Max Payne 3 Xbox 360

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 855 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    I was very angry about this game it was so impressive and fun,but there was a bad bug that made me start the storyline all over again all dang over again... and after that happened i'm like screw this.It was a very good game besides that bug.
  2. May 29, 2012
    7
    An interesting approach on the whole. A step forward in many regards--all the post-effects on the gameplay, the immersive storytelling and all the back-loading keep the player involved in the story with no load times--but a very linear experience that doesn't allow the player much leeway in the traditional "game" sense. It's fully designed to be an interactive story--one that's alreadyAn interesting approach on the whole. A step forward in many regards--all the post-effects on the gameplay, the immersive storytelling and all the back-loading keep the player involved in the story with no load times--but a very linear experience that doesn't allow the player much leeway in the traditional "game" sense. It's fully designed to be an interactive story--one that's already told and already decided, but you get to interact with the "cool" parts. Interesting stuff. Expand
  3. May 31, 2012
    7
    Even though the anticipation for this game will never live up to the actual product, I enjoyed playing Max Payne 3. What I did not enjoy was the length of the checkpoints. Talk about a game of headaches. If anything it is my own fault because I played on Free Aim, which makes things a lot more difficult, but if you want the achievements/trophies, you better turn it on Free Aim. MultiplayerEven though the anticipation for this game will never live up to the actual product, I enjoyed playing Max Payne 3. What I did not enjoy was the length of the checkpoints. Talk about a game of headaches. If anything it is my own fault because I played on Free Aim, which makes things a lot more difficult, but if you want the achievements/trophies, you better turn it on Free Aim. Multiplayer was chaotic, not as cinematic and glorious as advertised. A fun game, worth playing, great dialogue and action which is expected from Max, but wish the game had more of a RDR multiplayer. Listen to the full audio review on the podcast; http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2012
    5
    Rockstar undoubtedly had the best of intentions when making this game. However, while the gameplay is fine, albeit repetitive, the story doesn't make much sense, the multiplayer is just standard fair with a bullet time twist, and here are several immersion-breaking bugs, also with a few BIG game-breaking ones too, Max Payne 3 could've been something great, but instead it feels like anRockstar undoubtedly had the best of intentions when making this game. However, while the gameplay is fine, albeit repetitive, the story doesn't make much sense, the multiplayer is just standard fair with a bullet time twist, and here are several immersion-breaking bugs, also with a few BIG game-breaking ones too, Max Payne 3 could've been something great, but instead it feels like an unpolished, bland cash in. Expand
  5. May 17, 2012
    7
    First, let's address the obvious. Remedy did not develop this game. It definitely doesn't look much like the Max Payne we all know and love from the past. This doesn't necessarily make it bad, but it is different. You pretty much can get the idea if you're going to like the new look from all the media floating around. I personally prefer the grittier looks of the past games, but thisFirst, let's address the obvious. Remedy did not develop this game. It definitely doesn't look much like the Max Payne we all know and love from the past. This doesn't necessarily make it bad, but it is different. You pretty much can get the idea if you're going to like the new look from all the media floating around. I personally prefer the grittier looks of the past games, but this is merely a matter of opinion. That being said, let's get down to the real business. Perhaps I am spoiled by the fluidity of most modern console games, but I found that Max Payne 3 seems to have a huge problem with framerate. For a game that relies so heavily on pinpoint precision when not using the godlike auto-aiming abilities, it can be hard when you're running approx 15fps or less. The tiny dot reticle can easily be lost in all the flying debris and the occasional Rockstar wonkiness of close-quarters encounters hinders the fun as well. When not experiencing aiming issues when trying to do it without assist, there are several times that while using autoaim, I found that I didn't even need to use the sticks. Just press the left trigger to acquire target, right trigger to fire. Repeat. So long as you are pointed in the cardinal direction of an enemy, you'll land a hit. That's a little too forgiving. All that aside, the sound and voice acting is top-notch, and the environments are very immersive. Unfortunately the pushy urgency of the game forces you into the next setpiece, rarely affording you the opportunity to explore the finer details that an artist toiled over. The cover system usually works well, only a couple places does it fail (doorways seem to be hit and miss). The character animations are fantastic and I think sit securely at the top of the heap. Kudos to the mo-cap actors and the artists. The bullet-time effects occasionally take you back to the good-ol' days of Max Payne and the Matrix, but it mostly comes off as a little tired. I only used it when it forced me to, or in a last ditch situation. Overall I think despite it's beauty, story and sound, I'm really not having that good of time playing it. Dare I say it is like Kane & Lynch, except the previous ran at 60fps on console. Maybe another month in the optimization oven would have vastly improved the game, but with the ability to update and patch games these days, perhaps R* will be able to address these issues. My recommendation would be "don't pay full price". I'd pay $40 for it without regrets, but I can't say I'm pleased have paid full-price. Expand
  6. Jun 12, 2012
    5
    An OK game. Unlike Payne I and II there is not a lot of sneak up and listen to the mobsters then bust through the door and nail them all in bullet time. For some reason the AI always knows where you are regardless of how sneaky you are as if they are alerted to your presence immediately upon entering an area. Payne is constantly talking about something which actually got annoying becauseAn OK game. Unlike Payne I and II there is not a lot of sneak up and listen to the mobsters then bust through the door and nail them all in bullet time. For some reason the AI always knows where you are regardless of how sneaky you are as if they are alerted to your presence immediately upon entering an area. Payne is constantly talking about something which actually got annoying because if your in a room for more than 5 seconds he is already telling you where you need to go. The enemies did not increase in difficulty much throughout the game either. Payne fought for women he loved, out of revenge in I and II. In II he has no emotional connection to the people he is trying to save other than they pay his bar tab. I love Max Payne and could not give a negative review but it was a pretty poorly made game overall. Expand
  7. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    Underwhelming. Great score, voice acting, nice graphics and fantastic animations but on the other hand... annoying ai, bad level design, mediocre multiplayer, unremarkable story and gameplay sometimes becomes just frustrating and not very fun.
  8. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Boy, what a disappointment. I've been playing the Max Payne series, since it first came out on the PC - and this is arguably its worst iteration. While the first two titles of the series strongly depended on the style and elegance of sliding shooting through doors - now a bald, fattened version of Max Payne stumbles drunk through Brazilian favelas. I get it: It should add to the dark andBoy, what a disappointment. I've been playing the Max Payne series, since it first came out on the PC - and this is arguably its worst iteration. While the first two titles of the series strongly depended on the style and elegance of sliding shooting through doors - now a bald, fattened version of Max Payne stumbles drunk through Brazilian favelas. I get it: It should add to the dark and sad trauma he has been going through storywise - but the game lacks at every end: The controls on Xbox360 are frustrating. The shoot dodge movement is barely useful, as Max insists to bump into walls and doors whenever he's using it. He likes to get up under heavy fire or ignoring the safe side of a barricade. when dodging fire. To top it off - the writing is really, really bad. Why? Because I just don't care about Max as a character, nor about the people he's trying to save, nor that the game continuously demotivates me, by killing characters throughout the storyline I'm expected to safe.

    Stay away from this game.
    Expand
  9. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    No spoilers

    This is the first video game review I've written, and I am writing it because I felt compelled to do so. No game I've played recently has had such stark contrasts between the good and bad showcased within; being incredibly fun at times and unbearable in others. Although sometimes these alternated in such quick succession that it was making me feel as crazy as ol' Max
    No spoilers

    This is the first video game review I've written, and I am writing it because I felt compelled to do so. No game I've played recently has had such stark contrasts between the good and bad showcased within; being incredibly fun at times and unbearable in others. Although sometimes these alternated in such quick succession that it was making me feel as crazy as ol' Max himself. I want to start by saying I like Max Payne the character; I like where his story goes in this game, and I like the "gritty action guy" narration and grisly slowed down "bullet-time" stuff. It might be cheesy but I want to be entertained and on a basic level this is really fun tough guy entertainment. Max doesn't have real superpowers or anything. He's just a hard-ass dude who wants to do his job and then get all boozed up. It's great! In terms of gameplay it's very similar to the first two installments I remember from PS2. It can be challenging (on Normal mode) to a casual gamer like myself at times, but once you figure out what you should be doing you can usually win through by simply being more precise and playing better. However. This game is broken. It may simply be the XBOX 360 version that has problems, but the problems made the game frustrating beyond belief. For example when Max goes into a "Last Stand Mode" that players of this generation of games are familiar with he needs to shoot the last person who shot him. Which one? Meh, you died. The camera is behind Max's fat head? You died. The dude ducked behind cover? You died. Out of bullets in your revolver? You died. If for some reason the restricted "Last Stand" camera won't let you aim at the dude? You are dead. It gets worse. If you shoot the dude in "Last Stand" (only one bullet required) Max recovers while on the ground, takes a painkiller, and then STANDS UP! Like in the middle of a firefight. So you take damage from whoever you were ducking behind cover from. Sometimes a lot of damage. Like enough to put you into "Last Stand."

    There are also Golden Guns in the game with parts (3) hidden throughout levels. Being a check behind the staircase person I found 2/3 parts of every gun. Not a single third piece, despite being curious. I thought I had explored the levels thouroughly, and just found it frustrating that in playing the game I didn't get to see what these guns did. Speaking of guns I found it just stupid that while there were in-game (non XBOX Live) achievements for kills with each type of weapon there was no system for achieving proficiency with a preferred gun. By the end of the game I had realized that it is better to simply take the gun with the highest ammo capacity because a shotgun and a .38 basically take the same amount of effort to dispatch an enemy. That's no fun. I want to get good at a weapon type. It just made the game duller where the system to have proficiency upgrades basically seemed in place, but was passed by.

    The absolute worst was the cover-glitch. This glitch occurred occasionally throughout the game, and consisted of Max ducking behind cover and then freezing. I could reload, switch weapons, pause and drop weapons, but could not stand or escape cover. So I had to let someone shoot me to put me in "Last Stand" or restart from the last checkpoint. This was annoying but bearable until it started to happen more and more often towards the end of the game where levels become much longer and more challenging, with more time between checkpoints. I could laugh at many of the problems the game had but this was just maddening, and just seemed like pure laziness on the part of the makers.

    It simply does not make sense for a top-tier game to have been released with this many problems. I spent 40-60% of playing time in this game replaying levels that had broken or killed me due to poorly made gameplay aspects, It was purely frustrating at many times when it should have been the most fun, and the overall experience was ruined. TL:DR - Overall experience of the game is ruined by poor programming, mechanics, and character control even though the story and general gameplay could be good. Lazy execution by the makers of the game. Very, very low replayability
    Expand
  10. May 18, 2012
    5
    In the superb Grand Theft series and Red Dead, I can easily forgive a mediocre shooting component
    because of their vast,open worlds with numerous, fun things to do. I found this effort by Rockstar to be
    Max Painful,i.e., too linear ; frustrating combat involving numb, dumb bad guys, and a yawn-inducing narrative. Incidentally, I bought Metroid Prime 3 the other day for less than ten bucks
    In the superb Grand Theft series and Red Dead, I can easily forgive a mediocre shooting component
    because of their vast,open worlds with numerous, fun things to do. I found this effort by Rockstar to be
    Max Painful,i.e., too linear ; frustrating combat involving numb, dumb bad guys, and a yawn-inducing
    narrative. Incidentally, I bought Metroid Prime 3 the other day for less than ten bucks and am LOVING
    it!! Man, what a stellar, incredible game! Retro, I sure hope you're working on 4.
    Expand
  11. May 19, 2012
    6
    So often regarded as the gold standard of games developers, RockStar seems to be on a bit of a dip in recent years.
    GTA and Red Dead were stunning games, then along came L.A. Bore. It was terrible, but I forgave them and looked forward to Max Payne 3.
    But I'm disappointed again. Just like L.A. Noire, it's a demonstration of style over substance. It looks and sounds great, but it's so
    So often regarded as the gold standard of games developers, RockStar seems to be on a bit of a dip in recent years.
    GTA and Red Dead were stunning games, then along came L.A. Bore. It was terrible, but I forgave them and looked forward to Max Payne 3.
    But I'm disappointed again. Just like L.A. Noire, it's a demonstration of style over substance. It looks and sounds great, but it's so linear it might as well be an on-rails shooter. Those are the moments that you actually get to PLAY the game, cos the majority of your time will be spent watching cut scenes. There were parts during these interludes where I was thinking: Hey! I could be in control of that bit!
    The controls are clunky. When you are in control, it doesn't quite feel like you are. It's somewhat disengaged.
    This is my opinion after reaching the end of "Chapter 4", so I suppose there is time for redemption.
    Quickly played team death match...uninspiring run and gun festival of repetition.

    Please RockStar, lift your game for GTA5. I need that to be great.
    Expand
  12. May 28, 2012
    5
    What a disappointment, I was really looking forward to this game but it wasn't as good as I expected. Don't get me wrong is not a bad game, but its just as good as "reviewers" make it to be. First of all its incredibly frustrating, the check points doesn't make sense, they are either to far apart or even too close to each other. Worst of all at one point I finished a chapter and began theWhat a disappointment, I was really looking forward to this game but it wasn't as good as I expected. Don't get me wrong is not a bad game, but its just as good as "reviewers" make it to be. First of all its incredibly frustrating, the check points doesn't make sense, they are either to far apart or even too close to each other. Worst of all at one point I finished a chapter and began the other one, so I turn off the game and when I turn it on again I didn't started in the chapter that I started, It started in the last checkpoint of the last chapter, because as turns out the unskipable and long cut scenes don't count as a checkpoint so you have to wait till the scene is over and you start playing till you the new chapter officially began, even tough that at the beginning of the cut scene its says that you started a new Chapter. Secondly somethings just doesn't make sense in the game, like for a example at 1 time Max put a "home made" silencer in a gun, but that was just pointless because no matter what you do you are gonna face 2 guys and even if you use bullet time and kill them both with the silencer the other guys will magically hear it and go after you. Other thing that don"t make sense it's that when you are with your partner he tells you that he is gonna "cover you" but he only do for a couple of shots then he does nothing, even tough that he is gonna act like he still is covering you. Last but not least is the AI, Im all for smart AI but the AI is so smart to the point of being ridiculous, they never miss and they use cover way better than you, plus sometimes there are almost a dozen of them at the same time and when you are trying to kill the ones in front of you some of them will sneak beside you and shot you. I cant believe that this game got so many positive reviews and just a few "mixed ones" but on my opinion this game its only just average and a rental only. Expand
  13. Sep 3, 2012
    7
    Solid. If you like good graphics and blur effects plus the classical storytelling from Max Payne, you are in. Bullet Time is a nice extra, once you feel comfortable with the sometimes clunky controls. I enjoyed the replay by constantly using the Bullet Time which makes the whole game a kind of LSD trip.
  14. May 31, 2012
    5
    Some of the major playability issues which let this game down is the cut scenes which involuntary take over what your doing. The enemies can be tough so getting ammo is an important part of playing the game.

    However, on certain scenes if you kill all the enemies without picking up the ammo as you go along killing, you end up with no ammo on the next scene. This causes major frustrations
    Some of the major playability issues which let this game down is the cut scenes which involuntary take over what your doing. The enemies can be tough so getting ammo is an important part of playing the game.

    However, on certain scenes if you kill all the enemies without picking up the ammo as you go along killing, you end up with no ammo on the next scene. This causes major frustrations and headaches as you die from having to go rambo style on your foe by slow motioning right into their face. You also get issues regarding areas locking themselves down to stop you going back. Yes, I can understand the problems this can cause but it is really not giving enough freedom to go back to reasonable close locations and you loose out on ammo.

    Certainly can't remember Max Payne 1 and 2 having such frustration moments and whilst it is ok, it certainly isn't up to my expectations and just begins to look like another generic shooting game with bullet time.
    Expand
  15. May 20, 2012
    7
    Max Payne is a title most have not heard in conversation for a long time. Max Payne 2 was released in 2003 and a sequel has been long sought after ever since.

    Max Payne 3 is the first in the franchise to not include the original developer Remedy Entertainment and instead, is fully developed in-house at Rockstar Games. Usually this type of shift is an unfortunate end for most series but
    Max Payne is a title most have not heard in conversation for a long time. Max Payne 2 was released in 2003 and a sequel has been long sought after ever since.

    Max Payne 3 is the first in the franchise to not include the original developer Remedy Entertainment and instead, is fully developed in-house at Rockstar Games. Usually this type of shift is an unfortunate end for most series but Rockstar has a long history of making solid titles.

    Max Payne 3 takes place eight years after the second game and trades the dreary New York City locations for the upbeat tempo of Sao Paulo, Brazil. No longer an NYPD detective, Max is hired by Rodrigo Branco, a wealthy man with a lot of enemies. Read: a lot, it getâ
    Expand
  16. May 18, 2012
    5
    Wow. This is very dificult game to rate. The gameplay is awesome. But it is very oftem (almost between each two rooms) interupted by the cutscene. And the cutscenes are terible. They are using "inovative" effect like color filter changes, shaking parts of the screen, doubole and triple vision, etc. And it is overused in such degree that it is literally pain to watch. I stopped the gameWow. This is very dificult game to rate. The gameplay is awesome. But it is very oftem (almost between each two rooms) interupted by the cutscene. And the cutscenes are terible. They are using "inovative" effect like color filter changes, shaking parts of the screen, doubole and triple vision, etc. And it is overused in such degree that it is literally pain to watch. I stopped the game after 2,5 chapters because I felt sick and get real headache. Never ahppened to me before. So how I can obejctivelly rate the gameplay with good score, if the overal desing does not allow me to enjoy the game? I hope for patch that will let me disable this, otherwise I will sell the game soon. Im not masochist to endure this for 10 hours or so :-(
    If you are considering the game, go and watch few cutscenes on the youtube or just the cutscene trailer. Now imagine whole game is like this. And the cutscenes are everywhere.
    Expand
  17. May 26, 2012
    7
    With gripping action, top-notch animations, and a brand new setting, Rockstar delivers a re-envisioned Max Payne. The graphics do not set any industry standards, but they hold up quite well - although the combat animations are quite groundbreaking. Unfortunately I happened to encounter some glitches where the textures failed to load, and the sound disappeared, though compared to earlierWith gripping action, top-notch animations, and a brand new setting, Rockstar delivers a re-envisioned Max Payne. The graphics do not set any industry standards, but they hold up quite well - although the combat animations are quite groundbreaking. Unfortunately I happened to encounter some glitches where the textures failed to load, and the sound disappeared, though compared to earlier Rockstar titles it wasn't that bad. It could also get frustrating at times with scarce checkpoints far in-between and having the weapon reset after cutscenes - this could be related to the transitions from cutscenes to gameplay though. The developers try to make combat easier when the player is struggling by handing out painkillers and ammo after a certain amount of deaths, though if you happen to enter a cutscene without it, you might find yourself purposely attempting suicide only to take advantage of this - which is not very intuitive. The last stand element where you are given the option of using a painkiller if killing the enemy who shot you is quite handy, but if there's an obstacle in your way or you're out of ammo, it becomes quite tedious as it only leaves you having to watch your inevitable death in slow-motion. The clues and things you find along the way don't really add much to the story, but can be quite enjoyable and a nice touch for players who like to explore. Rockstar is definitely one of the few developers who could take on a plot like Max Payne with such amibitiousness. And although it's not very realistic, they are able to involve you in the story with great use of narration and action-driven editing, as you enter on a mind bending journey likely to stick with you after it ends. Expand
  18. May 26, 2012
    7
    For all the excitement and delays around the next Max Payne, it wasn't worth it 100%. This game reminds me of a little like Uncharted 3 with its area to area combat sequences. First off let me start with the negative. Slow motion gun fight has its moments but lacks memorable takes like the original. The easter eggs in this game doesn't appeal to me. I really don't care finding golden gunsFor all the excitement and delays around the next Max Payne, it wasn't worth it 100%. This game reminds me of a little like Uncharted 3 with its area to area combat sequences. First off let me start with the negative. Slow motion gun fight has its moments but lacks memorable takes like the original. The easter eggs in this game doesn't appeal to me. I really don't care finding golden guns while my head is being shot at. I don't think it belongs in this genre of game. And like Uncharted the cover system is suspect. More ammo would have made this game more fun to play with less stress and a better thought out story. Seems to me Mr Payne is running low on confidence in the world and that's hard to play. Anyways it ain't all bad. Being Max again takes me back. Bad A.. and ready to fire on sight. With nothing to loose Max again gets himself into trouble. Controls are simple to use and of course slow mo gun fights are still a cool concept especially the new slow mo finishers. As mentioned earlier there is easter eggs for you to find if you like that sort of thing. Seems a bit hard for me at times even on easy difficulty setting. There are multiple difficulties to choose from to test your patients. And dual held weapons are always cool to use. To keep it short, most people love this run and duck sort of game which draws good reviews. On the other hand I speak for the minority and say that it's not all that it wraps up to be. If you have a PC right now, why not try Diablo 3 first if you have only money for one game at the moment. Expand
  19. May 16, 2012
    6
    Well, I am coming from the standpoint of loving the last two Max Payne games. I had high expectations for this one. Max Payne has style, sure, and it has decent graphics. It even has fantastic voice acting and amazing sound design. However, the most important part is what failed for me. The gun play is..I'll say it....atrocious. Its not sensitive enough at the start, and by the timeWell, I am coming from the standpoint of loving the last two Max Payne games. I had high expectations for this one. Max Payne has style, sure, and it has decent graphics. It even has fantastic voice acting and amazing sound design. However, the most important part is what failed for me. The gun play is..I'll say it....atrocious. Its not sensitive enough at the start, and by the time you've got the cursor going, it's swinging wildly in over aim. It's not lack of skill either, I have no problem with Halo or COD, or any other FPS for that matter. The reticle is TINY for the pistols, which are your go to weapon, similar to how the reticle was in RDR. And I hated it then. It's too small and its only on the screen when you are aiming, so in a pinch, it's easy to lose it in background art. The gunplay just isn't satisfying, it's either the wildly difficult free aim, or the haxorz auto aim, which takes all the fun out of it. I remember MP2 being way more fun and way more dynamic than this game. Anyway, that's my two cents. IMO, it's a rental at most. Expand
  20. May 19, 2012
    5
    Rockstar mimics successful formula of the original series but eventually fails to capture the charm of the original. Gameplay suffers from shoddy controls and boring levels that offer few tactical choices during shoot-outs. Checkpoints repeatedly put you against a swarm of enemies with barely one cover around . The result is a static encounter or frequent death, the latter resulting inRockstar mimics successful formula of the original series but eventually fails to capture the charm of the original. Gameplay suffers from shoddy controls and boring levels that offer few tactical choices during shoot-outs. Checkpoints repeatedly put you against a swarm of enemies with barely one cover around . The result is a static encounter or frequent death, the latter resulting in tedious backtracking. If there are cutscenes tied to the checkpoint, you will see them again and again without chance to skip. Gone is the noir atmosphere and well-penned Marlowesque monologues. New Max is a boring character chasing McGuffins that are difficult to care about. Cutscenes try to evoke the comics-inspired look of the original. The ambitious effort falls short due to poor editing that creates comics panes with random placement at random angles, full of busy effects and senseless dialogue excerpts. An interesting idea ends up feeling pretentious and artificial. Despite the sub-par lighting of its in-house Rage engine Rockstar did a good job in making the game visually appealing. The art-direction is tight, cutscenes impress with high-quality mo-cap and Euphoria animation engine makes enemy reaction to your bullets nothing short of spectacular. Sadly, the work of programmers, artists and animators has been sabotaged by design and narrative teams. The result is a mediocre shooter that did not manage to replicate the original recipe. If you are not familiar with game's predecessors, give it a chance after price drop. Fans of Max Payne and Rockstar's previous work may find themselves thinking that despite the stellar reviews of his clothes this emperor is walking around bare naked. Collapse Expand
  21. May 18, 2012
    5
    My review is primarily based on the multiplayer. I played the first couple chapters of the singleplayer game, but found it to be pretty boring. The multiplayer is pretty awful. The controls are very unresponsive. On occasion, when trying to roll, my character fails to roll at all. Taking cover takes too long as well -- not that taking cover is really useful. There seems to be no rhyme orMy review is primarily based on the multiplayer. I played the first couple chapters of the singleplayer game, but found it to be pretty boring. The multiplayer is pretty awful. The controls are very unresponsive. On occasion, when trying to roll, my character fails to roll at all. Taking cover takes too long as well -- not that taking cover is really useful. There seems to be no rhyme or reason behind what can kill you in multiplayer. For instance, when looking at where I had been shot after being killed, I discovered I had been killed by a single bullet to the forearm. ONE bullet in the FOREARM. The inaccuracy of a lot of the rifles is ridiculous. People can run around duel wielding submachineguns and hit me from long range, while my LMG with a good accuracy rating takes 40-50 bullets to kill something. The spawns are often terrible and some of the maps are pretty awful. I rented this game and feel like I wasted my money. Expand
  22. May 21, 2012
    6
    I loved the old max payne games, however this one was a disappointment. Though there is nothing technically wrong with it. It felt repetitive, and I felt like I had to force myself to finish it. The story is good, however the shooting/action is just the same bullet dodge/slow time, hide in cover, pop out rinse repeat. The online was also a distraction, at first it was a lot of fun, butI loved the old max payne games, however this one was a disappointment. Though there is nothing technically wrong with it. It felt repetitive, and I felt like I had to force myself to finish it. The story is good, however the shooting/action is just the same bullet dodge/slow time, hide in cover, pop out rinse repeat. The online was also a distraction, at first it was a lot of fun, but after a few hours it begins to feel stale as well. A fun little distraction for a few days, but ultimately lacks the depth needed to be a mainstay. However I didn't know why I was expecting anything different, Rockstar stayed true to the original games, and the gaming landscape has changed since then. A good story can't carry mediocre gameplay, and online is just a tacked on side note. Disappointment. Expand
  23. May 22, 2012
    6
    I think this game is highly overrated by professionals. By the score of >9 one would think this is an instant classice but it isnt't, it;s average and gets boring in the end. I am fond of Rockstar games I liked Red Dead Redemption a lot and also LA Noire, but this game has little development during the 14 chapters. Gameplay in chapters 1 and 14 dont differ. Story is really interesting andI think this game is highly overrated by professionals. By the score of >9 one would think this is an instant classice but it isnt't, it;s average and gets boring in the end. I am fond of Rockstar games I liked Red Dead Redemption a lot and also LA Noire, but this game has little development during the 14 chapters. Gameplay in chapters 1 and 14 dont differ. Story is really interesting and the first chapters are great to play but then it gets bored and some items which are nice in the first chapter gets really irritating. Like there is the overacted stupid boring voice of Max. Its just over the top American. One liners heard to often in games in the 80's and 90's. Then there are those words coming on the screen. They add nothing. First it looks cool but after 2 chapters they get boring and they add nothing to the story or experience. This game screams it wants to be cool and many people will fall for it, I also did the first chapters, but it fails deeply. Voice-acting is just really bad. Many reviewers are just blind by the trademark Rockstar I think. It must be the explanation for the high ratings. Its just 13 in a dozen game. Expand
  24. May 21, 2012
    6
    I wanted to give this game a higher score. The story is good. The voice acting is exceptional. The sound design is excellent. Honestly, it's all pretty darn good except for one thing: The actual GAMEPLAY. More specifically, the shooting mechanics. Rockstar knows how to make an open-world game like no other developer, but the linearity of MP3 puts an emphasis on the gunplay which isI wanted to give this game a higher score. The story is good. The voice acting is exceptional. The sound design is excellent. Honestly, it's all pretty darn good except for one thing: The actual GAMEPLAY. More specifically, the shooting mechanics. Rockstar knows how to make an open-world game like no other developer, but the linearity of MP3 puts an emphasis on the gunplay which is the one thing Rockstar doesn't do exceptionally well. Don't get me wrong, I love linear games as well as open-world games, but my linear shooters need great shooting mechanics and this game just deliver in that department : / Expand
  25. May 15, 2012
    6
    The game story is impressive the graphics beautiful and brings the expected level in 2012.
    I think the gameplay and controlls are very hard even on easy with free aim combo. (if you use hard lock the game become meaningless) Variety levels are fun although linear like a corridor with minimum freedom. The game atmosphere good but not like maxpayne 1 & 2.
    Authentic characters in very long
    The game story is impressive the graphics beautiful and brings the expected level in 2012.
    I think the gameplay and controlls are very hard even on easy with free aim combo. (if you use hard lock the game become meaningless) Variety levels are fun although linear like a corridor with minimum freedom. The game atmosphere good but not like maxpayne 1 & 2.
    Authentic characters in very long and boring cutscenes......
    Expand
  26. Xon
    Jul 10, 2012
    6
    MULTIPLAYER MAX PAYNE IN THE ASS

    The single player rocks. Perhaps it is because I live in Brazil that i can tell you visually and story-wise the game hits the nail on the head like I have never seen before in a game. I give the single player campaign 9/10. The single player is short but impressive so I bought the season pass. Man, do I rue the day i did that. First of all it is super
    MULTIPLAYER MAX PAYNE IN THE ASS

    The single player rocks. Perhaps it is because I live in Brazil that i can tell you visually and story-wise the game hits the nail on the head like I have never seen before in a game. I give the single player campaign 9/10.

    The single player is short but impressive so I bought the season pass. Man, do I rue the day i did that. First of all it is super difficult for me to get into a game. I can play any game online, Diablo 3, Syndicate, BF3...you name it. With MP3 I spend half the time trying to connect but failing due to "connection errors" and "failed synchronization". Also, I only started to enjoy the game after reaching level 10. Started. I haven't yet had a fun game.

    At this moment I am still unable to enjoy the multiplayer. I have written R* about my connection issues who have not responded.

    I am a hard working father with precious, little free-time. When I sit down with an hour to indulge I definitely do not choose MP3 multiplayer since it will be only frustrating.

    What a shame.
    Expand
  27. Jun 15, 2012
    7
    I have seen some funny reviews on here, totally irrelevant to the game. Rockstar going down hill ? Saint's Row being better then GTA ? Ugh, who are these people ?

    Good game, Greatly developed story (note not great story), fun and action-packed. It's worth definitely it's current score around a 7.5. Entertaining and worth being played, I can understand a mixed review but a negative one ?
    I have seen some funny reviews on here, totally irrelevant to the game. Rockstar going down hill ? Saint's Row being better then GTA ? Ugh, who are these people ?

    Good game, Greatly developed story (note not great story), fun and action-packed. It's worth definitely it's current score around a 7.5. Entertaining and worth being played, I can understand a mixed review but a negative one ? Great graphics, good story, a game that makes sense with huge budget made by renown game makers, how can that be a negative ? I agree with a post I read about Max being just a bit to whiny and that his character could have evolved but I guess the person developing him when straight from the movie instead of the games, I personally thought the time frame for slow motion was too long in the first two games.
    Expand
  28. Feb 17, 2013
    7
    It had been quite a while since I had played a shooter, so I thought I would pick one up. I decided to go for Max Payne 3 as I had been a fan of the first two games and it was currently on special offer. I was not sure what to expect from this installation, but I was glad to see that it largely lived up to it's predecessors. Just like in the first two games, Max is a fun character to playIt had been quite a while since I had played a shooter, so I thought I would pick one up. I decided to go for Max Payne 3 as I had been a fan of the first two games and it was currently on special offer. I was not sure what to expect from this installation, but I was glad to see that it largely lived up to it's predecessors. Just like in the first two games, Max is a fun character to play as cynical, jaded and with awful luck (and now with a serious drink/pills problem). Many bemoaned to move away from the film noir, graphic novel aspect of the first two, but it felt right to leave that behind in my opinion, as the game's setting would not suit that feel. For those who like their games at the cutting age technology-wise, maybe this is not for you the graphics are average and there are some technical issues at times. For the rest of us who are simply looking for a fun way so spend a few hours, you could do a lot worse than picking up Max Payne 3 and blowing away a few thousand terrorists, crooked cops and drug dealers. Expand
  29. Nov 1, 2012
    7
    In terms of general production values the game is great - visuals and gameplay are both tight and the dialogue works quite well too. The main problem with the game (to me) is that the main character is someone who doesn't care about life and whose job it is to protect people so obnoxious that I don't care if they die, making the first hours a bit tedious. But lacking initiative to keepIn terms of general production values the game is great - visuals and gameplay are both tight and the dialogue works quite well too. The main problem with the game (to me) is that the main character is someone who doesn't care about life and whose job it is to protect people so obnoxious that I don't care if they die, making the first hours a bit tedious. But lacking initiative to keep playing based on story, it's still a tight action game for anyone who likes cover shooters and bullet time. Expand
  30. Feb 26, 2013
    6
    Whilst playing Max Payne 3 my opinion on the game changed almost minute to minute. One second I would find myself enjoying the action packed, if rather one note, gameplay the next I would be closing to turning off the game through pure frustration.

    Anyone that has played any of the previous titles in the series won’t really find any gameplay surprises here and the bullet-time mechanic,
    Whilst playing Max Payne 3 my opinion on the game changed almost minute to minute. One second I would find myself enjoying the action packed, if rather one note, gameplay the next I would be closing to turning off the game through pure frustration.

    Anyone that has played any of the previous titles in the series won’t really find any gameplay surprises here and the bullet-time mechanic, while no longer as original as it was when the first game was released over a decade ago, can certainly still be great fun when you are able to get things right. The gunplay is also pretty solid but questionable design choices often make it seem as though the game is going out of its way to prevent the player enjoying themselves. Every so often the player will be handed back control following a cut scene to find themselves under heavy fire, if you don’t get your bearings quick enough you’re dead. A number of other sections will also see you killed pretty quickly if you go in all guns blazing leading to a frustrating amount of trial and error. On these occasions the game can become a generic, and rather average, cover based shooter forcing the player to pick of enemies one at a time. Try to imagine a slightly inferior imitation of Modern Warfare 2’s campaign (including the favela) and you’re not far off. Vest wearing bad guys that seem to be able to take three or four bullets to the chest and yet still continue to fire back at you only add further to the frustration. Having to repeat a section because you are killed by an enemy you assumed was already dead is not fun. Another of the games problems is that the gameplay doesn’t evolve at all from start to finish. I wasn’t expecting the freedom of an open world game but some choice in how to tackle certain missions would have been nice. Why could the bullet time mechanic not be used to help keep the player unnoticed by enemies for example?

    In terms of its characters and storyline this third outing is certainly aiming for a more serious tone. To be perfectly honest however this is another aspect of the game that doesn’t really work. Many of the cut-scenes are longer than necessary and simply end up intruding on the gameplay. Listening to Mr Payne spout increasing forced ‘film noir’ type metaphors is almost laughable on occasions and by the end of the game I wasn’t really paying much attention to what was going on.

    Thanks to some fantastically cinematic set pieces there is plenty of enjoyment to be had here but if this series is to attract me back for any sequels the developers need to get back to the drawing board and offer a bit more variety next time around.
    Expand
  31. Jan 1, 2013
    7
    The game was dark and gritty like a constant gnashing of teeth, which you'll inevitably be doing, having to replay certain parts. The mechanics certainly aren't as fine tuned as you would expect from a triple A title, but they don't completely turn you off either. I enjoyed the tone and narrative that kept you engrossed in the story and overall experience. Max Payne 3 is definitely worth aThe game was dark and gritty like a constant gnashing of teeth, which you'll inevitably be doing, having to replay certain parts. The mechanics certainly aren't as fine tuned as you would expect from a triple A title, but they don't completely turn you off either. I enjoyed the tone and narrative that kept you engrossed in the story and overall experience. Max Payne 3 is definitely worth a rental, I'm not however convinced this is worth a purchase. Expand
  32. Jul 17, 2012
    6
    I really wanted to like this game, honest. I am a big fan of rockstar and their games (with my favorites being Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto 4), but this one just didn't cut it for me. On one hand, you have great visuals, with nearly all of your surroundings reacting to the many firefights you have throughout the game; Max has some of the most inventive skills I have everI really wanted to like this game, honest. I am a big fan of rockstar and their games (with my favorites being Red Dead Redemption and Grand Theft Auto 4), but this one just didn't cut it for me. On one hand, you have great visuals, with nearly all of your surroundings reacting to the many firefights you have throughout the game; Max has some of the most inventive skills I have ever seen in a third person shooter, and I would often dive into bullet-time just because I could. On the flip side, however, the controls can be quite a pain to deal with, as my character would often get caught on walls while performing bullet-time. I would get snagged behind cover, struggling to get my character out of the way of oncoming bullets or grenades. The story was fantastic, but how far can good story and great visuals carry a game with bad controls? Expand
  33. Aug 10, 2012
    7
    This is a very competent third person shooter with good slow motion and bullet time effects but the occasionally the story detracts from game play as cut-scenes can be to long and cannot be skipped.
  34. Aug 19, 2012
    7
    Rockstar did a great job with the franchise, everything works perfect and the game is fun to play. It is not, however, a good MAX PAYNE, and because of that I couldn't love it as much as I wanted to.
  35. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    While the game does have some good points to it, it gets beyond repetitive at times. Sometimes poor controls get in the way of the otherwise decent cover based shooting, but it is definitely nothing special. However as with most Rockstar games there are some moments that make the ride worth it
  36. Feb 24, 2013
    6
    Disappointing effort for Rockstar; by fair their weakest game of the current generation. It's incredibly short, even by modern standards (about 10 hours for a playthrough), linear to the point of being completely scripted at times, and the gameplay is extremely shallow. If it weren't for the story and great presentation this game would be a complete dud. My only hope is that they carryDisappointing effort for Rockstar; by fair their weakest game of the current generation. It's incredibly short, even by modern standards (about 10 hours for a playthrough), linear to the point of being completely scripted at times, and the gameplay is extremely shallow. If it weren't for the story and great presentation this game would be a complete dud. My only hope is that they carry over some of the gunplay/cover mechanics to GTA V. Expand
  37. Aug 4, 2013
    5
    Unlike the first Max Payne (the only one I played) I found myself not having the slightest amount of empathy for this guy this time around. A self-analyzing, angst ridden, drug addicted alcoholic is boring and tedious in real life. Who thought that would be a good idea for gaming protagonist? Hmm? NO. There was no real motivation to drive Max forward. He should have gone home after theUnlike the first Max Payne (the only one I played) I found myself not having the slightest amount of empathy for this guy this time around. A self-analyzing, angst ridden, drug addicted alcoholic is boring and tedious in real life. Who thought that would be a good idea for gaming protagonist? Hmm? NO. There was no real motivation to drive Max forward. He should have gone home after the Panama debacle if he had a brain left in his alcohol soaked brain. The combat controls were at times unresponsive. He might get glued to cover, and not respond quickly enough to the (inconsistently) overpowered approaching enemies. All of it was clunky in general. The cut scenes ruined it for me. What is it with the direction of developers lately? Look at Tomb Raider and Resident Evil Six. Apparently THEY want to play the game FOR us. They have gotten so egocentric recently. I esp. can't stand a forced walk. Every door in the first third of the game is a freaking cut scene. Every cut scene starts you back with a handgun. Some reloads after death put you right out with no cover and again, holding a hand gun instead of that grenade launcher you had 5 secs ago. Occasionally after a big battle, it goes straight to cut scene. Need ammo? Want to grab an assault rifle, tough s***, WE want to show you what great movie makers we are! Aren't you impressed? NO. I am not. Expand
  38. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    So Max is back to deal out more death and violence while pumping painkillers and booze. But is it any good? Well, yes! As a matter of fact it's rather excellent and a very satisfying 3rd person shooter, which does justice to the Max Payne franchise. But that being said, I did have a few problems with it. First of all there's the constantly shaking camera and the lens flare, which sometimesSo Max is back to deal out more death and violence while pumping painkillers and booze. But is it any good? Well, yes! As a matter of fact it's rather excellent and a very satisfying 3rd person shooter, which does justice to the Max Payne franchise. But that being said, I did have a few problems with it. First of all there's the constantly shaking camera and the lens flare, which sometimes made me feel like Michael Bay and J. J. Abrams had decided to make a game together. Sorry, but I'm not a fan. When used to this extent it looses it's dramatic effect and feels more like a 4-year old jumping up and down flailing his arms while screaming, "Look at me, look at me, look at me, look at me!" It got so bad I actually had to stop playing at times, fearing a seizure.
    The second thing is the huge amount of cut scenes. Though they are very well made and does a good job of telling the story, they simply interrupt the action way too often. Just as a good firefight is going on and I was all psyched up BANG! another 3-5 minutes cut scene ripped me out of the game. It got to a stage where I literally shouted, "NO!" when it happened because it became detrimental to the gaming experience.
    But all said and done, Max Payne 3 is an excellent 3rd person shooter which is definitely worth a look, but be prepared for some really annoying interruptions.
    Expand
  39. Jun 30, 2013
    7
    A decent game, action-wise, however, I never cared for any of the plot lines of any of the Max Payne games and this game is no exception. But I didn't play this for the story line, rather for the action, which is good but is extremely repetitive. By the end of the game, I couldn't wait for it to be over. Multiplayer was mediocre but not bad. A solid buy at it's current price point ofA decent game, action-wise, however, I never cared for any of the plot lines of any of the Max Payne games and this game is no exception. But I didn't play this for the story line, rather for the action, which is good but is extremely repetitive. By the end of the game, I couldn't wait for it to be over. Multiplayer was mediocre but not bad. A solid buy at it's current price point of under $20 but I feel bad for people who bought this new for $60. Expand
  40. Sep 22, 2013
    5
    I believe this is one of the worst games rockstar has developed... Here are the reasons..

    1)Extremely linear No choice.. no freedom.. You are directed exactly as the game wants it.. 2) The bullet time mechanic is cool, but after the first 1000 kills it gets boring and repetitive.. 3) The game repeats its self a lot!! Go into a room kill 100 enemies, go to the next room kill another
    I believe this is one of the worst games rockstar has developed... Here are the reasons..

    1)Extremely linear No choice.. no freedom.. You are directed exactly as the game wants it..
    2) The bullet time mechanic is cool, but after the first 1000 kills it gets boring and repetitive..
    3) The game repeats its self a lot!! Go into a room kill 100 enemies, go to the next room kill another 100 it goes on for 10-12 hours..
    4)You can not skip cut scenes!! Which during your second playthough is an issue!
    5) way too much talking by max payne... almost non-stop!

    5/10
    Expand
  41. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Max Payne 3 is actually a good game. Gameplay is fantastic, unique and addictive. The story can make you see the pain of Max, for sure, but I didn't like it a lot, cause it's a simple story, that you will forget in about two days. I played the game too long and beat it three times (10 hours playthrough). Now, I'm going for hardcore mode, because gameplay is beautiful. Actually the gameplayMax Payne 3 is actually a good game. Gameplay is fantastic, unique and addictive. The story can make you see the pain of Max, for sure, but I didn't like it a lot, cause it's a simple story, that you will forget in about two days. I played the game too long and beat it three times (10 hours playthrough). Now, I'm going for hardcore mode, because gameplay is beautiful. Actually the gameplay saves this game and make it worth-buying, but story is frustrating for me, because it presents the legendary Max being a boozing bodyguard and involved in things, that don't concern a legend like him. After all, if you're a fan and liked the past two games, get thin one, cause you owe it to yourself. Otherwise, play the past two games and see after that if you want this one. Expand
  42. Aug 17, 2014
    7
    You'er Max Payne, an ex-cop hired to be bodyguard to a rich family in Brazil. It's supposed to be a vacation for you, but it turns out to be everything but. Shoot your way through carnage and mayhem, trying to solve a puzzle you never suspected. Kill hundreds of bad guys in slow motion, and with an assortment of weapons.

    Lots of fun, however, can be frustrating at times. Sometimes the
    You'er Max Payne, an ex-cop hired to be bodyguard to a rich family in Brazil. It's supposed to be a vacation for you, but it turns out to be everything but. Shoot your way through carnage and mayhem, trying to solve a puzzle you never suspected. Kill hundreds of bad guys in slow motion, and with an assortment of weapons.

    Lots of fun, however, can be frustrating at times. Sometimes the game gets repetitive, and then there are flaws in the combat system, and other errors that stop you from having a good, gun blasting time. All in all though still a good game. At least worth a rent. The story is very well done.

    You get two discs of Max Payne 3.
    Expand
  43. Jul 13, 2015
    6
    There is much to say as to why I don't like this game. For one, on harder difficulties in older Max Paynes, (1 and 2), it wasn't gut wrenchingly cheap to the point where an enemy (excluding the few and far between bosses) can take a headshot, their helmet simply fly off (and I know I hit them in the mouth where they're exposed) and they return fire and kill you. And the "minibosses withThere is much to say as to why I don't like this game. For one, on harder difficulties in older Max Paynes, (1 and 2), it wasn't gut wrenchingly cheap to the point where an enemy (excluding the few and far between bosses) can take a headshot, their helmet simply fly off (and I know I hit them in the mouth where they're exposed) and they return fire and kill you. And the "minibosses with shotguns" or whatever they decided to throw in here are absolute BS on hard. You could sit there with a submachine gun wailing on their heads with every round, yet I guarantee at some point they will get the upper hand and make you waste on of your health items just because Rockstar doesn't know **** about boss design. Yeah, after a few deaths the game will give you a break and give you some painkillers or whatever when it reloads your last autosave, but even then, it's usually barely enough and it feels like pure luck when you finally make it through. Why not just reduce the enemy count? Or hell, why not just make these "everything but a headshot only phases me" bulletsponge horse**** enemies take a few less shots to kill on the next reload? Also, who the **** is the guy going behind Max and locking every single door? Why? What's the purpose of this? When there's collectables involved, things like this in a game are even more frustrating.

    I don't understand why Max Payne needed a cover system, what this boils down to is, "wait for the enemy to reload and hit him in the head" or, "blindly fire an automatic gun into a hallway full of bad guys." It's redundant, Max Payne already had its own unique and entertaining system for avoiding fire and giving you an edge over the enemies, and yeah, it's still in here, but you waste half of your bar just from one leap, and it's bundled with an unecessary second wind mechanic. Or at least, it would've been uncessary if they toned down the hit-detecting AI that pin-point shot your head if you so much as one of Max's hairs pop out of cover.

    Then there's the story, yeah ok, MP1 Max gets revenge on people who wronged him, MP2, he gets his revenge on the remaining people. Here? They use the backstory of 1 and 2 to shoehorn him into some white knight role, not to mention at one point they make Max look like a total moron if you find a certain clue during one of the flashback sequences. Max might not be the smartest guy, but after finding that clue, it's like they didn't even try to develop Max anymore than, "clueless drunk beyond his prime who gets swept along for the ride," gee, sounds like another one of Rockstar's characters. I didn't really have a problem with the more serious tone of the game, it's just the way it's told, interrupting you every time after leaving behind a pile of dead bodies, that gets annoying.

    For all these faults, I will say the game is well optimized, sound is nice, and it looks great. However, if you're thinking of getting into Max Payne, only play the first two, and stay away from this.
    Expand
  44. May 29, 2012
    0
    DONT BELIEVE THE HYPE!!!!, Rockstar really needs to get it together because i have not been satisfied with anything they have made( sans ballad of gay tony dlc) since they put out GTA San Andreas. Every title since then has been hyped up garbage hidden by beautiful graphics. In this game their are Cutscenes everywhere, it wouldnt have bothered me if the gamplay wasnt repetitive, but it isDONT BELIEVE THE HYPE!!!!, Rockstar really needs to get it together because i have not been satisfied with anything they have made( sans ballad of gay tony dlc) since they put out GTA San Andreas. Every title since then has been hyped up garbage hidden by beautiful graphics. In this game their are Cutscenes everywhere, it wouldnt have bothered me if the gamplay wasnt repetitive, but it is so yea. And the story really isnt that engaging sense majority of the time you will be watching cutscenes.There really arent that many weapons either , and finding the golden parts to them really doesnt change anything but their appearance. This game also is kind of like yet another call of duty clone. Last time i checked Max Payne didnt need cover, but ole well. I will say it was a good effort to make Max Payne relevent again, but the wait definitly wasnt worth it. Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 80
  2. Negative: 1 out of 80
  1. Hyper Magazine
    Jul 8, 2012
    90
    A compelling, down and dirty bullet basket populated by real characters and visceral gunplay. [July 2012, p.55]
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    90
    The presentation is top-notch, the game feels like you want it to never end while you're playing it, and the multiplayer gives it longevity that will stick around for a good while.
  3. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 20, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 is a great action-movie experience with life-like characters that Rockstar is famous for. It does fall a bit flat on the actual action part, however. The controls on consoles are confusing and hard to get used to. Still very much worth a play-thru. It's also one of the best looking console games in the current generation. [June 2012]