Mass Effect Xbox 360

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1743 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinD.
    Jan 29, 2008
    10
    I have played through this game twice now - both times with friends watching. A good game can keep the player interested in its events. A great game keeps onlookers hooked as well. Mass Effect did that not once, but twice, and my friends are already asking for another round. Bravo.
  2. HannesE.
    Jan 6, 2008
    9
    Highly engrossing, and beatifully executed game, recalling memories of playing Star Control II. Near-perfect.
  3. BryanMcCann
    Jan 7, 2008
    9
    I dont know why people give this great game a 7 or lower? what is wrong with you the worst part I have with this game is you can not land on every world. and if you do all the side missions too it would be longer then just 10 hours. just get this game you will not regreat it.
  4. Pidgeman
    Feb 1, 2008
    9
    Excellent sci-fi rpg/tps from the makers of KOTOR, one of the best games on the original x box. Most of this game is first class. The graphics are great as is the sound and voice acting. The storyline is deep and unfolds with just the right pace. The introduction of real time third-person shootouts is definitely an improvement over KOTOR's turn based icon based battles (but sadly no Excellent sci-fi rpg/tps from the makers of KOTOR, one of the best games on the original x box. Most of this game is first class. The graphics are great as is the sound and voice acting. The storyline is deep and unfolds with just the right pace. The introduction of real time third-person shootouts is definitely an improvement over KOTOR's turn based icon based battles (but sadly no light-sabre's). Only a couple of letdowns, firstly, though the majority of the graphics are excellent some of the planet surfaces on a few of the minor missions are awful and, secondly, though on the surface of it would seem you have an entire Galaxy to explore, in truth, most of the planets are not explorable at all, but rather just have a short paragraph describing the habitat and history (though you can understand this from a game continuity point of view). Still if you liked KOTOR or even just have the slightest interest in RPG's or Sci-Fi in general you should definitely check this out. Expand
  5. TroyW.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    I love this game. I was unsure at first, but when I got into it, I saw one of the most amazing RPG games I have ever seen. While I was not a fan of sci-fi at all, this game has changed my way of thinking and I can't wait for Mass Effect 2 and 3.
  6. Roo
    Feb 22, 2008
    10
    This is a great game... the more I play it the more fun it becomes and the storyline is really an attention grabber! I recomand this game to everyone, it is very good.
  7. Dajmin
    Feb 26, 2008
    9
    I love this game. I've played through it twice as two polar opposite personas (42hour and 24hour runs) and although the story mode didn't change, the reactions I got from people and the alternate quests that opened up really made it interesting. I recently started a 3rd playthrough (to keep an open game for the DLC) and I found a load of new stuff I'd somehow missed the I love this game. I've played through it twice as two polar opposite personas (42hour and 24hour runs) and although the story mode didn't change, the reactions I got from people and the alternate quests that opened up really made it interesting. I recently started a 3rd playthrough (to keep an open game for the DLC) and I found a load of new stuff I'd somehow missed the first 2 times! I just can't put it down. Expand
  8. MS.
    Mar 12, 2008
    6
    In all honesty, I would have given this game a ten my first time playing it. This game is seriously one of the best RPG experiences anyone can have...at least on the first play through. Well, let's start off with what is good. The gameplay is very solid. The shooting mechanics are easy to master and the powers/abilities are implemented nicely into combat. Most of the voice acting is In all honesty, I would have given this game a ten my first time playing it. This game is seriously one of the best RPG experiences anyone can have...at least on the first play through. Well, let's start off with what is good. The gameplay is very solid. The shooting mechanics are easy to master and the powers/abilities are implemented nicely into combat. Most of the voice acting is top notch, which is good considering one of the game's selling points is its dialog-oriented RPG elements. The artwork is astounding and the graphics are nearly as good (choppy rendering, slow down, and pop ins are only minor set backs). The level design is also quite good and there are many different worlds to explore in the course of the game. Unfortunately, these strengths cannot save the game. And here's why. Mass Effect's story, which has been hailed as a masterwork of sorts by critics and fans alike, is not very compelling. Though there are many interesting ideas thrown about (The Reapers are a particularly cool concept), the over arching plot suffers from here-we-go-again syndrome. You have a mixed-bag crew of aliens and humans rushing around to different worlds to uncover the location of The Conduit in order to stop The Reapers from destroying the galaxy. Sounds awfully familiar no? The story is basically the first KOTOR without the intriguing plot twist in the middle. Since Commander Shepard is almost totally customizable , he (or she) ends up lacking any true depth. The back stories of the various Shepards you can create are weak and cookie cutter. As for the supporting cast? Your crew is a little neglected plot-wise. Garus and Tali inparticular. Garus has a lot of great potential as a chracter but his dialog ends too quickly. Same with Tali. The random conversations that the supporting cast had in KOTOR are all gone. Any chatter between the characters is limited to elevator rides. Come on now. As for the conversations Shepard has with the crew? It's no different than KOTOR really. Sure, you don't know PRECISELY what Shepard will say but the options still feel stilted. You have your evil and your good statements and your special skill-based statements. The formula is obvious as hell and it really gave me a feeling of rendezvous. Other downsides include a lack of variety in game play. Especially on side quests. Usually you just go to a barren world and shoot things. Puzzles are few and far between and are very simple. The pick up system is annoying at best. You can't simply drop an item or not take it. Plus there's this huge technical plot hole that I can't help but mention. The humans are newcomers to the galaxy...why do all the other races speak English? If Humans are so neglected, why would entire races learn English? Plus the voice acting for the male Shepard is mediocre, no matter what language. Frankly, I got tired of this game after two play-throughs and I am disappointed. I feel like the writing is half-assed and that Bioware are still struggling to break from a formula that works. What I'm waiting for is an RPG with this type of engine that tells a personal story instead of a sci-fi opera. Where you see your actions affect the character and his or her surroundings on a smaller more intimate scale. Where the dialog doesn't have to explain the plot or the situation over and over. I feel like Indigo Prophecy nearly accomplished this...why can't Bioware? Expand
  9. MarkD.
    Mar 19, 2008
    7
    I guess I'm just a nerd but how can somebody make a game and call it next gen when the majority of the stairs were just flat inclines? The graphics were good, when they rendered (which takes way longer than it should). Everything else was fine for the most part.
  10. BopBopPerono
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    A score of ten does is no matter of the number mean that this game is perfect. The constant texturing loads during gameplay, some sluggish controls, and the extremely slow moving elevators despite it being in the future are also nagging at you. But you play this game right it is one of the most amazing experiances a game can give you.
  11. Maslab
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    A ver satisfying game to play. Combine RPG elements of KotoR and eliminate turn-based gameplay and add a shooter element, and that's what this game is. Combat is fluid and fun, and skills are fun and relatively well balanced. The soldier is probably the least fun class, as you can blaze your way through the game, while classes like the adept take more care and force you to actually A ver satisfying game to play. Combine RPG elements of KotoR and eliminate turn-based gameplay and add a shooter element, and that's what this game is. Combat is fluid and fun, and skills are fun and relatively well balanced. The soldier is probably the least fun class, as you can blaze your way through the game, while classes like the adept take more care and force you to actually use those powers. The vehicle is pretty lame, though. Weapons are nice, but no weapon depressing? It does take some getting used to. And you just cannot possibly fail to notice texture glitches. This happens because there are so many textures in the game, the developers compacted so many that the console is trying to literally uncompress and render hundreds of textures at once. Besides that, graphics are amazing and lip-synch is very nice. A long and engaging game that will keep RPG and shooter fans playing it for a long time. Expand
  12. TomS.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    Despite giving this game a 10, I have one problem which I should get out of the way before I begin. The lead character, supposedly a big tough guy, runs like an absolute chicken! I cant believe that no one in the development team pointed out this obvious fact! Right, with that out of the way, I'll get on with talking about this ultimate game. Stepping away from the usual swords and Despite giving this game a 10, I have one problem which I should get out of the way before I begin. The lead character, supposedly a big tough guy, runs like an absolute chicken! I cant believe that no one in the development team pointed out this obvious fact! Right, with that out of the way, I'll get on with talking about this ultimate game. Stepping away from the usual swords and sorcery theme of RPGs, Mass Effect is a fantastic sci-fi adventure set in a huge game world. A wide variety of planets can be explored by travelling to them in your ship and you must be prepared to put in a lot of hours if you want to complete this game. There is a lot of imaginative character and level design here, and the graphics are some of the best on 360. There is no other game like this available on any console so it is another addition to the ever-growing list of 'must have' games for the 360. If you havent got this already then why not?! Expand
  13. MikeL.
    Apr 29, 2008
    10
    I can honestly say this is the best non-sequel of 2007.
    Cons: Occasionally choppy framerate, some item managing issues, and minor AI stupidity.
    Pros: Amazing graphics, some of the best voice acting I've ever seen, if not THE best, a soundtrack that is both captivating and original, terrific RPG elements, great and fun combat, a memorable, diverse and emotional cast of characters,
    I can honestly say this is the best non-sequel of 2007.
    Cons: Occasionally choppy framerate, some item managing issues, and minor AI stupidity.
    Pros: Amazing graphics, some of the best voice acting I've ever seen, if not THE best, a soundtrack that is both captivating and original, terrific RPG elements, great and fun combat, a memorable, diverse and emotional cast of characters, and one of the best stories ever, video game or otherwise.
    This game is AWESOME. Can't wait for the sequel.
    Expand
  14. ColinC
    May 25, 2008
    9
    In truth, I could have easily given this game a ten. Maybe I should have. It's got such a great story, and the mechanics of it are fun and varied. I even liked driving the Mako, which I've seen some reviewers say is broken from a driving point of view. Nonsense. At the same time, it's rare I've enjoyed a game this much, been pulled into the world it creates this much, In truth, I could have easily given this game a ten. Maybe I should have. It's got such a great story, and the mechanics of it are fun and varied. I even liked driving the Mako, which I've seen some reviewers say is broken from a driving point of view. Nonsense. At the same time, it's rare I've enjoyed a game this much, been pulled into the world it creates this much, and still find myself looking at the areas that I'm sure will be improved for the sequels. The sidequests being the biggest thing, which all felt like the same quest over and over again. One flat rocky plant after another. And I'd love to see some done with the Mako in the sequel that uses that jump feature. A little platforming. Having to jump chasms. Maybe even being able to upgrade your Mako, bigger jump jets, to reach previously inaccessible places. But really, I loved this game to death. I'm playing through it for a second time now, which I rarely do. Play it. Love it. Then wait for baited breath for the sequel. Well done Bioware. Expand
  15. DesO.
    Jun 17, 2008
    9
    This game has an incredible story with considerable depth, believable characters and aliens with some of the best voice acting in a game, superb graphics and innovative gameplay. The only thing holding mass effect back from true perfection is an average (but by no means bad) combat system and a constantly dipping framerate. Neither of these issues should stop you from playing and enjoying This game has an incredible story with considerable depth, believable characters and aliens with some of the best voice acting in a game, superb graphics and innovative gameplay. The only thing holding mass effect back from true perfection is an average (but by no means bad) combat system and a constantly dipping framerate. Neither of these issues should stop you from playing and enjoying one of the finest games of 07 Expand
  16. RossB.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    Truly an epic game that sets the bar in fun, story telling, and graphics.
  17. KimL.
    Aug 2, 2008
    10
    This game has a perfect storyline and a great combat system. Don't let Fred B. lies to u guys.
  18. AaroTurunen
    Sep 15, 2008
    10
    How do you tell a good movie (or rarely, a game) from an exceptional movie?
    You realize you have seen something exceptional when you find yourself blankly staring through the whole end credits and dont feel quite normal for the rest of the night.
    Since Fallouts, no game has caused similar feelings for me, as playing through/finishing Mass Effect. Only great movies have managed that,
    How do you tell a good movie (or rarely, a game) from an exceptional movie?
    You realize you have seen something exceptional when you find yourself blankly staring through the whole end credits and dont feel quite normal for the rest of the night.
    Since Fallouts, no game has caused similar feelings for me, as playing through/finishing Mass Effect. Only great movies have managed that, difference being, that ME has endlessly more replayability than many of the greatest movies.
    Luckily the story hasn´t ended yet...
    Expand
  19. KhristianRainford
    Sep 29, 2008
    9
    Mass Effect is an intelligent, brilliant game that captures the feeling of being in a Sci Fi movie superbly, or Battlestar Galactica at its best. The only negative side is the game is short, I managed to complete it, including all the side quests and find all the deposits in 50 hours. Also like Oblivion, most of the places are similar in design.

    The voice acting and the facial
    Mass Effect is an intelligent, brilliant game that captures the feeling of being in a Sci Fi movie superbly, or Battlestar Galactica at its best. The only negative side is the game is short, I managed to complete it, including all the side quests and find all the deposits in 50 hours. Also like Oblivion, most of the places are similar in design.

    The voice acting and the facial animations are brilliant and push new boundaries. I really really liked this game. I just hope they do more data disks for it. I'd go as far to say its the most intelligently written game I've played since Deus Ex.

    SCORE : 91%
    Expand
  20. AlexD
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Mass Effect is pretty damn good, but it's not perfect. There are a lot of good things I could say about it, but they've already been said by many others. I'd like to offer constructive criticism instead, and I hope that ME2 improves on these issues. I particularly hated the timed button-pressing 'minigames' required to unlock cabinets etc. Bioshock's hacking Mass Effect is pretty damn good, but it's not perfect. There are a lot of good things I could say about it, but they've already been said by many others. I'd like to offer constructive criticism instead, and I hope that ME2 improves on these issues. I particularly hated the timed button-pressing 'minigames' required to unlock cabinets etc. Bioshock's hacking minigames were much more fun and fitted the theme of the game. Jade Empire's flight-based minigames were great. Mass Effects' were just dumb, non-relevant and irritating. Pressing buttons in the correct sequence within a time limit is just oh so lamo extremo. The gambling minigame and indeed all monetary transactions and all trading were irrelevant. For the entire game, you never actually need to buy anything or spend any money. All items can be collected for free while on missions, so why have traders at all? If you have traders, they should have unique items that are essential to the plot and that you can't get elsewhere. The surfaces of the different planets had plenty of variety and were fun to explore, but there was very little variety in the bases and building interiors you enter on those planets: same old floor plan, same old textures, same old tactics required to defeat the enemies, then a few cabinets to unlock that contain stuff you probably don't need. Inventory management was clumsily implemented, and sometimes the save points were poorly chosen. Oh yeah: the elevator rides were ridiculous. I imagine the elevator rides are used to mask level load times, but it still seems incongruous that you can fly to a distant star system many light years away faster that you can take an elevator to another floor. One last thing: what was the motivation for the Reapers wanting to destroy all intelligent life in the galaxy? Having said all that, I still think Mass Effect is excellent. I liked the combat and the mako, and the quality of the actual sci-fi itself was truly first class. Anyway, perfection is pretty hard hard to find on my home planet so I'll give ME a 9. Expand
  21. JayC
    Jan 12, 2009
    10
    Wow!! What a game,, Loved every second a must have game at such a low price!!! Graphics Superb, A story that really grips you and coice acting that represents a movie this is a true showcase of video game awesomeness. Xbox 360 exclusive i can see why this is truly for the premier gaming console. I have both consoles and this is the reason i got my xbox and why my ps3 is starting to gather Wow!! What a game,, Loved every second a must have game at such a low price!!! Graphics Superb, A story that really grips you and coice acting that represents a movie this is a true showcase of video game awesomeness. Xbox 360 exclusive i can see why this is truly for the premier gaming console. I have both consoles and this is the reason i got my xbox and why my ps3 is starting to gather dust. Luckily i haven't fell into this trap but Beware: THIS GAME IS ADDICTIVE Expand
  22. DavidA
    Oct 22, 2009
    8
    Mass Effect is a game plagued with glitches, texture pop-in, and at times clunky controls. But underneath it all is a true gem. Combined with a fantastic story, and deep gameplay Mass Effect is probably one of the best Sci Fi RPGs of all time. It may have rough egdes and is far from perfect. But there is so much promise that game still delivers. It is a great start to what will surely be Mass Effect is a game plagued with glitches, texture pop-in, and at times clunky controls. But underneath it all is a true gem. Combined with a fantastic story, and deep gameplay Mass Effect is probably one of the best Sci Fi RPGs of all time. It may have rough egdes and is far from perfect. But there is so much promise that game still delivers. It is a great start to what will surely be a fantastic trilogy. And the sequel looks like it will surpass all expectations. Expand
  23. JeremyW
    Jan 25, 2009
    10
    I couldn't put Mass Effect down. This game was responsible for many late nights and many bleary-eyed mornings. Once I got appropriately leveled, the combat was outstanding, the special skills were impressive and useful, and the story really made me consider my choices carefully. I'll be playing through Mass Effect again as a different character class soon.
  24. MatthewE
    Mar 3, 2009
    10
    One of the best, most fleshed out storys of any game on XBOX360 or PS3 yet. The combat can be a little clunky every now and then, but who cares. I'll play though 5 minutes of close combat camera snaffu's every now and then to advance this story. Bring on part 2!
  25. BrennanM
    Mar 6, 2009
    10
    Straight out: Does this game have some flaws? Yes. It has a so-so weapons menu, the graphics can get glitchy at times (IE you see the system putting layers on characters as you're watching a cutscene), and I only did 3 of the dozens of side quests, and I got bored with those alone. But that's IT. Basically, the game was amazing. Fun story, interesting characters, appropriate Straight out: Does this game have some flaws? Yes. It has a so-so weapons menu, the graphics can get glitchy at times (IE you see the system putting layers on characters as you're watching a cutscene), and I only did 3 of the dozens of side quests, and I got bored with those alone. But that's IT. Basically, the game was amazing. Fun story, interesting characters, appropriate length "main story only" (About 17 hours, and I'm by no means a videogame pro), and an overall wonderful atmosphere. I loved this game, and now I can't wait for the sequel coming out next year Expand
  26. NancyS.
    Jun 26, 2009
    10
    Great game. One of my all-time favorites, and this is coming from a semi-hard core gamer. I loved the combat and the story and the dialog choices...I have played through this a good five or six times. The dlc isnt bad either. All in all, an almost perfect game. Those elevator rides are basically my only complaint.
  27. MichaelA
    Jun 9, 2009
    2
    This game is terrible. All of the side-quest environments are just diffusion maps with almost no variation, there are only like five non-main quest interiors, most of the environments seem like rehashes from Knights of the Old Republic, the vehicle segments are frustrating due to poor design (jump jets do nothing but throw you off of mountains), enemies will glitch and respawn at This game is terrible. All of the side-quest environments are just diffusion maps with almost no variation, there are only like five non-main quest interiors, most of the environments seem like rehashes from Knights of the Old Republic, the vehicle segments are frustrating due to poor design (jump jets do nothing but throw you off of mountains), enemies will glitch and respawn at inopportune times, character animation is just silly, graphics are jerky with lots of texture pop-up even in small rooms, loading times are atrocious, all elevators are too slow, death sequence is too long, game won't let you save right after dialog sequences (so you have to sit through them and select your choices all over again), the menu system controls so that you will accidentally exit when you don't mean to (it WILL happen), storyline is repetitive, main character can't be customized as much as you would think, stores sell inferior weapons for way too much, there are two buttons for drawing and replacing your weapon but no jump button, computer A.I. is stupid (for both friendlies and enemies), and the list just goes on and on. I don't see how this game gets such a free ride on reviews with all of its problems. On a positive note, it has Seth Green as the ship's pilot and it looks very nice in still pictures. That's all that I can think of. Expand
  28. CarlosT
    Jul 18, 2009
    9
    This is surely one of the best RPGs on the Xbox 360 so far. The story and voice acting are great, and the amount of detail put into the universe is amazing. The combat is pretty fun, but some will definitely find it to not be extremely deep, and the AI can be very stupid at times. The customization of your character (including your party) is excellent though, and it makes the game This is surely one of the best RPGs on the Xbox 360 so far. The story and voice acting are great, and the amount of detail put into the universe is amazing. The combat is pretty fun, but some will definitely find it to not be extremely deep, and the AI can be very stupid at times. The customization of your character (including your party) is excellent though, and it makes the game replayable. There are annoying bugs, the framerate unexpectedly drops, and textures pop-in at various moments. Additionally, the Mako is annoying to drive and the side quests get repetitive. However, for the bargain price at which it is out now, this game is more than worth it. Expand
  29. AnonyMous
    Jul 2, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGs out there, with brilliant storytelling, wonderful voice acting, and a brilliant sense of epicness underlying. The only complaints are A: The slow elevators, and B: Pop-In textures after loading screens, and sometimes during important cutscenes. Other than these small things, this game is like KOTOR on steroids.
  30. MatthewB
    Aug 19, 2009
    10
    An Excellent Story. Best I have ever played. Don't think of this game as a shooter or RPG but an actual Full Length Film you get to play the star in.
  31. HarveyB
    Jan 13, 2010
    10
    First i must start by saying that i have played many games this generations of games. So when i went to pick up this gem at the local Bestbuy for 20.00$ i was keen to see what acclaimed studio Bioware had done. After playing this game however i can boldly say that this game is second only to Half-Life 2 for its storytelling. its an enriching space opera that unfolds into a brilliant First i must start by saying that i have played many games this generations of games. So when i went to pick up this gem at the local Bestbuy for 20.00$ i was keen to see what acclaimed studio Bioware had done. After playing this game however i can boldly say that this game is second only to Half-Life 2 for its storytelling. its an enriching space opera that unfolds into a brilliant story. the performances are spot on, the dialogue witty and humorous at times, this is one game everyone who owns an Xbox 360 should play. there are some flaws like long loading times with elevators and some pop up graphics and stuttering. But installing onto the Hard Drive should fix this. This is a triumph in Sci-fi action gaming. Expand
  32. RonJ.
    Nov 13, 2007
    10
    Amazingly good. Put the disc in to check out what the big deal was about this game and I quickly found out. 2 hours later I drug myself away from the 360 only to practically count down the time till I could play some more. Graphics, sounds, voice acting (its got Seth Green!), gameplay are all top notch. 3rd person RPG alone would be good but this is so much more. HUGE environments with Amazingly good. Put the disc in to check out what the big deal was about this game and I quickly found out. 2 hours later I drug myself away from the 360 only to practically count down the time till I could play some more. Graphics, sounds, voice acting (its got Seth Green!), gameplay are all top notch. 3rd person RPG alone would be good but this is so much more. HUGE environments with stuff to do everywhere. A+++ Expand
  33. CJStrike
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Now I don't give out easy 10's. In comparison I thought BioShock was a 9.7. This really shows how good I believe this game is. For those who don't know, Mass Effect feels like a mix between 3rd person shooter, squad-based combat and an RPG style "choose your own adventure" dialogue system. I believe ME deserves a 10 based on the depth and complexity of dialogue and the Now I don't give out easy 10's. In comparison I thought BioShock was a 9.7. This really shows how good I believe this game is. For those who don't know, Mass Effect feels like a mix between 3rd person shooter, squad-based combat and an RPG style "choose your own adventure" dialogue system. I believe ME deserves a 10 based on the depth and complexity of dialogue and the story. There is so much you can learn about everything in the Mass Effect universe from talking to people or looking at the codex. The graphics are truely next gen as well as the music is truely amazing. The moments that define Mass Effect are the on-edge dialogue scenes where one option is life, and the other death. In a world full of strict shooters and strict RPGs, Mass Effect flirts with both extremely well. This allows for a much bigger audience to be able to play and enjoy this game. Overall I believe if you own a 360, you must own Mass Effect. Expand
  34. LeeA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    The real nex-gen RPG is here. Mass effect, has an amazing story, great visuals, refreshing combat system and awsome interactivity. Even if you are not a fan of RPGs this game is a must have.
  35. HayleyM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    The best RPG game ever released. This is not meant to be a shooter game, if you want a shooter, go play Call of Duty 4. This game plays out like an interactive, epic movie, and some of the choices you make completely change everything, and it is amazing to see! The graphics are so realistic and amazing compared to KOTOR's graphics! You will actually feel connected to your party The best RPG game ever released. This is not meant to be a shooter game, if you want a shooter, go play Call of Duty 4. This game plays out like an interactive, epic movie, and some of the choices you make completely change everything, and it is amazing to see! The graphics are so realistic and amazing compared to KOTOR's graphics! You will actually feel connected to your party members, and the dialogue wheel is so fun to use, you'll find talking to characters much easier than scrolling through lines of text like in KOTOR. This is a huge and amazingly in depth game, the codex (encyclopedia of Mass Effect) is huge, and there is so much detail in this game its amazing. A rare treat, where you actually will want to replay again, and never regret purchasing! Expand
  36. ChrisD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Mass Effect sets a new standard for storytelling and cinematics, just as Kotor did before it. It does has faults- Somewhat questioanable AI at times, sidequests that aren't up to the same standard as the main quest and the issues with textures loading that are prevalent with all games using the Unreal Engine. None of these stand in the way of making it a truly amazing experience Mass Effect sets a new standard for storytelling and cinematics, just as Kotor did before it. It does has faults- Somewhat questioanable AI at times, sidequests that aren't up to the same standard as the main quest and the issues with textures loading that are prevalent with all games using the Unreal Engine. None of these stand in the way of making it a truly amazing experience though. RPG of the year. Probably Game of the year. Expand
  37. TheBigmac
    Nov 21, 2007
    6
    Let's get the obvious out of the way. The graphics, specially in dialog are gorgeous. Once you get to combat, they're good, but not gorgeous even thou everything is created using the game's engine. The story is very well done and intriguing. I found myself enjoying the dialog so much I felt I was watching a movie. Now the bad things: The shooting controls are just awkward. Let's get the obvious out of the way. The graphics, specially in dialog are gorgeous. Once you get to combat, they're good, but not gorgeous even thou everything is created using the game's engine. The story is very well done and intriguing. I found myself enjoying the dialog so much I felt I was watching a movie. Now the bad things: The shooting controls are just awkward. It wants to be gears of war in the combat mechanics and fails miserably in the attempt. Another game I'm playing these days, Uncharted Drakes furtune, completely rips off the GOW mechanics as well, but the excecution is perfect. So if you're going to rip some game off, at least do it weell. The shooting controls and mechanics just feel clunky and uncomfortable. Using the sniper rifle is an exercise in futility. The screen shakes so much you're aiming all over the place and "No diazepam for you!" is the motto of the designer Nazis. The rest of the games just feels S L O W. I found myself constantly wondering which way to go. I just beat Call of duty 4. The difficulty setting in that one was perfect. Want to figure out where to go by yourself? fine. It's your choice. Not a hard core explorer? No problem. They will take you by the hand the whole game. In this one is pretty much a couple of clues on the map, which is like 5 button pushes away if you need it, and pretty much you're on your on. Did I mention S L O W? If you're an RPG fan, you'll love this game. If any of what I mentioned before makes you hesitate, rent if first. This is a AAA title and there's a lot of quality here. Many people just love it. But in my opinion, some fundamental flaws ruin the execution as a whole. And I just don't have the patience these days a game like this requires. Expand
  38. MessiahL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Alright, the idiots who keep thinking this is a shooter need to find another medocre play--like Gears of War. The vacuous need not apply here. Mass Effect is easily one of the greatest RPGs of the decade--and I have no idea why people keep passing off the combat. Trust me, it isn't as bad as the critics claim. Though if you are more into testosterone-oriented gameplay like Crysis and Alright, the idiots who keep thinking this is a shooter need to find another medocre play--like Gears of War. The vacuous need not apply here. Mass Effect is easily one of the greatest RPGs of the decade--and I have no idea why people keep passing off the combat. Trust me, it isn't as bad as the critics claim. Though if you are more into testosterone-oriented gameplay like Crysis and GoW you might want to play a game with Dionysus. Storylines with depth might be intimidating to you--but keep out of metacritic, please. Expand
  39. JasonL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I'm sure Sugreev doesn't even own a 360 he's probably another PS3 fan jealous of the 360 games. I like the way he says it's too long for an RPG...that is part of the point of being an RPG a long game that tells a great story. But back to business, this game is great; everything I have come to expect from Bioware. I'm only about 3 hours in but the story is very I'm sure Sugreev doesn't even own a 360 he's probably another PS3 fan jealous of the 360 games. I like the way he says it's too long for an RPG...that is part of the point of being an RPG a long game that tells a great story. But back to business, this game is great; everything I have come to expect from Bioware. I'm only about 3 hours in but the story is very involving the combat is gretat for an RPG, it's even solid if you were playing a shooter. My only gripes with this game and they are a minor annoyances are the fact that you can't learn abilities outside your class, I'm a Vanguard and I can't learn how to use a sniper rifle or an assault rifle so the guns are esentially useless. And the second thing is that I wish you could switch between abilites in combat without having to pause the game. But all in all this game is a fast paced KOTOR without the crappy frame rates. Everyone owes it to themselves to check this one out. Expand
  40. KevinB.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I'm giving a 10, though I'd really rate it a 9.6, so I rounded up. This game is beautiful. Complex RPG character options, beautiful graphics, extreme customizability, great characters and story, this game is near perfect. One issue is that framerate stutters at times, but this is minimal. Also, some of the AI of the enemies I've encountered so far is rather simple, but then I'm giving a 10, though I'd really rate it a 9.6, so I rounded up. This game is beautiful. Complex RPG character options, beautiful graphics, extreme customizability, great characters and story, this game is near perfect. One issue is that framerate stutters at times, but this is minimal. Also, some of the AI of the enemies I've encountered so far is rather simple, but then again this game is focused on being an RPG, so in my opinion enemy AI in the FPS portions isn't that important. Overall, it's a superb game. Looks like it could overtake Bioshock for my pick for game of the year. Expand
  41. MB
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Great RPG, it's not a shooter though. I constantly hear gripes about the combat... personally I think that it is some of the best RPG I have expierenced. If you are buying the game for an RPG you'll love it, if you don't like RPG's then why would you buy it, or review it for that matter.
  42. SteveK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Not a shooter really, this is an RPG that uses some shooter elements in its combat. But this is a gorgeous, engrossing RPG experience. If you liked KotoR, this is a no-brainer. If you like RPGs, this is a no-brainer. If you like sci-fi, this is a no-brainer. I can't believe this game costs as much as some of those movie game pieces of crap they make nowadays. The best game I've Not a shooter really, this is an RPG that uses some shooter elements in its combat. But this is a gorgeous, engrossing RPG experience. If you liked KotoR, this is a no-brainer. If you like RPGs, this is a no-brainer. If you like sci-fi, this is a no-brainer. I can't believe this game costs as much as some of those movie game pieces of crap they make nowadays. The best game I've played in a long time, rivals oblivion for best next-gen RPG, and it has that kind of immersive, movie quality feel that I haven't experienced since the first KotoR, but Mass Effect's visuals are 1000% better than Knights of the Old Republic. A MUST buy for your 360. Expand
  43. JoshuaT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. How can you not like this game? You must love Halo 3 a bit too much if you think this is long and boring! Sets the bar for RPGS everywhere!
  44. ChrisM.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The story, good god man the story.
  45. AndyK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Great RPG, good graphics, huge world...but ...weak shooter-part and some technical difficulties.
  46. DavidP.
    Nov 22, 2007
    4
    This is an absolutely boring game especially for $60. I never write reviews but I felt the need to inform others about this game. I feel that tI was definitely mislead about this game. Its extremely slow. I mean I spend 90% of my time walking to locations and then I get a chance to to something interesting. I am starting to think that game developers are paying people to post their This is an absolutely boring game especially for $60. I never write reviews but I felt the need to inform others about this game. I feel that tI was definitely mislead about this game. Its extremely slow. I mean I spend 90% of my time walking to locations and then I get a chance to to something interesting. I am starting to think that game developers are paying people to post their reviews. I though the game would be better than average and actually be fun. I mean the only "new" thing this game offers is for you to have meaningless conversation with characters and the ability to chose some phrases. For those of you that like play RPGs and roll dice all day, this game is probably for you. In conclusion, this game is extremely slow, boring, and not worth $60 at all! Expand
  47. JasonLong
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Odd sort of game. The RPG portions are pretty decent. Never have I seen interaction with NPC's as good as this. The combat kind of stinks and I feel it is inferior to KOTOR in this respect. A lot of work went into replayability, as all your squad members make comments etc depending upon your location.
    A bit of a mixed bag, yet I am still playing it, and am engrossed by the story. I
    Odd sort of game. The RPG portions are pretty decent. Never have I seen interaction with NPC's as good as this. The combat kind of stinks and I feel it is inferior to KOTOR in this respect. A lot of work went into replayability, as all your squad members make comments etc depending upon your location.
    A bit of a mixed bag, yet I am still playing it, and am engrossed by the story. I can overlook combat, strange bugs and the stilted graphics just because the game is so immersive.
    Expand
  48. StanH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The voice acting, directing, and production values are outstanding. It's going to be rough in the future for any RPG to offer either text responses or stilted audio replies. There are some technical flaws but what they've accomplished here far surpasses those and deserves full credit. Kudos!
  49. JordanA
    Nov 22, 2007
    1
    I really just don't enjoy playing this game. The shooting is weak, and it can get annoying sometimes when you must click a phrase to say. I don't know it might just be me, but I don't like it at all.
  50. ButtP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    A truly amazing game with an insane amount of depth. the characters are all unique and extremely rounded. but 18 hours to beat is far too short for something that's otherwise so grand. the setting is so epic and the story is so short and lacking. i constantly felt like i was being forced to plow through the story instead of being able to explore the game world at a pace i enjoyed, A truly amazing game with an insane amount of depth. the characters are all unique and extremely rounded. but 18 hours to beat is far too short for something that's otherwise so grand. the setting is so epic and the story is so short and lacking. i constantly felt like i was being forced to plow through the story instead of being able to explore the game world at a pace i enjoyed, like being forced to take an impatient tour guide through the gughenheim. the characters are deep with their own very unique backstories. but in a game i want to play the backstory, not just sit in the ship asking my squad personal questions (which they awkwardly and unrealistically are entirely game for). if more care would have been administered to the exposition then this game would've overcame its greatest flaw (talking head exposition) and accented its greatest achievement: depth and character empathy. i agree with most of the professional reviewers though when they say that what the game succeeds at, it succeeds at so well that youre willing to suspend those grudges for a second play-through. here's hoping for the funding and desire by bioware to create a mass-effect 2 which is as epic as the setting commands. Expand
  51. BenJ.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great cake... The story and characters etc. are great, no complaints there. But the game fails at being an FPS (loved the thin hallways crammed with myself and 2 mentally challenged AI characters...nice) and it fails to be an action-RPG (or whatever it was going for) BECAUSE it failed dismally at implementing decent fighting mechinics, fps or not (No, I'm not a hardcore FPS player expecting this to be better than halo, half life 2 or insert good fps name here). Then there's the awful frame rate but I don't want to go there. I still WANT to like this game.... I just can't. I'm going to go read the book now and hope they release a movie based on it. Expand
  52. Barry
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Good fun at times, however does get a little boring with the stopping and interacting every 5 minutues. Graphics are good but not great, faces look wonky and out of shape, and it's a little grainy. Good storyline tho. Not the best game of the year either. COD4 & Assassin's Creed top it in that category.
  53. PeterHoughton
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    It's so rare to play a game that pushes the boundaries of video game graphics and is also a very fun to play. This game is so awesome, it's guaranteed there will be Sony and Nintendo fan boys entering 1 out of 10 ratings for this game on here. I read those to mean "we surrender, this game is too great for us!"
  54. JoshuaW.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    There are alot of technical issues with the game, side quests are not anywhere near the quality of the main quest (The sidequests are still better than many games out there). Those issues aside, you have to give this game a 10 because even though it's not a perfect game it still blows every other game away in terms of story, scope, sound/music RPG elements and 2nd best in graphics There are alot of technical issues with the game, side quests are not anywhere near the quality of the main quest (The sidequests are still better than many games out there). Those issues aside, you have to give this game a 10 because even though it's not a perfect game it still blows every other game away in terms of story, scope, sound/music RPG elements and 2nd best in graphics and 3rd person combat (other than Gears of War). Expand
  55. IanO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    GOTY by far.... Absoloute must buy for people who love great storylines and brilliant characters
  56. JamesF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    This game has the Bioware feel all over it, anyone who has played the Baldur
  57. StefC.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    There's some issues with the game such as the frame-rate and GUI, but if you can get past that, you will find a well thought out rpg. The exploration is fantastic, the story, the gameplay and the characters. If your on the fence deciding whether or not to purchase this game,
  58. DarrenR.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    A truly immersive experience. The characters are alive more than in any game I've played. The graphics are great - very atmospheric. And the combat is far better than I was expecting. It's not a weak point at all! It's this or Bioshock for GOTY.
  59. Stef
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I'm not a big rpg fan by any means, but this game is something special. It feels right, it makes you care about your characters and those you meet. There's a storyline, depending on how much you want to invest, the more it will give. The combat is great fun, the presentation and voice acting is tremendous, exploration is awesome and the dialogue system is top-notch. There are I'm not a big rpg fan by any means, but this game is something special. It feels right, it makes you care about your characters and those you meet. There's a storyline, depending on how much you want to invest, the more it will give. The combat is great fun, the presentation and voice acting is tremendous, exploration is awesome and the dialogue system is top-notch. There are some minor issues such as frame-rate slow downs and GUI problems. But if you can look past these, you will find a universe that is richly thoughtout. Definitely lots of replay value in ths game. Expand
  60. DanielS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    I think this game is immersive and beautifully rendered. You can find out as little about stuff as you would like or as much as you would like. I look into every detail, but if you want you can run and gun your way striaght to the end. I just really like this game, and I am taken back so many times by what is going on.
  61. TomA.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Wonderful game. The people giving it 1's seem to forget that the game is first and foremost an RPG, and that good RPGs have emersive storylines. Mass Effect follows up on that with a great story, and amazing digital characters. Everything is in-game engine, and looks beautiful. Combat does have a stiff learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you can get your squad to wield a Wonderful game. The people giving it 1's seem to forget that the game is first and foremost an RPG, and that good RPGs have emersive storylines. Mass Effect follows up on that with a great story, and amazing digital characters. Everything is in-game engine, and looks beautiful. Combat does have a stiff learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you can get your squad to wield a lot of power, especially if you can master syncronization of powers such as lift and throw to knock a strong enemy off a ledge to their death. Most of the complaints are about minor glitches, many of which could be fixed with a patch. Expand
  62. SammyJ.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Don't be fooled... this is a proper RPG game in the Final Fantasy-esque mould, but taking out some of the more intricate RPG tactics and using the room created to fill in on massive story and universe detail. It's sold as a cross between a shooter and RPG, but it's definitely more the latter simplified down to include the former. I personally like the interfaces for battle Don't be fooled... this is a proper RPG game in the Final Fantasy-esque mould, but taking out some of the more intricate RPG tactics and using the room created to fill in on massive story and universe detail. It's sold as a cross between a shooter and RPG, but it's definitely more the latter simplified down to include the former. I personally like the interfaces for battle and travel. Dionysus reckons it's a slideshow, that's cos he obviously isn't an RPG fan... this is exactly the kind of thing any RPG fan would get right away and enjoy even more. I'd say this is by far the best RPG experience on the Xbox. The only complaint I have so far is the dodgy vehicle controls for the Mako tank/car. Other than that, it's great and well worth £40 of your earthly credits. Expand
  63. PhilipW.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Great graphics, impressive scope, squad tactics, and compelling choices between paragon/renegade storyline create a lot of depth here. Unfortunately the game is not quite there. Combat can be a chaotic mess made worse by frame rates that completely stall out when the action gets hot. Controls on the Mako can also get frustrating. Finally (though somewhat expected in RPGs these days) there Great graphics, impressive scope, squad tactics, and compelling choices between paragon/renegade storyline create a lot of depth here. Unfortunately the game is not quite there. Combat can be a chaotic mess made worse by frame rates that completely stall out when the action gets hot. Controls on the Mako can also get frustrating. Finally (though somewhat expected in RPGs these days) there is a lot of time spent back-tracking (slowly as the protagonist moves painfully slow) between NPCs to relay conversations, information, etc, and lots of waiting during load cuts (none are too long, but they're frequent) and elevators. Expand
  64. StevenB.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    An incredible experience, despite some minor technical flaws. If you have any love of sci fi, role playing games, shooters or great stories, you should play this game.
  65. Drew
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe how epic this game is, an adventure for the ages and by far the most rewarding game I have experienced. The characters and world created put you at awe each time you look across the environments and cities. The story is the deepest and most playable in video game history in my opinion as all people who enjoy RPG's or any adventure at all should not pass up this Words cannot describe how epic this game is, an adventure for the ages and by far the most rewarding game I have experienced. The characters and world created put you at awe each time you look across the environments and cities. The story is the deepest and most playable in video game history in my opinion as all people who enjoy RPG's or any adventure at all should not pass up this amazing game! Expand
  66. JaceN.
    Nov 28, 2007
    8
    At heart I feel this game is Knights Of The Old Republic...with Gears Of War combat...and a slight tip-o-the-hat to the 1991 Sega Gensis/Megadrive game "Starflight". A pity then it seeks to be the exact perfect average of all these instead of exploring their potential fully! But I suppose I cant blame Bioware considering the time constraints and amount of removed content/detail. Heres At heart I feel this game is Knights Of The Old Republic...with Gears Of War combat...and a slight tip-o-the-hat to the 1991 Sega Gensis/Megadrive game "Starflight". A pity then it seeks to be the exact perfect average of all these instead of exploring their potential fully! But I suppose I cant blame Bioware considering the time constraints and amount of removed content/detail. Heres hoping the sequel is more fleshed out! Expand
  67. JonG.
    Nov 28, 2007
    9
    This is a truly amazing game, and worth the wait. As with most games, there are issues that keep me from giving it a 10, but these do not in any way downgrade my experience. The compelling story, well-developed universe, interesting characters, intuitive dialogue system, and refreshingly fun combat system all combine to make this my Game of the Year.
  68. AdamM.
    Nov 29, 2007
    10
    Outstanding plot. Great action. Good visuals.
  69. SatanNYC
    Nov 29, 2007
    5
    OK, those who gave this game a 10 obviously haven't played it, and those that gave it a 1 are just stupid. Granted, I feel burned for buying this game based on the ratings and the reviews I have seen. So here is the real deal review from a long time RPG fan. This game mostly sux, sure it looks pretty, hooray for that, but that's were the fun ends. First off this game is OK, those who gave this game a 10 obviously haven't played it, and those that gave it a 1 are just stupid. Granted, I feel burned for buying this game based on the ratings and the reviews I have seen. So here is the real deal review from a long time RPG fan. This game mostly sux, sure it looks pretty, hooray for that, but that's were the fun ends. First off this game is impossibly slow, for instance, you mean to tell me that in the future, were you don't even have to reload your weapons, they have elevators that move so ridiculously slow you would ratther walk, if you could but you are stuck having to take elevators all the time, even on your own ship. Then there are the weapons, armor and other accesories that have names followed by roman numerals. for all the thought and time spent developing this game they couldn't come up with some cool names for things, instead they just add a number at the end. That's not all, let's talk about all those planets that you seen in the previews and trailers, you can't even land on them, all you can do is get a description of there atmosphere and terrain. Occasionaly you can scan one and may find some kind of artifact that you can't even access in your inventory. Sniper rifles are a complete waste of time, because if you can see the enemy, no matter how far away you are, they are already shooting at you before you even poke your head around the corner or over the hill. The cool looking tank you also see in all of the trailers handles like crap and really isn't as fun as they make it appear. There is no need to ever shop at a store, as things you find are better and they are free, so that kills the whole "get more money to get better stuff to fight bigger creatures" aspect of an RPG that most fans live for. The grenades are horrific, shoot one towards the sun and that's were it goes, in a striaght line with no gravitional arc what-so-ever, but throw a grenade at the floor right in front of you and that's were it stays, no bounce, no roll, nothing. No free roaming aliens to pick off for extra cash, everything is scripted, open the door and there are bad guys. The AI is non-existent, open a door and the bad guys come straight at you, no ducking and hiding behind things, they just run straight at you. I waited for over a year for this game, have been following it's progress all the way, seen all the trailers, interviews and reviews and was totally psyched for this title. I actually think this title isn't worth the box it comes in, but I am giving it a 5 because it looks amazing, has some interesting creatures, and the voice sync'ing is beautifully done. If you are a fan of RPG's and want an amazing game for your money, but the Elder Scrolls: Oblivion and pass on this title. If you have already played Oblivion trust me when I say, rent before you buy, or better yet, bid on mine when I throw it up on ebay to get my money back and buy something else. Expand
  70. C.Q.
    Dec 10, 2007
    5
    This is the game that could have been - its very cinematic, and semi entertaining - but if your expacting a vast open sci fi role playing game - like oblivian - you will be sorely dissapointed - there are a couple of pointless side quests - but overall the story is pretty straight through and you can beat the whole game in under 8 hours with no problems.
  71. Sam
    Dec 11, 2007
    10
    First, I'd like to say... if you beat this game in 14 hours, you missed a LOT of backstory and side missions. There is so much to this game... a complete universe, and everything you do is so well thought out you can just feel the tremendous amount of work they put into planning this game. Skipping all of that work to rush to the game's end in 14 hours is nearly a crime. The one First, I'd like to say... if you beat this game in 14 hours, you missed a LOT of backstory and side missions. There is so much to this game... a complete universe, and everything you do is so well thought out you can just feel the tremendous amount of work they put into planning this game. Skipping all of that work to rush to the game's end in 14 hours is nearly a crime. The one problem I had was that your squad mates are very, very stupid. That's it; everything else I came across, from the thousands of possible dialog variations to the little planetary bios just made my jaw drop in awe. Don't let the nay-sayers dissuade you, this is without a doubt one of the best games I've ever played. Expand
  72. Huck
    Dec 1, 2007
    10
    This is an excellent game. As a person who has always been a FPS player and never a fan of RPG's let me say, I loved this game. Not because its a good shooter, cause its not. For people who are hardcore FPS players, the combat in this game is remedial. But the game as a whole is an incredible experience and was very, very engrossing cinematic ride. I recommend this game as a must This is an excellent game. As a person who has always been a FPS player and never a fan of RPG's let me say, I loved this game. Not because its a good shooter, cause its not. For people who are hardcore FPS players, the combat in this game is remedial. But the game as a whole is an incredible experience and was very, very engrossing cinematic ride. I recommend this game as a must play along with Bioshock and COD4!! Expand
  73. Tom
    Dec 12, 2007
    5
    This game is more story than game-play. The story is good though. I gave it a 5 (instead of a 0) because the story itself was good enough to motivate me to play it through. But compare it to a tight game-play mechanics work of art like mario galaxy a decent fps, and Mass Effect "the game" is pathetic. Now granted, this is an RPG (hence the good story and my willingness to give props to This game is more story than game-play. The story is good though. I gave it a 5 (instead of a 0) because the story itself was good enough to motivate me to play it through. But compare it to a tight game-play mechanics work of art like mario galaxy a decent fps, and Mass Effect "the game" is pathetic. Now granted, this is an RPG (hence the good story and my willingness to give props to it), but the fighting system was touted to be a hybrid between traditional turn-based RPG fighting and RTS/OTS fighting. This turns out to be extremely clunky, where directing the actions of your squad is a futile exercise and talents(traditionally spells or feats) are limited to just a hand-full and are not very effective compared to standard attacks (guns). lastly, the graphics are good at times and at other times totally unacceptable. Frequent frame-rate drops and disorienting draw-in take alot away from the story. Expand
  74. DanielK.
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    This game has easily blown my expectations away, from the amazing combat to the difficult and heartfelt decisions you make along the way. Not even the minor graphical glitches could sway my love for this amazing game. Easily a contender for Game of the Year.
  75. Brent
    Dec 13, 2007
    9
    Realistically imagined and a beautifully executed, Mass effect delivers in a way many adventure stories fail. politically and emotionally driven, just the sheer amount of background-story depth and the massive variety of environments with epic views of other worlds is enough to draw one in to this ambitious original space drama. gameplay is smart and fun, and graphics are gorgeous. The Realistically imagined and a beautifully executed, Mass effect delivers in a way many adventure stories fail. politically and emotionally driven, just the sheer amount of background-story depth and the massive variety of environments with epic views of other worlds is enough to draw one in to this ambitious original space drama. gameplay is smart and fun, and graphics are gorgeous. The basic plot of mass effect echoes the triumphant and epic tale of Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic however, which if youve played and beaten Knights of the Old Republic, can at times give you a been-there-done-that feel. In the end it was very much worth the rich 20+ hours i put into it, but being a strong knights of the old republic fan, i would have prefered that Bioware make a Knights of the old republic 3 and finish the story that they started a few years ago, and i think many would agree. Expand
  76. MikeW.
    Dec 14, 2007
    9
    The game has its flaws, but what it does right is so much more impressive. I've never been so immersed in a game as I am with this one. The graphics, storyline and character customization are so good. I didn't have any AI problems really. By the end of the game My AI were lifting people up and I was blowing them away. The menus take awhile to get used to, items should feel more The game has its flaws, but what it does right is so much more impressive. I've never been so immersed in a game as I am with this one. The graphics, storyline and character customization are so good. I didn't have any AI problems really. By the end of the game My AI were lifting people up and I was blowing them away. The menus take awhile to get used to, items should feel more unique, and some frame rate issues could be cleaned up and you NEED to be able to run all the time. I love the side missions, with the exception of the mineral/artifact ones. I'd give it a ten but there are so many minor flaws that I can't, but I'm enjoying it more than anything I've played this year. I'd really give it like a 9.5-9.6 Expand
  77. LeroyR.
    Dec 2, 2007
    10
    Mass effect is brilliant. I must say it is much more ambitious than Kotor and this only allows the player to realize the scope of this magnificent game. i cant believe how good this game is. Its like Kotor, Graw and Oblivion wrapped in one graphically superior package which couldn't have been done with the last gen consoles. Mass effect is like watching a movie and I playing this Mass effect is brilliant. I must say it is much more ambitious than Kotor and this only allows the player to realize the scope of this magnificent game. i cant believe how good this game is. Its like Kotor, Graw and Oblivion wrapped in one graphically superior package which couldn't have been done with the last gen consoles. Mass effect is like watching a movie and I playing this games truly makes me believe that a really good video game movie is possible. love you Bioware you have yet to make an average game, but can we have Kotor 3 please? Expand
  78. MaxM.
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    I just love the whole sci-fi exploring planets-shooting lasers theme of this game. The lighting effects are amazing, the scenery of every planet is fun to look at, and the replay value makes Bioshock look like a piece of crap.
  79. TrevorB.
    Dec 25, 2007
    10
    This is the best RPG I've seen since Neverwinter Nights. While there's some areas that could be improved on, overall the game is very well polished, has plenty of replay value, and tells a great story. I can't wait for Mass Effect 2 & 3.
  80. Brett
    Dec 26, 2007
    10
    If you are a SciFi fan and like RPG games, there is nothing better. Sure not every aspect of the game is a 10, but the sheer beauty, scope, and fantastic story of mass effect make up for it. 60 hours into it and level 50 on my first play through and I'm excited to start over a a new character. This is the future of this type of game. You won't be disapointed.
  81. marcf
    Dec 31, 2007
    0
    this game is horrible it is a waste of 50$ lame is the only way to decribe this game if you wanted a great gaming system you should have bought a ps3 of pc this game story line is boring and dule and i have nothing else to say.
  82. MarkP.
    Dec 3, 2007
    7
    Mass Effect works better as an interactive cinematic experience than it does as a game. Worth experiencing, but has critical flaws in its core combat gameplay.
  83. Daz
    Dec 4, 2007
    10
    A tremendous game that has alot of potential, sure i was hoped for more intetaction but everything is so smooth and well done i cant really fault for anything above minor niggles that arent important.
  84. B.L.
    Dec 5, 2007
    9
    A really enjoyable game, I only wish it could have been the 350 hours of gameplay that Baldur's Gate 2 was. The exercise of landing on planets is intriguing but I do wish there was more to do there. Epic is a good word for this experience. Especially the very first main mission when you see a massive ship take off into space. Breathtaking.
  85. EdwardC.
    Dec 9, 2007
    9
    This game is one of the best RPG games I've ever played and could be a perfect 10 had it not been for some minor technical issues. The story, characters, concept is all completely brilliant and compels you to play the game more than once. In fact I've played through this game four times now using different classes, sex, and good/bad guy tracks. There is the obvious texture This game is one of the best RPG games I've ever played and could be a perfect 10 had it not been for some minor technical issues. The story, characters, concept is all completely brilliant and compels you to play the game more than once. In fact I've played through this game four times now using different classes, sex, and good/bad guy tracks. There is the obvious texture loading flaws and a sub-par combat system because this game is trying to achieve tactical shooter status in a RPG which is close to impossible. The combat system needs updated for the sequel and the game length needs to be addressed. If you don't do sidequests it takes about 15hours for a competent gamer to finish this game. Witht he side quests you might add anywhere from 5-8 additional hours. I spent 200+ hours on Oblivion. Enough said. Definately a buy though. Expand
  86. StevenF.
    Jan 16, 2008
    6
    I'm sorry but it's just not that good. The character acting is GREAT, but almost everything else is disappointing. Handling of equipment a pain. Playing a class that isn't the Soldier is a pain. Combat is a pain. Skills are lackluster and the list goes on. Expect a decent RPG but not the thing that's been hyped in the mags as the end all RPG.
  87. WinstonSmith
    Jan 18, 2008
    10
    Mass Effect is like the escape scene in Shawshank Redemption: it gives you the same feeling of joy, liberation, and hope after having crawled through the tunnel of shit that is the gaming industry.
    I'm just disgusted that BioShock is beating this game in score and attention. The only thing I can credit BioShock with is creating an original world with a thoroughly convoluted plot.
    Mass Effect is like the escape scene in Shawshank Redemption: it gives you the same feeling of joy, liberation, and hope after having crawled through the tunnel of shit that is the gaming industry.
    I'm just disgusted that BioShock is beating this game in score and attention. The only thing I can credit BioShock with is creating an original world with a thoroughly convoluted plot. That was refreshing...but that's where it ends. Note that the adjectives "original" and "convoluted" are to be taken literally. They mean exactly what they mean...they don't mean the story is cohesive, engaging, compelling, or believable.
    Then there's the hideous design. Each level starts out with the objective of getting out. Naturally, you make your way to the exit, only to find out that you have to backtrack across the whole level to pick up stuff you couldnt access before just to get BACK to the now accessible exit... That's real nice. It's like some said: Hey 2K! Let's make the entire plot one huge distraction on the player's path to the exit... There was no AI to speak of. The weapons are common and all the talk of upgrades is worthless because it only exists to counterbalance the fact that all the enemies gradually get more health. Plasmids are largely redundant and poorly implemented. The problem is, you simple never HAVE to use them. Every obstacle can easily be solved with a wrench or electrified ammo. And on top of that, every effort is made even MORE meaningless by virtue of the respawning machines that bring you back and leave everyone's health just as you left it. They say that it's a game where YOU are responsible for the quality of the experience. I say that's really shitty game design. Chess is "strategic" because of the set rules that apply...not because you have force yourself to make up rules. And that is what's winning over the masterpiece that is Mass Effect.

    That's not to say that Mass Effect doesn't have its flaws. The AI makes BioShock's look brilliant. The enemies are SO aesthetically redundant, as are the weapons. Of course, if you put your mind to it, you could come up with a meaningful reason why the Geth are a bland assortment of gray and white...but since the game never cares to discuss their appearance, we'll say it was a poor design choice. Hmm...I suppose that's it really for the flaws. I don't consider the texture loading a significant flaw. It doesn't bother me in the least. Honestly...all these flaws are the result of releasing it too early. They could've further developed the AI, and made the enemies/weapons look different instead of just painting them different colors. It was such a mistake... Mass Effect got buried under all the November releases. Stupid BioShock!
    Now on to the amazing! The story...someone here said something along the lines of: "Good lord, the story!!!". My sentiments exactly. Now, we all know it isn't anything particularly original, but only an idiot disregards unoriginal ideas as worthless. The beauty of Mass Effect is in the execution. It took the tried and true alien/human foundation and took it up about 10 notches. The achievement of Mass Effect's story is comparable to LOTR. LOTR did nothing original. Light vs Dark is the oldest damn thing in the book...yet it added humanity to it...something we could touch.
    I'm shocked that people are saying BioShock has amazing graphics with Mass Effect out. Mass Effect makes everything else look like polygonal vomit. The textures are so wonderfully accurate it makes me want to touch myself. I have never given a crap about graphics. I always said I'd sooner play Grim Fandango or Fallout instead of Crysis. But the graphics in Mass Effect are functional...they're not just "blow everything else out of the water" amazing...they move the experience a little closer to you. I would readily say that Mass Effect is the best graphics showcase in history. Crysis can suck it.
    Now I know, that some people said that compared to KOTOR, Mass Effect lacks NPC depth and interaction. I think that people simply confused quantity for depth. It pissed me off to no end when I'd be in the middle of a dungeon and Carth would start a freaking 5 minute soap opera with any of the characters. Their petty emotions and hissy fits only distracted me from w/e was going on at the moment. It didn't bring me any closer to the experience because their hissy fits were too personal. Their problems belonged to a different time and place that added little to nothing to the present experience. Mass Effect disbands the illusion of quantity as depth and brings something more meaningful into the game. No, you can't have a meaningless conversation with everyone you see, but why would you want to? That just dilutes the quality of NPC interaction. What if I'm roleplaying as someone who doesn't give a rats ass about personal issues? Mass Effect lets you. The characters open up if you want them to. It's war...and it feels like it. Your crew doesn't pester you with stupidity every 10 minutes unlike in KOTOR. Honestly, I would trade the little bits of elevator banter in Mass Effect for all the stupid personal dilemmas of the KOTOR whiners. Even the ELEVATORS drag you into the universe. If your NPC aren't exchanging thoughts in them, the elevator radio always drops some info or hint pertaining to one quest or another...or it reinforces the general mood of the game. Honestly, I can't praise this game enough.
    This game is the most cinematic piece of work EVER. I wouldn't be surprised if the people making it had film degrees. Just from the opening cut-scenes, you see just how dramatic and cinematic the camera work is. You really have to see it to believe it. I mean, they even give you the option to have a FILM GRAIN. That's brilliant. I didn't particularly like it, but the significance was not lost on me.
    The dialogue wheel was...dubious. At times I thoroughly enjoyed it. At others I wished there was a more significant difference in the dialogue options. I guess I'm just a fan of the old school, Fallout type list of dialogue options. I suppose with a bit of refinement, the dialogue wheel could've been even more amazing than it already is. it could've had the feel of a Fallout list of options...

    I don't know why people are bashing the inventory. Considering the wealth of items you have to manage, I thought it was extremely intuitive. Maybe people are just retarded.
    I guess I'll end on a complaint so there's always something to strive for. I'm sick of the light/dark system. I suppose the paragon/renegade thing is a little better...it models more of a gray area type moral system. But I would abolish the light/dark garbage all together. Instead I'd have NPC reactions based on w/e choices you made without some light/dark value assigned to them. For example, if you chose to kill the Rachni Queen, instead of giving you renegade points, you get different kinds of options/reaction from the inhabitants of the universe. Maybe you'd earn the favor of the Krogan and the ire of Salarians who might've wanted to form an alliance...or study the Rachni. Why can't people realize that there is no light and dark. There's only action and reaction. Light/dark is a stupid and thoroughly limiting system. But w/e...people like it, and I doubt I'll see anything different until I'm the one making games. That's right...I'm gonna make em...someday!

    In closing, if Mass Effect was a book, it'd be in the "necessary life reading" section. Mass Effect was such an important step for games and it sickens me that infectious waste like BioShock shadows this achievement. BioShock did NOTHING. The only consequence of BioShock is that it'll have a thousand copy cats making obscenely psychotic stories that are even less cohesive than BioShock's. And they'll all call it original and ground breaking because incohesive psycho stories aren't common. I would much sooner indulge in something common but well executed instead of something that rides only on the fact that it hasn't been done before and offers nothing but that fact. And this is coming from the person who values originality to no end. Anyway...quit wasting time and go monetarily support an achievement that deserves every penny it demands.
    Oh yeah! And how about the very subtle cliff hanger ending? I'm just dying to know more about the Reapers. I'm sensing a big philosophical revelation in the Mass Effect sequels. Let's just hope it won't be like the Matrix trilogy...

    Go buy this cherry popping, krazy glue cohesive work of art!!!!!!
    Expand
  88. JesseB.
    Jan 19, 2008
    10
    Amazing gameplay and versitility, the option to choose who goes with you and the ability to command them is a plus. Sometimes equiping your team mates can be a hassle but hassles are challenges and challenges are what make games fun.
  89. JoeBloggs
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Maybe I havnt even played this game, but neither did the people on Fox and they still judged it. However, since I am a teenager I will give the opposite judgement to them. I am living inside a game world. I cannot tell the difference between reality (isn't it all an illusion?) and gaming. But, since all games are the same (senseless violence and crude sex) they all deserve a 10/10Maybe I havnt even played this game, but neither did the people on Fox and they still judged it. However, since I am a teenager I will give the opposite judgement to them. I am living inside a game world. I cannot tell the difference between reality (isn't it all an illusion?) and gaming. But, since all games are the same (senseless violence and crude sex) they all deserve a 10/10 from me. You see, thats all I want from a game - virtual sex, because I cant find sex anywhere else - its just too difficult to find. Of course, excessive violence is also necessary - otherwise, how can I satisfy my sadistic habbits? Of course, some lunatics think there is more to gaming than that. Dont listen to them, they're just trying to spread misinformation. Anyway, this concludes my review of Mass Effect. Maybe I should get back to playing Pac Man now. Although I heard Fox news had criticised it for promoting cannibalism. Oh well, I guess they know best. I mean, since when have they ever told a lie? Expand
  90. KarlosCano
    Oct 26, 2008
    10
    This IS a really good game...it is better than the near perfect jede empire...i really love this game, it is the best game bioware ever made, everithing is just as it should be, the story is dramatic with really awesome endings, the graphics are just one of the best i've ever see, the music and the voice acting is perfect :D :D...i've beat this game like 8 times since i´veThis IS a really good game...it is better than the near perfect jede empire...i really love this game, it is the best game bioware ever made, everithing is just as it should be, the story is dramatic with really awesome endings, the graphics are just one of the best i've ever see, the music and the voice acting is perfect :D :D...i've beat this game like 8 times since i´ve buy it....and i just like it more every time i played it :D...it is really a masterpiece from bioware.....i really want the second part now.... XD Expand
  91. grahamS
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    I just don't understand the few critics of Mass Effect. A score of 54 from netjak! They must have played the wrong game. Bioware should be applauded for such a fantastic game. Apart from a few dodgy graphics (textures?) at times, the story was excellent and engrossing. Combat was fun, and conversations interesting, and often funny. This has to be my No1 game now; ahead of Half Life I just don't understand the few critics of Mass Effect. A score of 54 from netjak! They must have played the wrong game. Bioware should be applauded for such a fantastic game. Apart from a few dodgy graphics (textures?) at times, the story was excellent and engrossing. Combat was fun, and conversations interesting, and often funny. This has to be my No1 game now; ahead of Half Life (first one), Halo (first one) and Shenmue (first one). Please bring on the sequel as soon as possible, Bioware. You did a brilliant job. Expand
  92. OhmanM
    Mar 23, 2008
    9
    Netjak should honestly be removed from the reviews-- it's absurd and I've never even heard of them prior, I highly doubt they're a legitimate review site. A 54? Honestly, it brought the Metacritic grade down like 3 points with that crap.
  93. RommelA
    May 31, 2008
    10
    This is the best game to come in my hands. It hits my scale at 10/10, The gameplay is action-packed and the story-line is Massive and Emotional. The character Voicing is Top-Notch, best ive ever Heard. This surely "Drops My Jaw".
  94. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.
  95. ScottW
    Dec 17, 2009
    10
    Quite possibly the best game I've ever played. Nearly perfect in every way. Worth every penny of the cost.
  96. benf
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Best Bioware RPG to date, excellent setting, excellent characters, excellent duologue,excellent score although 1 or 2 niggles such as texture pop in and the fact you seem to have your own gravitational pull its worth an 9.8.
  97. RyanM.
    Jan 27, 2009
    10
    We all know its hard to live up to the hype of games made by companies who've had success with other games in the same genre. Fortunately, no one has to worry with Mass Effect, its a great game. Without giving too much away, the music is great, graphics are obviously good, conversations can be interesting, emotional, and even fun. Plus you're finally in a situation where We all know its hard to live up to the hype of games made by companies who've had success with other games in the same genre. Fortunately, no one has to worry with Mass Effect, its a great game. Without giving too much away, the music is great, graphics are obviously good, conversations can be interesting, emotional, and even fun. Plus you're finally in a situation where you're in control as spectre, which is cooler than just about anything. One of the best features might be the conversation wheel, some decisions made/had an emotional effect on me sometimes. I don't want to give anything else away, but if you buy an Xbox 360 anytime soon with the discount prices, this should be the first game on your list to buy along with Halo 3. Fans of Star Wars should especially like this game. Expand
  98. BarneeB
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    This is probably the only game I would give a 11 if it was possibble. I find it not just the best rpg, but simply the BEST GAME OF THIS GENERATION. I've never been shocked like this before by a game. Of course you can't directly compare older and newer games. It is even better than Kotor, which is saying something! The story is excellent! Production values are amazingly high! This is probably the only game I would give a 11 if it was possibble. I find it not just the best rpg, but simply the BEST GAME OF THIS GENERATION. I've never been shocked like this before by a game. Of course you can't directly compare older and newer games. It is even better than Kotor, which is saying something! The story is excellent! Production values are amazingly high! The attention to the smallest details is evident everywhere! There's so much content in the game that it blew me away. Graphics, music and voice-over is also top notch. There are some minor technical issues like occasional slowdowns, but they never break the game so it's probably doesn't even worth mentioning. Combat is also done very well, I enjoyed the game playing as a soldier the most, it became practically a shooter with RPG elements, and for me it is the best combination. The new conversation system works very well, it's hard to go back to the traditional one, found in other RPGs. Do yourself a favour and buy this game, even if you are mildly interested in scifi, shooter or RPGs! Expand
  99. Sasha
    Jun 21, 2009
    10
    this game is insane! the first time i played it i thought it kinda sucked, because i had no idea where to go and the menus r kinda weird to get used too. but i got it again(a year later) from gamestop for $15 and could NOT stop playing. the voiced acting is top notch and dialog options compete with oblivion and fallout3. the action feels a lot like Gears, which is nice, but i haven't this game is insane! the first time i played it i thought it kinda sucked, because i had no idea where to go and the menus r kinda weird to get used too. but i got it again(a year later) from gamestop for $15 and could NOT stop playing. the voiced acting is top notch and dialog options compete with oblivion and fallout3. the action feels a lot like Gears, which is nice, but i haven't tried the special powers yet so i don't have anything to say about them. the only down side to this game is elevators take longer than real life elevators to travel 1 floor. also, to people who say the graphics suck, first of all this game came out 2 years ago and i still find them really good. Expand
  100. DaxxO.
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Another outstanding game for the Xbox 360's library of exclusive titles. Mass Effect gushes with great gameplay, beautiful graphics, and has an excellent story that any sci-fi fan would love. BioWare has yet again created another RPG master piece that could easily win Game of the Year.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    92
    Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. Hardcore Gamer
    80
    As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]