Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 74 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1493 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Mass Effect is a science fiction action-RPG created by BioWare Corp., the commercially and critically acclaimed RPG developer of "Jade Empire," and "Star Wars: Knights of the Old Republic." As the first human on the galactic stage, you must uncover the greatest threat to civilization. Your job is complicated by the very fact of your humanity, as no one trusts you and you need to find a way to convince everyone of the grave threat. You will travel across an expansive universe to piece the mystery together. As you discover and explore the uncharted edges of the galaxy, you come closer to an overwhelming truth - learning that the placid and serene universe you know is about to come to a violent end and that you may be the only person who can stop it! In addition to the main story arc of the game, players are be able to visit a large number of uncharted, unexplored planets which are side quests independent from the main story. At any time during the campaign, a player can choose to explore one of these planets and have an opportunity to discover new alien life, resources, ruined civilizations and powerful technologies. Talents and abilities are upgradeable and advanced talent options become available at higher levels. Weapons and vehicles are customizable to include various effects, abilities and upgrades using the "X-Mod" system. Each character class have unique talents and abilities which increase in power as the player progresses through the game. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 70 out of 74
  2. Negative: 0 out of 74
  1. 100
    Mass Effect certainly has a few flaws, but it's easily the most enthralling space adventure that's ever been created for a video game platform. It honestly makes the Halo narrative look like amateur hour!
  2. 100
    It's a rare thing when a game comes along with the power to move a player emotionally... Mass Effect takes interactive entertainment to breathtaking new heights.
  3. Looks like a movie and plays like a great sci-fi novel. The shooter-based combat system might feel simplistic at first, but it's really a boon that great enhances the pacing of the game. The action is quick and you constantly feel that you're on the move. Mass Effect is just about the best 30 hours of video gaming you can get in 2007. [Dec 2007]
  4. Mass Effect certainly has flaws, but it’s easily the most enthralling space adventure that’s ever been created for a video game platform. It honestly makes the Halo narrative look like amateur hour.
  5. The more time you spend interacting with the characters and the world around you, the more you will enjoy the wonderful experience it has to offer. This is a galaxy truly worth saving.
  6. This isn't for action fans, but instead, those who are looking for an entertaining gaming experience from beginning to end.
  7. 54
    Mass Effect is a serviceable game and there is plenty of fun to be had, just be prepared to be frequently slapped in the face by how inconsistent everything is. Mass Effect is a resoundingly average game in every aspect, which is a complete letdown given BioWare’s history.

See all 74 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 381
  1. Sep 1, 2010
    10
    A tear comes to my eye as I think about how best to express the pure joy this game brings. That sense of joy can come from climbing to the top of a mountain on a world at furthest reaches of the galaxy and witnessing an alien sunrise, the stunning and original story line, and even looking down at your feet as you board a cargo ship and see the entire universe below you. All these things can only begin to explain the wonders of this game. Yeah, it's good. Expand
  2. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Despite some superfluous RPG elements,this is one of the finest games made.With a brilliant story,characters and setting,become Commander Shepard(Male or Female) and explore the galaxy in the search for a way to stop the Reapers,sentient alien spacecraft who destroy all organic life in an endless cycle repeated every 50,000 years.Visit alien worlds,recruit bounty hunters,assassins,scientists and soldiers to uncover the secrets of the past and future.Get to know your ship and crew intimately,and fight the extinction! Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I hate looking like one of those stupid fanboys that automatically scores a game a 10. I can assure you I am a fanboy well earned. I had an absolute blast with every single second of this game. I put it in, feeling very uncertain (at the time I didn't keep up with videogame news and had no idea what it was, just decided it looked cool). It quickly grabbed me and 5 years later I still commend it as one of the greatest games I have ever played. Yes it does have some minor issue, the elevator rides were excuses for long loading screens and some texture popping issues, but nothing that makes this game any less than perfect. It is truly the pinnacle of perfection for story telling in gaming, or any for of entertainment for that matter. This is the incredibly rare perfect game, the perfect diamond, the unicorn....GET IT Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    Phrases like "genre defining" and "revolutionary" are thrown around far too cavalierly in gaming, but Mass Effect is one of the few that actually deserves these kudos. Set in an immersive sci-fi universe, Mass Effect combines solid gameplay mechanics with an outstanding story to create a game that is part RPG, part action, and all entertainment. Difficulty can be adjusted to either provide a strong combat challenge or provide more story-centric gameplay by easing combat. At its heart, this game is about putting you, the player, into an engrossing science fiction epic, easily on par with a grand space opera like Star Wars. User interface is excellent, particularly the dialog system. Players are not part of a static story that will play out the same every time; the choices made at every point in the game have dramatic effects on the world and plot. The release of the sequel means that the decisions made in this game not only affect this story, but the plot in installments to come. Players have the option to customize weapons and armor with in-game mods, which, combined with a variety of character classes, means that combat can be tailored to one's own style. There is, amid this glowing review, a few points where the game does have rough spots. After the initial mission, the game has a very slow start and requires some patience. Combat mechanics are not perfectly smooth, and there is no intuitive cover system. Finally, controls for the ground vehicle are inaccurate and awkward, which can be a source for some frustration. Even with these issues, however, Mass Effect still stands out as one of the best games ever produced. Now that Mass Effect is in the Platinum Hits collection and has a series of DLC packs that are truly entertaining, any true sci-fi fan with an Xbox should own a copy of this game. Expand
  5. Aug 7, 2012
    9
    Within the first 1 or 2 hours into the game, I already knew my purchase was worth it, the interactivity in the new story where I could pick my own outcomes was great, I had never felt such an experience, the graphics were great for it's time and I think it was definitely game of the year 2007. The one and only problem I had was the driving around on random planets with the Mako, it was required to get the 'Completionist' achievement, it did get a little annoying scaling all of those mountains. Expand
  6. Jun 3, 2013
    8
    This game takes a lot of time to get used. The combat is a bit awkward, the cover system isn't any better. The story and dialogue are beyond that of any game of its time. There's an enormous and imerssive universe to take part in. Once you're in, it's hard to get out. You'll find yourself exploring planets, getting to know other characters, fighting using either guns or powers or both. Expand
  7. Dec 9, 2010
    3
    Why oh why oh why do gamers love this game? Did it come with a free $100 dollar bill with every purchase? This game is mostly reading (and a whole lot of running around) with a little bit of combat here and there, and poorly done combat as well. If the enemy has ANY cover whatsoever, you can't harm them. You can't shoot them from cover either. I don't like being punished for doing the right thing. A game should be played, not read. If I wanted to read I'd buy a book at Barnes and Noble. This game is proof positive that game critics in magazines get paid for giving good reviews to dull games. Expand

See all 381 User Reviews