Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    95
    It gives ME vets everything they wanted in the game's ending, namely a return on beloved characters and some effect on what their choices thus far hath wrought.
  2. Apr 2, 2013
    92
    Citadel is fan service at its worst, but Mass Effect at its best. Clever dialogue, heart-warming callbacks, and enough content to make it worth the $15 price tag make Mass Effect: Citadel a worthy goodbye to a cast of characters that forever shaped gaming history.
  3. Mar 8, 2013
    91
    It's a real shame that Mass Effect's legacy feels doomed to be That Ending, when this DLC far more appropriately sums up why the series meant so much to so many. Citadel doesn't change the destination, but it does offer a fantastic second chance to celebrate the journey and remember why it was worth taking.
  4. Apr 4, 2013
    90
    It’s astonishing just how much content is packed in here.
  5. Mar 27, 2013
    90
    Seriously, the only way this could be any better were if it ended on a freeze-frame of Shepard punching the air, accompanied by Simple Minds’ ‘Don’t You Forget About Me’.
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    90
    If you are longing for a final goodbye with some of your favourite characters of this series, you won't get a better chance than this... Citadel is Mass Effect 3's 'Lair of the Shadow Broker'.
  7. Mar 13, 2013
    90
    Although the ending of Mass Effect 3 is still set in stone, this DLC allows gamers to close the book on this amazing series. At times it is bittersweet as you know what is waiting for Shepard and crew, however it does this quite successfully as it finishes our journey.
  8. Mar 9, 2013
    90
    I strongly believe that anyone who has been hesitant to buy DLC for Mass Effect 3 should consider giving this add-on a chance.
  9. Mar 6, 2013
    90
    The developer has clearly had a lot of fun creating a send-off to its characters that's worthy of the series' history and reminiscent of some of the saga's finest moments.
  10. Mar 11, 2013
    88
    It isn't the most serious affair, but if shooting the breeze in the bowels of the Normandy provided you with some of your fondest Mass Effect moments, you'll absolutely love this one last chance to bond with your crew.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 53
  2. Negative: 8 out of 53
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is, by far, the best DLC for ME3, and the second best of the franchise (first is shadow broker). This does so many things right. No spoilers, but the DLC can be conveniently divided into four distinct areas:

    1) There is a side story arc that will take ~2-5 hours to complete. The story is interesting (especially since it doesn't involve Reapers, Cerberus, or Collectors (I won't say more in order to avoid spoilers). This doesn't just feel like a filler story, but is rather thought out. Characters from previous games are brought back, and many background stories (such as the First Contact War) are given more context. 2) The second component of the DLC is similar to the Hearthfire expansion of Skyrim (although not as involved by any means). This allows Shepard to obtain and customize an apartment on the Citadel. Kind of a fun experience, and it allows for Admiral Anderson's background story to be more deeply investigated.
    3) The third component of the DLC revolves around the fact that it opens an entirely new district in the Citadel for exploration. There are many things to do, but the most notable are the Casino, Video Arcade, and Combat Simulator. The casino has a variety of games to play to gamble some of your in game credits. The video arcade has a handful of simple games to play. The combat simulator is one of the best additions in the DLC. It resembles the Pinnacle Station DLC in this regard from the first game, but is much more customizable it draws heavily from the multiplayer of the game. This mode allows you to play with squad members from ME1 and ME2 which is awesome.
    4) While not a separate component, this DLC lets you interact with characters from other games throughout fighting along side them and interacting with them. Characters such as Miranda, Jack, and Thane, will allow for additional romance options (if you romanced them in ME2). Final thoughts this DLC is amazing. The small story doesn't feel wasted. The extra district in the Citadel is fun to explore (especially the combat simulator). The apartment design is probably the least appealing part of this, and that is simply because it is so simplistic. The interactions with your crew- both past and current are very well done. Overall, the DLC is excellent. The writing is also very good and inserts a LOT of humor (which is a welcome relief to the sometimes tense mood of the game). I would highly recommend it and even though it is the most expensive DLC, it is by far worth the $15 asking price.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    This was an absolutely amazing DLC, while many fans are probably pissed that it doesn't change the ending, and that this DLC doesn't quite fit into the whole terrible 'OMG REPURS GUN KIL US ALL' thing, it was very well done, the references to previous games were great, I genuinely enjoyed the DLC, for the 7 hours of gameplay I felt the rush I felt when I was playing Mass Effect 2 again, on top of all of this, it was absolutely f*cking hilarious. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2013
    10
    This is fan service at its best. I applaud Bioware for finding a common ground. They recognized the love their fans have for their characters and in turn want to give the fans what they want but at the same time don't want to sacrifice their artistic vision. How to give their fans more of the interpersonal relationships, quell some of the missing interactions, and make a compelling dlc? I think they found it here. There's two parts to this dlc: a mission and the relationship building. Plus numerous side gams including an arena to practice for multiplayer and for completionists to conquer. It's important to mention, the area doesn't steal locations from multiplayer, but instead offers unique locales and and challenges. The mission is excellent: packed with humor, witty banter, new enemies, and new environments. It's fairly linear and slightly cliche, but pokes fun at itself. After playing through each game in the series multiple times, listening to the discourse on the final mission and controlling Shep felt like being among old friend that I probably won't be seeing again. It's the perfect end to the trilogy and even though I'm not happy with the actual ending, I feel like I can put Commander Shephard and his squad to rest and move on to a new story and a new universe... After about 6 more play throughs... Full Review »