User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1581 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed Mass Effect, though I wrestled with the interface (particularly the inventory) and controls at times. It's a decent, semi-hard sci-fi space opera that is definitely worth your time.
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    Although the combat isn't as good as the sequel, the story is top-notch. The upgrade system is overly complex than what is necessary, and the FPS isn't constant at all. I was also annoyed how I had to find an old save to play the DLC because I couldn't return to the ship during the end - and most of my recent saves were from the end mission. This led me to have to play the DLC withAlthough the combat isn't as good as the sequel, the story is top-notch. The upgrade system is overly complex than what is necessary, and the FPS isn't constant at all. I was also annoyed how I had to find an old save to play the DLC because I couldn't return to the ship during the end - and most of my recent saves were from the end mission. This led me to have to play the DLC with terrible upgrades (from early on), which made the combat turn out to be a much greater challenge. In conclusion, a great game, but lacking in comparison to the second installment. Expand
  3. Tom
    Dec 12, 2007
    5
    This game is more story than game-play. The story is good though. I gave it a 5 (instead of a 0) because the story itself was good enough to motivate me to play it through. But compare it to a tight game-play mechanics work of art like mario galaxy a decent fps, and Mass Effect "the game" is pathetic. Now granted, this is an RPG (hence the good story and my willingness to give props to This game is more story than game-play. The story is good though. I gave it a 5 (instead of a 0) because the story itself was good enough to motivate me to play it through. But compare it to a tight game-play mechanics work of art like mario galaxy a decent fps, and Mass Effect "the game" is pathetic. Now granted, this is an RPG (hence the good story and my willingness to give props to it), but the fighting system was touted to be a hybrid between traditional turn-based RPG fighting and RTS/OTS fighting. This turns out to be extremely clunky, where directing the actions of your squad is a futile exercise and talents(traditionally spells or feats) are limited to just a hand-full and are not very effective compared to standard attacks (guns). lastly, the graphics are good at times and at other times totally unacceptable. Frequent frame-rate drops and disorienting draw-in take alot away from the story. Expand
  4. CollowS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    6
    Very impressive graphics, and nice gameplay sequence. All in all, it is a very deep rpg game, but with some of the same glitches that had occured in the previous game ( and some more as well). However, personally it doesn't live up to the hype that KOTOR created. I still believe that Mass effect 2 or 3 might succeed in where this one failed!!
  5. StevenF.
    Jan 16, 2008
    6
    I'm sorry but it's just not that good. The character acting is GREAT, but almost everything else is disappointing. Handling of equipment a pain. Playing a class that isn't the Soldier is a pain. Combat is a pain. Skills are lackluster and the list goes on. Expect a decent RPG but not the thing that's been hyped in the mags as the end all RPG.
  6. Rob
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    The good stuff: Graphics and Storyline. The decent stuff: Gameplay: The squad AI is weak but the shooting controls are pretty decent. The bad stuff: The biotic powers are lame esp. healing(requires an item to use). Other powers include force push(useless) and barrier(decent).
  7. Numanthia
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    I am disgusted by the reviews on this product. It has the worst flaws I have seen of a game this hyped and the critics behind these illogical reviews: "Other than the AI issues, graphical glitches, and insanely confusing equipment screen Mass Effect is the perfect video game." With the following comment how can a game wtih flawed AI, major load time issues, painfully slow texture mapping I am disgusted by the reviews on this product. It has the worst flaws I have seen of a game this hyped and the critics behind these illogical reviews: "Other than the AI issues, graphical glitches, and insanely confusing equipment screen Mass Effect is the perfect video game." With the following comment how can a game wtih flawed AI, major load time issues, painfully slow texture mapping and confusing game components even score above 6? I consider these reviews boardering on fraudulent activity. DISGUSTED! Expand
  8. DavidM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    BAD: The AI is terrible. The menu screens, inventory and upgrading are all awful. There are a lot of pop-in textures. Side quests are dull and the rewards aren't good. Money is useless. You can power your way to the end with little strategy. The game play becomes tedious once you level up. GOOD: The storyline is great. The characters are great. The acting is great. The graphics are BAD: The AI is terrible. The menu screens, inventory and upgrading are all awful. There are a lot of pop-in textures. Side quests are dull and the rewards aren't good. Money is useless. You can power your way to the end with little strategy. The game play becomes tedious once you level up. GOOD: The storyline is great. The characters are great. The acting is great. The graphics are great. BOTTOM LINE: This game needed more time in development. Expand
  9. JaceNaylor
    Dec 30, 2007
    5
    Mass Effect is a game with limitless potential that uses only about 25% of it!
    The combat is too frantic and panic strewn, the dialogue choces never match what your character says, the environments are too small and limiting or too repetetive and boring and the story is far too short.
    You cant help but wonder if Bioware are sitting on the last 3 quarters of the game...one for
    Mass Effect is a game with limitless potential that uses only about 25% of it!
    The combat is too frantic and panic strewn, the dialogue choces never match what your character says, the environments are too small and limiting or too repetetive and boring and the story is far too short.
    You cant help but wonder if Bioware are sitting on the last 3 quarters of the game...one for downloadable content...and two for the sequels!
    Expand
  10. BrodelE.
    Jan 1, 2008
    5
    Soooo tired of the endless dialog.. I gave up waiting for the game to give me a chance to play.
  11. MS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    6
    In all honesty, I would have given this game a ten my first time playing it. This game is seriously one of the best RPG experiences anyone can have...at least on the first play through. Well, let's start off with what is good. The gameplay is very solid. The shooting mechanics are easy to master and the powers/abilities are implemented nicely into combat. Most of the voice acting is In all honesty, I would have given this game a ten my first time playing it. This game is seriously one of the best RPG experiences anyone can have...at least on the first play through. Well, let's start off with what is good. The gameplay is very solid. The shooting mechanics are easy to master and the powers/abilities are implemented nicely into combat. Most of the voice acting is top notch, which is good considering one of the game's selling points is its dialog-oriented RPG elements. The artwork is astounding and the graphics are nearly as good (choppy rendering, slow down, and pop ins are only minor set backs). The level design is also quite good and there are many different worlds to explore in the course of the game. Unfortunately, these strengths cannot save the game. And here's why. Mass Effect's story, which has been hailed as a masterwork of sorts by critics and fans alike, is not very compelling. Though there are many interesting ideas thrown about (The Reapers are a particularly cool concept), the over arching plot suffers from here-we-go-again syndrome. You have a mixed-bag crew of aliens and humans rushing around to different worlds to uncover the location of The Conduit in order to stop The Reapers from destroying the galaxy. Sounds awfully familiar no? The story is basically the first KOTOR without the intriguing plot twist in the middle. Since Commander Shepard is almost totally customizable , he (or she) ends up lacking any true depth. The back stories of the various Shepards you can create are weak and cookie cutter. As for the supporting cast? Your crew is a little neglected plot-wise. Garus and Tali inparticular. Garus has a lot of great potential as a chracter but his dialog ends too quickly. Same with Tali. The random conversations that the supporting cast had in KOTOR are all gone. Any chatter between the characters is limited to elevator rides. Come on now. As for the conversations Shepard has with the crew? It's no different than KOTOR really. Sure, you don't know PRECISELY what Shepard will say but the options still feel stilted. You have your evil and your good statements and your special skill-based statements. The formula is obvious as hell and it really gave me a feeling of rendezvous. Other downsides include a lack of variety in game play. Especially on side quests. Usually you just go to a barren world and shoot things. Puzzles are few and far between and are very simple. The pick up system is annoying at best. You can't simply drop an item or not take it. Plus there's this huge technical plot hole that I can't help but mention. The humans are newcomers to the galaxy...why do all the other races speak English? If Humans are so neglected, why would entire races learn English? Plus the voice acting for the male Shepard is mediocre, no matter what language. Frankly, I got tired of this game after two play-throughs and I am disappointed. I feel like the writing is half-assed and that Bioware are still struggling to break from a formula that works. What I'm waiting for is an RPG with this type of engine that tells a personal story instead of a sci-fi opera. Where you see your actions affect the character and his or her surroundings on a smaller more intimate scale. Where the dialog doesn't have to explain the plot or the situation over and over. I feel like Indigo Prophecy nearly accomplished this...why can't Bioware? Expand
  12. TheBigmac
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    Let's get the obvious out of the way. The graphics, specially in dialog are gorgeous. Once you get to combat, they're good, but not gorgeous even thou everything is created using the game's engine. The story is very well done and intriguing. I found myself enjoying the dialog so much I felt I was watching a movie. Now the bad things: The shooting controls are just awkward. Let's get the obvious out of the way. The graphics, specially in dialog are gorgeous. Once you get to combat, they're good, but not gorgeous even thou everything is created using the game's engine. The story is very well done and intriguing. I found myself enjoying the dialog so much I felt I was watching a movie. Now the bad things: The shooting controls are just awkward. It wants to be gears of war in the combat mechanics and fails miserably in the attempt. Another game I'm playing these days, Uncharted Drakes furtune, completely rips off the GOW mechanics as well, but the excecution is perfect. So if you're going to rip some game off, at least do it weell. The shooting controls and mechanics just feel clunky and uncomfortable. Using the sniper rifle is an exercise in futility. The screen shakes so much you're aiming all over the place and "No diazepam for you!" is the motto of the designer Nazis. The rest of the games just feels S L O W. I found myself constantly wondering which way to go. I just beat Call of duty 4. The difficulty setting in that one was perfect. Want to figure out where to go by yourself? fine. It's your choice. Not a hard core explorer? No problem. They will take you by the hand the whole game. In this one is pretty much a couple of clues on the map, which is like 5 button pushes away if you need it, and pretty much you're on your on. Did I mention S L O W? If you're an RPG fan, you'll love this game. If any of what I mentioned before makes you hesitate, rent if first. This is a AAA title and there's a lot of quality here. Many people just love it. But in my opinion, some fundamental flaws ruin the execution as a whole. And I just don't have the patience these days a game like this requires. Expand
  13. SatanNYC
    Nov 29, 2007
    5
    OK, those who gave this game a 10 obviously haven't played it, and those that gave it a 1 are just stupid. Granted, I feel burned for buying this game based on the ratings and the reviews I have seen. So here is the real deal review from a long time RPG fan. This game mostly sux, sure it looks pretty, hooray for that, but that's were the fun ends. First off this game is OK, those who gave this game a 10 obviously haven't played it, and those that gave it a 1 are just stupid. Granted, I feel burned for buying this game based on the ratings and the reviews I have seen. So here is the real deal review from a long time RPG fan. This game mostly sux, sure it looks pretty, hooray for that, but that's were the fun ends. First off this game is impossibly slow, for instance, you mean to tell me that in the future, were you don't even have to reload your weapons, they have elevators that move so ridiculously slow you would ratther walk, if you could but you are stuck having to take elevators all the time, even on your own ship. Then there are the weapons, armor and other accesories that have names followed by roman numerals. for all the thought and time spent developing this game they couldn't come up with some cool names for things, instead they just add a number at the end. That's not all, let's talk about all those planets that you seen in the previews and trailers, you can't even land on them, all you can do is get a description of there atmosphere and terrain. Occasionaly you can scan one and may find some kind of artifact that you can't even access in your inventory. Sniper rifles are a complete waste of time, because if you can see the enemy, no matter how far away you are, they are already shooting at you before you even poke your head around the corner or over the hill. The cool looking tank you also see in all of the trailers handles like crap and really isn't as fun as they make it appear. There is no need to ever shop at a store, as things you find are better and they are free, so that kills the whole "get more money to get better stuff to fight bigger creatures" aspect of an RPG that most fans live for. The grenades are horrific, shoot one towards the sun and that's were it goes, in a striaght line with no gravitional arc what-so-ever, but throw a grenade at the floor right in front of you and that's were it stays, no bounce, no roll, nothing. No free roaming aliens to pick off for extra cash, everything is scripted, open the door and there are bad guys. The AI is non-existent, open a door and the bad guys come straight at you, no ducking and hiding behind things, they just run straight at you. I waited for over a year for this game, have been following it's progress all the way, seen all the trailers, interviews and reviews and was totally psyched for this title. I actually think this title isn't worth the box it comes in, but I am giving it a 5 because it looks amazing, has some interesting creatures, and the voice sync'ing is beautifully done. If you are a fan of RPG's and want an amazing game for your money, but the Elder Scrolls: Oblivion and pass on this title. If you have already played Oblivion trust me when I say, rent before you buy, or better yet, bid on mine when I throw it up on ebay to get my money back and buy something else. Expand
  14. C.Q.
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    This is the game that could have been - its very cinematic, and semi entertaining - but if your expacting a vast open sci fi role playing game - like oblivian - you will be sorely dissapointed - there are a couple of pointless side quests - but overall the story is pretty straight through and you can beat the whole game in under 8 hours with no problems.
  15. FPSMaster
    Nov 19, 2007
    6
    Let's see. They got the story, cinematics and to some extent the dialog right, but what happened to everything else? You get a good story, but you get sloppy game mechanics, terrible A.I., bad framerates just like KOTOR 1 and 2 and boring exploration with huge empty environments with nothing to do. If you're gonna sell the game as an RPG with guns, the shooting should be as goodLet's see. They got the story, cinematics and to some extent the dialog right, but what happened to everything else? You get a good story, but you get sloppy game mechanics, terrible A.I., bad framerates just like KOTOR 1 and 2 and boring exploration with huge empty environments with nothing to do. If you're gonna sell the game as an RPG with guns, the shooting should be as good as the story. Bottom line. I also noticed most of the voicework sounds like someone is reading it too loudly directly from a script with no emotion. So much for the great dialog I guess. Mass Disappointment is more like it. Brute Force RPG is an even more fitting title. Expand
  16. FarooqA.
    Nov 25, 2007
    6
    A decent game and a fine collection artifact if you own a 360. Newer and established visual techniques applied in here but I found the game lacking in anticipation department. Its a RPG you know and its always a thrill to disover which planet you are going to visit next and how will it fare? but you'll find more of the same there, one environment repeats over and over... the mystery A decent game and a fine collection artifact if you own a 360. Newer and established visual techniques applied in here but I found the game lacking in anticipation department. Its a RPG you know and its always a thrill to disover which planet you are going to visit next and how will it fare? but you'll find more of the same there, one environment repeats over and over... the mystery of the universe is just not expressed here. I had way more fun discovering tonnes of planets with differing characters, environments, monsters and huge environmental bosses in Rogue Galaxy last year. Expand
  17. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    I did not enjoy this game even in the slightest i don't know what game everyone else has been playing but i hate this game. A lot of frustration when i get hit by a rocket drone's rocket and die instantly. A lot of frustration with lag and it has the worst timing. The AI is by far the worst AI i have ever encountered. Team mates block shots all of the time. The difficulty is automaticallyI did not enjoy this game even in the slightest i don't know what game everyone else has been playing but i hate this game. A lot of frustration when i get hit by a rocket drone's rocket and die instantly. A lot of frustration with lag and it has the worst timing. The AI is by far the worst AI i have ever encountered. Team mates block shots all of the time. The difficulty is automatically set to hard, not that I mind the difficulty, it's the massive time in between autosaves that frustrates me to no end. The plot is amazing, the graphics still stand up today but it has way too many issues to recommend. The only reason im playing this game is because i picked up mass effect 2 for 20 bucks and it is my favorite game. Cannot wait for mass effect 3. Expand
  18. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    this game is mediocre at best its so boring the fighting system is boring all of the facial expresions on the people make them look like robots and the characters are boring in my opinion its not very fun at all i dont know why everyone likes it so much the only cool thing about the game is how you can shape the future of the game by having text choices
  19. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    The original. Gameplay is horrible. But the story keeps you picking up the controller. The side missions all take place on the same map with different colors. Your first play through the game is always crap by design. Does not hold up compared to today's games.
  20. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    Finally gotten around to Mass Effect. I had always been apprehensive towards it for some reason and I guess we have gut feelings for a reason. Bioware's pedigree (KOTOR being excellent, probably the best game for the original xbox, and Dragon Age being entertaining) was the only reason I even gave it a shot, and needless to say I put this game into the same box as Dragon Age 2. The problemFinally gotten around to Mass Effect. I had always been apprehensive towards it for some reason and I guess we have gut feelings for a reason. Bioware's pedigree (KOTOR being excellent, probably the best game for the original xbox, and Dragon Age being entertaining) was the only reason I even gave it a shot, and needless to say I put this game into the same box as Dragon Age 2. The problem with Mass Effect is that it's not a bad game, it's just half assed. Everything about it is mediocre: puddle deep characters, ho-hum story, generic music, bland sci-fi world. Attach these things to a terrible UI (I'm looking at you equipment screen), a boring ass leveling system (virtually no difference in classes), boring fps style combat, horrible glitches (don't you dare get that **** car stuck, and nothing takes you out of a story like a characters teeth flickering constantly) and you have Mass Effect. I cannot believe that this series has gone on to produce three other games, and I really can't believe that Commander Sheppard has actually gone on to become a 'character of note' in the gaming industry, the man (or gal) has less personality than master chief for christ sake. If you like generic space marine sci-fi, play Mass Effect, me, I would have been just as happy to keep my 15 bucks, thanks. Expand
  21. DominicL
    Jan 6, 2009
    7
    Personally, i like this game. But a few things let the game down. FPS should be added in to this game that would make the game better. There are more but overall this game is awesome. Ha! Hehe love the "romantic" cutscenes.
  22. AlejandroG.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    The character powers aren't really a good alternative to combat weapons, and strategy isn't necessary at all during all the game. Graphics are good, but the texture popping make scenarios and menus really strange. The worst of all: The game's length is SO below of what I expected ( Come on, it's supposed to be Oblivion on space, don't give me only 15 hours of gameplay).
  23. Secretsparkx
    Jan 4, 2008
    7
    Mass effect is a good game but me and all my scifi loving friend all agree that this game is just a trail to see how people like the way it works for KOTOR 3 (and for those people who do know what KOTOR is it the ongoing saga made by bioware, starwars: knights of the old republic) The old KOTOR games had a very simple combat system and they said that in the up coming KOTOR 3 that they Mass effect is a good game but me and all my scifi loving friend all agree that this game is just a trail to see how people like the way it works for KOTOR 3 (and for those people who do know what KOTOR is it the ongoing saga made by bioware, starwars: knights of the old republic) The old KOTOR games had a very simple combat system and they said that in the up coming KOTOR 3 that they were going to make it more open combat like mass effect. so if you had high expectations for mass effect and were disappointed start looking for Starwars: knights of the old republic 3. Expand
  24. DanS.
    Nov 22, 2007
    7
    Good game but not as good as i had hoped it would be. there are some bugs, some framerate issues and the gameplay is good, but not as fun as i thought. it was a pretty long game so the value is there, but i would definitely rent it first.
  25. HarryD.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Good game,good presentation,good story but lame submisions and the gameplay gets a bit boring after ten hours.
  26. IanI.
    Dec 7, 2007
    7
    Mass Effect is ok, it suffers from alot of the same problems as KOTAR (great game) in its interface, large but seemingly empty environments (alot of pointless walking) and poor combat mechanics. In addition to the usual wonky combat mechanics there is a lack of depth to this game compared to kotar from either an RPG or FPS viewpoint (poor FPS mechanics, very fiew abillitys). KOTAR was Mass Effect is ok, it suffers from alot of the same problems as KOTAR (great game) in its interface, large but seemingly empty environments (alot of pointless walking) and poor combat mechanics. In addition to the usual wonky combat mechanics there is a lack of depth to this game compared to kotar from either an RPG or FPS viewpoint (poor FPS mechanics, very fiew abillitys). KOTAR was also alot longer game with alot more to do, this game was over hyped...but not awefull. I beat it in about 14 hours, I would look at renting this game. I was very unimpressed, but its probably worth playing. Expand
  27. MarkD.
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    I guess I'm just a nerd but how can somebody make a game and call it next gen when the majority of the stairs were just flat inclines? The graphics were good, when they rendered (which takes way longer than it should). Everything else was fine for the most part.
  28. BenJ.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great cake... The story and characters etc. are great, no complaints there. But the game fails at being an FPS (loved the thin hallways crammed with myself and 2 mentally challenged AI characters...nice) and it fails to be an action-RPG (or whatever it was going for) BECAUSE it failed dismally at implementing decent fighting mechinics, fps or not (No, I'm not a hardcore FPS player expecting this to be better than halo, half life 2 or insert good fps name here). Then there's the awful frame rate but I don't want to go there. I still WANT to like this game.... I just can't. I'm going to go read the book now and hope they release a movie based on it. Expand
  29. MarkP.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    Mass Effect works better as an interactive cinematic experience than it does as a game. Worth experiencing, but has critical flaws in its core combat gameplay.
  30. SandoC.
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    A very good sci-fi rpg/shooter. But the corresponding bugs from it's predecessors will limit the expectation and the whole gameplay sequence might not interest a lot of people.
  31. KenH.
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    A great story and presentation but the combat is winky, the AI is braindead and the planet side mission when you drive "mako" vehicle around are all big faults that detract from the fun. The story is fun to see it through but I'm not sure the game is worth more than a 7 or 8 score.
  32. JustinHair
    Nov 13, 2008
    7
    If you are looking for a story to watch...err play then this game is for you. The story is decent but everything else is lacking. The controls are very sluggish and the ui is horrid at best. The game is a chore to play and feels more like a punishment just to see what happens next. I do not recommend this game to anyone who prefers gameplay over story. This game is not fun.
  33. May 4, 2011
    7
    Great game, excellent cut scenes, good story, excellent graphics, recommended for any rpg fan. I am not an rpg fan but this was good enough to get the next one, looking forward to play ME2
  34. Jan 26, 2012
    7
    Killer gameplay, a unique and enjoyable visual style and a truly inspired story, with even side-quests having enough well written mini-stories to keep you blasting. Were it not for a horrible revelation ten minutes ago, this game would receive a 10, sadly, once you complete the main story (a long affair in itself), the game ends, and all of the side-quests that you said you'd do afterKiller gameplay, a unique and enjoyable visual style and a truly inspired story, with even side-quests having enough well written mini-stories to keep you blasting. Were it not for a horrible revelation ten minutes ago, this game would receive a 10, sadly, once you complete the main story (a long affair in itself), the game ends, and all of the side-quests that you said you'd do after you'd finished the story become impossible to complete because the only way to play again is by starting over again, which is something even the most dedicated fan would be hard-pressed to do. This is especially annoying because it's something that was entirely unnecessary, every other RPG allows you to keep playing once you've completed the main quest, why couldn't Mass Effect? I enjoyed this game and its main story much more than Oblivion (Elder Scrolls), but a flaw this huge is unacceptable Expand
  35. Dec 17, 2012
    7
    Mass Effect is one of the first games that can change depending on your choices throughout the campaign. That in itself is already impressive, minus the scale and free roam of the galaxy you can explore. The story is gripping and it is easy to become emotionally connected with the characters. Possible customization choices with your character and your squad members is also surprisinglyMass Effect is one of the first games that can change depending on your choices throughout the campaign. That in itself is already impressive, minus the scale and free roam of the galaxy you can explore. The story is gripping and it is easy to become emotionally connected with the characters. Possible customization choices with your character and your squad members is also surprisingly diverse. Would you like to have an additional scope on your rifle with acid bullets attached with a booster that can greatly increase damage and armor protection? Well now its possible. Mass Effect is so very successful in many ways but it sadly falls short in other things. This game is one of the most unpolished games I have ever played. Frame rate is unbelievably low and the game will lag as soon as there are more than two or three enemies on the screen. Driving controls are bad, to be simply put. It is difficult to even drive around a corner at times. Auto save areas are extremely rare and if you die, you will often have to start back at the beginning of the mission. There are glitches galore in some areas and I find it hard to understand that Bioware did not notice any of these issues. Character expressions and facial features look awkward during conversations, to say the least. However, many of things probably couldn't have been helped seeing as how it was made during 2007. This game is changing the way we play video games and everyone needs to play the trilogy for a truly unique experience. Expand
  36. May 30, 2013
    7
    This is my favorite Mass Effect out of the series and I enjoy the emphasis on dialogue. Sure, the story may seem cliche, but all the characters are really well developed; you just have to invest time in them. The combat isn't the best I've seen and is generally annoying throughout a lot of the game, but once you get high level gear it becomes so much more fun. I'd definitely check it outThis is my favorite Mass Effect out of the series and I enjoy the emphasis on dialogue. Sure, the story may seem cliche, but all the characters are really well developed; you just have to invest time in them. The combat isn't the best I've seen and is generally annoying throughout a lot of the game, but once you get high level gear it becomes so much more fun. I'd definitely check it out as it's my favorite Bioware game on the Citadel. Expand
  37. Jun 16, 2013
    7
    This game is good but has multiple missteps that stop it from being even better so i'm going to tell you the goods and bads so you can make up your own minds
    pros
    -good character creator -great characters and story -real RPG choices (nowadays RPG means you can level up and gain perks and stuff) -cool branching dialogue options -an ability to import your saves into the sequels making
    This game is good but has multiple missteps that stop it from being even better so i'm going to tell you the goods and bads so you can make up your own minds
    pros
    -good character creator
    -great characters and story
    -real RPG choices (nowadays RPG means you can level up and gain perks and stuff)
    -cool branching dialogue options
    -an ability to import your saves into the sequels making the choices even more interesting and need to decide carefully
    -good voice acting
    -interesting in game universe with unique and creative aliens (instead of just having Martians)
    cons
    -combat is not very good (but after a while it becomes playable. not good, playable)
    -Saren feels more like a second in command then a main villain (luckily Sovereign is cool)
    -really bad texture loading
    -your powers take forever to recharge
    -frustratingly hard
    -powers are kind of useless in this game (play as a soldier on this game then be something else in the sequels)
    - no weapons but the assault rifle really feels useful in a fight
    -enemys shields save them tons of times but your shields get torn through in seconds
    Expand
  38. Dec 16, 2014
    6
    Not bad, but not the best I've seen or played either. The story is okay, with some good action here and there, and it has a stable plot. The game has some good features, such as armor and weapon customization to name one. But I found it lacking in some areas, too. All of the armor looks just about the same as the stock, just re-textured in some cases, and the texture load times on the 360Not bad, but not the best I've seen or played either. The story is okay, with some good action here and there, and it has a stable plot. The game has some good features, such as armor and weapon customization to name one. But I found it lacking in some areas, too. All of the armor looks just about the same as the stock, just re-textured in some cases, and the texture load times on the 360 during cutscenes makes everything look a little weird whenever you talk to someone or load a game. Overall, this is not a bad game, but it's not the perfect game, either. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]