Mass Effect 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3229 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. Better than the first one in every way - and the first one was one of my favorite games of all time. This is a labor of love for every sci-fan out there. And even if you don't like sci-fi, this game is so fast paced, cinematic and well designed you'd be cheating yourself not to at least give it a shot. Thank you Bioware!
  2. GageG.
    Jan 31, 2010
    8
    This game is downright amazing, but it does have it flaws. They totally ripped apart the RPG system and made it not even as in depth as the first game. It is more of a shooter rather than a RPG. I guess to appeal to the masses. And the new weapons system is not as good and many other little flaws that made me mad, but I still enjoy the game. Just make sure you know this is more of a This game is downright amazing, but it does have it flaws. They totally ripped apart the RPG system and made it not even as in depth as the first game. It is more of a shooter rather than a RPG. I guess to appeal to the masses. And the new weapons system is not as good and many other little flaws that made me mad, but I still enjoy the game. Just make sure you know this is more of a shooter than RPG. It is not a defining RPG. Expand
  3. NateB
    Feb 1, 2010
    3
    Felt this game was a major disappointment and letdown. While the sound, atmosphere, and dialogue are high water marks, the combat is beyond clunky (especially after having played GoW 2 and Uncharted 2) and the RPG elements are severely reduced from BioWare's other installments. Unlike in prior games, it makes little difference what class you choose or what characters you choose to Felt this game was a major disappointment and letdown. While the sound, atmosphere, and dialogue are high water marks, the combat is beyond clunky (especially after having played GoW 2 and Uncharted 2) and the RPG elements are severely reduced from BioWare's other installments. Unlike in prior games, it makes little difference what class you choose or what characters you choose to bring along as almost all abilities are identical to one another. Furthermore, what kind of RPG doesn't even have maps for levels, loot drops from fallen enemies or stats for their weapons? Having greatly enjoyed KOTOR, Jade Empire and NWN I really wanted to like this game and tried for hours, but at the end of the day the lack of RPG features and horrible combat were faults too great to power through. Expand
  4. k
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I have never personally given a game a 10/10. But this game utterly deserves it. It's not perfect, though. Some would argue "if it's not perfect it's not a 10/10!" I disagree. The Normandy loading times are tedious and kill the immersion in one particular mission. There is not as much armor cust as I thought. But my biggest gripe is that the game ended. Yes, I'm I have never personally given a game a 10/10. But this game utterly deserves it. It's not perfect, though. Some would argue "if it's not perfect it's not a 10/10!" I disagree. The Normandy loading times are tedious and kill the immersion in one particular mission. There is not as much armor cust as I thought. But my biggest gripe is that the game ended. Yes, I'm serious. Slight spoiler No game has ever made me feel emotion for the characters. I hated Mordin when I first met him, then I was pissed off when he died in MY playthrough. Thane and Miranda's side quests were INCREDIBLE. I liked EVERYONE on my team, even Garrus and Tali, who I thought were boring and uninteresting in part 1. The combat, the scope, the graphics, the presentation, that's all expected in a great game. But what Mass EFfect has that others do not is the best characters to ever appear in a video game. That's what sets it apart and that's why it's the best game I've ever played. Genius. Expand
  5. JonattanM.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I'll begin this review by saying that I'm primarily a MMO-RPGer (EQ2). I occasionally play console shooters and PC RTS games. Even when I'm playing EQ2 though, I largely ignore the story lines behind the quests and the game overall. Having said all of that, I was totally drawn into ME2. The plot line is amazing, and I totally enjoyed the interactions with the other I'll begin this review by saying that I'm primarily a MMO-RPGer (EQ2). I occasionally play console shooters and PC RTS games. Even when I'm playing EQ2 though, I largely ignore the story lines behind the quests and the game overall. Having said all of that, I was totally drawn into ME2. The plot line is amazing, and I totally enjoyed the interactions with the other characters. My advice is to save often before interactions so that you can go back and play them another way. Combat is challenging enough without being frustrating (on "normal) for someone who is only an occasional console gamer. Hardcore console gamers might find the combat a little too easy but then again I haven't attempted it on the "extreme" setting so I'm guessing. I just finished it last night, and I'm probably going to play it again. It also prompted me to buy the first game. So, this is probably one of the only games I'll ever rate a 10, but ME2 deserves it! Expand
  6. TaylorH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    From within the first few minutes of booting up the game, it is apparent how much work went into this game. Incredible visuals, NO graphical "texture loads", fast-paced combat that provides more versatility than you usually know what to do with, and a storyline that makes 90% of any other Xbox 360 (or PS3 for that matter) pale in comparison. Mix in a deep customization option, and events From within the first few minutes of booting up the game, it is apparent how much work went into this game. Incredible visuals, NO graphical "texture loads", fast-paced combat that provides more versatility than you usually know what to do with, and a storyline that makes 90% of any other Xbox 360 (or PS3 for that matter) pale in comparison. Mix in a deep customization option, and events that carry over from the first game into the second, and you get on epic adventure that you will want to experience again and again and again. 4 play-thrus were needed on Mass Effect 1 for me. With Mass Effect 2, even 6 probably wont be enough. Epic gameplay. Tightly polished graphics, audio and storytelling. Engaging characters and memorable events. 10/10, without a doubt. Expand
  7. DavidW.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. ME2 is immersive in a way I've never seen before and tackles some of the darker attributes of humanity. Great game.
  8. PeteR.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The follow-up to one of the greatest RPG games of all time, could very well be the greatest RPG of all time.
  9. Mike
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! Please get us ME3 soon (but not to soon), I can't stand the wait. I'll go ahead and give ME3 a 10 right now, just for posterity. Expand
  10. JuanM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing! an incredible history and a second game in the trilogy that enhances to the limit the first one, it's simply unbelievable, is this really only a game? For me it's THE GAME. Emotionally engaging and the best adventure of all times, this is the future of the video games, welcome to the Bioware world and long live to the kings ;) Thanks for this great gaming experience.
  11. AndrewR.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    It's sad that they removed the elevators and replaced them with generic boring loading screens. Also, I thought that going from "RPG" to "RPG-lite" really hurt the gameplay for me. I liked having more options for armor, weapons, skills, etc. The whole skill/item system felt really really dumbed down compared to the amount of choices and customization we had in Mass Effect 1. No It's sad that they removed the elevators and replaced them with generic boring loading screens. Also, I thought that going from "RPG" to "RPG-lite" really hurt the gameplay for me. I liked having more options for armor, weapons, skills, etc. The whole skill/item system felt really really dumbed down compared to the amount of choices and customization we had in Mass Effect 1. No loot=boring. Upgrades didn't really cut it. Also, the story suffers from "middle of the trilogy" syndrome. There's no clearcut single villain, there's too many last second revelations, too many new characters. This is no "Empire Strikes Back" or "Godfather 2". Saren and Sovereign were far more compelling than the Collectors. Still a great game, but inferior to Mass Effect 1 in gameplay AND story. Expand
  12. KevinT.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect one was a wonderful game but it did have flaws. Bioware seem to have picked up on every one of those and refined it to the nth degree to create a fantastic experience. Gong is the clunky inventory management, gone is the tearing and odd frame rate dip. In is a vastly improved combat mechanic, the best visuals on 360 (probably) and a simpler more immersive RPG experience. The Mass Effect one was a wonderful game but it did have flaws. Bioware seem to have picked up on every one of those and refined it to the nth degree to create a fantastic experience. Gong is the clunky inventory management, gone is the tearing and odd frame rate dip. In is a vastly improved combat mechanic, the best visuals on 360 (probably) and a simpler more immersive RPG experience. The story is, once again, outstanding. It's only Jan yet I think we have my GOTY right here. Expand
  13. MarkR.
    Jan 30, 2010
    7
    great game let down by major story issues like the geth team member who after spending an entire game trying to wipe them out suddenly is welcomed aboard with open arms, miranda the cerberus devotee complete a mission suddenly shes ready to turn her back on them. this is story telling at its poorest, if it was a movie it would be comical, for a game costing fifty quid its unforgivable, great game let down by major story issues like the geth team member who after spending an entire game trying to wipe them out suddenly is welcomed aboard with open arms, miranda the cerberus devotee complete a mission suddenly shes ready to turn her back on them. this is story telling at its poorest, if it was a movie it would be comical, for a game costing fifty quid its unforgivable, and dont get started on the planets you survey , as you only need to check about half of em to get all the ore you need for the upgrades. a great game as i said ruined by the laziest, stupidest most nonsensical dialogue and story for a long time. we expect more from you bioware, sack your writer Expand
  14. DavidD
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. Even though the mining is tedious, I still liked the way they gave that option for you to get materials. Also, the developers made a bit easier for you to keep track of missions by letting you know where they are in the galaxy view. Overall, Bioware has done it again. Thank you Bioware for being one company that consistently brings us incredible games, Especially this one!! I can't wait till the 3rd one! Expand
  15. FabioL
    Feb 1, 2010
    6
    It's kinda weird to see such high ratings to ME2. Not a bad game by a long shot, but it was SIGNIFICANTLY dumbed down in the sake of streamlining... The game is a thousand times more linear, the characters are much blander, the missions aren't quite exciting, and so on. As for the new mechanisms, the reloading isn't a great improvement over the overheating one in ME1. Now It's kinda weird to see such high ratings to ME2. Not a bad game by a long shot, but it was SIGNIFICANTLY dumbed down in the sake of streamlining... The game is a thousand times more linear, the characters are much blander, the missions aren't quite exciting, and so on. As for the new mechanisms, the reloading isn't a great improvement over the overheating one in ME1. Now you can't even TOUCH a weapon you're not proficient with. Inventory management, even if a pain, is way better than no inventory AT ALL. Weapon management is no longer relevant, as every member has the same upgraded version (some kind of Cerberus "standard issue" policy, perhaps?). Planet exploring, while buggy, was much more rewarding, interesting and "role-play-y" than the current boring and pointless "flash game" scanning. Bioware should try to reach some level of balance in their simplification attempts, or ME3 will probably be the D&D 4.5 ed, of videogames. Expand
  16. GC
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    This is a game of improvements over ME1 which was a spectacular gaming accomplishment... Texture Detail, Lighting, Story, Controller Layout, Dialog Trees, Dialog Interaction,, Normandy, Elevator Rides, Side Quests, Exploration, Inventory System, Enemy AI, Squad AI, Targeting, Game HUD, Mid Level Loading,, Level Design, ... the list goes on... To see every gripe or annoyance from the first This is a game of improvements over ME1 which was a spectacular gaming accomplishment... Texture Detail, Lighting, Story, Controller Layout, Dialog Trees, Dialog Interaction,, Normandy, Elevator Rides, Side Quests, Exploration, Inventory System, Enemy AI, Squad AI, Targeting, Game HUD, Mid Level Loading,, Level Design, ... the list goes on... To see every gripe or annoyance from the first game tweaked and improved, makes a great game design (ME1) become truly fantastic. If you liked ME1 get ME2... you'll love it. Yes, they made adjustments to Combat (less like KOTOR) and streamlined the RPG aspects (simpler inventory/character management) but the changes only add to the overall gaming experience. Bravo BioWare. Wish you had done something like this with Dragon Age. Expand
  17. TonyA.
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    I cannot believe the over hype of a game that is COMPLETLEY UNPLAYABLE due too tiny text size. Bioware have said that it is meant for HD TVs, but it does not say that on the box, or in any " perfect score" review I have read. They have also broken the best parts from the original software to sell to you for extra money. Bioware and EA are guilty of disregard for gamers and pure greed in I cannot believe the over hype of a game that is COMPLETLEY UNPLAYABLE due too tiny text size. Bioware have said that it is meant for HD TVs, but it does not say that on the box, or in any " perfect score" review I have read. They have also broken the best parts from the original software to sell to you for extra money. Bioware and EA are guilty of disregard for gamers and pure greed in thier last two games, and I implore you not to buy this game as you will be very angry after 10 minutes. Expand
  18. BrentonM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Hats off to Bioware! Only halfway through the game and it's living up to everything I hoped it would. Purposely stayed away from reading too much into it prior to release, so being a huge fan of ME1 makes all the surprises and ramifications even more EPIC!
  19. GameInformer
    Feb 1, 2010
    0
    We at Game Informer believe this game blows chunks. Good graphics but they still do not natch up to games like Uncharted 2 or KIllzone 2. The PC version definitely does, but in comparison, the Xbox 360 version is poor. Again, the story really is not that compelling and you will find yourself wondering what is going on if you were lucky enough not to play the first one. GI out.
  20. Henryb
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Anyway, this game is absolutely amazing. Buy this if you love a great story with a great world and great characters. You will love this if your into any form of game. It's sooo good. Expand
  21. Ridge
    Feb 21, 2010
    8
    Mass Effect 2, simply, overrated. I love the Mass Effect series as a whole, I do, but people are making it seem so perfect when it's really not. Yes, the combat is better and of course the graphics but that's all you really here about that has improved because that's all that pretty much has. Hacking is much less annoying and a little less repetitive. The genre is Action, Mass Effect 2, simply, overrated. I love the Mass Effect series as a whole, I do, but people are making it seem so perfect when it's really not. Yes, the combat is better and of course the graphics but that's all you really here about that has improved because that's all that pretty much has. Hacking is much less annoying and a little less repetitive. The genre is Action, Role-Playing Game, but even a game like Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 seems to have more RPG elements than this. Woo! I can change the kind of bullets I want to shoot! Really, that's all? Too much shooter, not enough RPG! Need I remind you again that's what the game is. The story telling is good, even though the Collector's don't seem as much as a threat as Sovereign did in the first. Another issue, I don't understand how a Universe could go from having practically infinite ammo to using some cheap thermo clips. It's like the technology actually Devolved. I don't think I found an explanation in the game for it either. Personally I hate ducking and covering all the time, there are so many games the same "Shoot, Take Damage, Restore Health, Repeat" system that the first one didn't rely on. It also seems almost impossible to only get all renegade or all paragon the entire game. I'm usually always half and half. I do enjoy the team mates way more in Mass Effect 2. Most of them have some interesting back story that you actually want to learn. Bioware if you ever read this, thank you soooo much for getting rid of the long elevator rides! They were dreadful. In Mass Effect 3, can there just be a happy medium, please? Oh, and deeper RPG elements and raise the level cap higher without DLC. Expand
  22. Matt
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    One of the best and most absorbing game experiences I've had in recent memory. The improvements to presentation and gameplay are stellar, but without making the original title obsolete. The level of engagement with the characters and story is on par with my adolescent obsession with Final Fantasy. This is an RPG for the maturing gamer, and a step forward for the genre. Unlike most One of the best and most absorbing game experiences I've had in recent memory. The improvements to presentation and gameplay are stellar, but without making the original title obsolete. The level of engagement with the characters and story is on par with my adolescent obsession with Final Fantasy. This is an RPG for the maturing gamer, and a step forward for the genre. Unlike most sequels, if the first one didn't do it for you, this one might just change your mind. Highly recommended. Expand
  23. TerryG
    Feb 2, 2010
    9
    This game just set the gold standard for what an Xbox 360 game should look and play like. The story is intense, regardless of the doldrums in the middle of the game. This is also a great example of what a science fiction epic should feel like, a feeling not felt since your first trip through Star Wars. Yes there were some points where I begged the question "Why?" but for the most part the This game just set the gold standard for what an Xbox 360 game should look and play like. The story is intense, regardless of the doldrums in the middle of the game. This is also a great example of what a science fiction epic should feel like, a feeling not felt since your first trip through Star Wars. Yes there were some points where I begged the question "Why?" but for the most part the galaxy is expansive and with my first play through topping 30 hours I was not left feeling like I could have done more. Looking forward to ME3 and hoping they keep up the good work. Expand
  24. MichaelH
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more reviewer respect than grandtheftauto4 (i don't get whats so cool about that game) yet, because of how controversial mass effect 2 is, it will not get the score it truly deserves from many. Expand
  25. AdrianM
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply awe-inspiring. After having just completed the first installment, for the second time, the week before Mass Effect 2's release, I could easily note the numerous references to the first game. The storyline, graphics, and streamlined combat make this game a must-have and, in my humble opinion, the best Xbox 360 game to date. The whole Mass Effect universe has Mass Effect 2 is simply awe-inspiring. After having just completed the first installment, for the second time, the week before Mass Effect 2's release, I could easily note the numerous references to the first game. The storyline, graphics, and streamlined combat make this game a must-have and, in my humble opinion, the best Xbox 360 game to date. The whole Mass Effect universe has been solidified and expanded upon in this game, and BioWare definitely outdid themselves and have put the Mass Effect franchise on the top of many gamers' lists of favorites. The storyline is capturing, the characters are memorable (and you learn to love them), and all of the characters from the previous game are there albeit unavailable. Mass Effect fans will surely enjoy the game, and new players in the Mass Effect games will find themselves enjoying it anyway. I would, however, encourage people to buy or rent the first game before playing this game. Most RPG fans will love the detail in the storyline of the first game, and it will make Mass Effect 2 an even more enjoyable experience. Expand
  26. JacobK
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    As a veteran gamer and lover of roleplaying games as well as a fan of Mass Effect 1 and of all Bioware games I am ecstatic to say that ME2 does not disappoint. By playing this game, one will immerse themselves in a beautifully crafted universe that takes place in the 23rd century. Bioware has created a fantasy world that is believable and rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien's middle-earth. As a veteran gamer and lover of roleplaying games as well as a fan of Mass Effect 1 and of all Bioware games I am ecstatic to say that ME2 does not disappoint. By playing this game, one will immerse themselves in a beautifully crafted universe that takes place in the 23rd century. Bioware has created a fantasy world that is believable and rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien's middle-earth. No RPG to date can rival ME2. Bioware took every aspect of the first game that players weren't satisfied with and revamped the entire ME game play. No more tedious, redundant world explorations but rather new unique experiences that are discovered by scanning worlds; no more pointless minerals, which are now used for upgrades; no more driving an all-too-boring mako; no more inventory mayhem, where instead there is no traditional inventory; no linear classes but instead class options that will provide a new experience each playthrough. These are just some examples of how ME2 outdoes its predecessor. Most notable though is how ME2 introduces characters in a fashion that is unrivaled by any game in existence today. With ME2, not only do you immerse yourself in a stupendous and fantastical universe but also plunge yourself into the depths of characters you meet in your travels; each character with a unique and realistic personality that encompasses and runs parallel with the ME universe. With such engrossing game play, grandiose storytelling, fantastically crafted universe and realistic NPC/squadmates that everyone can relate to ME2 does not leave much to criticize. But no game comes without criticism, and while ME2 has a poultry amount of criticisms compared to other games, some aspects of the game could be better. Mainly what got me included the minuscule amount of weapons at your disposal. For example, there are 2 assault riffles (one other that I don't count but isn't available to everyone), 2 submachine guns and 2 pistols, and while there are more types of weapons to choose from their are few versions in each category. Another aspect that can be looked down on is the strip of the inventory system to the few weapons and upgrades; in other words, the "loot" aspect of ME1 is not present. Furthermore, the mining of minerals is extremely boring and slow, where these minerals are needed for upgrades. As far as glitches go, ME2 has no more and maybe fewer than any game it might relate to upon release. Despite these very few criticisms that one can make for ME2, they are all irrelevant because of the overflow of entrainment and excitement the game brings to its players. Even if the player has not played ME1, this a game not to pass up on. Rent it, buy it, get all the achievements, import character from ME1, do whatever it is that will enable you to play this hell of a great game. Expand
  27. DaveJ
    Feb 3, 2010
    7
    ME2 is a good shooter and a fun game, for what is is. The problem is that I wanted an RPG, not a shooter. I want depth, a non-linear structure, missions where I don't have to shoot stuff, character development, conversations that have an effect on the world and the characters in it. I want to explore and lose myself in an imaginary world, not just go down corridor after corridor ME2 is a good shooter and a fun game, for what is is. The problem is that I wanted an RPG, not a shooter. I want depth, a non-linear structure, missions where I don't have to shoot stuff, character development, conversations that have an effect on the world and the characters in it. I want to explore and lose myself in an imaginary world, not just go down corridor after corridor hiding behind conveniently-placed barriers shooting waves of aliens before flicking a switch and getting an end-of-level screen, like a 90s shooter. A good game for what it is, but a huge step backwards in every area (bar graphics) from the first game. Expand
  28. joshD
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Ive gamed since the days of the atari 2600. No kidding, greatest game I've ever played. The low scores some of these people are posting in this area are a joke. They are either ps3 clowns, or they want the fast pace twitchy shooter. This game has everything, and every decision you make determines how the game plays out! Amazing amazing game!
  29. SebastianS
    Feb 4, 2010
    4
    It is one of them good games, but I think Fable is simply som much better! I went on Metacritic and rated Fable a 10, this doesn't deserve nearly as good. Finding the buttons on the controller is really hard, that's really a lot of ease in Fable. Especially in Fable 2. Mass Effect 2 i close, but not good.
  30. ChrisP
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Wow, the amount of zeros and under 9's is outstanding... Complaining that there is too much dialogue and not enough shooting; is like buying a book and crying that there is not enough pictures. Just because you are handicap doesnt mean you are right - and your mom needs the internet back.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    95
    Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    100
    Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]