User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1572 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    A tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these thingsA tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these things can only begin to explain the wonders of this game. Yeah, it's good. Collapse
  2. Mar 20, 2012
    9
    This gets a 9 simply because of the mako exploration of planets. I cannot get over how many times I got stuck in some rut and had to restart. Also, there essentially is no autosave; you pretty much reset to the beginning of the mission. That being said, the scale of this game is amazing, and the remainder of the trilogy is even better from here.
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    8
    This game is at the top of my list of favorites, alongside Metal Gear Solid 3, Battlefield: Bad Company, and Gears of War. It's a space opera (and I'm not claiming that phrase). It takes the best of the sci-fi genre from film and television (e.g. Star Trek's lens flares and strange high pitch soundtrack that creeps you out in that deep space kinda way) and sprays on a shiny new coat ofThis game is at the top of my list of favorites, alongside Metal Gear Solid 3, Battlefield: Bad Company, and Gears of War. It's a space opera (and I'm not claiming that phrase). It takes the best of the sci-fi genre from film and television (e.g. Star Trek's lens flares and strange high pitch soundtrack that creeps you out in that deep space kinda way) and sprays on a shiny new coat of paint and performs it like a true epic, something on par with Greek tales of heroes and side-quests. It's not overplayed, it's not pretentious. It's entertaining and meaningful at once. I played it during a period of convalescence because otherwise I wouldn't have had the patience. This is due to the inability of Commander Shepard to run, preferring a light jog instead. Match this character flaw with the future's architectural fetish for LARGE, open spaces and you have a test of patience. The HUD is unnecessary. All the information could be conveyed through character animation and in-world effects or placed in the Menu. The radar is cheap, the "target everything" reticule is distracting, and the upper title bar is insulting. If I can still remember people from high school I can remember characters in a game. The human brain is incredible. Mechanics feel like a group of RPG nerds were put to the test of building a shooter to get more people to play their nerd game. It works. I played it. But I wasn't impressed. Targeting is floaty and unsatisfying. There's also the obligatory grinding (ughh) in the form of traveling to unknown planets and bouncing around in a rover that is delightfully hard to roll.

    None of these factors take away from the greatness of Bioware's achievement with this game. However they do ruin my wish to replay it.
    Expand
  4. Nov 7, 2010
    9
    An amazing adventure. Mass Effect captures the epic sci-fi atmosphere of movies like Star Trek, Star Wars and the Alien series while still offering tons of new content. Some people might not like the amount of information gathering that has to be done in the early parts of the game but I found them interesting anyway, and even if you personally don't like it there's enough action andAn amazing adventure. Mass Effect captures the epic sci-fi atmosphere of movies like Star Trek, Star Wars and the Alien series while still offering tons of new content. Some people might not like the amount of information gathering that has to be done in the early parts of the game but I found them interesting anyway, and even if you personally don't like it there's enough action and freedom to satisfy you if you have a little patience to play through those parts. The only gripes I have with the game would probably be that managing abilities in combat can be a little tricky, and that the NPCs could be a little smarter while fighting. But even with those complaints, Mass Effect still has enough fun in it to satisfy just about anyone. Expand
  5. Nov 5, 2010
    9
    This truly is a great game. Great graphics, great music, great story, great characters, and good gameplay. The world is so well developed and you can tell that so much thought went into developing the Mass Effect universe. Mass Effect is very dialogue heavy, so for gamers who prefer constant action, this may not be the game for you.
  6. Nov 24, 2010
    10
    WOW, Mass Effect was an experience in gaming I have never had before. The depth of the game, the immersion that comes with the story, and the massive world of play, not to mention the space opera story, kept me playing this game for days and days on end.
  7. Nov 25, 2010
    8
    This game has such an amazing story and it sets up an entire universe (pardon the pun) that is rich and dynamic. Every interaction has its own feel and style and your actions impact the course of the game directly. What is frustrating, however, is the lackluster combat and the sluggish, hard to use menus. I give it props for having a new game plus option though, which expanded my time withThis game has such an amazing story and it sets up an entire universe (pardon the pun) that is rich and dynamic. Every interaction has its own feel and style and your actions impact the course of the game directly. What is frustrating, however, is the lackluster combat and the sluggish, hard to use menus. I give it props for having a new game plus option though, which expanded my time with this game quite a bit. At the end of it all though, I felt like it could be more. Then Mass Effect 2 came out, and now I am perfectly content. Expand
  8. Nov 26, 2010
    10
    Bioware is the company we must thank for all you RPG fans!! They have given us so much and yet they still prevail. This game makes me cry when i realize the time and effort put into this game. The gameplay, customization, and story is flawless. This game is a obvious buy you will put hours into in more than one playthrough. Bioware has failed to disappoint me.
  9. Dec 11, 2010
    9
    Great game. The shooting combat is nice with plenty of side quests and an enthralling story. The RPG elements have been melded very well with the 3rd person shooter combat, and the choice you make mean something, and its not just right or wrong, there can be a lot of grey here, meaing you can really be yourself, not just pure good or evil. As for the elvator rides, yes sometimes they canGreat game. The shooting combat is nice with plenty of side quests and an enthralling story. The RPG elements have been melded very well with the 3rd person shooter combat, and the choice you make mean something, and its not just right or wrong, there can be a lot of grey here, meaing you can really be yourself, not just pure good or evil. As for the elvator rides, yes sometimes they can be boring but the banter that goes on inside it can be quite amusing and interesting. My only real gripe is the inventory system and the boring vehicle sections, but apart form that its great, with a huge amount of cusomization available, a great story and amazing graphics. Expand
  10. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    Bioware has once again created a great RPG experience, you will notice it shares resemblance with another Bioware title Star Wars Knight of the Old Republic, but that aside this is truly a unique title, the story and the way you interact with others is great and kept me hooked, and the new talking system is game changing, and truly spectacular move for them, while this game is ahead ofBioware has once again created a great RPG experience, you will notice it shares resemblance with another Bioware title Star Wars Knight of the Old Republic, but that aside this is truly a unique title, the story and the way you interact with others is great and kept me hooked, and the new talking system is game changing, and truly spectacular move for them, while this game is ahead of it's time with those features, the frame rate issues, clunky targeting system, and other bugs keep this from being as smooth as I would like, those flaws aside if you like the company's other titles or RPGs in general this is one I recommend. Expand
  11. Mar 9, 2011
    9
    Mass Effect is impressive, compelling, addictive, rewarding and fun. The main storyline is fascinating and will leave you wanting more. Combat is challenging, multi-faceted and engaging. The characters are well-developed, and the voice acting is superb (although I can't talk to Kaidan Alenko without seeing Carth Onasi in my head). There are myriad side quests, many of which areMass Effect is impressive, compelling, addictive, rewarding and fun. The main storyline is fascinating and will leave you wanting more. Combat is challenging, multi-faceted and engaging. The characters are well-developed, and the voice acting is superb (although I can't talk to Kaidan Alenko without seeing Carth Onasi in my head). There are myriad side quests, many of which are relatively well-developed and woven neatly into the main plot or other ongoing subplots. Planetary exploration is fun, once you get the hang of driving the Mako. The level system is well thought out, as well.

    There are some problems, however. I think there are a total of only 5 or 6 "dungeons," which get recycled over and over and over. There is a side quest for almost every star system, and there are a LOT of star systems. You'll run through the same dungeons (populated by different enemies) time and time again....but you'll still enjoy it. Your party AI is also not very good, specifically on higher difficulties. The inventory system is overwhelming and somewhat annoying. Controls can be a little off, at times. Going in and out of cover isn't always smooth, which will result in more than a few needless deaths on higher difficulties. The mechanics are generally good, though. Overall, this is a really great game with a few elements that will annoy you just enough that you'll have to stop playing it for a few minutes once every 8 hours or so.
    Expand
  12. Jul 15, 2011
    9
    Sometimes it can be irritating, and the storytelling ( i mean the cut scene the story is perfect) can get annoying, but in same way en-joyful to see your doppleganger interact which rich worlds . The graphics are in par with most of the games nowadays. The combat, is for me , lacking, the only flaw and the thing that infuriate me. But the decisions the best part, changing every path,Sometimes it can be irritating, and the storytelling ( i mean the cut scene the story is perfect) can get annoying, but in same way en-joyful to see your doppleganger interact which rich worlds . The graphics are in par with most of the games nowadays. The combat, is for me , lacking, the only flaw and the thing that infuriate me. But the decisions the best part, changing every path, whit-out even knowing . Best buy for RPG fans. Expand
  13. Feb 26, 2012
    10
    This is a spectacular game!! Rich, deep story line, and a vast and very realistic universe. I enjoyed the variety of weapons and environments and enemies. There is so much to explore! This game is immersive and addicting! I enjoyed the ability to characterize and customize. The weapons are awesome, and the gameplay is great! This game is fun!! The story is truly unique. I loved theThis is a spectacular game!! Rich, deep story line, and a vast and very realistic universe. I enjoyed the variety of weapons and environments and enemies. There is so much to explore! This game is immersive and addicting! I enjoyed the ability to characterize and customize. The weapons are awesome, and the gameplay is great! This game is fun!! The story is truly unique. I loved the decision making, and the plot twists. Great game play, great game. Totally worth multiple play-thoughs! Great job Bioware!! Expand
  14. Mar 22, 2013
    10
    One of the best game worlds of all time. Its pretty insane how they created this universe. Feels like a very real futuristic place.
  15. MattA
    Dec 4, 2008
    9
    An excellent narrative of epic scope. I'm not the biggest of RPG fans...but this was different. I felt very attached to my character, as well as my team. I ended up spending almost 30 hours playing, and it very significant for the most part. The missions seemed varied, and motivated. The NPC were interesting and provided an excellent backstory. This game is almost perfect. If there An excellent narrative of epic scope. I'm not the biggest of RPG fans...but this was different. I felt very attached to my character, as well as my team. I ended up spending almost 30 hours playing, and it very significant for the most part. The missions seemed varied, and motivated. The NPC were interesting and provided an excellent backstory. This game is almost perfect. If there weren't a few glitches such as getting stuck in odd places, and maybe a better auto-save feature would have made this game a perfect ten. The story and production values, however, make up for any shortcoming in gameplay. The combat was fun and felt almost like an action game and not an RPG. That was what i was most happy about. Great game, and i give it one of my highest recommendations. Expand
  16. Zenjamin
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    all of the legitimate complaints, come from technical issues. well, I havent had any technical issues. but perhaps this is because my 360 is new? All i know is, no game has ever come close to invoking this much emotion in me. and i dont think another will untill the trilogy continues. i just dont understand why some of the Users give it such low reviews, FAR lower then ANY critic. I all of the legitimate complaints, come from technical issues. well, I havent had any technical issues. but perhaps this is because my 360 is new? All i know is, no game has ever come close to invoking this much emotion in me. and i dont think another will untill the trilogy continues. i just dont understand why some of the Users give it such low reviews, FAR lower then ANY critic. I really think it is either PS3 fanboys or RPG haters, I can understand going into yellow for technical issues (which i could not find), but there is no honest reason why anyone should rate this in the red. Expand
  17. NancyS.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Great game. One of my all-time favorites, and this is coming from a semi-hard core gamer. I loved the combat and the story and the dialog choices...I have played through this a good five or six times. The dlc isnt bad either. All in all, an almost perfect game. Those elevator rides are basically my only complaint.
  18. MaxM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    I just love the whole sci-fi exploring planets-shooting lasers theme of this game. The lighting effects are amazing, the scenery of every planet is fun to look at, and the replay value makes Bioshock look like a piece of crap.
  19. ScottW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I've ever played. Nearly perfect in every way. Worth every penny of the cost.
  20. Aug 29, 2010
    10
    One of the best games of this console generation. Maybe ever. This masterpiece by Bioware does admittedly contain a few combat errors, but once you get a hang of it the fun is endless. I played through this thing at least 10 times, and could still go again. Most bad reviewers complain about "boring exploration" and what-not, but that is only because these people are used to theOne of the best games of this console generation. Maybe ever. This masterpiece by Bioware does admittedly contain a few combat errors, but once you get a hang of it the fun is endless. I played through this thing at least 10 times, and could still go again. Most bad reviewers complain about "boring exploration" and what-not, but that is only because these people are used to the high-octane, nonstop action of FPS's and other linear games. My only criticisms come from a few story disappointments (why can't I save the thorian? And leave the rachni to the council?) . Otherwise, don't hesitate to go buy this amazing game. Expand
  21. Mar 12, 2012
    9
    Should I play Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 before Mass Effect 3? Does playing through the first two games make the wait worth it? I would play through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 numerous times before playing through Mass Effect 3. I absolutely love the series so far. Here is how Mass Effect felt to me. I hope you enjoy.

    If I had one word to describe my experience with Commander
    Should I play Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 before Mass Effect 3? Does playing through the first two games make the wait worth it? I would play through Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 numerous times before playing through Mass Effect 3. I absolutely love the series so far. Here is how Mass Effect felt to me. I hope you enjoy.

    If I had one word to describe my experience with Commander Shepard it would be wow! From touching the Prothean Beacon on Eden Prime to the final battle with a Saren "like" creature. I hate that I am just now finishing it, because I am already on Mass Effect 2. Hopefully, I will get to Mass Effect 3 some time this summer (ha-ha). I have been playing this game since 2009, and due to a couple of "Red Ring's" I had to put-off the game for some time.

    This is probably one of the best stories I have ever experienced in over two decades of gaming. Every planet, mission, and side quest told intricate details to flush out the Mass Effect universe even better. The only reason this game lacks the one point needed for the perfect score would be due to two factors. First, on the side mission planets Commander Shepard drives around an SUV like vehicle called a Mako. Unlike the shark the vehicle is named after this Mako is clunky and difficult to drive up mountains (which seem to be in abundance in every planet). The clunky mechanics make it difficult for a completion-ist (like myself) to scavenge every single piece of the world looking for loot. I still did this to most worlds, but near the end of the game the story was so amazing I just did the side quest on the planet and stopped looking around for more loot.

    Loot in Mass Effect comes in the form of weapons, weapon mods, bullet mods, armor, medical mods, medi-gel (used to heal the mako, party members, and even Commander Shepard), and grenades. Fun to collect, but by the time I got near the 45-50 hour mark I rarely found anything better than what I already had. The second reason to hold off the perfect score would be world creation. For three of the headlined side quests (where you help your party members) Commander Shepard finds himself in the same bunker. The same bunker appears in about a half dozen planets, and there are others which get recycled in a couple different areas. For Bioware to make a game this large in 2007 means sacrifices like this probably had to be made. I finished it in 2012 where bunkers (dungeons) can be artificially built by AI. I would not say the combat is bad, though I would not say it was great either. Probably due to the year Mass Effect came out, I am comparing it to games years past its time.

    It must be saying something where I am comparing this game with titles which have came out in the past 12 months. I loved every bit of the story. I yearned for every second of cut scene I could get.

    I have not even spoken about the fact where Commander Shepard's decisions have a lasting effect in the Mass Effect universe. The decisions made in Mass Effect carry over to Mass Effect and Mass Effect three. Also, the characters who die in the first game are dead in the next two. Mass Effect 3 in now in stores, and according to some web sites sold over 800,000 in its first 24 hours. Bioware's publisher EA (Electronic Arts) has shipped over 3.5 million units worldwide. It is no doubt everyone is wanting to play Mass Effect 3.

    Without a doubt I would absolutely play Mass Effect and Mass Effect 2 before playing Mass Effect 3. Which is why I am now playing the second game with every spare second to finish before I crack into the third entry. Game Informer gave Mass Effect 3 a perfect 10, and IGN gave it a 9.5. I want, with every inch of my being, to go pick up Mass Effect 3 and play for 24 hours straight.

    However, Mass Effect 3 will only be a perfect game by bringing in my own save files which make my decisions matter in the "final battle."

    I hope this helps you if your trying to debate playing the first two games before starting the third. This series is worth every minute of the hundreds of hours you will spend playing it!
    Expand
  22. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    Amazing. What can be said about this game which hasn't been already? As a kid raised on Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, Buck Rogers etc. I remember longing for the day when I'd be off exploring space in a starship and as puberty hit you realize that day will never come. Mass Effect however get's me as close to that experience as a young kid could wish for (without the hassles of work orAmazing. What can be said about this game which hasn't been already? As a kid raised on Star Wars, Battlestar Galactica, Buck Rogers etc. I remember longing for the day when I'd be off exploring space in a starship and as puberty hit you realize that day will never come. Mass Effect however get's me as close to that experience as a young kid could wish for (without the hassles of work or death either) and as a game it's a boat load of fun to boot. Does it have flaws? Of course, but they are so minor when compared to the overall experience that I'm not even going to mention them here. If I were to list all the plus points of the game this review would be 100 pages long. A sheer joy to play and a must-buy for anyone with an Xbox 360. Expand
  23. Dec 21, 2011
    9
    Personally, I love Bioware just like I loved KOTOR, I really wasn't expecting much when I bought this game but something new has come in the RPG genre. The 3rd person real-time combat is just great and exploring the world is also awesome, unfortunately, this side quests are really boring such some of the vehicle missions, that didn't drive me into the experience any more. The story is alsoPersonally, I love Bioware just like I loved KOTOR, I really wasn't expecting much when I bought this game but something new has come in the RPG genre. The 3rd person real-time combat is just great and exploring the world is also awesome, unfortunately, this side quests are really boring such some of the vehicle missions, that didn't drive me into the experience any more. The story is also absolutely wonderful and the characters are strong (at least most of them). Overall this game is amazing and it will really satisfy RPG and 3rd-Person-Shooter fans, this is totally worth your money. Expand
  24. Mar 6, 2012
    10
    One of my favorites of all time, top 3 games. Really fun game, great choices, interesting cast of characters, and a compelling story. Still occasionally pick it up and play. By far the best of the 3 (not that it says much anymore)
  25. Dec 15, 2012
    9
    Never had a sci-fi/rpg/fps been so beautifully done. Starting your journey, you get to choose your character through a decent amount of customizable features and soldier styles. The story is as unique as I've seen in a game but what really makes for exciting gameplay is the decisions you make along the way. You can choose to be a paragon or renegade by helping or hurting others throughoutNever had a sci-fi/rpg/fps been so beautifully done. Starting your journey, you get to choose your character through a decent amount of customizable features and soldier styles. The story is as unique as I've seen in a game but what really makes for exciting gameplay is the decisions you make along the way. You can choose to be a paragon or renegade by helping or hurting others throughout your experience. You also have options when it comes to upgrading your character's skills/abilities. Without spoiling anything, this was one of my favorite gaming experiences when I played it in 2010. Expand
  26. Dec 26, 2012
    8
    The first game I ever played on x-box 360. And was surprised at how I've never heard of this game before. It was simply great. The characters, the decisions, the classes, the story, and combat made me enjoy it very much.
  27. May 23, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect has an amazing universe and unique characters. But the first time playing this is... odd from the other Mass Effects. As you have inventory and equipment which is just there by the truck loads. The shooting mechanic is workable, but cheap. Biotics and Tech felt the same as it did. Armor classes sucked as people with light armor had to use more squad tactics, but heavyMass Effect has an amazing universe and unique characters. But the first time playing this is... odd from the other Mass Effects. As you have inventory and equipment which is just there by the truck loads. The shooting mechanic is workable, but cheap. Biotics and Tech felt the same as it did. Armor classes sucked as people with light armor had to use more squad tactics, but heavy armor users felt like chargers and punishers. It gave me the feeling that I wasn't the 'Commander' I need to be, but i guess it's to mix gameplay and roles between everyone's different Shepards. Had a few glitches, but that's about it. Expand
  28. Rem
    Jul 11, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect is a shining achievement in video game storytelling with the journey throughout the galaxy of Commander Shepard. This trek is not without technical problems, but past that is one of the greatest video game stories ever. Bioware has a legendary status with its games such as KOTOR and Baldur's Gate, but tacking such a vast and ambitious idea is chilling. Space has never been moreMass Effect is a shining achievement in video game storytelling with the journey throughout the galaxy of Commander Shepard. This trek is not without technical problems, but past that is one of the greatest video game stories ever. Bioware has a legendary status with its games such as KOTOR and Baldur's Gate, but tacking such a vast and ambitious idea is chilling. Space has never been more beautiful in this game, and simply exploring the galaxy and reading up on the planets and codex is enough to keep you immersed and engaged. However the ambition of this carries over to how the game performs. The framerate drops in almost every battle I encounter due to the high quality and scale of the game. Speaking about the game, the combat, while feeling similar does enough to feel fresh. What's most amazing is how it actually feels like you are actually playing a sci-fi roleplaying game. The skill trees are deep and customization of your own Commander Shepard is fun, if not messy at times. However what stuck with me most was the characters. These are some of the most believable characters I've ever seen with spot on facial animations and a deep lore. It did enough for me to feel for the characters. Most importantly, the game puts choice not only into gameplay, but into story. Your actions alone can determine the fate of someone's life in an intuitive and clever dialogue system and in one where the main character can speak in. What holds this back from a 9 are some annoying glitches, chugging framerate, rigid Mako physics, and messy inventory screen. BUT play this game. If you enjoy storytelling of any kind, you owe it to yourself to play Mass Effect. Expand
  29. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    Mass Effect is one of those games that’s kind of in its own genre. I thoroughly enjoyed the mix of RPG, action and choice elements. I also loved the ability to explore planets (which they sadly took away in Mass Effect 2). Things like a horrible inventory system stop it from reaching greatness, but it’s a thoroughly entertaining experience, even today.
  30. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    This game takes a lot of time to get used. The combat is a bit awkward, the cover system isn't any better. The story and dialogue are beyond that of any game of its time. There's an enormous and imerssive universe to take part in. Once you're in, it's hard to get out. You'll find yourself exploring planets, getting to know other characters, fighting using either guns or powers or both.
  31. Jul 11, 2013
    8
    The Mass Effect franchise is one of the most well-established RPG’s of this age, and this is a title it is certainly deserving of. It all started with Mass Effect, which includes the most customization of any of the games in the series however it also includes the most flawed gameplay. The characters and the interesting sci-fi universe are the best part of this game. While the story itselfThe Mass Effect franchise is one of the most well-established RPG’s of this age, and this is a title it is certainly deserving of. It all started with Mass Effect, which includes the most customization of any of the games in the series however it also includes the most flawed gameplay. The characters and the interesting sci-fi universe are the best part of this game. While the story itself is nothing new, the voice acting is superb and you’ll find that the best moments in this game are when you are chatting with a friend rather than duking it out on the battlefield. In fact, I’m going to go so far as to say the combat is boring and uninteresting.

    Therefore it’s such a shame that the battlefield is where you’ll spend a majority of the game It isn’t that the combat is broken- it is just boring. There is nothing new to it. But that isn’t even the worst part of the combat- the biggest flaw here is the autosave. You’ll often play for 30 minutes and then die and have to go all the way back to the beginning. You’ll have to learn to save on your own but even then if an enemy is remotely nearby you can’t save. This means you may have to go through the same 30 minutes to an hour of boring combat multiple times so you can progress the story. The only reason I trudged through the missions was so I could get back to the ship and advance my relationships with the other characters and learn about their histories and backstories.

    Not only does it have boring combat, but it has these broken and horrendous driving moments using a vehicle called the Mako which haunts me in my dreams to this day. So then, how could I give this game an 8.5 if I have all these complaints? Honestly, as I mentioned earlier, it is the characters that make this game. You play as Commander Shepard, a character whom you shape. Shepard can be a boy or girl, black or white, blonde or brown (or any other hair color) and on and on. There is no canon Shepard and you can play as him/her on a good (paragon), bad (renegade), or neutral path. Or you could just go crazy and pick whatever options you want. There is no right playthrough however I’d recommend deciding on whatever you would do/ whatever you think is right for your first playthrough.

    You can choose how to advance Shepard’s skills as well as his class, so its up to you whether you want him to be a charismatic leader or a violent over-powered man. This is something which was unfortunately dumbed down in the sequels and is another way that this game immerses you in. You can also upgrade your squad-mates skills but this is optional.

    Mass Effect is one of the best games I have ever played, which feels so unusual for me to say considering I found the actual gameplay itself boring. It looks great despite being a few years old and has brought the RPG genre the attention it deserves. Everyone will experience this game in a different way and walk out with a story to tell, and as long as you are patient enough to make it through the monotonous combat sequences then you are in for a real treat.

    Full score: 8.5/10
    You can also check out my second opinion at: http://binarymessiah.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/mass-effect-9-510/
    Expand
  32. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I had big hopes for Mass Effect when downloading it from Xbox LIVE. And after creating a character, it was time to venture outside our galaxy, the Milky Way.
    In Mass Effect you play as commander Shepard, the first human spectre, whom has been tasked with hunting down the turian renegade Saren. A former spectre that now works with the geth, a mechanical race of aliens, in search for the reapers. An ancient forgotten race of machines that are said to have exterminated the protheans that created the technology that the modern society uses in everyday life.
    Mass Effect is a roleplaying game with some shooter elements in it. This works very well, except for the in-game that feels clunky when your new to the game.
    When it comes to the graphics, well... They are certainly not the best graphics of the Xbox 360 but it's neither the worst looking game out there. Sometimes the game looks great but the thing is, Mass Effect suffers greatly from frame rate issues. Either after a loading screen or in the midst of battle, the frame rate will suffer. Greatly.
    Then there is the music and I have to say, this is probably on of my favourite video game soundtracks, period. The voices are also great and all the voice actors made a fantastic work giving their voices to Shepard and his friends.
    Mass Effect is a great game with great music, good graphics, and great gameplay. This is probably one of my favourite games and I highly recommend it. Mass Effect gets a 9 out of 10.
    Expand
  33. May 18, 2014
    9
    Mass Effect. It is quite shocking that before I bought the game just last week, I had never played Mass Effect before. I've heard that this series has been critically acclaimed by critics, and was massively successful, but none of my friends got into it, so I never really got into it. Then I noticed the complete trilogy at a Gamestop, and I decided that maybe now is a good time to tryMass Effect. It is quite shocking that before I bought the game just last week, I had never played Mass Effect before. I've heard that this series has been critically acclaimed by critics, and was massively successful, but none of my friends got into it, so I never really got into it. Then I noticed the complete trilogy at a Gamestop, and I decided that maybe now is a good time to try this series out. So, is this game as good as the critics say it is, or are the critics dumb as a sack of hammers? Let's find out. The gameplay of this game is a mixture between third-person shooters, and action RPGs. You control a man named Commander Shepard from an over-the-shoulder viewpoint, and you fight enemies with your standard gunplay. This game also has a cover system, which allows you to take cover behind walls, and other objects that might be where you are fighting. There are also RPG elements that allow you to use special abilities during all of the action. These special abilities can help you fight. However, this is just the game's combat. There is so much more to the game than just that. This game is much more of an RPG than a third-person shooter. There are also several parts in the game that involve going around and talking to people, buying new weapons, and exploring the worlds of the Milky Way Galaxy. There are several side quests and other missions to undertake aside from the game's main story. Of course there is also leveling up as with most RPGs. This gameplay is very fun and exciting, and well worth the experience. However, there is one problem with the gameplay that I have a lot of trouble getting over: the Mako. The Mako is a vehicle you often have to use to drive around different planets in the game. It often will get stuck on terrain, and it is extremely difficult to control, making it difficult not to get just a little annoyed with the exploration of other planets in the game. There are also a few bugs and glitches, and the frame rate takes dips here and there, but they don't get in the way of an otherwise solid experience. This is a very fun game to play, but the Mako sections could use a lot more polish, and better driving mechanics. As for the graphics, while I can't say they are the best graphics I've ever seen in a video game, they are great to say the least. The character models look very good, and rich with detail. The ships all look good too. However, I'd say that only some of the environments actually truly look beautiful. Many of the planets in Mass Effect lack detail. The only ones that really seem to have any amount of detail put into them are the ones involved in the main story. The other ones in the game look like just random environments cobbled together to make a large landscape for the Mako to drive on. That's not to say that they look terrible, because they certainly don't. I just wish that the planets had more details on them like more diverse amounts of buildings, and other things like that. The graphics of this game are beautiful, but I sort of wish the environments were just a little better. The story however, is the best part of the entire game. You take control of Commander Shepard, and this character is totally your own character. You get to create him from the start of the game, choose what he specializes in, and what background he has. You also get to decide how events in the story play out. You can choose both good and bad options throughout this game's story, and they'll have a great effect on the rest of the game. As for the story itself, basically you find out that an ancient robotic race called the Reapers is coming to destroy all organic life in the universe, and it's up to you to stop them from ever attacking. This story is very unique in how it revolves entirely around you, and that's what makes it so amazing. Overall, I have to say that the critics were right when they said that this game was an amazing experience. This game is really fun to play, has great graphics, and a spectacular story. This game is a must-buy if you love science fiction, RPGs, or even if you are just a normal gamer.
    Gameplay: 9/10
    Graphics: 9/10
    Story: 10/10
    Overall: 9/10
    Expand
  34. Mar 13, 2014
    9
    A brilliant game, and one of the best games I've ever played. All I can say is, if you haven't played it before, go out and get it. The only two problems it has if the frame-rate frequently drops, especially during combat, and it takes you completely out of the experience. The other problem is that the auto save function isn't very well used. You can lose half an hour of gameplay easily,A brilliant game, and one of the best games I've ever played. All I can say is, if you haven't played it before, go out and get it. The only two problems it has if the frame-rate frequently drops, especially during combat, and it takes you completely out of the experience. The other problem is that the auto save function isn't very well used. You can lose half an hour of gameplay easily, but that's easily countered by saving manually. As I said before, it you haven't played it before, go out and play it now! Expand
  35. Mar 18, 2014
    8
    This game brings everything good about most bioware games into one package. While the cover system is a little off, and the fact that with a sniper rifle unless max level in the skill, the scope moves like you're drunk didn't make the game unplayable, actually it made choosing your squad ever more important.
  36. Mar 22, 2011
    9
    bioware pretty much nailed this one for the most part. being able to travel in space to different planets uncovering a great mystery backed up with a great story and solid voice acting makes this a solid RPG . the combat system is pretty good kinda gears of war style . alot of places to explore and some great diolouge choices you can make . going good or evil was done very well . the gamebioware pretty much nailed this one for the most part. being able to travel in space to different planets uncovering a great mystery backed up with a great story and solid voice acting makes this a solid RPG . the combat system is pretty good kinda gears of war style . alot of places to explore and some great diolouge choices you can make . going good or evil was done very well . the game is about 18-25 hours to beat so its alittle on the short side for a RPG but not short enough to where it bugs me but close . i wish they added space combat in your ship would have been great . also the planets are all pretty empty i wish they made exploration of the planets much more intresting . that aside its still a very solid RPG . Expand
  37. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    Excellent story, voice-acting, dialogue, RPG elements, world-exploration, graphics, replay value... one of the best console games of all-time. As a long-time fan of Bioware games, I have to say that this may be their finest achievement to date, and may remain so for years to come.
  38. Aug 24, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed Mass Effect, though I wrestled with the interface (particularly the inventory) and controls at times. It's a decent, semi-hard sci-fi space opera that is definitely worth your time.
  39. Dec 7, 2011
    7
    Although the combat isn't as good as the sequel, the story is top-notch. The upgrade system is overly complex than what is necessary, and the FPS isn't constant at all. I was also annoyed how I had to find an old save to play the DLC because I couldn't return to the ship during the end - and most of my recent saves were from the end mission. This led me to have to play the DLC withAlthough the combat isn't as good as the sequel, the story is top-notch. The upgrade system is overly complex than what is necessary, and the FPS isn't constant at all. I was also annoyed how I had to find an old save to play the DLC because I couldn't return to the ship during the end - and most of my recent saves were from the end mission. This led me to have to play the DLC with terrible upgrades (from early on), which made the combat turn out to be a much greater challenge. In conclusion, a great game, but lacking in comparison to the second installment. Expand
  40. Tom
    Dec 12, 2007
    5
    This game is more story than game-play. The story is good though. I gave it a 5 (instead of a 0) because the story itself was good enough to motivate me to play it through. But compare it to a tight game-play mechanics work of art like mario galaxy a decent fps, and Mass Effect "the game" is pathetic. Now granted, this is an RPG (hence the good story and my willingness to give props to This game is more story than game-play. The story is good though. I gave it a 5 (instead of a 0) because the story itself was good enough to motivate me to play it through. But compare it to a tight game-play mechanics work of art like mario galaxy a decent fps, and Mass Effect "the game" is pathetic. Now granted, this is an RPG (hence the good story and my willingness to give props to it), but the fighting system was touted to be a hybrid between traditional turn-based RPG fighting and RTS/OTS fighting. This turns out to be extremely clunky, where directing the actions of your squad is a futile exercise and talents(traditionally spells or feats) are limited to just a hand-full and are not very effective compared to standard attacks (guns). lastly, the graphics are good at times and at other times totally unacceptable. Frequent frame-rate drops and disorienting draw-in take alot away from the story. Expand
  41. CollowS.
    Nov 20, 2007
    6
    Very impressive graphics, and nice gameplay sequence. All in all, it is a very deep rpg game, but with some of the same glitches that had occured in the previous game ( and some more as well). However, personally it doesn't live up to the hype that KOTOR created. I still believe that Mass effect 2 or 3 might succeed in where this one failed!!
  42. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Absolutly boring, graphics are not even close to being next gen, story is crap, controlls are sub par and the different types of ammunition is absolutly lame, do not waste your money.
  43. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    This is the best game by far and the best Mass Effect, better than ME2 and ME3. Best game ever! This game has change my life for the better! Thank you Boiware!
  44. StevenF.
    Jan 16, 2008
    6
    I'm sorry but it's just not that good. The character acting is GREAT, but almost everything else is disappointing. Handling of equipment a pain. Playing a class that isn't the Soldier is a pain. Combat is a pain. Skills are lackluster and the list goes on. Expect a decent RPG but not the thing that's been hyped in the mags as the end all RPG.
  45. marcf
    Dec 31, 2007
    0
    this game is horrible it is a waste of 50$ lame is the only way to decribe this game if you wanted a great gaming system you should have bought a ps3 of pc this game story line is boring and dule and i have nothing else to say.
  46. TimM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    0
    Ignore the salesmen of the game that go to web sites like this one and give the game all tens. I love RPGs, and Jade Empire is still in my favorite top 10 RPGs of all time (I have played it all the way through 3 times). This game was awful for the following reasons: (1) the female hair styles looked like the primary hair care product used was gel super glue, (2) the armor sets for the Ignore the salesmen of the game that go to web sites like this one and give the game all tens. I love RPGs, and Jade Empire is still in my favorite top 10 RPGs of all time (I have played it all the way through 3 times). This game was awful for the following reasons: (1) the female hair styles looked like the primary hair care product used was gel super glue, (2) the armor sets for the femaie character were BORING, (3) at a critical point in the story line, the hero could have aaved a race by downloading data to a disk (as was done previous times in the game), but didn't think of it, (4) if you hated what happened regarding Jean Gray and Nightcrawler in Marvel Ultimate Alliance, you'll hate this story. I quit playing the game and took it back to the store at this point in Mass Effect. If you want to play a really good RPG, play Jade Empire. Expand
  47. MichaelA
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    This game is terrible. All of the side-quest environments are just diffusion maps with almost no variation, there are only like five non-main quest interiors, most of the environments seem like rehashes from Knights of the Old Republic, the vehicle segments are frustrating due to poor design (jump jets do nothing but throw you off of mountains), enemies will glitch and respawn at This game is terrible. All of the side-quest environments are just diffusion maps with almost no variation, there are only like five non-main quest interiors, most of the environments seem like rehashes from Knights of the Old Republic, the vehicle segments are frustrating due to poor design (jump jets do nothing but throw you off of mountains), enemies will glitch and respawn at inopportune times, character animation is just silly, graphics are jerky with lots of texture pop-up even in small rooms, loading times are atrocious, all elevators are too slow, death sequence is too long, game won't let you save right after dialog sequences (so you have to sit through them and select your choices all over again), the menu system controls so that you will accidentally exit when you don't mean to (it WILL happen), storyline is repetitive, main character can't be customized as much as you would think, stores sell inferior weapons for way too much, there are two buttons for drawing and replacing your weapon but no jump button, computer A.I. is stupid (for both friendlies and enemies), and the list just goes on and on. I don't see how this game gets such a free ride on reviews with all of its problems. On a positive note, it has Seth Green as the ship's pilot and it looks very nice in still pictures. That's all that I can think of. Expand
  48. Meestyk
    Nov 13, 2007
    1
    9.8 for making it great. But since I play it on my friend's Xbox I can't play it on my own pc. So it becomes a 1/10 score. A message to the Xbox makers: we 're not going to dish out any extra just to buy games that only run on your platform. A decade from now, we're so sure new consoles will be out to replace this xbox. You're lame. The future of gaming will be on 9.8 for making it great. But since I play it on my friend's Xbox I can't play it on my own pc. So it becomes a 1/10 score. A message to the Xbox makers: we 're not going to dish out any extra just to buy games that only run on your platform. A decade from now, we're so sure new consoles will be out to replace this xbox. You're lame. The future of gaming will be on pc since consoles are very limited in their use. We think it stinks and so we're going to support companies that only cater pc users like those base fans making this review. Expand
  49. TonyG
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    Mass Effect is an embarrassment for Bioware. Excellent story, excellent voice acting, and beautiful artwork cannot make up for a complete lack of refinement and playtesting. It's frustrating to see a great game company fail with an incredible idea because of such simple things. I started the game, walked forward, and got stuck on a corner. Then I opened the menu and watched my Mass Effect is an embarrassment for Bioware. Excellent story, excellent voice acting, and beautiful artwork cannot make up for a complete lack of refinement and playtesting. It's frustrating to see a great game company fail with an incredible idea because of such simple things. I started the game, walked forward, and got stuck on a corner. Then I opened the menu and watched my character's portrait flicker and warp. I tried to use the menus, and realized that this is the part of the game where true hand-eye coordination is required, not in combat. Did anyone playtest this game? Movement is awful, your character is clumsy beyond belief and gets stuck on ledges and corners far too easily. Graphics are gorgeous, but blatantly unstable. Play is simply bizarre. Is this an FPS? If so, it's the worst FPS I've played in years. Is it a hack & slash RPG? Where is simple run & gun fun? Is it a turn-based RPG? Where is the strategy? I have rarely been so disappointed in a title, and it stings because of how much potential this game had. KOTOR, glitches included, was exponentially better than Mass Effect. Why? Because it was FUN. Sure, glitches happened, but the game worked. This 360 next-gen game is just silly. On the bright side, the dialogue is good and voice acting is the best we've seen in any game to date. I suggest that, next time, Bioware make a movie or write a book instead. These types of media do not require playtesting. In the end, the one thing I want most out Mass Effect is a patch or re-release. If Bioware published an article saying "OOPS, we sent out bad discs...we'll be back in three months!", I would be the first to cheer, purchase my game in March, play for hours on end. Too bad. Expand
  50. JohnC
    Feb 10, 2008
    4
    A good game with lots to see and do, if you like RPG's like oblivion then this is for you - but its set in space. Great graphics and character creation Unfortunately the game is full of bugs and there are quite a few reports of 'disc read errors' coming in from everywhere - myself included. I don't having to reload every 10 minutes, otherwise an awesome game.
  51. MikeA.
    Aug 26, 2008
    3
    I loved Knights Of The Old Republic and was looking forwared to a similar game with enhanced visuals. Unfortunately the combat for this appears to be just "point and shoot and hope your AI buddies follow suit". The combat just didn't seem very deep to me. The endless dialogue trees you have to labour through every time you talk to someone and the result is a total failure of I loved Knights Of The Old Republic and was looking forwared to a similar game with enhanced visuals. Unfortunately the combat for this appears to be just "point and shoot and hope your AI buddies follow suit". The combat just didn't seem very deep to me. The endless dialogue trees you have to labour through every time you talk to someone and the result is a total failure of immersion. One for the run-and-gunners and Gears of War fans, I think. Hopefully the forthcoming Fallout game will address these shortcomings. Expand
  52. BroJ
    Apr 6, 2009
    9
    It's a VERYgood game. Strong storyline, excellent charcter building choices, controls are good (when u get used to them), clever dialogue options and very good NPCs too. Weapons and 'powers' a varied and differ enough to make you think about what u should use and when (acid bullets that metls synthetic enemies etc..) Graphics could be improved somewhat and a few frame rate It's a VERYgood game. Strong storyline, excellent charcter building choices, controls are good (when u get used to them), clever dialogue options and very good NPCs too. Weapons and 'powers' a varied and differ enough to make you think about what u should use and when (acid bullets that metls synthetic enemies etc..) Graphics could be improved somewhat and a few frame rate glitches, but these are minor complaints. THE BEST RPG on XBXO360. I'd give it 10 if the side missions were less repetitive and a the graphics were tip top. The abilities that you acquire can really make a difference to the fighting, especially the BOSS fights. This game gives you huge choice as to how you play and your choices have an impact on how the storyline pans out (not majorly, but enough to make you feel like you're IN the game. It plays like you'e in a movie, clever stuff. Get it, play it, play it again - because you can chose to play the character with many different types of abilities which changes the way you interact with the game. Expand
  53. punkrocks
    Nov 16, 2007
    1
    I dunno why people are so hyped about this game. I dont see anything special about it. Just another sci-fi RPG. The only innovative thing is the dialog otherwise the shooting is mediocre, if not poor. I've played this game and i dont think it deserves more than a 5 on any site.
  54. SugreevA.
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    It's just too long and boring for both the RPG genre and the shooter genre.
  55. JohnD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    1
    To be honest it's just too long and too boring for both the RPG genre and the shooter genre.
  56. Rob
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    The good stuff: Graphics and Storyline. The decent stuff: Gameplay: The squad AI is weak but the shooting controls are pretty decent. The bad stuff: The biotic powers are lame esp. healing(requires an item to use). Other powers include force push(useless) and barrier(decent).
  57. Numanthia
    Nov 22, 2007
    5
    I am disgusted by the reviews on this product. It has the worst flaws I have seen of a game this hyped and the critics behind these illogical reviews: "Other than the AI issues, graphical glitches, and insanely confusing equipment screen Mass Effect is the perfect video game." With the following comment how can a game wtih flawed AI, major load time issues, painfully slow texture mapping I am disgusted by the reviews on this product. It has the worst flaws I have seen of a game this hyped and the critics behind these illogical reviews: "Other than the AI issues, graphical glitches, and insanely confusing equipment screen Mass Effect is the perfect video game." With the following comment how can a game wtih flawed AI, major load time issues, painfully slow texture mapping and confusing game components even score above 6? I consider these reviews boardering on fraudulent activity. DISGUSTED! Expand
  58. DavidM.
    Dec 12, 2007
    6
    BAD: The AI is terrible. The menu screens, inventory and upgrading are all awful. There are a lot of pop-in textures. Side quests are dull and the rewards aren't good. Money is useless. You can power your way to the end with little strategy. The game play becomes tedious once you level up. GOOD: The storyline is great. The characters are great. The acting is great. The graphics are BAD: The AI is terrible. The menu screens, inventory and upgrading are all awful. There are a lot of pop-in textures. Side quests are dull and the rewards aren't good. Money is useless. You can power your way to the end with little strategy. The game play becomes tedious once you level up. GOOD: The storyline is great. The characters are great. The acting is great. The graphics are great. BOTTOM LINE: This game needed more time in development. Expand
  59. ArrJ.
    Dec 15, 2007
    3
    Considering the number of people's consoles that have seemingly been destroyed by this games excessive dependence on streaming media along with the fact that the core game is barely over 10 hours long and this is one of the largest disappointments in gaming for me this year. Don't get me wrong, the story is engrossing and the world Bioware has developed has all the potential Considering the number of people's consoles that have seemingly been destroyed by this games excessive dependence on streaming media along with the fact that the core game is barely over 10 hours long and this is one of the largest disappointments in gaming for me this year. Don't get me wrong, the story is engrossing and the world Bioware has developed has all the potential makings of a great new sci-fi universe, but just as the game feels like it's getting off the ground it ends - and in a most dissatisfying manner. It's also truly unfortunate that the "side quests" have little, if anything, to do with anything the game wants to make you care about. All of this together took what could have been at the very least an 8 all the way down to a 3. I'm shocked so many people have reviewed it so well - it's appalling. Expand
  60. JaceNaylor
    Dec 30, 2007
    5
    Mass Effect is a game with limitless potential that uses only about 25% of it!
    The combat is too frantic and panic strewn, the dialogue choces never match what your character says, the environments are too small and limiting or too repetetive and boring and the story is far too short.
    You cant help but wonder if Bioware are sitting on the last 3 quarters of the game...one for
    Mass Effect is a game with limitless potential that uses only about 25% of it!
    The combat is too frantic and panic strewn, the dialogue choces never match what your character says, the environments are too small and limiting or too repetetive and boring and the story is far too short.
    You cant help but wonder if Bioware are sitting on the last 3 quarters of the game...one for downloadable content...and two for the sequels!
    Expand
  61. K.G.
    Dec 4, 2007
    2
    Buggy as hell with a disappointing storyline and weak gameplay mechanics.
  62. BrodelE.
    Jan 1, 2008
    5
    Soooo tired of the endless dialog.. I gave up waiting for the game to give me a chance to play.
  63. MS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    6
    In all honesty, I would have given this game a ten my first time playing it. This game is seriously one of the best RPG experiences anyone can have...at least on the first play through. Well, let's start off with what is good. The gameplay is very solid. The shooting mechanics are easy to master and the powers/abilities are implemented nicely into combat. Most of the voice acting is In all honesty, I would have given this game a ten my first time playing it. This game is seriously one of the best RPG experiences anyone can have...at least on the first play through. Well, let's start off with what is good. The gameplay is very solid. The shooting mechanics are easy to master and the powers/abilities are implemented nicely into combat. Most of the voice acting is top notch, which is good considering one of the game's selling points is its dialog-oriented RPG elements. The artwork is astounding and the graphics are nearly as good (choppy rendering, slow down, and pop ins are only minor set backs). The level design is also quite good and there are many different worlds to explore in the course of the game. Unfortunately, these strengths cannot save the game. And here's why. Mass Effect's story, which has been hailed as a masterwork of sorts by critics and fans alike, is not very compelling. Though there are many interesting ideas thrown about (The Reapers are a particularly cool concept), the over arching plot suffers from here-we-go-again syndrome. You have a mixed-bag crew of aliens and humans rushing around to different worlds to uncover the location of The Conduit in order to stop The Reapers from destroying the galaxy. Sounds awfully familiar no? The story is basically the first KOTOR without the intriguing plot twist in the middle. Since Commander Shepard is almost totally customizable , he (or she) ends up lacking any true depth. The back stories of the various Shepards you can create are weak and cookie cutter. As for the supporting cast? Your crew is a little neglected plot-wise. Garus and Tali inparticular. Garus has a lot of great potential as a chracter but his dialog ends too quickly. Same with Tali. The random conversations that the supporting cast had in KOTOR are all gone. Any chatter between the characters is limited to elevator rides. Come on now. As for the conversations Shepard has with the crew? It's no different than KOTOR really. Sure, you don't know PRECISELY what Shepard will say but the options still feel stilted. You have your evil and your good statements and your special skill-based statements. The formula is obvious as hell and it really gave me a feeling of rendezvous. Other downsides include a lack of variety in game play. Especially on side quests. Usually you just go to a barren world and shoot things. Puzzles are few and far between and are very simple. The pick up system is annoying at best. You can't simply drop an item or not take it. Plus there's this huge technical plot hole that I can't help but mention. The humans are newcomers to the galaxy...why do all the other races speak English? If Humans are so neglected, why would entire races learn English? Plus the voice acting for the male Shepard is mediocre, no matter what language. Frankly, I got tired of this game after two play-throughs and I am disappointed. I feel like the writing is half-assed and that Bioware are still struggling to break from a formula that works. What I'm waiting for is an RPG with this type of engine that tells a personal story instead of a sci-fi opera. Where you see your actions affect the character and his or her surroundings on a smaller more intimate scale. Where the dialog doesn't have to explain the plot or the situation over and over. I feel like Indigo Prophecy nearly accomplished this...why can't Bioware? Expand
  64. TheBigmac
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    Let's get the obvious out of the way. The graphics, specially in dialog are gorgeous. Once you get to combat, they're good, but not gorgeous even thou everything is created using the game's engine. The story is very well done and intriguing. I found myself enjoying the dialog so much I felt I was watching a movie. Now the bad things: The shooting controls are just awkward. Let's get the obvious out of the way. The graphics, specially in dialog are gorgeous. Once you get to combat, they're good, but not gorgeous even thou everything is created using the game's engine. The story is very well done and intriguing. I found myself enjoying the dialog so much I felt I was watching a movie. Now the bad things: The shooting controls are just awkward. It wants to be gears of war in the combat mechanics and fails miserably in the attempt. Another game I'm playing these days, Uncharted Drakes furtune, completely rips off the GOW mechanics as well, but the excecution is perfect. So if you're going to rip some game off, at least do it weell. The shooting controls and mechanics just feel clunky and uncomfortable. Using the sniper rifle is an exercise in futility. The screen shakes so much you're aiming all over the place and "No diazepam for you!" is the motto of the designer Nazis. The rest of the games just feels S L O W. I found myself constantly wondering which way to go. I just beat Call of duty 4. The difficulty setting in that one was perfect. Want to figure out where to go by yourself? fine. It's your choice. Not a hard core explorer? No problem. They will take you by the hand the whole game. In this one is pretty much a couple of clues on the map, which is like 5 button pushes away if you need it, and pretty much you're on your on. Did I mention S L O W? If you're an RPG fan, you'll love this game. If any of what I mentioned before makes you hesitate, rent if first. This is a AAA title and there's a lot of quality here. Many people just love it. But in my opinion, some fundamental flaws ruin the execution as a whole. And I just don't have the patience these days a game like this requires. Expand
  65. DavidP.
    Nov 22, 2007
    4
    This is an absolutely boring game especially for $60. I never write reviews but I felt the need to inform others about this game. I feel that tI was definitely mislead about this game. Its extremely slow. I mean I spend 90% of my time walking to locations and then I get a chance to to something interesting. I am starting to think that game developers are paying people to post their This is an absolutely boring game especially for $60. I never write reviews but I felt the need to inform others about this game. I feel that tI was definitely mislead about this game. Its extremely slow. I mean I spend 90% of my time walking to locations and then I get a chance to to something interesting. I am starting to think that game developers are paying people to post their reviews. I though the game would be better than average and actually be fun. I mean the only "new" thing this game offers is for you to have meaningless conversation with characters and the ability to chose some phrases. For those of you that like play RPGs and roll dice all day, this game is probably for you. In conclusion, this game is extremely slow, boring, and not worth $60 at all! Expand
  66. JordanA
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    I really just don't enjoy playing this game. The shooting is weak, and it can get annoying sometimes when you must click a phrase to say. I don't know it might just be me, but I don't like it at all.
  67. SatanNYC
    Nov 29, 2007
    5
    OK, those who gave this game a 10 obviously haven't played it, and those that gave it a 1 are just stupid. Granted, I feel burned for buying this game based on the ratings and the reviews I have seen. So here is the real deal review from a long time RPG fan. This game mostly sux, sure it looks pretty, hooray for that, but that's were the fun ends. First off this game is OK, those who gave this game a 10 obviously haven't played it, and those that gave it a 1 are just stupid. Granted, I feel burned for buying this game based on the ratings and the reviews I have seen. So here is the real deal review from a long time RPG fan. This game mostly sux, sure it looks pretty, hooray for that, but that's were the fun ends. First off this game is impossibly slow, for instance, you mean to tell me that in the future, were you don't even have to reload your weapons, they have elevators that move so ridiculously slow you would ratther walk, if you could but you are stuck having to take elevators all the time, even on your own ship. Then there are the weapons, armor and other accesories that have names followed by roman numerals. for all the thought and time spent developing this game they couldn't come up with some cool names for things, instead they just add a number at the end. That's not all, let's talk about all those planets that you seen in the previews and trailers, you can't even land on them, all you can do is get a description of there atmosphere and terrain. Occasionaly you can scan one and may find some kind of artifact that you can't even access in your inventory. Sniper rifles are a complete waste of time, because if you can see the enemy, no matter how far away you are, they are already shooting at you before you even poke your head around the corner or over the hill. The cool looking tank you also see in all of the trailers handles like crap and really isn't as fun as they make it appear. There is no need to ever shop at a store, as things you find are better and they are free, so that kills the whole "get more money to get better stuff to fight bigger creatures" aspect of an RPG that most fans live for. The grenades are horrific, shoot one towards the sun and that's were it goes, in a striaght line with no gravitional arc what-so-ever, but throw a grenade at the floor right in front of you and that's were it stays, no bounce, no roll, nothing. No free roaming aliens to pick off for extra cash, everything is scripted, open the door and there are bad guys. The AI is non-existent, open a door and the bad guys come straight at you, no ducking and hiding behind things, they just run straight at you. I waited for over a year for this game, have been following it's progress all the way, seen all the trailers, interviews and reviews and was totally psyched for this title. I actually think this title isn't worth the box it comes in, but I am giving it a 5 because it looks amazing, has some interesting creatures, and the voice sync'ing is beautifully done. If you are a fan of RPG's and want an amazing game for your money, but the Elder Scrolls: Oblivion and pass on this title. If you have already played Oblivion trust me when I say, rent before you buy, or better yet, bid on mine when I throw it up on ebay to get my money back and buy something else. Expand
  68. C.Q.
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    This is the game that could have been - its very cinematic, and semi entertaining - but if your expacting a vast open sci fi role playing game - like oblivian - you will be sorely dissapointed - there are a couple of pointless side quests - but overall the story is pretty straight through and you can beat the whole game in under 8 hours with no problems.
  69. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  70. FPSMaster
    Nov 19, 2007
    6
    Let's see. They got the story, cinematics and to some extent the dialog right, but what happened to everything else? You get a good story, but you get sloppy game mechanics, terrible A.I., bad framerates just like KOTOR 1 and 2 and boring exploration with huge empty environments with nothing to do. If you're gonna sell the game as an RPG with guns, the shooting should be as goodLet's see. They got the story, cinematics and to some extent the dialog right, but what happened to everything else? You get a good story, but you get sloppy game mechanics, terrible A.I., bad framerates just like KOTOR 1 and 2 and boring exploration with huge empty environments with nothing to do. If you're gonna sell the game as an RPG with guns, the shooting should be as good as the story. Bottom line. I also noticed most of the voicework sounds like someone is reading it too loudly directly from a script with no emotion. So much for the great dialog I guess. Mass Disappointment is more like it. Brute Force RPG is an even more fitting title. Expand
  71. DionysusJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    1
    It's basically a High-Def powerpoint slideshow, and an admirable attempt at trying to pass off CGI cutscenes as gameplay. If you like picking the subtitles you want to read... this game is for you.
  72. FarooqA.
    Nov 25, 2007
    6
    A decent game and a fine collection artifact if you own a 360. Newer and established visual techniques applied in here but I found the game lacking in anticipation department. Its a RPG you know and its always a thrill to disover which planet you are going to visit next and how will it fare? but you'll find more of the same there, one environment repeats over and over... the mystery A decent game and a fine collection artifact if you own a 360. Newer and established visual techniques applied in here but I found the game lacking in anticipation department. Its a RPG you know and its always a thrill to disover which planet you are going to visit next and how will it fare? but you'll find more of the same there, one environment repeats over and over... the mystery of the universe is just not expressed here. I had way more fun discovering tonnes of planets with differing characters, environments, monsters and huge environmental bosses in Rogue Galaxy last year. Expand
  73. VincentD.
    Nov 29, 2007
    1
    Technical problems with this game make it unplayable, frame rate drops, screen tearing. UI menus clunky and broken, especially weapons selection.
  74. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9.5/10 = Incredible = There are so many bad aspects about this game, but the good overrules the bad in so many ways. This game has one of the greatest atmospheres of all time to name one thing. Innovative as well.
  75. Dec 9, 2010
    3
    Why oh why oh why do gamers love this game? Did it come with a free $100 dollar bill with every purchase? This game is mostly reading (and a whole lot of running around) with a little bit of combat here and there, and poorly done combat as well. If the enemy has ANY cover whatsoever, you can't harm them. You can't shoot them from cover either. I don't like being punished for doing theWhy oh why oh why do gamers love this game? Did it come with a free $100 dollar bill with every purchase? This game is mostly reading (and a whole lot of running around) with a little bit of combat here and there, and poorly done combat as well. If the enemy has ANY cover whatsoever, you can't harm them. You can't shoot them from cover either. I don't like being punished for doing the right thing. A game should be played, not read. If I wanted to read I'd buy a book at Barnes and Noble. This game is proof positive that game critics in magazines get paid for giving good reviews to dull games. Expand
  76. Aug 16, 2011
    8
    I've already played this game on the PC version, but after picking up an Xbox I decided to try this version on the consol. It's like night and day. Using the mouse for the PC version for a shooter game was so awkward and frustrating, but on a console it was sooooo much easier and more fun to play. I also played the sequel Mass Effect 2, but on the PS3. I can say, even though thisI've already played this game on the PC version, but after picking up an Xbox I decided to try this version on the consol. It's like night and day. Using the mouse for the PC version for a shooter game was so awkward and frustrating, but on a console it was sooooo much easier and more fun to play. I also played the sequel Mass Effect 2, but on the PS3. I can say, even though this game's graphics and gunplay don't match up to the sequel, it's still gets a nod over the second due to a more immersive experience with upgrading your weapons and armour for yourself and your squadmates. I'm glad I played it on Xbox and now I have to buy a ME2 Xbox just so I can import my character and decisions all the way through to the third game. Expand
  77. Mar 27, 2011
    10
    So many years on and I still cant get enough of this game. After 11 plays already theres still enough replay value to go back and do it all over again. The uniqueness of decisions, the weight they ultimately hold just the immersion value is staggering. I really do feel sorry for people who use the interactive comic for the PS3, they have no idea what they are missing. I also find theSo many years on and I still cant get enough of this game. After 11 plays already theres still enough replay value to go back and do it all over again. The uniqueness of decisions, the weight they ultimately hold just the immersion value is staggering. I really do feel sorry for people who use the interactive comic for the PS3, they have no idea what they are missing. I also find the flaws of the game, namely the Mako, are what helps make it for me. I love planet exploration and mineral searching. It adds to the epic space adventure and exploration. Something I sorely missed in ME2. The vastness of the Citadel, of world landscapes, and the general scope of the game make it so compelling to play time and time again. The enemies you face of Saren and Sovereign I find are without equal. Words cant adequately express how much I love this game. My favourite game of all time! The 10/10 bar simply isn't high enough!! Expand
  78. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    In short: Don't buy this game. It's physically impossible to install this on a PC without some massive roadblock at some point. After literally hours of messing about, I finally got the game working. This, to my disappointment, it was really boring, tedious and repetitive. Not worth your time. Stick to Valve :D
  79. Feb 15, 2012
    6
    I did not enjoy this game even in the slightest i don't know what game everyone else has been playing but i hate this game. A lot of frustration when i get hit by a rocket drone's rocket and die instantly. A lot of frustration with lag and it has the worst timing. The AI is by far the worst AI i have ever encountered. Team mates block shots all of the time. The difficulty is automaticallyI did not enjoy this game even in the slightest i don't know what game everyone else has been playing but i hate this game. A lot of frustration when i get hit by a rocket drone's rocket and die instantly. A lot of frustration with lag and it has the worst timing. The AI is by far the worst AI i have ever encountered. Team mates block shots all of the time. The difficulty is automatically set to hard, not that I mind the difficulty, it's the massive time in between autosaves that frustrates me to no end. The plot is amazing, the graphics still stand up today but it has way too many issues to recommend. The only reason im playing this game is because i picked up mass effect 2 for 20 bucks and it is my favorite game. Cannot wait for mass effect 3. Expand
  80. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Boring game. You will spend 15min walking, to see a 10min cinematic, to have a 3min battle. and repeat. I've played decent RPG's before but this is just amateur hour
  81. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    An incredibly original, smart and powerful space opera RPG. I can't say enough good things about this game. For it's time, the graphics and controls were top notch. Yes, there was an issue with managing inventory but really that's a small detail. Overall this is an impressive game with an excellent soundtrack, voice cast and story where your decisions matter.
  82. Feb 28, 2012
    5
    this game is mediocre at best its so boring the fighting system is boring all of the facial expresions on the people make them look like robots and the characters are boring in my opinion its not very fun at all i dont know why everyone likes it so much the only cool thing about the game is how you can shape the future of the game by having text choices
  83. Mar 6, 2012
    5
    The original. Gameplay is horrible. But the story keeps you picking up the controller. The side missions all take place on the same map with different colors. Your first play through the game is always crap by design. Does not hold up compared to today's games.
  84. Jul 17, 2012
    9
    I'm jumping on this bandwagon a little bit late, having just finished this game with both 2 and 3 already out. This is truly an excellent game, exciting and fast-paced, and truly designed with the characters in mind. The player has an amazing amount of control in how they develop, and although a certain sequence of quests cannot be avoided or changed majorly, your decisions can have a hugeI'm jumping on this bandwagon a little bit late, having just finished this game with both 2 and 3 already out. This is truly an excellent game, exciting and fast-paced, and truly designed with the characters in mind. The player has an amazing amount of control in how they develop, and although a certain sequence of quests cannot be avoided or changed majorly, your decisions can have a huge impact on the game world. The only issue I had with this game was the tutorial at the very beginning. It sucked. I made it through it without truly understanding all of the controls, and spent several of the first quests still figuring out how to use necessary skills. Other than this rocky beginning, this was a truly amazing gaming experience, and I am very excited to continue the series. Expand
  85. Jan 28, 2013
    5
    Finally gotten around to Mass Effect. I had always been apprehensive towards it for some reason and I guess we have gut feelings for a reason. Bioware's pedigree (KOTOR being excellent, probably the best game for the original xbox, and Dragon Age being entertaining) was the only reason I even gave it a shot, and needless to say I put this game into the same box as Dragon Age 2. The problemFinally gotten around to Mass Effect. I had always been apprehensive towards it for some reason and I guess we have gut feelings for a reason. Bioware's pedigree (KOTOR being excellent, probably the best game for the original xbox, and Dragon Age being entertaining) was the only reason I even gave it a shot, and needless to say I put this game into the same box as Dragon Age 2. The problem with Mass Effect is that it's not a bad game, it's just half assed. Everything about it is mediocre: puddle deep characters, ho-hum story, generic music, bland sci-fi world. Attach these things to a terrible UI (I'm looking at you equipment screen), a boring ass leveling system (virtually no difference in classes), boring fps style combat, horrible glitches (don't you dare get that **** car stuck, and nothing takes you out of a story like a characters teeth flickering constantly) and you have Mass Effect. I cannot believe that this series has gone on to produce three other games, and I really can't believe that Commander Sheppard has actually gone on to become a 'character of note' in the gaming industry, the man (or gal) has less personality than master chief for christ sake. If you like generic space marine sci-fi, play Mass Effect, me, I would have been just as happy to keep my 15 bucks, thanks. Expand
  86. Jul 2, 2013
    3
    i hate this game the only reason i played it (halfway through then got my brother to finish it for me) was to import my choices to the sequel.
    pros: choices, importing saves to sequels. most characters are good, some good story parts, sovereign is a good villain, character customization, punching a reporter, mako
    cons: saren is a terrible main villain hes pretty much second in command,
    i hate this game the only reason i played it (halfway through then got my brother to finish it for me) was to import my choices to the sequel.
    pros: choices, importing saves to sequels. most characters are good, some good story parts, sovereign is a good villain, character customization, punching a reporter, mako
    cons: saren is a terrible main villain hes pretty much second in command, story starts off with saren as the main villain (most of the game), some choices are really easy to make, there are alot of side quests that you just have to charm or intimidate someone and the rest are just kill stuff, tons of texture poppin, worst cover system ive ever seen alot of times the cover doesnt work and whenever you shoot you stand outside of cover for 5 seconds getting shot alot, biotics take to long to charge so there pretty much useless, framerate drops alot, planets look the same, enemy ai charges your position and kills you in one hit 50% of the time, your shields do nothing, the only weapon worth using is the assault rifle and only soldiers can use it.
    Expand
  87. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    as an rpg i would say its pretty fun. the dialogue can be witty and funny and generally well written. the missions are mostly fun and fairly unique and again well written.

    as a shooter this game is crap. the controls are very clunky, slow and you will constantly get caught on corners and nearby objects. its much better as an rpg and dialogue game then it is a shooter.
  88. Sep 9, 2013
    3
    One of the most boring games I've ever played. The combat at the start isn't very fun but it gets worse when you go to the boring alien city. There is no action all you do is walk around talking to people for hours and it never tells you where to go so you are walking around lost with nothing to do
  89. Nov 21, 2014
    10
    I was playing KOTOR and thought how great it would be if I could play it on xbox and the fighting was more than point and click and wait to see what happens.
    This is StarWars minus the light-sabres.

    This game was like playing a movie.........Amazing game.
  90. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    yyyeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhoooooooooooooooooooooot hoooooooooot I hated the game but I ha a great tie masturbating to the sex scene yay
  91. JoeS
    Jan 1, 2010
    9
    This would be one of the best games of all time if not for Bioware's penchant for excessive dialogue. The Citadel swiftly kills any aspect of replay this masterpiece should have, but the adrenaline and art are breathtaking each in their own right.
  92. MattC
    Oct 2, 2009
    9
    If I am being completely honest with this review Mass Effect has set the bar on an unheard of level purely on the basis of storytelling alone. Bioware's treks into Knights of the Old Republic were both excellent I am partial to the first one because prior to playing a game like that a story to a game was on the back burner. Simple objectives that were played up by intense game play If I am being completely honest with this review Mass Effect has set the bar on an unheard of level purely on the basis of storytelling alone. Bioware's treks into Knights of the Old Republic were both excellent I am partial to the first one because prior to playing a game like that a story to a game was on the back burner. Simple objectives that were played up by intense game play which had been traditional. Where Mass Effect picks up in the series of great games from Bioware just left me wanting more; truly it was so fascinating in many different ways. The most being was that in the way other games are repetitive in how you manically drone through npc attackers in order to reach your goal, which if it isn't apparent it has never been on effective on multiple levels. Mass Effect takes the repetitive tasks of the main story line and continuously changes environments, purposes and characters. Allowing you to change party members at any time and delve into their background during an overwhelming journey. Most of the depth of the game comes from the ability to take your path as a Paragon or a Renegade but not having to completely choose as you do in most games that have a morality ticker, like Fable and the KOTOR series. Obviously though if you play around too much with being one or the other you miss some of the content, being able to say certain things in crucial situations. The first time I played through I wasn't able to save Wrex my longtime squad mate who I had really come to like as a character. I think that your choice in the conversation should be available to you to make the decision and I wasn't fond of the automatic moral positioned answers and the renegade answers it should be something that you choose and that you take consequence from based on what you thought. Complimenting the intense depth of conversation was the voice acting, which was superb, I am extremely impressed by the actors and how much the voices really added to the game. I'm not entirely sure what many of the people commenting on the shop system as I played through the game as a infiltrator commando which meant that I was able to decrypt/salvage everything in my path making equipment plentiful. Maybe if you are playing on easy the shops offer nothing of value but as the game got toward the climax especially before Virmire I was able to upgrade all of my weapons before going to the planet with shop items. Some of the best items in the game. But they don't make money the driving force because somethings aren't attainable in shops and I thought the way that they handled that balancing exploration for new items and being able to buy great items if you were willing to put in the time to do a little exploration (which was brutal) everything was available. The leveling system was fantastic, the only trouble I had was having to put points into "Charm" on my Hardcore character, allocating points there was frustrating just to get new things in the dialogue, which I held at a high value. The exploration as I said was brutal, the one planet you could land on in each system was different and most of the side missions had different objectives but linking them closer to the story would have made more sense. If I am the savior of the galaxy and I know it why the hell would I be called on to stop a rogue VI on the moon? Some of it was silly and Bioware guilt tripped my Paragon by saying it was his responsibility to clean up human messes first before saving the galaxy. By the end of the game I actually did want to give humanity a big middle finger because of how selfish and shortsighted they were. If we were dealing with the most intelligent humans as the game suggests then I believe that should have translated better than the character of Ambassador Udina or Navigator Pressley. A lot of people seemed to have trouble with the AI in the game itself, my go around Wrex was a one alien wrecking crew. And I never had a problem with respawning or sticking except with my own character occasionally backing up to a wall while in clear shot of the enemy. I also couldn't imagine playing the game as a biotic, I was not a fan of the biotic menu really at all and didn't use it at all on the easier difficulty. The complaints that I had were all really minor, the loading screens were annoying especially when I was trying to explore and the landing sequences every single time you go to the citadel were infinitely annoying. The long elevators at the beginning of the game are silly but they do add a little size to the game and as time goes on the talking sequences or the radio sequences which should be heavier in the beginning since you use the elevators more then really make those sequences kind of fun. Hearing about your exploits over the station makes you feel little more awesome. The geometry was a small problem sometimes on the far off worlds I remember dying in a level 2 hazard zone trying to survey a deposit because I couldn't get into the Mako in time because I was stuck in an imaginary crevice. Also the texturing was slow sometimes when loading in and the small freezes with the loading icon were unneccesary nowadays, though thankfully none of that was every in combat. The other complaint (which is arguably major) was the re-purposing of the bunkers and buildings in the side quests. Reorganizing the boxes in the buildings doesn't lend much to the idea of doing ALL of them as I did. The music was fantastic and fit the mood whether I was saving a derelict freighter full of prisoners or rushing up the citadel steps to confront Saren. To be honest where some games considered to be better now rely way too much on repetition in online play to be appealing you really lose some of the imaginative elements of video games, the epic transportation to a completely different time and place. The story telling and dialogue in this game cannot get enough praise from me and I believe all games should be held to that standard over the online game play. Overall I was truly transported to the world of Mass Effect and I am unbelievably excited about the clean ups for Mass Effect 2. Expand
  93. DuaneW.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    Awesome story, awesome character interactions. It's fun to play. The combat is challenging - there are parts of this game I needed to retry multiple times to get past. I've played it twice now and it's still fun.
  94. MagnusK.
    Jan 23, 2008
    10
    Now, this happens to be just type of game. Epic adventures with roleplaying-lite incorporated. And it's an extraordinary well made such. That said, I can't give this anything but a straight ten, really. I just finished this game and I'm looking forward doing it once or twice again!
  95. Eric
    Jan 4, 2008
    10
    This was simply inspired gameplay. The one flaw was the excess of side quests - I spent several days completing sidequests before I played any of the core story missions.
  96. Niall
    Feb 9, 2008
    10
    This is one of the five best games I've ever played. It's a tremendous game, with exceptional graphics and voice acting.
  97. Arthkan
    May 29, 2008
    10
    Awesome game, gave me weeks of entertainment through replay value. My GotY 07, Highly Recommend.
  98. no0ne
    Aug 15, 2008
    10
    You just need to play this game. This games scenario is worth a Hollywood movie!
  99. Mike
    Sep 1, 2008
    10
    Perfect storyline. Graphics are pretty. This is the game-of-the-year 2007. This is the best rpg that i ´ve played so far instead of oblivion. All ratings under 6-7=ps3 fanboys.
  100. DominicL
    Jan 6, 2009
    7
    Personally, i like this game. But a few things let the game down. FPS should be added in to this game that would make the game better. There are more but overall this game is awesome. Ha! Hehe love the "romantic" cutscenes.
  101. Sep 1, 2010
    0
    A tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these thingsA tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these things can only begin to explain the wonders of this game. Yeah, it's good. Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]