Mass Effect 2 Xbox 360

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3210 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. Better than the first one in every way - and the first one was one of my favorite games of all time. This is a labor of love for every sci-fan out there. And even if you don't like sci-fi, this game is so fast paced, cinematic and well designed you'd be cheating yourself not to at least give it a shot. Thank you Bioware!
  2. k
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    I have never personally given a game a 10/10. But this game utterly deserves it. It's not perfect, though. Some would argue "if it's not perfect it's not a 10/10!" I disagree. The Normandy loading times are tedious and kill the immersion in one particular mission. There is not as much armor cust as I thought. But my biggest gripe is that the game ended. Yes, I'm I have never personally given a game a 10/10. But this game utterly deserves it. It's not perfect, though. Some would argue "if it's not perfect it's not a 10/10!" I disagree. The Normandy loading times are tedious and kill the immersion in one particular mission. There is not as much armor cust as I thought. But my biggest gripe is that the game ended. Yes, I'm serious. Slight spoiler No game has ever made me feel emotion for the characters. I hated Mordin when I first met him, then I was pissed off when he died in MY playthrough. Thane and Miranda's side quests were INCREDIBLE. I liked EVERYONE on my team, even Garrus and Tali, who I thought were boring and uninteresting in part 1. The combat, the scope, the graphics, the presentation, that's all expected in a great game. But what Mass EFfect has that others do not is the best characters to ever appear in a video game. That's what sets it apart and that's why it's the best game I've ever played. Genius. Expand
  3. JonattanM.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I'll begin this review by saying that I'm primarily a MMO-RPGer (EQ2). I occasionally play console shooters and PC RTS games. Even when I'm playing EQ2 though, I largely ignore the story lines behind the quests and the game overall. Having said all of that, I was totally drawn into ME2. The plot line is amazing, and I totally enjoyed the interactions with the other I'll begin this review by saying that I'm primarily a MMO-RPGer (EQ2). I occasionally play console shooters and PC RTS games. Even when I'm playing EQ2 though, I largely ignore the story lines behind the quests and the game overall. Having said all of that, I was totally drawn into ME2. The plot line is amazing, and I totally enjoyed the interactions with the other characters. My advice is to save often before interactions so that you can go back and play them another way. Combat is challenging enough without being frustrating (on "normal) for someone who is only an occasional console gamer. Hardcore console gamers might find the combat a little too easy but then again I haven't attempted it on the "extreme" setting so I'm guessing. I just finished it last night, and I'm probably going to play it again. It also prompted me to buy the first game. So, this is probably one of the only games I'll ever rate a 10, but ME2 deserves it! Expand
  4. TaylorH.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    From within the first few minutes of booting up the game, it is apparent how much work went into this game. Incredible visuals, NO graphical "texture loads", fast-paced combat that provides more versatility than you usually know what to do with, and a storyline that makes 90% of any other Xbox 360 (or PS3 for that matter) pale in comparison. Mix in a deep customization option, and events From within the first few minutes of booting up the game, it is apparent how much work went into this game. Incredible visuals, NO graphical "texture loads", fast-paced combat that provides more versatility than you usually know what to do with, and a storyline that makes 90% of any other Xbox 360 (or PS3 for that matter) pale in comparison. Mix in a deep customization option, and events that carry over from the first game into the second, and you get on epic adventure that you will want to experience again and again and again. 4 play-thrus were needed on Mass Effect 1 for me. With Mass Effect 2, even 6 probably wont be enough. Epic gameplay. Tightly polished graphics, audio and storytelling. Engaging characters and memorable events. 10/10, without a doubt. Expand
  5. DavidW.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played. ME2 is immersive in a way I've never seen before and tackles some of the darker attributes of humanity. Great game.
  6. PeteR.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    The follow-up to one of the greatest RPG games of all time, could very well be the greatest RPG of all time.
  7. Mike
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! YES! I'm still on the first mission, and I'm giving the game a 10! But come on, its BioWare, does anyone expect anything less than perfection out of them? Even the media keeps giving the game 100s, despite the flaws that would no doubt sink a lesser game. Congratulations BioWare! You are officially the developer of the decade and the Mass Effect trilogy is the IP of the century! Please get us ME3 soon (but not to soon), I can't stand the wait. I'll go ahead and give ME3 a 10 right now, just for posterity. Expand
  8. JuanM.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Amazing! an incredible history and a second game in the trilogy that enhances to the limit the first one, it's simply unbelievable, is this really only a game? For me it's THE GAME. Emotionally engaging and the best adventure of all times, this is the future of the video games, welcome to the Bioware world and long live to the kings ;) Thanks for this great gaming experience.
  9. KevinT.
    Jan 30, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect one was a wonderful game but it did have flaws. Bioware seem to have picked up on every one of those and refined it to the nth degree to create a fantastic experience. Gong is the clunky inventory management, gone is the tearing and odd frame rate dip. In is a vastly improved combat mechanic, the best visuals on 360 (probably) and a simpler more immersive RPG experience. The Mass Effect one was a wonderful game but it did have flaws. Bioware seem to have picked up on every one of those and refined it to the nth degree to create a fantastic experience. Gong is the clunky inventory management, gone is the tearing and odd frame rate dip. In is a vastly improved combat mechanic, the best visuals on 360 (probably) and a simpler more immersive RPG experience. The story is, once again, outstanding. It's only Jan yet I think we have my GOTY right here. Expand
  10. DavidD
    Feb 10, 2010
    10
    I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. I do not say this lightly but this is in my top 3 games I have ever played! It was like watching a great movie that you are part of. Incredible story telling, great characters that i cared about (except for a couple). They also did a phenomenal job on improving a few small things. The planet side random missions were so much better done then first game. No two missions were exactly alike. Even though the mining is tedious, I still liked the way they gave that option for you to get materials. Also, the developers made a bit easier for you to keep track of missions by letting you know where they are in the galaxy view. Overall, Bioware has done it again. Thank you Bioware for being one company that consistently brings us incredible games, Especially this one!! I can't wait till the 3rd one! Expand
  11. GC
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    This is a game of improvements over ME1 which was a spectacular gaming accomplishment... Texture Detail, Lighting, Story, Controller Layout, Dialog Trees, Dialog Interaction,, Normandy, Elevator Rides, Side Quests, Exploration, Inventory System, Enemy AI, Squad AI, Targeting, Game HUD, Mid Level Loading,, Level Design, ... the list goes on... To see every gripe or annoyance from the first This is a game of improvements over ME1 which was a spectacular gaming accomplishment... Texture Detail, Lighting, Story, Controller Layout, Dialog Trees, Dialog Interaction,, Normandy, Elevator Rides, Side Quests, Exploration, Inventory System, Enemy AI, Squad AI, Targeting, Game HUD, Mid Level Loading,, Level Design, ... the list goes on... To see every gripe or annoyance from the first game tweaked and improved, makes a great game design (ME1) become truly fantastic. If you liked ME1 get ME2... you'll love it. Yes, they made adjustments to Combat (less like KOTOR) and streamlined the RPG aspects (simpler inventory/character management) but the changes only add to the overall gaming experience. Bravo BioWare. Wish you had done something like this with Dragon Age. Expand
  12. BrentonM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Hats off to Bioware! Only halfway through the game and it's living up to everything I hoped it would. Purposely stayed away from reading too much into it prior to release, so being a huge fan of ME1 makes all the surprises and ramifications even more EPIC!
  13. Henryb
    Feb 18, 2010
    10
    Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Just wanna point out that the review that "K" guy gave this game is the most ridiculus review I have ever read. Not once did the guy ever make a statement that made sense and he basically just babbled about how much he hated the game. Pointless review and an obvious PS3 fanboy. Gave barely any reasons as to why he didn't like the game except by saying it was horrible a million times. Anyway, this game is absolutely amazing. Buy this if you love a great story with a great world and great characters. You will love this if your into any form of game. It's sooo good. Expand
  14. Matt
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    One of the best and most absorbing game experiences I've had in recent memory. The improvements to presentation and gameplay are stellar, but without making the original title obsolete. The level of engagement with the characters and story is on par with my adolescent obsession with Final Fantasy. This is an RPG for the maturing gamer, and a step forward for the genre. Unlike most One of the best and most absorbing game experiences I've had in recent memory. The improvements to presentation and gameplay are stellar, but without making the original title obsolete. The level of engagement with the characters and story is on par with my adolescent obsession with Final Fantasy. This is an RPG for the maturing gamer, and a step forward for the genre. Unlike most sequels, if the first one didn't do it for you, this one might just change your mind. Highly recommended. Expand
  15. MichaelH
    Feb 24, 2010
    10
    Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more Those who are giving this game a 6 or below, would you really like to discourage future gaming companies to make anything along the lines of this? a 3 is insinuating that the game is nearly broken, i mean come on everyone stop acting so immature, this game at least deserves a little respect... i personally think it's the best game ever made, and i think it deserves a lot more reviewer respect than grandtheftauto4 (i don't get whats so cool about that game) yet, because of how controversial mass effect 2 is, it will not get the score it truly deserves from many. Expand
  16. AdrianM
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply awe-inspiring. After having just completed the first installment, for the second time, the week before Mass Effect 2's release, I could easily note the numerous references to the first game. The storyline, graphics, and streamlined combat make this game a must-have and, in my humble opinion, the best Xbox 360 game to date. The whole Mass Effect universe has Mass Effect 2 is simply awe-inspiring. After having just completed the first installment, for the second time, the week before Mass Effect 2's release, I could easily note the numerous references to the first game. The storyline, graphics, and streamlined combat make this game a must-have and, in my humble opinion, the best Xbox 360 game to date. The whole Mass Effect universe has been solidified and expanded upon in this game, and BioWare definitely outdid themselves and have put the Mass Effect franchise on the top of many gamers' lists of favorites. The storyline is capturing, the characters are memorable (and you learn to love them), and all of the characters from the previous game are there albeit unavailable. Mass Effect fans will surely enjoy the game, and new players in the Mass Effect games will find themselves enjoying it anyway. I would, however, encourage people to buy or rent the first game before playing this game. Most RPG fans will love the detail in the storyline of the first game, and it will make Mass Effect 2 an even more enjoyable experience. Expand
  17. JacobK
    Feb 2, 2010
    10
    As a veteran gamer and lover of roleplaying games as well as a fan of Mass Effect 1 and of all Bioware games I am ecstatic to say that ME2 does not disappoint. By playing this game, one will immerse themselves in a beautifully crafted universe that takes place in the 23rd century. Bioware has created a fantasy world that is believable and rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien's middle-earth. As a veteran gamer and lover of roleplaying games as well as a fan of Mass Effect 1 and of all Bioware games I am ecstatic to say that ME2 does not disappoint. By playing this game, one will immerse themselves in a beautifully crafted universe that takes place in the 23rd century. Bioware has created a fantasy world that is believable and rivals that of J.R.R. Tolkien's middle-earth. No RPG to date can rival ME2. Bioware took every aspect of the first game that players weren't satisfied with and revamped the entire ME game play. No more tedious, redundant world explorations but rather new unique experiences that are discovered by scanning worlds; no more pointless minerals, which are now used for upgrades; no more driving an all-too-boring mako; no more inventory mayhem, where instead there is no traditional inventory; no linear classes but instead class options that will provide a new experience each playthrough. These are just some examples of how ME2 outdoes its predecessor. Most notable though is how ME2 introduces characters in a fashion that is unrivaled by any game in existence today. With ME2, not only do you immerse yourself in a stupendous and fantastical universe but also plunge yourself into the depths of characters you meet in your travels; each character with a unique and realistic personality that encompasses and runs parallel with the ME universe. With such engrossing game play, grandiose storytelling, fantastically crafted universe and realistic NPC/squadmates that everyone can relate to ME2 does not leave much to criticize. But no game comes without criticism, and while ME2 has a poultry amount of criticisms compared to other games, some aspects of the game could be better. Mainly what got me included the minuscule amount of weapons at your disposal. For example, there are 2 assault riffles (one other that I don't count but isn't available to everyone), 2 submachine guns and 2 pistols, and while there are more types of weapons to choose from their are few versions in each category. Another aspect that can be looked down on is the strip of the inventory system to the few weapons and upgrades; in other words, the "loot" aspect of ME1 is not present. Furthermore, the mining of minerals is extremely boring and slow, where these minerals are needed for upgrades. As far as glitches go, ME2 has no more and maybe fewer than any game it might relate to upon release. Despite these very few criticisms that one can make for ME2, they are all irrelevant because of the overflow of entrainment and excitement the game brings to its players. Even if the player has not played ME1, this a game not to pass up on. Rent it, buy it, get all the achievements, import character from ME1, do whatever it is that will enable you to play this hell of a great game. Expand
  18. joshD
    Feb 3, 2010
    10
    Ive gamed since the days of the atari 2600. No kidding, greatest game I've ever played. The low scores some of these people are posting in this area are a joke. They are either ps3 clowns, or they want the fast pace twitchy shooter. This game has everything, and every decision you make determines how the game plays out! Amazing amazing game!
  19. ChrisP
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Wow, the amount of zeros and under 9's is outstanding... Complaining that there is too much dialogue and not enough shooting; is like buying a book and crying that there is not enough pictures. Just because you are handicap doesnt mean you are right - and your mom needs the internet back.
  20. JohnB
    Feb 7, 2010
    10
    What I love about the user review section of metacritic is that you don't actually have to know anything about objective criticism. It's really quite brilliant. Just harp on minutiae and your own butt-hurt feelings, regardless of how the game you are reviewing actually rates on the standard areas of critique, such as little things like gameplay, graphics, and originality. (Which What I love about the user review section of metacritic is that you don't actually have to know anything about objective criticism. It's really quite brilliant. Just harp on minutiae and your own butt-hurt feelings, regardless of how the game you are reviewing actually rates on the standard areas of critique, such as little things like gameplay, graphics, and originality. (Which Mass Effect 2 has in abundance, by the way.) I find it exceptional that someone could buy and play the first Mass Effect, determine that they hated it, and then buy into hype and purchase the second game thinking that they would suddenly reinvent the series. Why wouldn't they, I mean, they only planned a 3 game trilogy... why stick to a tried and true method for the sake of storytelling cohesion? The first game had its flaws, which have been covered over and over so I'll just leave that for the writers at 1Up to bring up, but, who would think that this game would NOT have any flaws? Of course they can make an absolutely perfect game with no bugs which everyone and their sister will love and which will cater to all preconceived notions and desires! Why couldn't they? Pushing the present limitations on a 6 year old gaming system with an incredibly large playing universe and a user reactionary story-arc simply is no reason to expect anything than utter perfection! Demand your money back people, you've been gypped. I'll start another Shepard character and save the universe. Expand
  21. CraigC.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    OK Let Me start off saying F**K YES THIS GAME IS WORTH IT the game play is much better then the first much much better, characters are much more dark than in the first Mass Effect namely the famous Vigilante Archangel who is by far (besides Grunt) is the best character in the game graphics are much better with only minor glitches and bugs the AI is much smart this time around not that OK Let Me start off saying F**K YES THIS GAME IS WORTH IT the game play is much better then the first much much better, characters are much more dark than in the first Mass Effect namely the famous Vigilante Archangel who is by far (besides Grunt) is the best character in the game graphics are much better with only minor glitches and bugs the AI is much smart this time around not that smart but still smart enough to kill your enemies which i might are more strong and more of a pain to kill perticulary the biotic enemies and ill end this by saying IF YOU DID NOT SEE THE ENDING YET IT IS THE MAJOR WTF MOMENT IN THE HISTORY OF SHOOTERS 10/10 it is worth the 60 dollar price tag i also strongly recommend before playing ME2 if you did not play Mass Effect 1 you are not going to under stand wtf is going on. Expand
  22. SebC.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    I loved this game....it was absolutly amazing....i dont think there was anything wrong with this game.....after a mere 20 minutes of playing mass effect 2 i was simply addicted! every aspect of this game was brilliant. the story line was very well thought and and the ending of the game was EPIC!!! i loved how you could travel to different systems of the universe and send probes to planets I loved this game....it was absolutly amazing....i dont think there was anything wrong with this game.....after a mere 20 minutes of playing mass effect 2 i was simply addicted! every aspect of this game was brilliant. the story line was very well thought and and the ending of the game was EPIC!!! i loved how you could travel to different systems of the universe and send probes to planets to get iridium and stuff.....honestly, i was upset when the game ended i just wanted it to continue! i have never played the mass effect 1 but i will be looking forward to purchasing and playing it and i can bet that it will be just as good as the mass effect 2! i love how you could interact with alot of people in the game and but upgrades and what not. the game was absolutely amazing.....i cant wait for Mass Effect 3 to come out!!!!! Expand
  23. JamesH.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Where to begin? Perhaps I should begin at the point where I sat back in my chair, lit up a cigarette, and contemplated for 7 minutes whether I should turn down the advances of Miranda Lawson in the hopes that Ashley Williams will come back at the end of the game, or whether I should go ahead and move on -as Ashley somewhat had. Perhaps the only other time I was faced with a similar Where to begin? Perhaps I should begin at the point where I sat back in my chair, lit up a cigarette, and contemplated for 7 minutes whether I should turn down the advances of Miranda Lawson in the hopes that Ashley Williams will come back at the end of the game, or whether I should go ahead and move on -as Ashley somewhat had. Perhaps the only other time I was faced with a similar pause-cigarette-decide scenario was in the first Mass Effect. Point is, that is what happens when a game becomes part of your life. When you cannot wait to leave your -possibly exciting- job to go home and spend 10 hours scanning planets for resources and getting to know your crew. This game will implant hooks into your every thought, until you are done with it, and until you play it again with different attitudes and answers. Expand
  24. AhmedB.
    Mar 1, 2010
    10
    Combining RPG and action gaming elements into cinematic and highly realistic game play immersed in futuristic realm, makes this game the best ever in the genre. The games cinematic sequences makes it more like a sci-fi movie, but still don`t lose the feeling of game, the storyline is deep and finely worked out. It`s like synergy of watching the movie, reading the book and playing the Combining RPG and action gaming elements into cinematic and highly realistic game play immersed in futuristic realm, makes this game the best ever in the genre. The games cinematic sequences makes it more like a sci-fi movie, but still don`t lose the feeling of game, the storyline is deep and finely worked out. It`s like synergy of watching the movie, reading the book and playing the game... I`m very happy seeing that game creation takes a leap ahead in the direction the gamers like. Graphics are awesome, even on my GF 240M game looks fantastic.... I hope very much that the third part of the game will have the same amount of innovations that the second part has from first. I already understand that it will be hard days waiting for the next part or the similar quality game after playing through ME2. Expand
  25. Nick
    Mar 22, 2010
    10
    Any game that treats you like a criminal simply isn't worth paying for, and isn't worth playing. The draconian DRM ruins any fun I might have had, since my spotty internet connection means I keep getting booted out of the game.
  26. SheyhanA.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect 2 is simply put a masterpiece. You are guaranteed that you will fall in love with one character. The story is gripping, its a tale of love, passion, family, and drive. The sound quality is amazing, it very clear and detailed. The gameplay has been refined and restructured, there's less pausing, and slowing down the intense pace Mass Effect is known for. The voice is Mass Effect 2 is simply put a masterpiece. You are guaranteed that you will fall in love with one character. The story is gripping, its a tale of love, passion, family, and drive. The sound quality is amazing, it very clear and detailed. The gameplay has been refined and restructured, there's less pausing, and slowing down the intense pace Mass Effect is known for. The voice is star-studded, and as usual the best part in Mass Effect 1, the personalization has came back with more options. You really feel that you are a part of a character, and part of a bigger movement. In the end, there's nothing negative to say, this game is nothing short of epic. Expand
  27. ErickO.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    It's a rare occasion when a game's sequel improves on everything the original had, and then some, but it happened here in Mass Effect 2. The game went from brilliant to incredible, with the graphics as high end as possible, and facial expressions believable. On top of the graphics, the gameplay has been improved greatly, offering a bigger variety of weapons this time around. It's a rare occasion when a game's sequel improves on everything the original had, and then some, but it happened here in Mass Effect 2. The game went from brilliant to incredible, with the graphics as high end as possible, and facial expressions believable. On top of the graphics, the gameplay has been improved greatly, offering a bigger variety of weapons this time around. Infinite ammo has been removed, but regenerating health is a plus. Overall an amazing game, and one that you shouldn't look past. Expand
  28. HunterF.
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    This is the game of the year hands down and it's only January the art direction in this game is superb, and fans of video games in general won't be disappointed! The best game I've ever played hands down. This is a must-play for any one with an xbox 360. Games like this are the reasons we all love gaming!
  29. TerryPhillips
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Flat out amazing. Improved in almost every way, some of the RPG elements are downgraded a bit for better action, but the unpolished nature of the original is gone. The story is sublime, the graphics bumped way up, and the tone, story, mood, and visual variety top it all of like a delicious cherry on an amazing game sunday. If you liked the first one, hell if you like RPG, or action with Flat out amazing. Improved in almost every way, some of the RPG elements are downgraded a bit for better action, but the unpolished nature of the original is gone. The story is sublime, the graphics bumped way up, and the tone, story, mood, and visual variety top it all of like a delicious cherry on an amazing game sunday. If you liked the first one, hell if you like RPG, or action with RPG... or if you just like Sci-Fi... Pick this one up!!!! Expand
  30. MarkS.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    This game truly is amazing. From the excellent beginning all the way to the credits. The gameplay is 100% tighter than the first Mass Effect and the story is engrossing with no stutter. I am extremely happy with Bioware and I easily see this game winning best game of 2010.
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. Official Xbox Magazine
    95
    Mass Effect 2 overcomes its few gameplay weaknesses with a fantastic weave of dynamic combat, lavish presentation, and engaging character and weapon customization. But for all the myriad improvements that make Mass Effect 2's visuals so appealing and its combat so exhilarating, it's ultimately the way it moves us that makes it so memorable. [Feb 2010, p.56]
  2. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    100
    Both an astonishing RPG and confident shooter, Mass Effect 2 is daring, shocking and often awe-inspiring in its use of choice. This is the future of storytelling in videogames. [Issue#, p.85]