Mass Effect Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1594 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 9, 2013
    3
    One of the most boring games I've ever played. The combat at the start isn't very fun but it gets worse when you go to the boring alien city. There is no action all you do is walk around talking to people for hours and it never tells you where to go so you are walking around lost with nothing to do
  2. Jul 2, 2013
    3
    i hate this game the only reason i played it (halfway through then got my brother to finish it for me) was to import my choices to the sequel.
    pros: choices, importing saves to sequels. most characters are good, some good story parts, sovereign is a good villain, character customization, punching a reporter, mako
    cons: saren is a terrible main villain hes pretty much second in command,
    i hate this game the only reason i played it (halfway through then got my brother to finish it for me) was to import my choices to the sequel.
    pros: choices, importing saves to sequels. most characters are good, some good story parts, sovereign is a good villain, character customization, punching a reporter, mako
    cons: saren is a terrible main villain hes pretty much second in command, story starts off with saren as the main villain (most of the game), some choices are really easy to make, there are alot of side quests that you just have to charm or intimidate someone and the rest are just kill stuff, tons of texture poppin, worst cover system ive ever seen alot of times the cover doesnt work and whenever you shoot you stand outside of cover for 5 seconds getting shot alot, biotics take to long to charge so there pretty much useless, framerate drops alot, planets look the same, enemy ai charges your position and kills you in one hit 50% of the time, your shields do nothing, the only weapon worth using is the assault rifle and only soldiers can use it.
    Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2011
    4
    In short: Don't buy this game. It's physically impossible to install this on a PC without some massive roadblock at some point. After literally hours of messing about, I finally got the game working. This, to my disappointment, it was really boring, tedious and repetitive. Not worth your time. Stick to Valve :D
  4. TonyG
    Dec 6, 2007
    4
    Mass Effect is an embarrassment for Bioware. Excellent story, excellent voice acting, and beautiful artwork cannot make up for a complete lack of refinement and playtesting. It's frustrating to see a great game company fail with an incredible idea because of such simple things. I started the game, walked forward, and got stuck on a corner. Then I opened the menu and watched my Mass Effect is an embarrassment for Bioware. Excellent story, excellent voice acting, and beautiful artwork cannot make up for a complete lack of refinement and playtesting. It's frustrating to see a great game company fail with an incredible idea because of such simple things. I started the game, walked forward, and got stuck on a corner. Then I opened the menu and watched my character's portrait flicker and warp. I tried to use the menus, and realized that this is the part of the game where true hand-eye coordination is required, not in combat. Did anyone playtest this game? Movement is awful, your character is clumsy beyond belief and gets stuck on ledges and corners far too easily. Graphics are gorgeous, but blatantly unstable. Play is simply bizarre. Is this an FPS? If so, it's the worst FPS I've played in years. Is it a hack & slash RPG? Where is simple run & gun fun? Is it a turn-based RPG? Where is the strategy? I have rarely been so disappointed in a title, and it stings because of how much potential this game had. KOTOR, glitches included, was exponentially better than Mass Effect. Why? Because it was FUN. Sure, glitches happened, but the game worked. This 360 next-gen game is just silly. On the bright side, the dialogue is good and voice acting is the best we've seen in any game to date. I suggest that, next time, Bioware make a movie or write a book instead. These types of media do not require playtesting. In the end, the one thing I want most out Mass Effect is a patch or re-release. If Bioware published an article saying "OOPS, we sent out bad discs...we'll be back in three months!", I would be the first to cheer, purchase my game in March, play for hours on end. Too bad. Expand
  5. JohnC
    Feb 10, 2008
    4
    A good game with lots to see and do, if you like RPG's like oblivion then this is for you - but its set in space. Great graphics and character creation Unfortunately the game is full of bugs and there are quite a few reports of 'disc read errors' coming in from everywhere - myself included. I don't having to reload every 10 minutes, otherwise an awesome game.
  6. Meestyk
    Nov 13, 2007
    1
    9.8 for making it great. But since I play it on my friend's Xbox I can't play it on my own pc. So it becomes a 1/10 score. A message to the Xbox makers: we 're not going to dish out any extra just to buy games that only run on your platform. A decade from now, we're so sure new consoles will be out to replace this xbox. You're lame. The future of gaming will be on 9.8 for making it great. But since I play it on my friend's Xbox I can't play it on my own pc. So it becomes a 1/10 score. A message to the Xbox makers: we 're not going to dish out any extra just to buy games that only run on your platform. A decade from now, we're so sure new consoles will be out to replace this xbox. You're lame. The future of gaming will be on pc since consoles are very limited in their use. We think it stinks and so we're going to support companies that only cater pc users like those base fans making this review. Expand
  7. MikeA.
    Aug 26, 2008
    3
    I loved Knights Of The Old Republic and was looking forwared to a similar game with enhanced visuals. Unfortunately the combat for this appears to be just "point and shoot and hope your AI buddies follow suit". The combat just didn't seem very deep to me. The endless dialogue trees you have to labour through every time you talk to someone and the result is a total failure of I loved Knights Of The Old Republic and was looking forwared to a similar game with enhanced visuals. Unfortunately the combat for this appears to be just "point and shoot and hope your AI buddies follow suit". The combat just didn't seem very deep to me. The endless dialogue trees you have to labour through every time you talk to someone and the result is a total failure of immersion. One for the run-and-gunners and Gears of War fans, I think. Hopefully the forthcoming Fallout game will address these shortcomings. Expand
  8. punkrocks
    Nov 16, 2007
    1
    I dunno why people are so hyped about this game. I dont see anything special about it. Just another sci-fi RPG. The only innovative thing is the dialog otherwise the shooting is mediocre, if not poor. I've played this game and i dont think it deserves more than a 5 on any site.
  9. SugreevA.
    Nov 19, 2007
    3
    It's just too long and boring for both the RPG genre and the shooter genre.
  10. JohnD.
    Nov 20, 2007
    1
    To be honest it's just too long and too boring for both the RPG genre and the shooter genre.
  11. ArrJ.
    Dec 15, 2007
    3
    Considering the number of people's consoles that have seemingly been destroyed by this games excessive dependence on streaming media along with the fact that the core game is barely over 10 hours long and this is one of the largest disappointments in gaming for me this year. Don't get me wrong, the story is engrossing and the world Bioware has developed has all the potential Considering the number of people's consoles that have seemingly been destroyed by this games excessive dependence on streaming media along with the fact that the core game is barely over 10 hours long and this is one of the largest disappointments in gaming for me this year. Don't get me wrong, the story is engrossing and the world Bioware has developed has all the potential makings of a great new sci-fi universe, but just as the game feels like it's getting off the ground it ends - and in a most dissatisfying manner. It's also truly unfortunate that the "side quests" have little, if anything, to do with anything the game wants to make you care about. All of this together took what could have been at the very least an 8 all the way down to a 3. I'm shocked so many people have reviewed it so well - it's appalling. Expand
  12. AbdulS.
    Dec 10, 2007
    0
    Absolutly boring, graphics are not even close to being next gen, story is crap, controlls are sub par and the different types of ammunition is absolutly lame, do not waste your money.
  13. K.G.
    Dec 4, 2007
    2
    Buggy as hell with a disappointing storyline and weak gameplay mechanics.
  14. MichaelA
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    This game is terrible. All of the side-quest environments are just diffusion maps with almost no variation, there are only like five non-main quest interiors, most of the environments seem like rehashes from Knights of the Old Republic, the vehicle segments are frustrating due to poor design (jump jets do nothing but throw you off of mountains), enemies will glitch and respawn at This game is terrible. All of the side-quest environments are just diffusion maps with almost no variation, there are only like five non-main quest interiors, most of the environments seem like rehashes from Knights of the Old Republic, the vehicle segments are frustrating due to poor design (jump jets do nothing but throw you off of mountains), enemies will glitch and respawn at inopportune times, character animation is just silly, graphics are jerky with lots of texture pop-up even in small rooms, loading times are atrocious, all elevators are too slow, death sequence is too long, game won't let you save right after dialog sequences (so you have to sit through them and select your choices all over again), the menu system controls so that you will accidentally exit when you don't mean to (it WILL happen), storyline is repetitive, main character can't be customized as much as you would think, stores sell inferior weapons for way too much, there are two buttons for drawing and replacing your weapon but no jump button, computer A.I. is stupid (for both friendlies and enemies), and the list just goes on and on. I don't see how this game gets such a free ride on reviews with all of its problems. On a positive note, it has Seth Green as the ship's pilot and it looks very nice in still pictures. That's all that I can think of. Expand
  15. DavidP.
    Nov 22, 2007
    4
    This is an absolutely boring game especially for $60. I never write reviews but I felt the need to inform others about this game. I feel that tI was definitely mislead about this game. Its extremely slow. I mean I spend 90% of my time walking to locations and then I get a chance to to something interesting. I am starting to think that game developers are paying people to post their This is an absolutely boring game especially for $60. I never write reviews but I felt the need to inform others about this game. I feel that tI was definitely mislead about this game. Its extremely slow. I mean I spend 90% of my time walking to locations and then I get a chance to to something interesting. I am starting to think that game developers are paying people to post their reviews. I though the game would be better than average and actually be fun. I mean the only "new" thing this game offers is for you to have meaningless conversation with characters and the ability to chose some phrases. For those of you that like play RPGs and roll dice all day, this game is probably for you. In conclusion, this game is extremely slow, boring, and not worth $60 at all! Expand
  16. JordanA
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    I really just don't enjoy playing this game. The shooting is weak, and it can get annoying sometimes when you must click a phrase to say. I don't know it might just be me, but I don't like it at all.
  17. marcf
    Dec 31, 2007
    0
    this game is horrible it is a waste of 50$ lame is the only way to decribe this game if you wanted a great gaming system you should have bought a ps3 of pc this game story line is boring and dule and i have nothing else to say.
  18. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  19. DionysusJ.
    Nov 21, 2007
    1
    It's basically a High-Def powerpoint slideshow, and an admirable attempt at trying to pass off CGI cutscenes as gameplay. If you like picking the subtitles you want to read... this game is for you.
  20. VincentD.
    Nov 29, 2007
    1
    Technical problems with this game make it unplayable, frame rate drops, screen tearing. UI menus clunky and broken, especially weapons selection.
  21. TimM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    0
    Ignore the salesmen of the game that go to web sites like this one and give the game all tens. I love RPGs, and Jade Empire is still in my favorite top 10 RPGs of all time (I have played it all the way through 3 times). This game was awful for the following reasons: (1) the female hair styles looked like the primary hair care product used was gel super glue, (2) the armor sets for the Ignore the salesmen of the game that go to web sites like this one and give the game all tens. I love RPGs, and Jade Empire is still in my favorite top 10 RPGs of all time (I have played it all the way through 3 times). This game was awful for the following reasons: (1) the female hair styles looked like the primary hair care product used was gel super glue, (2) the armor sets for the femaie character were BORING, (3) at a critical point in the story line, the hero could have aaved a race by downloading data to a disk (as was done previous times in the game), but didn't think of it, (4) if you hated what happened regarding Jean Gray and Nightcrawler in Marvel Ultimate Alliance, you'll hate this story. I quit playing the game and took it back to the store at this point in Mass Effect. If you want to play a really good RPG, play Jade Empire. Expand
  22. Dec 9, 2010
    3
    Why oh why oh why do gamers love this game? Did it come with a free $100 dollar bill with every purchase? This game is mostly reading (and a whole lot of running around) with a little bit of combat here and there, and poorly done combat as well. If the enemy has ANY cover whatsoever, you can't harm them. You can't shoot them from cover either. I don't like being punished for doing theWhy oh why oh why do gamers love this game? Did it come with a free $100 dollar bill with every purchase? This game is mostly reading (and a whole lot of running around) with a little bit of combat here and there, and poorly done combat as well. If the enemy has ANY cover whatsoever, you can't harm them. You can't shoot them from cover either. I don't like being punished for doing the right thing. A game should be played, not read. If I wanted to read I'd buy a book at Barnes and Noble. This game is proof positive that game critics in magazines get paid for giving good reviews to dull games. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]