User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 2804 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 11, 2011
    10
    I would hardly call Mass Effect 2 a dumbed down version of the first. I would call it more refined and streamlined. Everything that bugged me about the first Mass Effect (very little, by the way) was either improved or completely removed. This is the finest action RPG I've ever played and Bioware's most impressive title to date. Mass Effect 2 is a well paced, jaw-dropping emotional piece of science fiction. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    Bioware has been on a roll with their RPGs. Mass Effect 2 has the story and gameplay to make most gamers nod their heads and say "This is what I play games for". The fact of the matter is, if you don't play this game you are missing out. It's intelligent and action packed. Need I say more?
  3. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the poster child for non-linear storytelling. With perhaps the finest cast of characters in gaming, and tons of replayability, Mass Effect 2 is an epic sci-fi adventure that shouldn't be missed.
  4. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Surely one of the best games of all time. When I first played the game it started of quite slow and seemed mediocre, but as it went on, it redeemed itself with its superb story, presentation, characters, replayability and game play. I was totally blown away with the extraordinary attention to detail. Graphics are also very good if you consider the size and depth of the game. A must buy Expand
  5. Aug 18, 2010
    10
    This is my favorite game I've ever played so I feel obligated to write a review for it. Mass Effect 2 is almost perfect they improved many of my problems from the first game which was a very good game in it's own regard and made it excellent. In the first one the frame rate was bad, the combat was stale and the Dialogue options were much less interesting all of this was fixed in Mass Effect 2. You have an compelling story, fun combat, great graphics and amazing characters with superb voice acting. What else can you really ask for in a game? Mass Effect 2 delivers in EVERY category. Expand
  6. Aug 17, 2010
    10
    Probably the best game I have ever played. Everything about it was superb.
  7. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Well, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfully forgetting through their misty-eyed watercolour memories that Mass Effect could be muscled through with sheer gaming skill and an unleveled Shepard. Being able to be beaten by skill alone, an RPG does not make. The inventory was awful, it turned the whole game into a puzzle of managing your inventory. I'm glad to see it gone. To finish up, the romance options are much improved, instead of humans only or a 106-year old archeologist. Expand
  8. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite game ever, why ?, because no game is so fast paced while still emotional like this, the combat system is perfect, the game never lags even with the frantic action.
  9. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect was...pretty good. But the level design and planet exploration sections were pure dump, and so BioWare had something to improve on. So they did. And they improved everything else as well, just for good measure. ME2 is a fantastic tale, using the traditional Dirty Dozen formulae and making it work. Each character is brilliantly realised, each location fullly immersive, each battle exciting and frantic. ME2 has only one flaw, which is the weak shooting. Guns just don't feel good, and as solid as other aspects of the combat are, the shooting just ain't up to scratch. But that's a minor complaint really, because ME2 is, in many ways, amazing. Expand
  10. Aug 24, 2010
    10
    Absolutely love this game. More action now and it made feel sorry for most of my crew with their stories (Especially Jack). I just love this game. Awesome.
  11. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    I have to say that this game took me by surprise. I was expecting to enjoy it, but not as much as I did. The world (while linear) is expansive and great in variety. If you are brave enough to go and scan all the planets in the galaxy, you will find many mini-missions. Some of those lead into their own little plot giving Mass Effect's mythology a greater breadth. There are also the expanse of normal side-quest you can access by talking to people and exploring different places. I did about 75% of everything you could do on one playthrough and it took me around 35 hours. That is a pretty good length for am Action RPG. This game did have its flaws though. I might have given this a ten, but that is only because these flaws are very minor, and may only be here because I am nitpicking. If you want an epic story, this game does it in a strange way. There are many short stories played throughout the game as you meet new characters, but the story is only an epic tale once you complete the game. If you were expecting a "lone hero sent to save the universe" type of story, you may be slightly disappointed. The game is a great bridge that sets up the continuing Mass Effect story-line, but the game's story itself is slightly lack-luster. But remember that this is only my opinion, and you should play the game to decide for yourself.
    So...the elephant in the room: Combat. I find this form of combat to be refreshing and much, much better than the first Mass Effect's. I understand that there are some gamers out there who crave a hardcore RPG that requires an insane amount of strategy and multitasking. If your one of those gamers, you will not enjoy ME2. It's combat is fast paced, shoot-em up action, with lots of enemies and sweet effects. Think of it as Star-Trek meets Gears of War. I personally enjoyed much more than the clunky combat from ME1. But, like I said, if you want hardcore RPG combat, this isn't for you. On to conversation. If you like talking, you'll love this game. I'd say more than half of the game is conversing with other characters. If you are like me, and you explore all the options in each conversation, you will open up a lot of interesting dialogue. Morality choices are also very common in this game. They can range from something as innocent as should I turn in or let someone go to who gets to live and die. These situations can be difficult to make a decision if you become connected to your party members. This is one of the reasons I loved this game so much. Bioware has actually gotten me, an average gamer, to care about video-game characters. That is not an easy task.
    So overall, I found this game very enjoyable, and very well done. If you haven't checked this one out yet, save up and buy it. I guarantee you won't be disappointed.
    Expand
  12. Oct 2, 2010
    10
    Ignore the fanboys. Ignore the haters. If for some reason you don't own this amazing game, please download the demo and see for yourself how perfect it is.
  13. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a game meant for people who want an experience, and not just "play" a video game. You live the game and saviour every single second of this magnificent space opera. This game is one of the few modern games that has a classic gaming feel to it. It is also like "Science Fiction Porn"; there are so many things that are "spacey" and future-esque some hardcore nerds would probably **** in their pants. If that wasn't erotic enough for fan boys, there's also romantic relations you can start with your crew, even the aliens.

    The story may not have the surprise of the first one, but it certainly lives up to it. The first Mass Effect was more about soaking in the story and the feel of living in the future. This one has stronger character relationships and has more intense side missions than the first one. Mass Effect 2 is more an action game than Mass Effect 1, but it is still very involving action.

    Mass Effect 2 is not a video game; it is a piece of art.
    Expand
  14. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    Great game. Perhaps better than ME1, but they tweaked it so much it is hard for me to judge. The inventory, half the skills, elevators, and medigel are all gone. They stripped down the RPG elements to make the game more appealing to the masses, I suppose, which I don't particularly blame them for, as the crazy FPS fans were too confused to deal with all the aforementioned elements. I prefer this one for it's superior combat and handling of powers (love the 3 hot keys) and exploration (no more 3 hour mako drives) , but I think I favor ME1 in terms of story. This one is a little more linear, with a couple missions you don't get a choice of when to go (horizon, collector ship). That is the only dissapointment for me. Otherwise, I love the importing character option, many of the new characters (Mordin is awesome) and romance options. Great game, even more so if you import your ME1 character. Expand
  15. Mar 12, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a stunning piece of entertainment. I loved the original, and at first I didn't like some of the changes made to game-play, with less of a focus on precise levelling up and equipping suit and weapon upgrades. It wasn't until the final mission on my first play through that I realised this was something special. The graphics are spectacularly polished and, despite some minor hiccups in the game-play, it is an engaging story with fascinating characters, all of whom have superb voice acting behind them. The soundtrack is spectacular and the set piece cut scenes are phenomenal, making it one of the best games ever made. If you love sci-fi movies, like I do, then there's a good chance you'll love Mass Effect 2. Expand
  16. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    after thoroughly enjoying the original mass effect i was really looking forward to this the original was brilliantly written the shooting aspects were good, however not perfect though.I was incredibly pleased to find that the incredibly detailed narrative had returned in its full glory and the shooting had been vastly improved as well as using your biotic/tech abilities.If there had to be one downside it would be the actually main story of the game lacks a little bit of the quality of the first, but the conversational aspects are still top notch. However this takes nothing away from the experience or the over all quality of the game. This is my favourite game of the year so far and i don't see anything beating it as it is a perfect all round experience that pretty much everyone can enjoy Expand
  17. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    I wish Bioware hadn't taken so much away, I wish ME 2 was less about shooting robots in the face, but then again its just a game and considering Bioware have really tried to evolve and push forward the franchise I applaud a brilliant game. Standards in storytelling have been improved, dialogue is more streamlined and combat has been tuned to something like Ghost Recon's standards. Even if the game has been dumbed down to an action game with RPG elements, its still a cracking game. Expand
  18. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    To put it simple - best action-rpg hybrid I ever played, my favorite game so far.
    BioWare created great universe with well writen characters, story and action - amazing job BW!
    Can't wait for Mass Effect 3!
  19. Jan 23, 2012
    10
    Lookback Review: Since Mass Effect 3 is only 2 months away and it might as well be or will be one of the greatest games ever made and the game that has completely consumed me with hype and anticipation since Super Smash Bros. Brawl, I'm going to look back into Mass Effect 2, my first ever game review on this site. It's been two years and I still consider Mass Effect 2 to be the greatest Xbox 360 game I have ever played up to now (The Mass Effect series was born on the 360 and it plays better on the 360 so it's a 360 game to me) and one of my all time favourite games ever. To sum up the whole series itself, The Mass Effect series, in my opinion, is one of the greatest Science Fiction series ever made and it is up there with Star Wars, Dr. Who and Star Trek. Its mythology and settings are imaginative and well thought out, the story is amazingly compelling and superbly written,its characters are unforgettable and endearing and the greatest thing about it; you decide how this story goes and ends. If Star Wars had a choice mechanic, I would've shot Jar-Jar straight away. I'm digressing. Mass Effect 2 delivers better than the first Mass Effect with a darker, higher stake story, better written script, a cast of amazing and interesting characters, intuitive combat mechanics, more accessible yet still complex RPG elements and better visuals. Another great thing about this game is that you can transfer your Mass Effect save file and this is the thing that made Mass Effect 2 great and the thing that cemented the series as one of the greats in my opinion. If you want to experience Mass Effect 2 in full effect, save your Mass Effect game file. The result will be one of the most personal gaming experiences. The choices that you make in Mass Effect makes a huge impact on how Mass Effect 2's story will go and the same with Mass Effect 3 when it finally comes out. If you are planning to get Mass Effect 3, get Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 first and spend your 2 months playing through those games and preparing any story you want for Mass Effect 3's final climax. What more can I say about this game and this whole series? Mass Effect 2 is a triple A title brimming with absolute sci-fi and gaming heaven. The Mass Effect series is one of the best gaming franchise to come out of this generation and in my opinion, one of the greatest sci-fi series ever made. Expand
  20. Feb 26, 2011
    10
    Through replays and expansions I have put in over 100 hours into this game, and I'm eager to play more. I think this may be my favorite game of all time.
  21. Sep 23, 2010
    10
    Pound for pound, one of the finest games ever conceived, a rival to Metal Gear Solid 4 and Sonic 3 for greatest sequel in the history of video games, and a hell of a ride from start to finish.
  22. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Game of the Year 2010. In a year that included Red Dead Redemption, Assassin's Creed:Brotherhood and Starcraft 2, that's some achievement. Story, characterisation, the fully realised, believable sci-fi world, and the vastly improved inventory system. The best game of the year, and one of the top 5 games of all time. The third game can't come soon enough.
  23. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    AMAZING. This is the best game i have ever played. It has the best story, the best characters, and probably the best graphics out of all the games i have ever played.
  24. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    The high point of the series. Super epic space shooter that immersed me in it's universe and made me come to genuinely want to stay and protect a corner of it. And there is alot of it. Play this!
  25. Oct 7, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect had issues. (Can anyone say Mako?) Mass Effect 2 puts all of Mass Effect"s faults into a hat, sprinkles magical pixie dust, and out jumps a sexy, seemingly genetically engineered marvel of epicness. The characters are epic, the graphics and consistent framerate doubly so. The story is more action oriented with a polished combat system similar to GoW's. People complain that there is no variation in the classes. They obviously didn't use an engineer after their soldier. This game gets a 10/10 for graphics, story, gameplay, and badassery*. *G4 probably has a copyright on badassery. Expand
  26. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the best games ever made, putting you into an action packed narrative, filled with memorable characters and genuine feelings. Perfect length, amazing aesthetics, and a universe you will not want to leave. Cannot wait for the next installment.
  27. Oct 14, 2010
    10
    This game is the perfect balance of streamlined rpg and third person shooter action, and story elements. If you liked the hardcore rpg aspects of ME1, you may be disapointed, but If all the info in the firt game was daunting to you, then you'll love this game. Also, listing the all of improvments made to the other aspects of the game would take longer than an elevator ride at the citadel.
  28. Oct 15, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the best Action RPG's of this generation. Some people argue that the first was better, because of the lack of the RPG elements that were used in the first game. I can understand their need for these factors, as some people want a game that requires a lot of strategy. Yes, Mass Effect 2 isn't as strategic as the first, but that doesn't mean to say that's made the game worse in any way. Actually, it exceeded far beyond my expectation. Especially the Universal Acclaim score of 96. The official critics are very accurate with their scores for this game. The graphics have been drastically improved, as well of the overall gameplay (new, and updated engine), with an amazing cast of voice charactors. Also (it's hard for this next part not to sound repetative) the world BioWare created is such a believable world, it makes you feel like you're playing an interactive version of the original Star Wars trilogy. When i finished Mass Effect 2 i was so damn impressed i needed to spread the word of how amazing this game is. Trust me, this isn't one you'll want to miss. And just for a side note; everyone who prefers the first game, it would be a great decision for you to ignore those factors that you loved about the first game that you wanted in the second game, and just play Mass Effect 2 again to experience how it was ment to be experienced. As an action adventure title, with great story-telling and plot. Then you will see why everyone loves it so much. Havn't you been confused of why everyone but you loved this game so much. Please do play the game again though, or you will be missing out. Expand
  29. Oct 17, 2010
    10
    My favorite game of all time. Period. I absolutely loved it. It is the most well made game I've ever played, and so enjoyable that I went back and played the entire thing again. The DLC is worthwhile, as well.
  30. Dec 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing. People will complain about its supposed "lack of RPG elements" but the series keeps all of the ones that actually matter. The only elements that are scrapped were armor/weapon customization and some planet exploration. The side missions are not as ridiculously similar as ME1 and the combat mechanics are greatly improved. Characters and dialogue are more interesting, weapons cooler, and classes are fleshed out and much more interesting. I have completed 8 playthroughs of this game. Ive been the archetypical chivalrous hero and I've experienced the rebellious renegade **** who gets the job done. A great game from start to finish. Expand
  31. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a definite competitor for game of the year and if it won it I wouldn't be overly surprised. There is only one game that is standing in its way and that is the mighty Red Dead Redemption. This game is quite possibly better than Gears of War, as the combat is very similar but the cover system could use a little work to be considered Gears of War good. The story is possibly the best feature about the game as it is a compelling space opera, with a great script and a beautifully detailed world to explore. If you are even remotely interested in the Sci-fi genre then this is an absolute must, although maybe not every ones cup of tea as the game can sometimes drag on a bit between missions. Without spoiling anything lets just say this has one of the most epic endings that a video game could have, rivaling the masterful Red Dead Redemption. This is a very personal game as you can control nearly everything your characters says and does, but what is most impressive is how the other characters react in such a way that truly makes you feel what you say makes a difference. There are also choices to make like who to defend if an argument brakes out between fellow crew members and it is up to you how you deal with the situation (choosing sides or being mutual). Beware this can have a huge effect on how the final sequence plans out which is why this game is so impressive and unique to most of the other games out there. You can be nice or you can be nasty in your reactions to your characters which you talk to. This gain you positive or negative reactions. So if your still reading this you must be some what interested in the game so why not just pop out and get it, it can be picked up fairly cheap these days. Expand
  32. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    Well, it's odd to say the least to see people here give this game a grade of less than 8. The whole thing, production values, script, planning.. it all deserves a 10, this game rocks. "Feels outdated?" ,"angry spaceshooter?" If you haven't played this game yet, you really should.
  33. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    The best game ive ever played. The most enjoyable, interesting, emotional, rewarding game out there. Never in a game have the characters been so memorable, you actually care what happens to them. To be voted game of the year when it came out in January says it all. Well done Bioware.
  34. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    10/10 = Masterpiece = The most personal gaming experience in recent memory. Packed with content and awesome decision making sections, this game is truly yours. Best science fiction game as well.
  35. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 is exactly what I was hopping to find in the sequel. The story doesn't turn deeper than the previous one, but the thing here is to make you advance towards the evil, and to do that you need a "special crew". But picking up the original Mass Effect savegame to create a new one on Mass Effect 2 based in the choices we made in the first game was a huge step for the gaming world, and these choice are all in the ME2 for you to take advantage of it, you'll surely be tested with the choices you made, and I don't even have to mention the great changes like better graphics, less repetitive places to search, gameplay improvoment... As a sci-fi-fan like me, Mass Effect 2 only missed on thing to be a perfect game! A co-op online/offline mode would make just great and would be no doubt that Mass Effect 2 would win with no efforts the AIAS game of the year prize, even with all these good games that 2010 brought to us. Expand
  36. Nov 11, 2010
    10
    This, yes this game is obvious the "Game Of The Year"

    Mass Effect was a great game, played it for over a hundred hours and yet Mass Effect 2 made it even better. What was broken is not, what we wanted we got. A epic story and great acting and most important hours of fun! (10,0)

    Fight for the lost!
  37. Nov 13, 2010
    10
    Beautiful game. Far superior to the first one, which felt clunky and at sometimes boring, but still a good game. This is GOTY material and should be treated as such. It has amazing and developed characters (for the most part... Samara...), and may prove challenging depending on your difficulty level. It's great and expansive. Must buy.
  38. Nov 20, 2010
    10
    Human colonies have started disappearing around the edges of space. Suspicious that the Reapers - the ancient machines - are behind the attacks, Shepard joins up with Cerberus and its mysterious leader, The Illusive Man (voiced by Martin Sheen), to investigate.....

    The sequel's events kick off a few months after the original title's conclusion, taking into account all the choices you
    made and people you killed and spared in the original game (if you've kept hold of your Mass Effect 1 save at least), with The Normandy under attack by an unknown attacker. Without spoiling anything, Mass Effect 2 has one of the most memorable openings to a game ever.

    Mass Effect 2 makes its amazing original look really simple. Whether you're eavesdropping on a pair of Krogans in The (New) Citadel, mining planets for resources from space, or outfitting your private quarters with a fish tank and a space hamster, almost every area in the game is improved upon and impressively presented. It really does feel as if BioWare compiled a big checklist of the first game's bad points, and scratched them off one by one. Rubbish vehicle sections, overwhelming inventory management and, yes, elevator load times have all been thrown in the bin. The result is a more balanced and approachable game - arguably BioWare's best to date.

    The game is fully deservant of it's reputation as "The Avatar of video games except it's better written better!" and has earned countless perfect scores in the process! This is not only Bioware's greatest game, it's not even only the game of the year but it might be the greatest game of the decade!
    Expand
  39. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    There comes a rare time every once in a while where a video game hits the market, and it transcends the industry. Be it a huge impact, an unforgettable memory, or an intense experience like nothing before. For one reason or another, there is always something noticeably more special than everything else. This does not happen very often, but on the day Mass Effect 2 released, it did.

    Mass
    Effect 2 expands on the original formula of creating your character, gathering a squad, and having the universe at your hands. Literally everything that unfolds after is your choice, it is on your shoulders, and there are consequences. Normally games like KOTOR or Jade Empire (which utilize this choice of response system) are very clearly defined between good and bad. There is no shade of grey, there is just right and wrong. The beauty in Mass Effect is that there really is no right or wrong choice, it is simply the player's choice. This feature, making it feel as though it was an interactive movie playing out rather than a game, makes for one of the most unique and deep role playing experiences gaming has to offer.

    The original Mass Effect was considered an awesome game, though it had it's share of problems holding it back. Texture pop-ups, loading times, bland side quests, and rather mediocre gameplay all kept it from being what it truly could have achieved. It was not a bad game by any means, but it was clear that more work was needed. What BioWare has done since the period of Mass Effect 1's release and Mass Effect 2, is fix, or rather, completely get rid of all previous problems.

    The texture pop-ups? There are none. In my 40 plus hours of playing, there has not been a single issue with the graphics appearing properly. Loading times? Long elevators? How about five second load screens and no elevators at all? The side quests have been elevated to the scale where they are cinematic and made just as important as the story in presentation. There is no Mako to explore worlds, making these simplifications give the game a much more fluid and polished feel.

    The best improvement by far, is the gameplay. No longer being a bland, non-challenging system where you have cover but never use it, Mass Effect 2 relies on cover the way Gears of War does. You can rarely run out in the open and try to play this like the first game without proper armor, defensive powers, and precaution. No longer can you pile up every overpowered power in your arsenal on enemies to dispose of them in seconds. They have made it balanced and smooth. The guns all feel different, the classes all feel VERY different, and the restrictions to which class can use which guns/powers is very well done. You could barely tell the difference between classes in the original, but in the sequel, you would have to be blind not to.

    One thing that was awkward about such a dialogue, story-telling game in the first Mass Effect was the character expressions. The voice acting was superb (and is even better now), but the feel of immersion and belief was sometimes lost with the faces of character models being utterly inexpressive. Someone would raise their voice and their face would look like they just ate a rotten apple, it made no sense. Luckily this was all greatly remedied in the second game and there is no loss of feeling in these scenes. The camera was even made more cinematic in comparison to the static camera in the first game, which gives it a much improved cinematic scope.

    Furthermore, the character development itself has improved greatly. BioWare did a good job with the cast of the first game, but in the second, not only is the main squad more endearing, but even the NPCs come off very entertaining and interesting. I found myself applauding the backstory of each character, and I even enjoyed the logical development of characters from the first game greatly.

    Speaking of developing from the first game. Mass Effect 2 is really something else. Players can import a completed save game from the original (which means you HAVE to play both otherwise your gamer pass is revoked) and all their choices from the original carry into the second game. This is no exaggeration. EVERYTHING, every little thing you may have wondered the consequence or benefit of carries through. Playing Mass Effect 2 without importing a character or without having played the first one just isn't the same experience.

    It's the little things, the realism of the universe itself that BioWare has put together which makes Mass Effect 2 a nearly perfect game and easily one of the best games ever made and the 2010 Game of the Year. The gameplay, graphics, story, atmosphere, soundtrack, voice acting, everything about this game is absolutely amazing. Missing out on this is missing out on a great part of gaming history.
    Expand
  40. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    The gameplay is less RPG and more 3rd person shooter, but they retained the RPG story elements, which is what made the original Mass Effect Great anyway. This is my game of the year. Though I hope they 3rd one removes the element mining, which was monotonous.
  41. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is not only the best game in the ME trilogy; it's the best game I've ever played. It's not a perfect game but it comes about as close as a game of its ambition can. Essentially, the game is about the ME universe and involves the player developing personal relationships with characters from all over the galaxy. It is an extremely personal experience that sucks you into its world and makes you forget about yours. Some people have complained that the main story is not focused enough, that the RPG elements are too streamlined, that the level design is too simple... Look, those people have a point, but what's more important than specifics is the overall experience, and the overall experience of Mass Effect 2 is unparalleled. Expand
  42. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    They took everything I loved about Mass Effect, and improved it endlessly for the second installment. I don't care what anyone else says, this game was perfection, I can't wait for Mass Effect 3!
  43. Nov 25, 2010
    10
    Absolutely, hands down, the most intense, engaging, and thoughtful role-playing action game ever made. Everything about this is polished and interesting, and I find myself picking up and playing it all over again several times, even though I know what every choice and option there is to take. It's a great game, and it's one that I will never forget playing. For people who love a complex story, it's amazing. And, the DLC adds quite a bit to an already expansive game. Get this. Now. Expand
  44. Sep 13, 2012
    10
    How DARE the haters rate this game down! This is a truly fantastic game with a meaningful story with brilliant dialogue and characters, and improves on the first game in every way. Some of the best graphics, no, the best graphics I've ever seen from a game! Great combat, and plenty of replayability. The best part though is probably the ability to import your first character form the first Mass Effect, and all the choices you made in the first effects this one! So my advice to you is to play the first Mass Effect, which was great, and then play the 2nd one, which is perfect. Expand
  45. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 1 was groundbreaking. It took games like Jade Empire and Star Wars KOTOR and those other style fantasy huge RPG's and shifted them to next gen nicely. Beautiful design, amazing created universe that would make George Lucas proud, lovely graphics and some of the best gameplay in a game i've experienced. Obviously, it was a tough act to follow but they managed it with aplomb. Firstly, you notice the game picks up from the first one, quite literally, whatever choices you make in the first one affect the game you are playng in the second one. The characters are even more diverse and the idea that you have to assemble the rag tag bunch and upgrade their department is a great idea. Everything you do culminates to the ending and, without spoiling anything, is a classic ending. Altough i must say you will want to upgrade and interact with your friends in this game to make sure they can come back from the suicide mission. The graphics are just as good and the design of the worlds are just as unique and diverse. The voice acting is also good. Seth Green in particular reprising his role from the first movie as the light hearted pilot Joker. All in all, its a classic and the fact that its part of a trilogy makes it all the more epic. Along with Star Wars KOTOR, the Mass Effect series will go down as the most definitive games of the decade. Expand
  46. Dec 18, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is by far one of the best games out. The storyline is superb and the graphics are superb also. The way you can choose all the different dialogues and actions. You can be a paragon or renegade. This game is just top of the line. And also I banged Miranda
  47. Jan 1, 2011
    10
    Just here to reiterate on what everyone else has already said. This game is **** bomb as **** And my review must be 150 character long so this is meant to waste space. Appologies.
  48. Jan 10, 2011
    10
    I've been a Bioware fan since Dragon Age, and this game is definitely a credit to the developer! Mass Effect 2 is absolutely awesome! I can't tell you how many times I've sat down to play for an hour and all of the sudden the entire day is gone!
  49. Jan 22, 2011
    10
    Beautiful story, beautiful visuals, funny jokes, interesting characters, decent shooting, what's not to love? Great game, I've got to say. GOTY 2010.
  50. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    pure genius; all of it. especially the porting your character from ME 1 so you can see the continuation and effects of your choices from the first game. love all the DLC so far (one more DLC on the way by may I hear). the missions, the characters and dialogue and... it's really just a perfect game. graphics, sounds, cover system, weapons all perfect.

    I've played through 7 times and each
    was a different experience in how I approached the interactions and missions. yes it's that deep of a game!

    own it!
    Expand
  51. Feb 28, 2011
    10
    A game that can keep me interested for 6+ playthroughs hardly deserves a negative review. It isn't perfect, but if those are the standards expected nowadays, expect a lot of disappointment from absolutely everything. The combat is gripping and fresh. The decisions are cut and dry, but still engaging. 9.7
  52. Feb 23, 2011
    10
    This game gets it right. Both Mass Effect 1 and 2 are remarkable, yet they are extremely different. I liked the simplicity the weapon system and how damage was more focused on upgrading your character rather than your weapon. Biotics are also much more fun this time around. I found it to be a good mix of rpg and shooter, just like the first one, just more tilted in the shooter direction this time around. Still takes about 30 hours to complete. Expand
  53. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    Absolutely one of the best games I have ever played. Great plot, amazing graphics, life like characters and the best dialogue system in gaming history. Only thing that left me a bit disappointed was the character development. It was too simple and lacked the choices
  54. Feb 16, 2011
    10
    The game was fantastic, and a great blend of action and RPG elements. Even without importin a save game from the first game, I was sucked into this one and thoroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. Starting a second playthrough, this time with an imported game to see some of the things I missed.
  55. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect is my favourite game of all time. Despite the loading times and lack of planet exploration, it's perfect. Best video game series of all time. Buy it. RIGHT NOW.
  56. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    tains spoilers, click expand to view. Worth it, simply worth it. The sequel of the 2007's ''Mass Effect'' clearly projected an extremely high amount of improvements based on enemy/squad mate AI, game-play flow and especially the enriched variety of characters, back stories, missions (especially the loyalty missions that prolong your enjoyment in gaming for days) and empathy towards each squad mate in the Normandy SR-2. The game play value of replaying it again allows you to get more experience of what it is like to be either a Renegade or a Paragon Shepard towards significant characters, the fear it strikes in fans through introducing the Collectors, the antagonists that inhabit the Omega 4 Relay reveals more shocking secrets about the Reapers and the Protheans who were enslaved to become the enigmatic Collectors. The story is properly set out the way it should be, the emotional drive it provides by having your Shepard develop loyal squad mates and listening to their past shows how much depth Bioware intended to go by expressing that sense of diversity. Even those little comical, yet seemingly insignificant little moments like when you pick the Intimidate option of accusing the Asari shopkeeper of classism results in one just on casual Turian standing there (who possibly doesn't give a adds up to Mass Effect 2 being the perfect game in external genre components like comedy and drama (by having empathy towards your dossier squad mates while having conversations after missions). Best game of the Mass Effect Trilogy, perfect game play (excluding the limited weapon and equipment variety that was annoying!) and perfect character-focused pieces of the aesthetic sci-fi video game! EA didn't have much control over the game until ME3 which I was glad, so yeah, Bioware proved consistency in their gaming storyiline originality Expand
  57. Mar 2, 2011
    10
    I really don't mean to overstate anything, but Mass Effect 2 may be the greatest single manifestation of entertainment in history. Oh, and the mining thing was fun too. Jokes.
  58. Mar 9, 2011
    10
    This game will replace your life for a solid 40 hours. And that's if you can resist playing it again. And again. And again. Each character build is so unique, with its own strengths, weaknesses and challenges. The story is incredibly entertaining. The graphics are mind-blowing. The combat is incredibly rewarding, fun and well-paced. The level system is intuitive and thoughtful, eliminating the mere appearance of variety in favor of meaningful choices. The weapon/armor/equipment system is similarly straightforward, offering you the same benefits of upgraded weapons as you travel through the galaxy and gain more experience without the unwieldy and frustrating inventory interface that plagued ME1 (and Dragon Age: Origins). The controls flow seamlessly, and the combat and movement interfaces are intuitive and easy to use. There are only a couple very minor drawbacks: mining, which you need to do for upgrades, can be tedious (or it is insanely addictive, depending on who you ask); missions are too linear (but aren't we getting at least a little sick of all this Oblivion/Fallout/NWN2 open world nonsense, where you forget about the main storyline quests after the 4th random sidequest you stumble upon?); the main storyline isn't as compelling as ME1 (it's the second in a trilogy; it's necessarily transitional); the planet surface exploration is gone, and the paragon/renegade construct feels somewhat forced. But these are all very minor and often debatable criticisms of a truly fantastic and epic game. Everyone should play ME2. Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Bioware never fail to impress me, for this game was REALLY game of the year of 2010, great characters, good gameplay mechanics and truly an epic story. Mass Effect 2 was truly a gem on my shelf and to this day remains to be one of the best games ever made in 2010. I like the way how the decisions you make in ME1 affect ME2 and how characters react to you. For example, if you killed off the council in ME1 the other races except for the human race and the your squad members will dislike you and react to your decision. The mining game is quite unnecessary but at least we get SOME reward for it like the resources we need for useful and important upgrades. The game may be a third person shooter-RPG hybrid but the weapons in this game are terrificly balanced as no weapon is powerful or weaker then each other. It's a bit of a shame you can't actually fly the Normandy but the ship is so designed and massive that you can scratch this flaw out and deal with it. The graphics are some of THE best I have seen in a video game and the cutscenes in which you can interact in are so beautiful especially the cinematic ones. The soundtrack is probably one of the best soundtracks I have ever heard of in my life. My personal favourite is "Suicide Mission", one of the best tracks I have ever heard. If you don't have ME1, you don't need to buy it, as ME2 fills you in on what has happened during the tutorial. Plus if you completed ME1 you can import your Shepard into ME2 which is a welcome feature. The DLC is also worth the money, I mean you will want to empty your pockets for the DLC in ME2. You have the SR-1 Normandy crash site, Zaeed and Kasumi as squadmates, new weapons and armor, Overlord, Lair of the Shadow Broker and the upcoming ME2-ME3 bridge gap DLC "Arrival". Oh and if you buy a new copy of ME2 you get a code for the Cerberus Network which gives you some armor and weapons, the SR-1 Normandy crash site and Zaeed. If you buy a used copy on the game, prepare to give in 1200 Microsoft points. The voice acting is also very good quality in Mass Effect 2, and the tone, pitch and overall, the lines, make good voice acting for Mass Effect 2. (Unlike Sonic 06, the voice acting was bad in that). Mass Effect 2 is overall one of the best video games to every come out of BioWare and with Mass Effect 3 coming out later this year, the series is set for a phenomenal conclusion to be remembered in years. If you don't have it now, buy it, or I will punch you in the face like I did to Khalisah Al-Jilani, a reporter in the game, but not a major character at all, but still, if you don't buy this and BAM! Expand
  60. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 2 is one of my favorite games of all time and on the Xbox 360.

    The game is a TPS RPG Sci-Fi game. You take the role of Commander Shepard and you can customise his/her appearance, it is horrible. And you can give your character a background story and to let people know who you are.
    Or if you have played Mass Effect 1, you can import your character to Mass Effect 2.

    If you have played ME1, then you will have to get use to the new gameplay system. But thankfully it's so much better then ME1. Bioware has improved all the things from the first one and made it a master piece.

    Mass Effect 2 has a deep and amazing story that pulls you in and wanting to know more. But ME2 is more of a character game. You are having to do their loyalty missions in order to help you on your missions. The characters are Incredible, each and everyone has a unique dialog and background. If your playing as a Male or Female, you have romance options, you can either have a relationship with them or you don't want one or if you have one from ME1.

    But the best thing about this game is the choices. You can be good or evil is Mass Effect on what your peronality is or to just have fun. But remember, even the smallest and harmless choice can change the game in the future or in ME3, choose wisely.

    You must absoluteley own this game, either on PC or PS3, you cannot miss the epic game. If you seen all the awards and ratings it gets, you'll understand why when you play it. A must buy.
    Expand
  61. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    A masterclass in video game creation. I loved the original Mass Effect but I had my gripes with it. The combat was clunky and the slow loading textures on environments and characters really hurt the immersion that the story created. Bioware not only fixed these problems but improved on things that were great to begin with. Combat is intense and exhilarating and the entire game looks beautiful. Bioware does a great job of peeling back the layers of their characters and making them interesting and likeable. The world of Mass Effect is also fleshed out, giving us closer insights into races such as the quarians and krogans. There is absolutely no negative remarks I can make for this game because it never once disappointed me. Sublime. Expand
  62. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    The people who are giving this game negative reviews might as well be rating their own maturity, because I haven't seen a single negative review done with common sense rather than butt-hurt ranting and crying about review conspiracies and other bull **** Mass Effect 2 isn't "dumbed-down" as much as it is streamlined. All the changes they made were intended to give the player more time exploring and playing and less time searching through inventories and menus and waiting in elevators. The game won game of the year for a reason: it's simply one of the best - if not the best - singleplayer games ever created. The atmosphere and story create one of the most immersive and best experiences for sale anywhere. Everyone who **** about lack of depth or personality, or simply rants and hypocritically calls the rest of the world stupid are just people who didn't see what they wanted at the beginning, immediately made up their mind and populated their false ideas with made-up negativities and conspiracies, and refused to experience the rest of the game. In short: their just a bunch of trolls. I didn't think the quality of this game needed to be restated but after reading the absurdly ignorant dribble of particular users like OG and dtuner and others (but I couldn't possibly name them all), I had to drop one more 10 in the bucket, because this game earns it more than any other game I've ever played. I suppose there's always going to be a few basement-dwellers that insist on trying to **** on perfection, but case in point, if you're not a basement-dwelling troll and you play video-games, this one has to be part of your library. If it isn't already, then do so and I guarantee it'll be the best money you ever spent on a video game. Expand
  63. Mar 23, 2011
    10
    End boss looks like Terminator 2 King Kong, oh, and a probe mini-game-torture-device I wanted to launch up it's creator's mass effect relay by the end...
    ...everything else perfect.
  64. Mar 25, 2011
    10
    An almost perfect game building on the success of the original Mass Effect. Rich story, vibrant characters, visually stunning environments, improved gameplay, and one of modern gaming's most memorable protagonists. What more can you want?
  65. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Graphics- The detail that Bioware put into the characters and the environment that take surrounds you is astounding. The animation and design of each character is unique and very polished. The varying terrain and environment has so much detail is so enthralling that I would find myself observing the small Pyjaks(creatures similar to monkeys) climb and run around while being shot at. The textures and lighting are exquisite, and noticed little pop up. The game also has a very cinematic feel to it that just adds to the overall experience of the game.

    Story- If I was just judging the story alone, I would give it a 9 because while it is a very good story, it is not the best I have ever seen. The factor that contributes the most in my opinion is the characters. Each character has a very unique story and are some of the most interesting characters I have ever seen in a video game. The story is very well polished, and has many side stories alongside the main story to keep you interested, even if you do not care so much for the main story. Bioware has succeeded in their goal of everything you choose from the first Mass Effect game affects the story in the second one. This impressed me throughout the entire game. In fact I highly recommend replaying the first game, just to see how many times it comes back to affect you in the second game.

    Gameplay- The powerwheel and weapon wheel are back once again, but there are also many other new additions Bioware has so thankfully added. Weapons no longer overheat, which was something that bugged me in the first game. Ammo is applied to the game in the sequel, which some may find bothersome, but I rarely find a trouble. The role playing part of the game is nearly perfected, as the universe is so massive and breathtaking that you will want to find every recruit and explore the far ends of the galaxy. Bioware also did away with the loading elevators, THANK GOD, and are instead replaced by varying animations with some helpful information that scrolls along the bottom of the screen. Interactive cutscenes are another nice addition. Giving the option to occasionaly save a life or take one, it helps immerse the player more into the game. The reason I am not giving gameplay a 10 is there is no co-op mode, which in my opinion would have gone very nicely with the squad members. With all the sidequest and exploration, there is a good 30 plus hours of gameplay, not including any replay of the game. The classes are back, but this time give you more of a variety of perks and each class is unique and very fun to play as.

    Sound/Music- The score to the game is incredible. The voice acting of each character is top notch and makes me want to listen to each character, rather than skipping each conversation by simply pressin the "X" button. With a famous cast of voices including Seth Green and Martin Sheen, the voice acting is great. The sounds of each gun and explosions are also very good, but nothing special compared to the voice acting presented.

    Overall-I do not prefer to give 10s because I always feel that there is a little impovement, but Mass Effect 2 deserves it. With a fun and immersive gameplay, outstanding character development, fantastic graphics, and music that will have you begging for more, Mass Effect 2 is one of the best games I have ever played. The choices that you are give throughout the game affects your game so much, that you will want to play it again differently or with a different class. When I wasn't playing the game, I would find myself thinking about the game. With the length of the game being very high and having an extremely high replayability value, Mass Effect 2 is a must buy for any serious gamer.
    Expand
  66. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    Excellent game! It's satisfied the RPG'er, FPS, and sci-fi freak in me. Seriously, that is a trifecta! I have nothing negative to say about this game at all. There were no bugs or freezing issues to speak of either. Awesome, awesome game. I can't wait for ME3. :)
  67. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    So I've read a lot of the negative reviews, and frankly a lot of people are doing it wrong.

    1. The story is fun. It's space opera at it's finest, sorry if you expected Issac Asimov and got let down. It sure as hell blows away other games the detractors seem eager to compare it to (ie: Gears of War), and is compelling enough to drive the game and make you care about the decisions you
    make, if you let it. Especially with some of the DLC.

    2. The game-play is much less repetitive. Yes it's more linear than the original ME, but the missions actually have plots now. Instead of 10+ similar variations of "enemy x is in facility y on planet z, go kill everyone and report back" we now have characters, events, items lying around that affect your development in the game, and a sense of an overall, serious objective that ME-1 lacked on anything outside of the plot-driver missions. Not to mention many of ME-1's taunted "exploration missions" took place in the EXACT SAME STRUCTURE. Down to the barricade layout in some places. That doesn't even happen once in ME2.

    3. The RPG elements have been slimmed down, and that suits me just fine. The ME-1 inventory was a nightmare. Having to micro everyone's weapons with 2 potential mods per weapon + armor + implants + stats, not to mention selling all of the old/useless equipment, all through an interface clunkier than this sentence, had me spending 10-20 minutes between missions adjusting equipment and numbers. Granted this gets better as the game went on and my squad started getting the top equipment, but it was still extremely annoying and greatly impacted the game's flow. The grind factor, while not all-encompassing like WoW, was considerable.

    In ME2 I get to look at 1 or 2 charts, slide some bars around, click some numbers, and I'm done. I can do it all in the span of a minute or two and get back to actually playing the game. Best part is this simplification doesn't take away from it's impact on the game. I found my ME-2 decisions to have even more weight than my ME-1 decisions.

    4. The gunplay is fine. Sure it's not the next incarnation of the lightbulb, but it's fun and engaging on the right difficulty. Those of you complaining that the AI is crap, try playing through on Insanity. I'm halfway through a replay on that setting and I've got AI characters dodging my biotics and aggressively flanking/charging me. I've died more times than I can count. More than once an AI character has snuck up behind me when I've gotten lazy about checking the radar. As for one users complaint about characters repeating themselves, everything your party says has a meaning. They speak when they're using special attacks and when an enemy goes down. All useful information if you've played the game for more than 30 minutes.

    As for underpowered weapons, guess some people just don't like a challenge. It's a game, not a combat sim. I like enemies that are stronger than me, it makes me think and improvise as opposed to using virtually the same tactics over and over and over and over ala Gears of War.

    5. The voice acting is excellent, the script is even better. Those of you who say it sucks, you must not speak English. Sure it's not Oscar worthy but as previously stated, this is space opera.

    6. The story is much more compelling. The lack of supposedly "random" missions from ME-1 means a deeper emphasis on plot and sub-plots. The characters are at least twice as deep as ME-1 and the missions far more individualized and unique. If you muidly suspend disbelief and let yourself get sucked in, you come to care about the characters and your decisions. People who criticize the supposed plot holes and such are probably the same people who criticize Star Trek and Star Wars for the same. They're kinda missing the point. In any case, the Universe is even more fleshed out than ME-1 if you read the entries in the codex. If reading and learning about the Universe you're playing in isn't your thing, guess what? You don't have to read them. Just don't go **** about a plot you've only read the cliff notes on.

    As for cliche: It's actually not. I'd say people who complain about cliches are either over-analyzing the plot (which is highly refined space opera), or not exploring the sub-plots that flesh it out.

    And your decisions for ME1 do considerably affect the overall nature of the Universe. It's hard to tell on the first playthrough, but if you have two alternate save games with opposite paths you'll notice a considerable difference.

    7. In conclusion, the main attraction of ME-2 is a story that's 2nd to no other comparable game, combined with solid if not groundbreaking gameplay. You basically get to act out a 5-star space opera with an awesome decision making/conversational tool and excellent script. Think acting out the new Star Trek remake with 20x the plot, 3x the action and creative control over plot points. That's ME-2.
    Expand
  68. Mar 29, 2011
    10
    Amazing game with action and strategy. The only one that I could finish twice. I loved every characters. Thanks Bioware for having released such a masterpiece
  69. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    This game is very good. It's hard to say whether or not it is better than the first. It is certainly my favorite game of 2010, Red Dead Redemption a close second.

    The gameplay is much better in this game than the first. The combat is very nice, and the inventory system doesn't make you want to quit playing. In fact, the inventory is extremely streamlined, something RPG folks complain
    about. There is still inventory selection, you just don't have the same level of customization.

    I also would like to point out reviewers like AliJ who say that the game is okay and is not better than the first, but then give the game a zero. Are you aware that there is a scale that allows you to choose 0 through 10? Usually anything less than 5 means it's awful to play. This game has beautiful graphics, great combat, and more RPG elements than cynics would have you believe. The true merit of this game lies within the story, however. The story is amazing, and has hundreds of little subplots that make this universe so amazing. I'm also a big fan of the codex, since I tend to like things like Wikipedia.

    The first game had an amazing atmosphere to it to be sure. I don't think it will ever be recreated. That being said, you can't go home again. The series must progress, and I am enjoying the second game for what it is. Not an attempt to recapture the spirit of the first game, but a successful advancement of an ever-changing plot. Do yourself a favor and buy this game. It's cheap as all get out now.
    Expand
  70. Mar 30, 2011
    10
    "Well, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfully forgetting through their misty-eyed watercolour memories that Mass Effect could be muscled through with sheer gaming skill and an unleveled Shepard. Being able to be beaten by skill alone, an RPG does not make. The inventory was awful, it turned the whole game into a puzzle of managing your inventory. I'm glad to see it gone. To finish up, the romance options are much improved, instead of humans only or a 106-year old archeologist." -Plumbum. I agree, especially about inventory, although i do miss adding different elements to my gun and the citadel size reduction was a bummer, but what they detracted is no where near the scale of what they added, this game is a masterpiece that can be played multiple times. sure i can spend the time to give a few criticisms, but i rather not waste my breath lest i give people the impression that the tiny improvements i want are sizable problems, hell me3 can have the exact same formula as this game and i would not care much that they didnt make any improvements as long as the story was just as amazing (although based on the hype me3 looks amazing). anyways this game is in my top 5, its seriously a must buy. Expand
  71. Aug 26, 2011
    10
    This is my favorite game of all time. It has a great story and the game will custom fit each individual who plays it. It has improved action gameplay over the original and the six different classes as well as the morality based story allow multiple playthroughs and each player will have a different experience. Fun to play, interesting story, and morality based story make Mass Effect 2 more than worthy of all its awards. One of the best games to date. Expand
  72. Jul 13, 2011
    10
    BioWare's Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic amazed me when i bought it. After being weaned in hardcore first-person shooters for years, it was one of those 'what's this?' moments when I started playing it. However, it hooked me in from the start, dragging me through a fantastic galaxy-spanning story populated by unique characters and amazing set-pieces. It really captured the Star Wars spirit. But there was one problem: the combat. While it was good enough, it lacked a sense of action or direction when you chose what attacks your player character performed and to be honest it felt quite weak and clumsy. When I picked up Mass Effect 2 at HMV, however, I wasn't just amazed: I was blown away. Mass Effect 2 irons out all the flaws in modern RPGs and takes the genre to a new level. In fact, it irons out the flaws in everything. The combat is perfectly balanced, the graphics are spectacular, the voice acting is tremendous (especially by Martin Sheen's exceptional performance) and it captures a true feeling of science-fiction. This is one of the best RPGs, let alone one of the best games, of all time. Buy it now. Expand
  73. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played. Some of the RPG elements may have been taken out but it doesn't diminish from the experience that you get out of it. The writing and characters are all top notch. The was Bioware makes you care for your squadmates leading up to the suicide mission is superb. Play Mass Effect 1 and then play Mass Effect 2, you'll be doing yourself a favor.
  74. Feb 1, 2012
    10
    This is surely one of the best game that ever been created. Gameplay, characters, sound, graphics, are awesome, with a small exception of the main storyline (interesting, although a little short). Over all, you will experience many wonderful fights before enter the epic ending mission. A masterpiece that hardcore gamer shouldn't miss
  75. Apr 19, 2011
    10
    Hands on the best game I have ever played on any system anywhere. Fantastic story, real emotional involvement unlike any other gaming experience. Loved every second of it. Going back for a second run through, which I have never been compelled to do with ANY game before.
  76. Apr 26, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a fantastic experience from start to finish. The storyline expands massively on that of the first game, yet it should be stated that playing this first game is not required to enjoy the story (or gameplay) of Mass Effect 2. The script is extremely well written to ensure an emotional connection between the player and the protagonist, Commander Shepherd. Not only that, but each individual crew member also has a deep back story and well-developed persona (possibly with the exception of the human bounty hunter available for free download). The game plays like the thinking man's version of Gears of War, with the extreme violence in that title replaced by Mass Effect 2's lasers and rockets. Many of the features from the original Mass Effect have been streamlined to create a more action-oriented experience resulting in fantastically entertaining gameplay and a massive amount of approaches to deal with any situation.

    One of the only negatives in this game is the long loading screens which do detract from the immersion, yet these are relatively infrequent. Also they are justifiable by the immense level of detail in the environments. The game is excellent graphically and another area where a massive improvement has been made over Mass Effect 1. A particularly large mistake was implementing the mining aspect of the game, as Shepherd must accumulate resources which allow research to be made to improve weapons and biotic powers. The mining is an arduous task and is never entertaining in the slightest.

    The game is also supported by a plethora of downloadable content, which vary from missions to alternative costumes to new weapons. This allows for those that really enjoy the Mass Effect 2 experience to further their enjoyment in the game by adding extra things to it. The only drawback to this is the cost, which is not so much a problem for missions as they are priced reasonably. However, the same cannot necessarily be said for the costume or weapons packs.

    All in all Mass Effect 2 is an exemplary game and definitely my favourite game on the Xbox 360. I cannot recommend this game highly enough and it is with eager anticipation that I await the release of Mass Effect 3 in late 2011.
    Expand
  77. May 18, 2011
    10
    This game delivers on the promise shown in Mass Effect. The graphics are much improved from the first and stand up to any other contemporary game. The action is well-paced. The story is interesting, and the game keeps moving. Well, until the planet-scanning, but when fans complained a patch was released that sped up the process of obtaining resources immensely. The sound is good and the music is perfectly suited to the sci-fi epic. The streamlining of gameplay made it seem like I was much more in the action than in ME1. True, they may have taken a few more things out than they had to, but I was fine with the end result. Loved ME1, this game is even better. Expand
  78. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    The Mass Effect games have been some of the best games I have ever played with all its Sci-fi goodness. I love ME2 I have played through the game with every class type. If you like Sci-fi you will enjoy this game's story.I also enjoy shooters and ME2 has some of the best 3rd person shooting I have seen, plus hitting a bad-guy in the face with warp(biotic power) is very enjoyable in my opinion.
  79. Dec 19, 2011
    10
    ahh mass effect, the best shooter rpg game out there. i personally liked the dragon age origins story and universe better than teh mass effect series but this game is far superior in terms of gameplay and combat I think. A must have xbox 360 title since its so cheap
  80. Jun 1, 2011
    10
    Focusing more on the build up to the finale than it's own story, Mass Effect 2 does some great things with it's cast of characters and their development. Import your Shephard from the first game to enhance your experience and pick your class to play the game a number of different ways. The combat mechanics have been greatly improved on from the first game and it overall seems more polished with less glitches and more fluid controls. With so many different ways to play, you experience something a little different every time, and that in itself speaks volumes. Mass Effect is definitely a game to experience. Expand
  81. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Wow.

    Mass Effect 2 is that kind of a game where everything just seems perfect, and the most powerful emotion it stirrs is that pure satisfaction of playing. The story, the characters, the gameplay...it reminds of the better days when everything was beautiful and new, and the sheer enjoyment of gaming was a formidable achievement. Ignore all the trolls that don't have the brainpower to
    comprehend its magnificence, this is probably the best action RPG you'll play until Mass Effect 3. A sincere recommendation. Expand
  82. Jun 26, 2011
    10
    WARNING !! after you play this game, every other game will be a let down ! and that being said... Absolutely gorgeous game in every single way possible and it deserved all of the attention that it received and a LOT more ! Easily my favourite game of all time, the second being the first Mass Effect. although there is one problem with it... ONLY A TRILOGY ?!!! Oh and BRING ON MASS EFFECT 3 !!!
  83. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is an amazing game with very cinematic experience. It blends RPG elements with 3rd person shooter combat, as well as an engaging story that will keep you playing for hours. The cast of voice actors are terrific voicing their characters and very convincing . Graphics are one of the best I seen and are gorgeous and breathtaking. The only downside is is mining planets for upgrades can get very tedious and customization of weapons and other things from the 1st Mass Effect are removed, but overall it is the best and most epic game I ever played 10/10. Expand
  84. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    There is so much to say about this game, I don't know where to start. It offers a fantastically diverse selection of teammates, an original and engaging story, akin to Star Wars and Star Trek, a level of freedom of choice in plot decisions that allow for a much more personal gaming experience than some more hard-core RPG fans would lead you to believe. Walking a line between "space opera" and "soap opera", Mass Effect 2 balances itself with healthy doses of epic battle scenes and terrifying monsters, and intimate player-to-character relationships. Some argue that Mass Effect 2 is too watered-down and streamlined to be considered an RPG, but its style of immersing the player in its imaginative world through breath-taking cinematics and easily accessible weapons and armour, make for a fantastically real and engaging RPG experience without being bogged down with vast item lists and complicated leveling systems. Mass Effect 2 is a game that will please most RPG fans and action game fans alike. Expand
  85. Jul 25, 2011
    10
    Impresionante, uno de los mejores juegos que he tenido el placer de disfrutar. La historia es completamente de novela de ciencia ficción, Un RPG excepcional, acompañado por una buena ambientación. Gráficos a la altura de los tiempos, gran calidad, emoción, seducción, acción y una jugabilidad que al principio (hasta que terminas de entender como se usa tu personaje y como complementarlo con tus compañeros que tienes en el equipo) parece aburrida e incluso un poco difícil de entender, pero luego de pasar algunas misiones esto se convierte en un control sencillo e imprescindible para sobrevivir en cada fase.
    Totalmente recomendado para pasar unas cuantas semanas sumergido en una historia sumamente original.
    Recomiendo guardar las partidas en forma manual, ya que el autoguardado te puede dar sorpresas inesperadas, como morir al final de una fase y tener que empezarla casi desde el p¡rincipio !!!
    Conclusión: comprarlo sin dudar, ya que la segunda parte esta en el mercado hace tiempo y ya sale una tercera que promete dejarnos con la boca abierta.

    Un saludo

    Luchinelrey (Luchin Shepard para los amigos) XD
    Expand
  86. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    If somebody tells you that video games are not art, look no further than Mass Effect 2 to prove them wrong. It stands atop all games in terms of story telling, character development, and engrossing players in the universe Bioware created. The only RPG element that Bioware stepped back on was the character ability development, apart from that they improved on everything that they started in Mass Effect 1. The removal of the cumbersome inventory system, the addition of several more party members, and the improvement of the combat system all more than make up for the supposed "step back" in character statistic development. All-in-all, Mass Effect 2 improved upon Mass Effect 1 even more so than I expected. Expand
  87. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    Ignore any bad reviews, they are worthless and don't make any sense. If you don't like this game it is cause you suck or maybe your mother doesn't love you and your just mad at the world. This game is flawless and always exciting. One of the best games ever! This is by far the best Xbox 360 game yet and has endless amount of possibilities for the third one. Gameplay and gun fights were great and nice graphics helped a lot too. The story is deep, and nothing new seeing how bio-ware has great story telling techniques. All and all a great game probably the best I have played and it keeps getting better the longer you go along! Expand
  88. Jan 26, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 shines despite a few blemishes thanks to its simplistic yet satisfying and exciting combat , the rich and well detailed galaxy , the emotional attachment that the game intills in the gamer , the epic finale that can either leave you in awe or despair and the sheer dexterity with which BioWare have manged to interweave all these wonderful elements .
  89. Jan 19, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is a amazing game. I was throughly impressed with the quality of your companions as well the quality of their mission. The main story moves along to a simply awesome climax. This remains one of my very favorite games to this day.
  90. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Imagine Ratchet and Clank... now imagine it being torn apart by the brilliance of a near perfect super game!. The graphics are incredible as everything is so clear and open. From start to finish this game has amazed me, with the story line dependent on the decisions you make in the game, it gives the player that cautious feeling, all the cut scene look as something out of a movie. If you want value for money, this game offers endless side quest and different end game outcomes. Expand
  91. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Undoubtedly should be in the top 5 games of all time, great gameplay, slightly watered down RPG elements, but still one of the best games off all time.
  92. Sep 21, 2011
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is one of the greatest games out there. The story, game play, and characters mix to make an amazing game! I never once got bored and couldn't wait to get to the end, which by the way is just plain outstanding! What I like most about this game is the Mass Effect universe, the amount of detail put into the races and planets make the game so emersive! A must own.
  93. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    Does anyone else feel bad for Alpha Protocol? That game's still coming out, right? It seems like it'll be ME1 but in the present, and ME2 improves on everything in ME1 that I can't help but feel it'll look and play terrible by comparison when it comes out. ME2 has raised the bar so **** high now. Cover system's improved. No more inadvertent sticking. Feels about as good and refined as Gears of War 2. Honestly... after playing a few setpieces... I actually think the combat's a lot more fun then Gears of War 2. Which is generally regarded as the pinnacle of third person shooters. But Gears of War 2 didn't have you using different ammo mods and biotic abilities or combos with an ally's biotics and uh... it just all comes together as something so much better and much more satisfying then a normal third person shooter. When you've got this amazing first-rate third person shooter combat, and then couple it with BioWare's traditionally stellar RPG mechanics... well, you've got one of the finest games ever crafted, I think. And yes, sniper rifles are much more useful in ME2. The combat has been much... uh, improved and streamlined and polished and all that jazz, so sniper rifles are much more like assault rifles now. Whereas in ME1 they were kinda only for outdoors sniping and you had to contend with lots of scope drift built in, ME2 allows you to snipe with really steady aim and the scope actually works for medium range combat. Hell, you can even shoot no-scope, which would've been absolute lunacy in ME1. Mind you, I personally didn't have any issue with sniper rifles in ME1, but yea, you'll definitely like em in ME2. The only problem with the ME2 sniper rifle is that you're constantly gonna run out of heat sinks because of how enjoyable sniping is.

    That's really the only problem I've had so far, the fact that I run out of ammo... er, heat sinks for certain guns too often. I'd give my right arm for an auto-thermal clip that actually cooled down the heat buildup. Ya know, like in ME1. I don't have any problem with the act of reloading my gun, I can stand to pause my shooting and press the X button. That part's fine and dandy. But running out of heat sinks just feels lame after playing through ME1. ME1, the game which actually didn't have infinite respawning enemies. There are tons of enemies that have shield bars, followed by armor bars, followed by health bars. Or Krogans, who have enormous armor and health bars. Hmmm, that would've been a cool side effect of using the flamethrower heavy weapon. It overheats enemies' thermal clips and forces them to rush up and melee you cause they're out of ammo. Crosshair's changed from the circle of the first one to four moving lines. Feels more old timey like Tom Clancy's Rainbow Six and Rogue Spear. You can see a holographic display of your activated ammo power on your gun. This is great. Reloading heat sinks feels just like reloading ammo in a regular 21st century gun, kinda a downer. Difficulty on Veteran is pretty good, not too frustrating. Much less difficult then Rainbow Six Vegas on Realistic. Insanity's not that fun, unfortunately. Taking loads of damage from enemies is fine, but having them be huge bullet sponges and needing to resort to stuff like Warp Ammo in a desperate attempt to save on thermal clips (ammo)... feels frustrating. Frankly, ME2 makes ME1 look really bad, even though I really enjoyed ME1. The combat is just soooo much smoother and more responsive. No more collecting 15 rifles and vendor trashing 14 of em. No more worrying about hitting that 150 item limit. Now, I've heard some people talking trash about the Vindicator Battle Rifle sucking, especially compared to the default Avenger Assault Rifle. Having spent the game as a Soldier, I'd like to chime in. The Vindicator Battle Rifle is a fine gun, for certain situations. It's got a tighter reticle, so it's more accurate at medium to long range, and fires in bursts so there's no real recoil to speak of. When you've exhausted your sniper rifle ammo, it's an amazing feeling to pull out a Vindicator and finish off the rest of the enemies you were sniping. On the downside, it lacks the full auto capability of the Avenger and seems to run out of ammo a bit faster. For standup fights against other ranged opponents at long distances, the Vindicator beats the Avenger hands down. Against opponents that charge you however, such as Husks, Varren, and some Krogans, you'll likely want to have the full auto output of an Avenger.
    Expand
  94. Sep 23, 2011
    10
    It has to be the greatest game i've ever played, it's got the greatest story i've ever played, the combat system is new and more fun, everything rocks.
  95. Dec 20, 2011
    10
    Fans of ME1 could be put of this game because of the simplified rpg elements, but I really couldn't care less, The games a 3rd person shooter with light rpg elements and a decent story line with fairly well developed characters, I played through and beat this game I think 12 times I've never done this for any other game besides "kirby's dream land" on the game boy.
  96. Oct 3, 2011
    10
    This is hands down, the best game ever. The combat is intense and absolutely amazingly good. Nothing isn't fun in this game. You feel like spendin' $20 bucks on a shooter, this is your thing.
  97. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I pre-ordered this game immediately after I watched the cinematic trailer, without ever having played Mass Effect 1. It was literally love at first sight, Mass Effect 2 became my favorite game of all time. Mass Effect 2 has the best character development ever with your squad-mates, never before have I actually cared about the characters in a videogame. They all seem to make the experience real, with awesome voice acting and unique backgrounds and personalities. The graphics are fantastic, even better than Mass Effect 3's in my opinion. The writing is perfect, and the music is memorable and epic. I give this game a 9.9 out of 10, my only complaint being the searching for resources by scanning planets. Other then that, what a perfect game! :D Expand
  98. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is the follow on from the amazing Mass Effect. Mass Effect 2 is bigger and better than it's predecessor, boasting outstanding story telling, action and voice acting. Mass Effect 2 starts off with a bang! Shepard is still on the Normandy with his crew but is being sent to fight Geth and not the real threat, The Reapers. Then a mysterious ship appears and attacks the Normandy. Shepard's body is then recovered by the Human organisation known as Cerberus and is reconstructed by them, known as the Laserus Project. Upon being brought back from death Shepard joins up with Cerberus to terminate 'The Reapers' and their new pawns of war, 'The Collector's' As well as being task to create the perfect team for the job, introducing new characters as well as some of the favorites from Mass Effect 1. There are some faults to Mass Effect 2 though. Bioware have introduced a planet scanning system which can sometime get a bit... Tedious to say the least. Scanning the planets seems more like a chore than anything. But scanning planets is vital to the game if you want the 'best' outcome for the game. Plus you can encounter side missions from scanning planets so it's not all bad! Once again Mass Effect 2 offer's an enjoyable experience like no other RPG and connects you with the each character on a personal level. Plus you can import your save from ME1 and have a direct impact on the story and once again you can have a completely different out come to your mates story, this is what makes Mass Effect such special franchise! Expand
  99. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    In short, Mass Effect 2 is one of the best games of the generation. It takes the universe introduced in the original, gives it a darker plot and puts it in a grittier scenario, and practically expands and perfects it in almost every way. The way Bioware has executed and presented the game is truly remarkable. Every scene has been polished and styled immaculately, and coupled with the stunning graphics, make for a visual masterpiece. The plot and narrative are excellent as well, driving the game forward and keeping players at the edge of their seats and gaping at the mesmerising worlds filled with one of the best cast of characters in videogame history. Combat is largely entertaining, though rather lacking in variety. But, overall, Mass Effect 2 is thoroughly impressive and makes for one hell of a ride. Expand
  100. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    This game is so close to being the game that all others are to be judged by. Due to issues that really are not issues but more like personal biases I'm deducting a point. It goes from an 11/10 to a solid 10/10

    Better luck next time Bioware.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. 100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]