Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3450 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BioWare completes the Mass Effect Trilogy with Mass Effect 3. Earth is burning. Striking from beyond known space, a race of terrifying machines have begun their destruction of the human race. As Commander Shepard, an Alliance Marine, the only hope for saving mankind is to rally the civilizations of the galaxy and launch one final mission to take back the Earth. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 74
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 74
  3. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. Apr 26, 2012
    100
    As a bombastic action-RPG with no previous context, Mass Effect 3 is a dark, engaging game with great combat, a well-written story, and all the epic space-opera you could want. But for those who have played through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2, it's something much more.
  2. 100
    Mass Effect 3 is brave enough to threaten to destroy its very own legacy. Everything you've worked for is genuinely at risk, and horrifying things are going to happen because of some of the choices you've made. If you've spent as long as we have with these characters, the impact of this final journey will be one you don't forget for years. Brave, thrilling, and incredibly emotional, Mass Effect 3 is a sci-fi masterpiece.
  3. 98
    Mass Effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to the trilogy that manages to put the best parts of Mass Effect 1 with the best parts of Mass Effect 2. Sure, it will never be as much an RPG as the title that started it all, but as a result the game is actually, surprisingly, more fun to play and feels like a very well put together third person shooter that is bolstered by an in depth customisation system for both your weapons and your skills.
  4. Mar 13, 2012
    92
    Mass Effect 3 is a fitting conclusion to one of the best RPG franchises ever. The story is gripping and gameplay-wise Bioware has fixed many of the errors they made with the second game, most importantly the renegade/paragon points work properly again and you are free to actually role play as you see fit. It doesn't quite reach the greatness of the first Mass Effect game, though. Still, a great game and a great end to Shepard's story. [March 2012]
  5. Mar 19, 2012
    90
    In conclusion, this game has not let the series down. Opinion will differ with the actual story, but with the amount of different options available in the game, that is bound to happen. It just can't be stressed enough that this game will only give half the pleasure if it is played without prior Mass Effect experience.
  6. Mar 6, 2012
    90
    While it's not a total triumph, the core of what Mass Effect 3 achieves is an engrossing, fabulously put together piece of work, regardless of an ending that will delight as many as it dumbfounds.
  7. Mar 12, 2012
    75
    I was equally exhilarated and disappointed by Mass Effect 3, and while I mostly enjoyed Commander Shepard's final chapter at the time, I'm now left pondering everything that it could have been, yet sadly never will be.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    This is a great game. The ending is fantastic; brilliant actually. This game is a continuation and culmination of the story of Mass Effect 1 and 2, which has remained consistent and well told from the very first moments of ME1. All the ending requires of the player is that you as a player engage a little bit of your own depth and intellectual curiosity. If you are unable to engage those qualities, than you have bigger problems than being dissatisfied with the ending of the greatest space saga of the last 30 years. There are some minor flaws in my mind; forcing the player into "multiplayer", you really have to. And also some of the 'enhanced' cover mechanics are buggy, and don't work as they should. BUT it is still a great game and without a doubt will be looked at by future generations as a seminal work of fiction in the early 21st century. Expand
  2. Mar 28, 2012
    10
    I never trust the user side, so I thought i'd drop my two cents. Heres the thing, Mass Effect fans will give the most accurate assessment and newcomers will miss the point. The Mass Effect franchise, has added 3 things here, to make newcomers interested: multi-player, kinect and 2 new dumbed down ways to make you think that Mass Effect is not an rpg. You can now choose to play story mode, which makes gameplay super casual or you can choose shooter mode, which removes dialogue choices. If your rating Mass Effect 3, below a solid "8," it is because you chose to play one of the 2 new modes. If you truly have an intrest in this amazing franchise, pick up a copy of the orginal. Going straight into ME3, means that you are buying it for multi-player, which is a bad reason. Now, I have played through the campaign 3 times and it is a must to experience, if you know what is going on. ME3 is straight up war, so it's a bit more straight foward, then it's predecessor, which had more character depth. Mass Effect 3 fits perfectly into the direction of the story. The complaints about the ending are valid though. It is a disappointing end to an epic journey. It did not ruin my experience. So if your a fan, then you already own ME3. If your low balling, it's because you are not playing the game the way it was intended to be played. I hear that it works well with motion controls though, but story or shooter modes just dumb down the experience. Mass Effect 3 is an awesome game, if you tend on investing into the entire story and your not looking to play anything but an rpg. Expand
  3. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    Nothing less then perfection. I managed to get a copy a few days early and I never thought the story and game could top what the last two games have delivered, but this keeps getting better and better! You really do feel the weight of those decisions you made. Its great to finally see the outcome of these shaping after waiting for 5 years in curiosity as to what would happen. Certainly doesn't disappoint! Gameplay mechanics have taken a sharp turn for the better and have progressed a long way since ME2. It great a lot of mods that were a fun point of ME1 have returned also. Shepard's story could not have asked for a better conclusion then this! Massive credit to Bioware to improving on a series that is already top of its league! No easy feat, but they have done it with flying colors! Expand
  4. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I rented this for a solid month.While,I don't think I'll be buying it anytime soon,it's certainly a good pickup if you're into it.The atmosphere is great.Every area and fight is certainly distinct.The characters and AI are great.

    However,the fights and talk sequences are very monotonous.I just don't enjoy this series as much as others.The generic feel kind of throws me off.

    Overall Mass Effect 3 is a very good game.It has solid features and is very enjoyable.But it's more of a rental,as opposed to a buy."Mass Effect 3" gets a 7/10.
    Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2012
    4
    Let me start off by saying, I adore the Mass Effect universe, and loved both the first and second games. Mass Effect three, on the other hand, feels like a watered down version of the previous titles. The areas are smaller, exploration is all but gone, and combat is easier than ever. I blazed through the game in no time, and felt cheated at some of the 'emotional' payoffs the story team tried to unload on me. Compared to other games available on the Xbox 360, its still a very decent game, but compared to the other Mass Effect games, this is inexcusable, and I'll never get the resolution that this series rightfully deserved. Expand
  6. Mar 17, 2012
    2
    Waiting for the finale to the epic trilogy that is mass effect was agonizing. All the choices and hours invested over the past two games (and 5 years) were promised to carry over to the final game in a summation of our actions, good and bad, leading up to this point. This promise was completely broken as the ending played out and the obvious disregard for said promise was thrown out the window. Instead, you are presented with three choices that are all entirely too similar, rife with plot holes and inconsistencies that would make the Bush administration blush. Major decisions throughout the series were ignored, leaving the player to have no real reason to agonize over the decisions in the first place. We are not entitled, whiny gamers, but simply gamers disappointed with a promise that was not kept. Bioware, make it right. Expand
  7. Mar 29, 2012
    0
    BEEN UNABLE TO PLAY FOR OVER 2 WEEKS DUE TO KNOW BUG.EA SUPPORT IS NO HELP AT ALL. BIOWARE JUST KEEPS SAYING NOTHING BUT WE WILL HAVE IT FIXED SOON. WASTE OF MONEY. plus little i did get to play was just a horrible rehash for all those stupid people who love the same thing over and over and over.... Expand

See all 1537 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2012

    The Best Videogames of 2012 Image
    Published: December 31, 2012
    As our Best of 2012 series continues, we reveal the year's best video games for each platform.