User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 71
  2. Negative: 21 out of 71

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    To summarize other user reviews. If you completely in love with ME3 especially combat mechanic then you should purchase this DLC, if you dislike arcade and dull multiplayer combat skip it. There isn't much new to story, furthermore after you complete DLC Aria is still sitting in Citadel like nothing happened. DLC is full of bugs, though I must admit that lightening effects were impressive. Omega isn't as entertaining as Shadow Broker for ME2. For me it wasn't worth 1200MSP. Expand
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Interesting characters, a known and possibly liked setting (if you played Mass Effect 2) that could offer plenty more in-depth exploration. And of course the first female turian. It screams : Potential! And it just goes wasted like the rest of the game.
    I played the mission on Insanity and finished it in under 2 hours and didn't rush at any point. Streamlined combat that was clearly inspired by the multiplayer, partly missing ambient noise and voices creating a lack of atmosphere and several bugs. A streamlined story that offers little background and has no impact on the game itself except a few war assets. Because we know how the game ends. And that is the main problem of the DLC. While you could argue the same for Leviathan, its story line centered around the reapers and their creation which kept it interesting for me. Omega is about Aria. And there's not much to tell. Worth the time playing it? Yes if you want to see the turian and listen to Carrie Ann Moss. Worth the money? Absolutely not. Bioware set the bar for DLCs with Lair of the Shadow Broker and has not been able to reach that level of quality since.
    Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was eagerly waiting for this... Overall I enjoyed pretty much everything about it. Combat was satisfying the story was good and it was well worth the money for me. Despite all of this and that even though it is after all a DLC, I was expecting alot more connections with the reaper invasion story. What was cerberus plans about the adjuvant? Why was controlling Omega was really that important for Cerberus and the most important thing to me, some clues about indoctrination confirming or denying the theory. In the leviathan DLC you see Sheppard being controlled by the leviathan and the story ends by the hero admitting he as quite the headache... Headaches are signs of Indoctrination. In Omega, you get nothing at all... But when I remind myself that I should rate this DLC on the content only, then I must say I had a pretty good time taking back Omega and it was well worth the money to me. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2012
    5
    Price: 1200MSP/£10/$15
    Omega was one of my favourite locations in Mass Effect 2. It
  5. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    I am oficially done. I am done with this game. Bioware from now on just focus on making ME4 a quality experience unlike this DLC. Ever since The lair of the shadow broker, Bioware has failed at every chance to meet that level of quality with their following dlc's. The Omega dlc is on par with ME2's Arrival at best and ME1's Pinnacle station at its worst. I remember back when I used to like Aria. Now I find the Cerberus guy who is the main boss in this dlc arc more of a likable character than her. Nyreen the first female turian to be shown in this game was a completely wasted character. She shows up for a total of an hour or less and continuously disappears all throughout the dlc. And the ending of it is so anti-climatic and Aria is still even found sitting at the citadel as if nothing ever happened. This dlc was not worth fourteen dollars , and like this game overall, not worth the hype. Expand
  6. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    The Omega add on it a well crafted self contained add-on for Mass Effect 3. Its fun going back to Omega and Aria has always been a great character. The combat is great and challenging and the addition of a few new enemy types is a welcome addition. However this DLC has one massive flaw, the price. It's no longer than previous ME DLC and doesn't add anything or do anything particularly different. Its a few extra missions that might last you about 3-4 hours. There really is no reason for this to be 1200MSP / £10 and it leaves you feeling disappointed with what is otherwise an excellent slice of further action in the Mass Effect universe. Expand
  7. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect 3: Omega has a very satisfying play-through. Story was great, gameplay was great, and fighting alongside Aria was very fun. Aria and the new character, Nyreen are very interesting characters. My only complaint would be the ending, because you cannot go back to visit Omega and all you get for a reward are war assets.
  8. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    A person's like or dislike of Omega hinges on one thing: whether they think a multiple hour romp focusing primarily on one character in the Mass Effect series is interesting enough to warrant a 15 dollar pricetag. If you hate Aria, you'll likely hate this DLC. There's no hub to return to, no new squadmates - only temporary ones - and a completely self-contained story. However, it excels at focusing on one thing and magnifying it with precision: Aria's no holds barred attitude and desperate race for revenge in a grueling ground war that takes you into the bowels of Omega for the grittiest DLC experience ME has to offer. Expand
  9. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Omega was not the flop I was led to believe it would be. I agree with the sentiment that Aria was never a rich and compelling character, but the larger reviews seem unjustly harsh. The bad press, I suspect has more to do with publications trying to save face after giving ME3 perfect score when the ending was sub-par. Regardless, Omega was an entertaining adventure. We have the chance to return to Omega and are greeted with vibrant new environments, unique enemy types, and interesting battles. Will the dlc affect the ending? No, but that doesn't make it any less entertaining. The weakness lies in characters. Aria is more a thug than a charismatic tyrant. Petrosky is less a tactician and strategist than simply one more obstacle. However, this made it seem truer to the Mass Effect universe. An over-powered biotic has power simply because she has greater ability than others who seek it. Cerberus recruits humans with massive egos that underestimate their competition. And Shep will do what he needs to do to gain the forces required to beat the Reapers. I wish my squadmates could have come, but the adventure is worth attempting if you enjoy the ME universe and want to extend Shephard's tour. Expand
  10. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    I'm sure I'm not the first person to get this DLC just because I thought, "Omega in Mass Effect 2 was awesome, I bet it's still awesome in this new DLC!" Sadly, that wasn't the case. You get some new decent characters, some interesting dialogue here and there and a good view of how Omega changed between Mass Effect 2 and 3. Overall, I found it very bland, and it turned into one of those "Ugh. Let me just see the ending already." situation. Any avid Mass Effect fan should enjoy this, but it's nothing special. Collapse
  11. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    It'll probably go down in the game design lexicon as the ME3 Curse: potential without follow-through, results without conclusion. It was the bane of the release reception of ME3 overall, DLCs, and, yep, now Omega. Veterans of Mass Effect 2 remember Omega, the Mass Effect Mos Eisley, the seedy underbelly of the universe run by an asari crimelord. (Yep, that's Mos Eisley!) Unlike many of the locations from Mass Effect, Omega fell off the radar on Mass Effect 3 and sat on the sidelines as a mere mention until the DLC came out, this DLC. So let's take a look at it. First, you get to see a lot more of Omega this time, and the people responsible for level design deserve accolades as they've built levels that are engaging, convey the sense of depth and rundown nature of the place, and do not feel like they were copied and pasted from other levels in the game. There's a lot of originality to be seen. Scriptwriting is bang on, and Carrie-Ann Moss does a very good job with it. A new character is introduced, one which will grab your attention. New foes are encountered, including a new villain (when do you have a DLC without one?) that should at least get a nod for being a well-written and very well-acted villain in the gameplay pantheon. You'll run into some old...well, not friends, but people you knew on Omega. All these are very positive elements. The main problem with Omega (the DLC, not the station) is that it's so short. We're talking about maybe six hours of gameplay, and that's if you're taking the time to sniff every rose. My first playthrough clocked just shy of four. The new fighting enemy is somewhat lame, unfortunately; a good villain deserves good cannon fodder. It's also a problem that you do not get to make any choices. The possibilities exist for the player to have drastic input on the trajectory of the plot, but it's not implemented. (Hey, it's the ME3 Curse! Three possible endings, but no differences allowed! Cheap shot, but true.) Truth told, the only thing knocking points off my rating, though, is the lack of gameplay for price charged. For what they're billing for this DLC, it's too short by at least half. Even so, a well-earned 7 for a good, but short, addition to Mass Effect 3. Expand
  12. Mar 9, 2013
    7
    Omega is an okay addition to the franchise's list of DLC, and is quite long, but it's length is due to long corridor shooter combat, with little story or choice. There are a couple of moments that are really good, and give you the *illusion* of choice, but for 1200 MSP, I just can't recommend it to many people.
  13. Jun 17, 2013
    4
    Just meh.. Highlights: combat, spent time with Aria. Other than that, this DLC is just boring and wastes of time. It is such a shame, because Aria is so badass and the whole retake omega has so much potential to be good. Once again Bioware masterfully destroys an epic character and story, they really lost their mind.
  14. Dec 27, 2012
    0
    I'm sure I'm not the first person to get this DLC just because I thought, "Omega in Mass Effect 2 was awesome, I bet it's still awesome in this new DLC!" Sadly, that wasn't the case. You get some new decent characters, some interesting dialogue here and there and a good view of how Omega changed between Mass Effect 2 and 3. Overall, I found it very bland, and it turned into one of those "Ugh. Let me just see the ending already." situation. Any avid Mass Effect fan should enjoy this, but it's nothing special. Collapse
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Jan 16, 2013
    51
    It's too pricey, too inconsequential - and too late. [Feb 2013, p.85]
  2. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    While Omega has its good parts, it doesn't bring enough of that signature storytelling to the forefront. I love pulling the right trigger to shoot dudes, but I enjoy using the same button to interrupt a cutscene even more. This DLC doesn't understand that.
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    70
    The lack of emotional weight makes Omega just another pointless series of hallways chockful of mildly challenging cannon fodder.