Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Mar 9, 2012
    94
    No Mass Effect 3 player should be without this DLC.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    70
    From Ashes offers interesting new lore for the fans, but little anything else. The only new mission is very short shooter, which hardly justifies the price. The new squadmate does have a lot of things to say during the gameplay, if you carry him with you to every mission. Still, From ashes is only worth getting if you really want to see everything Mass Effect universe has to offer. [Apr 2012]
  3. Mar 16, 2012
    70
    The mission to defreeze Javik is short, and you can beat it easily within about half an hour. If you're looking for a chunk of content as substantial as Mass Effect 2's Lair of the Shadow Broker you'll probably come away disappointed, and Javik doesn't really dramatically affect anything about the Mass Effect 3 campaign.
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    66
    From Ashes plunks a relatively mundane mission but sweetens the deal with a provocative, highly interesting additional party member. Given the gravity of said party member, how this wasn't a part of Mass Effect 3 is mind blowing. Is From Ashes exploitive? Probably, but Mass Effect 3 as a whole stands to benefit from his presence and I regret completing the game without him.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    60
    If you're just buying this DLC just for the mission because you remember how awesome Mass Effect 2′s Lair of the Shadow Broker was, you're going to be disappointed. But, if you're buying it to preserve a kickass piece of Mass Effect lore, or to help augment your second, third, and fourth playthroughs, you will enjoy From Ashes.
  6. 55
    As Mass Effect DLC goes, From Ashes isn't as spectacular or impactful as ME2's Lair of the Shadow Broker; it's more a carbon copy of Kasumi - Stolen Memory, the companion DLC for ME2's thief character, Kasumi Goto.
  7. Mar 27, 2012
    50
    Mass Effect 3: From Ashes is a missed chance from BioWare to create a DLC woth buying despite its cost. A mission way too short and poorly structured don't justify the price of what could have been a more complex and intricated piece of story and lore.
  8. Mar 13, 2012
    50
    This is a great story and new character, but he should have just been included in the game in the first place, not a $10 Day 1 add-on.
  9. Mar 12, 2012
    50
    One of the more reprehensible examples of withheld content in recent months, although you aren't really missing much from the mission or character.
  10. 40
    The additions are enticing, but they're also insulting. If you're the kind of person who's easily enraged, steer well clear of this cheeky cash-grab.
User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 51
  2. Negative: 30 out of 51
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Day 1 DLC. Prothean squadmate, on the disc. I don't care if it's not important to the main story. I don't care if you had a separate team working on it. You had it ready to be released alongside the game and on the disc itself. There is no excuse for this not being free for everyone. Shame on EA. Shame on Bioware. And shame on consumers for still blindly buying their crap and letting EA get away with it. Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    To EA and Bioware (company that I adored for a decade now); you guys are pathetic capitalism whores. You are not true gamers! What you are now thinking? Ok, let's fool them again but next time we will not say them that we are making day one DLC, instead we will make DLC second week. I'm done with you guys, this is last game that I will buy from you! Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    9
    628 MB download means the content wasn't on the disc. Nice size expansion and bonus that they've included for real fans who bought the collector's edition. Full Review »