sci fi series but most of the Mass Effect universe is recycled! Babylon 5 had most of these ideas 5-10 years ago. Its atrocious! The lack of depth or consequence is very poor. The emphasis on third person shooting lacks imagination. A story that could be written by a 12year old, all this is unforgivable. Expand
  31. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a reasonably good game on its own, but serves as a pretty crappy sequel to it's predecessor, the sublime Mass Effect. The game does a lot of things really well, most notably the deep characterizations of all its cast. Where it falls short, however, is in the narrative. The game starts out with a jarring disconnection from ME1, Shepard's death and 2 year resuscitation period. The game then goes on to implausibly establish Cerberus, characterized as a small-time rogue alliance black ops group in Mass Effect, as some sort of covert super organization with financing and intelligence networks the Alliance can only dream of, and as Shepard's benefactor. You're then forced to work for them, ordered to carry out missions agains The Collectors, a threat we're told is related to the Reapers, though how Cerberus formed this suspicion is never made clear. You proceed to spend the entire game going around, hiring volunteers to your cause (who never need convincing), while waiting for Cerberus to tell you what the Collectors are up to and when to go after them again. The story as a whole is very flimsy, and throughout it feels like Shepard is just Cerberus' gofer, which starkly contrasts with ME1, where Shepard uncovers the plot through his own actions and interrogations. The Mass Effect series purports to be story-driven, so when the story isn't good, as is the case here, it's pretty distracting, no matter how good the rest of the game is. I can't talk about ME2 though without talking about how awesome all of the characterizations are. I loved some characters, hated others and came to love some that I initially hated. In every case, the characters are strong, have substance and depth, and are worth talking to. The value of ME2 can be found here, and it's a shame the rest of the game couldn't reach the same level of standard. Expand
  32. May 3, 2014
    7
    Mass Effect 2 isn't the Empires Strikes Back of the trilogy (That movie actually featured a story). What you have here is a sequel with a refined combat system and a plethora of strong characters (some of the best in Video-games). All depth in gameplay has been woefully simplified -- which is fine because the original was teetering on the line of action game and RPG -- but I find that itMass Effect 2 isn't the Empires Strikes Back of the trilogy (That movie actually featured a story). What you have here is a sequel with a refined combat system and a plethora of strong characters (some of the best in Video-games). All depth in gameplay has been woefully simplified -- which is fine because the original was teetering on the line of action game and RPG -- but I find that it hurts the game more than it helps it. Refining is one thing, but completely scrapping content hurts the overall product. Play it for characters and combat alone Expand
  33. Sep 9, 2013
    6
    How to ruin a cool space adventure series. A game for the masses, this is Gears of War in space. The first Mass Effect game was an epic and fun space adventure. It had a big open world to explore, a large number of side missions, and a highly detailed weapons and armor customization system. In addition the combat itself was highly tactical and strategic All of that is virtually gone withHow to ruin a cool space adventure series. A game for the masses, this is Gears of War in space. The first Mass Effect game was an epic and fun space adventure. It had a big open world to explore, a large number of side missions, and a highly detailed weapons and armor customization system. In addition the combat itself was highly tactical and strategic All of that is virtually gone with ME2. They replaced a fun and adventurous storyline with a boring and soapy 'Seven Samurai' themed one. They heavily reduced the open world environment, dramatically shortened the number of side missions available to you, and practically removed all the gear and weapons customization. The combat has become simplified into a duck-and-cover format where no tactics are required, you just point and shoot. As an offshoot of the Mass Effect series it would have been a good game, but as a direct sequel it is not. It has ruined the whole series for me. It completely severs the flow of the series' overarching storyline. However if you just want a pretty game filled to the brink with drama and where you get to shoot stuff and seduce NPCs I guess you'll really like it. Me, I'm left asking myself where all the fun, excitement and adventure went. I expected Star Trek but got Battlestar Galactica instead. It is science fiction turned boring. Expand
  34. Jul 3, 2015
    7
    PC keyboard setup is poorly designed, and the fact that you actually have to fly the ship to your destination, is both laughable and tragic, game's as good as the first one so far. But would be nice when porting a game to remember KISS keep it simple stupid when setting up the functions on a keyboard.
  35. BrodieH.
    Jan 28, 2010
    7
    It's not a bad game, but in the first two hours of playing, there's 1:45 of cutscenes. Combat is pretty subpar. Only redeeming factors for this game would be the graphics and the story. Rent it.
  36. PeterC
    Feb 11, 2010
    5
    It's one third action, one third dialogue/cutscenes and one third planet scanning. The action is a poor copy of Gears of War, the cutscenes are interminable, and the scanning is like a real life minimum wage job except that you're paying them to do it. The plot is good but if that's what you care about, go watch a movie instead. The gameplay is mediocre at best.
  37. VictorR
    Feb 11, 2010
    6
    If Mass Effect 2 is an "RPG", then so is Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10. They both only have 4 or 5 skills you can work on, they both use purchasable gear which modify stats, and in both the gear has no appreciable change on the game as a whole. In fact, I'd go so far as to say Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 is more of an RPG than Mass Effect 2 simply because there's a much more robust loot If Mass Effect 2 is an "RPG", then so is Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10. They both only have 4 or 5 skills you can work on, they both use purchasable gear which modify stats, and in both the gear has no appreciable change on the game as a whole. In fact, I'd go so far as to say Tiger Woods PGA Tour 10 is more of an RPG than Mass Effect 2 simply because there's a much more robust loot and skill system than Mass Effect 2's. The only "loot" in ME2 are Armor pieces that don't even matter. Expand
  38. MikeM
    Feb 13, 2010
    5
    The game play itself has 2 major problems: -The companions are constantly stupid; they either jump in front of your gun, or run back around the previous corner and don't fight, or stand there and blink while you fight. -The cover system's controls are moronic; the commands for taking cover, and for hurdling your cover and jumping into the crossfire are practically the same. The The game play itself has 2 major problems: -The companions are constantly stupid; they either jump in front of your gun, or run back around the previous corner and don't fight, or stand there and blink while you fight. -The cover system's controls are moronic; the commands for taking cover, and for hurdling your cover and jumping into the crossfire are practically the same. The game's details and production values are good, but this doesn't merit A reviews when the gameplay is C-. If you love ME1, this game is enjoyable enough. There is no way in hell it deserves its score. I've seen other player-reviewers giving this and other games a 0 because the critics and players give 10s to games that deserve a 7. I agree entirely. I'll add a few points: -Bioware's trend is to make well-polished garbage, and somehow get great reviews. -Game reviewing cannot be taken seriously. Either they're crooked or stupid or both. -Player-reviewers must be reviewing games the day they buy them, and biased toward approving of what they've spent their hard earned money on. When a play-through of a modern game is 40-80 hours, you cannot review it even 10 hours in. No one wants to read a movie review of the first 15 minutes. Expand
  39. ScottF
    Feb 19, 2010
    5
    I really don't see why so many people think this is the "game of the year." So many flaws with this game that are easily fixed if Bioware had just spent the time to fix them instead of releasing it ASAP. Glitchy graphics, dumb as hell A.I., sometimes the characters will yell something in battle and it will sound like they're saying it in slow-mo for no reason, i dunno if its I really don't see why so many people think this is the "game of the year." So many flaws with this game that are easily fixed if Bioware had just spent the time to fix them instead of releasing it ASAP. Glitchy graphics, dumb as hell A.I., sometimes the characters will yell something in battle and it will sound like they're saying it in slow-mo for no reason, i dunno if its just me but i think shepard is looking at the ground whenever he's running and sometimes not even looking forward, the character modeling of shepard and some of the other characters is terrible (move like robots, sound like robots), the loading screens are way to long even for a Bioware game... I could probably go on for a long time about all the small things that pissed me off about this game, but i won't. And those were just the SMALL things that should've been fixed at the last minute had they actually wanted to make a GOOD game and not just a sequel that they knew would sell cause it had the title Mass Effect on it. Seriously, this is not the Mass Effect I know and love. I am fine with getting rid of the tedious RPG aspects, but they tried to make it like a TPS. This would've been fine, but AI is terrible, especially on Insanity difficulty. Let me describe a situtation i had yesterday... We run into some Blue Sun's Mercs and my partners take cover (so far so good) but then, they decide "hey, i don't like being safe behind this box where the enemy can't shoot me so i'm gonna jump over it and get shot at and die in 2 seconds." seriously, the AI is that bad. either that will happen or they will stand up while behind cover in an attempt to shoot an enemy, but won't go back down when getting shot at, thus leading to instant death on Insanity difficulty. Once again, small gripes I guess, but this game got pecked to death by the small stuff which kept it from being even a DECENT game IMO. The reason i say that is the plot is what i was really dissapointed in. The game consists of one mission: Destroy the Collectors. And that's fine, but you would think there would be more to it then just that with a Bioware game. Nope. That's it. They somehow thought making the storyline consist of finding all ELEVEN allies so you can go on a "suicide" mission (which it is if playing on Insanity with the dumb AI) was a good idea. That's all there is to the story. Really. I wouldn't lie. The actual "story" you could finish in maybe 10 or so hours. All in all, i'm extremely dissapointed in both this game and in the gaming community for giving such a piece of blatant trash good review just cause it's a sequel to such a great game. Thanks Bioware, you have shaken my faith in video games. Expand
  40. JasonK
    Feb 19, 2010
    7
    Actually this game was kind of meh IMO. Yeah the combat is a huge improvement, (not half as good as most proper FPS though) and the cinematic conversations are still kind of cool, and yeah the graphics look slightly more sparkly than before (although they do seem to have a touch less style and feel more generic this time around). All in all, it
  41. RPG
    Feb 11, 2010
    7
    While a good game Mass Effect 2 is by no means a great game. The cinematic effects are very good and immersive but cannot hide the downside that many parts of the story are inconsistent or just incompetently designed. Faster in tempo than ME1, its predecessor, and somewhat more blend. Still a fun game.
  42. JaceN.
    Feb 11, 2010
    6
    An ineresting story...but thats about it! Fewer areas to explore, spasmic over excitable combat akin to "juggling ten plates on poles while fist-fighting a bear", excellent upgrade system from ME1 replaced with "you used some resources you found to make everyones stuff betterer...now go away", disc swapping thanks to outdated "Bink" video cutscenes chewing up easily 12Gigs of disc space, An ineresting story...but thats about it! Fewer areas to explore, spasmic over excitable combat akin to "juggling ten plates on poles while fist-fighting a bear", excellent upgrade system from ME1 replaced with "you used some resources you found to make everyones stuff betterer...now go away", disc swapping thanks to outdated "Bink" video cutscenes chewing up easily 12Gigs of disc space, voice actors phoning it in and almost no stuff to buy in shops. Keep up this trend and ME3 will be thinner than EA's 1991 space RPG "Starflight". Expand
  43. Oct 13, 2011
    7
    The game has a very nice story, not as innovative as ME1, but still a good one. The visuals are better looking and they have made the game more action oriented. Better weapon, better controls, still not a decent 3rd-PS game, compared to GOW games for instance. I don't really enjoy the dialogues and multiple choices. There is a lot of time wasted in this game. Esp. when you are digging forThe game has a very nice story, not as innovative as ME1, but still a good one. The visuals are better looking and they have made the game more action oriented. Better weapon, better controls, still not a decent 3rd-PS game, compared to GOW games for instance. I don't really enjoy the dialogues and multiple choices. There is a lot of time wasted in this game. Esp. when you are digging for resources. Overall, I really enjoyed this game but that's just the story and visuals. Not the gameplay. I beat the game 3 times but I can't find any other reasons to play it again. That is only 30 hrs of gameplay. I don't think I will buy ME3. Expand
  44. Oct 23, 2011
    7
    This game game is great in many aspects (graphics,music score, voice acting, TPS gameplay, dialogs and story), however it has a very fake feeling of you having a choice, the game is trying to make you feel like you have a choice, but overall it still leads in the same direction, there are 3 major endings, which makes for a good replayability of the last mission just to see the differentThis game game is great in many aspects (graphics,music score, voice acting, TPS gameplay, dialogs and story), however it has a very fake feeling of you having a choice, the game is trying to make you feel like you have a choice, but overall it still leads in the same direction, there are 3 major endings, which makes for a good replayability of the last mission just to see the different endings, but that's all. There no sidequests that may interest you like in Bethesda's RPG's , and after you have completed the main story you dont have much to do with the game unless you are an achievement hunter, but still it's one hell of a ride for around 20-24 hours.Oh, and one more thing: it's not an RPG how every one claims it be. It's a TPS (Thirs Person Shooter) with RPG elements. Expand
  45. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I dont wish for people to take my review seriously but this is what I have to say about it. I never finished Mass Effect 1 but I did finish this. It has a great story behind it and it is very fun to play. The controls are good and so are the graphics. But since I didnt play the first one I never really got onto the story like I should of. I hear Mass Effect is all about story and Im sureI dont wish for people to take my review seriously but this is what I have to say about it. I never finished Mass Effect 1 but I did finish this. It has a great story behind it and it is very fun to play. The controls are good and so are the graphics. But since I didnt play the first one I never really got onto the story like I should of. I hear Mass Effect is all about story and Im sure it is I just havent had the time to play the first one so this is my review. Great game I just didnt fully understand it.

    Pros:
    -Great Controls
    -Good Graphics
    -Strong Story

    Cons:
    -I didnt fully understand the story
    -Navigation is hard
    -Menus can be confusing
    Expand
  46. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    Very well written and acted, but not quite the RPG I was expecting. I won't say "dumbed down" but the game has been very clearly streamlined. There's very little decision making, feels almost like a straightforward shooter with how few branches I can choose and to not have loot drop like a regular RPG made me sad.
  47. Mar 3, 2012
    6
    I just had to dock this game an extra point for disappoint me from what I had expected from ME1. Bioware did improve on many aspects on ME1. They listened to criticism and took out the boring Mako missions... only to replace them with boring satellite shooting missions ( which were a bit more exciting ). The characters back stories were actually more in depth in ME2 and the combat was muchI just had to dock this game an extra point for disappoint me from what I had expected from ME1. Bioware did improve on many aspects on ME1. They listened to criticism and took out the boring Mako missions... only to replace them with boring satellite shooting missions ( which were a bit more exciting ). The characters back stories were actually more in depth in ME2 and the combat was much better. However, ME2 relied too much on combat. now I said Bioware improved on the TPS but it's still a pretty sucky TPS. ME@ got away from what made ME1 great, and that was story. The story was pretty much gather a group of people to do a mission. You don't go forward at all, except for the last mission. It seems as though you don't do anything in the game. The character back story is barely more in depth in ME2 and the only reason for that is because you spend the whole game trying to find your teammates, so its common sense to learn a lot about them. The story and information about the characters just seemed forced. It was a good game on its own but I had to dock it some points for not living up to the hype. Also the dialogue wheel is frustrating albeit funny when you chose something thinking is a joke or not as bad and you Shepard does something like curse off an old lady ( not gonna spoil anything) and you just sit there like wat......... Definitely a game worth buying a may have been a harsh review on my part. Expand
  48. Dec 5, 2016
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 is a good game for what it is but a disappointment if you loved the first game. Here are my main gripes:

    The choices made in the first game have no real consequence because most of the established characters are too busy to save the universe. Instead we get a crew of comic book rejects designed to hook psychologically scarred children and pubescent boys into the franchise.

    Everything was simplified instead of expanded and improved. Yes, the first game had some issues but the concept was good.

    The story means absolutely nothing. In the end you fight a giant terminator after working for a chain smoking James Bond villain. You don't get to fight a real Reaper. You don't get anything more than the same old "organics can't comprehend our existence" stuff.
    Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    95
    Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    100
    Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]