Mass Effect 3 Xbox 360

Mass Effect 3 Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3712 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally theBioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally the civilizations of the galaxy and launch one final mission to take back the Earth. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 74
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 74
  3. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    100
    As a bombastic action-RPG with no previous context, Mass Effect 3 is a dark, engaging game with great combat, a well-written story, and all the epic space-opera you could want. But for those who have played through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, it's something much more.
  2. 100
    Mass Effect 3 is brave enough to threaten to destroy its very own legacy. Everything you've worked for is genuinely at risk, and horrifying things are going to happen because of some of the choices you've made. If you've spent as long as we have with these characters, the impact of this final journey will be one you don't forget for years. Brave, thrilling, and incredibly emotional, Mass Effect 3 is a sci-fi masterpiece.
  3. 98
    Mass Effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy that manages to put the best parts of Mass Effect 1 with the best parts of Mass Effect 2. Sure, it will never be as much an RPG as the title that started it all, but as a result the game is actually, surprisingly, more fun to play and feels like a very well put together third person shooter that is bolstered by an in depth customisation system for both your weapons and your skills.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    Mar 13, 2012
    92
    Mass Effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to one of the best RPG franchises ever. The story is gripping and gameplay-wise Bioware has fixed many of the errors they made with the second game, most importantly the renegade/paragon points work properly again and you are free to actually role play as you see fit. It doesn't quite reach the greatness of the first Mass Effect game, though. Still, a great game and a great end to Shepard's story. [March 2012]
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, this game has not let the series down. Opinion will differ with the actual story, but with the amount of different options available in the game, that is bound to happen. It just can't be stressed enough that this game will only give half the pleasure if it is played without prior Mass Effect experience.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    90
    While it's not a total triumph, the core of what Mass Effect 3 achieves is an engrossing, fabulously put together piece of work, regardless of an ending that will delight as many as it dumbfounds.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    75
    I was equally exhilarated and disappointed by Mass Effect 3, and while I mostly enjoyed Commander Shepard's final chapter at the time, I'm now left pondering everything that it could have been, yet sadly never will be.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    Mass Effect pra mim eh o simbolo maior da geracao atual, sempre fui fa desde o primeiro e comprei minha edicao de colecionador por tamanhoMass Effect pra mim eh o simbolo maior da geracao atual, sempre fui fa desde o primeiro e comprei minha edicao de colecionador por tamanho respeito e carinho que tenho pela saga. O que falar entao de Mass Effect sem parecer um fanboy? Historia irada, personagens incriveis, tecnica perfeita, mecanica anos luz a frente do primeiro e jah sensacional Mass Effect original. Eh Mass Effect 3 eh muito melhor do que eu imaginava, o unico jogo longo que estava torcendo pra nao acabar, nao por causa do final polemico (ate pq achei sensacional) mas porque eu sei que ao fechar seria o fim, e eu realmente nao queria o fim. Sheppard, Garrus, Thane, Jack, eu realmente vou sentir falta deles, sao personagens que me envolvi e o mais sensacional evoluiram ao longo da historia. Tenho uma coisa a dizer, Bioware muito obrigado pela experiencia, pelos momentos de indecisao de ficar por minutos pensando nas consequencias de minhas acoes, muito obrigado pela estadia na Normandy. Mass Effect 3 tem ainda um bom adendo o multiplayer, nao eh algo sensacional mas devido ao incrivel background torna a experiencia bacana, Quero muito DLCs muito mesmo, e as vezes fico imaginando plots indivduais para cada personagem. Seria maneiro o fim no ponto de vista de cada personagem, e uma mecanica diferenciada pra cada. Mas está de bom tamanho, na verdade estou satisfeito. 10 com louvor se pudesse dava 11. "Sheppard out" Expand
  2. Mar 14, 2012
    10
    I thought the game was awesome up until the end. I hating the ending and I think BW can do much better. That said, the triology was still oneI thought the game was awesome up until the end. I hating the ending and I think BW can do much better. That said, the triology was still one of the most awesome gaming experiences that I've ever had and will be much better if they change the ending. While I think the real score I would rate this is about a 7 or 8 I am giving it a 10 based on the rest of the game and previous games and to try and offset the other people trolling on here that are obviously marking the score low because of the ending. I think BW deserves a fair score.â Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Nothing less then perfection. I managed to get a copy a few days early and I never thought the story and game could top what the last twoNothing less then perfection. I managed to get a copy a few days early and I never thought the story and game could top what the last two games have delivered, but this keeps getting better and better! You really do feel the weight of those decisions you made. Its great to finally see the outcome of these shaping after waiting for 5 years in curiosity as to what would happen. Certainly doesn't disappoint! Gameplay mechanics have taken a sharp turn for the better and have progressed a long way since ME2. It great a lot of mods that were a fun point of ME1 have returned also. Shepard's story could not have asked for a better conclusion then this! Massive credit to Bioware to improving on a series that is already top of its league! No easy feat, but they have done it with flying colors! Expand
  4. Mar 31, 2012
    7
    While I agree with some on here that the ending wasn't nearly what it should have been for the ending of the series, I definitely feel thatWhile I agree with some on here that the ending wasn't nearly what it should have been for the ending of the series, I definitely feel that flooding MC with negative reviews is a bit overblown. I simply loved the game, and the rest of the game DEFINITELY makes up for the last ten minutes. Expand
  5. Mar 6, 2012
    4
    I feel awfully betrayed that the series went from and expansive sci-fi space opera with consequential choices; to a fairly streamlined actionI feel awfully betrayed that the series went from and expansive sci-fi space opera with consequential choices; to a fairly streamlined action adventure with RPG elements. Its attempts at emotional manipulation are slightly hamfisted, not ineffective but very clumsily implemented and unrelated to my character's background - which I imagine Bioware has forgotten about at this point. The writing and designs for some characters also seems out of place, Vega is expected to be a bulky man but not to the extent that he's a jersey Shore cast member, the addition of Jessica Chobot and redesign for Ashley also complement this lovely little tan-orange motif. My largest qualm is with the Day 1 DLC - which I strongly oppose - by all means create new characters that are not plot-integral. But when you create a squad member who is heaily tied to the universe's lore and mystique and then aim to charge an extra $10 for it on top of the game's already hefty pricetag you know you fit a stereotype.The romance system is fine, although I'd like to be able to talk to my companions without the intention of making out with them. I won´t claim this is a bad game, however compared to the first installment it has lost much of its former glory. Buy it if you want, but if I were you I´d either rent it first or wait for the price to drop. Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2012
    2
    I'm reviewing this right after finishing so this may be overly influenced by the ending. Nonetheless, 3 games worth of choices andI'm reviewing this right after finishing so this may be overly influenced by the ending. Nonetheless, 3 games worth of choices and storytelling were tossed out the window in the final minutes leaving me with a severely bad impression. I don't mind the tone or the darkness. I do mind that it felt like, for the ending, a different group of writers were brought in, given a two-sentence plot summary and told that resources were limited so they should cut as many corners as possible.

    Up until then, I was planning on going back on playing through all three again to see the results of different paths. After I played through the 3 alternate endings thinking I must have just picked the wrong one the first time, I was so annoyed that I just uninstalled it.

    For a game in which the consequences of choices have had real in-game (and emotional) impacts up to that point, to have the ending completely disconnected from any choices you made is ridiculous.
    Expand
  7. May 13, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is what happens when a franchise that's going so well goes bad. I loved the first 2 games I really did. I'm not too sure how the managed to make it so bad, first off it's casualised so much that it doesn't seem necessary to even consider thinking tactically, the writing is so dumbed down it feels like a children's book and they constantly refer to the previous games instead of making something original. Your choices don't matter the only ones that do were the ones you made in the previous game. I'm not going to blame the ending for the score i'm giving but slapping the player in the face and introducing a new character at the last second to say "Hey, we built synthetics to kill you because if we didn't you'd build synthetics and they'd kill you" is stupid and to top it off he then says "So nothing you did matters what colour do you like more red, blue or green" They might as well have ripped off my under wear and laughed at me instead of giving me the game as i'm sure that it wouldn't be as bad as this monstrosity. Expand

See all 1560 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.