User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2963 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. Better than the first one in every way - and the first one was one of my favorite games of all time. This is a labor of love for every sci-fan out there. And even if you don't like sci-fi, this game is so fast paced, cinematic and well designed you'd be cheating yourself not to at least give it a shot. Thank you Bioware!
  2. k
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I have never personally given a game a 10/10. But this game utterly deserves it. It's not perfect, though. Some would argue "if it's not perfect it's not a 10/10!" I disagree. The Normandy loading times are tedious and kill the immersion in one particular mission. There is not as much armor cust as I thought. But my biggest gripe is that the game ended. Yes, I'm I have never personally given a game a 10/10. But this game utterly deserves it. It's not perfect, though. Some would argue "if it's not perfect it's not a 10/10!" I disagree. The Normandy loading times are tedious and kill the immersion in one particular mission. There is not as much armor cust as I thought. But my biggest gripe is that the game ended. Yes, I'm serious. Slight spoiler No game has ever made me feel emotion for the characters. I hated Mordin when I first met him, then I was pissed off when he died in MY playthrough. Thane and Miranda's side quests were INCREDIBLE. I liked EVERYONE on my team, even Garrus and Tali, who I thought were boring and uninteresting in part 1. The combat, the scope, the graphics, the presentation, that's all expected in a great game. But what Mass EFfect has that others do not is the best characters to ever appear in a video game. That's what sets it apart and that's why it's the best game I've ever played. Genius. Expand
  3. JonattanM.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I'll begin this review by saying that I'm primarily a MMO-RPGer (EQ2). I occasionally play console shooters and PC RTS games. Even when I'm playing EQ2 though, I largely ignore the story lines behind the quests and the game overall. Having said all of that, I was totally drawn into ME2. The plot line is amazing, and I totally enjoyed the interactions with the other I'll begin this review by saying that I'm primarily a MMO-RPGer (EQ2). I occasionally play console shooters and PC RTS games. Even when I'm playing EQ2 though, I largely ignore the story lines behind the quests and the game overall. Having said all of that, I was totally drawn into ME2. The plot line is amazing, and I totally enjoyed the interactions with the other characters. My advice is to save often before interactions so that you can go back and play them another way. Combat is challenging enough without being frustrating (on "normal) for someone who is only an occasional console gamer. Hardcore console gamers might find the combat a little too easy but then again I haven't attempted it on the "extreme" setting so I'm guessing. I just finished it last night, and I'm probably going to play it again. It also prompted me to buy the first game. So, this is probably one of the only games I'll ever rate a 10, but ME2 deserves it! Expand
  4. TaylorH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    From within the first few minutes of booting up the game, it is apparent how much work went into this game. Incredible visuals, NO graphical "texture loads", fast-paced combat that provides more versatility than you usually know what to do with, and a storyline that makes 90% of any other Xbox 360 (or PS3 for that matter) pale in comparison. Mix in a deep customization option, and events From within the first few minutes of booting up the game, it is apparent how much work went into this game. Incredible visuals, NO graphical "texture loads", fast-paced combat that provides more versatility than you usually know what to do with, and a storyline that makes 90% of any other Xbox 360 (or PS3 for that matter) pale in comparison. Mix in a deep customization option, and events that carry over from the first game into the second, and you get on epic adventure that you will want to experience again and again and again. 4 play-thrus were needed on Mass Effect 1 for me. With Mass Effect 2, even 6 probably wont be enough. Epic gameplay. Tightly polished graphics, audio and storytelling. Engaging characters and memorable events. 10/10, without a doubt. Expand
  5. DavidW.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. ME2 is immersive in a way I've never seen before and tackles some of the darker attributes of humanity. Great game.
  6. PeteR.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The follow-up to one of the greatest RPG games of all time, could very well be the greatest RPG of all time.
  7. Mike
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! Please get us ME3 soon (but not to soon), I can't stand the wait. I'll go ahead and give ME3 a 10 right now, just for posterity. Collapse
  8. JuanM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing! an incredible history and a second game in the trilogy that enhances to the limit the first one, it's simply unbelievable, is this really only a game? For me it's THE GAME. Emotionally engaging and the best adventure of all times, this is the future of the video games, welcome to the Bioware world and long live to the kings ;) Thanks for this great gaming experience.
  9. KevinT.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect one was a wonderful game but it did have flaws. Bioware seem to have picked up on every one of those and refined it to the nth degree to create a fantastic experience. Gong is the clunky inventory management, gone is the tearing and odd frame rate dip. In is a vastly improved combat mechanic, the best visuals on 360 (probably) and a simpler more immersive RPG experience. The Mass Effect one was a wonderful game but it did have flaws. Bioware seem to have picked up on every one of those and refined it to the nth degree to create a fantastic experience. Gong is the clunky inventory management, gone is the tearing and odd frame rate dip. In is a vastly improved combat mechanic, the best visuals on 360 (probably) and a simpler more immersive RPG experience. The story is, once again, outstanding. It's only Jan yet I think we have my GOTY right here. Expand
  10. DavidD
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. Even though the mining is tedious, I still liked the way they gave that option for you to get materials. Also, the developers made a bit easier for you to keep track of missions by letting you know where they are in the galaxy view. Overall, Bioware has done it again. Thank you Bioware for being one company that consistently brings us incredible games, Especially this one!! I can't wait till the 3rd one! Expand
  11. GC
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    This is a game of improvements over ME1 which was a spectacular gaming accomplishment... Texture Detail, Lighting, Story, Controller Layout, Dialog Trees, Dialog Interaction,, Normandy, Elevator Rides, Side Quests, Exploration, Inventory System, Enemy AI, Squad AI, Targeting, Game HUD, Mid Level Loading,, Level Design, ... the list goes on... To see every gripe or annoyance from the first This is a game of improvements over ME1 which was a spectacular gaming accomplishment... Texture Detail, Lighting, Story, Controller Layout, Dialog Trees, Dialog Interaction,, Normandy, Elevator Rides, Side Quests, Exploration, Inventory System, Enemy AI, Squad AI, Targeting, Game HUD, Mid Level Loading,, Level Design, ... the list goes on... To see every gripe or annoyance from the first game tweaked and improved, makes a great game design (ME1) become truly fantastic. If you liked ME1 get ME2... you'll love it. Yes, they made adjustments to Combat (less like KOTOR) and streamlined the RPG aspects (simpler inventory/character management) but the changes only add to the overall gaming experience. Bravo BioWare. Wish you had done something like this with Dragon Age. Expand
  12. BrentonM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Hats off to Bioware! Only halfway through the game and it's living up to everything I hoped it would. Purposely stayed away from reading too much into it prior to release, so being a huge fan of ME1 makes all the surprises and ramifications even more EPIC!
  13. Henryb
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Anyway, this game is absolutely amazing. Buy this if you love a great story with a great world and great characters. You will love this if your into any form of game. It's sooo good. Expand
  14. Matt
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    One of the best and most absorbing game experiences I've had in recent memory. The improvements to presentation and gameplay are stellar, but without making the original title obsolete. The level of engagement with the characters and story is on par with my adolescent obsession with Final Fantasy. This is an RPG for the maturing gamer, and a step forward for the genre. Unlike most One of the best and most absorbing game experiences I've had in recent memory. The improvements to presentation and gameplay are stellar, but without making the original title obsolete. The level of engagement with the characters and story is on par with my adolescent obsession with Final Fantasy. This is an RPG for the maturing gamer, and a step forward for the genre. Unlike most sequels, if the first one didn't do it for you, this one might just change your mind. Highly recommended. Expand
  15. MichaelH
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more reviewer respect than grandtheftauto4 (i don't get whats so cool about that game) yet, because of how controversial mass effect 2 is, it will not get the score it truly deserves from many. Expand
  16. AdrianM
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply awe-inspiring. After having just completed the first installment, for the second time, the week before Mass Effect 2's release, I could easily note the numerous references to the first game. The storyline, graphics, and streamlined combat make this game a must-have and, in my humble opinion, the best Xbox 360 game to date. The whole Mass Effect universe has Mass Effect 2 is simply awe-inspiring. After having just completed the first installment, for the second time, the week before Mass Effect 2's release, I could easily note the numerous references to the first game. The storyline, graphics, and streamlined combat make this game a must-have and, in my humble opinion, the best Xbox 360 game to date. The whole Mass Effect universe has been solidified and expanded upon in this game, and BioWare definitely outdid themselves and have put the Mass Effect franchise on the top of many gamers' lists of favorites. The storyline is capturing, the characters are memorable (and you learn to love them), and all of the characters from the previous game are there albeit unavailable. Mass Effect fans will surely enjoy the game, and new players in the Mass Effect games will find themselves enjoying it anyway. I would, however, encourage people to buy or rent the first game before playing this game. Most RPG fans will love the detail in the storyline of the first game, and it will make Mass Effect 2 an even more enjoyable experience. Expand
  17. JacobK
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    As a veteran gamer and lover of roleplaying games as well as a fan of Mass Effect 1 and of all Bioware games I am ecstatic to say that ME2 does not disappoint. By playing this game, one will immerse themselves in a beautifully crafted universe that takes place in the 23rd century. Bioware has created a fantasy world that is believable and rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien's middle-earth. As a veteran gamer and lover of roleplaying games as well as a fan of Mass Effect 1 and of all Bioware games I am ecstatic to say that ME2 does not disappoint. By playing this game, one will immerse themselves in a beautifully crafted universe that takes place in the 23rd century. Bioware has created a fantasy world that is believable and rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien's middle-earth. No RPG to date can rival ME2. Bioware took every aspect of the first game that players weren't satisfied with and revamped the entire ME game play. No more tedious, redundant world explorations but rather new unique experiences that are discovered by scanning worlds; no more pointless minerals, which are now used for upgrades; no more driving an all-too-boring mako; no more inventory mayhem, where instead there is no traditional inventory; no linear classes but instead class options that will provide a new experience each playthrough. These are just some examples of how ME2 outdoes its predecessor. Most notable though is how ME2 introduces characters in a fashion that is unrivaled by any game in existence today. With ME2, not only do you immerse yourself in a stupendous and fantastical universe but also plunge yourself into the depths of characters you meet in your travels; each character with a unique and realistic personality that encompasses and runs parallel with the ME universe. With such engrossing game play, grandiose storytelling, fantastically crafted universe and realistic NPC/squadmates that everyone can relate to ME2 does not leave much to criticize. But no game comes without criticism, and while ME2 has a poultry amount of criticisms compared to other games, some aspects of the game could be better. Mainly what got me included the minuscule amount of weapons at your disposal. For example, there are 2 assault riffles (one other that I don't count but isn't available to everyone), 2 submachine guns and 2 pistols, and while there are more types of weapons to choose from their are few versions in each category. Another aspect that can be looked down on is the strip of the inventory system to the few weapons and upgrades; in other words, the "loot" aspect of ME1 is not present. Furthermore, the mining of minerals is extremely boring and slow, where these minerals are needed for upgrades. As far as glitches go, ME2 has no more and maybe fewer than any game it might relate to upon release. Despite these very few criticisms that one can make for ME2, they are all irrelevant because of the overflow of entrainment and excitement the game brings to its players. Even if the player has not played ME1, this a game not to pass up on. Rent it, buy it, get all the achievements, import character from ME1, do whatever it is that will enable you to play this hell of a great game. Expand
  18. joshD
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Ive gamed since the days of the atari 2600. No kidding, greatest game I've ever played. The low scores some of these people are posting in this area are a joke. They are either ps3 clowns, or they want the fast pace twitchy shooter. This game has everything, and every decision you make determines how the game plays out! Amazing amazing game!
  19. ChrisP
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Wow, the amount of zeros and under 9's is outstanding... Complaining that there is too much dialogue and not enough shooting; is like buying a book and crying that there is not enough pictures. Just because you are handicap doesnt mean you are right - and your mom needs the internet back.
  20. JohnB
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    What I love about the user review section of metacritic is that you don't actually have to know anything about objective criticism. It's really quite brilliant. Just harp on minutiae and your own butt-hurt feelings, regardless of how the game you are reviewing actually rates on the standard areas of critique, such as little things like gameplay, graphics, and originality. (Which What I love about the user review section of metacritic is that you don't actually have to know anything about objective criticism. It's really quite brilliant. Just harp on minutiae and your own butt-hurt feelings, regardless of how the game you are reviewing actually rates on the standard areas of critique, such as little things like gameplay, graphics, and originality. (Which Mass Effect 2 has in abundance, by the way.) I find it exceptional that someone could buy and play the first Mass Effect, determine that they hated it, and then buy into hype and purchase the second game thinking that they would suddenly reinvent the series. Why wouldn't they, I mean, they only planned a 3 game trilogy... why stick to a tried and true method for the sake of storytelling cohesion? The first game had its flaws, which have been covered over and over so I'll just leave that for the writers at 1Up to bring up, but, who would think that this game would NOT have any flaws? Of course they can make an absolutely perfect game with no bugs which everyone and their sister will love and which will cater to all preconceived notions and desires! Why couldn't they? Pushing the present limitations on a 6 year old gaming system with an incredibly large playing universe and a user reactionary story-arc simply is no reason to expect anything than utter perfection! Demand your money back people, you've been gypped. I'll start another Shepard character and save the universe. Expand
  21. CraigC.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    OK Let Me start off saying F**K YES THIS GAME IS WORTH IT the game play is much better then the first much much better, characters are much more dark than in the first Mass Effect namely the famous Vigilante Archangel who is by far (besides Grunt) is the best character in the game graphics are much better with only minor glitches and bugs the AI is much smart this time around not that OK Let Me start off saying F**K YES THIS GAME IS WORTH IT the game play is much better then the first much much better, characters are much more dark than in the first Mass Effect namely the famous Vigilante Archangel who is by far (besides Grunt) is the best character in the game graphics are much better with only minor glitches and bugs the AI is much smart this time around not that smart but still smart enough to kill your enemies which i might are more strong and more of a pain to kill perticulary the biotic enemies and ill end this by saying IF YOU DID NOT SEE THE ENDING YET IT IS THE MAJOR WTF MOMENT IN THE HISTORY OF SHOOTERS 10/10 it is worth the 60 dollar price tag i also strongly recommend before playing ME2 if you did not play Mass Effect 1 you are not going to under stand wtf is going on. Expand
  22. SebC.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I loved this game....it was absolutly amazing....i dont think there was anything wrong with this game.....after a mere 20 minutes of playing mass effect 2 i was simply addicted! every aspect of this game was brilliant. the story line was very well thought and and the ending of the game was EPIC!!! i loved how you could travel to different systems of the universe and send probes to planets I loved this game....it was absolutly amazing....i dont think there was anything wrong with this game.....after a mere 20 minutes of playing mass effect 2 i was simply addicted! every aspect of this game was brilliant. the story line was very well thought and and the ending of the game was EPIC!!! i loved how you could travel to different systems of the universe and send probes to planets to get iridium and stuff.....honestly, i was upset when the game ended i just wanted it to continue! i have never played the mass effect 1 but i will be looking forward to purchasing and playing it and i can bet that it will be just as good as the mass effect 2! i love how you could interact with alot of people in the game and but upgrades and what not. the game was absolutely amazing.....i cant wait for Mass Effect 3 to come out!!!!! Expand
  23. JamesH.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Where to begin? Perhaps I should begin at the point where I sat back in my chair, lit up a cigarette, and contemplated for 7 minutes whether I should turn down the advances of Miranda Lawson in the hopes that Ashley Williams will come back at the end of the game, or whether I should go ahead and move on -as Ashley somewhat had. Perhaps the only other time I was faced with a similar Where to begin? Perhaps I should begin at the point where I sat back in my chair, lit up a cigarette, and contemplated for 7 minutes whether I should turn down the advances of Miranda Lawson in the hopes that Ashley Williams will come back at the end of the game, or whether I should go ahead and move on -as Ashley somewhat had. Perhaps the only other time I was faced with a similar pause-cigarette-decide scenario was in the first Mass Effect. Point is, that is what happens when a game becomes part of your life. When you cannot wait to leave your -possibly exciting- job to go home and spend 10 hours scanning planets for resources and getting to know your crew. This game will implant hooks into your every thought, until you are done with it, and until you play it again with different attitudes and answers. Expand
  24. AhmedB.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Combining RPG and action gaming elements into cinematic and highly realistic game play immersed in futuristic realm, makes this game the best ever in the genre. The games cinematic sequences makes it more like a sci-fi movie, but still don`t lose the feeling of game, the storyline is deep and finely worked out. It`s like synergy of watching the movie, reading the book and playing the Combining RPG and action gaming elements into cinematic and highly realistic game play immersed in futuristic realm, makes this game the best ever in the genre. The games cinematic sequences makes it more like a sci-fi movie, but still don`t lose the feeling of game, the storyline is deep and finely worked out. It`s like synergy of watching the movie, reading the book and playing the game... I`m very happy seeing that game creation takes a leap ahead in the direction the gamers like. Graphics are awesome, even on my GF 240M game looks fantastic.... I hope very much that the third part of the game will have the same amount of innovations that the second part has from first. I already understand that it will be hard days waiting for the next part or the similar quality game after playing through ME2. Expand
  25. Nick
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    Any game that treats you like a criminal simply isn't worth paying for, and isn't worth playing. The draconian DRM ruins any fun I might have had, since my spotty internet connection means I keep getting booted out of the game.
  26. SheyhanA.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply put a masterpiece. You are guaranteed that you will fall in love with one character. The story is gripping, its a tale of love, passion, family, and drive. The sound quality is amazing, it very clear and detailed. The gameplay has been refined and restructured, there's less pausing, and slowing down the intense pace Mass Effect is known for. The voice is Mass Effect 2 is simply put a masterpiece. You are guaranteed that you will fall in love with one character. The story is gripping, its a tale of love, passion, family, and drive. The sound quality is amazing, it very clear and detailed. The gameplay has been refined and restructured, there's less pausing, and slowing down the intense pace Mass Effect is known for. The voice is star-studded, and as usual the best part in Mass Effect 1, the personalization has came back with more options. You really feel that you are a part of a character, and part of a bigger movement. In the end, there's nothing negative to say, this game is nothing short of epic. Expand
  27. ErickO.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    It's a rare occasion when a game's sequel improves on everything the original had, and then some, but it happened here in Mass Effect 2. The game went from brilliant to incredible, with the graphics as high end as possible, and facial expressions believable. On top of the graphics, the gameplay has been improved greatly, offering a bigger variety of weapons this time around. It's a rare occasion when a game's sequel improves on everything the original had, and then some, but it happened here in Mass Effect 2. The game went from brilliant to incredible, with the graphics as high end as possible, and facial expressions believable. On top of the graphics, the gameplay has been improved greatly, offering a bigger variety of weapons this time around. Infinite ammo has been removed, but regenerating health is a plus. Overall an amazing game, and one that you shouldn't look past. Expand
  28. HunterF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This is the game of the year hands down and it's only January the art direction in this game is superb, and fans of video games in general won't be disappointed! The best game I've ever played hands down. This is a must-play for any one with an xbox 360. Games like this are the reasons we all love gaming!
  29. TerryPhillips
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Flat out amazing. Improved in almost every way, some of the RPG elements are downgraded a bit for better action, but the unpolished nature of the original is gone. The story is sublime, the graphics bumped way up, and the tone, story, mood, and visual variety top it all of like a delicious cherry on an amazing game sunday. If you liked the first one, hell if you like RPG, or action with Flat out amazing. Improved in almost every way, some of the RPG elements are downgraded a bit for better action, but the unpolished nature of the original is gone. The story is sublime, the graphics bumped way up, and the tone, story, mood, and visual variety top it all of like a delicious cherry on an amazing game sunday. If you liked the first one, hell if you like RPG, or action with RPG... or if you just like Sci-Fi... Pick this one up!!!! Expand
  30. MarkS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This game truly is amazing. From the excellent beginning all the way to the credits. The gameplay is 100% tighter than the first Mass Effect and the story is engrossing with no stutter. I am extremely happy with Bioware and I easily see this game winning best game of 2010.
  31. JosemariaG.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Really a great game. For me the most important thing is the story, to feel that you´re inside something important... and this game, get it!!
  32. GraemeE.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely one of my most anticipated, and now favourite games ever made. It is astounding what Bioware has accomplished with ME2, and how they have pushed both the series and the genre(s) by creating a fast-paced shooter centered around emotional and personalized experiences. I made ME2 my very own, and it was built out of the hours I already invested into ME1. This individual experience Absolutely one of my most anticipated, and now favourite games ever made. It is astounding what Bioware has accomplished with ME2, and how they have pushed both the series and the genre(s) by creating a fast-paced shooter centered around emotional and personalized experiences. I made ME2 my very own, and it was built out of the hours I already invested into ME1. This individual experience that I played out through the game was just awesome. I cannot say enough for Bioware's continued excellence, and realizing a lofty vision. Absolutely 10/10. I love it. Expand
  33. T34m1nat0r
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Such a good game. Good RPG elements, action, music, dialogue, story. It's all there. Best RPG I have ever played.
  34. alek
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Playing this game is addicting. With a better story than most sci-fi movies coming out these days, action packed game play, and breathtaking visuals, I can't put it down...
  35. DanM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    One of the best games i've played this generation! Everything is top notch. The graphics, the story, voice acting, gameplay, characters....you name it, its amazing. Bringing over your story from the first game makes this journey through space even better!
  36. VictorV.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Improves on the first game in any possible way, which is saying a lot. Gone are the technical issues, this game plays extremely smooth, inventory system, graphics, have improved. The story isn't as increbible as the first one (because it is a second act) but they have trimmed the fact. Every single side mission is interesting and fun to do. A must buy for a shooter or RPG fan.
  37. davidshepard
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    best game ever
  38. AdamJ.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    This game, simply put, is poetry in motion. If a science fiction novel had been written with the same depth of character and event development, it would be a bestseller for years to come. The first game, while amazing for its time, is a pale shadow by comparison. If you love shooters, RPGs, science fiction, or just an masterfully told story, you should be buying this game.
  39. GregP.
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    Brilliant gameplay in addition to an engaging story and interesting characterw make this game one of the best I have ever played.
  40. AM
    Jan 28, 2010
    10
    An incredibly polished, deeply involving science fiction epic. BioWare always makes great games, but this masterpiece is on par with the near-perfection achieved by Infinity Engine-era BioWare. I never thought I would say it, but even though it's been made more accessible to a broad audience through the incorporation of well-implemented shooter mechanics, Mass Effect 2 is easily on An incredibly polished, deeply involving science fiction epic. BioWare always makes great games, but this masterpiece is on par with the near-perfection achieved by Infinity Engine-era BioWare. I never thought I would say it, but even though it's been made more accessible to a broad audience through the incorporation of well-implemented shooter mechanics, Mass Effect 2 is easily on par with Planescape:Torment and Baldur's Gate 2. A bravura performance, and one that fully deserves to be one of the highest-rated games of all time. Expand
  41. GregoryN
    Jan 29, 2010
    10
    The perfect Sci-Fi experience. Some may say that the game has been dulled down from the original, but I digress. The original Mass Effect may have been deeper in customization options, but ME2 brings a lot more to the table as far as an overall experience. This time around, getting a crew together actually feels worthwhile and each member of your team brings something new and exciting to The perfect Sci-Fi experience. Some may say that the game has been dulled down from the original, but I digress. The original Mass Effect may have been deeper in customization options, but ME2 brings a lot more to the table as far as an overall experience. This time around, getting a crew together actually feels worthwhile and each member of your team brings something new and exciting to your party. The small things are what really matter in this game. Conversations are well written, but it is the small pieces of audio that you hear from people that you pass by that really make you love Bioware. This game is a MUST for any fan of Sci-Fi, RPGs, or even shooters as the combat has been turned up to 11. Get this game now!!! Expand
  42. AndrewH.
    Jan 31, 2010
    10
    To say that this game has built upon Mass Effect is giving it too little credit. BioWare has taken the near-perfect system used in Mass Effect and honed all of the edges. The combat is better, exploration is less of a pain, and most of all, this game manages to bring out emotions buried deep within you to actually care about the members of your team. Mass Effect 2 is, by far, the greatest To say that this game has built upon Mass Effect is giving it too little credit. BioWare has taken the near-perfect system used in Mass Effect and honed all of the edges. The combat is better, exploration is less of a pain, and most of all, this game manages to bring out emotions buried deep within you to actually care about the members of your team. Mass Effect 2 is, by far, the greatest game I've ever played. Expand
  43. JeffB.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Amazing space epic that had my heart racing and curiosity out of control from beginning to end. Choices hit hard due to being morally gray in nature and characters were deem and engaging. First series I've ever played where my choices caused me to feel joy and sometimes regret depending on the situation. Bioware really raised the bar for RPG's to come
  44. KyleS.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    GotY. Improves on the first in every way, removing any boring elements, and only a few minor bugs. Amazing visuals, awesome story, addictive gameplay, and extremely long by today's standards.
  45. DionD.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    It dazzles, sparkles and emotes the senses. The combat is dazzling, from the biotic powers and squad commands to the shooting itself. The exploration and world is what the first game promised, it feels like you are exploring the universe. The music continues on from the first game with an elegent mix of 80's syn and modern day bombastic. The graphics and frame rate are both clean and It dazzles, sparkles and emotes the senses. The combat is dazzling, from the biotic powers and squad commands to the shooting itself. The exploration and world is what the first game promised, it feels like you are exploring the universe. The music continues on from the first game with an elegent mix of 80's syn and modern day bombastic. The graphics and frame rate are both clean and crisp and skily smooth respectfully. But despite all these improvements, its the story and the way the game moved me till the very end is why this game is a once in a generation experience. Expand
  46. AlanT
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    Gaming history in the making. Vastly improved on ME1 and not a dull moment. I know some people may find the resource mining a bit tedious, but it does not take long, and I liked how creative it was. The cut scenes and dialogue are amazing and it is not too shabby as a 3rd person shooter either. Easily the best game I've played on the 360.
  47. MikeH
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    A joy to play! Improving on ME1 in every way-from the conversations, to the leveling up system, to exploring the galaxy. The wonderful scripting come to be expected from Bioware is still present, but with superb references to ME1, which will make players of the previous game smile. All in all, a beautifully crafted game, that leaves us all wondering the answer to this question-how long A joy to play! Improving on ME1 in every way-from the conversations, to the leveling up system, to exploring the galaxy. The wonderful scripting come to be expected from Bioware is still present, but with superb references to ME1, which will make players of the previous game smile. All in all, a beautifully crafted game, that leaves us all wondering the answer to this question-how long until Mass Effect 3? Expand
  48. ChrisM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    This game is a big achievement for the game industry. it sets a new mark for nearly every aspect in modern videogames. it starts with a great story, incredible well written dialogue you only hear in really good movies, great graphics and sound an an absorbing atmosphere. al lot of people have already mentioned these points but there is one thing left no one mentioned: the great greatThis game is a big achievement for the game industry. it sets a new mark for nearly every aspect in modern videogames. it starts with a great story, incredible well written dialogue you only hear in really good movies, great graphics and sound an an absorbing atmosphere. al lot of people have already mentioned these points but there is one thing left no one mentioned: the great great outstanding art design of the game. there are moments of pure design magc in this game. a great game, a game you need to play, in other words: a masterpiece! Expand
  49. BrianK
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    The few negative critics here (who oddly all seem to be Uncharted fanboys) have a few points in common, some of which are valid: A) The minigames are terrible--this is true; B) The mainstreamization of the ME franchise has stripped away all RPG elements--1] That is false. With an upgrade system and a sophisticated, expanding skill system, Bioware has cut the tedious elements out of the The few negative critics here (who oddly all seem to be Uncharted fanboys) have a few points in common, some of which are valid: A) The minigames are terrible--this is true; B) The mainstreamization of the ME franchise has stripped away all RPG elements--1] That is false. With an upgrade system and a sophisticated, expanding skill system, Bioware has cut the tedious elements out of the RPG experience and brought out the essential and enjoyable qualities. Ultimately, this leads to a more consistent and cinematic feel where you do not have to become a guru of esoteric systems in order to smartly and satisfyingly advance your character. 2] Even if ME were no longer an RPG, a game not being an RPG is simply not a valid point. Being an RPG is not a prerequisite for a game's high score chances. C) The story is linear, boring and rips-off of too many science-fiction franchises--1] Part of the focus is clearly placed on decisions and the effects of them. Simply not linear, and tends to be the most engaging part of any game. 2] The other main focus is on the experience and stories of your companions. This game is about your growth and your interactions with your companions in the context of intersteller events; not intersteller events with the side mission concerning your companions. This is a major distinction that places Mass Effect 2 squarely in the realm of the general fiction and not the specialized fantasy/science-fiction genres that most RPGs will find themselves; take that for what its worth. 3] You can't steal from multiple sources while both acknowledging them and bringing them together into a harmonious whole. That kind of work is simply called impressive. Expand
  50. AdolphusG
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    This is probably the single best game I've played since KOTOR way back in '03. Anything Bioware touches is pure gold... Just about everything about this game is an improvement over the first. The quests are more entertaining instead of simple shoot'em ups, the dialogue more interseting, even the story is better than ME1, which is saying something. Even t0he graphics, an This is probably the single best game I've played since KOTOR way back in '03. Anything Bioware touches is pure gold... Just about everything about this game is an improvement over the first. The quests are more entertaining instead of simple shoot'em ups, the dialogue more interseting, even the story is better than ME1, which is saying something. Even t0he graphics, an area where Bioware is not always amazing, are off the charts. This game is so good, it feels like a personalized movie. I'm not saying this game is perfect. It definitely has some minor flaws but the good far,far,far outweighs the bad. In terms of a gaming experience, I'd give this game 10/10 which is the first 10 I've awarded since KOTOR. And coming from a guy who thought ME1 was dissapointing, this is amazing praise. Expand
  51. SamF
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    Superb game, well worth the marks it is currently getting and worth far more than the ridiculous gamecritics score, which is blatantly after the naysayer's attention award for stupid scoring. I loved the first Mass Effect despite its flaws, I love Mass Effect 2 even more as it has almost no flaws. Other than some still awkward AI in combat scenes and what some would describe as Superb game, well worth the marks it is currently getting and worth far more than the ridiculous gamecritics score, which is blatantly after the naysayer's attention award for stupid scoring. I loved the first Mass Effect despite its flaws, I love Mass Effect 2 even more as it has almost no flaws. Other than some still awkward AI in combat scenes and what some would describe as overblown dialogue it is pretty much flawless in every respect. The only down side for me is the length of the story... before you know it, the game is over. As long as the DLC that will be coming fits well with the story, then this is a truly epic game worthy of any gamer's attention. Expand
  52. Ben
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I give it a 10 because it deserves it, in spite of the few issues i have with the game. In comparison with the first, which will be in my type 5 all-time forever, they increased the length and depth, which was my main complaint then. But i was rather disappointed to see weapons and gear in general basically go out the window, that is not really acceptable to me in an rpg. Not to mention I give it a 10 because it deserves it, in spite of the few issues i have with the game. In comparison with the first, which will be in my type 5 all-time forever, they increased the length and depth, which was my main complaint then. But i was rather disappointed to see weapons and gear in general basically go out the window, that is not really acceptable to me in an rpg. Not to mention you can only level up at the end of a "mission" and killing stuff gives no exp. this time around. They also removed some depth from the skills/level system in general which was also disappointing. In all, it is a monumental game, but I haven't gotten past these changes yet. People complained about the inventory screen in the first(which I had no issue with) and you got what you wanted, thanks. I guess I would have to give a 9.5 if I could. Expand
  53. GaryK
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Put a lot of effort to get this running on windows through my Macbook Pro, and it was so worth it. It is very rare I can say this, but this is one of my favourite games ever made, up there with Crash Warped, MGS3, Uncharted 2 and perhaps Halo 2 (first main online game of mine).
  54. AndrewS
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I was disappointed at first due to the changes from ME1, but after spending sometime with ME2, it's an awesome achievement of storytelling and gameplay. I loved the way ME1 played (in the minority on that) and after sometime, I realized the brilliance of ME2. Bioware really listened to criticisms of the inventory system and side missions in ME1, not only making them better, but they I was disappointed at first due to the changes from ME1, but after spending sometime with ME2, it's an awesome achievement of storytelling and gameplay. I loved the way ME1 played (in the minority on that) and after sometime, I realized the brilliance of ME2. Bioware really listened to criticisms of the inventory system and side missions in ME1, not only making them better, but they added whole new great systems/features to replace them. Bravo. Expand
  55. stiana.
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    I played the game, and I liked it. It made for a fun 32 Hour experience. At the end 7 hours went by without me noticing, I have a hard time focusing on a thing for long. I have not played the first game, and this intrigued me to check out the first game. Please, if you find the game to be average give it a average vote, IE 4-6. I think the 1up review (A-) gave a good and reflected run on I played the game, and I liked it. It made for a fun 32 Hour experience. At the end 7 hours went by without me noticing, I have a hard time focusing on a thing for long. I have not played the first game, and this intrigued me to check out the first game. Please, if you find the game to be average give it a average vote, IE 4-6. I think the 1up review (A-) gave a good and reflected run on the strengths, weaknesses and differences between the first and second. This is not an up-vote down-vote. Even thought i give it a clean hypocritical up-vote. Expand
  56. LukeG
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    This game is the one of the best story telling games iv played the last one to come up to this standed was Shenmue i can honestly say that i can find any fault thats worth not getting it for the only thing i will say is the loading screens take a long time but thats it really once you get over that little hitch you will feel the inbrace this game will have on you.
  57. OliverM
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    One of the greatest games ever made to date! Has the best party of characters (both in usefulness and background story, dialogue etc.) in any game I've ever played. The dialogue, graphics pacing and mix of both 'casual' and 'hardcore' elements are sublime! Definetly a must play for anybody with even the slightest interest in Sci-Fi. This is the Star Wars of video gaming!
  58. B.M
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to all the haters, this is an amazing game that captivates from the start, Its not a lot different from the 1st one but it does not need to be because that game was close enough to perfection anyway. Some little things have been improved though like the covering system, It uses a similar one to Gears Of War. If you haven't played the first game my advise would be to Don't listen to all the haters, this is an amazing game that captivates from the start, Its not a lot different from the 1st one but it does not need to be because that game was close enough to perfection anyway. Some little things have been improved though like the covering system, It uses a similar one to Gears Of War. If you haven't played the first game my advise would be to play through it first then play this one as the story is an integral part of the experience, also you can import your saved game from the first title so the decisions you made affect the story of the second game. I can't recommend this game enough, It is easily one of the best games ever made, a must buy. Expand
  59. gonfreecs
    Feb 4, 2010
    10
    Excellent game,with superb characters and non stop action.This sequel is everything that ME1 should be.That's why ME2 has 96 points on Metacritic.com,which,by the way,is tied with another so called "perfect game" ,Uncharted 2. But while Uncharted 2 is just a mix between Tomb Raider and Gears of War. ME2 can offer more than gameplay...story. ME2 makes you feel under the skin of the Excellent game,with superb characters and non stop action.This sequel is everything that ME1 should be.That's why ME2 has 96 points on Metacritic.com,which,by the way,is tied with another so called "perfect game" ,Uncharted 2. But while Uncharted 2 is just a mix between Tomb Raider and Gears of War. ME2 can offer more than gameplay...story. ME2 makes you feel under the skin of the protagonist Shepard,your decisions will make the whole universe a worse or a better place.This game is not shallow and cinematic like Uncharted 2.This game has little details that,together,make this game an excellent experience. No one knew that ME2 would be so succesfull,and because of that Sony Fanboys like this guy named "K" are hating Bioware,just because a Xbox 360 game is good as a PS3 exclusive game...So,K and others Sony fanboys...Don't try to low ME2 score just for purpose,its childish and useless.Because everyone knows now that,without a doubt,Mass Effect 2 is the best game of the year 2010. Expand
  60. Erik
    Feb 5, 2010
    10
    If this game was released last year it would have definatly been my game of the decade, if you have a PC able to run this game, or an Xbox 360.... pick up this game now! Epic story, great Soundtrack, love able cast, great Voice actors... this is my dream come true! Bioware... thank you!
  61. AlexQ
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    85/100 for a game this good would be harsh so GameCritics giving Mass Effect 2 a 75 is unacceptable! The game might not be perfect but it's one of the best games of this generation. The gameplay, the story, the graphics, the depth. BioWare has done a fantastic job with ME2, in fact, instead of reading this you should be playing it and if you don't have it you must go get it! You 85/100 for a game this good would be harsh so GameCritics giving Mass Effect 2 a 75 is unacceptable! The game might not be perfect but it's one of the best games of this generation. The gameplay, the story, the graphics, the depth. BioWare has done a fantastic job with ME2, in fact, instead of reading this you should be playing it and if you don't have it you must go get it! You won't regret it. Expand
  62. JC
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Do not listen to any of the haters or ps3 clowns. This game is real deal. I played games for years and years. This is the best game I have ever played this generation of games. Probably one of my favourite games too. Incredible gameplay, excellent dialogue and story. This game is worthy and it will be an experience that you will be remembering for along time. It is crazy because my sister Do not listen to any of the haters or ps3 clowns. This game is real deal. I played games for years and years. This is the best game I have ever played this generation of games. Probably one of my favourite games too. Incredible gameplay, excellent dialogue and story. This game is worthy and it will be an experience that you will be remembering for along time. It is crazy because my sister doesn't play games but she is playing mass effect 2 just because she loves the story and the characters you meet play with in the game. Expand
  63. MikeD
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    In this game bioware has realized and presented science fiction better than any game has yet done. they created a world that is not only alive but moves and breathes with realistic characters and events. it also has done a fantastic job of melding genres and still delivering the high quality story we expect from bioware games. if you are a shooter fan, if you are an rpg fan, if you are a In this game bioware has realized and presented science fiction better than any game has yet done. they created a world that is not only alive but moves and breathes with realistic characters and events. it also has done a fantastic job of melding genres and still delivering the high quality story we expect from bioware games. if you are a shooter fan, if you are an rpg fan, if you are a GAME fan you will enjoy this game. this isn't only my favorite bioware game ever it's my favorite game ever. pick this game up and embrace the greatness, you owe it to yourself. Expand
  64. Michael
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Looking through all the user reviews for this game, I can only think that alot of people should be ashamed. I point that finger to you PS3 fanboys with agendas, and another finger to you, ignorant posters who have no basis to review... Moving on though. My Review is closer to 9.5, but in the sake of rounding up I'll make it a 10 Graphics are the best around in this game here. The Looking through all the user reviews for this game, I can only think that alot of people should be ashamed. I point that finger to you PS3 fanboys with agendas, and another finger to you, ignorant posters who have no basis to review... Moving on though. My Review is closer to 9.5, but in the sake of rounding up I'll make it a 10 Graphics are the best around in this game here. The story line is as indepth as it can be, if you take the time to look at it, character relationships are amazing, and gameplay is as solid as a Diamond. As for all the people that try to dismiss this game for lacking in the RPG elements, they must remember that Role Playing Game doesn't neccesarily mean tons of useless gear and attribute assigning, but can also mean a game where you "Role play" a character in a given situation using your choices... instead of predifined ones... and so this game is a gem in that department too... And yes... this is Definitely the game to beat this year for GOTY. Expand
  65. GabeM
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 succeeds in creating a player-centric RPG/shooter experience that combines satisfying combat with an intensely personal story. No other RPG, or game in recent memory, has succeeded quite as brilliantly in practically every way worth mentioning. The game has room for improvement, especially with regard to the consequences of combat sequences and party chemistry, but the Mass Effect 2 succeeds in creating a player-centric RPG/shooter experience that combines satisfying combat with an intensely personal story. No other RPG, or game in recent memory, has succeeded quite as brilliantly in practically every way worth mentioning. The game has room for improvement, especially with regard to the consequences of combat sequences and party chemistry, but the overall experience is sublime. I can't recommend this game highly enough. Expand
  66. cleanupman
    Feb 9, 2010
    10
    One of th best games ever made.took what mass effect 1 did and improved everything making this a true sequel. the story is compelling, the gameplay is perfected and the game is very technically sound.lots of stuff to do and makes me cant wait for mass effect 3. go out and buy the game you wont be disappointed.
  67. GeoffreyH
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Ever played a game that was so good that you didn't want it to end? This is Mass Effect 2, the game feels meticulously crafted, everything is polished from the original. This is what a sequel is meant to be. Never before has a sequel to an rpg made you feel like you accomplished something from the original. From the service records screen, to the pop quiz on your accomplishments from Ever played a game that was so good that you didn't want it to end? This is Mass Effect 2, the game feels meticulously crafted, everything is polished from the original. This is what a sequel is meant to be. Never before has a sequel to an rpg made you feel like you accomplished something from the original. From the service records screen, to the pop quiz on your accomplishments from the first game, to test your memory, to finding old friends and foes, this game grabs you and never lets go. The narrative has a way of making you care for the characters. They aren't static and plastic as in traditional rpg's but feel like they are fully fledged out and developed beings. Not much can be said about this without going into the story, what i can say is that the dialogue and voice acting is brilliant. The characters brilliant, the narrative brilliant. This is the pinnacle of digital story telling narrative. No other game can come close to mass effect in breadth of achievement. It's its own genre. It feels wonderful to play an understandable well thought out and concise story. I've read a site say this is gears of war meets final fantasy. Final fantasy's stories have always bordered on nonsensical, people just play them for their sugar-rush coccain induced summon spells. ME2 is not that its something special. Pick it up. Expand
  68. MikaG.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2, to me, is more than just a great game. It is an incredibly innovative, imaginative game that now sets the standard for story telling and structure for RPGs. I have been playing this for five hours now and have come across no bugs, or glitches so far, and to be honest no other game has enthralled me so much as Mass Effect. Mass Effect has done something that games like fable Mass Effect 2, to me, is more than just a great game. It is an incredibly innovative, imaginative game that now sets the standard for story telling and structure for RPGs. I have been playing this for five hours now and have come across no bugs, or glitches so far, and to be honest no other game has enthralled me so much as Mass Effect. Mass Effect has done something that games like fable have been clawing to do right for almost ten years, and thats just how personal this game is. For everyone i know who has played the first, they all have a different story and experience to tell and now with the second installment that is taken to an, until now, unreachable summit. So for me a game of this quality and magnitude deserves to be in the annoles of true legend. A game that has achieved something that no other game has. For me i give it a 10, despite its few flaws i have never experienced a game that i actually cared about, a story that truly moves me. And eveyone who plays this has their own unique experience, their own world effected by their own choices. Tell me another game that truly pulls that off, i can wait. Expand
  69. AndreaL.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect is one of my favorite games of the past decade. Despite its technical shortcomings, BioWare's first in what it promised to be a trilogy took the role-playing genre to new cinematic heights. Mass Effect 2 is a better game in near every way. From the very first scene, you will be hooked. And the farther you dive into this epic action role-playing game, the better it gets. Mass Effect is one of my favorite games of the past decade. Despite its technical shortcomings, BioWare's first in what it promised to be a trilogy took the role-playing genre to new cinematic heights. Mass Effect 2 is a better game in near every way. From the very first scene, you will be hooked. And the farther you dive into this epic action role-playing game, the better it gets. It fulfills the promise of its predecessor while continuing to push the boundaries of what we should expect in a videogame. This is the continued saga of Commander Shepard. It's the future, and all sentient life across the galaxy is in peril. An advanced race of machines known as Reapers is intent on wiping the slate clean. Shepard, a distinguished soldier, has faced this threat and emerged triumphant once, but victory is far from assured. Now Shepard must take the fight to the enemy -- a mission that is dubbed suicidal from the outset. Things don't look very promising, but Shepard has a plan. It involves recruiting the best and brightest from around the galaxy and somehow convincing them their lives are worth sacrificing for the greater good. Expand
  70. JeremyL
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Well, what can I say about this game? Mass Effect is an amazing game, with an amazing story. It's something for every RPG fan to enjoy, and get sucked into the story. I must say, I am really impressed by the game. I knew it was going to be awesome but, holy crap it's one of the best games I have played in a while. First off, you can use your character that you had before. Which Well, what can I say about this game? Mass Effect is an amazing game, with an amazing story. It's something for every RPG fan to enjoy, and get sucked into the story. I must say, I am really impressed by the game. I knew it was going to be awesome but, holy crap it's one of the best games I have played in a while. First off, you can use your character that you had before. Which is certainly a huge bonus to who ever worked hard on building their characters from the first game. Second, the characters you get to interact with are just more amazing then the first one. The screen is brighter, things are just more beautiful. Bioware does an awesome job on their games. If you played the first one I would recommend going out to buy this right now. If you have not played the first one, I would suggest you go buy it, and then get this one. You will not be disappointed! Expand
  71. MattP.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome. from my experience i think it is the best i have ever played, except for halo ofc. i recommend buying this game immediately because its really a must-have. i give this game a definite ten out of ten not just because its awesome game, but also because it has affected me in real life. if i would define the genre RPS, this would be the meaning of it.
  72. Dav.L.
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    I never played the first Mass Effect, so I was wondering if I would be able to jump right in to the sequel and still be able to enjoy the story line. Once again the developers with Bioware did a great job of bring you up to speed quickly with the story line. After reading several reviews, I was skeptical about the A.I. party system. Many games have promised great A.I. counter parts i.e. I never played the first Mass Effect, so I was wondering if I would be able to jump right in to the sequel and still be able to enjoy the story line. Once again the developers with Bioware did a great job of bring you up to speed quickly with the story line. After reading several reviews, I was skeptical about the A.I. party system. Many games have promised great A.I. counter parts i.e. "Operation Flashpoint" for one. The A.I. runs around, gets shot, and now you have to save them or finish missions alone. Once again you face the same A.I. problems only this time if they die, they don't come back. This can affect the outcome of the end game. I found myself several times restarting missions because a party member can't seem to understand commands to take cover or will not take cover themselves. Next up was the combat movement of the main character. I didn't like the fact that you can't kneel in game. Your character can seek cover behind barriers in Gears of War fashion, but you have to be right up on the object. This gives problems when you're trying to shoot around cover. When shooting from your weak side, sometimes the character will exposes himself completely to gun fire. The weapon upgrades are nice, yet you need to mine ore and such to be able to purchase the upgrades. This tends to be a bit of a hassle. Over all, the missions are fun and active and there is plenty to do per map with limited mind grinding side games. I would recommend this game for intermediate and hard core gamers due to the complex controls and commands. Beginner gamers might find the combat controls and complexity of the missions a bit over whelming. Expand
  73. williamv.
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 was a great game because it gives a good storyline. Every choices you made in mass effect will be transferred in mass effect 2 and this time you must gather your ally to fight the collectors. the graphic in mass effect 2 was improved dramatically from the original mass effect. I enjoyed while playing this game because the graphic was amazing. I think that the graphic in mass Mass effect 2 was a great game because it gives a good storyline. Every choices you made in mass effect will be transferred in mass effect 2 and this time you must gather your ally to fight the collectors. the graphic in mass effect 2 was improved dramatically from the original mass effect. I enjoyed while playing this game because the graphic was amazing. I think that the graphic in mass effect2 was better than the graphic in gears of war. The main antagonist in mass effect 2 was the collectors. But the geth still make the appear in this game because of some mission. The sound in mass effect 2 was amazing and I enjoy them all. I think that mass effect 2 was the greatest game in 2010. But this game short and I hope that in the next sequel will be better and have a long time to played. And also this game have a good ai . After all, this game was great and must be played by every gamer in the world. Expand
  74. xyz
    Mar 6, 2010
    10
    This is the best game I have player since KoTOR. It's immersive, deep, cinetmatic, exciting and most importantly-three playthroughts later you're coming back for more. Basically everything wrong with ME1 is ammended here. Planetary exploration is better in every way. The only thing lacking is the Mako, but the hammerheads coming soon. Wrex and Garrus at times were the only 2 This is the best game I have player since KoTOR. It's immersive, deep, cinetmatic, exciting and most importantly-three playthroughts later you're coming back for more. Basically everything wrong with ME1 is ammended here. Planetary exploration is better in every way. The only thing lacking is the Mako, but the hammerheads coming soon. Wrex and Garrus at times were the only 2 squadmates with any consistent personality in ME1-in ME2 it's pretty much the whole squad, even tali who I found bland in ME1 was now a much more interesting character. Gameplay is better, specifically combat wise. As an RPG, dialouge (Interrupts FTW!) is much more streamlined and you have much more controle. It's also great how things import and how you decisions in ME1 affect ME2 with the exception of Liara, but I hear a DLC may be coming, so heh. On topic, the DLC so far is imo better then pinnacle station and bdts put together. The armors this time are, while being much rarer, much more unique. Instead of just being the same armor with different colours, ALL the armors are unique, and have a vary of bonuses, some being suited to different missions. Customization for N7 lets you create all those other armors the first had anyway. Weapons is a low point, but you get different rate of fires where as no such thing in ME1. (Vindicator and Avenger, shruiken and tempest are examples. Carnifex and predator). I miss grenades, but heavy weapons offer much more. The loyalty missions really add extra immersion, Garrus' one showed more depth to his character, Legion';s taught you alot about the geth, Tali's finally revealed the migrant fleet. Finally, "hardcore rpg fans" rave about how this game is a failure as an RPG (ZOMG no ability to carry 100's of weapons and armors at any time!!!!!111), but they can just not appreciate change. This game is the modern equivelant of Baldurs gate. Expand
  75. TD
    Mar 7, 2010
    10
    When I saw the first cinematic trailer for ME2, I was hoping that this was not another sequel bust like so many other games released recently. But once I saw the opening cutscene, I was convinced that ME2 was definitely worth the $60 and countless hours of anticipation. Once I beat the game, I had a sense of accomplishment that I have not felt since beating only a few of the games that I When I saw the first cinematic trailer for ME2, I was hoping that this was not another sequel bust like so many other games released recently. But once I saw the opening cutscene, I was convinced that ME2 was definitely worth the $60 and countless hours of anticipation. Once I beat the game, I had a sense of accomplishment that I have not felt since beating only a few of the games that I have ever played. On the basis of the best graphics I have ever seen on an Xbox 360, the best storyline I have ever seen in a video game, some of the best game mechanics to date, and the realistic characters I encountered during my epic quest; this game deserves nothing less than a perfect 10 and I feel that it will be Game of the Year for 2010. Expand
  76. CaseyP
    Apr 19, 2010
    10
    I bought Mass Effect 1 along with my xbox and Halo 3 at the end of 2008. It almost took me a year to but the disk in my machine, but when I did I was pleasantly surprised. I played through and beat it three separate times. I was lucky, I only ended up waiting 6 or 7 months after completing Mass Effect 1 for Mass Effect 2. however it would have been worth a three year wait. Simply put, I bought Mass Effect 1 along with my xbox and Halo 3 at the end of 2008. It almost took me a year to but the disk in my machine, but when I did I was pleasantly surprised. I played through and beat it three separate times. I was lucky, I only ended up waiting 6 or 7 months after completing Mass Effect 1 for Mass Effect 2. however it would have been worth a three year wait. Simply put, Mass Effect 2 is the best game on xbox 360. I don't see where any criticism can come from, other then the slow paced planet scanning, who's only crime is taking to long to execute, even with the advanced scanning upgrade. Characters are perfect, Classes are more unique then the first one, and combat is fantastic and fun. Above all, the story is better then 99% of the sci-fi genre as a whole (movies, books, comics, games, ect). All these elements, along with a streamlined RPG style that puts wait on choices, you have a game that is both personal and epic. BioWare is among the top game developers, and along with Valve, they always make games that are within the 90th percentile of gaming. This game is the perfect 100 on there stellar roster. Expand
  77. ArnoldJohn
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    A complete game from whatever angle you look at it from. Visuals, Sound design, Music, story, characters gameplay, and replay value, it has it all.
  78. LiquidO.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I just beat this game once and am already on my second play through even though I have MAG and No More Heroes 2 just bought as well. I'm hyped so much for those games but even after putting 34 hours and 23 minutes in my first playthrough I am back for more. If that doesn't indicate how good this game is I don't know what to say.
  79. GaryL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Was the wait worth it? Was all the replay of part 1 worth it? ABSOLUTELY. By Far the best game and character development we have been waiting for. Broke up with girlfriend, quit my job. I don't want to waste any more of my time NOT plaing this game....is it a game? A state of mind and being.
  80. SamJ.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Truly an amazing game with unmatched atmosphere and cinematic appeal. Every conversation feels like a cutscene, every mission you complete feels like it brings you closer to your goals. The story, characters, dialog, design and gameplay are all magnificent. If there's one game to buy for your 360, it's Mass Effect 2.
  81. billyb
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing. Its a big jump, and it sucks you in. I loved the first game, and this is even better, and by a huge margin. Simply an awesome game, I dont know what else to say. Theres a million ways to play, and I imported my save from the first game. It plays to your own individual imagination, and its the first series of a game ive ever really felt that way. Just amazing.
  82. DaleL.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Almost speechless! Am I playing a game or a movie? This is what I kept asking myself while blasting my way through loads of baddies and swaggering through a super tight storyline. Playing a game like this hurts a little because they have an ending. I sense multiple play-throughs in my very near future.
  83. JohannesS.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    If you loved the first one, you'll love this even more! If you've never played an RPG, but love shooters with a great story (Half-Life 2 for example) you'll love this! If you prefer hardcore-RPG with tedious micro-management, get Dragon Age instead. P.S. Kelly forever!
  84. SamA.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Having played through ME1 multiple times I have to say that this game is leaps and bounds better when it comes to the game play. I know I read an early review that docked the game points for relying heavily on the storyline from the original, but I argue that it was necessary since this game is obviously a standing part of the trilogy. Within the first 30 minutes of the game I was sucked Having played through ME1 multiple times I have to say that this game is leaps and bounds better when it comes to the game play. I know I read an early review that docked the game points for relying heavily on the storyline from the original, but I argue that it was necessary since this game is obviously a standing part of the trilogy. Within the first 30 minutes of the game I was sucked in, and after 11 hours of game play I still don't want to return to my home planet. Expand
  85. AndrewBylard
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    There's no such thing as a perfect game, but Mass Effect 2 gets much closer than I've ever seen or thought possible. One of the most satisfying endings I've ever seen in a game.
  86. KyleR.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. I love how most critics only dock points for the graphics, but it's the most amazing-looking game I've ever seen. 10 because it's an instant classic.
  87. CarlB.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    As brilliant for RPG's as Bayonetta is for it's genre, Mass Effect 2's fast pacing, tight gameplay mechanics, deep storyline, sharp graphics, and complex details all make for a gaming experience that sets the standard for 2010.
  88. MichaelH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Your hearing it hear first GOTY 2010 is Mass Effect 2. I've been playing since 12:30 am it is now 8:42 and im hooked. Everything that you didn't like or had any problem with in the first Mass Effect has been changed, retooled ,and made alot better. Excuse me i Have ME2 withdraw if I take too long of a break from playing
  89. ace02
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    What was bad or lacking on the first ME,was implemented or fixed on ME 2. Great story,fast-pace action and a cast of vivid and wonderful characters. One of the best Xbox 360 RPG games.
  90. DwonG
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    When you play this game you will know you are playing a well made and polished game. If you thought uncharted 2 was game of the year quality then this game will go far beyond that if you love a thrilling story a great challenge multiple endings and involving main and side quests this is the perfect game for you
  91. JoeB.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    one of the most emotionally, visually and technically resonant video games I've ever played. a must buy for someone who enjoys smart, beautiful, cinematic well-written entertainment. and its FUN too...imagine that. absolutely breathtaking. 10/10. Just do yourself a favor and play this.
  92. daveB
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Work Of Art.
  93. JroqM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Awesome Game and story line. very well done.
  94. RevanS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Riveting. Amazing. Impossible to put down... I know it's only January, but this is Game of the Year. Bye bye, Bioshock.
  95. MiljaHouni
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Builds on the good parts of ME1 and fixes the issues. Combat is improved and more engaging, story is unrivaled.
  96. TomO.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely engrossing world with great characters and an engaging plot. Shooter elements have been improved from ME1, as well as many other minor improvements that make this game the cutting edge.
  97. UmbertoM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This is finally a real game.
  98. NickT.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    I was wondering how they were going to top Mass Effect 1. Well, they did. In length, characters, drama, decisions, and story. Do get this game.
  99. Dan
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    There's so many good things to say about Mass Effect 2 it's impossible to cram them all into this paragraph. So what's wrong with this game, the answer, very little. The planet scanning gets tedious after a while but if it was removed, you would miss it. The games graphics, sound, presentation and story are all top notch. The real triumph here is how the games unique cast There's so many good things to say about Mass Effect 2 it's impossible to cram them all into this paragraph. So what's wrong with this game, the answer, very little. The planet scanning gets tedious after a while but if it was removed, you would miss it. The games graphics, sound, presentation and story are all top notch. The real triumph here is how the games unique cast of characters draw you into this world and make it seem so vividly real. Most of your actions from Mass Effect 1 directly affect Mass Effect 2 and even potentially Mass Effect 3. I have never played a sequel so directly connected to its predecessor. An amazing work of art, if you own a 360 or PC equipped to handle it, go buy it. Now. Expand
  100. RaxR.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Have just finished (a pre-release copy of) it and all I can say is that from such a strong start it just keeps getting better and better! The last few hours are some of the best of my 20 year gaming life! An amazing game that ALL gamers should play. A new benchmark for "intelligent shooters" (iFPS). Please stop reading these comments & BUY THE GAME now! :-)
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. 100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]