Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 81 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: An unsteady alliance between Shepard and Aria initiates a deadly game of cat-and-mouse to wrest Omega from Cerberus’s control. Forced to rely on Aria’s special knowledge of the station and faced with her lust for revenge, how far will you go to retake Omega?
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    80
    From the rousing space battle at its beginning to the surprisingly intense firefight at its end, Mass Effect 3: Omega is just the sort of add-on that I would want for a game of this kind… apart from the fact that it's a bit mindbending to revisit a virtual time and place that had such an unforgettable final act. I might still be trying to wrap my head around it, but I enjoyed my time with Aria and Nyreen just the same.
  2. Nov 29, 2012
    80
    Granted, Omega is as much a matter of taste and preference as the next DLC. It's a story of its own without big connections to the main plot and you'll definitely get the most out of it, if you fell for Aria and Omega in Mass Effect 2. I liked it for its great production values and a solidly balanced mix of story, character dialogue and often more open ended fights than in the main game. Though this is hardly a must-have, it is most definitely four hours of entertaining side content with interesting companions and a charismatic bad guy.
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    70
    While Omega has its good parts, it doesn't bring enough of that signature storytelling to the forefront. I love pulling the right trigger to shoot dudes, but I enjoy using the same button to interrupt a cutscene even more. This DLC doesn't understand that.
  4. 65
    Omega has little narrative impact on the main game. Omega has snatches of rich backstory, but it's a limited, pricey thrill aimed only at the series' most devoted fans.
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    60
    In the end, the biggest problem that Omega struggles with is the fact that nothing about it seems worthwhile in the overall scope of the game's narrative. This is particularly true if you've already completed the game.
  6. Dec 6, 2012
    55
    What's left is all that combat, which seems to go on interminably with too little to break it up.
  7. Dec 11, 2012
    30
    It's a shame that our final goodbyes to the cityscape of Omega is so passionless and dull. If Bioware intends to release more episodic content for ME3, I hope they don't rely on their increasingly tired combat system to do all of the work next time round. Let's have some more of that character back, okay?

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 15
  2. Negative: 3 out of 15
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    Omega was not the flop I was led to believe it would be. I agree with the sentiment that Aria was never a rich and compelling character, butOmega was not the flop I was led to believe it would be. I agree with the sentiment that Aria was never a rich and compelling character, but the larger reviews seem unjustly harsh. The bad press, I suspect has more to do with publications trying to save face after giving ME3 perfect score when the ending was sub-par. Regardless, Omega was an entertaining adventure. We have the chance to return to Omega and are greeted with vibrant new environments, unique enemy types, and interesting battles. Will the dlc affect the ending? No, but that doesn't make it any less entertaining. The weakness lies in characters. Aria is more a thug than a charismatic tyrant. Petrosky is less a tactician and strategist than simply one more obstacle. However, this made it seem truer to the Mass Effect universe. An over-powered biotic has power simply because she has greater ability than others who seek it. Cerberus recruits humans with massive egos that underestimate their competition. And Shep will do what he needs to do to gain the forces required to beat the Reapers. I wish my squadmates could have come, but the adventure is worth attempting if you enjoy the ME universe and want to extend Shephard's tour. Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect 3: Omega has a very satisfying play-through. Story was great, gameplay was great, and fighting alongside Aria was very fun. AriaMass Effect 3: Omega has a very satisfying play-through. Story was great, gameplay was great, and fighting alongside Aria was very fun. Aria and the new character, Nyreen are very interesting characters. My only complaint would be the ending, because you cannot go back to visit Omega and all you get for a reward are war assets. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was eagerly waiting for this... Overall I enjoyed pretty much everything about it. Combat was satisfying the story was good and it was well worth the money for me. Despite all of this and that even though it is after all a DLC, I was expecting alot more connections with the reaper invasion story. What was cerberus plans about the adjuvant? Why was controlling Omega was really that important for Cerberus and the most important thing to me, some clues about indoctrination confirming or denying the theory. In the leviathan DLC you see Sheppard being controlled by the leviathan and the story ends by the hero admitting he as quite the headache... Headaches are signs of Indoctrination. In Omega, you get nothing at all... But when I remind myself that I should rate this DLC on the content only, then I must say I had a pretty good time taking back Omega and it was well worth the money to me. Expand
  4. Mar 3, 2013
    7
    It'll probably go down in the game design lexicon as the ME3 Curse: potential without follow-through, results without conclusion. It was theIt'll probably go down in the game design lexicon as the ME3 Curse: potential without follow-through, results without conclusion. It was the bane of the release reception of ME3 overall, DLCs, and, yep, now Omega. Veterans of Mass Effect 2 remember Omega, the Mass Effect Mos Eisley, the seedy underbelly of the universe run by an asari crimelord. (Yep, that's Mos Eisley!) Unlike many of the locations from Mass Effect, Omega fell off the radar on Mass Effect 3 and sat on the sidelines as a mere mention until the DLC came out, this DLC. So let's take a look at it. First, you get to see a lot more of Omega this time, and the people responsible for level design deserve accolades as they've built levels that are engaging, convey the sense of depth and rundown nature of the place, and do not feel like they were copied and pasted from other levels in the game. There's a lot of originality to be seen. Scriptwriting is bang on, and Carrie-Ann Moss does a very good job with it. A new character is introduced, one which will grab your attention. New foes are encountered, including a new villain (when do you have a DLC without one?) that should at least get a nod for being a well-written and very well-acted villain in the gameplay pantheon. You'll run into some old...well, not friends, but people you knew on Omega. All these are very positive elements. The main problem with Omega (the DLC, not the station) is that it's so short. We're talking about maybe six hours of gameplay, and that's if you're taking the time to sniff every rose. My first playthrough clocked just shy of four. The new fighting enemy is somewhat lame, unfortunately; a good villain deserves good cannon fodder. It's also a problem that you do not get to make any choices. The possibilities exist for the player to have drastic input on the trajectory of the plot, but it's not implemented. (Hey, it's the ME3 Curse! Three possible endings, but no differences allowed! Cheap shot, but true.) Truth told, the only thing knocking points off my rating, though, is the lack of gameplay for price charged. For what they're billing for this DLC, it's too short by at least half. Even so, a well-earned 7 for a good, but short, addition to Mass Effect 3. Expand
  5. Dec 2, 2012
    6
    The Omega add on it a well crafted self contained add-on for Mass Effect 3. Its fun going back to Omega and Aria has always been a greatThe Omega add on it a well crafted self contained add-on for Mass Effect 3. Its fun going back to Omega and Aria has always been a great character. The combat is great and challenging and the addition of a few new enemy types is a welcome addition. However this DLC has one massive flaw, the price. It's no longer than previous ME DLC and doesn't add anything or do anything particularly different. Its a few extra missions that might last you about 3-4 hours. There really is no reason for this to be 1200MSP / £10 and it leaves you feeling disappointed with what is otherwise an excellent slice of further action in the Mass Effect universe. Collapse
  6. Dec 27, 2012
    6
    I'm sure I'm not the first person to get this DLC just because I thought, "Omega in Mass Effect 2 was awesome, I bet it's still awesome inI'm sure I'm not the first person to get this DLC just because I thought, "Omega in Mass Effect 2 was awesome, I bet it's still awesome in this new DLC!" Sadly, that wasn't the case. You get some new decent characters, some interesting dialogue here and there and a good view of how Omega changed between Mass Effect 2 and 3. Overall, I found it very bland, and it turned into one of those "Ugh. Let me just see the ending already." situation. Any avid Mass Effect fan should enjoy this, but it's nothing special. Expand
  7. Dec 13, 2012
    3
    I am oficially done. I am done with this game. Bioware from now on just focus on making ME4 a quality experience unlike this DLC. Ever sinceI am oficially done. I am done with this game. Bioware from now on just focus on making ME4 a quality experience unlike this DLC. Ever since The lair of the shadow broker, Bioware has failed at every chance to meet that level of quality with their following dlc's. The Omega dlc is on par with ME2's Arrival at best and ME1's Pinnacle station at its worst. I remember back when I used to like Aria. Now I find the Cerberus guy who is the main boss in this dlc arc more of a likable character than her. Nyreen the first female turian to be shown in this game was a completely wasted character. She shows up for a total of an hour or less and continuously disappears all throughout the dlc. And the ending of it is so anti-climatic and Aria is still even found sitting at the citadel as if nothing ever happened. This dlc was not worth fourteen dollars , and like this game overall, not worth the hype. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews