User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3517 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 6, 2012
    2
    the game is pretty poor with massive plot holes and bioware completely raping the lore of mass effect im pretty pissed at this game. forced relationships horrible bloody ending to a series that really had potential. bioware are a shell of there former selves most of the talent left years ago.
  2. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Mass Effect 1 was a great game and didn't deserve to end like this. Its like lovingly raising a son then having him backstab you when he gets older. Mass Effect 3 is a generic corridor shooter with pukingly bad dialog and a laughable story. The ending is like something my 5 year old niece wrote if I gave her 6 beers, yes it is THAT bad. Way to wrap up the story to your flagship IP Bioware. Day 1 DLC? We got that too. Anybody who supports this needs to have their head examined. I could go on but writing this is making my blood boil as it is. SAVE your money, DON'T support sloppy game development. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    All the work I put into ME1 and ME2 feel like a waste. Looks like bioware decided to make any choices from the previous 2 games pointless so they could bring in the shooter crowd as evidenced by the new character added in the last of a trilogy so that anyone can pick this up a play. Why did I even bother with the first two then?
  4. Mar 6, 2012
    0
    Why do I need to pay money for something that should already be in the game? It's absolutely preposterous. This isn't the only thing I dislike about this game. When you make a series you are supposed to build on each game you create, they have not done so with this game.

    Please, for the love of God do not buy this product.
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    3
    This is it, this is where I say goodbye to console and multiplayer video games. We, as the consumer, have had our opinions marginalized because the big publishers have dissected us by every concept in Marketing. A lot of you complain about the abuse that is wrought upon us, but you still buy it. EA and Activision got you, just like the drug pusher on the street corner, and that's what it's become. I hate the "Random Loot" of the multiplayer in Mass Effect 3, when will I get the Turian Sentinel? Who knows? Just keep wasting my time plugging away on a worthless horde mode? Or play a single player campaign that is incomplete with open ended questions so I can be gouged later with even more lame DLC?
    We have to grow up and realize our childhood hobby has been twisted by corporations. What can we do about it? Support PC independent game companies, or just stop playing video games. Microsoft, Sony, EA and Activision are corporations, which behave as sociopaths of greed, only money is the language they speak. I plan on using my new free time to become a better person, not continue this self destructive path of victimization from corporate abuse.
    Expand
  6. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    Game overall is good as expected, BUT... and that is a big "but"... considering that Bioware/EA screwed not only the trilogy but the ME fanbase as a whole by giving us exactly one ending with very little variation (and in every ending, not only is Shepard and his crew screwed, but also the whole galaxy for centuries to come) despite claiming otherwise for MONTHS and the fact that Shepard, despite all the sh*t he has been through finally mentally breaks, due to seing some random arse boy he met for like 5 seconds getting killed off by the Reapers (imagine you playing a w*nkster renegade Shepard who kills people for fun, breaking after such crap :D), I simply cannot endorse this game. Thanks Bioware for screwing your fans BIG TIME.
    btw, to those who think giving a bad rating is just because of the DLC 1 thingy... just wait for the ending. You'll get royally screwed as well. Don't worry. The sh*storm regarding that matter already hit BSN a couple of days ago.
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you like Lost TV show you will love this game. If you hate Lost or Alias for its contrived ambiguous ending and if you think J. J. Abrams or Hollywood as a whole plays the viewers for a fool you will dislike this game. ME3 is a low quality game if you care about story and think your choices in all 3 ME games will matter and determine the game's ending. They won't. Your choices will not change the adventure. You will not meet your love interest, Shepard will die except one ending, galactic civilization will always collapse, Normandy will crash on an unknown planet, no FTL travel will be available, Shepard won't meet the squad or Normandy crew. Aside from that cinematic cutscenes and voice acting are top notch. But dialogs are cliche and full of Hollywood crap. The game is juvenile, not mature. It is also over dramatic and melodramatic. Gameplay is good, action is good but combat mechanics are clumsy because you use the same button nearly for everything. There is no happy ending, but actually there is no ending. You do not know anything about the fate of the galaxy when you hit the end. Crew members and squad's fate are also unknown. Bioware had promised that our choices made in this game and prequels would matter but they don't. You don't get any resolution. Game suddenly ends. Bioware wanted to appeal Call of Duty FPS fans. They don't care about RPG genre or older fans. They think that old people go but there are always teenagers to fool with shocking content. They thought that FPS fans won't care about story so making a bad ending and destroying Mass Effect campaign setting is good because it will allow them to create a dumbed down brainwashed ME MMORPG like the SWTOR. Ambiguous endings will allow an open ended MMORPG where developers and writers don't commit anything. Endings are ambiguous because 1 they want to please everybody so they cannot make a definite choice or ending and 2 shocking endings will appeal to script/plot poor people. Beta leak had better endings like ME2. There you could save your team if you did everything right. But here you die even if you do everything right. ME3 lead writer Mac Walters says journey is everything and destination is nothing. This is the typical volunteered mass consumption slave brainwash and whitewash behavior and an ill attempt of damage control. The contrived endings are probably dictated by Bioware or EA executives at the last moment. Because Lost TV show like endings are very cost effective and since they are not conclusive the producer company can create a totally different sequel which has nothing to do with the original Mass Effect premise but having the same name for branding purposes. So to summarize if you like Lost TV show you will love this game, if you hated Lost for playing the audience for a fool you will probably not like Mass Effect 3. Expand
  8. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    as a competitive call of duty player this is my favorite scifi game on the pc

    i like how there are aliens and you can have magical abilities, i also enjoyed having sex with every crew member and i liked the vega character the most because i can identify with him. he is very tough and looks very good. i want to be like him one day. hoo-rah.
    11/10 i also liked the story very much, its about
    reavers that are like space zombies and an illusion man that is your father or something. and there is a really cool assassin called mai king, she tries to kill you because she works for the reavers.

    its a very deep game, i hope they make a sequel one day because i want to know what happened to vega. or a prequel that is more about vega. they also make an animated movie that is about vega, which is awesome, ill totally watch it with my dad.
    Expand
  9. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    So I go to the gamestop to pick up ME3 and I get my gaming area all ready with cool ranch doritos and fanta. I pop what I thought was gonna be game of the year into my 360 and the game literally has an easy button built in, just like what hamburger helper wanted. Then, to get a good single player ending you have to play the hamfisted in multiplayer. This is purely to penalize the gamers who buy the game used because you have to spend $10 on an online pass. Then, Tali's face was a badly shopped stock image. The removed fingers even still had the bones they didn't bother to remove. The games ending was stolen from a wallpaper. Bioware has NO RESPECT for the gaming community between DA2, SWTOR and ME3. Expand
  10. Mar 7, 2012
    3
    Compared to ME 2 this would be a 7. Compared to other games maybe even an 8. But compared to what was set up in ME 1 as the story, this is abysmal. Imagine Michael Bay taking on a sequel to blade runner, and you have ME3. The story is so ridiculously hokey that it might as well be a different game in a different universe altogether, because it's clearly different writers from a different company in a different country. Shame on you bioware, you have fallen. This is now you're 3rd strike, and it's servers as only proof positive that your games will never be what they should have been. You are no Irrational Games or Rockstar Studios, and you once were. Expand
  11. Mar 7, 2012
    1
    I played ME1 and ME2 many many times. Both wonderful games. saw no reason the third game would be any different. Had the perfect character lined up to import. Purchased ME3 played a few hours, and now I feel awful. None of the choices i made in 1 and 2 matter, and I don't get to make anymore choices. all I get to do is play a terrible COD game. I feel cheated and heartbroken.
  12. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    I wouldn't have imagined that they would have went off the deep end when finishing the story. An insult to the players who played the first game. Bioweare needs to understand that it should have had it's intended story completely written before starting to work on this series. The endings make no sense, and they will only continue your adventure if you pony up for dlc, which probably won't be worth it if it is anything like the campaign. Expand
  13. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    Mass of Dootie. Really sad...The demise of this series is reflected in the evolution of the overall art design. Smooth, idealized, hi concept grand space opera to the dirty, over buckled dumbed down gears of war shoot'em up. And while many will be quick to point out that such choices more accurately portray the realities of war, those same choices diminish the spirit of the Mass Effect universe so wonderfully revealed in the first game. (eg. heat clips for ammo control...really? welcome to the future...looks a lot like today...a high concept sci-fi design choice to reflect the time of the Mass Effect age removed to cater to common gaming conventions of 2012)

    The writing of the game suffers...players who started this series with the first game carry the benefit of that game's writing in the affection they carry for their companions. Little has been done to develop those relationships beyond the superficial. Writing is stock. Thankfully, at least for femshep, strong voice talent mitigates an otherwise uninspired dialogue. I could go on...but i won't: this game is a sell out we as gamers should have seen coming after Mass Effect 2 and Dragon Age 2. Bioware has abandoned its roots.
    Expand
  14. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    Between the clunky and poor animations to the seemingly rushed, ret-conned and overall poor story ME3 was a real slap in the face. The games only redeeming feature is it's TPS gameplay and better example could be found in other modern games. The soundtrack in not memorable although the voice acting is par for the returning cast. Conversation options decreased to selecting either a Paragon or Renegade response and most conversations are automatic. Expand
  15. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    I'm sorry to say, the game's game play in all other aspects were amazing, but the ending, if we are reviewing based on overall experience completely ruined it for me... I had a ME1 and ME2 import and I did every quest I could and I enjoyed it to holy hell, but the ending was just such a misfire I couldn't even look at this game afterwards. I got early access via a hong kong server so I've had the last few days to do this and I simply cannot play anymore, not because it was a bad "game" but because in the end the story it was trying to tell completely collapsed for me. Expand
  16. Mar 20, 2012
    4
    I just watched what was a phenomenal, even cinematic franchise commit inexcusable storytelling suicide. It's not that the ending is depressing or even bittersweet, as PR would have it spun; The ending makes zero sense - it flies in the face of it's own canon and creates numerous plot holes in the last ten minutes alone. To top it all off, the defining element of Mass Effect, choice, is stripped away from you. No choice you agonized over has any consequence.
    .
    If you're a fan of the series and absolutely cannot bring yourself to wait to play this, do yourself a favor and either rent ME3, or purchase a used copy at your local Gamestop and return it before seven days are up to get your money back. I admit it can be a relatively fun game, up to a point, but you will regret paying full retail price for this disaster.
    Expand
  17. Mar 7, 2012
    0
    Terrible game. The series has turned from a great rpg experience to a call of duty clone. The ending is ripped off of Deus ex and the synthetic/organic idea is copied from ttgl. Not to mention, tali's face and the ending scene were both taken from a stock image and a desktop wallpaper.
    Don't buy, none of your previous choices matter, dialogues choices are meaningless and the writing is
    horrible and awkward. Expand
  18. Mar 7, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As much of a fan of Mass Effect as I am, I cannot get around how much of a let down this game is. Most of the dialogue choices are all ready made for you. Most of the choices you made are reversed (SPOILER: I picked Anderson as counsel, not Udina, yet Udina is counsel). The RPG elements have been dumbed down to a shell of what they were, yet combat was improved. By improved, I mean making your powers charge slower depending on how much your equipment weighs. But, the worst offender is the story. Certain people die for no reason other than forced dramatic effect. All it does is enrage the players who have invested their time and money in the first two games, defining their own path for the universe, only to see that it ultimately did not matter what they did at all. It would all end up the same way, after all. Don't listen to the critics, listen to the fans. They know what makes a game good, and this isn't it. Expand
  19. Mar 8, 2012
    2
    The ending is so bad that it almost ruins the previous games. Thank you Bioware for all your empty promises. The choices you make through out the series, really don't matter at all you'll get the same ending.
  20. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    Having grown up playing Baldur's Gate, I am saddened to see what Bioware has become. I considered DA2 a disaster made by other team. I considered ME2 a fluke. However ME3 confirmed this trend. Fetch quests instead of deep, epic plots. Gameplay consisting of shooting wave after wave of enemies. Shallow characters pandering to "beach party" MTV crowds, cheap scenes that(I guess) should evoke some emotion but are completely hallow, mysterious aliens turned into "Giant nasty robots". ME3 lost all the charm of the ME1, and seems like a glorified shooter. Bioware no longer makes RPG games I am afraid. Sorry, but I am no longer your fan. Expand
  21. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Apparently my last comment was deleted, allow me to explain I am not trolling. Mass Effect is a wonderful series, we grow to love our character and the universe as a whole only to have it ruined with the ending. ME3s gameplay was relatively awesome and the story was great, but any gamer that is seriously into this series will tell you that the ending was horrible and left you feeling like crap. Hopefully Bioware fixes this with some DLCs, also I couldn't import my old characters, they used a stock photo for Tali's face, the ending scene is done with another stock image, the ending is very reminiscent of Deus Ex Human Revolution and its just a terrible letdown by what was my favorite company. Expand
  22. Mar 8, 2012
    4
    Good combat, much more tactical than in previous titles and of course multi-player. And very bad narrative. The main rule of story-writing is obvious - the more the better. It resulted an enormous amount the cutscenes, most with badly written and boring dialogs. The shortcuts in dialog system imply better quality of writing. Unfortunately, Bioware has failed this as there is hardly a handful of cutscenes which are able to make an impression on the player. It more looks like space soap opera, than AAA-movie. Expand
  23. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    This game is a DISGRACE to the Mass Effect series and Bioware are a DISGRACE of a developer. They have totally ripped the RPG elements out of this game to make it a FLASHY BANG shooter for the ignorant mainstream and have betrayed their loyal fanbase. The dialogue with squad members all gets the Kasumi/Zaeed treatment which is a DISGRACE to RPG fans. All this series is now is a mediocre third person shooter without ANY of the RPG elements that made this series successful. I absolutely hate Bioware now and will be boycotting them from now on. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. The 'professional' critics have been bribed to give this game high scores. IT IS A DISGRACE TO RPG's. Expand
  24. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my first and last review of a game on this site, but I felt that this needed to be said.
    I have been a Mass Effect fan since the beginning. The story roped me in and I was hooked since the first game. It was innovative and creative, and it showed a growing maturity to gaming. ME2 came out and added in TPS elements, and I am not the type of person that really cares about adding in TPS elements into a game. I have been a TPS person for a long time. ME2 was incredible and extended the story with great depth and big impact for your choices during it. This game has ruined Bioware for me. The dialogue was ok and the fighting was great but, I agree with so many others that say that all of your choices don't matter. When I saw the ending, that is a rip-off of Deus Ex, the controller dropped out of my hand. I couldn't believe that this game, that was supposed to care about every one of my decisions, came down to what flavor of Listerine I wanted to shovel out into the galaxy. The ending was ridiculously simplistic. It has no depth other than being gothy cool. Trust us, Bioware, we have grown up and know that gothy cool is a bunch of crap. You need to grow up and get away from your teenage angst. This series hinged on the ending, and that ending should have had at least an epilogue for each of the living characters. I would have settled for text if you are too cheap for cut scenes. Instead we got Joker taking what is left of the crew to Eden or whatever. Shepard dies in all but 2 endings, and his LI is not even mentioned. Maybe I'm getting old, but for a game that makes you care about characters, it doesn't. It makes you make one of three horrific decisions, and hurt almost everyone in the process. That is not being grown up, that is being sadistic. We invested time, it requires tons of effort and a 40 hour work week to get this thing done properly. We have all given hundreds of hours preparing our Shepards for ME3. This is all we get, this isn't innovative, this is lazy and immature. This is like a college kid doing a ton of research, and then putting together his final paper the day it is due and doing a sloppy job. The professor isn't going to give you an "A" for what you did earlier in your research, they are going to give you an "F" for screwing up your paper. It is so sad that a series with so much potential is squandered at the last moment. By the way, we got the politics that you are constantly shoving down our throats during the entire game. It was not subtle, it was unnecessary. I'm giving this a zero because of plagiarism of Deus Ex ending, on top of the cruel way you treated your customers. If you are a fan of ME and played the other two, don't bother with this one, it isn't worth the money.
    Expand
  25. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    I use to be a fan of the series. Then i took a arrow in the knee... In all seriousness this series was my favorite for awhile (next to the elderscrolls) And I like most people believed the hyped. I got the day 1 release but then something dawned on me while i was playing it. This is no longer an RPG space opera... This is a 3rd person cover based shooter much like gears of war (although a lot crappier). Now don't get me wrong i love gears but this isn't gears this was mass effect... Allow me to quote the back of the game cover. "If you're not a fan now's the time to start." Mass appeal ruined this trilogy. If your into shallow choices that mean nothing and really like playing a crappy cover based shooter then this is your game. *SPOILER* The ending (all of them) SUCK Expand
  26. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. True Mass Effect fans fell in love with this series based on a few truths: Story, emotional character development, choices that have dramatic impact, and massive replayability. I feel robbed, sorely beaten out of lack of writing talent. Because let's be honest, gameplay has and still is sub-par. Not that it's terrible, just not as smooth as it should be after three installments. Gameplay should have been perfected In ME2, but instead we got sloppy mini-games, flimsy gun control, and miserable level design that completely negated the "exploration" theme of ME1. So why did we look over these flaws? Simple; the Truths that made us fall for the series in the first place. ME2 had those ever so important elements. ME3, unfortunately, does not. It plays more like a half attempted film where the conclusion is affected minimally by your choices throughout the games. What's more, is all that talk of "choices truly effect the story", have very little to do with the most important part of the series; the ending! Some elements are welcome. You can find weapons everywhere! Which, for me, almost completley made me have no reason to actually buy a weapon. But I like going to merchants and browse around. The relationships did not seem as genuine as before. Sometimes when my love interest said something "sweet" to me, it was difficult to realize that's what they were going for. I guess they didn't want to strain their actors voices, because I'm sure there was no attempt to re-record lines with a different " emotional" response. Most of the "love interest" scenes got really lost in translation, and came off very generic. I'm not going to spoil anything, but your love interests are LIMITED! When I say that I mean anyone from previous games are much smaller than it should. This should have been a hard decision on who to go with, but the developers make it painfully easy. BY LIMITING THE CANDIDATES!!!!! Robbed! That's all I can really say. The cinematics are beautiful, and the new worlds also reflect am artists masterpiece, but vanity only goes so far, and you can't put lipstick on a pig and call it a model. I mean it just is not the hype, at all. The new elements, though some are cool( weapon mods) though others not ( what is this reaper mini-game crap?!?! Huh?!?!) simply do not outway the huge fail to the fans. "Oh, yeah, I forgot; your decisions actually have no real effect, with any substance, at all, on the end game. We are just going to give you a few generic options that aren't really that different. Except for color!" I'm expecting this in a news conference with Bioware in the near future. And you'll figure out what I'm talking about soon enough. Just remember to save before the end game. And aim your controller away from the glass window. You have already spent enough on the game, don't let it cost you a window repair too! Expand
  27. Mar 8, 2012
    4
    For the finale of a game series that has been sold as an evolving story where the player's decisions guide the flow, Mass Effect 3 fails to deliver. Any major decisions from the first 2 games (saving or killing the council, what to do with the rachni queen, whether to save or destroy Maelon's genophage research) all ultimately end up being represented as numbers on a chart and nothing more. Some dialouge may change and some cutscenes may have different faces in them due to these decisions, but ultimately the game moves forward in the same direction no matter what decisions you made. That is ultimately why this game is and always will be a dissapointment to me. Credit to Bioware for starting one of the most ambitious gaming projects ever. It's unfortunate that they seem to have lost ambition halfway through. Expand
  28. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First of all I loved the first 2 games. This one was not as bad as Ive heard people saying. I thought the graphics were good the story was good and combat was top notch. The only problem I have is with the ending. You give me 3 choices all of them end up the same way? Like another reviewer said, what's the point in going back and playing the 1st and 2nd just to have it all end in the 3rd. It not only ends it ends badly. You get the same crap ending no matter what you did in the first 2 games or this one Paragon/Renegade don't matter. No matter how high your readiness is you still die. I think I would actually be ok with Shepard dying if it would have shown a hero ceremony, a funeral or shown my love interest (Liara) mourning my death. It would have given me the feeling that yes I died but I died for a reason. It just kind of cuts off at the end. You see familiar faces but they look as if nothing happened. Nobody looks sad that Shepard is gone, it's just back to normal. That is what ultimately pisses me off. I didn't get to choose my outcome, bioware chose it for me. I feel like I have wasted 5 years of my life playing these games, and now I wish I never played the 3rd one. I feel all who played it have been cheated. Unless Bioware puts in a DLC that fixes this horrible ending they will never get another dime from me as they have lost me as a fan and customer. FIX IT BIOWARE!!! Expand
  29. Mar 9, 2012
    2
    Mass Effect Trilogy Explained with the help of a bunch of apples. Imagine if i had one apple, this represnts mass effect 1, its all gravy but its clear it could get better. Imagine if i had two apples, this represents mass effect 2, its made some great improvements and despite some unvaried level design its a great game. Now imagine if i gave you no apples and TOOK A **** ON YOUR FACE.

    This represents mass effect 3, it actually manages to destroy what made it successfull ala modern warfare 3.
    How a team of people actually **** up so MONUMENTALLY, is beyond me.


    In fact its simple there target market has become wider than a hookers oriface and also as ****ING FILTHY AS ONE. DAY ONE DLC, NO CHOICES, EVERYTHINGS ****ING IRRELIVENT, CANNON PLOT,CANNON ROMANCES, SPACE BROKEBACK ****ING MOUNTAIN, AUTO **** IN MY FACE DIALOGUE, THE CAST FROM JERSEY ****ING SHORE, GEARS OF WARS HORD MODE.

    IF YOU ACTUALLY SQUINT ALL THE WAY THROUGH ITS KIND OF LIKE A SPACE BROKEBACK MOUNTAIN GEARS OF WHORES.

    YOU FOOL ME ONCE SHAME ON YOU.
    YOU FOOL ME TWICE SHAME ON ME.

    THIS YEAR HAS MADE ME REALISE THAT COD FRANCHISE AND BIOWARE IN GENERALLY AFTER ****ING UP TO MAJOR FRANCHISES, ITLL BE THREE SOON WHEN THEY PUT PINK ****ING ARMY MEN IN COMMAND AND **** YOURSELF. THEY CAN ALL SUCK MY RINGO STAR.
    Expand
  30. Mar 8, 2012
    1
    This game is such a massive disappointment. It was not worth the wait. Animations are still clunky. Humans still look horrible. Lazy usage of stock images. Forced drama at every turn. Why bother? Don't buy this game.
  31. Mar 8, 2012
    4
    My goal here is not to disuade anyone from buying the game. I do however wish to let every fan, who from day 1, invested time and emotional connection to your character know this: you will walk away absurdly disappointed. You couldn't live with yourself not knowing the conclusion but know this...It is the most lazy, ill conceived slap in the face conclusion ever conceived. I cannot express in words eloquently enough my disdain. The gameplay is improved, the graphics more polished, and you even have some real connection with your character and crew. But I am telling you, the conclusion undermines all of the relationships you've worked on for the last 5 years. For actual gameplay and enjoyment I would say it's on par with the critics, 9/10. But when you factor in that the whole point of the series, the culmination of all your work, is swept out from under you in one fell blow....well... It stands to reason that I'm giving this a 4/10. You(Bioware) cannot ask us(fans) to invest hard earned money and, if your like me, time probably better vested in family activities (I just couldnt put it down...sorry kids!) just to hand us an ending that 1.) Was ripped from another game, 2.) Gives no real choice(all the endings are essentially the same), and 3.) Answers nothing! In fact it leaves more questions than actually answers. So do buy it, just wait until you can get it pre-owned, or it's marked down. I'm going to gamestop tomorrow to trade in my copy, maybe give someone the chance to feel how empty and pointless their 120+ hour, 5 year journey is. And that's how I truly feel folks. One more thing, to the people hating the haters...I tried. Okay! I have loved my Shepard since I created her 5 years ago. The zeros, yeah, little much I agree. But there is no way the improved gameplay, better levels, and enemies( I have died a whole lot more in this one) can make up for Bioware completely dropping the selling point and ruining the end. Choices! Because the little ones just aren't as impacting as the grand finale...and we don't really have any choices there, my friend. Expand
  32. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the worst of the trilogy. They have simplified them as they progressed, and the writing's quality has degraded at an even faster pace. They just stopped putting in the effort and it shows. Expand
  33. Mar 8, 2012
    2
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ugh, where to begin.
    day 1 dlc with its 2012 and it looks like a launch title for the 360
    characters are extremely one dimensional, and never show any sign of development
    all choice in the game was between red or blue text in a convo
    well at least the series is over, and they can't hype it up more. although I'm sure they will find a way to milk this IP for years to come.
    Expand
  34. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    Here we go again Bioware. In an attempt to appeal to the masses you alienate the base. Brushing aside my problems with character loads, glicthces, game play and lackluster story development, you decide to go the way of political correctness and interject as much Homo mumbo jumbo into it as possible to appeal to a niche audience. Simply ridiculous that the gaming industry (long immune to this type of BS) have finally decided to sell out. This is the last dollar you get from me. Expand
  35. Mar 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Forget most of the things that made the first game great and the second game decent. Gone is the excellent interaction with your squad (but you can improve it if you spend $200 on a Kinect!). The Tali reveal is just a photo on your desk, not an in-game character graphic showing her face. Instead of going with what made the series great, they're trying to catch the players who love first-person shooter multiplayer games, quick cash grabs with pay-for content on the release date, etc. Hey maybe they'll release some interaction with Tali without her suit if only you spend some extra $$$.

    I honestly don't know how Bioware became so disconnected from what has made their games great for the last 15 years. I've purchased and played almost every game that they've published: Baldur's Gate (1 and 2, plus expansions), Neverwinter Nights (1 and 2, and expansions), Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic, Dragon Age (1 and 2, plus expansions), Mass Effect (1 and 2, plus expansions).

    I'm not saying they don't deserve to make money, but can they really be so clueless as to not realize how their longtime fans would react to pay-to-play content available on the release date of the game?! Releasing that content for free would have been the equivalent of free positive advertising, instead of the negativity that it did generate. Unless they remember what made their games great, and realize that making great games, first and foremost, will lead to great sales, I probably won't be playing any more of their games.
    Expand
  36. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    ...to kill a whole trilogy with one stupid final ending must be a new record of gaming history. Ever choice you did has TOTALY no effect or even a little tiny side effect of the ending.....gj Bioware...you proof yourself worthy to EA
  37. Mar 8, 2012
    3
    this game is a step down from both previous games in the series. the writing is cheesy without trying to be, the new character james is one of the most annoying characters I've ever seen in a video game, i found plenty of bugs, and the combat is stale. i'd be lying if i said i didn't have ANY fun but overall it's not worth the money or time put in. idk what the hell happened, but they seriously need to find new writers. how you have the selling point of a highly successful series seem like an afterthought is beyond me. buy it from the bargain bin one day, it'll be right next to dragon age 2 Expand
  38. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    This game was a clear 10/10 until I hit the atrocious, horrible, space magic and pixie dust endings. Seriously, you expect us to make a second play through with a knee to the groin ending? Returning the game to gamestop and I will feel lucky if they give me a buck for it. I am going to pretend they never made ME3. Seriously wait till this game is in the 5 dollar range or rent it.
  39. Mar 9, 2012
    4
    In an early area in Mass Effect 3, you enter a group of rooms in the Citadel. There are over 40 NPCs there. You can talk with exactly two characters, overhear a conversation between one other pair, and, for the rest of the 40some NPCs, you can stand next to them, while they do nothing. Like Dragon Age 2, this game's not finished. The world's empty and cold, even though there are tons of NPCs around. It feels lonely, even when it's full of what should and could be life. Expand
  40. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    Semplicemente me3 non è all'altezza dei primi due capitoli , la storia fa schifo e il fatto che le proprie scelte non influenzino la storia pernulla è orribile .
    Grazie EA per aver rovinato pure ME3 .
  41. Mar 9, 2012
    1
    I have always been a huge fan of BioWare and I believe that Mass Effect 1 & 2 are the best games I've ever played. I was so excited to play ME:3! That ended last night...

    The game of ME:3 itself is outstanding. The voice acting, combat system and RPG elements were really fun to play through (except the character generation). What killed it for me was the last 20-30 minutes of the game
    which make absolutely no logical sense. In this small window, you find out that nothing you've done, none of your choice make any difference. In the end, you still lose. It is the most depressing ending to any game I've ever played and makes me wish I never heard of Mass Effect. If you enjoyed ME: 1 & 2, you're going to be very upset with part 3. If you buy this, you'll toss away hours of time only to find out that the worst possible ending imaginable is exactly what you'll get. I really wish this wasn't the case. Expand
  42. Mar 9, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I will start off by saying that this was a very good game up until the last 20 minutes (After Shepard gets beamed up). I wanted my choices to matter and my romance to matter. The relationships you build with your characters are important and the choices made previously are important and that all must come together in the ending. There should be the chance for your romance to finally blossom and be given an ending, the reapers should be given a better ending: such as all destroyed or something like the geth and quarians, peace with mutual benefit but each independent (no synergy), or what would be even grander is that Shepard convinces the catalyst that organic and synthetic can be at peace: the Reapers retreat from the galaxy forever, the cooperation and understanding with the geth proves this point as well as EDI and Joker. I wanted an ending that would bring all my choices and relationships to a grand end. Happiness with whoever you settle down with or if he/she dies, a scene with a memorial and ur love interest there with a child to say good bye.
    I would also like to say that the choices from previous games do show up, but not in ways that I expected. Liked David Archer from Overlord, the reaper base was their but diminished, the geth choice was there but diminished, etc... The choices were there, but they did not manifest in ways that the fanbase expected. I was disappointed but understand how Bioware wanted to cater to a new fan-base.
    I was also looking forward to more exploration and freedom from the first two games with lots of small side-quests and missions, but that is also diminished from the first two. There are a few missions but nothing that aids very much in getting galactic readiness up or that is actually alot of fun. I was expecting in a whole galaxy at war there would be numerous side quests and missions from the various races asking for help but there wasn't. I wish there had been. Also, what about vehicle levels? I missed the Mako and the Hammerhead, they added a breadth of fresh air when you were bored.
    I understand that no one is going to be happy with this game and others will think its great. I thought it was a good but not great game. The DLC will make it better I hope to jack up war readiness and other side quests. It can be fixed and the trilogy can be given an end that it deserves. Perhaps bioware releases a DLC that is only for fans that wraps up the game in a way that the loyal fans expect. I hope that is what happens. I wanted something to wow me and make me happy in the end. With this title I did not get that.
    Expand
  43. Mar 9, 2012
    3
    I cannot in good conscious give Mass Effect 3 a good review. If you are a new fan you may be confused and overwhelmed by the brilliantly created and richly imagined universe and canon that Bioware develops. If you're an old fan then this game will leave you with a bad taste in your mouth. If you are strictly concerned with gameplay, then this game will have far too much story-driven plot and dialogue for you. That said the gameplay is solid through and through. Not perfect, but solid. Then again that's not why I picked up the Mass Effect series in the first place. The reason I cannot give this game a good review is that I am a story-concerned and ethical old fan. The ethics comes in with EA's (and Bioware's) shady business ethics. EA has released DLC critical to lore/story (not necessarily plot, there is a difference) and gameplay that you have to pay extra for. Unethical. Bioware's writers, producers and devs have lied to us for the entire production. The endings are not choice-driven and nothing you did in any of the three games matters in the end. The themes at the very end of the game (mind you a lot of the writing was brilliant) contradict the themes for the other two games and anyone who played through all three stories in this "character-driven" series will be nothing short of mortified with the pseudo-intellectual, quasi-philosophical ending (I believe the Russian word is "poshlost" meaning something that is meant to appear intelligent and meaningful without actually being either, thereby baiting critics to laud it so they can show how deep and intellectual they are). If the writers can't admit that they were trying to impress pseudo-intellectual critics instead of loyal fans, then they will lose my respect. If they can admit it, then they simply lose my trust. There are other parts of the game with questionable writing (Example: in the beginning you can practically hear the writers grunts as they try to start the story off in the clumsiest way possible). These are forgiveable blips as they don't ruin the series, but the ending destroyed the replayability value, not only for Mass Effect 3, but the first two games as well, which I was still playing every other month, because I enjoyed them so much. The gameplay, while still clumsy, is the best in not only this game, but any Bioware game to date and was highly enjoyable.

    In summation, I can say that if you are playing this game for gameplay, then there is far too much dialogue and story for that (which I personally love). If you are playing it for story and are new to the series, I'd recommend playing the other games first (or instead). If you are playing it for story and are a veteran of the series, then this game is not highly recommended. Or you can turn it off before the "poshlost ending". I don't expect them to fix the ending, but I don't expect to be buying another Bioware game anytime soon.
    Expand
  44. Mar 9, 2012
    3
    The game was fun up until the end, at which point, the fun stopped, and the crushing disappointment set in. Not a proper way to end the trilogy in the least, and all the more disappointing given the quality of the rest of the game.
  45. Mar 9, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Like many of you I was a big fan of the mass effect series. I always looked forward to each new game, and ME3 was no different. To me, this is one of the most emotionally involving series I've played. Bio-ware certainly seemed to be on a role, allowing us to tailor commander shepherd into who we wanted him to be. Then, when all seems to be going well, you think "yes I've finally made it to the end, lets see what this effort has been worth." I'm left with two main options and a third depending on what i have done, all of which ultimately ends up with the demise of this character I've become so invested in. Some may call this good storytelling ,but is all that build up necessary just for a complete let down? All I, and from what I've seen over the web, many others wanted was a satisfying conclusion to the series. This is not the case...I just feel almost as if this story has been pointless, all that just to realize (with the option i chose) I've kicked everyone back to the stone age (Plus all those races landlocked on earth,unable to return to their own worlds with the loss of the relays). A happier ending would have brought more thorough closure to what good have been a great finale. Expand
  46. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    This game is worse than bad, it's insulting. As a long time fan of the series, I feel betrayed. Aside from the absolute pants on head retarded conclusion, the writing, voice acting, textures and animations have all gone to hell. None of our choices mattered in the end. It's been casualized and sexualized to death, in the laziest way possible. Look at Tali's face. I honestly wouldn't have cared if it wasn't aesthetically appealing. But the fact that they used a badly shopped STOCK PHOTO to reveal the likeness of one of the most speculated about and beloved characters IN THE SERIES, is a testament to how little bioware cares. And why would they? No matter how terrible a triple A release is, "critics" will praise it to no end, and the masses will take their word for it. This is why game journalism is a joke; it's all just thinly veiled marketing. And about the multiplayer pass and day one DLC? The game should come with a "parts sold seperately" sticker. Expand
  47. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game was awesome. With very few flaws.

    1. Shepard talks for himself WAY TO MUCH.

    2. They kill off key characters that you should have the ability to save or let them die.

    3. The game is half as long as the previous two games. This is fine however since the game is so replayable and delicious.

    "So why are you rating the game zero?"

    Because this game had the most disappointing ending I have ever seen. It was the most disappointing thing that has ever happened in my life (No exaggeration) Everything you have ever done is absolutely pointless at the end of this game; it almost feels like a dream because it is so bad.

    I have no idea how Bioware thought this was a good idea. I would think at least one Bioware employee would be like 'These ending are going to ruin the entire franchise." But no. I hate my life right now, and I hate Bioware.

    I would spend 4000MP on alternate DLC endings, but sadly Bioware is to proud of themselves to let it happen.

    In order for me not to kill myself I had to create my own ending in my mind, that is how bad these ending are. I had 20+ characters waiting to be imported to ME3 and now it all seems worthless :(

    Bioware you officially got 99.9% right, and 0.01% Unforgivably, it was the 0.01% that counted the most, see you in hell Bioware. Signed Cmdr. Shepard
    Expand
  48. Mar 9, 2012
    0
    This game is a complete disappointment. It was fun up until the last 5 minutes, and those five minutes make the whole series seem like a 100+ hour waste of time. I swear they had a five year old write the ending, and for those of you who think your choices from the last two games matter, they don't, there is only 3 total endings. That's it! Way to Go BioWare, your a joke company to me now.
  49. Mar 9, 2012
    3
    Turned a really fun game and an awesome franchise into dog @#$% in the final 5 minutes. WORST. ENDING. EVER. (and this is from someone who has seen MANY terrible endings)
  50. Mar 10, 2012
    3
    This game would have been a solid 10/10 for me if it were not for those horrid endings. They managed to keep me entertained and invested in the story until the last five minutes. Getting stuck with 3 terrible endings with the same consequences is a terrible way to end one of my favorite game series. Never buying another Bioware product unless this is rectified.
  51. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    Was a HUGE fan, but after the ending, i feel depressed, deprived, angry and sick to my stomach.... Not sure if i'll be able to forgive bioware. If you suffer from depression and love this game, please do NOT get this game, if you have it, don't finish it.
  52. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    Where are the true different endings ? And god damned, where is the exploration ? I always searchâ
  53. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Don't get me wrong, the game is solid 9/10 game until the very end. Unfortunately, the horribly poor writing and the illusion of choice in the final sequence â Expand
  54. Mar 11, 2012
    0
    The first two games where absolutely amazing. Which makes this game an even bigger disappointment. For what ever reason bioware decided that it just didn't care anymore when making the third game. They reveal Tali's face with a poorly edited stock photo, the ending is just a choice of a, b, or c, and the final cinematic is literally just an old wallpaper ("space winter").
  55. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    The whole purpose of postponing release of the game was to further refine it. Unfortunately ME3 still seems to be rushed, especially towards the end. I agree with all the 'haters' out here on the fact that there were barely any consequences to many of the so called important decisions made in ME1 & ME2. At times it felt as if I'm playing a unrelated game altogether. I was quite disappointed to see the characters I appreciated (such as thane and jack) having such diminished roles in the game. As far as squadmates go, James and Ash were NOT suitable replacement. The priority missions, particularly the one in Rannoch, were a treat. Graphics wasn't a big improvement from ME2. Gameplay was impressive . Weight restrictions on equipment as well as the omnibalde were nice additions. All in all, I would have rated this game a modest 6/10 IF the last 10 minutes of the game NEVER HAPPENED. Ardent fans of the series who have yet to play this game should prepare for bitter disappointment. In my opinion Bioware could not have made a more horrible ending. After spending so much time on the trilogy and getting attached to your character as well as the NPCs , I feel cheated in the end. Without spoiling anything I will just say that no matter what you choose during the game, you will get almost the same ending. If I know how badly it ends no matter what I do then why should I set myself up for disappointment AGAIN and AGAIN? Therefore 'Replay Value" gets a very low score. I hope Bioware plans on fixing the endings with DLCs. After all, Commander Shepard deserves MORE! Expand
  56. Mar 11, 2012
    1
    I have never been so upset with a form of entertainment in my life. I've disliked books, movies, and games before, but I have never been so disappointed that I felt inspired to review it. The game is amazing until the last 15minutes. And those last 15minutes are so incredibly bad that it ruins the game. It's so disheartening and unexpected that I cannot bring myself to play the game again. It has ruined the series for me. I don't even know if I can play ME1 or ME2 again, because in the end nothing matters and you end up with more questions than answer and zero closure. Also, dear Bioware, not all of us enjoy investing hours in a game franchise to be left empty, hollow, and depressed. Why not just say hope is a lie? Expand
  57. Mar 11, 2012
    3
    Mass Effect 3 is a big game with detailed universe and environment. But without Drew Karpyshyn story became too simple and dialogues are worse than in first ME game. Another consequence is ridiculous DRAMA, such as story line with the boy, dreams... All these moments looks very unnaturally and clumsy. I think that main problem of ME3 is that it became shooter with RPG elements, but honestly shooting never was the reason why everybody played in first Mass Effect. Expand
  58. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A good game until you reach the end. The ending is so poorly written that I can not conceive it was written by experienced professionals. The ending ruins the whole series.

    The game has multiple good elements but seems to fall short in other areas. Some of the minor issues include: The fact that the choices of sacrificing people to save others is trivialized by the poor presentation and that every second conversation from Shepard sounds like a poorly veiled come on to other characters.

    An especially low note in the game is Kai Leng. Kai Leng is a horrible stereotyped Mary Sue which nearly ruined the game. His boss battles are lame and should never have been included. The game designers failed to follow a basic game design rule: If you don't want a PC killing a NPC then don't have them fight. Simple, no? They follow this with the Illusive Man (uses holographs instead of being there in person) but they fail with Kai Leng. Just when you thought that cliched character was the worst part the game in roles the game's ending. It involves a ghost child AI which is the citadel but was never foreshadowed. (Nor does it make sense as there would be no need for Mass Effect 1 or 2 if this was true. After all an AI secretly existing in the Citadel could easily notify the Reapers without the need of outside Reaper prompting). Besides this obvious flaw the game then presents 3 possible endings: 1) Mass murder of all synthetic life 2) Take control of the Reapers
    3) A childishly simplistic option of merging synthetic and organic life without wiping all current beings. How this is possible is never explained nor does it make any sense in the end.
    Also the Mass Relays are destroyed in every ending and the Normandy crashes in every ending. This is disheartening but also means that you have destroyed the main means of intergalactic transportation and destroyed every spaceship in the galaxy. Hurray? So in closing all the endings means you have saved galactic civilization by destroying all galactic civilization. WTF? This game if viewed individually would be a 6 or 7 out of ten. When viewed in light of what it does to the series a 4 is generous.
    Expand
  59. Mar 11, 2012
    1
    Horrible storytelling with more plotholes than i can count. Terrible endings in which the only thing that changes is the energy beam colors. 2001 graphics and enough bugs to turn this game into a painful experience for all that play it.
  60. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    The Ending(s) kill the game.

    Playing the game I was blown away. Beautiful locations, good writing, slick voice acting, fun game play. While playing I kept thinking, "How can the score not be 98-100? How can any critic not give this game 100/100?" I felt proud of the character I was playing, I really liked the characters I was interacting with. I was happy that I'd spent 80+ hours
    putting together an import character. How could people not be as amazed as I was?

    Then I played the last 20 minutes. And... All that good will, all that enjoyment was just gone. Up until then I was really excited to replay the game with another class, another love interest, another play style. Up until then I was looking forward to (like ME1 and 2) getting all the DLC and playing them to death. Now I can't even honestly recommend this game to anyone. The story just seems to suddenly change into a different game in the last 20 minutes. I really don't think I can convey how stark the break in narrative tone is in the ending. It's incomprehensible that the writers who had delivered such an amazing story up till then decided this was the "right" ending. On endings... In ME1 you were were going to win no matter what. About the only unknown was Wrex on Virmire. Otherwise the ending was set. ME2 they upped that a lot, making the survival of the characters you had come to like (even your own character) contingent on your choices. But you could work at it and get the ending where you bring them all back alive, and that felt good. And then this. There is simply no possible satisfying ending (for me at least, you may like pathos and pointlessness). There is no really heroic ending, even a well written heroic sacrifice would have been preferable to what we are offered.

    Since this managed to pretty much undercut all the enjoyment of the previous games (no small feat), managing to make me loss interest in a series I had adored, I give it a 0/10. If you have asked me to rate it any time before the ending, it was an easy 10/10. But now, since I'm unlikely to ever play it again (and may not even want to replay the previous installments) I have to give it the lowest rating. How else can you score a game that makes to regret having played it, that is so problematic that the corrupts the fun of the previous games in the series?
    Expand
  61. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    Up until the last 15 minutes or so, this game is incredibly enjoyable. There were so many moments where I was up out of my chair rooting for characters, or solemnly watching someone sacrifice themselves. Having been a bit of a perfectionist in the previous 2 games, I set about playing this game with the same sort of vigour, making sure to check every single planet for war assets and scouring every level/area for anything that I could find. So it was with great sadness that in the end I discovered that all of these discoveries, and all of the choices made over the span of 3 games, were nothing more than a little number displayed on the screen. The 'endings' are very reminiscent of those presented in Deus Ex: HR, except at least in that game we get somewhat of an epilogue. Expand
  62. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    Like many others, I have been a loyal fan, looking forward to each new release in the game since the first. Mass Effect 2 had its rough spots (hammerhead, inventory "fixes", etc.) but at least the decisions you made in ME1, for the most part, had a measurable impact throughout the game, right up until the ending. By comparison, your choices in ME1 and ME2 have next to no impact on gameplay in ME3, and next to no impact on the ending either. I say ending, because no matter what choices you make in any of the three games, at the end, all your choices amount to the same thing.

    The ending cinematics are basically identical, as are the consequences. Absolutely no closure is given to any of the plot lines for you, your companions, or the galaxy as a whole. Not a single decision you make has a measurable impact on the outcome.

    Furthermore, the entire lead-in to the ending seems rushed. I was expecting an epic fight, perhaps several of them, either before or after the conclusion of the Earth plot line. Instead, the plot line ends at Earth, and there is only a single battle.

    Throughout the game, despite completing every single side quest, my readiness never went above 50%, and the "galaxy at war" map never did anything except state that it was unavailable.

    Endgame aside, there are other reasons that the gameplay itself is the worst of the three. Planetary exploration has been completely removed. No mako. No hammerhead. Nothing. Some planets have a single thing you can scan for a-la ME2, but most don't. The weapon customization makes the inventory system even worse than the ME1 inventory system. In the most important fights, no matter what kind of Shepard you are playing, there is only ONE option: Run and gun.

    It seems the developers idea of a challenging fight is simply "drop more tough creatures on the character, and then shake the screen. Also, make it impossible for the player to unambiguously decide if they want to run, hurdle, duck into cover, or anything else by using the same button for all three." For characters more focused on powers, finesse, sniping, or stealth, many of the fights are nearly impossible even on normal or easy difficulty settings.

    You can no longer carry a heavy weapon with you into battle, of any kind. When the developers think you need one, they will hide it on the battlefield somewhere, and after dying 5 or 10 times, you might find it. You have a flashlight now, but you cannot control when it is turned off or on. Very useful on dark levels that the developers didn't think were "dark enough" to warrant use of the flashlight.

    All in all, this game is a huge disappointment. There is not enough to explore, your decisions do not matter, and combat often steps over the line from "challenging" to "obnoxiously difficult" for classes other than the soldier. The choices available at the end all feel more like losses than victories, and don't differ from one another. Bioware says there are 17 endings but in reality, there are simply 17 slightly changed versions of the same ending.

    I've played through the first two games 8 or 10 times each, and I'm struggling to find a reason to complete a play through of this one more than once. If my decisions don't matter, then what's the point?
    Expand
  63. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    This is the first time I have ever felt compelled to review a game in my 28 years of gaming. I have played Mass Effect 1 and enjoyed it so much that I refused to trade it. I played Mass Effect 2, multiple times and I kept that one as well. I spent a lot of time working on my character, making the choices, really defining my experience, so I happily purchase my Mass Effect 3. I love the game until the last ten or fifteen minutes. When the ending comes, it is not the disappointment of this series that is over, or joy that my characters journey is complete. It is of course the emptiness that every choice i made in the other games did not matter. I played all the side quests offered, even tried the day one dlc to see if that would make a difference. No... This ending is bad, the three choices offered are horrible. If I had known it would have ended like this, I would never have purchased it or wasted my time in such a manner. I tried changing several variables in the story...to no avail. I don't think I have ever been so let down by an entertainment medium since probably the Star Wars prequels or the Matrix in film. Expand
  64. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    great game but the last 20 min completely overshadows what good was in this game and as a result i found myself not satisfied with what could of been my fave game ever but i was left disappointing and as a result i will never trust bioware again to deliver on their promises
  65. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    The last 20 minutes of the game appear as brought over from another game; without any logic or closure. A typical deus ex machina with 3 arbitrary choices, and missing is the logical expected one.
  66. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I LOVED me1 and me2. Me3 was EA caring solely about money. Day 0 DLC, Online pass, horrendous endings with no effort. A congrats you can pay more to continue. Awful, appalling. Save yourself, skip it, if I didn't get it through Gamefly I would make this the first Xbox game in my 7 years, that I would return. Shame on you, Expand
  67. Mar 13, 2012
    3
    Everyone's complaining about the ending, but I don't give a **** about that. The game itself is pretty bad overall. There's almost no RPG in it and the action part is pretty clumsy and tiring. Better not waste time playing this and play Binary Domain instead if you want a good story in a GoW-like 3rd person shooter.
  68. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    Gutwrenching, unfortunately. For a long term fan (played ME1 and ME2 multiple times to tweak my actions) - I find myself extremely disappointed and frankly - let down by how this ended. The game plays well, but honestly - if you are a long term fan - I cannot suggest you go down the road of hopelesness where actions do not seem to matter and it is not just that answers about ME main plot are not given, there are a whole lot of new questions. But sorry - the series is now over. I got upset enough with this that from now on, I'll be buying BioWare games only 2nd hand. Someone in the company had to think this was acceptable and I am not supporting them anymore. Expand
  69. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mass Effect 3 endings were like eating a beautifully decorated and tasty 3 layer cake and finding a big fat **** in the last bite. Seriously this ruined any replay value for me. Expand
  70. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    I've never had my love for an entire game series completely negated by the last games ending. I've never felt so.... ****ing angry about an ending that I considered immediately trading my Collectors edition back in for almost anything else... And I bought Fable 3.

    From game one of Mass Effect it was said that our choices matter; and that importing your character from ME1 to ME3 would
    create stacked outcomes...

    And yet none of that was true. It was said that playing Multiplater wasn't needed to get the best possible ending. But that wasn't true either. I completed every side-quest and was a full paragon... And the ending sucked.

    What a slap in the face *Bioware.* I'm now embarressed by how excited I was for this game. Because the ending has completely ruined my experience
    Expand
  71. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    Story, Characters, plot elements, cut scenes..all uninspiring. Combat even on hardcore settings is lack luster. Graphics are not that much improved over Mass Effect 2. Despite that, I loved the game, right up until the end. The very things that made me give most of the game a pass as I played through it, the time I'd invested in Sheapard, my love of the other charactors, my fealing of consequences for my actions; were all thrown away at the end. There are people that hate the ending for what it reveals about the reapers, and what "choices" You get to make. But even putting that asside, the feal is off, the quick ending cenimatics are hollow quick...impart no real informations. The game ends but I'm not sure what actualy happened, or if I even care anymore. Mass Effect 3, poorly exectued and contrived, First Day DLC: unforgivable..and Here is a Spoiler for you, They flash a little datapad up on the screen that says keep playing and spending your money buying are DLC's..excuse me? You leave me fealing robbed, then tell me not to worry because you'll be back for more money later?
    Mass effect..you're dead to me, such a loss :-/
    Expand
  72. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    This review is from the perspective of a gamer who has diligently played all 3 games of the series and has easily sunk 200+ hours into the trilogy. As such, it is aimed towards that group of players.

    ME1 & ME2 are quite possibly my two favorite games of all time. They created a universe in which you felt an emotional attachment to your Shepard. If this sounds absurd, tell me there wasn't
    multiple times where you carefully considered what decision to make because you were concerned with the repercussions your Shepard could face. ME2 trimmed down on some of the RPG elements of the original, but overall I thought that this decision by Bioware helped improve the flow of the story and feel of the gameplay. Granted, ME2 didn't do a great job of incorporating your decisions from ME1 besides who you left behind while on Virmire but it was forgivable because it was assumed that all the lose ends would be tied up in ME3, the epic conclusion to this space saga. Sadly, however, I must report that ME3 does not live up to the pedigree of its predecessors. My first qualm with ME3 is the structure of the quests. The main plot quests are adequate but the side quests are terrible. The side quests lack any depth or meaning whatsoever and consist mainly of simple fetch-quests. The prior 2 games had side quests that were much more exciting and fleshed out. The shallowness of the side quests is a major detractor for ME3.

    The second glaring problem is the lack of player involvement in the conversation gameplay elements. In the prior two games, the player was constantly given meaningful conversation choices to make that, if they didn't necessarily change the outcome of the conversation, completely changed the tone and outlook of the conversation. The amount of involvement that the player is given in conversations in ME3 is outrageously limited and the sense of importance that dialogue options had previously is gone in the third installment. The lack of emphasis on conversation choices brings about the next major problem with ME3, its de-emphasis on characters. ME1 & ME2 both prided themselves on emphasizing that you were the leader of part of a team. They enabled you to have fleshed out conversations with your crew members and with other fascinating characters spread throughout the galaxy. ME3 abandons this. You can only converse with your squad mates when it is convenient for the game and there is almost no interaction with the other people that populate this universe. Try walking around the Citadel and engaging with someone. You will be hard-pressed to do so. The first two installments were not nearly as limiting. As a result, in ME3 you do not feel as attached to your crew and to the universe as you previously were. Quick problem: the absence of any civilian cities besides the Citadel in ME3 is a major letdown. Omega, Feros, Illium, and Tuchanka added nice flavor to the first two games. ME3 has no such variety and the Citadel is not capable of remaining interesting by itself. No let me turn my attention to the idiotic "Galaxy at War" system. Forcing people to play multiplayer so as to increase the galaxy at war multiplier is ridiculous. The boneheadedness behind this idea is almost incomprehensible. It was a terrible idea.

    Next up on the list of problems is the most important of all: The Endings. The ending of ME3 will leave you flabbergasted, speechless, and incredulous. The different endings are really not much different from each other at all. They conclude the story on a terrible, terrible note. There is no closure, just depressing consequences and glaring plot holes. The logic put on display by one particular character introduced at the end is just abhorrent and you are shoehorned into three choices that have no positive ending. I am not saying that every possible ending should have been a positive one but for a series that prides itself on choice a nice ending MUST have been included. Do not spend a lot of time playing multiplayer to get the multiplier up, none of the choices offered are much different and be ready to see consequences that do not make any sense based on people and things you had just seen a moment earlier. If you are looking for a positive ending, good luck. Additionally, the ending, whichever on you choose, does not incorporate any of your prior major decisions. The endings are so bad and they make me regret pouring as much time into ME1 & ME2 as I did.

    The day 1 DLC is an insult to consumers everywhere and the companies involved should be ashamed of themselves for withholding content so as to make a couple extra bucks. In conclusion:
    The game lacks much of the choice and atmosphere of its predecessors. It is apparent that this game was extensively stripped down so as to appeal to a wider audience. It lacks depth in nearly all of its gameplay departments and contains mainly needless additions. And last but not least, THE ENDINGS ARE COMPLETE RUBISH AND RUIN THE ENTIRE FRANCHISE!
    Expand
  73. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    Normally it would be impossible for a 5 minutes of cutscenes to ruin 30 hours of gameplay. Unless of course that 5 minutes is the ending to a trilogy spanning 5 years and over 70 hours of playtime.

    If you're a Mass Effect fan who has stuck with the series since the first game then you would do best to stop playing at the last save point and save yourself the hopeless depression that will
    follow should you play the ending sequence in this game.

    The ending is negligent betrayal by Bioware to its fans on the highest level. You'll be best of imagining your own perfect ending.
    Expand
  74. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    The game was excellent, with more in depth side quests and far better combat than even the second game. The battles were challenging and as epic as one would expect for the finale of the Mass Effect series. Up until the last 10 minutes. The AI child refers to itself as both "I" and "we". They couldn't even proofread the ending script. That's not the worst part. Yes, the endings are depressing. I'm fine with that. What I'm not fine with is the fact the ending contains major, obtrusive plot holes. Characters who are with you in the final battle someone come back from the dead and end up on the Normandy, which is for some reason in the midst of running from some random beam of color, in the span of 5 minutes. Really? Furthermore, the same characters are shown in flashbacks at the end, no matter if they've been dead since the second game or they're not even you love interest. That's just looking at the game alone. Comparing it to the rest of the series, the ending does not make sense. It is not artistic. It's not bad because its a tragic ending. It doesn't mesh with the story leading up to it. Why, if the citadel controls the reapers, did it not just allow them to jump in during the events of the first game? The ending is so bad that I regret giving $60 to EA/Bioware. I don't want to pay for DLC with a better ending. I expect to to not fork out $60 for a game with a nonsensical half-assed ending to a series that I spent well over 200 hours and $200 on. I gave the game a +1 since the first 99% of it was excellent. The ending was worth -9 though. Do not buy. Just replay the first and second games and save yourself the money. Expand
  75. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As much as I have been a fan of the series with multiple characters on both ME1 and ME2 i can only give ME 3 a 4. It really hurts me to give this to a game such a score, considering how good just about 99% of the game was. It isn't because Shepard dies, I was going in with the assumption this was a possible outcome. There are small bugs (texture pop ups, etc) in the game but didn't take away from the presentation at all. I think the best way to put it is in one word that Bioware has used repeatedly to describe this game, choice. I think i can actually understand how/why Bioware wanted to end the ME universe as they did. The problem was that the connection between 99% of the game and the last 1% was it didn't mesh well together (at least in my opinion). Each choice you had at the end does embrace the path (choices you made throughout the game) you took to get there. However because of how last minute it felt, after thinking you finished everything, there is this feeling of disconnect. The end isn't able to truly show that the path that you have taken with all the choices made through the game had been presented in front of you. In an ending such as this, unless everything can come together perfectly, it is extremely hard to present to an audience in a coherent manner. The ending isn't what everyone wanted, I myself wouldn't mind an optional off into the sunset ending and/or a depressing everyone dies ending. However in the ending that Bioware chose, they needed to do more to truly show what the players were choosing in the end. The conversation at the very end is a prime example where this could have been archived, but just fell flat on its face in trying. The score I gave is representative how Bioware was not able to weave a story around the theme of choice in a manner that gripped everyone. Also there are problems/sloppyness with the ending cimematics shown before the credits such as the Normandy and the Mass Relays. There isn't much of an explanation as to why the Normandy looked to be between relays when it should have been at earth, or if the relay explosion only took out the relay or entire solar systems. Expand
  76. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    Score until the ending 4.5/5. Taking the ending into account, which effectively ruined the entire series for me...well, there it is. I had such high hopes, and for so long into the game those hopes were answered. I'm still trying to grip what huge a disappointment the whole package was in the end.
  77. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This could have been the crowning achievement in regards to RPG gaming. A game that ends a fantastic sci-fi tale that you can craft over the course of three fantastic games. Every minute of playing this game was a joy. The sorrow and triumph was all I could have asked for and more...until the end. Which utterly erases all the 100's hours of work you have placed in this game. There is no closure, you never find out what your sacrifice brings, aside from the total destruction of the galaxy. All the deeds are turned to dust in less than ten minutes. I must salute you Bioware, you killed the greatest video game trilogy in under ten minutes, bravo. Expand
  78. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    Mass Effect has been an amazing series with great storytelling and excellent characters. So I'm dumbfounded with the way Bioware decided to end it all with absolutely no closure and plot holes galore. We didn't need a happy "rainbows and bunnies" ending - just one that makes sense and provides closure. Maybe we the fans don't deserve better - but Mass Effect sure did. For me, the horrible ending ruined the series. Expand
  79. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    I experienced quite a few bugs, which did impact game, dialogue not working right, etc. Bottom line regardless of what you think of the endings, the build up to the "final" battle was suppose to be the best part "Save Earth", don't bother playing after 20 hours its just not worth it. Think Halo2, its just a joke how awful the back end of this game is, the missions are pathetic, the content on earth is short, and really just a total let down. So the end gameplay sucks, nothing interesting, or at least content that tries to differentiate itself from bulk, its all bland and boring. Which makes the ending options really forgettable, there is no point in playing through the game differently. So to recap, after the initial sequence on earth, there is nothing emotionally driven about the content, its all vapor, there is no challenging sections (scaled for difficulty), and the endings are loose, trival, and without an emotional connection to tie things apart, or together. I could care less if my character is killed, but its the story that ties the content together and there IS NO STORY to feed off of, 2/3 of the game had me in tears, i blew through the dialogue toward the latter stages and ending because there was nothing there. what a waste of time. I picked up ME series late, after all the DLC hit for ME2, so I knew it was a long slog and a wait to see ME3, but the content for ME2, knowing full well the inconclusive nature was much better than the, "climax" of ME3. If the bar is set high, then sometimes you get hit with the bar, I had more fun toward the end of Kingdoms of Amalur, than this game, which is a terrible mocking. ME3 end with bad taste, disappointment, and general disgust, and not cause of how the game ended, but the quality of the final battle, the lack of emotional/character content, and the complete package just sinks after such a great start. Expand
  80. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's all about the ending. On my playthrough, I had done all but one of the "fetch it" quests, and had an apparently full readiness bar. I felt like it would be hard, but that I had prepared as much as I could. I had a couple of save games to go back to, so I could see if there were different choices I wanted to make.
    It went well, then I got to the Citadel... and WTF? No more team, no armor, no powers.... and a brand new godchild? And then it got bad.
    A "3" is generous. Never again, Bioware. Ya got me twice, first DA2, then this steaming pile. Won't happen again.
    Expand
  81. Mar 12, 2012
    1
    Glitchy, lazy, a slap in the face to fans of not just the games but the comics and novels. They used a stock photo for the face of a character everyone has been waiting to see for 2 games, it isn't as smoothly animated as in the other games. They totally counteracted anything you did in the last two games to the point that nothing you do matters. It's a shame and it makes me wonder what the professional reviewers were playing as I saw nothing worthy of praise as time went on. Expand
  82. Mar 12, 2012
    0
    I realize giving this game a 0 may seem overly harsh, and yes, normally I would agree that any game that is playable deserves above this score. However I feel Mass Effect 3 deserves this because the game seems to have been designed with the goal of setting up incredible possibility with great gameplay, realization of plot arcs from ME1 and 2, and excellent story telling, only to self destruct. The ending of the game destroys any gamer with emotional involvement in the game, by giving them a whitewashed, uniform ending that it is GUARANTEED every other player got. Bioware made you believe that you were something special, only to strip it away and laugh as you were wondering what just happened. This game gets a 0, because it is the ONLY game I've ever played to destroy the re playability of other games for me. I'm not going to be able to touch Mass effect 1 or 2 again since I now know that whatever I do, it doesn't matter at all. Expand
  83. Mar 12, 2012
    3
    Best of the series EXCEPT FOR THE ENDING! The foundation of this series was choice and it has been destroyed. Hopefully Bioware has some plans to address this in DLC otherwise ME3 is an epic failure.
  84. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    The journey over the course of the 3 games was a masterpiece of a game-writing and storytelling, but the ending of this 3rd game just completely ruins everything for me. I really wonder what the scenarists were thinking when they wrote the ending (yes, single), it just sucks and manages to completely cripple the most interesting sci-fi universe created in the last ten years ... Such a complete let down :( Expand
  85. Mar 12, 2012
    2
    the ending really kills the series as a whole. i wanted a better ending to my shepard. too many plot holes. they dont even tell you what happens with yur squadmates, and all the characters you came to love. we played 3 games 100 hours plus on each shep story and this is how you end it for us? sad sad sad :(
  86. Mar 12, 2012
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Such a big letdown, emotionally. Everything just feels off. Earth is under attack but shephard has time for just about anything. And the ending is easily the most dissapointing I have experienced. Not the choices you get to make, but the followup... what happened to all of the people you met, a simple text dialouge would have sufficed. But no, normandy crashes, some survives - the end. Ofcourse the game has great gameplay and the multiplayer is addictive. (though there should have been coop campaignmode aswell, cheap bioware) But from the buildup of the first two games, this third part could not live up to its expectations. Expand
  87. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    I have to say the Mass Effect series was a masterpiece. Up until the last 10 minutes of the 3rd game. The ending in Mass Effect 3 has quite literally ruined the whole franchise for me. The ending made all the other games seem absolutely pointless to me. Seeing how nothing I did in the other games mattered in the end. I have to give it to Bioware, it must take careful planning on there part to be able to make a Bioware fanboy, who's favorite game series of all time was Mass Effect, completely hate their company and will never buy another Bioware product again. That is even before I realized that the "From Ashes Mission" was day one DLC we did not get for free. Bioware should be ashamed of what they have become. EA sell outs who have ruined every big game series they have done now, Dragon Age 2, Mass Effect 3 and Star Wars The Old Republic. Expand
  88. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    A great game up until the point when you reach the ending. Bioware improve the game play and did a great job in closing all the sub plot of the game. Even the minor characters of the first two games have a role in Mass Effect 3, but the grand finale of the story is just awful. On top of that, Bioware lied (again) to the fans. Despite what they said, itâ
  89. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH, RUBBISH. Anakin Skywalker says"NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO." Expand
  90. Mar 13, 2012
    4
    Decent game other that Bioware making mistakes like not following what happened in other games, as well as the end where you get essentially one ending that they changed the color on, pick your favorite color and watch the Galaxy be destroyed. Also they removed important content(From Ashes)and made it a DLC, if you have the game on computer you can get the DLC for free by editing a few codes of line in the game files. I seriously don't know how EA or Bioware will recover from this. I won't buy another game from either of the companies again. Expand
  91. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    There is no way to accurately describe how disappointing this game is. 99% of this game is wonderful. The last 10-15 minutes of this game destroys everything that you have come to love about the Mass Effect universe. The day before the game was released I was so exited, like a child the night before their birthday. Now I feel terrible. None of the choices I have made over the course of the three games have had any impact on the ending. In fact the ending so thoroughly nukes what you were fighting for it destroys all replay value the game may have had for me. I have no interest in walking my other Shepards through this game to meet the same end. As someone who has grown to love this series over the years and invested over 100 hours of playtime, I wish I could un-play this game. Expand
  92. Mar 13, 2012
    4
    AMAZING game. Terrible ending. Horrible terrible no good very bad ending. You play and play for the sake of these characters... Hell, the developers go to the trouble of creating heart wrenching scenes before you get to the end... then... you get to the end. It's like they INTENTIONALLY created an ending that ripped your heart out and stomped on it...
  93. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    This game is the most disappointing thing since Dragon Age 2. THe ending feels like a kick in the teeth to somebody who has loved this game series from the beginning.
  94. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    im not a big writer so ill be short(ish). while the game starts off okey, beware its not gonna stay that way. it is plagued by bad lip sinking, technical hick ups, underdeveloped story arcs and general sloppy writing. ive heard many people nowadays say things like a patch will fix it. in my earlier years(im 27 years old now) it was never okey that a game had bug (some of which are game breaking. but nowadays the ''profesional'' reviewers are not to be trusted anymore this is the reason i signed up here today cuz i feel people should be warned about this ''game'' i was a big bioware fan owning all the games and dlc. was being the word, this game has killed that love off after the disaster they called dragon age 2, and the deafening silence of bioware on the fans negative rections. also alot has been said on the ending, ill just say that it feels like the ending belongs in another game its just bad and rushed. and as a result makes no sense.â Expand
  95. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    This game series was one of the good ones, where personal decisions and actions influenced a vibrant and expansive galaxy. Unfortunately, the random freezes, overly streamlined storyline, and Dues Ex ending which disregarded everything that made this game series great sours the overall experience. Until some of the glaring issues are addressed I'd give this one a pass.
  96. Mar 13, 2012
    0
    Bioware takes particular care in bringing everything you love about the gampley and storytelly together for most of it, but ultimately renders it unnesesary, efectively turning a "free will" experience into a in-rails ending.
  97. Mar 13, 2012
    2
    All forms of narrative storytelling (whether it be books, movies, or video games) are judged on the beginning of the narrative and the conclusion of it. With that being said, Mass Effect 3 is a great game until you reach the lackluster ending. When a company such as Bioware creates a game that takes pride in its extraordinary writing, issues with the story are huge because we, the consumers, expect the best from Bioware. This awful set of ending scenarios is probably another money milking tactic of EA's in order to squeeze more money out of the Mass Effect IP, whether it be in the form of DLC or future sequels (Bioware has already stated that even though Shepard's story is over, the Mass Effect IP may continue in the future).

    It's entirely possible that this series of ending scenarios was made in order to make the writing process for the next trilogy of ME easier, which I hope was the case because apparently they downgraded in that regard. Mass Effect 3 is rather enjoyable except for the last 30 minutes, with that being said, if you prefer to play video games with strong narratives, this game isn't for you. The ending has many plot holes which are not explained and any questions that were to be answered from previous installments were just replaced with new ones (most likely to garner interest in future titles).

    One last note; there are a lot of reviewers here who believe that those who are giving low scores are ignorant or that it's merely a bunch of "trolls". The truth is that this franchise was harmed in the worst way when these terrible endings were implemented. The truth is that for most of the negative reviews (not all of them, but most) there is a player who was expecting an epic conclusion to an epic saga, but was left with a deep feeling of betrayal and disappointment due to a tragic ending of a great trilogy (I do not mind sad endings, by tragic ending I mean an ending of poor taste). I'm not sure if I'm going to buy ME4 (I definitely will not buy it on its day of release, so I can wait to see the reviews before purchasing it) but if they do plan to continue the franchise, I hope they carry it out in a careful manner and return to the roots that made Mass Effect 1 such a great video game. I'm sure those who are loyal to the franchise will agree with me.
    Expand
  98. Mar 13, 2012
    1
    Can't believe how Bioware can get as lazy as that; they HAD 2 GREAT SERIES (Mass Effect and Dragon Age) full of potential and suddenly they become lazy, self entitled, money hungry and do stuff half way and then sell it as DLC. I mean using photos on GOOGLE? How stupid can you be? The same happen with dragon age 2, they did it lazily wanting to get as much money as possible and destroying their series. I just hope people stop buying from them so as to see if they change a bit.

    ALSO NONE OF ALL YOUR CHOICES MATTERED! So mad, i hope bioware gets destroyed
    Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 74
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 74
  3. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. May 12, 2012
    95
    Mass Effect 3 is an emotional rollercoaster ride with lots of tension and moving moments. The threat of the Reapers make every decision a hard one and your relationship with other characters will be tested. This, in combination with tight gameplay, makes this the complete experience.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    100
    As a bombastic action-RPG with no previous context, Mass Effect 3 is a dark, engaging game with great combat, a well-written story, and all the epic space-opera you could want. But for those who have played through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, it's something much more.
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    96
    The storytelling itself, the more refined combat, the voicework, the visuals, et all, stand as a fine example of some of the best this industry has to offer, and with my minor complaints aside, there's no doubt that Mass Effect 3 will be deservedly at the top of everyone's list come this year's award season.