User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1580 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnP.
    Feb 22, 2009
    9
    This game is KotOR on steroids. If you are looking for something familiar with a whole new storyline and a great selection of quests/items/worlds, this is your game. Dynamic, fluid game play mixed with a stellar plot make Mass Effect a top notch game.
  2. TannerH
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Theres not too many games that I will play over and over again, Mass Effect is my personal favorite so far.
  3. M.E.
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    This game blew me away. Bioware has really outdone itself here. The story, game play, graphics, sound, controls and practically everything else are amazing if not extraordinary. Only things is that it has a few bugs and technical issues.
  4. ChrisW.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    Very, very solid characterization. Story is basically supporting all of the side missions and character quests. Some minor bugs from time to time, and a cover system that just doesn't stick at times keep this from the top. As stated in most reviews, the squad AI is better, but I never really noticed them helping a lot of the time. Most times they just hide behind walls in my Very, very solid characterization. Story is basically supporting all of the side missions and character quests. Some minor bugs from time to time, and a cover system that just doesn't stick at times keep this from the top. As stated in most reviews, the squad AI is better, but I never really noticed them helping a lot of the time. Most times they just hide behind walls in my experience until I basically go and hold their hand back to the fight. Would definitely buy this again, given the choice, and the easiest recommendation to any PC or 360 owner ever. Expand
  5. LukeM.
    Feb 1, 2010
    10
    Best Game Ever!!!!
  6. MiguelA.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    Absolutely Amazing Game. It is so deep when it comes to its content. In a rare change you get to choose the responses you make to people's statement or questions which means you choose your destiny to some degree. A good amount of interactivity with everything to people and objects. Great strategy when it comes to the shooting aspect. The storyline is amazing as well. It really does Absolutely Amazing Game. It is so deep when it comes to its content. In a rare change you get to choose the responses you make to people's statement or questions which means you choose your destiny to some degree. A good amount of interactivity with everything to people and objects. Great strategy when it comes to the shooting aspect. The storyline is amazing as well. It really does capture your imagination to where some times you will see yourself on the edge of your seat. The visuals are stunning with great frame rate and player models are great as well. All around amazing game. Expand
  7. Sid
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    A truly great and memorable experience. 10 years from now, you won't be talking about how great the graphics and animation are, you won't be talking about the great voice acting and you won't be talking about the glitches. You'll just remember the experience all these good things resulted in. And you will sorely miss this game universe when you're done and pine A truly great and memorable experience. 10 years from now, you won't be talking about how great the graphics and animation are, you won't be talking about the great voice acting and you won't be talking about the glitches. You'll just remember the experience all these good things resulted in. And you will sorely miss this game universe when you're done and pine for the sequel. If anyone tells you that games are not art, get them to play this and asked them how many movies/books etc. moved them this much. KOTOR and Bioshock, there's a new 'best story in Video Game history' now. Reviewers rightly score the game down due to glitches and a pretty asinine menu system, but many wrongly deduct points because the action isn't as good as an action only title such as Gears of War. Don't let this prevent you from what is truly a fantastic experience and a great event in all gaming. Expand
  8. DonZ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Not without it's faults, but what game is perfect? I LOVE the combat, though I play on the harder difficulties. I'd suggest it for others, as it makes the combat more intense. You can always turn it down later. Anyways, best graphics, best story, best combat(this coming from a competitive PC FPS player)...best everything I've played this year.
  9. JeffA.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Like both directing and acting in a Hollywood blockbuster movie. If you don't own this game you are missing out on an epic adventure. A living world on a DVD-9 disc.
  10. SteveM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    Truly immersive games are few and far between these days. Older games could make use of average graphics but excel in gameplay and immersion, as the times change Mass Effect is the pinacle of combining both in true next-gen fashion. Another top quality 360 title.
  11. SubspaceJ.
    Nov 27, 2007
    9
    A polished suped up Knights of the Republic, but does an even better job of making you feel like you're in another world. Combat is good-not great. Giving this game a "1" is ridiculous, even if it's not the game you wanted it to be...that's your mistake for not reading up on it-not a review of the game. I would agree with Dionysus that at times you feel "steered" towards A polished suped up Knights of the Republic, but does an even better job of making you feel like you're in another world. Combat is good-not great. Giving this game a "1" is ridiculous, even if it's not the game you wanted it to be...that's your mistake for not reading up on it-not a review of the game. I would agree with Dionysus that at times you feel "steered" towards things with pretty pictures and dialogue, but in no way dows the game equate to a 1...that's the trade off to make the game more immersive instead of shallow and wide ranging. The feeling of being on a "track" and the loose combat make it a 9 instead of a 10. Expand
  12. ConradB.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Fools needn't apply. Mass Effect is a cerebral and intelligent game, aimed at a very specific audience. While it does have it's problems, it is easy to see what kind of people are aggravated by them. If a texure loads too slow? It's funny how they didn't complain about that in Halo 2. It happened a lot in Halo 2. It loads too often and too slowly? Get a new xBox, I was Fools needn't apply. Mass Effect is a cerebral and intelligent game, aimed at a very specific audience. While it does have it's problems, it is easy to see what kind of people are aggravated by them. If a texure loads too slow? It's funny how they didn't complain about that in Halo 2. It happened a lot in Halo 2. It loads too often and too slowly? Get a new xBox, I was loading for probably about 30 minutes total in my 12-hour playtime. Not very bad, considering. Too much walking around the Citadel? Maybe if you hadn't been too stupid to listen to the hologram there, you would have found out that there is a mass transit system to ferry you where you please. Mass Effect is delectable in it's complexity, and has a slew of believable and reasonably-acted characters. It's shooter facade may have tricked some of the more foolhardy into thinking they were purchasing some "Gears of War" or some "Halo" title, but they instead found an erudite and well-crafted work of art. Seeing as how this sort of individual is prone to discarding that which sets mankind apart from neanderthals, they quickly succumb to vitriolic complaints. I suggest your purchase of this title with great strength, unless you only want to shoot things. If that's the case, obtain a copy of Gears of War, that's a cool game. Expand
  13. PhilipM.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    Amazing game. While others may be complaining about glitches and other irrelevant things, I can only say this. What game doesn't have glitches?
    The answer is none. Just as every other game has it's glitches, Mass Effect has it's own, but I'm willing to overlook every single one of them because of it's great story, immersive worlds, and the realism that
    Amazing game. While others may be complaining about glitches and other irrelevant things, I can only say this. What game doesn't have glitches?
    The answer is none. Just as every other game has it's glitches, Mass Effect has it's own, but I'm willing to overlook every single one of them because of it's great story, immersive worlds, and the realism that Bioware's representation of the universe gives.
    Not only do the planets which you can visit look beautiful, but the feeling of exploring a completely new planet is exhilarating.
    The different alien races which Bioware have introduced are amazing, with each having their own traits and personality quirks. For pretty much all of the game I played with two of my alien allies, completely ignoring my human ones who seemed so bland in comparison. The sort of one liners which Wrex came out with during the course of the game were great, which shows the level of the script and voiceactors which Bioware used for this game.
    I can see a lot of people complaining about the battle system in this game. I can only say that this game is an RPG at heart, not a FPS, so if Mass Effect isn't to your liking, there are hundreds of FPS games out there that are to your suiting. Mass Effect is for those who are patient, and prefer to take their time with things.
    I could sing Mass Effects's praises all day, but I'd rather leave some surprises for those who haven't played the game yet. In conclusion, Mass Effect is another masterpiece from Bioware, and I hope that they keep putting this level of effort into their games.
    Expand
  14. JoshT.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Anyone who gives this game lower then an eight really doesn't know what they are doing. I find it funny that those who give the game a low score can't spell. Such as the NY boy who starts off, "this game sux! BUT(not buy) oblivion!" Anyway. Buy this game if you love RPGs and a good story! Buy Oblivion if you love running around like an idiot, listening to a horrible story, or Anyone who gives this game lower then an eight really doesn't know what they are doing. I find it funny that those who give the game a low score can't spell. Such as the NY boy who starts off, "this game sux! BUT(not buy) oblivion!" Anyway. Buy this game if you love RPGs and a good story! Buy Oblivion if you love running around like an idiot, listening to a horrible story, or feeling insignificant. Expand
  15. MikeT.
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    I never had any significant technical issues, sure theres some texture popin when you first load a level but its nota bgi thing. The story and acting more than makes up for any issues. In total it took me 32 hours to complete (i didnt get the 75% completed achievement).
  16. CalebHill
    Oct 10, 2008
    10
    The combat system is simple when being used singularly, but when combat is mixed with tech and biotics it becomes a masterpiece. The RPG elements integrate perfectly into the experience, and the minor flaws(such as that dastardly texture pop-up) are quickly forgotten behind the marvelous story and wondrous graphical vistas. Never a boring moment, either. Bravo, Bioware!
  17. AlejandroG.
    Jan 1, 2008
    7
    The character powers aren't really a good alternative to combat weapons, and strategy isn't necessary at all during all the game. Graphics are good, but the texture popping make scenarios and menus really strange. The worst of all: The game's length is SO below of what I expected ( Come on, it's supposed to be Oblivion on space, don't give me only 15 hours of gameplay).
  18. AndrewA.
    Jan 19, 2008
    9
    Very fun with an great story. I just wish the main storyline was longer but i guess we just have to wait for a sequel.
  19. NickK.
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    I would have to say that other than the small minor detail in the graphics and loading times this game is by far the best to hit the 360 since it's release. BioWare kept the same story involvement as in Jade Empire but improved it so much. The graphics are stunning, the environments are very detailed and pretty to look at, the character development and story development are just I would have to say that other than the small minor detail in the graphics and loading times this game is by far the best to hit the 360 since it's release. BioWare kept the same story involvement as in Jade Empire but improved it so much. The graphics are stunning, the environments are very detailed and pretty to look at, the character development and story development are just amazing! I would definitely say that this game is the number 1 purchase for anyone interested in getting a 360 or that already own one. Expand
  20. Ari
    Oct 25, 2008
    9
    What Mass Effect does well, it does extremely well. What it doesn't do well soon becomes a repetitive chore. First the bad. Combat consists of little more than aiming a weapon and pulling the trigger, with a few special powers thrown in to mix things up. The main mission levels are long, challenging and intriguing, but the side quests are all on copied and pasted maps with different What Mass Effect does well, it does extremely well. What it doesn't do well soon becomes a repetitive chore. First the bad. Combat consists of little more than aiming a weapon and pulling the trigger, with a few special powers thrown in to mix things up. The main mission levels are long, challenging and intriguing, but the side quests are all on copied and pasted maps with different treasures and enemies within to give a thinly-veiled impression of variety. The item menu is difficult to navigate, and rather user-unfriendly. The music is nothing special, and quickly gets repetitive. Now onto the good. The dialog system is virtually flawless: sometimes it's more fun to talk to people than it is to combat the enemies. Choices are clear, but rarely are they easy. The main character can act and talk like a hero on the straight and narrow, or a rules-bending anti-hero, or anything in between, as the player chooses. The other six characters can't be used, but their personalities and races are all different enough to make them intriguing. The armor and weapon customization system is simple but works well. The story and plot are what you might expect in a sci-fi tale, but throughout the game, you always feel in control. Kudos to BioWare for such a deep and intriguing game. Expand
  21. JG
    Jan 3, 2008
    9
    Overall pretty good game with some falws. the story and concept was amazing yet the combat was a bit laggy, its still worth buying.
  22. TheDude
    Jan 4, 2008
    8
    I was definitely a little disappointed by this game. Admittedly, my expectations were sky high as KOTOR is one of my all-time favorite games. I'd never cared for RPG's before KOTOR, and it took me a while to get used to the turn-based combat, but I didn't mind in the end because the story was so great. And, yes, even I thought to myself how awesome it would be if they could I was definitely a little disappointed by this game. Admittedly, my expectations were sky high as KOTOR is one of my all-time favorite games. I'd never cared for RPG's before KOTOR, and it took me a while to get used to the turn-based combat, but I didn't mind in the end because the story was so great. And, yes, even I thought to myself how awesome it would be if they could make a game with a story-line that good with gameplay as fun as a Halo game. Ironically, as Bioware has tried to push more towards action, real-time based combat gameplay, in my opinion their games have gotten less fun. Critics raved about Jade Empire's combat, but I thought it was terrible. I got to where I dreaded combat, as all it ended up being was ridiculous button-mashing for the most part, and seemed like a total waste of time which detracted from the top-notch story telling. Same thing here. They tried to make it an action oriented third person shooter, but the combat just sucks. It's too hard to control to be fun. Likewise, the driving levels aren't fun either. Luckily, the bulk of the game is still the story, and though it didn't come close to reaching the bar set by KOTOR, in my opinion, the story was still decent enough. Midway through the game, I turned combat on to the easiest setting, and I enjoyed it a lot more after that, as combat was less frustrating and took less time away from the plot. Expand
  23. Secretsparkx
    Jan 4, 2008
    7
    Mass effect is a good game but me and all my scifi loving friend all agree that this game is just a trail to see how people like the way it works for KOTOR 3 (and for those people who do know what KOTOR is it the ongoing saga made by bioware, starwars: knights of the old republic) The old KOTOR games had a very simple combat system and they said that in the up coming KOTOR 3 that they Mass effect is a good game but me and all my scifi loving friend all agree that this game is just a trail to see how people like the way it works for KOTOR 3 (and for those people who do know what KOTOR is it the ongoing saga made by bioware, starwars: knights of the old republic) The old KOTOR games had a very simple combat system and they said that in the up coming KOTOR 3 that they were going to make it more open combat like mass effect. so if you had high expectations for mass effect and were disappointed start looking for Starwars: knights of the old republic 3. Expand
  24. GhostReviewer
    Jan 7, 2008
    10
    Mass Effect is without a doubt the true definition of evolution. Every inch of this game is moving gaming foward. The dialogue wheel is an innovation that gives what is most likely the most immersive experience one can have with a videogame just short of virtual reality. You truly feel like you're making decisions that are effecting an entire galaxy, So much so that when you lose a Mass Effect is without a doubt the true definition of evolution. Every inch of this game is moving gaming foward. The dialogue wheel is an innovation that gives what is most likely the most immersive experience one can have with a videogame just short of virtual reality. You truly feel like you're making decisions that are effecting an entire galaxy, So much so that when you lose a team mate as a direct result of your actions you actually feel guilty. Ultimately it doesn't feel like you're controlling an avatar but rather you are Commander Shepard, commanding a crew to save and police the galaxy. The combat at first feells overwhelming and intimidating but once you take the time to learn its customization it starts to feel even better than Gears of War. As a shooter alone Mass Effect would have been awesome but the rpg elements are what make the deal. No matter what you do, leveling up your weapons and skills never becomes tedious. As the developers of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic and Jade Empire, Bioware had high expectations to meet with this one. The result is one of the best next gen games on the market that makes its predecessors feel like beta tests. Buy this game and forget about the outside world, you won't be going back to it anytime soon. Expand
  25. TARGET1058
    Feb 10, 2008
    9
    Great game for the RPG or shooter fan. The story is one of the best with graphics also being top of the line.
  26. James
    Feb 17, 2008
    10
    I loved the KOTOR games and i think they are contenders for the title of best game ever. The combat system, although uncomplicated, is somewhat brilliant. Yes, I know there are games with better systems but none of them have a brilliant rpg story line. The only downside of this game is the repetitive planets you find on side quests. Its basically the same planet everytime, yes it is I loved the KOTOR games and i think they are contenders for the title of best game ever. The combat system, although uncomplicated, is somewhat brilliant. Yes, I know there are games with better systems but none of them have a brilliant rpg story line. The only downside of this game is the repetitive planets you find on side quests. Its basically the same planet everytime, yes it is brilliantly fun but why is every planet a vaste wasteland? Still this game was genius. Expand
  27. SteveS.
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    One of the most rewarding games you will play.I believe its in the league of bioshock and halo and cod4 as one of the best games of 2007, if not then the best rpg.
  28. DennisM.
    Apr 26, 2008
    10
    Amazing game, it is a work of art. Very cinematic, varied pace, highly addictive. Possibly the best game I have ever played.
  29. EdmoundD.
    Jul 25, 2008
    8
    Excellent game. I loved the story line and depth of the game. At first, the fighting took some getting use to but once you do it's a lot of fun. If I had to say anything bad about the game is that sometimes the characters following you got stuck on objects which is not really a big deal b/c the computer will eventually reset them back onto you, it just makes for an uneven game flow; Excellent game. I loved the story line and depth of the game. At first, the fighting took some getting use to but once you do it's a lot of fun. If I had to say anything bad about the game is that sometimes the characters following you got stuck on objects which is not really a big deal b/c the computer will eventually reset them back onto you, it just makes for an uneven game flow; in addition, before you fight one of the antagonist you have to go through this incredibly long conversation/video sequence and if you die you have to keep going through the sequence until you defeat the antagonist which is really annoying. Expand
  30. MattB
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    The game is truly brilliant. The storyline is epic and the graphics are brilliant. The dialogue system is revolutionary. The only bad thing is the sheer amount of elevator rides that you have to endure.
  31. DanielT
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    Wow... to any of you who gave this game below a 7 are either too idiotic or "sure of yourself" to notice how great this game is... how about taking the time to play it? Enjoy the great visual sights, the rich, deep character design and history, coupled with the amazing storyline that changes on how you play. Now, onto my own review on why I gave this a 10/10: I eagerly bought this game Wow... to any of you who gave this game below a 7 are either too idiotic or "sure of yourself" to notice how great this game is... how about taking the time to play it? Enjoy the great visual sights, the rich, deep character design and history, coupled with the amazing storyline that changes on how you play. Now, onto my own review on why I gave this a 10/10: I eagerly bought this game just a year ago, and beat it in 10 hours. Want to know how? Because I sped through, not taking in the accomplishments listed above. Now, the next time I played, I had created my own character, gave him a name and chose a class carefully, then I truly began to play. Each choice I made shaped the world (or shall I say, galaxy?) around me, and in response, made people react to me differently. I gained around a hundred different Codex entries, and that wasn't even half of what I could learn. By the end (Which took at least a week and a half), I was blown away with the controller shaking in my hands. The bad? Almost none. The combat is a bit laggy when the fights gets intense, and the texture pop-up sometimes pulled you out of that world, but those are just things you can brush aside. For me, it's the best game I have ever played, and I except the sequel will go past the first in every way. - Number 1 in my List - Expand
  32. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I wouldn't say this is Hollywood worthy, but its certainly a great game. The leveling feels quite balanced which is nice, the face customization is quite frankly awesome, if seen A LOT worse. the different classes are well balanced. I only have a few complains. The amount of information in the game about races, cities etc is quite frankly TOO heavy, I don't want to study the I wouldn't say this is Hollywood worthy, but its certainly a great game. The leveling feels quite balanced which is nice, the face customization is quite frankly awesome, if seen A LOT worse. the different classes are well balanced. I only have a few complains. The amount of information in the game about races, cities etc is quite frankly TOO heavy, I don't want to study the history on a city, just give me a mission and i might learn something on the way. The Sniper Rifle's in the game were a joke, although more true to life and yes it takes a lot more skill to use it by comparison to lets say gears of war but its my favorite weapon and i felt kinda cheated, forcing me to use the godforsaken shotgun. The feeling of epic is by far at large here but with the ever grounding reality that for every system you visit, you can only visit one planet, which again made me feel cheated. Put it this way if the next installment allows your to explore EVERY single planet that would be from a technical standpoint impressive, but mind crushing for a player. Overall the game is great and some of the choices you can make are groundbreaking compared to other dialog based games. Just too much of everything really. Its like getting a Sunday roast to realize you have a shit load of peas and carrots on your plate and not a lot of roast beef and roast potatoes. Expand
  33. RobG
    Mar 20, 2009
    8
    This review may help those considering picking up an "older" game. I got it for $14.99 at GameStop used. Mass Effect has a great story and intriguing gameplay. If you liked the KOTOR series, you will like Mass Effect. The game has a ton of dialogue options and was generally fun to play. However, it ran into the Assassin's Creed problem with the side missions. They were extremely This review may help those considering picking up an "older" game. I got it for $14.99 at GameStop used. Mass Effect has a great story and intriguing gameplay. If you liked the KOTOR series, you will like Mass Effect. The game has a ton of dialogue options and was generally fun to play. However, it ran into the Assassin's Creed problem with the side missions. They were extremely repetitive and I eventually gave up on those that didn't involve shooting something (I mean really, who wan't to be a space geologist?). The action of the game has potential but needs some minor tweaking. First, you have abilities, but need to pause combat to effectively queue them. I don't like this. In KOTOR, you could at least queue multiple actions in secession. In Mass Effect, you have only one hot button that can be mapped to an ability. As a result, you end up playing most of the game forgetting to use your abilities. They simply need a queue of abilities you can set and trigger without pausing combat. Still, overall an improvement over the sit and watch of KOTOR. At least I now get to aim at things. The graphics are good, but not as solid as current games.There's some definite boxiness especially in the "ahem" climax. I put 30 hours in completing the game the first time around diligently trying to complete all of the side quests before giving up on the more boring ones. This leads me the only other flaw of the game. In the KOTOR series (btw, I know they aren't the same game, but they are very close and KOTOR is a good point of reference), it was fun to play through both the light and dark side aspects of the game. It would alter major plot lines and end the game differently. I realize this can be hard to do for story continuity's sake, but there is NO value in playing Mass Effect through a second time. Don't waste your time. Oh, I guess I lied, there was 1 other flaw. Once you get the Spectre Gear, all other weapons become irrelevant. Getting new weapons was one of my favorite parts of the game until this hit. So, overall, very worth a $14.99 purchase for a game I spent about 50 hours on. Much more rewarding to put 30 hours into this game than 10 into Fable 2. Buy it now that it's cheap and if they fix these minor issues for Mass Effect 2, it will be solid as well. One last thing, the Codex was over-done in my opinion. I stopped reading the Codex very early into the game. It's great to have so much background info, but not very much of it was relevant to the point that I actually cared to read it. Put that stuff in a strategy guide or book. Expand
  34. TroelsS.
    Jan 18, 2010
    8
    I'd probably find this game to be the greatest game on the X360 if it wasn't for the 'dungeons' and repetitive side-missions. It's plenty of fun, great graphics, fine action (although a bit slow compared to other shooting-games) and a nice story. However, if you take the time to complete a lot of the side-missions around the universe, you'll find out that the I'd probably find this game to be the greatest game on the X360 if it wasn't for the 'dungeons' and repetitive side-missions. It's plenty of fun, great graphics, fine action (although a bit slow compared to other shooting-games) and a nice story. However, if you take the time to complete a lot of the side-missions around the universe, you'll find out that the different dungeons where you have to fight enemies are competely the same, although including different furniture and materials/items. It's quite depressing in the long run, actually. If this changed ad the action was turned up just a tiny notch, it would have been an immaculate science-fiction game. Expand
  35. georage
    Nov 12, 2007
    9
    A great game, it's like taking a role in a movie ... that's how good the voice acting and the script is. Overall, I would give the game a 9+, but I played this and COD4 over the weekend and I have to say COD4 is more impressive. What I don't like: The first woman that joins your crew must be the same woman that does the voice of Meg on Family Guy. This ruined the immersion A great game, it's like taking a role in a movie ... that's how good the voice acting and the script is. Overall, I would give the game a 9+, but I played this and COD4 over the weekend and I have to say COD4 is more impressive. What I don't like: The first woman that joins your crew must be the same woman that does the voice of Meg on Family Guy. This ruined the immersion factor for me. Combat is clunky. Switching weapons is a pain, and controlling your squadmates is not exactly intuitive, but I will probably get used to it. Expand
  36. BobM.
    Nov 16, 2007
    10
    A large step forward for storytelling in video games.
  37. Discombobulator
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    I sat down to this last night and didnt make it to bed. I had been waiting on this all year, and its been worth the wait. I had thorougly enjoyed KOTOR, and this takes it to another level as far as graphics aand gameplay are concerned. BUY IT.
  38. AlexH.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Great game with an amazing story, wonderful characters, indepth gameplay and customisation, tough moral choices with dire consequences and a huge galaxy to explore. This is GOTY.
  39. JohnS.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    Great gameplay combined with a deep story and amazing graphics.
  40. Chris
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    An instant classic. Bioware does it again hitting this one out of the park. The game takes everything that was loved about KoToR and makes it better!
  41. MattDG
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    As good a game as one would have any right to expect. Not perfect, but the best it could be given platform constraints. Simply an excellent RPG.
  42. Jeff
    Nov 21, 2007
    9
    Very Very good game. Biggest issue is lack of sprint in friendly environment. Everything else about textures, elevators, combat, and such are not nearly as bad as everybody makes it out to be. But if RPG's aren't your type of game then you won't enjoy it.
  43. TimothyM.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    This is an RPG, not a shooter. Emphasis on story over gameplay, I give it a 9. Though I agree that this is for Hardcore RPG lovers who love a long game, because the short ADD attention span of some gamers should be left to the FPS genre, this isn't for you. This game is really long. It shouldn't be marked down for that fact. I really have a problem with people who aren't This is an RPG, not a shooter. Emphasis on story over gameplay, I give it a 9. Though I agree that this is for Hardcore RPG lovers who love a long game, because the short ADD attention span of some gamers should be left to the FPS genre, this isn't for you. This game is really long. It shouldn't be marked down for that fact. I really have a problem with people who aren't fans of the genre rating a game they wouldn't like anyway because of the genre. Sugreev A gave it a 3, too long and boring, and refered to it as a shooter. I would discount the rating because he obviously got it wrong from the beginning. Expand
  44. DanS.
    Nov 22, 2007
    7
    Good game but not as good as i had hoped it would be. there are some bugs, some framerate issues and the gameplay is good, but not as fun as i thought. it was a pretty long game so the value is there, but i would definitely rent it first.
  45. JavierM.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    Best game of all time. No game creates an interactive experience of this caliber. You don't just play Commander Shepard, you ARE Commander Shepard and you are the only person who can save the galaxy from destruction. In a season filled with top notch game, Mass Effect raises the bar for story driven games. It is not the best story ever told in a game, it is the best story ever Best game of all time. No game creates an interactive experience of this caliber. You don't just play Commander Shepard, you ARE Commander Shepard and you are the only person who can save the galaxy from destruction. In a season filled with top notch game, Mass Effect raises the bar for story driven games. It is not the best story ever told in a game, it is the best story ever experienced in a game. Play this game. Expand
  46. CaptainSpandex
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    Innovative in the extreme, well-executed. The hardware suffers from the somewhat outdated KOTOR engine, but in measuring the slightly annoying against the exceedingly well-executed and groundbreaking whole, it's pretty clear Mass Effect is the future of video games.
  47. DorianK.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    An impressive story, true choice of actions, an old school Space Opera universe, a impressive and working mix between FPS and Strategy for the compat. Despite a few technical issues (glitches and lag), the game is a perfection. There is no over game in the market that give a so intense RPG experience. None... I played and finished it 3 times. I will probably play it a 4th time....This is An impressive story, true choice of actions, an old school Space Opera universe, a impressive and working mix between FPS and Strategy for the compat. Despite a few technical issues (glitches and lag), the game is a perfection. There is no over game in the market that give a so intense RPG experience. None... I played and finished it 3 times. I will probably play it a 4th time....This is the first game of a new genre and I can't wait to see what Mass Effect 2 will be looking like ! Expand
  48. HeistenfaustR.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Very good game one of the best on the 360. Only problems: Short for a Bioware game and lots of pop-in.
  49. TheNatural
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Best graphics, story and deepest gameplay experience ever created. 2007 GOTY.
  50. PhilC
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    This is one of the most involving games I've played, thanks to excellent scripting and voice acting, a believable dialogue system, and a plot that is engaging from the start. It is difficult to express in writing just how good the role-playing/plot element is: my usually indifferent housemate said it's like watching a sci-fi series, and he was annoyed to miss out on plot twistsThis is one of the most involving games I've played, thanks to excellent scripting and voice acting, a believable dialogue system, and a plot that is engaging from the start. It is difficult to express in writing just how good the role-playing/plot element is: my usually indifferent housemate said it's like watching a sci-fi series, and he was annoyed to miss out on plot twists when he was out of the house!

    Some good comparisons:
    The Darkness--Mass Effect's voice acting is as good as The Darkness, and even more impressive given the latter's size. I watched a friend play through the introductory mission after I did it and was surprised at the extra (and unnecessary) conversations that he discovered.
    Knights of the Old Republic--Mass Effect is less linear than KOTOR, but its inventory is still rather clunky and unwieldy like its predecessor.

    The game has a steep learning curve with very few tutorials, and some rather odd design decisions (a needlessly complex and unintuitive system for equipment, especially for fitting upgrades--if they had scrapped upgrades overall the game would have been the better for it, I think). However, after an hour or two it all made sense. The niggles raised in the reviews are valid, but it's still worthy of a lengthy play. Just don't expect as much action as Halo or Oblivion!
    Expand
  51. AndrewHaslem
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    I hear people (sugreev A.) Saying it is to long and boring. How do you know! Its only been out for like 6 hours! HOW CAN YOU TELL AT THIS POINT! What it really is, your a PS3 fan and want to trash on everything else. Get a life people.
  52. RakanAksoy
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    Game deserves a 9.5 but I'm giving it a 10 so it get out of the 8.9 (which is due to Sony fan boys).
    Mass Effect is a game that all gamers must experience.It does have it's few flaws which really shine out just because everything else is stunning, and we expected it to be perfect.
  53. ChrisH.
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    This is the greatest game I have ever played. If you never play Mass Effect, you are seriously depriving yourself. It has an extremely well-done story, great characters, very good combat, excellent facial customization, superb voice acting. Oh yeah, the graphics are great too. This game is an RPG, not a shooter, so there will definitely be a learning curve, and you cannot take on an army This is the greatest game I have ever played. If you never play Mass Effect, you are seriously depriving yourself. It has an extremely well-done story, great characters, very good combat, excellent facial customization, superb voice acting. Oh yeah, the graphics are great too. This game is an RPG, not a shooter, so there will definitely be a learning curve, and you cannot take on an army if your character can't, no matter how good you are, but the combat is very enjoyable. This is not a buggy game, I don't know why some people pretend it is. I have completed this game, and so have two of my brothers, and bugginess is far below that of most games I've played. The only caveat in regards to the game is this, it is a true RPG. If you hate RPG's you will probably complain about this game. If you do tolerate RPG's though, be prepared to have a wonderful ride. Expand
  54. AlexQ.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Game of the year, best rpg i've ever played. For those who think that it needs to be on a pc, I disagree, the full experiance comes from a wide screen, surround sound, and 360 graphics.
  55. HarryD.
    Dec 11, 2007
    7
    Good game,good presentation,good story but lame submisions and the gameplay gets a bit boring after ten hours.
  56. G.C.
    Dec 10, 2007
    9
    I thought this game was great, it has a good story, and the graphics are really good, as well as the voice acting, i don't think its a 10/10 game, but is defently one of the best games to date on the 360. Provides you with more hours of fun than most games out, and i have never had any of the reported glitches or errors that some people have (Maybe they got a faulty disc) Anyway I thought this game was great, it has a good story, and the graphics are really good, as well as the voice acting, i don't think its a 10/10 game, but is defently one of the best games to date on the 360. Provides you with more hours of fun than most games out, and i have never had any of the reported glitches or errors that some people have (Maybe they got a faulty disc) Anyway defently a game to buy! Expand
  57. JesseM.
    Dec 21, 2007
    10
    Mass Effect is one the greatest games I have ever played. The story line is ingrossing the combat is intense and rewarding especly when you can upgrade the ammo to do all sorts of crazy things like cyro bullets or raditon bullets. The best part about this game though is the diolouge. Bioware just thought of this great universe on there own. Its not based on Halo or Star Wars it is all Mass Effect is one the greatest games I have ever played. The story line is ingrossing the combat is intense and rewarding especly when you can upgrade the ammo to do all sorts of crazy things like cyro bullets or raditon bullets. The best part about this game though is the diolouge. Bioware just thought of this great universe on there own. Its not based on Halo or Star Wars it is all new. I would also just like to add that picking diolouge is pretty tough in a good way. There are many tough decisons to be made in Mass Effect and universe to discover what are you waiting for get this GAME!!! Expand
  58. CrackaP.
    Dec 24, 2007
    9
    Best game I've played on the 360 thus far. I'll qualify that by saying I haven't played Bioshock yet. Also, the battle system, while effective, feels a bit awkward, particularly the biotics and party command controls. That said, especially if you're a scifi fan, you NEED to get this and enjoy the huge amount of content and quality plot.
  59. AlanA.
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    Mass Effect is great. On par with Oblivion not quite as good but damn close. Enough side quests but not enough. Story line is great, graphics don't disappoint, overall this game is a great buy. (if you rent you'll cry on the day its due)
  60. A.Nonymous
    Dec 27, 2007
    8
    Brilliant game, one of the first RPGs to truely suck me in. The main storyline can be powered through in about a day, but there's still lots of planets, side quests and events to do.
  61. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I love how people like Tom compare ME gameplay with Mario galaxy,yes good comparsion,lets compare STarcraft2 with cooking mama in gameplay at the future too...

    If you loved Kotor you will Love ME,it has framerateproblems in combat,but its not more then in Kotor,the story and the characters are well made,the gameplay has been refined to suit action fans,and hardcore rpg fans with a
    I love how people like Tom compare ME gameplay with Mario galaxy,yes good comparsion,lets compare STarcraft2 with cooking mama in gameplay at the future too...

    If you loved Kotor you will Love ME,it has framerateproblems in combat,but its not more then in Kotor,the story and the characters are well made,the gameplay has been refined to suit action fans,and hardcore rpg fans with a pause button.
    Expand
  62. Kordesh
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Absolute art. It's held back visually slightly by the technical limitations of the xbox360, but the developers have managed to reasonably work around it to make the game generally look amazing as well as run at a decent pace. Overall what makes this an excellent game, as with most Bioware games, is the story. Interesting characters, deep and fleshed out plot and back story, Absolute art. It's held back visually slightly by the technical limitations of the xbox360, but the developers have managed to reasonably work around it to make the game generally look amazing as well as run at a decent pace. Overall what makes this an excellent game, as with most Bioware games, is the story. Interesting characters, deep and fleshed out plot and back story, there's tons of it and it only leaves you asking for more. Fortunately, as it is an episodic series, there will be! Collapse
  63. CS.
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    Simply stunning array of visuals and plot. There is so much to do it'll be impossible to complete this game in any decent amount of time unless you play right through the story. But what really makes this game outstanding is its engrossing character developement, interactive dialogue, and a true storytelling factor that has become increasingly rare this day in age. A must have for Simply stunning array of visuals and plot. There is so much to do it'll be impossible to complete this game in any decent amount of time unless you play right through the story. But what really makes this game outstanding is its engrossing character developement, interactive dialogue, and a true storytelling factor that has become increasingly rare this day in age. A must have for RPG and action fans alike. Expand
  64. DanteR.
    Dec 5, 2007
    8
    While really enjoyed this game and got sucked in from the get go, I have to say there are a few things that need to be tweaked. First of all, the movement doesn't translate well. While there is a run feature, it doesn't seem to move you any quicker. The speed of the elevators was a bit annoying. The other problem I saw was in the weapon upgrades. I would have liked to see a bit While really enjoyed this game and got sucked in from the get go, I have to say there are a few things that need to be tweaked. First of all, the movement doesn't translate well. While there is a run feature, it doesn't seem to move you any quicker. The speed of the elevators was a bit annoying. The other problem I saw was in the weapon upgrades. I would have liked to see a bit more customizations available in the weapons and armor. When I changed a feature, the adjusted abilities didn't seem to change. Don't get me wrong, I loved this game, but the small details like these took away from the game. I think they should address some of the details like these before the next installment is released. Expand
  65. JohnJ.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Almost everything about this game is great. The graphics, the setting, the story, the main storyline missions and the some of the side missions, they are all great and has been discussed in great detail in other reviews. What's not so great is the exploration part, once you've visited the first 8 planets (and pressed A to survey) you start loosing interest in that aspect of the Almost everything about this game is great. The graphics, the setting, the story, the main storyline missions and the some of the side missions, they are all great and has been discussed in great detail in other reviews. What's not so great is the exploration part, once you've visited the first 8 planets (and pressed A to survey) you start loosing interest in that aspect of the game. Driving the MAKO around a square patch of extremely mountainy terrain, finding guns in downed sattelites and fighting the same big-ass worm on every planet also quickly looses it's appeal. So even though I immediately started the game anew after completing it the first time (30+ hours), I sincerely hope that the two sequels will offer a little more diversity in the exploration department. More trading/mission hubs instead of just the Citadel would be nice, maybe a bit more lively universe in general. Expand
  66. IanI.
    Dec 7, 2007
    7
    Mass Effect is ok, it suffers from alot of the same problems as KOTAR (great game) in its interface, large but seemingly empty environments (alot of pointless walking) and poor combat mechanics. In addition to the usual wonky combat mechanics there is a lack of depth to this game compared to kotar from either an RPG or FPS viewpoint (poor FPS mechanics, very fiew abillitys). KOTAR was Mass Effect is ok, it suffers from alot of the same problems as KOTAR (great game) in its interface, large but seemingly empty environments (alot of pointless walking) and poor combat mechanics. In addition to the usual wonky combat mechanics there is a lack of depth to this game compared to kotar from either an RPG or FPS viewpoint (poor FPS mechanics, very fiew abillitys). KOTAR was also alot longer game with alot more to do, this game was over hyped...but not awefull. I beat it in about 14 hours, I would look at renting this game. I was very unimpressed, but its probably worth playing. Expand
  67. JohnG.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    Wonderful game for the RPG fan, above average game for the FPS fan. The game has it's flaws as all games do, however none of these flaws have subtracted from the gaming experience. A suberb buy, I heartily recommend this game to any 360 owner.
  68. MattN.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    This game is probably one of the best RPG's ever out, only rivalled by oblivion. It has stunning graphics, and choosing what you say is possibly the best thing about it. Maybe the gameplay is a bit lacking such as the annoying sniping on it, but when you get into this game, you will not stop!!
  69. DavidD
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    I just played and I have one word to say: Unbelievable! Loved KOTOR and now we have another incredible winner! Mass Effect is amazing! Mike A says that its a run and gun and a failure to immerse. At the same time he says there is an endless dialogue tree! LOL! Well, how do you think you get immersed in the story and the characters Mike? I loved all the dialogue and a chance to get into I just played and I have one word to say: Unbelievable! Loved KOTOR and now we have another incredible winner! Mass Effect is amazing! Mike A says that its a run and gun and a failure to immerse. At the same time he says there is an endless dialogue tree! LOL! Well, how do you think you get immersed in the story and the characters Mike? I loved all the dialogue and a chance to get into every aspect of the game! The more I learned, the more I enjoyed the game. Bioware is just amazing! The story is awesome and it just gets better and better as the game goes on! This is a all time classic hit! Don't miss out. Expand
  70. Kell
    Jan 2, 2008
    10
    An easy 10 for me. This is now my all time favorite game (toppled SC: Chaos Theory). The story is well written and leaves you satisfied but still thirsting for more at the end. It's clear it was created with replayability in mind which is one of the things I look closest at when about to drop $60 on a game. Besides the different story lines based on your choice of personal An easy 10 for me. This is now my all time favorite game (toppled SC: Chaos Theory). The story is well written and leaves you satisfied but still thirsting for more at the end. It's clear it was created with replayability in mind which is one of the things I look closest at when about to drop $60 on a game. Besides the different story lines based on your choice of personal background, personality and choices during gameplay, after earning achievements you are rewarded with a bump in your stats (shields, health, etc) or the ability to use a non-class skill with any characters you create thereafter. You can also start a new story with an established high level character after completing the game. This way you start with all your skills, items and cash. The squad based combat system works great though the ally AI seems to suffer a bit (some of these settings can be tweaked to allow more control though). Really nothing worse than any other game out there, unless you count games designed specifically for it a la Rainbow Six Vegas. The dialog wheel for conversations is brilliant and made talking to NPCs fun instead of feeling like you were just waiting your turn. Some of the side quests and worlds get a little repetitious but there are surprisingly little FedEx style objectives and for the most part are fun and dynamic depending on your choices in the game. Really, any negative I could mention about the game is only nitpicking and in no way detracts from the experience. For me, this is the best yet out of the 360. Expand
  71. RafaV
    Dec 3, 2008
    10
    Amazing. Though I have to admit that the beggining may not very extremely compelling (not as, for instante, those first ten minutes of FFVII or GTAIV), this is a game that is able to get you more and more involved as you play it. By the end of the game, I felt 100% concerned about every single step or choice I was to make. The last hour of gameplay was one of the most enjoyable gaming Amazing. Though I have to admit that the beggining may not very extremely compelling (not as, for instante, those first ten minutes of FFVII or GTAIV), this is a game that is able to get you more and more involved as you play it. By the end of the game, I felt 100% concerned about every single step or choice I was to make. The last hour of gameplay was one of the most enjoyable gaming experiences I've ever had. All the game is extremely well done: thescenery, the deep conversational options, the varied side missions... but above all, the main missions are pretty wonderfull: short but really interesintg videos, a wide variety of options on how to finish them, really well-developed and imaginative worlds... I really loved this game. I'm pretty sure I will go through it again, and for sure I'll be there when the next episodes appear... It's really worh it! Expand
  72. KevinD.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    I have played through this game twice now - both times with friends watching. A good game can keep the player interested in its events. A great game keeps onlookers hooked as well. Mass Effect did that not once, but twice, and my friends are already asking for another round. Bravo.
  73. HannesE.
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    Highly engrossing, and beatifully executed game, recalling memories of playing Star Control II. Near-perfect.
  74. BryanMcCann
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    I dont know why people give this great game a 7 or lower? what is wrong with you the worst part I have with this game is you can not land on every world. and if you do all the side missions too it would be longer then just 10 hours. just get this game you will not regreat it.
  75. Pidgeman
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Excellent sci-fi rpg/tps from the makers of KOTOR, one of the best games on the original x box. Most of this game is first class. The graphics are great as is the sound and voice acting. The storyline is deep and unfolds with just the right pace. The introduction of real time third-person shootouts is definitely an improvement over KOTOR's turn based icon based battles (but sadly no Excellent sci-fi rpg/tps from the makers of KOTOR, one of the best games on the original x box. Most of this game is first class. The graphics are great as is the sound and voice acting. The storyline is deep and unfolds with just the right pace. The introduction of real time third-person shootouts is definitely an improvement over KOTOR's turn based icon based battles (but sadly no light-sabre's). Only a couple of letdowns, firstly, though the majority of the graphics are excellent some of the planet surfaces on a few of the minor missions are awful and, secondly, though on the surface of it would seem you have an entire Galaxy to explore, in truth, most of the planets are not explorable at all, but rather just have a short paragraph describing the habitat and history (though you can understand this from a game continuity point of view). Still if you liked KOTOR or even just have the slightest interest in RPG's or Sci-Fi in general you should definitely check this out. Expand
  76. TroyW.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    I love this game. I was unsure at first, but when I got into it, I saw one of the most amazing RPG games I have ever seen. While I was not a fan of sci-fi at all, this game has changed my way of thinking and I can't wait for Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  77. Roo
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This is a great game... the more I play it the more fun it becomes and the storyline is really an attention grabber! I recomand this game to everyone, it is very good.
  78. Dajmin
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    I love this game. I've played through it twice as two polar opposite personas (42hour and 24hour runs) and although the story mode didn't change, the reactions I got from people and the alternate quests that opened up really made it interesting. I recently started a 3rd playthrough (to keep an open game for the DLC) and I found a load of new stuff I'd somehow missed the I love this game. I've played through it twice as two polar opposite personas (42hour and 24hour runs) and although the story mode didn't change, the reactions I got from people and the alternate quests that opened up really made it interesting. I recently started a 3rd playthrough (to keep an open game for the DLC) and I found a load of new stuff I'd somehow missed the first 2 times! I just can't put it down. Expand
  79. MarkD.
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    I guess I'm just a nerd but how can somebody make a game and call it next gen when the majority of the stairs were just flat inclines? The graphics were good, when they rendered (which takes way longer than it should). Everything else was fine for the most part.
  80. BopBopPerono
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    A score of ten does is no matter of the number mean that this game is perfect. The constant texturing loads during gameplay, some sluggish controls, and the extremely slow moving elevators despite it being in the future are also nagging at you. But you play this game right it is one of the most amazing experiances a game can give you.
  81. Maslab
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    A ver satisfying game to play. Combine RPG elements of KotoR and eliminate turn-based gameplay and add a shooter element, and that's what this game is. Combat is fluid and fun, and skills are fun and relatively well balanced. The soldier is probably the least fun class, as you can blaze your way through the game, while classes like the adept take more care and force you to actually A ver satisfying game to play. Combine RPG elements of KotoR and eliminate turn-based gameplay and add a shooter element, and that's what this game is. Combat is fluid and fun, and skills are fun and relatively well balanced. The soldier is probably the least fun class, as you can blaze your way through the game, while classes like the adept take more care and force you to actually use those powers. The vehicle is pretty lame, though. Weapons are nice, but no weapon depressing? It does take some getting used to. And you just cannot possibly fail to notice texture glitches. This happens because there are so many textures in the game, the developers compacted so many that the console is trying to literally uncompress and render hundreds of textures at once. Besides that, graphics are amazing and lip-synch is very nice. A long and engaging game that will keep RPG and shooter fans playing it for a long time. Expand
  82. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Despite giving this game a 10, I have one problem which I should get out of the way before I begin. The lead character, supposedly a big tough guy, runs like an absolute chicken! I cant believe that no one in the development team pointed out this obvious fact! Right, with that out of the way, I'll get on with talking about this ultimate game. Stepping away from the usual swords and Despite giving this game a 10, I have one problem which I should get out of the way before I begin. The lead character, supposedly a big tough guy, runs like an absolute chicken! I cant believe that no one in the development team pointed out this obvious fact! Right, with that out of the way, I'll get on with talking about this ultimate game. Stepping away from the usual swords and sorcery theme of RPGs, Mass Effect is a fantastic sci-fi adventure set in a huge game world. A wide variety of planets can be explored by travelling to them in your ship and you must be prepared to put in a lot of hours if you want to complete this game. There is a lot of imaginative character and level design here, and the graphics are some of the best on 360. There is no other game like this available on any console so it is another addition to the ever-growing list of 'must have' games for the 360. If you havent got this already then why not?! Expand
  83. MikeL.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I can honestly say this is the best non-sequel of 2007.
    Cons: Occasionally choppy framerate, some item managing issues, and minor AI stupidity.
    Pros: Amazing graphics, some of the best voice acting I've ever seen, if not THE best, a soundtrack that is both captivating and original, terrific RPG elements, great and fun combat, a memorable, diverse and emotional cast of characters,
    I can honestly say this is the best non-sequel of 2007.
    Cons: Occasionally choppy framerate, some item managing issues, and minor AI stupidity.
    Pros: Amazing graphics, some of the best voice acting I've ever seen, if not THE best, a soundtrack that is both captivating and original, terrific RPG elements, great and fun combat, a memorable, diverse and emotional cast of characters, and one of the best stories ever, video game or otherwise.
    This game is AWESOME. Can't wait for the sequel.
    Expand
  84. ColinC
    May 25, 2008
    9
    In truth, I could have easily given this game a ten. Maybe I should have. It's got such a great story, and the mechanics of it are fun and varied. I even liked driving the Mako, which I've seen some reviewers say is broken from a driving point of view. Nonsense. At the same time, it's rare I've enjoyed a game this much, been pulled into the world it creates this much, In truth, I could have easily given this game a ten. Maybe I should have. It's got such a great story, and the mechanics of it are fun and varied. I even liked driving the Mako, which I've seen some reviewers say is broken from a driving point of view. Nonsense. At the same time, it's rare I've enjoyed a game this much, been pulled into the world it creates this much, and still find myself looking at the areas that I'm sure will be improved for the sequels. The sidequests being the biggest thing, which all felt like the same quest over and over again. One flat rocky plant after another. And I'd love to see some done with the Mako in the sequel that uses that jump feature. A little platforming. Having to jump chasms. Maybe even being able to upgrade your Mako, bigger jump jets, to reach previously inaccessible places. But really, I loved this game to death. I'm playing through it for a second time now, which I rarely do. Play it. Love it. Then wait for baited breath for the sequel. Well done Bioware. Expand
  85. DesO.
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    This game has an incredible story with considerable depth, believable characters and aliens with some of the best voice acting in a game, superb graphics and innovative gameplay. The only thing holding mass effect back from true perfection is an average (but by no means bad) combat system and a constantly dipping framerate. Neither of these issues should stop you from playing and enjoying This game has an incredible story with considerable depth, believable characters and aliens with some of the best voice acting in a game, superb graphics and innovative gameplay. The only thing holding mass effect back from true perfection is an average (but by no means bad) combat system and a constantly dipping framerate. Neither of these issues should stop you from playing and enjoying one of the finest games of 07 Expand
  86. RossB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Truly an epic game that sets the bar in fun, story telling, and graphics.
  87. KimL.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    This game has a perfect storyline and a great combat system. Don't let Fred B. lies to u guys.
  88. AaroTurunen
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    How do you tell a good movie (or rarely, a game) from an exceptional movie?
    You realize you have seen something exceptional when you find yourself blankly staring through the whole end credits and dont feel quite normal for the rest of the night.
    Since Fallouts, no game has caused similar feelings for me, as playing through/finishing Mass Effect. Only great movies have managed that,
    How do you tell a good movie (or rarely, a game) from an exceptional movie?
    You realize you have seen something exceptional when you find yourself blankly staring through the whole end credits and dont feel quite normal for the rest of the night.
    Since Fallouts, no game has caused similar feelings for me, as playing through/finishing Mass Effect. Only great movies have managed that, difference being, that ME has endlessly more replayability than many of the greatest movies.
    Luckily the story hasn´t ended yet...
    Expand
  89. KhristianRainford
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    Mass Effect is an intelligent, brilliant game that captures the feeling of being in a Sci Fi movie superbly, or Battlestar Galactica at its best. The only negative side is the game is short, I managed to complete it, including all the side quests and find all the deposits in 50 hours. Also like Oblivion, most of the places are similar in design.

    The voice acting and the facial
    Mass Effect is an intelligent, brilliant game that captures the feeling of being in a Sci Fi movie superbly, or Battlestar Galactica at its best. The only negative side is the game is short, I managed to complete it, including all the side quests and find all the deposits in 50 hours. Also like Oblivion, most of the places are similar in design.

    The voice acting and the facial animations are brilliant and push new boundaries. I really really liked this game. I just hope they do more data disks for it. I'd go as far to say its the most intelligently written game I've played since Deus Ex.

    SCORE : 91%
    Expand
  90. AlexD
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Mass Effect is pretty damn good, but it's not perfect. There are a lot of good things I could say about it, but they've already been said by many others. I'd like to offer constructive criticism instead, and I hope that ME2 improves on these issues. I particularly hated the timed button-pressing 'minigames' required to unlock cabinets etc. Bioshock's hacking Mass Effect is pretty damn good, but it's not perfect. There are a lot of good things I could say about it, but they've already been said by many others. I'd like to offer constructive criticism instead, and I hope that ME2 improves on these issues. I particularly hated the timed button-pressing 'minigames' required to unlock cabinets etc. Bioshock's hacking minigames were much more fun and fitted the theme of the game. Jade Empire's flight-based minigames were great. Mass Effects' were just dumb, non-relevant and irritating. Pressing buttons in the correct sequence within a time limit is just oh so lamo extremo. The gambling minigame and indeed all monetary transactions and all trading were irrelevant. For the entire game, you never actually need to buy anything or spend any money. All items can be collected for free while on missions, so why have traders at all? If you have traders, they should have unique items that are essential to the plot and that you can't get elsewhere. The surfaces of the different planets had plenty of variety and were fun to explore, but there was very little variety in the bases and building interiors you enter on those planets: same old floor plan, same old textures, same old tactics required to defeat the enemies, then a few cabinets to unlock that contain stuff you probably don't need. Inventory management was clumsily implemented, and sometimes the save points were poorly chosen. Oh yeah: the elevator rides were ridiculous. I imagine the elevator rides are used to mask level load times, but it still seems incongruous that you can fly to a distant star system many light years away faster that you can take an elevator to another floor. One last thing: what was the motivation for the Reapers wanting to destroy all intelligent life in the galaxy? Having said all that, I still think Mass Effect is excellent. I liked the combat and the mako, and the quality of the actual sci-fi itself was truly first class. Anyway, perfection is pretty hard hard to find on my home planet so I'll give ME a 9. Expand
  91. JayC
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Wow!! What a game,, Loved every second a must have game at such a low price!!! Graphics Superb, A story that really grips you and coice acting that represents a movie this is a true showcase of video game awesomeness. Xbox 360 exclusive i can see why this is truly for the premier gaming console. I have both consoles and this is the reason i got my xbox and why my ps3 is starting to gather Wow!! What a game,, Loved every second a must have game at such a low price!!! Graphics Superb, A story that really grips you and coice acting that represents a movie this is a true showcase of video game awesomeness. Xbox 360 exclusive i can see why this is truly for the premier gaming console. I have both consoles and this is the reason i got my xbox and why my ps3 is starting to gather dust. Luckily i haven't fell into this trap but Beware: THIS GAME IS ADDICTIVE Expand
  92. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    Mass Effect is a game plagued with glitches, texture pop-in, and at times clunky controls. But underneath it all is a true gem. Combined with a fantastic story, and deep gameplay Mass Effect is probably one of the best Sci Fi RPGs of all time. It may have rough egdes and is far from perfect. But there is so much promise that game still delivers. It is a great start to what will surely be Mass Effect is a game plagued with glitches, texture pop-in, and at times clunky controls. But underneath it all is a true gem. Combined with a fantastic story, and deep gameplay Mass Effect is probably one of the best Sci Fi RPGs of all time. It may have rough egdes and is far from perfect. But there is so much promise that game still delivers. It is a great start to what will surely be a fantastic trilogy. And the sequel looks like it will surpass all expectations. Expand
  93. JeremyW
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    I couldn't put Mass Effect down. This game was responsible for many late nights and many bleary-eyed mornings. Once I got appropriately leveled, the combat was outstanding, the special skills were impressive and useful, and the story really made me consider my choices carefully. I'll be playing through Mass Effect again as a different character class soon.
  94. MatthewE
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best, most fleshed out storys of any game on XBOX360 or PS3 yet. The combat can be a little clunky every now and then, but who cares. I'll play though 5 minutes of close combat camera snaffu's every now and then to advance this story. Bring on part 2!
  95. BrennanM
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Straight out: Does this game have some flaws? Yes. It has a so-so weapons menu, the graphics can get glitchy at times (IE you see the system putting layers on characters as you're watching a cutscene), and I only did 3 of the dozens of side quests, and I got bored with those alone. But that's IT. Basically, the game was amazing. Fun story, interesting characters, appropriate Straight out: Does this game have some flaws? Yes. It has a so-so weapons menu, the graphics can get glitchy at times (IE you see the system putting layers on characters as you're watching a cutscene), and I only did 3 of the dozens of side quests, and I got bored with those alone. But that's IT. Basically, the game was amazing. Fun story, interesting characters, appropriate length "main story only" (About 17 hours, and I'm by no means a videogame pro), and an overall wonderful atmosphere. I loved this game, and now I can't wait for the sequel coming out next year Expand
  96. CarlosT
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    This is surely one of the best RPGs on the Xbox 360 so far. The story and voice acting are great, and the amount of detail put into the universe is amazing. The combat is pretty fun, but some will definitely find it to not be extremely deep, and the AI can be very stupid at times. The customization of your character (including your party) is excellent though, and it makes the game This is surely one of the best RPGs on the Xbox 360 so far. The story and voice acting are great, and the amount of detail put into the universe is amazing. The combat is pretty fun, but some will definitely find it to not be extremely deep, and the AI can be very stupid at times. The customization of your character (including your party) is excellent though, and it makes the game replayable. There are annoying bugs, the framerate unexpectedly drops, and textures pop-in at various moments. Additionally, the Mako is annoying to drive and the side quests get repetitive. However, for the bargain price at which it is out now, this game is more than worth it. Expand
  97. AnonyMous
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGs out there, with brilliant storytelling, wonderful voice acting, and a brilliant sense of epicness underlying. The only complaints are A: The slow elevators, and B: Pop-In textures after loading screens, and sometimes during important cutscenes. Other than these small things, this game is like KOTOR on steroids.
  98. MatthewB
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    An Excellent Story. Best I have ever played. Don't think of this game as a shooter or RPG but an actual Full Length Film you get to play the star in.
  99. HarveyB
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    First i must start by saying that i have played many games this generations of games. So when i went to pick up this gem at the local Bestbuy for 20.00$ i was keen to see what acclaimed studio Bioware had done. After playing this game however i can boldly say that this game is second only to Half-Life 2 for its storytelling. its an enriching space opera that unfolds into a brilliant First i must start by saying that i have played many games this generations of games. So when i went to pick up this gem at the local Bestbuy for 20.00$ i was keen to see what acclaimed studio Bioware had done. After playing this game however i can boldly say that this game is second only to Half-Life 2 for its storytelling. its an enriching space opera that unfolds into a brilliant story. the performances are spot on, the dialogue witty and humorous at times, this is one game everyone who owns an Xbox 360 should play. there are some flaws like long loading times with elevators and some pop up graphics and stuttering. But installing onto the Hard Drive should fix this. This is a triumph in Sci-fi action gaming. Expand
  100. RonJ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Amazingly good. Put the disc in to check out what the big deal was about this game and I quickly found out. 2 hours later I drug myself away from the 360 only to practically count down the time till I could play some more. Graphics, sounds, voice acting (its got Seth Green!), gameplay are all top notch. 3rd person RPG alone would be good but this is so much more. HUGE environments with Amazingly good. Put the disc in to check out what the big deal was about this game and I quickly found out. 2 hours later I drug myself away from the 360 only to practically count down the time till I could play some more. Graphics, sounds, voice acting (its got Seth Green!), gameplay are all top notch. 3rd person RPG alone would be good but this is so much more. HUGE environments with stuff to do everywhere. A+++ Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]