User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1572 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CJStrike
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Now I don't give out easy 10's. In comparison I thought BioShock was a 9.7. This really shows how good I believe this game is. For those who don't know, Mass Effect feels like a mix between 3rd person shooter, squad-based combat and an RPG style "choose your own adventure" dialogue system. I believe ME deserves a 10 based on the depth and complexity of dialogue and the Now I don't give out easy 10's. In comparison I thought BioShock was a 9.7. This really shows how good I believe this game is. For those who don't know, Mass Effect feels like a mix between 3rd person shooter, squad-based combat and an RPG style "choose your own adventure" dialogue system. I believe ME deserves a 10 based on the depth and complexity of dialogue and the story. There is so much you can learn about everything in the Mass Effect universe from talking to people or looking at the codex. The graphics are truely next gen as well as the music is truely amazing. The moments that define Mass Effect are the on-edge dialogue scenes where one option is life, and the other death. In a world full of strict shooters and strict RPGs, Mass Effect flirts with both extremely well. This allows for a much bigger audience to be able to play and enjoy this game. Overall I believe if you own a 360, you must own Mass Effect. Expand
  2. LeeA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    The real nex-gen RPG is here. Mass effect, has an amazing story, great visuals, refreshing combat system and awsome interactivity. Even if you are not a fan of RPGs this game is a must have.
  3. HayleyM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    The best RPG game ever released. This is not meant to be a shooter game, if you want a shooter, go play Call of Duty 4. This game plays out like an interactive, epic movie, and some of the choices you make completely change everything, and it is amazing to see! The graphics are so realistic and amazing compared to KOTOR's graphics! You will actually feel connected to your party The best RPG game ever released. This is not meant to be a shooter game, if you want a shooter, go play Call of Duty 4. This game plays out like an interactive, epic movie, and some of the choices you make completely change everything, and it is amazing to see! The graphics are so realistic and amazing compared to KOTOR's graphics! You will actually feel connected to your party members, and the dialogue wheel is so fun to use, you'll find talking to characters much easier than scrolling through lines of text like in KOTOR. This is a huge and amazingly in depth game, the codex (encyclopedia of Mass Effect) is huge, and there is so much detail in this game its amazing. A rare treat, where you actually will want to replay again, and never regret purchasing! Expand
  4. ChrisD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Mass Effect sets a new standard for storytelling and cinematics, just as Kotor did before it. It does has faults- Somewhat questioanable AI at times, sidequests that aren't up to the same standard as the main quest and the issues with textures loading that are prevalent with all games using the Unreal Engine. None of these stand in the way of making it a truly amazing experience Mass Effect sets a new standard for storytelling and cinematics, just as Kotor did before it. It does has faults- Somewhat questioanable AI at times, sidequests that aren't up to the same standard as the main quest and the issues with textures loading that are prevalent with all games using the Unreal Engine. None of these stand in the way of making it a truly amazing experience though. RPG of the year. Probably Game of the year. Expand
  5. MessiahL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Alright, the idiots who keep thinking this is a shooter need to find another medocre play--like Gears of War. The vacuous need not apply here. Mass Effect is easily one of the greatest RPGs of the decade--and I have no idea why people keep passing off the combat. Trust me, it isn't as bad as the critics claim. Though if you are more into testosterone-oriented gameplay like Crysis and Alright, the idiots who keep thinking this is a shooter need to find another medocre play--like Gears of War. The vacuous need not apply here. Mass Effect is easily one of the greatest RPGs of the decade--and I have no idea why people keep passing off the combat. Trust me, it isn't as bad as the critics claim. Though if you are more into testosterone-oriented gameplay like Crysis and GoW you might want to play a game with Dionysus. Storylines with depth might be intimidating to you--but keep out of metacritic, please. Expand
  6. JasonL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I'm sure Sugreev doesn't even own a 360 he's probably another PS3 fan jealous of the 360 games. I like the way he says it's too long for an RPG...that is part of the point of being an RPG a long game that tells a great story. But back to business, this game is great; everything I have come to expect from Bioware. I'm only about 3 hours in but the story is very I'm sure Sugreev doesn't even own a 360 he's probably another PS3 fan jealous of the 360 games. I like the way he says it's too long for an RPG...that is part of the point of being an RPG a long game that tells a great story. But back to business, this game is great; everything I have come to expect from Bioware. I'm only about 3 hours in but the story is very involving the combat is gretat for an RPG, it's even solid if you were playing a shooter. My only gripes with this game and they are a minor annoyances are the fact that you can't learn abilities outside your class, I'm a Vanguard and I can't learn how to use a sniper rifle or an assault rifle so the guns are esentially useless. And the second thing is that I wish you could switch between abilites in combat without having to pause the game. But all in all this game is a fast paced KOTOR without the crappy frame rates. Everyone owes it to themselves to check this one out. Expand
  7. KevinB.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I'm giving a 10, though I'd really rate it a 9.6, so I rounded up. This game is beautiful. Complex RPG character options, beautiful graphics, extreme customizability, great characters and story, this game is near perfect. One issue is that framerate stutters at times, but this is minimal. Also, some of the AI of the enemies I've encountered so far is rather simple, but then I'm giving a 10, though I'd really rate it a 9.6, so I rounded up. This game is beautiful. Complex RPG character options, beautiful graphics, extreme customizability, great characters and story, this game is near perfect. One issue is that framerate stutters at times, but this is minimal. Also, some of the AI of the enemies I've encountered so far is rather simple, but then again this game is focused on being an RPG, so in my opinion enemy AI in the FPS portions isn't that important. Overall, it's a superb game. Looks like it could overtake Bioshock for my pick for game of the year. Expand
  8. MB
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Great RPG, it's not a shooter though. I constantly hear gripes about the combat... personally I think that it is some of the best RPG I have expierenced. If you are buying the game for an RPG you'll love it, if you don't like RPG's then why would you buy it, or review it for that matter.
  9. SteveK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Not a shooter really, this is an RPG that uses some shooter elements in its combat. But this is a gorgeous, engrossing RPG experience. If you liked KotoR, this is a no-brainer. If you like RPGs, this is a no-brainer. If you like sci-fi, this is a no-brainer. I can't believe this game costs as much as some of those movie game pieces of crap they make nowadays. The best game I've Not a shooter really, this is an RPG that uses some shooter elements in its combat. But this is a gorgeous, engrossing RPG experience. If you liked KotoR, this is a no-brainer. If you like RPGs, this is a no-brainer. If you like sci-fi, this is a no-brainer. I can't believe this game costs as much as some of those movie game pieces of crap they make nowadays. The best game I've played in a long time, rivals oblivion for best next-gen RPG, and it has that kind of immersive, movie quality feel that I haven't experienced since the first KotoR, but Mass Effect's visuals are 1000% better than Knights of the Old Republic. A MUST buy for your 360. Expand
  10. JoshuaT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. How can you not like this game? You must love Halo 3 a bit too much if you think this is long and boring! Sets the bar for RPGS everywhere!
  11. ChrisM.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The story, good god man the story.
  12. AndyK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Great RPG, good graphics, huge world...but ...weak shooter-part and some technical difficulties.
  13. JasonLong
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Odd sort of game. The RPG portions are pretty decent. Never have I seen interaction with NPC's as good as this. The combat kind of stinks and I feel it is inferior to KOTOR in this respect. A lot of work went into replayability, as all your squad members make comments etc depending upon your location.
    A bit of a mixed bag, yet I am still playing it, and am engrossed by the story. I
    Odd sort of game. The RPG portions are pretty decent. Never have I seen interaction with NPC's as good as this. The combat kind of stinks and I feel it is inferior to KOTOR in this respect. A lot of work went into replayability, as all your squad members make comments etc depending upon your location.
    A bit of a mixed bag, yet I am still playing it, and am engrossed by the story. I can overlook combat, strange bugs and the stilted graphics just because the game is so immersive.
    Expand
  14. StanH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The voice acting, directing, and production values are outstanding. It's going to be rough in the future for any RPG to offer either text responses or stilted audio replies. There are some technical flaws but what they've accomplished here far surpasses those and deserves full credit. Kudos!
  15. ButtP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    A truly amazing game with an insane amount of depth. the characters are all unique and extremely rounded. but 18 hours to beat is far too short for something that's otherwise so grand. the setting is so epic and the story is so short and lacking. i constantly felt like i was being forced to plow through the story instead of being able to explore the game world at a pace i enjoyed, A truly amazing game with an insane amount of depth. the characters are all unique and extremely rounded. but 18 hours to beat is far too short for something that's otherwise so grand. the setting is so epic and the story is so short and lacking. i constantly felt like i was being forced to plow through the story instead of being able to explore the game world at a pace i enjoyed, like being forced to take an impatient tour guide through the gughenheim. the characters are deep with their own very unique backstories. but in a game i want to play the backstory, not just sit in the ship asking my squad personal questions (which they awkwardly and unrealistically are entirely game for). if more care would have been administered to the exposition then this game would've overcame its greatest flaw (talking head exposition) and accented its greatest achievement: depth and character empathy. i agree with most of the professional reviewers though when they say that what the game succeeds at, it succeeds at so well that youre willing to suspend those grudges for a second play-through. here's hoping for the funding and desire by bioware to create a mass-effect 2 which is as epic as the setting commands. Expand
  16. BenJ.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great cake... The story and characters etc. are great, no complaints there. But the game fails at being an FPS (loved the thin hallways crammed with myself and 2 mentally challenged AI characters...nice) and it fails to be an action-RPG (or whatever it was going for) BECAUSE it failed dismally at implementing decent fighting mechinics, fps or not (No, I'm not a hardcore FPS player expecting this to be better than halo, half life 2 or insert good fps name here). Then there's the awful frame rate but I don't want to go there. I still WANT to like this game.... I just can't. I'm going to go read the book now and hope they release a movie based on it. Expand
  17. Barry
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Good fun at times, however does get a little boring with the stopping and interacting every 5 minutues. Graphics are good but not great, faces look wonky and out of shape, and it's a little grainy. Good storyline tho. Not the best game of the year either. COD4 & Assassin's Creed top it in that category.
  18. PeterHoughton
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    It's so rare to play a game that pushes the boundaries of video game graphics and is also a very fun to play. This game is so awesome, it's guaranteed there will be Sony and Nintendo fan boys entering 1 out of 10 ratings for this game on here. I read those to mean "we surrender, this game is too great for us!"
  19. JoshuaW.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    There are alot of technical issues with the game, side quests are not anywhere near the quality of the main quest (The sidequests are still better than many games out there). Those issues aside, you have to give this game a 10 because even though it's not a perfect game it still blows every other game away in terms of story, scope, sound/music RPG elements and 2nd best in graphics There are alot of technical issues with the game, side quests are not anywhere near the quality of the main quest (The sidequests are still better than many games out there). Those issues aside, you have to give this game a 10 because even though it's not a perfect game it still blows every other game away in terms of story, scope, sound/music RPG elements and 2nd best in graphics and 3rd person combat (other than Gears of War). Expand
  20. IanO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    GOTY by far.... Absoloute must buy for people who love great storylines and brilliant characters
  21. JamesF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    This game has the Bioware feel all over it, anyone who has played the Baldur
  22. StefC.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    There's some issues with the game such as the frame-rate and GUI, but if you can get past that, you will find a well thought out rpg. The exploration is fantastic, the story, the gameplay and the characters. If your on the fence deciding whether or not to purchase this game,
  23. DarrenR.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    A truly immersive experience. The characters are alive more than in any game I've played. The graphics are great - very atmospheric. And the combat is far better than I was expecting. It's not a weak point at all! It's this or Bioshock for GOTY.
  24. Stef
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I'm not a big rpg fan by any means, but this game is something special. It feels right, it makes you care about your characters and those you meet. There's a storyline, depending on how much you want to invest, the more it will give. The combat is great fun, the presentation and voice acting is tremendous, exploration is awesome and the dialogue system is top-notch. There are I'm not a big rpg fan by any means, but this game is something special. It feels right, it makes you care about your characters and those you meet. There's a storyline, depending on how much you want to invest, the more it will give. The combat is great fun, the presentation and voice acting is tremendous, exploration is awesome and the dialogue system is top-notch. There are some minor issues such as frame-rate slow downs and GUI problems. But if you can look past these, you will find a universe that is richly thoughtout. Definitely lots of replay value in ths game. Expand
  25. DanielS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    I think this game is immersive and beautifully rendered. You can find out as little about stuff as you would like or as much as you would like. I look into every detail, but if you want you can run and gun your way striaght to the end. I just really like this game, and I am taken back so many times by what is going on.
  26. TomA.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Wonderful game. The people giving it 1's seem to forget that the game is first and foremost an RPG, and that good RPGs have emersive storylines. Mass Effect follows up on that with a great story, and amazing digital characters. Everything is in-game engine, and looks beautiful. Combat does have a stiff learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you can get your squad to wield a Wonderful game. The people giving it 1's seem to forget that the game is first and foremost an RPG, and that good RPGs have emersive storylines. Mass Effect follows up on that with a great story, and amazing digital characters. Everything is in-game engine, and looks beautiful. Combat does have a stiff learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you can get your squad to wield a lot of power, especially if you can master syncronization of powers such as lift and throw to knock a strong enemy off a ledge to their death. Most of the complaints are about minor glitches, many of which could be fixed with a patch. Expand
  27. SammyJ.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Don't be fooled... this is a proper RPG game in the Final Fantasy-esque mould, but taking out some of the more intricate RPG tactics and using the room created to fill in on massive story and universe detail. It's sold as a cross between a shooter and RPG, but it's definitely more the latter simplified down to include the former. I personally like the interfaces for battle Don't be fooled... this is a proper RPG game in the Final Fantasy-esque mould, but taking out some of the more intricate RPG tactics and using the room created to fill in on massive story and universe detail. It's sold as a cross between a shooter and RPG, but it's definitely more the latter simplified down to include the former. I personally like the interfaces for battle and travel. Dionysus reckons it's a slideshow, that's cos he obviously isn't an RPG fan... this is exactly the kind of thing any RPG fan would get right away and enjoy even more. I'd say this is by far the best RPG experience on the Xbox. The only complaint I have so far is the dodgy vehicle controls for the Mako tank/car. Other than that, it's great and well worth £40 of your earthly credits. Expand
  28. PhilipW.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Great graphics, impressive scope, squad tactics, and compelling choices between paragon/renegade storyline create a lot of depth here. Unfortunately the game is not quite there. Combat can be a chaotic mess made worse by frame rates that completely stall out when the action gets hot. Controls on the Mako can also get frustrating. Finally (though somewhat expected in RPGs these days) there Great graphics, impressive scope, squad tactics, and compelling choices between paragon/renegade storyline create a lot of depth here. Unfortunately the game is not quite there. Combat can be a chaotic mess made worse by frame rates that completely stall out when the action gets hot. Controls on the Mako can also get frustrating. Finally (though somewhat expected in RPGs these days) there is a lot of time spent back-tracking (slowly as the protagonist moves painfully slow) between NPCs to relay conversations, information, etc, and lots of waiting during load cuts (none are too long, but they're frequent) and elevators. Expand
  29. StevenB.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    An incredible experience, despite some minor technical flaws. If you have any love of sci fi, role playing games, shooters or great stories, you should play this game.
  30. Drew
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe how epic this game is, an adventure for the ages and by far the most rewarding game I have experienced. The characters and world created put you at awe each time you look across the environments and cities. The story is the deepest and most playable in video game history in my opinion as all people who enjoy RPG's or any adventure at all should not pass up this Words cannot describe how epic this game is, an adventure for the ages and by far the most rewarding game I have experienced. The characters and world created put you at awe each time you look across the environments and cities. The story is the deepest and most playable in video game history in my opinion as all people who enjoy RPG's or any adventure at all should not pass up this amazing game! Expand
  31. JaceN.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    At heart I feel this game is Knights Of The Old Republic...with Gears Of War combat...and a slight tip-o-the-hat to the 1991 Sega Gensis/Megadrive game "Starflight". A pity then it seeks to be the exact perfect average of all these instead of exploring their potential fully! But I suppose I cant blame Bioware considering the time constraints and amount of removed content/detail. Heres At heart I feel this game is Knights Of The Old Republic...with Gears Of War combat...and a slight tip-o-the-hat to the 1991 Sega Gensis/Megadrive game "Starflight". A pity then it seeks to be the exact perfect average of all these instead of exploring their potential fully! But I suppose I cant blame Bioware considering the time constraints and amount of removed content/detail. Heres hoping the sequel is more fleshed out! Expand
  32. JonG.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    This is a truly amazing game, and worth the wait. As with most games, there are issues that keep me from giving it a 10, but these do not in any way downgrade my experience. The compelling story, well-developed universe, interesting characters, intuitive dialogue system, and refreshingly fun combat system all combine to make this my Game of the Year.
  33. AdamM.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Outstanding plot. Great action. Good visuals.
  34. Sam
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    First, I'd like to say... if you beat this game in 14 hours, you missed a LOT of backstory and side missions. There is so much to this game... a complete universe, and everything you do is so well thought out you can just feel the tremendous amount of work they put into planning this game. Skipping all of that work to rush to the game's end in 14 hours is nearly a crime. The one First, I'd like to say... if you beat this game in 14 hours, you missed a LOT of backstory and side missions. There is so much to this game... a complete universe, and everything you do is so well thought out you can just feel the tremendous amount of work they put into planning this game. Skipping all of that work to rush to the game's end in 14 hours is nearly a crime. The one problem I had was that your squad mates are very, very stupid. That's it; everything else I came across, from the thousands of possible dialog variations to the little planetary bios just made my jaw drop in awe. Don't let the nay-sayers dissuade you, this is without a doubt one of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  35. Huck
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    This is an excellent game. As a person who has always been a FPS player and never a fan of RPG's let me say, I loved this game. Not because its a good shooter, cause its not. For people who are hardcore FPS players, the combat in this game is remedial. But the game as a whole is an incredible experience and was very, very engrossing cinematic ride. I recommend this game as a must This is an excellent game. As a person who has always been a FPS player and never a fan of RPG's let me say, I loved this game. Not because its a good shooter, cause its not. For people who are hardcore FPS players, the combat in this game is remedial. But the game as a whole is an incredible experience and was very, very engrossing cinematic ride. I recommend this game as a must play along with Bioshock and COD4!! Expand
  36. DanielK.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    This game has easily blown my expectations away, from the amazing combat to the difficult and heartfelt decisions you make along the way. Not even the minor graphical glitches could sway my love for this amazing game. Easily a contender for Game of the Year.
  37. Brent
    Dec 13, 2007
    9
    Realistically imagined and a beautifully executed, Mass effect delivers in a way many adventure stories fail. politically and emotionally driven, just the sheer amount of background-story depth and the massive variety of environments with epic views of other worlds is enough to draw one in to this ambitious original space drama. gameplay is smart and fun, and graphics are gorgeous. The Realistically imagined and a beautifully executed, Mass effect delivers in a way many adventure stories fail. politically and emotionally driven, just the sheer amount of background-story depth and the massive variety of environments with epic views of other worlds is enough to draw one in to this ambitious original space drama. gameplay is smart and fun, and graphics are gorgeous. The basic plot of mass effect echoes the triumphant and epic tale of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic however, which if youve played and beaten Knights of the Old Republic, can at times give you a been-there-done-that feel. In the end it was very much worth the rich 20+ hours i put into it, but being a strong knights of the old republic fan, i would have prefered that Bioware make a Knights of the old republic 3 and finish the story that they started a few years ago, and i think many would agree. Expand
  38. MikeW.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    The game has its flaws, but what it does right is so much more impressive. I've never been so immersed in a game as I am with this one. The graphics, storyline and character customization are so good. I didn't have any AI problems really. By the end of the game My AI were lifting people up and I was blowing them away. The menus take awhile to get used to, items should feel more The game has its flaws, but what it does right is so much more impressive. I've never been so immersed in a game as I am with this one. The graphics, storyline and character customization are so good. I didn't have any AI problems really. By the end of the game My AI were lifting people up and I was blowing them away. The menus take awhile to get used to, items should feel more unique, and some frame rate issues could be cleaned up and you NEED to be able to run all the time. I love the side missions, with the exception of the mineral/artifact ones. I'd give it a ten but there are so many minor flaws that I can't, but I'm enjoying it more than anything I've played this year. I'd really give it like a 9.5-9.6 Expand
  39. LeroyR.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Mass effect is brilliant. I must say it is much more ambitious than Kotor and this only allows the player to realize the scope of this magnificent game. i cant believe how good this game is. Its like Kotor, Graw and Oblivion wrapped in one graphically superior package which couldn't have been done with the last gen consoles. Mass effect is like watching a movie and I playing this Mass effect is brilliant. I must say it is much more ambitious than Kotor and this only allows the player to realize the scope of this magnificent game. i cant believe how good this game is. Its like Kotor, Graw and Oblivion wrapped in one graphically superior package which couldn't have been done with the last gen consoles. Mass effect is like watching a movie and I playing this games truly makes me believe that a really good video game movie is possible. love you Bioware you have yet to make an average game, but can we have Kotor 3 please? Expand
  40. TrevorB.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    This is the best RPG I've seen since Neverwinter Nights. While there's some areas that could be improved on, overall the game is very well polished, has plenty of replay value, and tells a great story. I can't wait for Mass Effect 2 & 3.
  41. Brett
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    If you are a SciFi fan and like RPG games, there is nothing better. Sure not every aspect of the game is a 10, but the sheer beauty, scope, and fantastic story of mass effect make up for it. 60 hours into it and level 50 on my first play through and I'm excited to start over a a new character. This is the future of this type of game. You won't be disapointed.
  42. MarkP.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    Mass Effect works better as an interactive cinematic experience than it does as a game. Worth experiencing, but has critical flaws in its core combat gameplay.
  43. Daz
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A tremendous game that has alot of potential, sure i was hoped for more intetaction but everything is so smooth and well done i cant really fault for anything above minor niggles that arent important.
  44. B.L.
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    A really enjoyable game, I only wish it could have been the 350 hours of gameplay that Baldur's Gate 2 was. The exercise of landing on planets is intriguing but I do wish there was more to do there. Epic is a good word for this experience. Especially the very first main mission when you see a massive ship take off into space. Breathtaking.
  45. EdwardC.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    This game is one of the best RPG games I've ever played and could be a perfect 10 had it not been for some minor technical issues. The story, characters, concept is all completely brilliant and compels you to play the game more than once. In fact I've played through this game four times now using different classes, sex, and good/bad guy tracks. There is the obvious texture This game is one of the best RPG games I've ever played and could be a perfect 10 had it not been for some minor technical issues. The story, characters, concept is all completely brilliant and compels you to play the game more than once. In fact I've played through this game four times now using different classes, sex, and good/bad guy tracks. There is the obvious texture loading flaws and a sub-par combat system because this game is trying to achieve tactical shooter status in a RPG which is close to impossible. The combat system needs updated for the sequel and the game length needs to be addressed. If you don't do sidequests it takes about 15hours for a competent gamer to finish this game. Witht he side quests you might add anywhere from 5-8 additional hours. I spent 200+ hours on Oblivion. Enough said. Definately a buy though. Expand
  46. WinstonSmith
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Mass Effect is like the escape scene in Shawshank Redemption: it gives you the same feeling of joy, liberation, and hope after having crawled through the tunnel of shit that is the gaming industry.
    I'm just disgusted that BioShock is beating this game in score and attention. The only thing I can credit BioShock with is creating an original world with a thoroughly convoluted plot.
    Mass Effect is like the escape scene in Shawshank Redemption: it gives you the same feeling of joy, liberation, and hope after having crawled through the tunnel of shit that is the gaming industry.
    I'm just disgusted that BioShock is beating this game in score and attention. The only thing I can credit BioShock with is creating an original world with a thoroughly convoluted plot. That was refreshing...but that's where it ends. Note that the adjectives "original" and "convoluted" are to be taken literally. They mean exactly what they mean...they don't mean the story is cohesive, engaging, compelling, or believable.
    Then there's the hideous design. Each level starts out with the objective of getting out. Naturally, you make your way to the exit, only to find out that you have to backtrack across the whole level to pick up stuff you couldnt access before just to get BACK to the now accessible exit... That's real nice. It's like some said: Hey 2K! Let's make the entire plot one huge distraction on the player's path to the exit... There was no AI to speak of. The weapons are common and all the talk of upgrades is worthless because it only exists to counterbalance the fact that all the enemies gradually get more health. Plasmids are largely redundant and poorly implemented. The problem is, you simple never HAVE to use them. Every obstacle can easily be solved with a wrench or electrified ammo. And on top of that, every effort is made even MORE meaningless by virtue of the respawning machines that bring you back and leave everyone's health just as you left it. They say that it's a game where YOU are responsible for the quality of the experience. I say that's really shitty game design. Chess is "strategic" because of the set rules that apply...not because you have force yourself to make up rules. And that is what's winning over the masterpiece that is Mass Effect.

    That's not to say that Mass Effect doesn't have its flaws. The AI makes BioShock's look brilliant. The enemies are SO aesthetically redundant, as are the weapons. Of course, if you put your mind to it, you could come up with a meaningful reason why the Geth are a bland assortment of gray and white...but since the game never cares to discuss their appearance, we'll say it was a poor design choice. Hmm...I suppose that's it really for the flaws. I don't consider the texture loading a significant flaw. It doesn't bother me in the least. Honestly...all these flaws are the result of releasing it too early. They could've further developed the AI, and made the enemies/weapons look different instead of just painting them different colors. It was such a mistake... Mass Effect got buried under all the November releases. Stupid BioShock!
    Now on to the amazing! The story...someone here said something along the lines of: "Good lord, the story!!!". My sentiments exactly. Now, we all know it isn't anything particularly original, but only an idiot disregards unoriginal ideas as worthless. The beauty of Mass Effect is in the execution. It took the tried and true alien/human foundation and took it up about 10 notches. The achievement of Mass Effect's story is comparable to LOTR. LOTR did nothing original. Light vs Dark is the oldest damn thing in the book...yet it added humanity to it...something we could touch.
    I'm shocked that people are saying BioShock has amazing graphics with Mass Effect out. Mass Effect makes everything else look like polygonal vomit. The textures are so wonderfully accurate it makes me want to touch myself. I have never given a crap about graphics. I always said I'd sooner play Grim Fandango or Fallout instead of Crysis. But the graphics in Mass Effect are functional...they're not just "blow everything else out of the water" amazing...they move the experience a little closer to you. I would readily say that Mass Effect is the best graphics showcase in history. Crysis can suck it.
    Now I know, that some people said that compared to KOTOR, Mass Effect lacks NPC depth and interaction. I think that people simply confused quantity for depth. It pissed me off to no end when I'd be in the middle of a dungeon and Carth would start a freaking 5 minute soap opera with any of the characters. Their petty emotions and hissy fits only distracted me from w/e was going on at the moment. It didn't bring me any closer to the experience because their hissy fits were too personal. Their problems belonged to a different time and place that added little to nothing to the present experience. Mass Effect disbands the illusion of quantity as depth and brings something more meaningful into the game. No, you can't have a meaningless conversation with everyone you see, but why would you want to? That just dilutes the quality of NPC interaction. What if I'm roleplaying as someone who doesn't give a rats ass about personal issues? Mass Effect lets you. The characters open up if you want them to. It's war...and it feels like it. Your crew doesn't pester you with stupidity every 10 minutes unlike in KOTOR. Honestly, I would trade the little bits of elevator banter in Mass Effect for all the stupid personal dilemmas of the KOTOR whiners. Even the ELEVATORS drag you into the universe. If your NPC aren't exchanging thoughts in them, the elevator radio always drops some info or hint pertaining to one quest or another...or it reinforces the general mood of the game. Honestly, I can't praise this game enough.
    This game is the most cinematic piece of work EVER. I wouldn't be surprised if the people making it had film degrees. Just from the opening cut-scenes, you see just how dramatic and cinematic the camera work is. You really have to see it to believe it. I mean, they even give you the option to have a FILM GRAIN. That's brilliant. I didn't particularly like it, but the significance was not lost on me.
    The dialogue wheel was...dubious. At times I thoroughly enjoyed it. At others I wished there was a more significant difference in the dialogue options. I guess I'm just a fan of the old school, Fallout type list of dialogue options. I suppose with a bit of refinement, the dialogue wheel could've been even more amazing than it already is. it could've had the feel of a Fallout list of options...

    I don't know why people are bashing the inventory. Considering the wealth of items you have to manage, I thought it was extremely intuitive. Maybe people are just retarded.
    I guess I'll end on a complaint so there's always something to strive for. I'm sick of the light/dark system. I suppose the paragon/renegade thing is a little better...it models more of a gray area type moral system. But I would abolish the light/dark garbage all together. Instead I'd have NPC reactions based on w/e choices you made without some light/dark value assigned to them. For example, if you chose to kill the Rachni Queen, instead of giving you renegade points, you get different kinds of options/reaction from the inhabitants of the universe. Maybe you'd earn the favor of the Krogan and the ire of Salarians who might've wanted to form an alliance...or study the Rachni. Why can't people realize that there is no light and dark. There's only action and reaction. Light/dark is a stupid and thoroughly limiting system. But w/e...people like it, and I doubt I'll see anything different until I'm the one making games. That's right...I'm gonna make em...someday!

    In closing, if Mass Effect was a book, it'd be in the "necessary life reading" section. Mass Effect was such an important step for games and it sickens me that infectious waste like BioShock shadows this achievement. BioShock did NOTHING. The only consequence of BioShock is that it'll have a thousand copy cats making obscenely psychotic stories that are even less cohesive than BioShock's. And they'll all call it original and ground breaking because incohesive psycho stories aren't common. I would much sooner indulge in something common but well executed instead of something that rides only on the fact that it hasn't been done before and offers nothing but that fact. And this is coming from the person who values originality to no end. Anyway...quit wasting time and go monetarily support an achievement that deserves every penny it demands.
    Oh yeah! And how about the very subtle cliff hanger ending? I'm just dying to know more about the Reapers. I'm sensing a big philosophical revelation in the Mass Effect sequels. Let's just hope it won't be like the Matrix trilogy...

    Go buy this cherry popping, krazy glue cohesive work of art!!!!!!
    Expand
  47. JesseB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing gameplay and versitility, the option to choose who goes with you and the ability to command them is a plus. Sometimes equiping your team mates can be a hassle but hassles are challenges and challenges are what make games fun.
  48. JoeBloggs
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Maybe I havnt even played this game, but neither did the people on Fox and they still judged it. However, since I am a teenager I will give the opposite judgement to them. I am living inside a game world. I cannot tell the difference between reality (isn't it all an illusion?) and gaming. But, since all games are the same (senseless violence and crude sex) they all deserve a 10/10Maybe I havnt even played this game, but neither did the people on Fox and they still judged it. However, since I am a teenager I will give the opposite judgement to them. I am living inside a game world. I cannot tell the difference between reality (isn't it all an illusion?) and gaming. But, since all games are the same (senseless violence and crude sex) they all deserve a 10/10 from me. You see, thats all I want from a game - virtual sex, because I cant find sex anywhere else - its just too difficult to find. Of course, excessive violence is also necessary - otherwise, how can I satisfy my sadistic habbits? Of course, some lunatics think there is more to gaming than that. Dont listen to them, they're just trying to spread misinformation. Anyway, this concludes my review of Mass Effect. Maybe I should get back to playing Pac Man now. Although I heard Fox news had criticised it for promoting cannibalism. Oh well, I guess they know best. I mean, since when have they ever told a lie? Expand
  49. KarlosCano
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This IS a really good game...it is better than the near perfect jede empire...i really love this game, it is the best game bioware ever made, everithing is just as it should be, the story is dramatic with really awesome endings, the graphics are just one of the best i've ever see, the music and the voice acting is perfect :D :D...i've beat this game like 8 times since i´veThis IS a really good game...it is better than the near perfect jede empire...i really love this game, it is the best game bioware ever made, everithing is just as it should be, the story is dramatic with really awesome endings, the graphics are just one of the best i've ever see, the music and the voice acting is perfect :D :D...i've beat this game like 8 times since i´ve buy it....and i just like it more every time i played it :D...it is really a masterpiece from bioware.....i really want the second part now.... XD Expand
  50. grahamS
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    I just don't understand the few critics of Mass Effect. A score of 54 from netjak! They must have played the wrong game. Bioware should be applauded for such a fantastic game. Apart from a few dodgy graphics (textures?) at times, the story was excellent and engrossing. Combat was fun, and conversations interesting, and often funny. This has to be my No1 game now; ahead of Half Life I just don't understand the few critics of Mass Effect. A score of 54 from netjak! They must have played the wrong game. Bioware should be applauded for such a fantastic game. Apart from a few dodgy graphics (textures?) at times, the story was excellent and engrossing. Combat was fun, and conversations interesting, and often funny. This has to be my No1 game now; ahead of Half Life (first one), Halo (first one) and Shenmue (first one). Please bring on the sequel as soon as possible, Bioware. You did a brilliant job. Expand
  51. OhmanM
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    Netjak should honestly be removed from the reviews-- it's absurd and I've never even heard of them prior, I highly doubt they're a legitimate review site. A 54? Honestly, it brought the Metacritic grade down like 3 points with that crap.
  52. RommelA
    May 31, 2008
    10
    This is the best game to come in my hands. It hits my scale at 10/10, The gameplay is action-packed and the story-line is Massive and Emotional. The character Voicing is Top-Notch, best ive ever Heard. This surely "Drops My Jaw".
  53. benf
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Best Bioware RPG to date, excellent setting, excellent characters, excellent duologue,excellent score although 1 or 2 niggles such as texture pop in and the fact you seem to have your own gravitational pull its worth an 9.8.
  54. RyanM.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    We all know its hard to live up to the hype of games made by companies who've had success with other games in the same genre. Fortunately, no one has to worry with Mass Effect, its a great game. Without giving too much away, the music is great, graphics are obviously good, conversations can be interesting, emotional, and even fun. Plus you're finally in a situation where We all know its hard to live up to the hype of games made by companies who've had success with other games in the same genre. Fortunately, no one has to worry with Mass Effect, its a great game. Without giving too much away, the music is great, graphics are obviously good, conversations can be interesting, emotional, and even fun. Plus you're finally in a situation where you're in control as spectre, which is cooler than just about anything. One of the best features might be the conversation wheel, some decisions made/had an emotional effect on me sometimes. I don't want to give anything else away, but if you buy an Xbox 360 anytime soon with the discount prices, this should be the first game on your list to buy along with Halo 3. Fans of Star Wars should especially like this game. Expand
  55. BarneeB
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is probably the only game I would give a 11 if it was possibble. I find it not just the best rpg, but simply the BEST GAME OF THIS GENERATION. I've never been shocked like this before by a game. Of course you can't directly compare older and newer games. It is even better than Kotor, which is saying something! The story is excellent! Production values are amazingly high! This is probably the only game I would give a 11 if it was possibble. I find it not just the best rpg, but simply the BEST GAME OF THIS GENERATION. I've never been shocked like this before by a game. Of course you can't directly compare older and newer games. It is even better than Kotor, which is saying something! The story is excellent! Production values are amazingly high! The attention to the smallest details is evident everywhere! There's so much content in the game that it blew me away. Graphics, music and voice-over is also top notch. There are some minor technical issues like occasional slowdowns, but they never break the game so it's probably doesn't even worth mentioning. Combat is also done very well, I enjoyed the game playing as a soldier the most, it became practically a shooter with RPG elements, and for me it is the best combination. The new conversation system works very well, it's hard to go back to the traditional one, found in other RPGs. Do yourself a favour and buy this game, even if you are mildly interested in scifi, shooter or RPGs! Expand
  56. Sasha
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    this game is insane! the first time i played it i thought it kinda sucked, because i had no idea where to go and the menus r kinda weird to get used too. but i got it again(a year later) from gamestop for $15 and could NOT stop playing. the voiced acting is top notch and dialog options compete with oblivion and fallout3. the action feels a lot like Gears, which is nice, but i haven't this game is insane! the first time i played it i thought it kinda sucked, because i had no idea where to go and the menus r kinda weird to get used too. but i got it again(a year later) from gamestop for $15 and could NOT stop playing. the voiced acting is top notch and dialog options compete with oblivion and fallout3. the action feels a lot like Gears, which is nice, but i haven't tried the special powers yet so i don't have anything to say about them. the only down side to this game is elevators take longer than real life elevators to travel 1 floor. also, to people who say the graphics suck, first of all this game came out 2 years ago and i still find them really good. Expand
  57. DaxxO.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Another outstanding game for the Xbox 360's library of exclusive titles. Mass Effect gushes with great gameplay, beautiful graphics, and has an excellent story that any sci-fi fan would love. BioWare has yet again created another RPG master piece that could easily win Game of the Year.
  58. JohnN.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    Mass effect is truly this year's best game. From the creators of the famous Baldur's Gate and Knights of the Old Republic, Bioware, have done it once again. Mass Effect's story-line, gameplay and graphics are amazing.
  59. MaxO.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Absolutely an amazing game! Best RPG to come out in a very long time! The game is an RPG, for those who think differently I do not understand why. Do not judge this game on anything besides being an RPG as that is what it is.
  60. ChrisI.
    Nov 18, 2007
    9
    Brilliant game. Some minor issues such as texture pop in and average combat AI, but problems are eclipsed by excellent and engaging dialog, story, and exploration. Combat is similar to the Gears of War model with cover and charging etc, and you are free to explore and survey dozens of planets outside of the main story. A lot of sidemissions can open up this way. Difficult to put down.
  61. 440Magnum
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Beautiful graphics, fresh gameplay, and an amazing storyline all come together to make this the must have RPG in videogaming this year!
  62. JamesR
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I haven't even played Mass Effect yet and therefore feel free to hate me for assigning a score, normally i would never do such a thing and hate when people do so. The only reason i have given a score now is to counteract Meestyk who gave it 1/10 simply because it wasn't released on the PC (and actually in his review claimed it would otherwise be a 9.8). It's a completelyI haven't even played Mass Effect yet and therefore feel free to hate me for assigning a score, normally i would never do such a thing and hate when people do so. The only reason i have given a score now is to counteract Meestyk who gave it 1/10 simply because it wasn't released on the PC (and actually in his review claimed it would otherwise be a 9.8). It's a completely ridiculous and unfair thing to do and as such i post this merely to rebalance the average score. Expand
  63. ChrisM
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    I've had this game since the 17th and in my opinion it deserves at least a 9.7 (rounding up to 10) despite these technial problems that have been described. I certainly don't get as much of this slowdown as they seem to. Yes it happens occasionally but not often and only when a lot of things happen at once. I also am yet to see ANY enemies "phase through walls" (IGN review) andI've had this game since the 17th and in my opinion it deserves at least a 9.7 (rounding up to 10) despite these technial problems that have been described. I certainly don't get as much of this slowdown as they seem to. Yes it happens occasionally but not often and only when a lot of things happen at once. I also am yet to see ANY enemies "phase through walls" (IGN review) and I've been stuck on an object just once.

    I would also like to point out that people were obviously expecting a bit too much from the exploration system. I mean you can only fit so much on a single freaking disc. The amount to do in the game is amazing.

    On the point of the combat, it's frantic, fun and difficult. Occasionally the AI isn't that great but again I think the problems with it are overstated. Enemies take cover, snipe you, use biotic powers on you AND on your cover, and they will kill you. A lot.

    The brilliant characters, story, fun combat, and great conversation system outweigh any minor problems. My game of the year for sure.
    Expand
  64. JohnColaw
    Nov 19, 2007
    9
    Mass Effect is simply amazing. The storytelling is so epic and intense that often you may find yourself staring at the options available, strongly considering the consequences of each one.
    The combat itself is actually very fun, and while it wouldn't stand up by itself as an FPS, when combined with the storytelling is very fun. The use of cover and the environment is absolutely
    Mass Effect is simply amazing. The storytelling is so epic and intense that often you may find yourself staring at the options available, strongly considering the consequences of each one.
    The combat itself is actually very fun, and while it wouldn't stand up by itself as an FPS, when combined with the storytelling is very fun. The use of cover and the environment is absolutely key. Outnumbered? Tell your team to hang back, go in shooting and draw them to you, then run back; leading the enemy into an ambush through a tight hallway. Yeah, you can do that.

    The called upon graphical glitches DO exist, but they don't detract. Sure, textures may take 4 seconds to load sometimes. But the hour you spend following that 4 seconds makes you forget it even happened; until it happens again. Cycle repeats. You spend maybe 2 minutes waiting on textures to load out of 30 hours.
    Expand
  65. JackM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. This is an absolute must buy. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay varies from person to person (not meant for shooter fans so don't make it out to be one), the dialogue really takes a step forward from other games. The immersion is also great, it sucks you in. It isn't all perfect though, there ARE flaws but Bioware are probably planning to release a Absolutely amazing game. This is an absolute must buy. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay varies from person to person (not meant for shooter fans so don't make it out to be one), the dialogue really takes a step forward from other games. The immersion is also great, it sucks you in. It isn't all perfect though, there ARE flaws but Bioware are probably planning to release a patch to cover these issues. Final deadline: With a game this good, it's hard not to look over the minor flaws. Expand
  66. MikeS.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Awesome game, the detail is simply amazing.
  67. ShawnW.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Some of the menu's are a bit wonky and there are texture issues here and there...but that's the extent of my complaints....the rest of this game is simply engrossing...I am stuck in "Let me get this one last thing done before I go to bed" again...just like Oblivion.
  68. NickM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Not only is this a great game, but its a great piece of interactive entertainment. The story is both griping and entertaining, leaving the player emotional attached to the character and his/her crew. A few minor graphic issues arise here and there, but that is to be expected when pushing a piece of hardware to its limits. The shooter aspect of the game is rather lackluster, but does the Not only is this a great game, but its a great piece of interactive entertainment. The story is both griping and entertaining, leaving the player emotional attached to the character and his/her crew. A few minor graphic issues arise here and there, but that is to be expected when pushing a piece of hardware to its limits. The shooter aspect of the game is rather lackluster, but does the job well enough to be entertaining. Bottom line: few flaws, but these are greatly minimized by everything GREAT that the game does accomplish. Expand
  69. MarcioM.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Amazing RPG in the vein of KOTOR. Great graphics, awesome replay value and a stunning si-fi storyline wraps up an otherwise must-play experience.
  70. Kevin
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Anyone who buys this thinking its just an FPS is an idiot. This game is the best RPG of this year, hands down. SO MUCH DETAIL in this game its mindblowing.
  71. [Anonymous]
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Amazing rpg. Sucks you in and doesn't let go. The combat is quite unique and will frustrate you at first. But, once you get the hang of it you'll find it is better than almost any rpg out there. Just don't expect it to play like a shooter. The game suffers from some technical issues like all other sandbox rpg's, but they really don't take you out of the game. The Amazing rpg. Sucks you in and doesn't let go. The combat is quite unique and will frustrate you at first. But, once you get the hang of it you'll find it is better than almost any rpg out there. Just don't expect it to play like a shooter. The game suffers from some technical issues like all other sandbox rpg's, but they really don't take you out of the game. The voice acting, story, and cutscenes truly are movie quality most of the time. This game is better than Oblivion in almost every way. The rpg elements are better, imo, though not quite the breadth of Oblivion. This is an obvious must have for any rpg or sci-fi fan out there, but don't buy it for the shooter elements if you strictly like shooters. It really plays more like an rpg than a shooter when it comes down to it. Make sure to pick your crew properly before entering a mission. If it is in the main quest, pick a combat heavy crew. If you are doing a side quest or simply exploring some planet, pick a tech heavy group. I only have two real annoyances with the game. For one, it can be frustrating when enemies rush and overwhelm you in certain instances right as you enter a room. It isn't always like this, but it can be annoying when you die 5 times in a 10 second battle. The other annoyance is that characters level individually. This kind of makes you want to use the same crew constantly even though different skills help you in different situations. Why are you reading this? Go get the game! Expand
  72. VeritaA.
    Nov 23, 2007
    10
    Absolutely brilliant, best game on the Xbox 360 and one of the best games ever made. Can't remember when I've been more absorbed in a story or had so much fun.
  73. KennethV.
    Nov 23, 2007
    9
    So far what I've played has been exceptional. The storyline is engrossing even if it is the old tried and true sci-fi plotline. The characters and vistas are amazingly designed. The only issues I've seen are framerate, stuttering issues, and some very minor pop in (but on grand vistas that obviously go on for miles). I do agree with the general conscencious that the combat is So far what I've played has been exceptional. The storyline is engrossing even if it is the old tried and true sci-fi plotline. The characters and vistas are amazingly designed. The only issues I've seen are framerate, stuttering issues, and some very minor pop in (but on grand vistas that obviously go on for miles). I do agree with the general conscencious that the combat is lacking something. However I believe people are forgetting that this is a rpg not a fps or third-person shooter. Expand
  74. PhilipM.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Amazing graphics, almost flawlessly integrates with the game, storyline rich and powerful, 10
  75. MikeL.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Fantastic graphics, gameplay works seamlessly, plot grreat.
  76. ScottS.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I have no idea how you could misinterpret this game as a powerpoint slideshow, but hey...it's a big planet. Mass Effect is a combination of Gears of War, Knights of the Old Republic, Starflight, and Oblivion. It does some elements better than others, but in my opinion this game is space opera at its best and easily my choice of GOTY. (And it's been a good year) It's only I have no idea how you could misinterpret this game as a powerpoint slideshow, but hey...it's a big planet. Mass Effect is a combination of Gears of War, Knights of the Old Republic, Starflight, and Oblivion. It does some elements better than others, but in my opinion this game is space opera at its best and easily my choice of GOTY. (And it's been a good year) It's only flaws are an inventory system that can be byzantine and touchy vehicle controls; those are small gripes though when I step back and look at the game as a whole. If you like RPGs and like space opera, get this game. Now. Expand
  77. GunnarG.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Overall a great game, I would give it a rating of 9,8. It's the best RPG game in years. The combat isn't perfect but for a RPG it's alright. The graphics are great with beautiful environments and good light and shadow effects. Though textures sometimes seem to "pop in" as a scene loads but a normal level loading time is short (few seconds). The game has great replay value Overall a great game, I would give it a rating of 9,8. It's the best RPG game in years. The combat isn't perfect but for a RPG it's alright. The graphics are great with beautiful environments and good light and shadow effects. Though textures sometimes seem to "pop in" as a scene loads but a normal level loading time is short (few seconds). The game has great replay value and it's likely to take you more than 40 hours to play through it. If you truly emerge yourself in to the Mass Effect world (by reading the information and doing as many side quest as you can) it would take you much longer. Expand
  78. BenH.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Microsoft have now produced (with other game companys help of course) two of the best space games ever made. The first was freelancer and amazing deep space faring game. The second, this game mass effect. It is so deep and the storyline so brilliantly done. I have to give this game a 10 as i havent been so addicted to a single player game like this in a long time. Imagine if Microsoft had Microsoft have now produced (with other game companys help of course) two of the best space games ever made. The first was freelancer and amazing deep space faring game. The second, this game mass effect. It is so deep and the storyline so brilliantly done. I have to give this game a 10 as i havent been so addicted to a single player game like this in a long time. Imagine if Microsoft had the guts to go ahead and merge freelancer with mass effect. you would have the probably one of the greatest games ever made. It would be unbelievable. Come on Microsoft DO IT. DO IT!! Expand
  79. SethC.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Great game, the main quest line is near flawless; however, the uncharted planets can get slightly repetitive and may feel like a grind. I finished roughly 80-85% of the game in 32 hours. I plan on replaying the game several times. The last 30 minutes of gameplay easily make the entire game worthwhile.
  80. CliveG.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    A solid RPG with flawed action. The storyline can be a little contrived but ultimately this a rollicking jaunt through space with just enough freedom to make it feel like it's not linear. The biggest disappointment is the combat mechanic where the cover and duck system can be frustrating because it's not intuitive or accurate. Also, overly complex menus with no real explanation A solid RPG with flawed action. The storyline can be a little contrived but ultimately this a rollicking jaunt through space with just enough freedom to make it feel like it's not linear. The biggest disappointment is the combat mechanic where the cover and duck system can be frustrating because it's not intuitive or accurate. Also, overly complex menus with no real explanation of functionality or benefit to the gamer can jar. Areas for improvement include making the ship, the Normandy, more of a living-breathing vessel with more interesting interaction between the crew and the ship itself. Expand
  81. TomW.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    This game was amazing!, if you loved Kotor you will not be dissapointed. Deep, engrossing storyline and a wonderfully fleshed out universe. Wonderful dialogue system and some tough (and heartbreaking) moral choices in the game. There is constant texture popping but it is a small complaint when compared to how beautiful and immersive the game is.
  82. SandoC.
    Nov 26, 2007
    7
    A very good sci-fi rpg/shooter. But the corresponding bugs from it's predecessors will limit the expectation and the whole gameplay sequence might not interest a lot of people.
  83. crashmstr
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    This game is beautiful, and the story is incredible. Sure, there are some problems. But these are small irritations compared to how well the game works and plays as a whole. The options for customizing your face and then seeing that face throughout the game was very cool and helped to draw me into the narrative more. Dionysus J.: Have you actually played the game? The dialog is excellent, This game is beautiful, and the story is incredible. Sure, there are some problems. But these are small irritations compared to how well the game works and plays as a whole. The options for customizing your face and then seeing that face throughout the game was very cool and helped to draw me into the narrative more. Dionysus J.: Have you actually played the game? The dialog is excellent, the voice acting is very good, and you actually often get to see and hear your character doing what you want to do (like punching out a whining scientist). And in comparison to other similar RPGs, Mass Effect is not any more dialog intensive. Rob: When you throw and opponent against a wall, they do get hurt. Also, they can't shoot you while they are getting back up :) Healing is actually a tech skill, so having the med gel does make sense. Expand
  84. MaxCo.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    I've had a blast playing through this game and I'm currently nearly through the second time. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is fun, and the story is pretty good. Problems with the game would be a sometimes slow pacing (Saren is about to destroy the galaxy, but lets check out this planet first!), un-inspired worlds (empty with lots of hills/mountains with a couple I've had a blast playing through this game and I'm currently nearly through the second time. The graphics are amazing, the gameplay is fun, and the story is pretty good. Problems with the game would be a sometimes slow pacing (Saren is about to destroy the galaxy, but lets check out this planet first!), un-inspired worlds (empty with lots of hills/mountains with a couple resources, but it is more realistic since undeveloped planets would be fairly barren), long load times (which are sometimes hidden by extremely slow elevator rides and sometimes slow doors that have to be opened), and graphic pop-in (graphics load somewhat then load fully while you watch and your characters/scene goes). Overall, I really do like this game and can't wait for the 2 sequels, but hopefully the problems it does have will be fixed. Expand
  85. KenH.
    Nov 27, 2007
    7
    A great story and presentation but the combat is winky, the AI is braindead and the planet side mission when you drive "mako" vehicle around are all big faults that detract from the fun. The story is fun to see it through but I'm not sure the game is worth more than a 7 or 8 score.
  86. AlexT.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Amazing simply amazing only small graphical and loading issues as close to perfection as possible.
  87. UncleScrotar
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    I sense a lot of liars on this thread. All the 0's and 4's who claim to have finished the game in under 8 hours are talking out of their ass. Let's not touch on the nay sayers... ME is one of the best games to grace this console generation. Well done BioWare...
  88. SpencerB.
    Dec 25, 2007
    9
    Awesome game with some technical issues that make it a 9 instead of a 10. The game (story, gameplay, etc) definitely scored a 10 with me. I'm working on the second time through...but the stuttering framerate and complete pain in the butt inventory system make you want to scream from time to time. Can't wait for ME2!
  89. KodyF.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    I really think this is the best game I've ever played, I've never enjoyed a game as much as I have Mass Effect.
  90. JustinHair
    Nov 13, 2008
    7
    If you are looking for a story to watch...err play then this game is for you. The story is decent but everything else is lacking. The controls are very sluggish and the ui is horrid at best. The game is a chore to play and feels more like a punishment just to see what happens next. I do not recommend this game to anyone who prefers gameplay over story. This game is not fun.
  91. JodyC
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and Love midnight openings. Anyway, its heeeerrre...the sequel to one of if not THE most popular shooters on the Xbox 360. Gears of War 1 was fun, good looking, and easy to play...sporting a gameplay that was both challenging and easy in its execution. OF COURSE hype has been mounting for this game...and with good reason, we are told we are getting something bigger, more story-driven, and better in every way...and for the most part it delivers. First, anyone expecting a big graphics upgrade will be dissapointed and while it does look a bit better than Gears 1 (which already looks incredible), the quality and scale / size feels the same even though they do a good job of tricking you into believing its a MUCH BIGGER, MUCH BETTER LOOKING game. Sound and Music are top-notch...the soundtrack is calm / tense depending on the situation and that creates a certain atmoshperic element to the game but the voice acting is a bit weaker this time around...its a little over-dramatic and eye-rolling at times (mostly the from Dom...Marcus's friend). The gameplay is basically the same with a few added moves and animations to make things appear more "fresh", but fans of Gears 1 will have no problems adapting its still a great "pick up and play" type game. Overall, Gears 2 is a step in the right direction...it is BIGGER, BETTER, and MORE BADASS than the original even if the "BIGGER" aspect feels more like an illusion...it still feels the same "size" as Gears 1 just busier things going on in the background. Anyway, the expanded story alone is what makes this game irresistable....as it was the ONLY thing missing from the first game...this Gears of War feels SO much more COMPLETE. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Expand
  92. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    BioWare did it again!!! One of the most cinematic games of all-time, something that's definitely helped by a fantastic story, great writing, movie-quality direction, and strong voiceover work.
  93. Oct 8, 2012
    10
    I've played a lot of Science Fiction games during my lifetime. I can honestly say that Mass Effect is the best game in the genre. The opening backstory "Mass Effect" is not so amazing to start off with, but then you see the impact of the backstory right before your eyes as you progress through the game. The story keeps getting stronger and more exciting from there, and more emotional.I've played a lot of Science Fiction games during my lifetime. I can honestly say that Mass Effect is the best game in the genre. The opening backstory "Mass Effect" is not so amazing to start off with, but then you see the impact of the backstory right before your eyes as you progress through the game. The story keeps getting stronger and more exciting from there, and more emotional.

    The game was so good that I couldn't wait for Mass Effect 2: an amazing game that while being great, lacks some of the feel that I felt when playing the first Mass Effect. Play Mass Effect. If you haven't, you should. This is the kind of video game not meant for gamers. This one is based around character development, story and moral choices that are hard to achieve in this gaming age.
    Expand
  94. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    Have yet to play mass effect 2 but simply put this game is amazing. It has sci-fi, guns, dialogue trees, Seth Green and an amazing story. A must buy for anyone who owns a 360.
  95. Apr 24, 2011
    8
    Mass Effect is a very impressive game, with great RPG elements and solid third-person shooter gameplay. The story, characters and sci-fi setting are what stand out in this game among all the other games. It is a superb game, let down slightly by its graphics engine and occassionally tedious Mako planet exploring sections. I could write a lot about this game, but I'm going to sum it up. TheMass Effect is a very impressive game, with great RPG elements and solid third-person shooter gameplay. The story, characters and sci-fi setting are what stand out in this game among all the other games. It is a superb game, let down slightly by its graphics engine and occassionally tedious Mako planet exploring sections. I could write a lot about this game, but I'm going to sum it up. The characters are wonderfully intelligent and well worth getting to know, the main story arc is very good with numerous side missions; you'll get well over 40 hours of play if you explore it all. 4/5, fantastic. Expand
  96. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    Begins the fantastic Mass Effect series with a new style of Action RPG's, taking themes and designs from KOTOR. A flawed masterpiece mass effect struggles with combat, level design, and of course the Mako. But underneath all the flaws is one of the greatest video games I have played.
  97. Dec 10, 2011
    8
    Since I pretty much have one more game to play this year (Skyrim) and next year, my most anticipated game will come out and the only game I am waiting for that year and that's Mass Effect 3 so I'm going to look back at the first Xbox 360 game I ever had. Mass Effect is a story telling masterpiece. I have never been so involved and emotionally attached to a game with a story this amazingSince I pretty much have one more game to play this year (Skyrim) and next year, my most anticipated game will come out and the only game I am waiting for that year and that's Mass Effect 3 so I'm going to look back at the first Xbox 360 game I ever had. Mass Effect is a story telling masterpiece. I have never been so involved and emotionally attached to a game with a story this amazing and epic. Looking back at it now, I would've given it a 10 when I first completed it but its been 4 years and I have to admit it hasn't age that well by game play standards. When playing it now, my big complains are its overly padded RPG elements, slow graphics and lagged out combat which thankfully have been improved in Mass Effect 2, which is one of my all time favourite games of the modern era. Those aside, it is still a good game and that's thanks to its amazing and varied story telling, interesting characters, tons of variety and a huge galaxy to explore. When I first completed the game, it became my personal gaming experiment and see what kind of things would I find differently if I play it differently entirely. Because of its immense replay value, I have lost count of how many times I replayed the story over and over again. Mass Effect holds a special place in my heart because it was the beginning of one of my favourite gaming franchises ever and I hope that Mass Effect 3 will be another 'greatest' in my list. Expand
  98. Mar 10, 2012
    8
    First, I would like to say that I unfortunately was not able to complete Mass Effect.I was about to decide to save or abandon the council when my game crashed and my save corrupted. I have never been more furious, but I can't help but realize that what I had almost beaten had been one of favorite gaming experiences. This game isn't perfect by any means. For example, why Bioware decided toFirst, I would like to say that I unfortunately was not able to complete Mass Effect.I was about to decide to save or abandon the council when my game crashed and my save corrupted. I have never been more furious, but I can't help but realize that what I had almost beaten had been one of favorite gaming experiences. This game isn't perfect by any means. For example, why Bioware decided to go with an infinite ammo mechnic is beyond me and the first few hours are incredibly stagnant for a game that eventually ends up being a phenomenal experience. There is easily 50+ hours worth of entertainment here but it's buried under mediocre controls and a weapon system that leaves something to be desired. Where Mass Effect truly shines is it's story. The player choice implemented invery action is a wonderful change of pace that sets Mass Effect apart from every other 3rd person shooter. After the first few hours the story picks up and goes to places that no man has gone before. In summary, Mass Effect is a wonderful game buried under a thin layer of mediocrity in the gameplay department. That doesn't stop Mass Effect from doing what it aims to do in the first place:deliver a masterful story that is diven by genuine emotion and player choice. Nathan out. Expand
  99. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    I've put some serious hours into this game over the years. Addictive as hell and a real story to boot. BUT, for some reason, I can't think of a proper reason as to why I love it so much... weird. Some games are like that, though.
  100. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Mass Effect is all about good story, great revelations, long worthwhile lenght gameplay, 25/30 hours... It posses a great artistic direction, awesome dialogues, great action! Some place are repetitive to visit like a paste and copy work, the graphics may have too much pop-in with weak anysotropic... But the rest makes this game of my favourite games of all time! Mass Effect is my favouriteMass Effect is all about good story, great revelations, long worthwhile lenght gameplay, 25/30 hours... It posses a great artistic direction, awesome dialogues, great action! Some place are repetitive to visit like a paste and copy work, the graphics may have too much pop-in with weak anysotropic... But the rest makes this game of my favourite games of all time! Mass Effect is my favourite game in this console generation... Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]