User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2962 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Well, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfully forgetting through their misty-eyed watercolour memories that Mass Effect could be muscled through with sheer gaming skill and an unleveled Shepard. Being able to be beaten by skill alone, an RPG does not make. The inventory was awful, it turned theWell, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfully forgetting through their misty-eyed watercolour memories that Mass Effect could be muscled through with sheer gaming skill and an unleveled Shepard. Being able to be beaten by skill alone, an RPG does not make. The inventory was awful, it turned the whole game into a puzzle of managing your inventory. I'm glad to see it gone. To finish up, the romance options are much improved, instead of humans only or a 106-year old archeologist. Expand
  2. Apr 14, 2011
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. RPG? --- I don't get it... I just don't. How could this game have received a 9.0 user score? It must be because the current generation of gamers is made-up of FPS f-boys who care more about ownz and lolz, than a deep RPG experience. Mass Effect 2 isn't an RPG.. it doesn't even have elements of an RPG. The only thing that had RPG elements in ME2 was the marketing letterhead. ME2 was a third person shooter in space. Period. None of your choices matter or make any difference to the story line, except who is or is not around after the credits roll. Big woop.

    Completely linear gameplay -- huge disapointment throughout the entire experience. Side-missions are nothing more than 10 minute long fire fights, without any purpose. No loot, no weapons or armor to find, no unique artifacts.... just more fps lolz and ownz.

    Mining -- makes me so sick I don't even want to write about it. Bioware took away immersive planet exploration in an awesome all terrain vehicle.... for a glorified game of darts. Congrats developers. You epic failed. All you had to do was add some more alien villages, or interesting ruins to explore. Instead, you Bioware typed select-all, Shift-delete. "We're golden yo!" I've met smarter rocks.

    PS - to the people who complained about ME1's planet exploring vehicle controls -- you're just too dumb. Sorry. The controls worked perfectly, and exploring the mountains of a distant world was great fun. Try learning how to control a vehicle other than a Halo Bullfrog buggy... or whatever it's called.

    Inventory - Shift-Delete.
    Armor, Weapons - Shift-Delete.
    ...a new bioware trend.

    Finally... the final Boss.... WTF kind of special education, highschool drop-out, pregnant at 16, eats paint chips, glue sniffing, embarrassment to humanity, brainchild decided that a giant skeletor in the middle of space was a "awesomz lolz yo, yo" final boss?

    Skeletor...really? In space??? How was this thing supposed to do anything, go anywhere, or simply be a threat to anyhing in the ME2 universe? Was he going to fling asteroids across known space?
    Oh, and the best part was that he was made from a mix of biological DNA.... so he was the giant mutated baby of Rosanne Bar and Shaq?? Bioware is so dumb.

    You get a 4 because the graphics were pretty. That's about it.
    Expand
  3. MikeD
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    In this game bioware has realized and presented science fiction better than any game has yet done. they created a world that is not only alive but moves and breathes with realistic characters and events. it also has done a fantastic job of melding genres and still delivering the high quality story we expect from bioware games. if you are a shooter fan, if you are an rpg fan, if you are a In this game bioware has realized and presented science fiction better than any game has yet done. they created a world that is not only alive but moves and breathes with realistic characters and events. it also has done a fantastic job of melding genres and still delivering the high quality story we expect from bioware games. if you are a shooter fan, if you are an rpg fan, if you are a GAME fan you will enjoy this game. this isn't only my favorite bioware game ever it's my favorite game ever. pick this game up and embrace the greatness, you owe it to yourself. Expand
  4. ChrisM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    This game is a big achievement for the game industry. it sets a new mark for nearly every aspect in modern videogames. it starts with a great story, incredible well written dialogue you only hear in really good movies, great graphics and sound an an absorbing atmosphere. al lot of people have already mentioned these points but there is one thing left no one mentioned: the great greatThis game is a big achievement for the game industry. it sets a new mark for nearly every aspect in modern videogames. it starts with a great story, incredible well written dialogue you only hear in really good movies, great graphics and sound an an absorbing atmosphere. al lot of people have already mentioned these points but there is one thing left no one mentioned: the great great outstanding art design of the game. there are moments of pure design magc in this game. a great game, a game you need to play, in other words: a masterpiece! Expand
  5. Ben
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I give it a 10 because it deserves it, in spite of the few issues i have with the game. In comparison with the first, which will be in my type 5 all-time forever, they increased the length and depth, which was my main complaint then. But i was rather disappointed to see weapons and gear in general basically go out the window, that is not really acceptable to me in an rpg. Not to mention I give it a 10 because it deserves it, in spite of the few issues i have with the game. In comparison with the first, which will be in my type 5 all-time forever, they increased the length and depth, which was my main complaint then. But i was rather disappointed to see weapons and gear in general basically go out the window, that is not really acceptable to me in an rpg. Not to mention you can only level up at the end of a "mission" and killing stuff gives no exp. this time around. They also removed some depth from the skills/level system in general which was also disappointing. In all, it is a monumental game, but I haven't gotten past these changes yet. People complained about the inventory screen in the first(which I had no issue with) and you got what you wanted, thanks. I guess I would have to give a 9.5 if I could. Expand
  6. GaryK
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Put a lot of effort to get this running on windows through my Macbook Pro, and it was so worth it. It is very rare I can say this, but this is one of my favourite games ever made, up there with Crash Warped, MGS3, Uncharted 2 and perhaps Halo 2 (first main online game of mine).
  7. AndrewS
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I was disappointed at first due to the changes from ME1, but after spending sometime with ME2, it's an awesome achievement of storytelling and gameplay. I loved the way ME1 played (in the minority on that) and after sometime, I realized the brilliance of ME2. Bioware really listened to criticisms of the inventory system and side missions in ME1, not only making them better, but they I was disappointed at first due to the changes from ME1, but after spending sometime with ME2, it's an awesome achievement of storytelling and gameplay. I loved the way ME1 played (in the minority on that) and after sometime, I realized the brilliance of ME2. Bioware really listened to criticisms of the inventory system and side missions in ME1, not only making them better, but they added whole new great systems/features to replace them. Bravo. Expand
  8. stiana.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I played the game, and I liked it. It made for a fun 32 Hour experience. At the end 7 hours went by without me noticing, I have a hard time focusing on a thing for long. I have not played the first game, and this intrigued me to check out the first game. Please, if you find the game to be average give it a average vote, IE 4-6. I think the 1up review (A-) gave a good and reflected run on I played the game, and I liked it. It made for a fun 32 Hour experience. At the end 7 hours went by without me noticing, I have a hard time focusing on a thing for long. I have not played the first game, and this intrigued me to check out the first game. Please, if you find the game to be average give it a average vote, IE 4-6. I think the 1up review (A-) gave a good and reflected run on the strengths, weaknesses and differences between the first and second. This is not an up-vote down-vote. Even thought i give it a clean hypocritical up-vote. Expand
  9. LukeG
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    This game is the one of the best story telling games iv played the last one to come up to this standed was Shenmue i can honestly say that i can find any fault thats worth not getting it for the only thing i will say is the loading screens take a long time but thats it really once you get over that little hitch you will feel the inbrace this game will have on you.
  10. gonfreecs
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent game,with superb characters and non stop action.This sequel is everything that ME1 should be.That's why ME2 has 96 points on Metacritic.com,which,by the way,is tied with another so called "perfect game" ,Uncharted 2. But while Uncharted 2 is just a mix between Tomb Raider and Gears of War. ME2 can offer more than gameplay...story. ME2 makes you feel under the skin of the Excellent game,with superb characters and non stop action.This sequel is everything that ME1 should be.That's why ME2 has 96 points on Metacritic.com,which,by the way,is tied with another so called "perfect game" ,Uncharted 2. But while Uncharted 2 is just a mix between Tomb Raider and Gears of War. ME2 can offer more than gameplay...story. ME2 makes you feel under the skin of the protagonist Shepard,your decisions will make the whole universe a worse or a better place.This game is not shallow and cinematic like Uncharted 2.This game has little details that,together,make this game an excellent experience. No one knew that ME2 would be so succesfull,and because of that Sony Fanboys like this guy named "K" are hating Bioware,just because a Xbox 360 game is good as a PS3 exclusive game...So,K and others Sony fanboys...Don't try to low ME2 score just for purpose,its childish and useless.Because everyone knows now that,without a doubt,Mass Effect 2 is the best game of the year 2010. Expand
  11. JC
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Do not listen to any of the haters or ps3 clowns. This game is real deal. I played games for years and years. This is the best game I have ever played this generation of games. Probably one of my favourite games too. Incredible gameplay, excellent dialogue and story. This game is worthy and it will be an experience that you will be remembering for along time. It is crazy because my sister Do not listen to any of the haters or ps3 clowns. This game is real deal. I played games for years and years. This is the best game I have ever played this generation of games. Probably one of my favourite games too. Incredible gameplay, excellent dialogue and story. This game is worthy and it will be an experience that you will be remembering for along time. It is crazy because my sister doesn't play games but she is playing mass effect 2 just because she loves the story and the characters you meet play with in the game. Expand
  12. Mike
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! Please get us ME3 soon (but not to soon), I can't stand the wait. I'll go ahead and give ME3 a 10 right now, just for posterity. Expand
  13. DavidD
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. Even though the mining is tedious, I still liked the way they gave that option for you to get materials. Also, the developers made a bit easier for you to keep track of missions by letting you know where they are in the galaxy view. Overall, Bioware has done it again. Thank you Bioware for being one company that consistently brings us incredible games, Especially this one!! I can't wait till the 3rd one! Expand
  14. Henryb
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Anyway, this game is absolutely amazing. Buy this if you love a great story with a great world and great characters. You will love this if your into any form of game. It's sooo good. Expand
  15. Ridge
    Feb 21, 2010
    8
    Mass Effect 2, simply, overrated. I love the Mass Effect series as a whole, I do, but people are making it seem so perfect when it's really not. Yes, the combat is better and of course the graphics but that's all you really here about that has improved because that's all that pretty much has. Hacking is much less annoying and a little less repetitive. The genre is Action, Mass Effect 2, simply, overrated. I love the Mass Effect series as a whole, I do, but people are making it seem so perfect when it's really not. Yes, the combat is better and of course the graphics but that's all you really here about that has improved because that's all that pretty much has. Hacking is much less annoying and a little less repetitive. The genre is Action, Role-Playing Game, but even a game like Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 seems to have more RPG elements than this. Woo! I can change the kind of bullets I want to shoot! Really, that's all? Too much shooter, not enough RPG! Need I remind you again that's what the game is. The story telling is good, even though the Collector's don't seem as much as a threat as Sovereign did in the first. Another issue, I don't understand how a Universe could go from having practically infinite ammo to using some cheap thermo clips. It's like the technology actually Devolved. I don't think I found an explanation in the game for it either. Personally I hate ducking and covering all the time, there are so many games the same "Shoot, Take Damage, Restore Health, Repeat" system that the first one didn't rely on. It also seems almost impossible to only get all renegade or all paragon the entire game. I'm usually always half and half. I do enjoy the team mates way more in Mass Effect 2. Most of them have some interesting back story that you actually want to learn. Bioware if you ever read this, thank you soooo much for getting rid of the long elevator rides! They were dreadful. In Mass Effect 3, can there just be a happy medium, please? Oh, and deeper RPG elements and raise the level cap higher without DLC. Expand
  16. MichaelH
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more reviewer respect than grandtheftauto4 (i don't get whats so cool about that game) yet, because of how controversial mass effect 2 is, it will not get the score it truly deserves from many. Expand
  17. Nick
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    Any game that treats you like a criminal simply isn't worth paying for, and isn't worth playing. The draconian DRM ruins any fun I might have had, since my spotty internet connection means I keep getting booted out of the game.
  18. AlanT
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Gaming history in the making. Vastly improved on ME1 and not a dull moment. I know some people may find the resource mining a bit tedious, but it does not take long, and I liked how creative it was. The cut scenes and dialogue are amazing and it is not too shabby as a 3rd person shooter either. Easily the best game I've played on the 360.
  19. AdolphusG
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    This is probably the single best game I've played since KOTOR way back in '03. Anything Bioware touches is pure gold... Just about everything about this game is an improvement over the first. The quests are more entertaining instead of simple shoot'em ups, the dialogue more interseting, even the story is better than ME1, which is saying something. Even t0he graphics, an This is probably the single best game I've played since KOTOR way back in '03. Anything Bioware touches is pure gold... Just about everything about this game is an improvement over the first. The quests are more entertaining instead of simple shoot'em ups, the dialogue more interseting, even the story is better than ME1, which is saying something. Even t0he graphics, an area where Bioware is not always amazing, are off the charts. This game is so good, it feels like a personalized movie. I'm not saying this game is perfect. It definitely has some minor flaws but the good far,far,far outweighs the bad. In terms of a gaming experience, I'd give this game 10/10 which is the first 10 I've awarded since KOTOR. And coming from a guy who thought ME1 was dissapointing, this is amazing praise. Expand
  20. SamF
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Superb game, well worth the marks it is currently getting and worth far more than the ridiculous gamecritics score, which is blatantly after the naysayer's attention award for stupid scoring. I loved the first Mass Effect despite its flaws, I love Mass Effect 2 even more as it has almost no flaws. Other than some still awkward AI in combat scenes and what some would describe as Superb game, well worth the marks it is currently getting and worth far more than the ridiculous gamecritics score, which is blatantly after the naysayer's attention award for stupid scoring. I loved the first Mass Effect despite its flaws, I love Mass Effect 2 even more as it has almost no flaws. Other than some still awkward AI in combat scenes and what some would describe as overblown dialogue it is pretty much flawless in every respect. The only down side for me is the length of the story... before you know it, the game is over. As long as the DLC that will be coming fits well with the story, then this is a truly epic game worthy of any gamer's attention. Expand
  21. Michael
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Looking through all the user reviews for this game, I can only think that alot of people should be ashamed. I point that finger to you PS3 fanboys with agendas, and another finger to you, ignorant posters who have no basis to review... Moving on though. My Review is closer to 9.5, but in the sake of rounding up I'll make it a 10 Graphics are the best around in this game here. The Looking through all the user reviews for this game, I can only think that alot of people should be ashamed. I point that finger to you PS3 fanboys with agendas, and another finger to you, ignorant posters who have no basis to review... Moving on though. My Review is closer to 9.5, but in the sake of rounding up I'll make it a 10 Graphics are the best around in this game here. The story line is as indepth as it can be, if you take the time to look at it, character relationships are amazing, and gameplay is as solid as a Diamond. As for all the people that try to dismiss this game for lacking in the RPG elements, they must remember that Role Playing Game doesn't neccesarily mean tons of useless gear and attribute assigning, but can also mean a game where you "Role play" a character in a given situation using your choices... instead of predifined ones... and so this game is a gem in that department too... And yes... this is Definitely the game to beat this year for GOTY. Expand
  22. GabeM
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 succeeds in creating a player-centric RPG/shooter experience that combines satisfying combat with an intensely personal story. No other RPG, or game in recent memory, has succeeded quite as brilliantly in practically every way worth mentioning. The game has room for improvement, especially with regard to the consequences of combat sequences and party chemistry, but the Mass Effect 2 succeeds in creating a player-centric RPG/shooter experience that combines satisfying combat with an intensely personal story. No other RPG, or game in recent memory, has succeeded quite as brilliantly in practically every way worth mentioning. The game has room for improvement, especially with regard to the consequences of combat sequences and party chemistry, but the overall experience is sublime. I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  23. cleanupman
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    One of th best games ever made.took what mass effect 1 did and improved everything making this a true sequel. the story is compelling, the gameplay is perfected and the game is very technically sound.lots of stuff to do and makes me cant wait for mass effect 3. go out and buy the game you wont be disappointed.
  24. GeoffreyH
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Ever played a game that was so good that you didn't want it to end? This is Mass Effect 2, the game feels meticulously crafted, everything is polished from the original. This is what a sequel is meant to be. Never before has a sequel to an rpg made you feel like you accomplished something from the original. From the service records screen, to the pop quiz on your accomplishments from Ever played a game that was so good that you didn't want it to end? This is Mass Effect 2, the game feels meticulously crafted, everything is polished from the original. This is what a sequel is meant to be. Never before has a sequel to an rpg made you feel like you accomplished something from the original. From the service records screen, to the pop quiz on your accomplishments from the first game, to test your memory, to finding old friends and foes, this game grabs you and never lets go. The narrative has a way of making you care for the characters. They aren't static and plastic as in traditional rpg's but feel like they are fully fledged out and developed beings. Not much can be said about this without going into the story, what i can say is that the dialogue and voice acting is brilliant. The characters brilliant, the narrative brilliant. This is the pinnacle of digital story telling narrative. No other game can come close to mass effect in breadth of achievement. It's its own genre. It feels wonderful to play an understandable well thought out and concise story. I've read a site say this is gears of war meets final fantasy. Final fantasy's stories have always bordered on nonsensical, people just play them for their sugar-rush coccain induced summon spells. ME2 is not that its something special. Pick it up. Expand
  25. MikaG.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2, to me, is more than just a great game. It is an incredibly innovative, imaginative game that now sets the standard for story telling and structure for RPGs. I have been playing this for five hours now and have come across no bugs, or glitches so far, and to be honest no other game has enthralled me so much as Mass Effect. Mass Effect has done something that games like fable Mass Effect 2, to me, is more than just a great game. It is an incredibly innovative, imaginative game that now sets the standard for story telling and structure for RPGs. I have been playing this for five hours now and have come across no bugs, or glitches so far, and to be honest no other game has enthralled me so much as Mass Effect. Mass Effect has done something that games like fable have been clawing to do right for almost ten years, and thats just how personal this game is. For everyone i know who has played the first, they all have a different story and experience to tell and now with the second installment that is taken to an, until now, unreachable summit. So for me a game of this quality and magnitude deserves to be in the annoles of true legend. A game that has achieved something that no other game has. For me i give it a 10, despite its few flaws i have never experienced a game that i actually cared about, a story that truly moves me. And eveyone who plays this has their own unique experience, their own world effected by their own choices. Tell me another game that truly pulls that off, i can wait. Expand
  26. AndreaL.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect is one of my favorite games of the past decade. Despite its technical shortcomings, BioWare's first in what it promised to be a trilogy took the role-playing genre to new cinematic heights. Mass Effect 2 is a better game in near every way. From the very first scene, you will be hooked. And the farther you dive into this epic action role-playing game, the better it gets. Mass Effect is one of my favorite games of the past decade. Despite its technical shortcomings, BioWare's first in what it promised to be a trilogy took the role-playing genre to new cinematic heights. Mass Effect 2 is a better game in near every way. From the very first scene, you will be hooked. And the farther you dive into this epic action role-playing game, the better it gets. It fulfills the promise of its predecessor while continuing to push the boundaries of what we should expect in a videogame. This is the continued saga of Commander Shepard. It's the future, and all sentient life across the galaxy is in peril. An advanced race of machines known as Reapers is intent on wiping the slate clean. Shepard, a distinguished soldier, has faced this threat and emerged triumphant once, but victory is far from assured. Now Shepard must take the fight to the enemy -- a mission that is dubbed suicidal from the outset. Things don't look very promising, but Shepard has a plan. It involves recruiting the best and brightest from around the galaxy and somehow convincing them their lives are worth sacrificing for the greater good. Expand
  27. JeremyL
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Well, what can I say about this game? Mass Effect is an amazing game, with an amazing story. It's something for every RPG fan to enjoy, and get sucked into the story. I must say, I am really impressed by the game. I knew it was going to be awesome but, holy crap it's one of the best games I have played in a while. First off, you can use your character that you had before. Which Well, what can I say about this game? Mass Effect is an amazing game, with an amazing story. It's something for every RPG fan to enjoy, and get sucked into the story. I must say, I am really impressed by the game. I knew it was going to be awesome but, holy crap it's one of the best games I have played in a while. First off, you can use your character that you had before. Which is certainly a huge bonus to who ever worked hard on building their characters from the first game. Second, the characters you get to interact with are just more amazing then the first one. The screen is brighter, things are just more beautiful. Bioware does an awesome job on their games. If you played the first one I would recommend going out to buy this right now. If you have not played the first one, I would suggest you go buy it, and then get this one. You will not be disappointed! Expand
  28. MattP.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome. from my experience i think it is the best i have ever played, except for halo ofc. i recommend buying this game immediately because its really a must-have. i give this game a definite ten out of ten not just because its awesome game, but also because it has affected me in real life. if i would define the genre RPS, this would be the meaning of it.
  29. alexh
    Mar 2, 2010
    9
    This is an excellent title. Bioware took everything that was wrong with the first game and scrapped it. to name a few the mako, elevator rides, and the spotty fighting mechanics . The writing is also top notch and I appreciate how you can actually here your character act out your decisions. It makes me feel a lot closer to Shepard. I have a couple of tiny nit picks which is that the game This is an excellent title. Bioware took everything that was wrong with the first game and scrapped it. to name a few the mako, elevator rides, and the spotty fighting mechanics . The writing is also top notch and I appreciate how you can actually here your character act out your decisions. It makes me feel a lot closer to Shepard. I have a couple of tiny nit picks which is that the game can be hard to play through multiple times since you've heard %80 of the dialogue already and the classes aren't very balanced. Oh and one more thing, I bought the game new so I had access to the cerberus network out of the box, but i think that's kind of a cheap tactic to prevent people from buying used. I blame EA for that one, not Bioware. Expand
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. 100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]