Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1550 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mass Effect is a science fiction action-RPG created by BioWare Corp., the commercially and critically acclaimed RPG developer of "Jade Empire," and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic." As the first human on the galactic stage, you must uncover the greatest threat to civilization. YourMass Effect is a science fiction action-RPG created by BioWare Corp., the commercially and critically acclaimed RPG developer of "Jade Empire," and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic." As the first human on the galactic stage, you must uncover the greatest threat to civilization. Your job is complicated by the very fact of your humanity, as no one trusts you and you need to find a way to convince everyone of the grave threat. You will travel across an expansive universe to piece the mystery together. As you discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, you come closer to an overwhelming truth - learning that the placid and serene universe you know is about to come to a violent end and that you may be the only person who can stop it! In addition to the main story arc of the game, players are be able to visit a large number of uncharted, unexplored planets which are side quests independent from the main story. At any time during the campaign, a player can choose to explore one of these planets and have an opportunity to discover new alien life, resources, ruined civilizations and powerful technologies. Talents and abilities are upgradeable and advanced talent options become available at higher levels. Weapons and vehicles are customizable to include various effects, abilities and upgrades using the "X-Mod" system. Each character class have unique talents and abilities which increase in power as the player progresses through the game. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. 100
    Mass Effect certainly has a few flaws, but it's easily the most enthralling space adventure that's ever been created for a video game platform. It honestly makes the Halo narrative look like amateur hour!
  2. 100
    It's a rare thing when a game comes along with the power to move a player emotionally... Mass Effect takes interactive entertainment to breathtaking new heights.
  3. Looks like a movie and plays like a great sci-fi novel. The shooter-based combat system might feel simplistic at first, but it's really a boon that great enhances the pacing of the game. The action is quick and you constantly feel that you're on the move. Mass Effect is just about the best 30 hours of video gaming you can get in 2007. [Dec 2007]
  4. Mass Effect certainly has flaws, but it’s easily the most enthralling space adventure that’s ever been created for a video game platform. It honestly makes the Halo narrative look like amateur hour.
  5. The more time you spend interacting with the characters and the world around you, the more you will enjoy the wonderful experience it has to offer. This is a galaxy truly worth saving.
  6. This isn't for action fans, but instead, those who are looking for an entertaining gaming experience from beginning to end.
  7. 54
    Mass Effect is a serviceable game and there is plenty of fun to be had, just be prepared to be frequently slapped in the face by how inconsistent everything is. Mass Effect is a resoundingly average game in every aspect, which is a complete letdown given BioWare’s history.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 387
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    A tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to theA tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these things can only begin to explain the wonders of this game. Yeah, it's good. Expand
  2. AnonymousMC
    Dec 29, 2007
    10
    I love how people like Tom compare ME gameplay with Mario galaxy,yes good comparsion,lets compare STarcraft2 with cooking mama in gameplay atI love how people like Tom compare ME gameplay with Mario galaxy,yes good comparsion,lets compare STarcraft2 with cooking mama in gameplay at the future too...

    If you loved Kotor you will Love ME,it has framerateproblems in combat,but its not more then in Kotor,the story and the characters are well made,the gameplay has been refined to suit action fans,and hardcore rpg fans with a pause button.
    Expand
  3. Aug 31, 2010
    10
    Have yet to play mass effect 2 but simply put this game is amazing. It has sci-fi, guns, dialogue trees, Seth Green and an amazing story. AHave yet to play mass effect 2 but simply put this game is amazing. It has sci-fi, guns, dialogue trees, Seth Green and an amazing story. A must buy for anyone who owns a 360. Expand
  4. ChrisR.
    Jan 5, 2009
    9
    I wouldn't say this is Hollywood worthy, but its certainly a great game. The leveling feels quite balanced which is nice, the face I wouldn't say this is Hollywood worthy, but its certainly a great game. The leveling feels quite balanced which is nice, the face customization is quite frankly awesome, if seen A LOT worse. the different classes are well balanced. I only have a few complains. The amount of information in the game about races, cities etc is quite frankly TOO heavy, I don't want to study the history on a city, just give me a mission and i might learn something on the way. The Sniper Rifle's in the game were a joke, although more true to life and yes it takes a lot more skill to use it by comparison to lets say gears of war but its my favorite weapon and i felt kinda cheated, forcing me to use the godforsaken shotgun. The feeling of epic is by far at large here but with the ever grounding reality that for every system you visit, you can only visit one planet, which again made me feel cheated. Put it this way if the next installment allows your to explore EVERY single planet that would be from a technical standpoint impressive, but mind crushing for a player. Overall the game is great and some of the choices you can make are groundbreaking compared to other dialog based games. Just too much of everything really. Its like getting a Sunday roast to realize you have a shit load of peas and carrots on your plate and not a lot of roast beef and roast potatoes. Expand
  5. Jan 18, 2014
    9
    When I first saw the box to this game I immediately thought it had the production quality equivalents of a B-Movie and ignored it. A couple ofWhen I first saw the box to this game I immediately thought it had the production quality equivalents of a B-Movie and ignored it. A couple of years later people were talking about the quality of this game then I found out it was made by the same team responsible for Knights of the Old Republic, then I found out it was part of a planned trilogy where the actions in one game could effect the story of the entire trilogy. So I was excited to play this game and I wasn't disappointed. They take the basic combat concept of Gears of War, cover based shooting, and placed it in a huge sci-fi world full of great characters in a wonderful art style. The story and massiveness of this game gain it's score but it's also it's hugeness that make it miss out on a 10, there is too much scanning of planets, much time wasted in an already big game. The only other negative is the lack of choice in weaponry. Overall this game is great stand alone without the involvement of a trilogy, which I suppose was the success of Star Wars, and is a must own of the generation and can now be picked up for a very friendly price. Expand
  6. Jan 15, 2015
    8
    Mass Effect series is a competent squad based cover shooter with ARPG roots set to a sci-fi theme. Each game is episodic in nature soMass Effect series is a competent squad based cover shooter with ARPG roots set to a sci-fi theme. Each game is episodic in nature so experiencing the entire series is required if you want the full story. This being a Bioware creation all the titles have branching story arcs. Plus the moral system of paragon and renegade (light or dark choices) adds another level of motivation for extended replays. The beauty of theses games that the major key choices and decisions that you make can be carried over to the next game. A great series of games with a great finale. What more could I have asked for? Expand
  7. FredB.
    Jun 28, 2008
    0
    This game has poor graphics for a XBOX360 game and poor taste. It appeals to little teenagers though.

See all 387 User Reviews