Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Dec 6, 2012
    55
    What's left is all that combat, which seems to go on interminably with too little to break it up.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    50
    BioWare has had a year to get Omega right. It didn't.
  3. Dec 1, 2012
    70
    There are significant differences in the ending depending on how Renegade or Paragon you play it, consisting of 6 possibilities, 4 of which are distinctly different. You can either end up on Aria's good side or end up on her bad side, but none of it really translates to the main campaign, which is a shame. You can't even return to Omega after the mission and nobody on your crew mentions your absence or anything about the mission, not even Archangel, aka Garrus. That disconnect really sucks, and it'd be nice to have something like that after the mission was over to distract from it not having any impact on the ending. Really, Bioware? After all that work we don't even get to go back to Omega for a drink?
  4. Jan 16, 2013
    51
    It's too pricey, too inconsequential - and too late. [Feb 2013, p.85]
  5. 65
    Omega has little narrative impact on the main game. Omega has snatches of rich backstory, but it's a limited, pricey thrill aimed only at the series' most devoted fans.
  6. Dec 12, 2012
    60
    In the end, the biggest problem that Omega struggles with is the fact that nothing about it seems worthwhile in the overall scope of the game's narrative. This is particularly true if you've already completed the game.
  7. Nov 29, 2012
    61
    Omega is a short DLC that doesn't have much of the distinctive Mass Effect experience.
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    30
    It's a shame that our final goodbyes to the cityscape of Omega is so passionless and dull. If Bioware intends to release more episodic content for ME3, I hope they don't rely on their increasingly tired combat system to do all of the work next time round. Let's have some more of that character back, okay?
  9. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    The lack of emotional weight makes Omega just another pointless series of hallways chockful of mildly challenging cannon fodder.
  10. Dec 6, 2012
    70
    If you're looking to expand your time in Mass Effect 3, the combat is good enough to enjoy, though it doesn't really earn its keep with a fifteen dollar asking price. If you want more Omega station, I'd suggest a replay of Mass Effect 2 instead.
  11. Dec 8, 2012
    60
    For those that aren't at all bothered by the slightly mediocre gunplay, there are a few new enemies that are fun twists on creatures with which we are already familiar. It's enough to keep the feeling that we've seen it all before at bay, but not much more.
  12. 40
    The most disappointing Mass Effect 3 download so far, which once again emphasizes overfamiliar action instead of meaningful storytelling.
  13. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    From the rousing space battle at its beginning to the surprisingly intense firefight at its end, Mass Effect 3: Omega is just the sort of add-on that I would want for a game of this kind… apart from the fact that it's a bit mindbending to revisit a virtual time and place that had such an unforgettable final act. I might still be trying to wrap my head around it, but I enjoyed my time with Aria and Nyreen just the same.
  14. 80
    The asking price is a little too steep, but long-term Mass Effect fans will appreciate this return visit. Small-scale stories are what Bioware does best, and we're hoping we'll see more stuff like Omega in the next Mass Effect game.
  15. Nov 30, 2012
    80
    All in all, Omega feels like a dumb action movie within the Mass Effect universe - gorgeous and exciting, but empty and implausible at the same time.
  16. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    Granted, Omega is as much a matter of taste and preference as the next DLC. It's a story of its own without big connections to the main plot and you'll definitely get the most out of it, if you fell for Aria and Omega in Mass Effect 2. I liked it for its great production values and a solidly balanced mix of story, character dialogue and often more open ended fights than in the main game. Though this is hardly a must-have, it is most definitely four hours of entertaining side content with interesting companions and a charismatic bad guy.
  17. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    While Omega has its good parts, it doesn't bring enough of that signature storytelling to the forefront. I love pulling the right trigger to shoot dudes, but I enjoy using the same button to interrupt a cutscene even more. This DLC doesn't understand that.
User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 3 out of 13
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    To summarize other user reviews. If you completely in love with ME3 especially combat mechanic then you should purchase this DLC, if you dislike arcade and dull multiplayer combat skip it. There isn't much new to story, furthermore after you complete DLC Aria is still sitting in Citadel like nothing happened. DLC is full of bugs, though I must admit that lightening effects were impressive. Omega isn't as entertaining as Shadow Broker for ME2. For me it wasn't worth 1200MSP. Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Interesting characters, a known and possibly liked setting (if you played Mass Effect 2) that could offer plenty more in-depth exploration. And of course the first female turian. It screams : Potential! And it just goes wasted like the rest of the game.
    I played the mission on Insanity and finished it in under 2 hours and didn't rush at any point. Streamlined combat that was clearly inspired by the multiplayer, partly missing ambient noise and voices creating a lack of atmosphere and several bugs. A streamlined story that offers little background and has no impact on the game itself except a few war assets. Because we know how the game ends. And that is the main problem of the DLC. While you could argue the same for Leviathan, its story line centered around the reapers and their creation which kept it interesting for me. Omega is about Aria. And there's not much to tell. Worth the time playing it? Yes if you want to see the turian and listen to Carrie Ann Moss. Worth the money? Absolutely not. Bioware set the bar for DLCs with Lair of the Shadow Broker and has not been able to reach that level of quality since.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. I was eagerly waiting for this... Overall I enjoyed pretty much everything about it. Combat was satisfying the story was good and it was well worth the money for me. Despite all of this and that even though it is after all a DLC, I was expecting alot more connections with the reaper invasion story. What was cerberus plans about the adjuvant? Why was controlling Omega was really that important for Cerberus and the most important thing to me, some clues about indoctrination confirming or denying the theory. In the leviathan DLC you see Sheppard being controlled by the leviathan and the story ends by the hero admitting he as quite the headache... Headaches are signs of Indoctrination. In Omega, you get nothing at all... But when I remind myself that I should rate this DLC on the content only, then I must say I had a pretty good time taking back Omega and it was well worth the money to me. Full Review »