User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1572 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. CJStrike
    Nov 15, 2007
    10
    Now I don't give out easy 10's. In comparison I thought BioShock was a 9.7. This really shows how good I believe this game is. For those who don't know, Mass Effect feels like a mix between 3rd person shooter, squad-based combat and an RPG style "choose your own adventure" dialogue system. I believe ME deserves a 10 based on the depth and complexity of dialogue and the Now I don't give out easy 10's. In comparison I thought BioShock was a 9.7. This really shows how good I believe this game is. For those who don't know, Mass Effect feels like a mix between 3rd person shooter, squad-based combat and an RPG style "choose your own adventure" dialogue system. I believe ME deserves a 10 based on the depth and complexity of dialogue and the story. There is so much you can learn about everything in the Mass Effect universe from talking to people or looking at the codex. The graphics are truely next gen as well as the music is truely amazing. The moments that define Mass Effect are the on-edge dialogue scenes where one option is life, and the other death. In a world full of strict shooters and strict RPGs, Mass Effect flirts with both extremely well. This allows for a much bigger audience to be able to play and enjoy this game. Overall I believe if you own a 360, you must own Mass Effect. Expand
  2. LeeA.
    Nov 18, 2007
    10
    The real nex-gen RPG is here. Mass effect, has an amazing story, great visuals, refreshing combat system and awsome interactivity. Even if you are not a fan of RPGs this game is a must have.
  3. HayleyM.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    The best RPG game ever released. This is not meant to be a shooter game, if you want a shooter, go play Call of Duty 4. This game plays out like an interactive, epic movie, and some of the choices you make completely change everything, and it is amazing to see! The graphics are so realistic and amazing compared to KOTOR's graphics! You will actually feel connected to your party The best RPG game ever released. This is not meant to be a shooter game, if you want a shooter, go play Call of Duty 4. This game plays out like an interactive, epic movie, and some of the choices you make completely change everything, and it is amazing to see! The graphics are so realistic and amazing compared to KOTOR's graphics! You will actually feel connected to your party members, and the dialogue wheel is so fun to use, you'll find talking to characters much easier than scrolling through lines of text like in KOTOR. This is a huge and amazingly in depth game, the codex (encyclopedia of Mass Effect) is huge, and there is so much detail in this game its amazing. A rare treat, where you actually will want to replay again, and never regret purchasing! Expand
  4. ChrisD.
    Nov 19, 2007
    10
    Mass Effect sets a new standard for storytelling and cinematics, just as Kotor did before it. It does has faults- Somewhat questioanable AI at times, sidequests that aren't up to the same standard as the main quest and the issues with textures loading that are prevalent with all games using the Unreal Engine. None of these stand in the way of making it a truly amazing experience Mass Effect sets a new standard for storytelling and cinematics, just as Kotor did before it. It does has faults- Somewhat questioanable AI at times, sidequests that aren't up to the same standard as the main quest and the issues with textures loading that are prevalent with all games using the Unreal Engine. None of these stand in the way of making it a truly amazing experience though. RPG of the year. Probably Game of the year. Expand
  5. MessiahL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Alright, the idiots who keep thinking this is a shooter need to find another medocre play--like Gears of War. The vacuous need not apply here. Mass Effect is easily one of the greatest RPGs of the decade--and I have no idea why people keep passing off the combat. Trust me, it isn't as bad as the critics claim. Though if you are more into testosterone-oriented gameplay like Crysis and Alright, the idiots who keep thinking this is a shooter need to find another medocre play--like Gears of War. The vacuous need not apply here. Mass Effect is easily one of the greatest RPGs of the decade--and I have no idea why people keep passing off the combat. Trust me, it isn't as bad as the critics claim. Though if you are more into testosterone-oriented gameplay like Crysis and GoW you might want to play a game with Dionysus. Storylines with depth might be intimidating to you--but keep out of metacritic, please. Expand
  6. JasonL.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I'm sure Sugreev doesn't even own a 360 he's probably another PS3 fan jealous of the 360 games. I like the way he says it's too long for an RPG...that is part of the point of being an RPG a long game that tells a great story. But back to business, this game is great; everything I have come to expect from Bioware. I'm only about 3 hours in but the story is very I'm sure Sugreev doesn't even own a 360 he's probably another PS3 fan jealous of the 360 games. I like the way he says it's too long for an RPG...that is part of the point of being an RPG a long game that tells a great story. But back to business, this game is great; everything I have come to expect from Bioware. I'm only about 3 hours in but the story is very involving the combat is gretat for an RPG, it's even solid if you were playing a shooter. My only gripes with this game and they are a minor annoyances are the fact that you can't learn abilities outside your class, I'm a Vanguard and I can't learn how to use a sniper rifle or an assault rifle so the guns are esentially useless. And the second thing is that I wish you could switch between abilites in combat without having to pause the game. But all in all this game is a fast paced KOTOR without the crappy frame rates. Everyone owes it to themselves to check this one out. Expand
  7. KevinB.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    I'm giving a 10, though I'd really rate it a 9.6, so I rounded up. This game is beautiful. Complex RPG character options, beautiful graphics, extreme customizability, great characters and story, this game is near perfect. One issue is that framerate stutters at times, but this is minimal. Also, some of the AI of the enemies I've encountered so far is rather simple, but then I'm giving a 10, though I'd really rate it a 9.6, so I rounded up. This game is beautiful. Complex RPG character options, beautiful graphics, extreme customizability, great characters and story, this game is near perfect. One issue is that framerate stutters at times, but this is minimal. Also, some of the AI of the enemies I've encountered so far is rather simple, but then again this game is focused on being an RPG, so in my opinion enemy AI in the FPS portions isn't that important. Overall, it's a superb game. Looks like it could overtake Bioshock for my pick for game of the year. Expand
  8. MB
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Great RPG, it's not a shooter though. I constantly hear gripes about the combat... personally I think that it is some of the best RPG I have expierenced. If you are buying the game for an RPG you'll love it, if you don't like RPG's then why would you buy it, or review it for that matter.
  9. SteveK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    10
    Not a shooter really, this is an RPG that uses some shooter elements in its combat. But this is a gorgeous, engrossing RPG experience. If you liked KotoR, this is a no-brainer. If you like RPGs, this is a no-brainer. If you like sci-fi, this is a no-brainer. I can't believe this game costs as much as some of those movie game pieces of crap they make nowadays. The best game I've Not a shooter really, this is an RPG that uses some shooter elements in its combat. But this is a gorgeous, engrossing RPG experience. If you liked KotoR, this is a no-brainer. If you like RPGs, this is a no-brainer. If you like sci-fi, this is a no-brainer. I can't believe this game costs as much as some of those movie game pieces of crap they make nowadays. The best game I've played in a long time, rivals oblivion for best next-gen RPG, and it has that kind of immersive, movie quality feel that I haven't experienced since the first KotoR, but Mass Effect's visuals are 1000% better than Knights of the Old Republic. A MUST buy for your 360. Expand
  10. JoshuaT.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    Awesome game. How can you not like this game? You must love Halo 3 a bit too much if you think this is long and boring! Sets the bar for RPGS everywhere!
  11. ChrisM.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The story, good god man the story.
  12. AndyK.
    Nov 21, 2007
    8
    Great RPG, good graphics, huge world...but ...weak shooter-part and some technical difficulties.
  13. JasonLong
    Nov 22, 2007
    8
    Odd sort of game. The RPG portions are pretty decent. Never have I seen interaction with NPC's as good as this. The combat kind of stinks and I feel it is inferior to KOTOR in this respect. A lot of work went into replayability, as all your squad members make comments etc depending upon your location.
    A bit of a mixed bag, yet I am still playing it, and am engrossed by the story. I
    Odd sort of game. The RPG portions are pretty decent. Never have I seen interaction with NPC's as good as this. The combat kind of stinks and I feel it is inferior to KOTOR in this respect. A lot of work went into replayability, as all your squad members make comments etc depending upon your location.
    A bit of a mixed bag, yet I am still playing it, and am engrossed by the story. I can overlook combat, strange bugs and the stilted graphics just because the game is so immersive.
    Expand
  14. StanH.
    Nov 20, 2007
    10
    The voice acting, directing, and production values are outstanding. It's going to be rough in the future for any RPG to offer either text responses or stilted audio replies. There are some technical flaws but what they've accomplished here far surpasses those and deserves full credit. Kudos!
  15. ButtP.
    Nov 23, 2007
    8
    A truly amazing game with an insane amount of depth. the characters are all unique and extremely rounded. but 18 hours to beat is far too short for something that's otherwise so grand. the setting is so epic and the story is so short and lacking. i constantly felt like i was being forced to plow through the story instead of being able to explore the game world at a pace i enjoyed, A truly amazing game with an insane amount of depth. the characters are all unique and extremely rounded. but 18 hours to beat is far too short for something that's otherwise so grand. the setting is so epic and the story is so short and lacking. i constantly felt like i was being forced to plow through the story instead of being able to explore the game world at a pace i enjoyed, like being forced to take an impatient tour guide through the gughenheim. the characters are deep with their own very unique backstories. but in a game i want to play the backstory, not just sit in the ship asking my squad personal questions (which they awkwardly and unrealistically are entirely game for). if more care would have been administered to the exposition then this game would've overcame its greatest flaw (talking head exposition) and accented its greatest achievement: depth and character empathy. i agree with most of the professional reviewers though when they say that what the game succeeds at, it succeeds at so well that youre willing to suspend those grudges for a second play-through. here's hoping for the funding and desire by bioware to create a mass-effect 2 which is as epic as the setting commands. Expand
  16. BenJ.
    Nov 23, 2007
    7
    Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great Right, I understand that some games can do well without a good story because they have good, fun gameplay. Mass Effect has tried the exact opposite. It's one of the most entertaining stories I've experienced in the past while. But here's the catch: this doesn't make it a good game. The gameplay (if it can be called that) is like repulsive icing on an otherwise great cake... The story and characters etc. are great, no complaints there. But the game fails at being an FPS (loved the thin hallways crammed with myself and 2 mentally challenged AI characters...nice) and it fails to be an action-RPG (or whatever it was going for) BECAUSE it failed dismally at implementing decent fighting mechinics, fps or not (No, I'm not a hardcore FPS player expecting this to be better than halo, half life 2 or insert good fps name here). Then there's the awful frame rate but I don't want to go there. I still WANT to like this game.... I just can't. I'm going to go read the book now and hope they release a movie based on it. Expand
  17. Barry
    Nov 24, 2007
    8
    Good fun at times, however does get a little boring with the stopping and interacting every 5 minutues. Graphics are good but not great, faces look wonky and out of shape, and it's a little grainy. Good storyline tho. Not the best game of the year either. COD4 & Assassin's Creed top it in that category.
  18. PeterHoughton
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    It's so rare to play a game that pushes the boundaries of video game graphics and is also a very fun to play. This game is so awesome, it's guaranteed there will be Sony and Nintendo fan boys entering 1 out of 10 ratings for this game on here. I read those to mean "we surrender, this game is too great for us!"
  19. JoshuaW.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    There are alot of technical issues with the game, side quests are not anywhere near the quality of the main quest (The sidequests are still better than many games out there). Those issues aside, you have to give this game a 10 because even though it's not a perfect game it still blows every other game away in terms of story, scope, sound/music RPG elements and 2nd best in graphics There are alot of technical issues with the game, side quests are not anywhere near the quality of the main quest (The sidequests are still better than many games out there). Those issues aside, you have to give this game a 10 because even though it's not a perfect game it still blows every other game away in terms of story, scope, sound/music RPG elements and 2nd best in graphics and 3rd person combat (other than Gears of War). Expand
  20. IanO.
    Nov 24, 2007
    10
    GOTY by far.... Absoloute must buy for people who love great storylines and brilliant characters
  21. JamesF.
    Nov 24, 2007
    9
    This game has the Bioware feel all over it, anyone who has played the Baldur
  22. StefC.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    There's some issues with the game such as the frame-rate and GUI, but if you can get past that, you will find a well thought out rpg. The exploration is fantastic, the story, the gameplay and the characters. If your on the fence deciding whether or not to purchase this game,
  23. DarrenR.
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    A truly immersive experience. The characters are alive more than in any game I've played. The graphics are great - very atmospheric. And the combat is far better than I was expecting. It's not a weak point at all! It's this or Bioshock for GOTY.
  24. Stef
    Nov 25, 2007
    10
    I'm not a big rpg fan by any means, but this game is something special. It feels right, it makes you care about your characters and those you meet. There's a storyline, depending on how much you want to invest, the more it will give. The combat is great fun, the presentation and voice acting is tremendous, exploration is awesome and the dialogue system is top-notch. There are I'm not a big rpg fan by any means, but this game is something special. It feels right, it makes you care about your characters and those you meet. There's a storyline, depending on how much you want to invest, the more it will give. The combat is great fun, the presentation and voice acting is tremendous, exploration is awesome and the dialogue system is top-notch. There are some minor issues such as frame-rate slow downs and GUI problems. But if you can look past these, you will find a universe that is richly thoughtout. Definitely lots of replay value in ths game. Expand
  25. DanielS.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    I think this game is immersive and beautifully rendered. You can find out as little about stuff as you would like or as much as you would like. I look into every detail, but if you want you can run and gun your way striaght to the end. I just really like this game, and I am taken back so many times by what is going on.
  26. TomA.
    Nov 26, 2007
    10
    Wonderful game. The people giving it 1's seem to forget that the game is first and foremost an RPG, and that good RPGs have emersive storylines. Mass Effect follows up on that with a great story, and amazing digital characters. Everything is in-game engine, and looks beautiful. Combat does have a stiff learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you can get your squad to wield a Wonderful game. The people giving it 1's seem to forget that the game is first and foremost an RPG, and that good RPGs have emersive storylines. Mass Effect follows up on that with a great story, and amazing digital characters. Everything is in-game engine, and looks beautiful. Combat does have a stiff learning curve, but once you get the hang of it, you can get your squad to wield a lot of power, especially if you can master syncronization of powers such as lift and throw to knock a strong enemy off a ledge to their death. Most of the complaints are about minor glitches, many of which could be fixed with a patch. Expand
  27. SammyJ.
    Nov 26, 2007
    9
    Don't be fooled... this is a proper RPG game in the Final Fantasy-esque mould, but taking out some of the more intricate RPG tactics and using the room created to fill in on massive story and universe detail. It's sold as a cross between a shooter and RPG, but it's definitely more the latter simplified down to include the former. I personally like the interfaces for battle Don't be fooled... this is a proper RPG game in the Final Fantasy-esque mould, but taking out some of the more intricate RPG tactics and using the room created to fill in on massive story and universe detail. It's sold as a cross between a shooter and RPG, but it's definitely more the latter simplified down to include the former. I personally like the interfaces for battle and travel. Dionysus reckons it's a slideshow, that's cos he obviously isn't an RPG fan... this is exactly the kind of thing any RPG fan would get right away and enjoy even more. I'd say this is by far the best RPG experience on the Xbox. The only complaint I have so far is the dodgy vehicle controls for the Mako tank/car. Other than that, it's great and well worth £40 of your earthly credits. Expand
  28. PhilipW.
    Nov 26, 2007
    8
    Great graphics, impressive scope, squad tactics, and compelling choices between paragon/renegade storyline create a lot of depth here. Unfortunately the game is not quite there. Combat can be a chaotic mess made worse by frame rates that completely stall out when the action gets hot. Controls on the Mako can also get frustrating. Finally (though somewhat expected in RPGs these days) there Great graphics, impressive scope, squad tactics, and compelling choices between paragon/renegade storyline create a lot of depth here. Unfortunately the game is not quite there. Combat can be a chaotic mess made worse by frame rates that completely stall out when the action gets hot. Controls on the Mako can also get frustrating. Finally (though somewhat expected in RPGs these days) there is a lot of time spent back-tracking (slowly as the protagonist moves painfully slow) between NPCs to relay conversations, information, etc, and lots of waiting during load cuts (none are too long, but they're frequent) and elevators. Expand
  29. StevenB.
    Nov 27, 2007
    10
    An incredible experience, despite some minor technical flaws. If you have any love of sci fi, role playing games, shooters or great stories, you should play this game.
  30. Drew
    Nov 28, 2007
    10
    Words cannot describe how epic this game is, an adventure for the ages and by far the most rewarding game I have experienced. The characters and world created put you at awe each time you look across the environments and cities. The story is the deepest and most playable in video game history in my opinion as all people who enjoy RPG's or any adventure at all should not pass up this Words cannot describe how epic this game is, an adventure for the ages and by far the most rewarding game I have experienced. The characters and world created put you at awe each time you look across the environments and cities. The story is the deepest and most playable in video game history in my opinion as all people who enjoy RPG's or any adventure at all should not pass up this amazing game! Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. It's an adventure that is so captivating that you'll be counting the days for the sequel. It takes interactive storytelling to new heights, and brings the player closer to content than ever before. It's easily one of the year's best titles and one of the most impressive games to date. [Nov 2007, p.151]
  2. Far from being a ponderous sci-fi exposition, Mass Effect boasts a dynamic, well-constructed story with a broad emotional range. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. As it is, it's merely very good on several different levels, and is more or less a must-play for RPG fans. It will drive shooter fans completely up the wall, though. [Dec 2007, p.56]