User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3524 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 5, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 is the perfect ending to a masterful trilogy that's gone from strength-to-strength with each title. It's the conclusion you're hoping for, with each decision demanding that you think twice before pulling the trigger. Thanks for the memories, BioWare... It's been emotional.
  2. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think it's a shame that these so called "fans" have given Mass Effect 3 such a low score here in Metacritic. They are giving it anything from 0-6 simply because the last 20 minutes or so were disappointing. And yes, they are disappointing but I'm not going to rant on Bioware simply because I felt that the end destination of this series was less than satisfactory. They say "that its not the destination that matters, but the journey there is what truly matters". And you know what? I agree.

    This game was payoff after payoff. It was the coup d' etat from Bioware--one which closed out the series in utter perfection (for the most part)--and I enjoyed it immensely. The graphics were fantastic if a little bit dated. The presentation was flawless. To say that this is one of the most cinematic games of all-time is an understatement. The score was fantastic. Clint Mansell and series mainstay Sam Hullick bring this finale to life, invoking all the right emotions at all the right times. This is a very balanced orchestral. At times it is somber, other times it is sinister with a hint of ominous danger. The gameplay was perfectly balanced. ME1 was more RPG than shooter and ME2 was more shooter than RPG, but ME3 is what Mass Effect has always sought to be: a perfect hybrid of shooter and RPG elements. If I could've changed something about the gameplay, I would add more side quests that weren't so reliant on avesdropping on people from the Citadel. Also, scanning for War Assests completes over 10 side quests, which is a shame, because exploring more locations during this time for turmoil (ex. The hanar, elcor, and volus homeworlds were being attacked as well; I would've loved to see the actual conflict on these places rather than overhearing it).

    Anyways, the story is amazing, just as you expect from this stellar series. Most of the characters--both major and minor--return in ME3 in some form or another. These appearances, wheter it'd be a major crewmate or a cameo role, are almost always rewarding. Seeing what has become of these characters is a very satisfying aspect of this game. All of the characters, except for a select few, are given finality and closure. There are some sappy scenes to be had in ME3, but they are handled with deft precision and skill.

    These scenes, if you're a true fan of the series and if you are very connected to these characters, will have you crying like very few stories can. Bioware has hit a homerun for making us care about these characters in such a personal way. It is very hard to say "goodbye" to these people that you've known for the past half a decade or so. To you & me, these people are family, friends. We care about them and the universe they inhabit.

    Maybe that's why people are so angry about the ending. Bioware had a great concept for its ending, but their execution of said concept was mediocre at best. Had they put in a "happy" ending and had they shown how these characters' lives are affected by your final decision, then I think Bioware wouldn't have received any criticism whatsoever. A more elaborate ending cinematic, as well as some 5-10 minute expositional epilogue could've worked wonders for this game and the universe that both Bioware and players have built over the course of so many years. That being said, the ending closes out Shepard's story with well-enough finality that I can accept it, despite the obvious plot holes and uncertainties that are brought up by some aspects of the endings.

    Am I disappointed by the ending (s)? Yes, to a certain extent, but I won't let that ruin my appreciation for this game and this series in particular. Bioshock and Fallout 3 had terrible endings. Did these games get under a 5.0 in "User Score" here on Metacritic? No, they did not. Both of those games are complete and utter materpieces and they received their own share of criticism for their endings, but not to the extent that ME3 has endured. Nevertheless, gamers want Bioware to change the ending to Mass Effect 3, even though it is not our story, it is Bioware's. Irrational Games never changed their ending and yet Bioshock is still revered as one of gaming's finest moments. Bethesda Studios, on the other hand, caved into the peer pressure of the gaming community and they tried to rectify the backlash they initially received by releasing the "Broken Steel" DLC that got rid of the original ending in favor of the new one. Gamers rejoiced, and now Fallout 3 is rightfully acclaimed as one of the greatest games of all-time as well. Will Bioware follow the example of Irrational Games or that of Bethesda Studios? We'll see. But, no matter what, I feel that Mass Effect 3 is a masterpiece and the perfect finale to one of the greatest, if not the greatest, series in the history of gaming. Thank you, Bioware, for all the memories. I can't wait to relive the trilogy, again and again, until the end of time...or gaming.
    Expand
  3. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Terrific addition to the series! Mass Effect 3 is a perfected version of the second game of the trilogy. Mass Effect 2 was terrific and one of the best games I've ever played. For them to be able to add another one to the series with better game play and a better plot is an amazing achievement. Small, yet likable additions have been made to the combat; such as powerful melee attacks, and far more maneuvering and dodging capabilities. In terms of the plot, the characters are always unique and interesting. Although at first glance it may seem tedious, talking to other members of your team never seems to get boring, as they all seem to have relatively interesting back stories. And ignoring the occasional cliches in the dialogue, credit should also be given to the voice actors, who conveyed emotions extremely well.

    Some of the most important improvements to game lie in the character customization. Now, players can customize weapons and armor far more extensively. A large variety of perks are available which can improve any characteristics of the weapons and armor. Shops are now available inside the player's own ship, which makes it far less laborious to buy upgrades to weapons and armor.
    Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    What can you say about a game so perfect and amazing that it makes all other RPG and action games look bad.Except for Skyrim,there is nothing made to date that even compares to this game.Look,the war scenes sound better than any war game ever made,more real, more authentic and that's just the sound part of the game.If you go into this game without ever playing past Mass Effect games then you come away from your gaming session,blown away beyond belief running to the store to get Mass Effect 1 and 2 on the 360 just to play,go into circles with your choices,let downs,saves,changes,ect..Then you start over,make different decisions and see another game.Now,if your involved and your ready for the next episode then your going to be in disbelief not expecting what's in store for you.I can't praise this game enough.They are very different kinda games but if you had me choose between this game and Skyrim,I wouldn't bat an eye to tell you to get that other shxx out of my face and give me my mass effect trilogy.I guarantee everyone that there will never be a trilogy EVER like this one in the rest of gaming's future.Mass effect 3 is nothing less than PURE GENIUS!10...10...10...10 Expand
  5. Aug 2, 2013
    10
    I can't believe how stupid 90% of the reviewers on this game are being. This game, no this series, is the pinnacle of video games inception into mature, well thought out story telling and emotionally jarring character building. The tension and the moral choices, combined with the stellar voice cast and excellent writing, help center the finale of this game series with a bang, creating some of the hardest decisions that I have ever made in any video game. I literally cried when both Garrus and Tali, who I had gotten very attached to, died in that final rush, an result to the well put together characters, and the bonds that you gain with them. The ending, while similar either way, ties the series up beautifully, and on top of that, possibly TOPS the last two. When I say that, I am mostly referring to the lack of customization that you are all complaining about in the ending from the vast amount of choices you made. To be totally honest, you never really saw the results of your choices in the previous games, until you played the next one. In the first game, you didn't see the results of saving the council really take effect until you met them in the next game. So stop complaining, and enjoy the end to one of the best RPGs that I have ever had the pleasure of playing. Expand
  6. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    It's really a shame people give the game a low score just because the last 5 minutes of the game aren't good. You have to review the game has a complete package, the action is the best in the entire trilogy, weapons are much better, the story is very emotional, the war is at grand scale at different places, and every decision you take is crucial to the life of many characters or races. Plus the ending will be fixed, I have hopes that it will be, it was all indoctrination there are so many facts that prove it. We can say a game sucks, just because of a writer or some writers went all weird on the story when the other people that worked hard on other aspects did an excellent job. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    It's great to see a game that allows such a wide range of experiences between people experiencing it.

    For instance, I experienced a game where you could choose to have relations with a wide range of characters in cut-scenes, or choose not to, on top of being a well-written epic about war, loss, hope, faith, and human redemption.

    Others, somehow, experienced a game where you're forced
    into gay bondage and have to spend every second of the game staring at naked floppy penises spinning around you like the Wicked Witch during the tornado in The Wizard of Oz.

    How two such different experiences can be had from a single video game is breathtaking!
    Expand
  8. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Please don't give the game 0/10 because you don't like the DLC. I have no DLC and the game is absolutely incredible, even better than ME2. You want to buy this, you will not regret it!!
  9. May 15, 2012
    10
    I am a fan of Mass Effect since 2007,and i have to say,Mass Effect 3 is not only my favorite of the trilogy,its probably my favorite game of this generation.Great graphics,amazing sound effects and soundtrack,the gameplay is fun and exciting,espetacular story and characters.Don't listen to those haters,Mass Effect 3 is an unforggetable,near perfect experience.One of the very few games that i actually cried (that only happen with me on 2 other games,Zelda Ocarina of Time and Metal Gear Solid 4).The multiplayer(which i was against it) is amazingly fun.But the best thing about ME3 is easily its story and characters,and both are one of the best i ever seen in gaming.Its an must buy game and trilogy. Expand
  10. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. First let me say that this is a great series and until the last 10 minutes of the game, this was the best game in the series. Most of the game really felt like a fitting end to the series. The gameplay is amazing, the visuals are stunning, and this game provokes more feeling in the player than any game(or book or movie for that matter) I've ever experienced. You make choices that allow people to sacrifice themselves, and you care about these characters. You are filled with hope and despair, joy and sadness, all at the right places. Then there is the ending. I won't say anything specific about what happens at the end, but I still checked the box for spoilers because even what I will say will be considered spoilers by many. None of your choices mattered. There are three endings and which you get or are successful are all based on your Effective Military Strength number. What's worse is that the endings aren't even functionally different. They destroy the ME universe and the franchise. I felt completely numb after finishing the series for a while and then the anger started to grow. The one good thing I can say about the ending is that there is a movement to change it so we might end up getting the ending we deserve. Expand
  11. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Fantastic game and it's pathetic marking low just because of the ending. You are looking at the game as an overall product. Resistance 3 was a great game but the ending sucked and that didn't have the scale and scope of ME3. This is an impressive achievement thank you Bioware
  12. Mar 29, 2012
    10
    'm not a big fan of Mass Effect 3's ending. I thought it was convoluted and anticlimactic for anticlimatic's sake. Though a lot of about the ending actually does work. I loved the fade out while I was rushing down to the last destroyer with my brother's in arms. I loved the fade in to Shephard badly injured and slowly walking towards her/his destiny awaiting him/her deep inside of The Citadel. I loved Anderson and Shepard communicating for opposite ends of The Citadel discussing what was going on. The long walk way up into The Illusive Man's secret hideout. It was all very atmospheric and epic and kind of beautiful. I thought the paragon/rendegade prompts were good as well during the "standoff". And I actually liked the twist that the little boy was The Catalyst. But the 3 choices he gives you were indeed pretty lame. And the lack of exposition following said decision was just plain bad. You can't end a game that encompasses over 140 hours of gameplay and millions of decisions made by the player with just 3 crew members walking off of the Normandy and just cut to the credits....EVEN IF you're planning on releasing DLC. There is a lot of room for criticism for that horrible decision made by whoever at Bioware that made it. I can't believe that ending got all the way to the final product. Its actually kind of sad. But, it DID NOT ruin the game or the series for me. Because it wasn't the fact that Shephard was destined to die (or not...we still don't know do we) that actually is kind of good when you think about it. Its life. Sometimes no matter what decisions you make you can't fight your fate and what is going to be is just going to be. Your destiny is something you must embrace. Which is why I chose the middle option and made Shephard sacrifice herself. Yes, HERSELF. Female Shephard is a MILLION TIMES better than male Shephard and I'm a dude. From the voice acting (Jennifer Hale is amazing and the guy voices male Shepard is very boring) to character design she is just so much more fun to play with. Seriously if you haven't played the games thru with Fem Shep you are doing yourself a HUGE disservice as I have found the game way better controlling her. But back to 3, the game is incredible. There are so many jaw-dropping moments and sheer brilliance (if you haven't played thru with the From Ashes DLC you are missing out on what I find to be the best addiction to the game - Javik and his story). The improvements in shooting and offensive strategy are borderline limitless. And I had a remarkable experience playing the game. To think someone can really give this game a 0-5 based off the ENDING ALONE is proposterous. Are you guys really even Mass Effect fans? Or narcissists? Expand
  13. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Are you kidding me?.. This game is AWESOME! it is different from the others and that's ok. Bioware manages to inject newness into a stellar franchise, at first i was a bit annoyed with the imported facial features being updated, but im begining to realize how awesome that feature is also, it allows the game to have an updated older feel for my Shepard. Bioware has certainly done it again! AMAZING game!!! Why so many zeros, i have no clue but there seems to be some sort of battle going on here. Definately a 10! Expand
  14. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I bought the game at midnight and played it solid until about 10am, thats because the story and writting is just so damn good that I want to see what happens next. I haven't beaten it yet, and while I know alot of people have I am trying to enjoy it and do the side missions, and the fetch quests, and really take in the Final chapter of Commander Shepard and his crew. Point being this game is EXTREMELEY fun and takes care of the true fans and new comers alike. If you loved ME 1, 2, then you owe your self to see this through. Those that are bad mouthing this game seemed to be expecting a pure run and gun action game and nor a RPG. Once more, play this game and see what an amazing feeling it is to see choices you made in 2007 (ME 1), 2010 (ME 2) and now come to an Epic close. Have fun!!! Expand
  15. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    Don't listen to the haters. Either they're crybabies over, not getting a CE, the day one DLC "From Ashes", or they overreacted to the leaked ending WITHOUT ever playing through the game from the start themselves. Which is nearly guaranteed since the video leaks happened a week or two before release anyway.

    This is a fitting conclusion to an EPIC trilogy, and it closes well enough.
    Obviously, you can't please everyone! Yet I think I writers did a good a job bringing it to life. For a saga as huge as Mass Effect, They came through. If the whiners can write a better story, then go, stop whining, and MAKE YOUR OWN DAMN GAME. Since ME3 wasn't good enough for your amazing tastes, and they are so much more talented than the people that make these games anyway... ;) Expand
  16. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Easily one one the very best games I've ever had the great pleasure of playing.The story is absolutely one of the best,and it's really a shame that people who are giving it bad reviews are mainly doing so because of the day one DLC but instead their missing out on one of the greatest games this generation. Hell, their missing out on one of the greatest games ever made period. If you have reservations cast them aside and play the game for yourself. you don't even need the DLC(which I've played) because it's not relevant to the main story. I can personally guarantee that if you love the old star wars, star trek, and battlestar galacticca this game will absolutely blow you away. Oh, and people a 1 or 2 is for a game that isn't even playable grow up or shut up. Thank you. Expand
  17. Apr 22, 2012
    10
    This game will be remembered for a long time for all the polemic that did. But I need to say something to all the fans: "This is a excellent saga, a excellent game and maybe we are not satisfied with the end but you will be agreed with me that you love the characters, the history and all the universe of Mass Effect".
    For me and for too many fans around the world, Mass Effect is one of the
    better sagas of video games until now. Long live to Commander Shepard. Expand
  18. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have been a fan of the M.E. universe since the beginning, and this game it the jewel on the crown!! I cant believe all the negative reviews!! #1 WHO CARES if the game doesn't recall every little decision youve ever made in ME 1 &2!! Honestly! it concludes the story that matters DEFEATING THE DAMN REAPERS which is the main focus throughout all of the series! #2 this story picks up shortly after the 2nd one ends...maybe if a few more people actually played through and payed attention to all of the cinematic and cut-scenes they would realize that. #3 The graphics engine and overall game-play are extremely well polished! The game does an amazing job of making you feel the weight and pressure of your choices and the task at hand....if you fail...everyone in the galaxy dies.... I think if people stopped criticizing the fact that "ME3 didn't remember the fact that I banged Miranda last game" and actually let themselves fall into the depth of the story, they would realize that it actually makes you feel like your making a difference or failing the galaxy.... I thoroughly enjoyed the game and still a loyal fan..I cant wait to see what the future of the ME universe holds. Long live Bioware! Expand
  19. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. The ending is fantastic; brilliant actually. This game is a continuation and culmination of the story of Mass Effect 1 and 2, which has remained consistent and well told from the very first moments of ME1. All the ending requires of the player is that you as a player engage a little bit of your own depth and intellectual curiosity. If you are unable to engage those qualities, than you have bigger problems than being dissatisfied with the ending of the greatest space saga of the last 30 years. There are some minor flaws in my mind; forcing the player into "multiplayer", you really have to. And also some of the 'enhanced' cover mechanics are buggy, and don't work as they should. BUT it is still a great game and without a doubt will be looked at by future generations as a seminal work of fiction in the early 21st century. Expand
  20. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 provides a stunning end to the trilogy. The voice acting is top-notch, and the attention to details of previous installments is gratifying (if you've imported your Shephard). The game looks great and the combat is more streamlined from ME2, with a much needed heavy melee option. The story is very well done, and wraps everything up quite nicely. Definitely worth the wait.
  21. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    My favorite part of the trilogy. Had high hopes and it delivered in almost every aspect. It's amazing to see all the various stories, conflicts and character arcs started in ME1 5 years ago get proper resolutions
  22. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I love this game. So much. This game is the pinnacle of everything BioWare has learned about storytelling throughout the Mass Effect series. While the first game was heavy on plot-driven storytelling and the second was heavy on the character development, Mass Effect 3 has both in spades. The cutscenes vary between epic and heartwrenching, the dialogue is great, and the voice acting has improved. The fate of all life in the entire galaxy rests on Shepard's shoulders, as it has since Mass Effect 1, but for the first time in the series, it's easy to get a sense of just how heavy that burden is. Expand
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    10
    A stunning spectacle of modern entertainment. Not only do you get to wrap up many key plots that have emerged within this fantastic trilogy, but the ending itself is a sight to behold. They forego the trappings of a modern WRPG, sacrificing all past choices, and giving you a hard hitting, lucid ending, instead. I can see more than a little 2001: A Space Odyssey, and more than enough Deus Ex influences, which, overall, help the ending immensely. I wouldn't recommend it above any other.

    Hold The Line. Keep ME3 the way it is.
    Expand
  24. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Its astonishing how many trolls and whiny little kids there are on this website crying about stuff that is minor at best. This game is nothing less than the end to the most Epic Space Trilogy of all time. The campaign kept me hooked from the moment the game took off and the story was spectacular. Now I know the nerds and trolls are going to bash the crap out of me for whatever I'm going to say or think, but I'm going to tell you the God's honest truth and break down the hate for this game. Firstly The Ending: I personally believe that the ending was fantastic and really left me feeling overwhelmed by my accomplishments and I felt sad for the characters that I grew so fond of in ME2 that died. The game left you with a real sense of drama and fulfillment. Now to address the hate, the most common thing I see written is that the 3 endings are too similar and do not show enough variation. The problem I have with this is these people that say this, I know 100% have either replayed only the last mission 3 times or have data mined the game on PC and watched the cut-scenes. Why do you people not understand that when you spoil the endings like that for yourself you are setting yourself up for supreme disappointment. If you legitimately played through the entire game and didn't skip conversations and really built upon the amazing character backgrounds then you would have loved the ending and really appreciated the way things left off. â Expand
  25. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    When I first started playing this game I hated it, it felt to me like Bioware had sold out in order to make more people com to the series so they could make the most money, I thought this because Shepard did most of the talking and you only had one or two chances to choose a response, but that was just the opening moments and after the first hour or two you begin to realize that this is still your story, your choices matter, and this is one of the greatest games of all time, it's true Shepard will do a lot of the talking, but you'll still get to make the big decisions in the conversation that define you as the main character, they just get the small talk out of the way so you can make the real decisions, and while I don't want to see that happening anymore in future Bioware games it just works for some reason here, and speaking of decisions you have some extremely tough ones to make, every choice you make truly effects the galaxy, and it kept me more emotionally invested in it than any other game ever has, and every choice you made in the first two Mass Effect games including the DLC come back here to either help or haunt you, and that truly makes the fact that this is your story all the more believable, and the relationships you've made through the first two games affect this one in such an emotional and powerful ways I can't help but love this, you'll find yourself falling in love with the characters all over again, and you'll also love the new characters just as much, another thing that puts this game above every other is the fact that this game captures the feeling of all out galactic warfare like no other game has, the battles are intense and truly give you the feeling of fighting in a war, and every decision you make carries wait and affects the war like no other game has, the combat is tight but not the tightest, basically it's no Gears of War in the combat, I'd even say that combat was smoother in Mass Effect 2, but it's far better then the first Mass Effect, and it is still addicting and fun to kill enemies, and the ending, while most people are complaining about it, I personally liked mine, granted I would have rather walked of happily with Tali off into the sunset and lived happily ever after with my friends, but it's still emotional and leaves a lot open for other games in this series, and hopefully more DLC and sequels (bring Shepard back please!), and the ending and the scene after the credits just brought a lot of question I need answered, it also has some fantastic multiplayer (similar to Gears of War's horde mode) that ties in well to the campaign, it does have some issues like one or two plot holes, glitches, it's not going top please newcomers all that much, and one or two other issues, but after playing this emotional masterpiece I can't help but give it a 10 out of 10, and when I think about this game and how it does things that no other game has ever done and I doubt ever will the issues mean nothing, this is truly a masterpiece and I'm just going to come out and say it the greatest game I've ever played, oh yeah and this is also the best looking game I've ever seen, it has some of the craziest moments and awesome set pieces that put the Call of Duty series to shame, and the voice acing is phenomenal, a true masterpiece and one of, if not the greatest game/games of all time, and a must play for fans. Expand
  26. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 is probably the best game in the series and deserves nothing less than a 10 on a rating scale.the Graphics are superb,and the story is top notch,and let's not forget about the awesome musical score that keeps you're heart pumping and the controller going crazy in you're hands.I know this review is very late,but I wanted to wait until all the bugs were addressed with patches before I give my final review.also the multi-player is awesome and a great addition to an already awesome game.too all you Trolls on here giving ME3 awful reviews,get over you're BS and stop bashing this game. Expand
  27. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    Please don't hate me: I give this game a 10 because 99% of Mass Effect 3 is amazing and I'm certain that BioWare will inevitably come to their senses and fix the broken 1%.

    As to all of you who love Mass Effect but give low Metacritic scores just to get back at BioWare for the ending, just give it a 9, and then say it was because of the ending that you didn't give it a 10.
  28. Jun 3, 2012
    10
    I know that they are those that were disappointed by the ending they got. There were in fact 7 different endings and the options you had for the ending was based on your military readiness when you went into battle, as well as choices you made in the game. Yes, all the endings did leave unanswered questions, and it was not the classic storybook ending we seem to expect in games, books, and movies today. You know, the heroes hugging and high-fiving each other and walking into the victoriously into sunset. However, I credit Bioware for doing something outside of the standard â Expand
  29. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    The graphics are better. There are more RPG elements: The power progression is more interesting, the weapon load out allows for more variations while being constrained by weight, the shops sell more interesting items, and you must dominate the whole universe against the enemy onslaught. The acting is just as superb if not better; perhaps the full body animations are better. The fighting is intense. In almost every way this game is an enhancement upon its predecessors. The only problem I've encountered was in the import of my character which I played from ME1 through ME2: I had to re-customize the characters facial features as they didn't import correctly. I'm sure this will be rectified, but it's a rude goof that only effects the most long term of fans. This game is awesome in every other way. It goes beyond AAA standards. Expand
  30. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect 3 is undoubtedly the best game I have ever played. It does a brilliant job of concluding the series and everything you have ever done in the previous games adds up to a smart and satisfying finish. It's combat, never its strongest point, is spot on with tight controls and great action. The rpg elements of the first game are also back, without the terribly annoying inventory clearing required before. The dialogue is also fantastic and your choices have the utmost importance. Occasionally, I did find that some lines were delivered awkwardly, but that was more of an issue with the sound mixer than with the actual voice actors. Furthermore, I have had occasional glitches and bugs as well, but they did not detract from the overall experience. One of the big complaints I have found so far is the ending. In my honest opinion, the ending was fantastic. it challenges the preconceived notion of a happy ending in true scifi form and, while the fate of civilizations and characters are not clearly defined, it is up to the player to conclude these threads with their own imagination, not a wall of text or a montage of cutscenes. Furthermore, there are 16 unique endings, each subtly different from the next and each depends on your actions throughout the games in the form of the EMS meter, which collects war assets gained from allies and friend made in every mass effect game. It isn't as fantastic as every character ever met playing a direct role in your endgame, but honestly, it was a great way to deal with a gargantuan series. Mass Effect 3 is fantastic and before anyone gets turned off by the user score, they should at least give it a try. Expand
  31. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    First off, find this guy's review. orctowngrot ------ I don't have to write everything I would like, but he does a nice job at saying what I feel. Okay, I haven't reached the end, so I can't comment on that. But what I can say is that even if I didn't make it to the end, I could stop now and walk away smiling. Mass Effect 3 is a great GAME. It's not the best piece of literature out there, it's not the perfect game by any means, and I'm fully expecting the ending to be a little lame. Because you know what? Compared to the meat of each of the first two, their endings weren't exactly spectacular. Mass Effect 3 in no way deserves a 0, or a 1, or even a 5. The gameplay is great, the emotion is great, the storytelling is great, the... You get the idea. If you liked the first two, play this game. If the ending winds up being off, who cares? You'll still have a great 50+ hours of fun before then. (Note: I actually wouldn't recommend this to someone who hasn't played the first two. There is a lot of backplot that wouldn't be nearly fullfilling [read: not at all] if you are coming in cold turkey.) 9 b/c I can't give is 9.5, and there are definite flaws and bugs. P.S. I don't know what people are on when they are saying their previous choices don't matter. Even if they "don't" matter, there is certainly a great illusion that they do. I'll take the awesome smoke and mirrors that you very much. Expand
  32. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I honestly can't see why anyone would negatively review this game. Yes the game has day one DLC, stop crying. If the DLC had been held for a month no one would have cared. This game is irrefutably amazing so stop giving it a bad score because it deserves every ounce of the 94 critics have given it.

    This game is a satisfying end to one of the greatest sci-fi universes of all time. Single
    player is smooth and game play is very fun, however the story is where Mass Effect shines through. The game knows how to keep you interested when you may be tired of the game play. I was also very impressed by the quality of the multiplayer. It may not be as good as Gears or Nazi Zombies but for a game that has always been devoted to singleplayer they pulled off an amazing transition to coop multiplayer. In summary, ignore the haters, buy the game. Don't miss out on one of the greatest games of this generation just because some people are stupid. Expand
  33. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    A fantastic and highly-satisfying conclusion to one of the best RPG series of all time. I bought the collector's edition of the game and have been unable to tear myself away from it since 12:01am on release day.
  34. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    A perfect game. They added more rpg elements back that they toned down in ME2, giving you more control over item customization and weapon variation as well as leveling, which I really appreciated. The story telling, as always is fantastic. Bioware remains one of the best game developers in history.

    And for all you DLC whiners, don't buy it if you don't want it. But let's be honest,
    you should all just be glad that game prices haven't risen at all in the past few years. The cost to create new games continues to rise, but companies aren't punishing us, the gamers by raising costs again. They're finding creative ways to make a profit and in many cases break even. So if you want to rate a game a zero because a company is letting some people spend extra money on extra content so that I can still enjoy one of the best games ever made at $60, you all deserve the self misery you're forcing yourselves to live by not enjoying this game like you should. Expand
  35. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Its a solid game for me, with minor flaws. The flaws thats in the game is overshadowed by the great story. The game I think has more RPG elements than the 2:nd instalment but not as much as the first one. But it enough i think.
  36. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    I was a fan of the first game, I fell in love with the second game, and was hoping not to be let down in the third game. Not only wasn't I let down, I found one of the most satisfactory concluding acts to a video game trilogy that I've ever seen. I have played through the first two games (full playthroughs) about a dozen times. I have read every bit of lore (all the books and all the comic books). Bioware has said that, if you take a ME1/ME2 character import file, you are literally importing over a thousand choice variables into the game. Therefore, from the very beginning, you have a unique experience that is tailored to you. The graphics and gameplay are the best of the series. There is a little bit of choppy-ness in some of the cut scenes, but this is forgivable due to the excellent presentation otherwise. The game's story does seem to rely a lot on prior knowledge- Bioware has said that those who start playing ME3 without an import file will have those "prior knowledge" references removed, but I haven't completed a playthrough without an imported character, so I can't personally verify that. There is a lot of controversy with the ending. I will not have spoilers of what happens, but I will say that the ending is left wide open; the game instead ties up a lot of the game's loose ends throughout rather than right at the finale. I personally found the ending to be quite satisfactory- you basically take what you want from it, everything isn't happily spelled out for you. Overall, this game shines on so many levels. It took me about 30 hrs to finish a very completionist playthrough of the game. Therefore, whatever your feelings of the final 10 minutes are, they don't overshadow the other 29 hours and 50 minutes of undisputed brilliance. If you play this game with an open mind and take the time to engage yourself with the characters throughout, you will find that the ending is quite satisfactory. The ending doesn't lend closure, but there is plenty of time throughout the game to get that closure before the ending. Expand
  37. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    As always, Mass Effect pushes the boundaries of game experience. The characters, lore, and depth of the universe and the sheer quality of every square inch of the game is the pinnacle of video gaming. The single-player and multi-player are both near perfect for what they are, and I'm not budging in saying that this is the greatest trilogy in the gaming world to date. That said, the ending of the series confuses the hell out of me. Whereas I thought the ending would be about the bond between Shepard and his squad-mates in their flawed attempts at trying to survive the impossible together, this game completely deviates from that. The ending of ME3 is suicidal in that it destroys it's own legacy, a legacy greater than any other game I've played. Not sure if I can ever play Mass Effect again. Expand
  38. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    It's not the game I anticipated, but it IS a great game. The series came a long way. I was skeptical of the multiplayer component. Bioware blended the customization of ME1 and the streamlined gameplay of ME2. Even though ME2 was an improvement in almost every conceivable way, they listened to fans that took issue with the changes. Now many of the same fans are trolling metacritic.
  39. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Nothing less then perfection. I managed to get a copy a few days early and I never thought the story and game could top what the last two games have delivered, but this keeps getting better and better! You really do feel the weight of those decisions you made. Its great to finally see the outcome of these shaping after waiting for 5 years in curiosity as to what would happen. Certainly doesn't disappoint! Gameplay mechanics have taken a sharp turn for the better and have progressed a long way since ME2. It great a lot of mods that were a fun point of ME1 have returned also. Shepard's story could not have asked for a better conclusion then this! Massive credit to Bioware to improving on a series that is already top of its league! No easy feat, but they have done it with flying colors! Expand
  40. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I love it, gotten goosebumps playing this game more than I can ever recall from a video game. Seeing how so many characters that I care about have grown, is fantastic. I love the job the writers did with many of the characters. Certain ones that I felt lacked emotion early on in the series and didn't like as much as others, really seem to have evolved. Very pleased with Mass Effect 3.
  41. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I've played all 3 Mass Effect
    This. Is a great game!
    The gameplay is a bit weird as the dialogue choices decreased. But I still love the gameplay!
    Moreover, the story!!
  42. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    I don't really understand why some users are giving this game such a low score, while it may differ from the previous slightly its not enough to warrant a 0 or 1 rating. Its interesting that users who game the game a 9-10 for mass effect 2 are now giving it a 1. Seems to me like something else is bothering players and its not the game play, I think the game is pretty freaking good if you ask me
  43. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    People are rating this game bad based on things to do with, Homosexuality,day 1 DLC, and other stupid reasons. First of all, the day 1 DLC is not mandatory, it's just a DLC that feeds you more of a side story then anything else, and they made this AFTER they finished creating the game. What difference does it make if they release it on day 1 or waiting a month to release it? The DLC has nothing to do with the main quest, it isn't vital. The people giving this game a 0 shouldn't review games, because I'm sure this game is better than a 0 or even mediocre. Most people giving this game a 0 haven't even played the game or they say the story sucks but they also say that they only played a few hours of the game. First of all complete the game before reviewing it. That is like rating a movie based on it's trailer. I'm not reviewing this game, because I haven't played it yet. But I was compelled to write to all those people who cry about dumb crap. They also say that there is hardely any gameplay it's all cutscenes.... Ok so why rate it 0? If that was the case then Metal Gear Solid 4 should of got a 0 too. I doubt that Mass Effect 3 had lenghty cutscenes like Metal Gear Soild 4. The Elder Scroll games get praised all the time (except for PS3 version) and everytime you walk through a door or o to a next area, it has to load. I don't see anyone complaining about that. But people complain about cutscenes. I'd rather watch a cutscene then watch a loading screen. Anyway you people destroy gaming, and are not happy with anything. maybe that is the reason games are becomming less fun, because the creators don't know what the "fans" want anymore. How come people go all crazy about any Call of Duty game and it's all recycled crap and they are all the same game, but they don't complain about that, they sell the same game every year, and people don't complain, but they will complain about Day 1 DLC for 10 bucks.. Bioware atleast tries to make a decent game. Same with Guitar Hero, people use to buy every Guitar Hero when infact it's all the same game. Just like Call of Duty. Yet these games get praised. Hmmmm..... Give the game a serious review, because a 0 isn't fair. Go play Call of Duty. Expand
  44. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    The problem with Mass Effect 3 is that it stems too far from its roots. Mass Effect 1 was an rpg that took place is an incredible future that you wanted to explore for hours. Mass Effect 2 continued to do the same, albeit in a lesser way. The trade though gave us gameplay that far surpassed the first. Then comes Mass Effect 3. Forced homosexuality and transgender roles on the Normandy, a placid universe despite the fact that it is allegedly being torn apart, and then the most lackluster story of the entire trilogy. Many people will debate otherwise but the game has lost any flavor it once had. If you must play it rent it, but if you enjoyed 1 and 2 you might find it hard to enjoy 3. Expand
  45. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Great Story and in my opinion a fitting end to the trilogy. Definitely worth playing if you have played the first and Second games because it finishes arguably one of the best Trilogies of Games this gen.
  46. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    I loved the first and the second ME for what they were. The third mass effect seems to improve on most of things and the story/characters is what makes me give it a 10/10. I absolutely love this game and I hope that BW will continue the ME universe in some other form!
  47. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    My god.. to think i just about did not go buy this game because of all the negative reviews i read on here. Boy you people are a piece of work this is the best game i have played in a long long time. Anyone who gives this game a bad score need to go have there head checked. 10/10
  48. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Please ignore all of the trolls faking bad reviews, this game is EPIC, I have 120,000 achievement points on the Xbox 360, and this is the BEST game I've ever played, don't miss out.
  49. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Incredible game. Filled with excitement. Great graphics, incredible story. People shouldn't play Mass Effect 3. They should live it. It's incredible, more than we could have hoped for.
  50. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    I don't get all the negative user reviews here. Mass Effect 3 has been one of the most enjoyable experiences I've had in the past couple years in gaming, and I think Bioware did a magnificent job in tieing up all the loose ends as well as bringing all the decisions, from large to very small, together.

    The combat is better, and with the addition of being able to mod your weapons, it has
    become more in depth. The game is incredibly cinematic, the graphics are great, barring the occasional pop in, and I've yet to run into any game breaking bugs, and in fact have only encountered one bug where some squad mates got stuck on a ladder, but a revert to the last checkpoint fixed that.

    The game is certainly unforgiving, in regards to the decisions you made in previous titles and especially the ones you make in this game. Make no mistake, there is no perfect scenario and often times you're choices are one sacrifice, or another (not unlike the Vermire [sp?] situation in ME1). So maybe that's where all the hate is coming from; because the developers made a game that has actual consequence instead of automatic win scenario?
    Expand
  51. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Ignore this troll filled cavern that has become the User Score area for ME3... the critics reviews sum it up perfectly - the near perfect end to the best sci-fi trilogy ever, in any medium ever... I have clocked in 22 hours so far and it is blowing me away.. I've already needed to call in sick for the second day straight, my body was ready - but my timesheet wasn't.. it didn't ask for this.. but it's damn well getting it. Mass Effect 3 holiday has begun!

    With Mass Effect 2 being my all time favourite game ever, it's the best place to look for direct comparisons (sorry series noobz, you need to play ME1 & ME2 to truly appreciate this game IMHO). I would say it is less of a jump, more of a hop in terms of gameplay and mechanics compared to ME2, but THE STORY IS AMAZING (I'm over 1/2 way currently, and s*** is getting tense!) and the story/character development is designed so perfectly, Leonardo DaVinci would be proud of it's vision and divine beauty. If you were worried Bioware might have dumbed down the writing, you would be wrong. Don't let the demo's first bits penned dialogue give you a wrong impression of the rest of the games wordplay, it gets MUCH BETTER with 'We Fight or we Die that's the plan' and some other choice phrases from the very start of the game being the only real flat material.. seriously should have taken the demo from any other part of the game to showcase FAR better character interaction and impressive dialogue choice trees. I have noticed the further into the game you go, the more interwoven elements from the previous games become apparent and really knock your socks off... You get many Kaiser Soze moments, and I'm only 1/2 way through this bad boy.. The culmination of everything I love about Sci-Fi, Mass Effect 3 is a masterpiece.
    It's what Return of the Jedi should have been, it's that good. Go out and buy this now. A Mal Reynolds approved 'Shiny' full marks for my game of the.. well, life. (it's that good, honest!)
    10/10
    Expand
  52. Jun 5, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. The ending is very controversial (as you can see by the huge amount of negative reviews), and is the only reason I wouldn't give this a 10. But they're making a DLC to improve the end, and that's good enough for me. The combat is perfectly polished, fun and responsive. The story is as good as you would expect from a Bioware game. The characters are incredible. This is a great end to an AWESOME series. Highly recommended! Expand
  53. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Though I am nowhere into this game yet, I am giving this 100% just to help kill off the negativity that the 'sexual orientation crew' and 'ending' crew have put on this game. I am disgusted with you all.

    It's time gamers grew up.
  54. Apr 27, 2012
    10
    This game is of the hook the story is so perfect the gameplay is smooth the graphics is fantastic and once again Mass Effect 3 is very addictive having played mass effect 1 and 2 and having all 3 games I must say the mass effect franchise was amazing and very addictive I have given my review on the fist two games and will still not give a review on the first two but will give both mass effect 1 and 2 a solid 10 out of 10 and Mass Effect 3 deserve's the same rating as the first 2 games.This game is a masterpiece the entire franchise is a masterpiece. Expand
  55. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I'm appauled to see so much negative comments toward this game that just came out today. This game is clearly an excellent piece of work and Canadian developer BioWare have really out done themselves with the story. I almost laughed at the trolls posting so much negative stuff about a game they never really played yet. Graphics: 9.3/10 BioWare really improved the lighting this time around and the general atmosphere of the sci-fi is amazing. Some minor texture pop in is the only real downside. Sound: 10/10 the VO is absolutely top notch and the sound effects are nicely done too. Gameplay: 9.6/10 same basics as ME2 but wayyyy better combat. Length: 10/10 You'll beat it once and just want to play it again and again. Multiplayer is a nice addition too. Overall: 9.8/10 Masterpiece and a must buy. Don't listen to other user reviews on this game. Expand
  56. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    Loved absolutely every minute of this game. Extremely well made, great story, and a great end to the Mass Effect Franchise, I wouldn't miss this if I were you. There are a few glitches, but they are nothing to get bogged down about, they are very minor.
  57. Mar 23, 2012
    10
    I was perfectly impressed by this game. There is a distinct lack of certain character development options, but that is fitting for the theme of the game. I played through the entire trilogy and love ME3. Full blog at http://tinyurl.com/8a6lnzk
  58. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    all these people giving low scores and what for? it's just as good as the second and slightly better, you wanna score a game low? go check out leisure suit larry
  59. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At first, I was just as disappointed with this game as everyone else. I was thinking "great, so it 's become even more of a third person shooter than before". But then the game really turns it around. One thing I especially like is that it really returns to the Mass Effect 1 style of upgrading weapons and buying new versions. The only thing I don't like about ME2 is that there aren't enough weapons and this completely takes care of the issue. What impressed me the most about this game was the decision making. In the previous two you would make a decision and have it effect the game close to the end. This game has most decisions you make have immediate and possibly catastrophic consequences. The part where you have to decide whether to save the Geth or the Quarians is the most powerful and biggest decision I have ever made in a video game. This part was incredibly powerful for me and made me realize that no matter how commercialized parts of this game are, it is truly a work of art. The emotional impacts this game had on me, coupled with some of the most intense decision making ever really made this game incredible. The ending is powerful and emotive and actually reminds me of the third Matrix in a lot of ways. This game has done things that games have never done for me before, in fact it hardly even seems like a game. It felt like I was really inside Shepard's mind. Probably one of the most powerful, emotive and immersive games I have ever played I must give it a ten EVEN THOUGH IT'S NOT PERFECT! Expand
  60. Mar 13, 2012
    10
    Amazing game filled with many emotional moments. The ending may not have been what I expected but it left an emotional impact on me which few games have done. I consider that an accomplishment.
  61. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    is the star wars of our generation is an incredible game and immerses you in its history, you warm up to his characters, you stop to look at the scenarios, is a great game and highly recommended
  62. Jan 27, 2013
    10
    I don't understand all the bad reviews of this game. Ending aside, it's up to the high standard of the previous two games, though not quite scaling the heights of ME2 it's still easily one of the best video games ever made. There is simply so much to do with all the character classes, upgrades, customisation, side missions, etc. Despite it's flaw this is the kind of game most game developers can only dream of making. Expand
  63. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    Mass effect 3 does everything the previous games did and does them even better. Everything in ME3 is great the combat is fluid, conversations are still fun to listen to, and the story is better than ever. The guys at Bioware really nailed the overall feeling of hopelessness and survival in the story. The characters that Mass Effect fans know and love make even more appearances this time around. I really have nothing bad to say about this game, there is nothing wrong or annoying with the game at all. Bioware even removed the annoying mining mini game from the first two games. I can't get enough of the customization on my guns and armor. The Mass Effect series is great and really ends with perfection, and is definitely a good time. Oh and by the way, to all of the people giving this game bad **** you:) Expand
  64. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    Somehow my review was deleted. So im saying it again. I pity the fool who hates on Mass Effect 3! V. V. V. V. V. V v.
  65. Apr 16, 2012
    10
    Great ending to the best trilogy for years. I don't get why people are crying a river over the ending? What did you expect, Shepard riding in the sunset like some cliche children's hero? The ending we get is a great way to end this story arch. I didn't felt screwed over, I felt over all that this was the only, logical way to end the series. One man can only do so much and let's face it: the situation Shepard ends in at the end of the game has only one conclusion. People, grow up. Expand
  66. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    I am not going to waste my time explaining why this was another great game in a fantastic series. I simply want to post my rating so Bioware knows not every internet user hates their guts. It is absurd the reaction this game has gotten, as it was nothing short of a masterpiece of gaming. I have enjoyed every second of the 30+ hours of gameplay (up to and including the ending) and I understand a few of the complaints, but a few (possible) plot holes and a little convoluted conclusion does nothing to diminish the fun I had while playing through this great game.

    I am disappointed that, ultimately your decisions in the prior three games do not affect the ending much, but the story I experienced up until the ending would have been extremely different had someone else been making decisions through the games. I commend Bioware for yet another amazing game and cannot wait for their next one.
    Expand
  67. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    The hype for this game was so high that many players of the first two games ignorantly conditioned themselves to having such grand expectations that disappointment was inevitable. The result is a "rage review" by hundreds of gamers giving an otherwise great game an unfair review. 0 out of 10 is just ridiculous. Any game where effort was given doesn't deserve such a review. Usually I think 10 is not achievable, but the combination of the best story I've ever experienced, much improved combat along with the addition of a challenging and enjoyable multiplayer breaks my hesitation in rating a game as perfect. Expand
  68. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    good grief. What an amazingly awesome and truly epic finale to a series that I've loved since the first. If you play through this game without playing the first 2 first, you're doing yourself a disfavor. You didn't read or watch the return of the king before watching the hobbit, did you? or watch harry potter 20 or whatever the last one was before reading or watching the first 19 or how ever many there were first did you? And play it the rpg way the way it was meant to be played. They fixed everything that was slightly wrong with the first two. So much more weapon and power upgrade capabilities. So much more armor customization. So much more story. XP for looking over a balcony? no. XP for helping disputes? Yes. Is it that much more awesome? yes. Everything is polished to a current gen premium shine. sound is brutal and varied and exciting and the best of the series and the sci-fi genre as a whole. I didn't enjoy the demo all that much and seriously didn't think it could recapture that amazement and discovery the first game did what seems like such a long time ago, but it does so much more. the negative reviews aren't from hard core gamers. period. if you know games, or mass effect, or science fiction, or fun, or life, you can't play this game and give it an honest bad review. that would be like saying the mona lisa has too much paint on it. or the zonda isn't fast enough. or the south pole isn't snowy enough. if you own a system that can play this game, do it. if you don't enjoy this game, you're a krogan. Expand
  69. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    What's up with all the negative feedback? There were over a 100 negative user reviews like an hours after release, you cannot possibly run the game that fast. Mass Effect is the best game series there is now adays, i'm 15 hours in and i can't stop, it's made tear up twice and the only thing i can find negative is a few minor bugs. Did /b/ raid this thing or something? Or are there just CoD children running around? Seriously learn what a good game is and stop with the negative feedback without even playing the game! Expand
  70. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    Please, please ignore all the fools that don't know their arse from the elbow. Sure the game starts slow, but, the same as other Mass Effect games, you get captivated and engrossed in the excellently crafted universe that has been sculpted and perfected over the last 6 years. If you love games you will love ME3. If you love ME you will love ME3. If you are a hick you will think otherwise.
  71. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I love this game so far. I played through ME1 once and ME2 twice. I liked 2 more and I may like it more than this one. That said it is still a great game. I decided to write a review to counter some of these stupid mad about same day DLC comments. First off it makes sense what bioware said they did it for. It takes time from game completion to release. So why not work on more content. Just because it was done before the games release doesnt mean it should be free. Also all those saying that it is unlocked off the disc are full of crap. Its a huge download. Well over its on the disc content like other games. Expand
  72. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    The user rating for this game is utter BS and anyone with a brain knows it. ME3 has it's problems, sure, but the current 5.1 (was as low as a 4.5 at one point, seriously?!) is a pure result of immature fanboys whom expect the world in innovation and content, and whom flame out of control because they employ some false sense of ownership over a multimillion dollar franchise. When every little detail isn't exactly as they want, they react. Thus the growing problem with the gaming industry as a whole. We are becoming overly-demanding, under-appreciating, immature, picky, and senseless dimwits. Anyone who plays Mass Effect 3 as it was intended and for what it was intended, that being the concluding chapter in a self-built story where your choices DO impact the game on a large and small scale, will walk away with a more refined game than ME1 or ME2 and most importantly one that tries so desperately hard at every turn to make the time you spent doing missions and building connections feel worth it. If people complained that ME2 was overly referential, nobody should play Mass Effect 3 for the story at all unless they have completed both (yes, unfortunate PS3 users, both) of the old titles. No, not every decision impacts the galaxy, and I never list potential spoilers, but the level of interactivity and changes that can take place from one play to the next are staggering. So many details had to be taken into account by Bioware and they have succeeded in any way that any true fan cared about. Most haters are over-expecting bastards and have no place rating Mass Effect. The first game had a small audience for a reason. Expand
  73. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect pra mim eh o simbolo maior da geracao atual, sempre fui fa desde o primeiro e comprei minha edicao de colecionador por tamanho respeito e carinho que tenho pela saga. O que falar entao de Mass Effect sem parecer um fanboy? Historia irada, personagens incriveis, tecnica perfeita, mecanica anos luz a frente do primeiro e jah sensacional Mass Effect original. Eh Mass Effect 3 eh muito melhor do que eu imaginava, o unico jogo longo que estava torcendo pra nao acabar, nao por causa do final polemico (ate pq achei sensacional) mas porque eu sei que ao fechar seria o fim, e eu realmente nao queria o fim. Sheppard, Garrus, Thane, Jack, eu realmente vou sentir falta deles, sao personagens que me envolvi e o mais sensacional evoluiram ao longo da historia. Tenho uma coisa a dizer, Bioware muito obrigado pela experiencia, pelos momentos de indecisao de ficar por minutos pensando nas consequencias de minhas acoes, muito obrigado pela estadia na Normandy. Mass Effect 3 tem ainda um bom adendo o multiplayer, nao eh algo sensacional mas devido ao incrivel background torna a experiencia bacana, Quero muito DLCs muito mesmo, e as vezes fico imaginando plots indivduais para cada personagem. Seria maneiro o fim no ponto de vista de cada personagem, e uma mecanica diferenciada pra cada. Mas está de bom tamanho, na verdade estou satisfeito. 10 com louvor se pudesse dava 11. "Sheppard out" Expand
  74. Apr 24, 2012
    10
    Let me begin by saying that Mass Effect 3 is an excellent game, and is worthy of the five star rating I have assigned to it. However, you may have heard some lackluster comments about the ending, and yes, the ending was a disappointment for me, as well as many others, but this doesn't detract much from the rest of the game. The gun play has been refined to the point of near perfection, and the RPG elements have been expanded upon from Mass Effect 2, though still not as in-depth as Mass Effect, which in my opinion was a bit too complex. However, it feels as if the game took a hit in the story department, limiting your overall choices in conversations by removing the neutral options. It may seem as if I'm complaining about the story, but across all three games, it's still one of the best stories ever told in gaming. (And if you're concerned about the ending, Bioware has confirmed that a free DLC titled "Extended Cut" will be released this summer, hopefully putting an end to everyone's ending woes.)

    While Mass Effect 3 may not be as amazing as it's predecessor, Mass Effect 2, they are both definitely worthy of being on the list of the best games I have ever played.

    9.7/10
    Expand
  75. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. One of my favorite games of all time. Haters gonna hate. The DLC is worth the price and it took me 60 hours to complete the entire game. Totally worth the $70 price tag.
  76. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    It's quite simply everything I could hope for. Amazing presentation, beautiful graphics, epic story and intense on-the-edge-of-your-seat gameplay. You won't be disappointed.
  77. Mar 25, 2012
    10
    After reading all of the user reviews, I question if they even know what they are saying. Would you petition an author to rewrite a book just because it didn't have an ending you liked? No. Mass Effect 3 has superseded all of my expectations and hopes I have grown since the first day Mass Effect 1 came out. The story is impressively extensive, and the combat has somehow improved upon the second. Many critisize the ending, and many give the game a "0" just because BioWare released downloadable content day one that was on the disc. What do I say? Don't buy the content, haha! It is embarrasing to have such whiners in the community, I truly believe they are all great people, smart, and are intelligent, but I believe people are losing themselves over a franchise they were so obsessed with, that because the ending left some questions unanswered, that because the ending was so out of their reach, they want to have one cohessive thought, and that (for some reason) is to complain. The game itself is not broken like some idiots try to reason, which is beyond me. The story is a masterpiece among modern games, a pinnacle of unventured futures of scifi epics, one that can rival that of Star Wars and Star Trek. Do NOT let the negative reviews get you down, and just play it. Expand
  78. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Solid singleplayer, amazing multiplayer, If you have played mass effect 1 or 2 then you already have this game and love it, I'm not going to be able to say anything to help. If you don't have this game, Think if your favorite shooter had select-able squadmates, customizable weapons and armor. Now if it had a story like a choose your own adventure.
  79. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome. All these people are just trolling. Stupid idiots ruining this website.......................................................................................................................
  80. May 7, 2012
    10
    (possible spoilers)
    Hate that is directed towards this game is only due to fans getting an ending they were not expecting. The ending does not and should not take away the fact that Mass Effect 3 is a fun and engaging game that has lovable characters and a deep, rich world. Would I have liked the ME series to end a bit different? absolutely, but the fact is how the game ends leaves
    plenty of room for interpretation(which is a trend that we gamers are the cause of). Hopefully the coming extended cut DLC will bring more closure to fans that wanted to see the effects that their Shepard had on the Galaxy. Fans should note this was Shep's story if he were to die that should be it for the story. Expand
  81. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    Best in the series so far. Ignore all the negative reviews, they complain about small things and are generally dumb reviews. this is some amazing storytelling.
  82. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    Great Game. Great Ending. Dont like it? Write a better one. Just because YOU think the end should be a certain way doesn't make it the case. Consider this a life lesson. For the most part, whats going to happen is going to happen. It's all about the journey.
  83. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Lots of fun, great game. The game has 3 settings; 1 for people wanting to play a shooter, 1 for traditional mass effect players, and 1 for people that don't want to deal with shooting. Be warned, this choice effects the rest of the game. There's no mandatory DLC, it's an optional character with no story outside the DLC.. just like Mass effect 2's DLC.
  84. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This game have should be launch on November or December 2011 on the holidays, I do not know much of games engine but this got to be the best ever. So much you can do and no limitations. If you are not a fan well like Yoda said "You will be".
  85. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    I honestly don't know why everyone is complaining... I've been following this series since Mass Effect 1, and this final installment does not disappoint.
  86. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    Despite the ending, BIOWARE put together another game that I fully engrossed myself in for two straight days. This game may not have had any new graphics, but it came with a plethora of weapons and gear which the Mass Effect 2 lacked. This game meshed ME1 and ME2 perfectly and the decisions felt as real as ever. The one blemish to this amazing game of course us the ending. As a true fan of anything BIOWARE, I can truly say that this is not enough to ruin a perfect score especially with the company re-writing the ending. It is TBD whether or not they will force you to pay money for said "DLC". But if i were BIOWARE, given the absolutely terrible feedback from FANS, i would think they would not charge. BUT EA is the overall leader and has the finals say in that matter. EA has had a bad history of being untrue to their fans. We'll see folks. Although the ending of ME2 is much more memorable, this game ended how it should have and will now have an even better ending with more closure. I think we can all thank BIOWARE for giving us such a great trilogy to remember (and still be playing over and over and again) for years to come. So, fans of the trilogy and BIOWARE, stop with the bad reviews, the game was glorious and the games will always be the best storyline I have ever experienced. So with that, I give this game an 11 out of 10 for effort on BIOWARE's behalf. Keep up the good work guys! Expand
  87. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    2007, I will never forget you for you introduced me to the 7th gen of gaming and the best Sci fI GASIM that I have had in gaming since Wing Commander. ME1 was the high of my 25years of gaming. What makes it even better is that us gamers get 2 more games:) Haters will hate. But you have to be very spoilt to hate such a piece of art made by passionate hard working people. Sure I hate day 1 DLC but that is just the new work model of todays Industry so get over it.

    I gave it a 10 based on the simple fact that it has to be better than ME1. Good Effort and thanks for my 90-100hours of Sci Fi bliss. Something that Star Trek should have done.
    Expand
  88. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    I can't believe people are giving it zeros just because of day one DLC. Apparently they just don't know how game development works. 10 because it's an amazing game with amazing DLC
  89. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    You'll be thinking about your choices days after completion; a feat not many games in the industry can replicate. With this being said, the combat is better, and the multiplayer only adds more to an already robust package. And the story? The Mass Effect series will go down as one of the best written stories in all of video gaming history.
  90. May 1, 2012
    10
    Every user review is a 10 or 0 because no game has ever created such a deep story as this trilogy has, and no game has ever made its players as emotionally invested in its story and characters. Yea a lot of people hate the ending, but the journey there is one of the greatest sci-fi adventures I've ever enjoyed.
  91. Mar 19, 2012
    10
    This game is a true masterpiece. Even the multiplayer is sleek and done well. All the negative reviews are from people who complain about the ending, but truly don't understand it. They believe they are entitled to what they want when they buy the game but they are very wrong. Buy this game it is fully worth every penny spent
  92. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't honestly see what all the slating of this game is really all about. I am going to try and give an unbiased opinion to this game as much as possible. Also there might be some SPOILERS so for people who are still questing the galaxy and putting the fight to the Reapers look away. Right where to start, Bioware have always been renowned for epic storytelling and immersion into whatever world/galaxy they throw you into, Mass Effect 1 is a prime example. The story of the survival of humanity, in fact the entire universe, has always been a heavy plot point for the entire trilogy. Shepard the protagonist in this " Space Opera " Sci-Fi whatever label or genre you would like to put on it progresses through the trilogy having to make some choices that would leave Chuck Norris scratching his head for a spilt second or two. Bioware in my opinion do this very well even in Mass Effect 3, no matter what controversy is surrounding their writers and script for this game. I have read very nit picky opinions and reviews from lots of people about plot holes and flaws in this game. Some of them are pretty valid yet others are just arguing for arguments sake. I am not going to go through them all now but one for example that i have read on many sites is how Shepard managed to escape through the mass relay after escaping Earth at the very start of the game. Please this is being too picky, really?

    There is a very interesting theory circulating on you-tube and the Internet to the so called " Indoctrination Theory " for people who have finished and didn't like or understand the ending check it out. This theory basically goes on the theory that after Shep is blasted by Harbinger on the way to the relay for the Citadel everything that happens after is a hallucination if you will or conflict in Shepard's mind. The indoctrinated part of his mind portrayed as the Illusive Man and the Heroic Saviour part being represented as Captain Anderson. In the discussion that follows the Illusive man trys to convince our hero that controlling the Reapers is the best solution. Anderson on the other hand wants you to destroy them, without revealing to much the only possible way to progress is to kill the illusive man and i stress the only way! After the confrontation Shep is brought to an undisclosed part of the citadel and greeted by a Star Child or the catalyst. He tells the commander that he has three choices control, synthesis or destruction. This point on the theory of indoctrination comes to fruition. Taking control Shep grasps two conductor looking devices and appears to turn into a husk/reaper. Which kind of makes the indoctrination theory more poignant as before the Star Child is trying to convince you control is the best option also that the control conduits are bathed in blue light Paragon anyone. The synthesis option turns out pretty much the same.

    Destruction according to Indoc Theory is the right one and i am inclined to agree. Shepard pulls out his pistol (which has unlimited ammo throughout another bold case for Indoc) and suddenly recovers from all his injuries his limp everything. This ending is the only ending that he doesn't turn into a husk like creature and if your Effective Military Strength is high enough after the CGI video which according to Indoc Theory is not real, Shep is lying in a pile of rubble which is not from the previous blasted citadel. Plus there are loads of whispering talking leading up to Shepard taking a sharp breath. I like the idea of this theory and would explain a lot of plot holes in those last 15 minutes or so. It remains to be seen whether this was BW's intention or not but if it is it is GENIUS writing and leaves it wide open for DLC (which i am opposed of as it is a cheap tactic if they charge for the ending)

    Or it could be bad story writing i do not think this is the case as if it is bad writing then a bunch of kids could do better. I mean come on this is Bioware here some of the best story tellers and writers in the business and it would be really not like them if it was bad script. Overall the game is a great mix of story telling, hard hitting dramatic choices, gun play and action and i think basing peoples ratings on an ending that they probably don't understand undermines this whole game. As light as the side quests were they were rather good and the plot was the most thought provoking i have played in, well EVER!!

    For these reasons i am going to give this game top marks and not to mention i never touched on the multi player which is actually a diamond in the rough. Charming, intelligent and really good fun not to mention challenging on gold setting. Bioware have made an instant classic and epic game Top Marks hats off ( or N7 Breather Helmets) to Bioware.
    Expand
  93. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Brilliant end to a great trilogy. It's all about great characters, story, graphics and an epic movie like feeling. The gameplay is still quite good, but will never compare to the rest of the elements.
  94. Mar 7, 2012
    10
    This game is a great culmination of me1 and me2. Battle system is very responsive. Kinect features add for seamless battles with no pause for a weapon wheel. Graphically a great improvement. My only grip would be a confusing side mission system. That however is not enough to detract from a fantastic game. On a side note so many of the "0"s given on this site aren't people even reflecting on the game but Bioware or some personal issue. I dare anyone to find a more engrossing story. Yes the endings aren't picture perfect, but has anyone realized the galaxy just got its ass handed to it? What are we expecting? Rainbows and unicorns? Happy reapers holding hands with turians in lush fields? This game isn't that. The possible endings are wonderful and go with the story. Play it though and see for yourself. You will not be disappointed! Expand
  95. Mar 8, 2012
    10
    For the people that are supplying this site with low reviews, take a step back. You are having a reaction to a game being different than you expected. This can happen. The game series has to evolve. The truth is that Mass Effect 3 is actually an amazing game. The AI is intelligent. The characters are amazing and the truth is go buy the guide to the game if you want to understand just how your decisions affected the outcome. If you didn't play Mass Effect 2, then many characters wouldn't make appearances. If you made major decisions like Reaper base, Wrex, Ashley, Rachnii from the first 2 games then your game will be different. We can't be angry because we expected these decisions to be completely revolutionary. And yes, I'm sure Bioware struggled with how to end a series like this, but if you watch the ending scene after the credits then everything will make sense. That's the truth. If the game and the reason why you've been playing as Commander Shepard is not apparent to you at the end of that scene after the credits then I feel bad for you. Truly the best gaming series that has ever been made. I wouldn't have wanted it to end any other way. I'll be waiting for the additional DLC. I can't wait. Expand
  96. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Possibly the greatest game ever made and undoubtedly the greatest action-RPG of all time. This game serves as a perfect ending to the trilogy, and nearly every mission is epic in scale. The writing and dialogue is nothing short of perfection and the story carries itself strongly from beginning to end. Don't listen to the hate regarding the ending... just play the game and decide for yourself. I am not going to pretend like it doesn't have it's flaws, but its flaws are so insignificant that the outcry is utterly unjustified. Expand
  97. Mar 15, 2012
    10
    All I can say is that Mass Effect 3 is an Epic and Glorious way to end the best Sci-Fi Trilogy I have seen in my life as a gamer!

    Bioware did a great job finishing this saga.

    Totla Mad!
  98. Mar 21, 2012
    10
    Bioware has once again provided a excelent game with mass effect 3. From the amazing storyline, to the perfected shooter experience, the new customizable weapons, and the multiplayer that to be honest i was a little worried about they have came through once again and provided a great game that I would recommend to anyone.
  99. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yes the endings were dissapointing, but they came out with a DLC for it. The Reapers are extremely intimidating and cool. Their sheer power makes you realize just how much the galaxy depends on every choice you make. Its the best game in the series, dont let a lackluster ending discorage you. Alot of people expected more for an ending to such an epic series like this, but no game is perfect, just because the ending was bad doesn't mean the whole game is horrible. Anyway, the graphics are great, but the facial motions are very off at times. It has much more humor thanks to EDI and Joker cooperating and joking among eachother and everyone else. To enjoy the game to it's fullest, play the first 2 then play this one, an imported save will greatly increase your enjoment of this wonderful game. The characters are still amazing and we even get some new characters to bond with. This game is just, wow! Just dont play it on Soldier mode, its horrid. Expand
  100. Mar 11, 2012
    10
    its mass effect its as good as one and two, try it yourself dont waste time on website heros with stupid reviews. graphics good,sounds good, so far not run into any problems.
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 74
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 74
  3. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. May 12, 2012
    95
    Mass Effect 3 is an emotional rollercoaster ride with lots of tension and moving moments. The threat of the Reapers make every decision a hard one and your relationship with other characters will be tested. This, in combination with tight gameplay, makes this the complete experience.
  2. Apr 26, 2012
    100
    As a bombastic action-RPG with no previous context, Mass Effect 3 is a dark, engaging game with great combat, a well-written story, and all the epic space-opera you could want. But for those who have played through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, it's something much more.
  3. Apr 18, 2012
    96
    The storytelling itself, the more refined combat, the voicework, the visuals, et all, stand as a fine example of some of the best this industry has to offer, and with my minor complaints aside, there's no doubt that Mass Effect 3 will be deservedly at the top of everyone's list come this year's award season.