Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 74
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 74
  3. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    100
    As a bombastic action-RPG with no previous context, Mass Effect 3 is a dark, engaging game with great combat, a well-written story, and all the epic space-opera you could want. But for those who have played through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, it's something much more.
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    100
    The Mass Effect trilogy will undoubtedly go down as not only some of the greatest games ever made, but may go down as one of the best trilogies ever to exist in any form of media, and for that Bioware, we thank you.
  3. Mar 19, 2012
    100
    I've never been privy to a game that caused me to wonder, question, and embrace humanity's place and purpose as greatly as Mass Effect 3. It is worth noting – BioWare attempts to tailor the game for new players, yet the experience is undeniably deeper and more rewarding if you have already played Mass Effect's previous games.
  4. Mar 8, 2012
    100
    Preserving the importance of a personal story against the backdrop of a galactic catastrophe, Mass Effect 3 respects its foundation as much as it understands and indulges in the player's choices. And it does it better than anything else.
  5. 100
    Better fighting. A great story. Amazing multiplayer. A brilliant ending and a masterpiece from Bioware.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    BioWare couldn't have provided a more satisfying ending to the trilogy. Mass Effect 3 is more a work of iteration than innovation, but sometimes that's just the right path to achieve excellence.
  7. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    With its grand storytelling and enthralling gameplay, Mass Effect 3 doesn't just bring an epic trilogy to a close, it rivals the most revered space operas.
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    While there is a definite finality to Mass Effect 3, the wealth of plot-based variables are likely to inspire second, third and fourth playthroughs, not just of the latest game but of the entire trilogy. Mass Effect 3 is truly unique in this respect, leaving no stone unturned and offering full closure, yet still leaving players with countless 'what ifs'. It's these unanswered questions that have driven the Mass Effect experience, and will motivate players to see their mission through to its glorious end.
  9. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    Mass Effect 3 is about as good of an ending as anyone could have possibly hoped for.
  10. 100
    Mass Effect 3 is brave enough to threaten to destroy its very own legacy. Everything you've worked for is genuinely at risk, and horrifying things are going to happen because of some of the choices you've made. If you've spent as long as we have with these characters, the impact of this final journey will be one you don't forget for years. Brave, thrilling, and incredibly emotional, Mass Effect 3 is a sci-fi masterpiece.
  11. 100
    An epic conclusion of a masterful trilogy. This one has it all.
  12. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    As bleak as this story is, it's offset by war sequences so large in scale and beautifully animated that you cannot help but look upon them in awe.
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    More than ever, the Mass effect universe pulls off the masterful trick of feeling huge and yet believable – the game's production values are through the roof, and its third-person shooter controls incredibly precise, responsive and accurate given Mass Effect's immense scope. It really does feel like a TV sci-fi series in which you play the central character.
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    As with any game that dares to be ambitious, deconstruct Mass Effect 3 into its constituent parts and of course there are flaws, but taken as a whole this is arguably the first truly modern blockbuster, a game that transcends the genre boundaries of old and takes what it needs from across the gaming spectrum in order to finish its story in the most compelling, thrilling, heartbreaking way possible. Few gaming sagas come to a definitive close, but this one signs off in breathtaking style.
  15. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    Whether you've been holding your breath since finishing Mass Effect 2 or just now looking to jump into a story-driven video game, Mass Effect 3 provides something for everyone from the single-player to co-op, it's just that f***ing good.
  16. Mar 6, 2012
    100
    What is so unique in this game is how the presence of its conclusion feels like the existential dread that infuses the characters that make up its universe. The paradox of the game becomes painfully prescient as it draws inexorably towards its conclusion.
  17. Mar 6, 2012
    99
    Whether it be friends you've made along the way, or long-time companions, everyone is at risk...Very few games pull me in like this.
  18. Mar 21, 2012
    98
    Mass Effect 3 is a milestone in the history of video games. It is an absolutely fantastic end to an amazing SciFi saga and tells an absolutely enthralling story. The characters are authentic and the synchronization is great. The gameplay stayed mostly the same, though there are a few improvements in Shepard's sprinting and the cover system. The complexity of the Mass Effect universe and the variety of scenes in the game are simply stunning. This is a must-buy for everyone who loves video games.
  19. 98
    Mass Effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy that manages to put the best parts of Mass Effect 1 with the best parts of Mass Effect 2. Sure, it will never be as much an RPG as the title that started it all, but as a result the game is actually, surprisingly, more fun to play and feels like a very well put together third person shooter that is bolstered by an in depth customisation system for both your weapons and your skills.
  20. Mar 6, 2012
    98
    Never before has a game felt like so much was on the line.
  21. Mar 6, 2012
    98
    Without question Mass Effect 3 has now become the new pinnacle entry into the trilogy by introducing a plethora of new innovations and improvements on already solid aspects.
  22. Mar 10, 2012
    97
    Mass Effect 3 is a great conclusion, fully satisfying and highly spectacular, to BioWare's sci-fi trilogy. A must buy for every lover of good games and great, emotional stories, as well as the first real nominee to the title of GOTY 2012.
  23. Mar 7, 2012
    97
    Mass Effect 3 greatly closes a trilogy that will be remembered for years. Although it is more action-focused than the previous game, the game will please fans of the series and is a serious candidate to be the game of the year.
  24. Apr 18, 2012
    96
    The storytelling itself, the more refined combat, the voicework, the visuals, et all, stand as a fine example of some of the best this industry has to offer, and with my minor complaints aside, there's no doubt that Mass Effect 3 will be deservedly at the top of everyone's list come this year's award season.
  25. 96
    The perfect ending to a masterful trilogy that's gone from strength-to-strength with each title. It's the conclusion you're hoping for, with each decision demanding that you think twice before pulling the trigger.
  26. May 12, 2012
    95
    Mass Effect 3 is an emotional rollercoaster ride with lots of tension and moving moments. The threat of the Reapers make every decision a hard one and your relationship with other characters will be tested. This, in combination with tight gameplay, makes this the complete experience.
  27. Mar 26, 2012
    95
    Mass Effect 3 is an utterly brilliant bookend for an outstanding franchise.
  28. Mar 7, 2012
    95
    An outstanding final chapter for a magnificent saga, Bioware simply surpasses itself with a killer ending and great gameplay. We already miss Captain Shepard and Normandy crew.
  29. Mar 6, 2012
    95
    The epic conclusion of an amazing saga. Has some annoying visual bugs and the narrative doesn't quite reach the fantastic peaks of its predecessor, but it's still an incredible production that will be remembered.
  30. 95
    From the visceral combat to the excitement of finishing Shepard's 100-hour fight, Mass Effect 3 is a rare, magnetically engaging treat that'll compel you to stay up well past your bedtime to do "just one more quest." Safe travels, fellow Shepards. See you starside.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3519 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    1
    I was such a huge fan of this series. Space opera? Sci fi? Really, it was everything I liked. This third edition severely disappoints and makes a mockery of the rest of the series. Bioware, as always, presents the illusion of choice, except in this game they make it obvious that it's an ILLUSION, and that nothing you do/did in the previous games actually matters. The lore established in previous games also gets overhauled. The graphics are mediocre at best - the pre-rendered cutscenes are well made, which is to this game's merit, but apart from that... No. This game includes many instances cheap emotional manipulation, and while I appreciate the attempt to be all-inclusive this game forcibly and unnaturally shoehorns in sexualities and gender issues which, if done well, would be marvelous! In this case, it is not done well. Overall, I am disappointed and upset. This series had so much potential, and I had such high hopes for this game. They have done to Mass Effect what they did to Dragon Age with Dragon Age 2. It's as if the makers of this game simply decided to go, "DING DONG WE WANT CALL OF DUTY'S AUDIENCE", and thus alienated their entire original fanbase. Well, it seems like they have achieved that, but they have also alienated anyone who would have been interested in player-driven RPG games, unlike the several we already have which follow Call of Duty's model. This is why this game gets a 1/10. It does not deserve anything more. It does not get a 0 because, to it's merit, the melee flows better, and as I said before the cutscenes are nice. The dialogue, character interaction, lore, backstories, and so-called player options did not achieve the same level of merit. Bad game overall. I am particularly bitter because I really liked this series. Full Review »
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    I feel awfully betrayed that the series went from and expansive sci-fi space opera with consequential choices; to a fairly streamlined action adventure with RPG elements. Its attempts at emotional manipulation are slightly hamfisted, not ineffective but very clumsily implemented and unrelated to my character's background - which I imagine Bioware has forgotten about at this point. The writing and designs for some characters also seems out of place, Vega is expected to be a bulky man but not to the extent that he's a jersey Shore cast member, the addition of Jessica Chobot and redesign for Ashley also complement this lovely little tan-orange motif. My largest qualm is with the Day 1 DLC - which I strongly oppose - by all means create new characters that are not plot-integral. But when you create a squad member who is heaily tied to the universe's lore and mystique and then aim to charge an extra $10 for it on top of the game's already hefty pricetag you know you fit a stereotype.The romance system is fine, although I'd like to be able to talk to my companions without the intention of making out with them. I won´t claim this is a bad game, however compared to the first installment it has lost much of its former glory. Buy it if you want, but if I were you I´d either rent it first or wait for the price to drop. Full Review »
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Poor writing and poor decision-making all around derail the grand finale of this series. The main plot developments are insipid and the character writing - normally a saving grace in even subpar Bioware games - seems anemic. This is packaged together with minimal evolution of the setting and little in the way of combat improvements, although some of the revamped character progression system is welcome. Overall the game is mediocre and probably does not deserve the score that I have given it - it might even have deserved as high as a 6! - but Bioware needs to know that it can't get away with such slapdash work. Full Review »