Mass Effect 2 Xbox 360

Mass Effect 2 Image
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 98 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 3204 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make theirThe Mass Effect trilogy is a science fiction adventure set in a vast universe filled with dangerous alien life forms and mysterious uncharted planets. In this dark second chapter, Saren’s evil army of Geth soldiers has just been defeated, and humans, who are still struggling to make their mark on the galactic stage, are now faced with an even greater peril. [BioWare] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 98
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 98
  3. Negative: 0 out of 98
  1. games(TM)
    100
    Despite all of the ways Mass Effect 2 is more engaging to play and explore, after 35 remarkable hours it was the characters that stayed with us… Game of the year in January? Oh, go on then. [Feb 2010, p.112]
  2. AceGamez
    100
    It’s forty-plus hours of top-notch combat, incredible voice-acting, emotional provocation, stunning graphics and exhilarating gameplay of a standard that simply hasn’t been achieved before as a complete package.
  3. If you liked Mass Effect 1 to any degree whatsoever, you’ll definitely love Mass Effect 2 with its improved combat and AI, and cinematics and storyline – sans the glitches we all know and hate from ME1.
  4. Mass Effect 2 is easily one of the most compelling, exciting and emotionally affecting interactive experiences you’ll ever have.
  5. Right now I’m even salivating at the prospect of finishing up all of the extra content.
  6. Everything BioWare did to improve the game has lead to satisfying results. Such efforts actually redefine how sequels should be made. This was one of the most memorable gaming experiences we've had in recent history.
  7. Players who can look past the lack of drive, annoying decisions, and a general stripped-down, dumbed-down feeling can (thankfully) still look forward to some truly spectacular moments and unforgettable action before credits roll.

See all 98 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 581
  1. RobertOgilvie
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Overall, an exceptional game. Interaction and combat are both greatly improved over an already high quality original. Similarly, the handful Overall, an exceptional game. Interaction and combat are both greatly improved over an already high quality original. Similarly, the handful of irritating flaws from the previous iteration are largely solved. Expand
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    Well, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfullyWell, every game has it's detractors,but seriously? "Oh noes, they dun stole my RPG elements! It is awl dumb-down and stoopid now!" blissfully forgetting through their misty-eyed watercolour memories that Mass Effect could be muscled through with sheer gaming skill and an unleveled Shepard. Being able to be beaten by skill alone, an RPG does not make. The inventory was awful, it turned the whole game into a puzzle of managing your inventory. I'm glad to see it gone. To finish up, the romance options are much improved, instead of humans only or a 106-year old archeologist. Expand
  3. JonathanW
    Feb 6, 2010
    10
    Mass effect 2 is a solid improvement over the original which was an already stellar title. The upgraded combat, level up, and armor systems Mass effect 2 is a solid improvement over the original which was an already stellar title. The upgraded combat, level up, and armor systems work smoothly and make it a faster less tedious experiance. My only complaints are that the Story is slightly less surprising than the original (though in no means bad) and the final boss looks very cheesey (though it does fit into the story very well.) If you love third person shooters and or RPGs M.E.2 should be on the top of your list. Expand
  4. robs.
    Mar 29, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect is an incredible game, and shockingly, my favorite all time. And I don't throw that around often. You'll see that Mass Effect is an incredible game, and shockingly, my favorite all time. And I don't throw that around often. You'll see that describing every new game, but I don't have anything to do with that. Mass Effect 2 definitely tops my list. The game improves in every single way upon it's original, the slightly overrated Mass Effect. Mass Effect 2 doesn't have a traditional story arc, which will surprise and disappoint some when the game abruptly ends, but the ride will have been amazing. Leaving you not asking for more, but pleading for more. Craving more Mass Effect. The graphics are great, and aliens and armor rank among some of the best graphics I've ever seen. Humans are a bit bland, and animate oddly sometimes, but small complaint. The environments range from dark red's and browns on trashy city-planets where you'd expect to be mugged by a drunk Krogen at any point, to lush, bright, jungle planets. This is a great improvement over the grey warehouses of Mass Effect. Now it feels like you're adventuring in Blade Runner as opposed to Star Wars: Attack of the Clones. The combat is simply perfect. It takes the blueprint off Gears of War, Uncharted, and Resident Evil 5, and easily beats them at their own game. Third person shooting has never been so fluid and fun. Enemies react realistically to being shot, and headshots are a blast. The game does away with the clunky forced use of the attack wheel. Now you'll go into it simply to connect your favorite moves to a hotkey and get back into combat. Before you pretty much had to use it, and it didn't feel strategic, it felt like a speed bump during combat. Which brings me to the cast and story. Wow to both. This is easily the most likable cast of characters ever. Most RPGs I'll simply pick my two favorites and put the rest on the shelf until the game is over. But now you'll want to mix and match depending on the mission, or just to hear what Jack has to say. They're unique, deep, and very interesting. When the game forces a character into your party, you'll rarely mind, and welcome the chance to have Garrus at your side. The story itself is wonderfully presented, but slightly thin. You'll be on the edge of your seat, but after the game is over you'll suddenly realize that what you thought were side quests, were actually the bulk of the game, and the real action seems to be coming in Mass Effect 3. This won't be disappointing though, because it's very satisfying. And which content on the way, there's plenty of meat here. Which brings me to the reason I loved the game so very much. Mortality. Never before has a game been so visceral. I believe this is game as art, which isn't a term yet like film as art. But it will be. And this is why. Without spoiling too much, odds are, you won't finish your suicide mission with the team you started it with. And it's not a scripted gimmick like the Modern Warfare series where they kill you off six times a game for shock value. Based on tiny decisions you probably didn't put any thought into, you sealed the fate of one of the characters you loved. Hint: upgrade the ship. You don't see the point during the game, but it's key. I myself lost 4 characters and my entire crew. I was furious. I began playing reckless, as Shepard would have, but without thinking about it. Without making the conscious decision, I was running face first into combat with my shotgun blasting. The game literally affected me in a way no other game ever has. And for the first time I can think of, when a character makes a slo-motion leap into a spaceship, you have no guarantee he'll make it. How many times have we seen the Master Chief make a similar slo-motion leap of faith? Did you ever doubt the outcome? Well you will now. How many times has Dom grabbed Marcus' hand at the last second? No doubt in the outcome. But now when Shepard leaps to grab Garrus' hand right before he falls, you'll gasp and hope he gets a hold of him. This is game as art. Expand
  5. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    This is my favourite game ever, why ?, because no game is so fast paced while still emotional like this, the combat system is perfect, theThis is my favourite game ever, why ?, because no game is so fast paced while still emotional like this, the combat system is perfect, the game never lags even with the frantic action. Expand
  6. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    Newer but not entirely better. There's been a shift that's noticeable. Similar to Dragon Age 2, Bioware is trying to reach a broader audience.Newer but not entirely better. There's been a shift that's noticeable. Similar to Dragon Age 2, Bioware is trying to reach a broader audience. This is done by beefing the shooter aspect and narrowing the RPG aspect. Fewer powers, few choices for load-outs and armor, and worst of all, much less exploration. Where once I walked the surface of a planet and explored a sandbox area, now I am confined to scanning planet surfaces and flying down with a specific goal. Luckily these goals vary and are not boring. But the tedious mining task is not a substitution for actual exploring. Still, it's amazing to see the result of choices made in the original game and the story is the bed salute to dirty dozen type movies. This game is nearly perfect. Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2015
    0
    Awful; nothing like Mass Effect 1. This is where Bioware killed the Mass effect franchise. Awful upgrading, awful weapons, awful writing,Awful; nothing like Mass Effect 1. This is where Bioware killed the Mass effect franchise. Awful upgrading, awful weapons, awful writing, awful story, ok characters, no exploration, awful game. Expand

See all 581 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010

    Metacritic Users Pick the Best of 2010 Image
    Published: January 10, 2011
    Our users have spoken, the votes have been tallied, and we have your picks for the best of 2010 in movies, games, TV, and music. Don't expect another victory for Kanye West or The Social Network; Metacritic users had something else in mind.
  2. Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews

    Mass Effect 2: Inside the Reviews Image
    Published: January 28, 2010
    We compare Mass Effect 2 to other high-scoring titles, and go deeper inside the reviews to find the specific factors behind all the hype.