User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 810 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 15, 2012
    10
    This is truly a fantastic game. Max Payne 3 is a great shooter with an extremely fascinating script and storyline that totally succeeds in delivering a perfect noir tale! The pacing is just the right speed and I personally had no trouble playing this game nonstop for more than a couple of hours. The graphics, full of detail and constantly very colorful and at times and very beautiful asThis is truly a fantastic game. Max Payne 3 is a great shooter with an extremely fascinating script and storyline that totally succeeds in delivering a perfect noir tale! The pacing is just the right speed and I personally had no trouble playing this game nonstop for more than a couple of hours. The graphics, full of detail and constantly very colorful and at times and very beautiful as well. The characters, brimming with interesting personality traits all while delivering quick, intriguing, and sometimes very funny lines. The action and gameplay, a huge amount of fun that never grows tiring and always works well and correctly. And Max Payne himself, as engaging and engrossing a character as ever while also being voiced wonderfully by James McCaffrey. With an endlessly fun multiplayer and an incredibly involving story this comes up to make this game is yet another triumph to add to Rockstar's list! Expand
  2. May 15, 2012
    10
    well,the main thing a person looks in any product is that it should be a fun experience worth playing. Max Payne 3 is all of that and much more.It is a game more focused on story as all the previous max Payne's have been and packs satisfying gunplay to boot.It may not be THE BEST third person shooter out there but max payne 3's gameplay and story lives up to expectations with multiplayerwell,the main thing a person looks in any product is that it should be a fun experience worth playing. Max Payne 3 is all of that and much more.It is a game more focused on story as all the previous max Payne's have been and packs satisfying gunplay to boot.It may not be THE BEST third person shooter out there but max payne 3's gameplay and story lives up to expectations with multiplayer being a riot. So if you want to play something fun with a serious storyline as well as gr8 multiplayer,max payne 3 is the game to get. Expand
  3. May 15, 2012
    9
    All that i can say about this game is that it is exactly what I've come to expect from Rockstar. Play through single player once and a little multiplayer - very polished - addictive gameplay and awesome multiplayer. Must buy - it's just too bad for the games sake it was released on console the same day as Diablo 3.
  4. May 15, 2012
    10
    Max payne has always been my favourite game but i was a little worried about the third part bcoz it wasnt remedy making the game but no disrespect to Rockstar they are awesome specially i thnk so after playing max payne 3 it is an awesome game gr8 story driven action heart pumping gameplay and brilliant multiplayer i must say i am thrilled after playing it and have to say rockstar have notMax payne has always been my favourite game but i was a little worried about the third part bcoz it wasnt remedy making the game but no disrespect to Rockstar they are awesome specially i thnk so after playing max payne 3 it is an awesome game gr8 story driven action heart pumping gameplay and brilliant multiplayer i must say i am thrilled after playing it and have to say rockstar have not let us down again and hasnt let the game die instead has made it famous Expand
  5. May 15, 2012
    10
    Absolutely every bit as good as RDR and the multiplayer is better. It's a masterpiece and how the metascore isn't as higher than RDR's is beyond me. Max's story is compelling and with the gameplay is outstanding. I'll be playing this game long into the summer.
  6. May 15, 2012
    1
    Why do I keep getting interrupted during gameplay for a cutscene. There is no way to become immersed if if every two minutes I'm stopped to watch cuts for sometimes longer than I just played. The gameplay is frustrating, the gun mechanics are not great, and the bullet time is way too short.
  7. May 16, 2012
    4
    ROCKSTAR has done a fine job of envisioning Max Payne for a new audience; unfortunately (for some of us), it is NOT the Max Payne of yore. While the gunplay is frenetic, the hit-detection and collision must be a bit off at times as headshots often fail to keep adversaries on the ground. Stylistically, Max Payne 3 is a visual tour de force but with incessant cutscene interruption,ROCKSTAR has done a fine job of envisioning Max Payne for a new audience; unfortunately (for some of us), it is NOT the Max Payne of yore. While the gunplay is frenetic, the hit-detection and collision must be a bit off at times as headshots often fail to keep adversaries on the ground. Stylistically, Max Payne 3 is a visual tour de force but with incessant cutscene interruption, gameplay takes a backseat. Other foibles, including Max often switching weapons after the conclusion of many cutscenes, forces the player to readjust and modify every approach. REMEDY, originally, made the player FEEL like Max Payne. (In fact, for this writer, the original Payne was the first game played from beginning to end in one melodramatic, grit-filled, approximate, 12.5 hour odyssey.) -THIS Max Payne game is not player-driven, has its own inertia and cadence, often forcing the player to "watch" much of the story instead of allowing the player to "become" part of the story. With future patches, any uneven gameplay may be smoothed-over, but this game is NOT "really" Max Payne. -It's a revisionist Max Payne for the new century, for a new audience, for a new aesthetic with a distinctly odd level of player-challenge and forced-variety. It may well be, that THIS Max Payne will be MORE about multiplayer or future DLC than any possible tense solo experience like its now-distant origins? BUT, categorically, wasn't the original Payne, a hardboiled noir experience that each player embraced which, in turn, contributed to rock-solid immersion, creating the iconic Max Payne experience? Wasn't the linear single-player trek of the original Max Payne, the film noir-like quality, the immersive gunplay and strong characterization wrapped within limited player-choice, the KEY to player-identification WITH the onscreen Max Payne? Sure, while it was an empowerment fantasy, the player BECAME Payne during the journey. With Max Payne 3, the player gets to "watch" a version of Payne, on rails, dynamically forged and sent headlong, careening into one fubar situation after another. Less player-driven and much more like a snowball rolling downhill at controlled speeds, this new Payne IS interesting but not very fun. Expand
  8. May 15, 2012
    3
    This game is ABYSMAL. The story is bad, the textures are nonexistent, the voice acting is terrible, the writing is terrible, Max never shuts up, and dear god this game is visually offensive. During every cutscene (and during some gameplay) there are these blue scanlines that keep flashing on the screen and stupid popup words. All sorts of visually awful things, it's like Rockstar saw KaneThis game is ABYSMAL. The story is bad, the textures are nonexistent, the voice acting is terrible, the writing is terrible, Max never shuts up, and dear god this game is visually offensive. During every cutscene (and during some gameplay) there are these blue scanlines that keep flashing on the screen and stupid popup words. All sorts of visually awful things, it's like Rockstar saw Kane and Lynch 2 and said "this is what we want visually." The gameplay is ok, what little of it there is. This game does the whole MGS thing except even worse because every 4 minutes of gameplay (sometimes less) you run into a cutscene. I have NEVER in my life had gameplay interrupted more times than during Max Payne 3.
    all in all I can't recommend this game at all to anyone. It's pretty bad.
    Expand
  9. May 19, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing, you should buy it. Best TPS of all time IMO. If you are a fan of the Max Payne games then you shoud definetely pick this up. Mutliplayer is stellar too.
  10. May 17, 2012
    8
    Solid gameplay and unquestionably impressive graphics. However, I do feel it's 'been there done that' terrain we've encountered one too many times before.
  11. May 22, 2012
    9
    Best shooter of the year?
    Another Excellent game from Rockstar, only that this time it feels more like a movie. GAMEPLAY:
    This is what every TPS should take as an example. The twist here, that sets this game apart from other, is the bullettime. whenever a fight gets too tight you can trigger it, the time slows down and you shoot as many heads as you can. Kill-cams help the movish
    Best shooter of the year?
    Another Excellent game from Rockstar, only that this time it feels more like a movie. GAMEPLAY:
    This is what every TPS should take as an example. The twist here, that sets this game apart from other, is the bullettime. whenever a fight gets too tight you can trigger it, the time slows down and you shoot as many heads as you can. Kill-cams help the movish experience of the game. The level design is also great, and make most fights feel different from one another, letting the game not become too repetitive. I am almost done with the game, and I am still happy whenever my shoot-dodge(trigger bullettime while jumping, really cool, might be ineffective) is successful. The difficulty was a little hard on me, however, I did played it on hard so I guess it's my fault. What pisses me off about it is some insane difficulty spikes that took me about 20 times to get through. But I liked what they did with it, which is giving me more ammo and painkillers(Can also be called an extra life) after you die a couple of times. Near perfect.

    STORY:
    The story itself is... Pretty generic action movie story. A big conspiracy, with betrayals, corruption, and dead people.
    However,where the story really shines is in the writing, written from future Max's point of view, being both bitter-funny and badass. I enjoyed what he said most of the times, although it does get somewhat cheesy after a while. Some characters are pretty annoying, which kinda make you hope they will die.

    Generic, yet fun.

    MULTIPLAYER:
    Maybe I didn't played with it enough, but take a word from a single-player guy: the MP is great.a great variety of mods and awesome maps that make sure that no one camps too long -a problem that many TPS suffers from- while rewarding flanking. Here the bullettime mechanic changed, and instead of just slowing time down it can reward you with a couple of different bonuses, like bonus health and bigger guns. Character progression and customization is as well as most games. Great multiplayer, provides a lot of gameplay time. GRAPHICS:
    It may not be BattleField 3, but the graphics are excellent. Colorful, detailed environment and people, and a realistic design make sure you will enjoy the game. Seeing the bloody wounds on your enemy's head in slow-mo is also great.

    Not a single bad thing about them.

    SOUND:
    Great soundtrack, both the drums during the action scenes and the music outside of it is great. The voice-acting is terrific, with Max's actor in the lead. REPLAYABILITY:
    Despite its average-lengthed campaign, it does provide a lot of hours with its great multiplayer and arcade modes (I didn't played them much but they do seem fun), collectibles (some of which helps you action wise) and achievements that make you want to play it again.

    Worth your money. Definitely.

    TECHNICAL ISSUES:
    I ran to almost no bugs and glitches, except a few minor ones.


    REAL SCORE: 9.25
    Expand
  12. May 18, 2012
    9
    Campaign is nice, im 4 hours into it and its good, but the multiplayer is fantastic, i should give this game a 10 because of the trolls giving it a 4 or less but whatever, if you like third person shooters and online shooters this is a must buy, i dont give 2 **** what everybody else says this game is a solid 9 and that the end of it.
  13. May 19, 2012
    9
    Rockstar has done it again! Max Payne 3 is just another great game that Rockstar has developed! The gameplay is very smooth, and transactions from gameplay to cutscene or cutscene to gameplay is very well done as it is the smoothest that I have ever played. I did not play any of the earlier Max Paynes so I was a little bit worried that I would be lost in the story. Thankfully this wasn'tRockstar has done it again! Max Payne 3 is just another great game that Rockstar has developed! The gameplay is very smooth, and transactions from gameplay to cutscene or cutscene to gameplay is very well done as it is the smoothest that I have ever played. I did not play any of the earlier Max Paynes so I was a little bit worried that I would be lost in the story. Thankfully this wasn't the case I was able to pick the game up and play, as well as know what was going on. The multiplayer is extreamly addicting and fun to play. With so many different modes like, Gang Wars, Team Deathmatch, and just plain old deathmatch (free for all) THE VERDICT: Max Payne 3 is a great game and I suggest that everyone go out and buy it. The game is even better with friends. Nothing like kicking back with a couple of buddies and playing some Gang wars (which will give you alot of cash, and XP! Stay thirsty gamers Expand
  14. Jul 10, 2013
    7
    I was very angry about this game it was so impressive and fun,but there was a bad bug that made me start the storyline all over again all dang over again... and after that happened i'm like screw this.It was a very good game besides that bug.
  15. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    A true cinematic gaming masterpiece, Max Payne 3 is not just another triumph for Rockstar, but it's also testament to what the developer can do when it turns its hand to linear storytelling. Max Payne 3 might be a stylistic shift for the series, but it's also a raw and brutal portrait of a man pushed to the edge that deserves a place alongside Rockstar's superlative open-world efforts. GetA true cinematic gaming masterpiece, Max Payne 3 is not just another triumph for Rockstar, but it's also testament to what the developer can do when it turns its hand to linear storytelling. Max Payne 3 might be a stylistic shift for the series, but it's also a raw and brutal portrait of a man pushed to the edge that deserves a place alongside Rockstar's superlative open-world efforts. Get ready to enter a world of Payne. Expand
  16. May 29, 2012
    7
    An interesting approach on the whole. A step forward in many regards--all the post-effects on the gameplay, the immersive storytelling and all the back-loading keep the player involved in the story with no load times--but a very linear experience that doesn't allow the player much leeway in the traditional "game" sense. It's fully designed to be an interactive story--one that's alreadyAn interesting approach on the whole. A step forward in many regards--all the post-effects on the gameplay, the immersive storytelling and all the back-loading keep the player involved in the story with no load times--but a very linear experience that doesn't allow the player much leeway in the traditional "game" sense. It's fully designed to be an interactive story--one that's already told and already decided, but you get to interact with the "cool" parts. Interesting stuff. Expand
  17. May 31, 2012
    7
    Even though the anticipation for this game will never live up to the actual product, I enjoyed playing Max Payne 3. What I did not enjoy was the length of the checkpoints. Talk about a game of headaches. If anything it is my own fault because I played on Free Aim, which makes things a lot more difficult, but if you want the achievements/trophies, you better turn it on Free Aim. MultiplayerEven though the anticipation for this game will never live up to the actual product, I enjoyed playing Max Payne 3. What I did not enjoy was the length of the checkpoints. Talk about a game of headaches. If anything it is my own fault because I played on Free Aim, which makes things a lot more difficult, but if you want the achievements/trophies, you better turn it on Free Aim. Multiplayer was chaotic, not as cinematic and glorious as advertised. A fun game, worth playing, great dialogue and action which is expected from Max, but wish the game had more of a RDR multiplayer. Listen to the full audio review on the podcast; http://liquidgamer.podbean.com/ Expand
  18. KRM
    Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Rockstar yet again have shown why they are without a doubt the most credible and reliable game company in the world. Rockstar simply cannot make a bad game! I remember playing Max Payne 1 & 2 when I was younger (and being terrified at the opening sequence in Max Payne 1) and number 3 lives up to the reputation of the past two. Yeah it may not feel entirely the same, but that's because it'sRockstar yet again have shown why they are without a doubt the most credible and reliable game company in the world. Rockstar simply cannot make a bad game! I remember playing Max Payne 1 & 2 when I was younger (and being terrified at the opening sequence in Max Payne 1) and number 3 lives up to the reputation of the past two. Yeah it may not feel entirely the same, but that's because it's set in a different world and the game has been made in a different generation of console. The cinematic's are top notch, the best I've witnessed in a game since Red Dead and GTA (Rockstar yet again). The voice acting is superb. James McCaffrey is as brilliant as ever as Max, every line he utters is gold. The gameplay is also superb, Rockstar really used it's physics engine to full effect here. The music is fantastic, Rockstar as ever has crafted and picked a beautiful array of scores and the ending song composed by HEALTH entitled 'Pain' is masterful and emotional, it made me ponder the time I had grown up and spent with Max playing these brilliant games. The multiplayer is also very good and addictive. The only criticism I could possibly draw is that DLC is available to provide new maps based on levels from the story mode, where as I think that all maps based off levels from the story mode should be included from the start. Having said that this is a near perfect game and a brilliant possible conclusion to the Max Payne saga. Rockstar I salute you, and Max I salute you too. Expand
  19. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    Rock star Games did an amazing job on this game. The campaign is intense, fun, action packed. You get right into the story and don't want to stop playing. Only bad thing i noticed of the story is it hard to go back to the main menu, kinda long cut scenes. Multiplayer is crazy good, its balanced, lots of weapons and customization. Beautiful graphics and good realistic actions to theRock star Games did an amazing job on this game. The campaign is intense, fun, action packed. You get right into the story and don't want to stop playing. Only bad thing i noticed of the story is it hard to go back to the main menu, kinda long cut scenes. Multiplayer is crazy good, its balanced, lots of weapons and customization. Beautiful graphics and good realistic actions to the multiplayer. When a grenade goes off you get thrown back from the explosion. You get shot in the leg you fall over or stumble. Overall the game has fun game play, good graphics, realistic features no other game has. Expand
  20. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    MAX PAYNE 3 is the best game in the franchise. The first MAX PAYNE just looked like THE MATRIX and the second was a bit better. MAX PAYNE 3 has great graphics, great voice acting, campaign and its one of the best games of 2012.
  21. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    The campaign is nice, the multiplayer is good but don´t have a thing that makes you with a need to play it. It´s another good work from rockstar but for me it can be better and for me the grade of this game is 8
  22. Mar 12, 2014
    9
    This game is amazing....awesome graphics,voice acting, gun fight and else...but still not better than Max Payne 2....the multiplayer si really fun too...but the story it aint that good(max payne 1 and 2 was 10 times better ) ....to be honest sao paulo as place to fight is not that good as New York (that few missions in new york are the best missions in the game)....max payne 3 its aThis game is amazing....awesome graphics,voice acting, gun fight and else...but still not better than Max Payne 2....the multiplayer si really fun too...but the story it aint that good(max payne 1 and 2 was 10 times better ) ....to be honest sao paulo as place to fight is not that good as New York (that few missions in new york are the best missions in the game)....max payne 3 its a masterpiece but the not perfect...a 9 from me Expand
  23. May 17, 2012
    9
    The overall gameplay is great with good shooting and bullet time. The normal difficultly brings up a satisfying challenge and some of the parts are hard to get by. The damage system is just right, where aiming at the head does provide a huge difference in damage. There is also a lot of extra content, like New York Minute. I would give this game a 10 but aiming on the left side I haveThe overall gameplay is great with good shooting and bullet time. The normal difficultly brings up a satisfying challenge and some of the parts are hard to get by. The damage system is just right, where aiming at the head does provide a huge difference in damage. There is also a lot of extra content, like New York Minute. I would give this game a 10 but aiming on the left side I have had some experience with shooting through walls. Expand
  24. May 22, 2012
    10
    How anyone could have a negative comment about this game beats the hell outta. NO... this is not the same Max Payne games of old. Why would it be!? The last Max Payne to come out was 10yrs ago! Some of the cut scenes are long however they keep you engaged.. This game is GOTY (Game Of The Year) material hands down. The single player campaign will suck u in and the multiplayer is fastHow anyone could have a negative comment about this game beats the hell outta. NO... this is not the same Max Payne games of old. Why would it be!? The last Max Payne to come out was 10yrs ago! Some of the cut scenes are long however they keep you engaged.. This game is GOTY (Game Of The Year) material hands down. The single player campaign will suck u in and the multiplayer is fast action.. fun fast action. The different multiplayer game modes keep the action lively. This is a MUST OWN game. Very much worth paying full price for. If you have a open mind, love playing games that feel like yourre watching yourself play a role in a movie, love a fun fast action shooting multiplayer, and love playing games that give you challenge, then you need to check this out. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  25. May 16, 2012
    9
    I have never played a Max Payne game before but this game intrigued me and boy am I glad I bought it! If anyone is doubting buying this because they've never played the series, buy it because it is loads of fun. The story is very cinematic and has a great premise. The story immerses you into the game and makes you want to keep playing. The multiplayer is fun as well but its more fun if youI have never played a Max Payne game before but this game intrigued me and boy am I glad I bought it! If anyone is doubting buying this because they've never played the series, buy it because it is loads of fun. The story is very cinematic and has a great premise. The story immerses you into the game and makes you want to keep playing. The multiplayer is fun as well but its more fun if you play with a crew. Overall its a pretty good game and I recommend it to anyone who likes third person shooters or shooters in general. Graphics are a 9/10, gameplay is a 10/10, lasting appeal is a 9/10, and story is a 10/10 Expand
  26. May 18, 2012
    10
    This is an absolutely great game! The Story is really exciting and has some good twists and the voice acting is amazing. Combined with the stunning looking gameplay this is just the best Action Shooter I have seen in a long time. I think Rockstar did a good job at developing the character of Max Payne further, without losing his usual mannerisms and style. Multiplayer is also extremelyThis is an absolutely great game! The Story is really exciting and has some good twists and the voice acting is amazing. Combined with the stunning looking gameplay this is just the best Action Shooter I have seen in a long time. I think Rockstar did a good job at developing the character of Max Payne further, without losing his usual mannerisms and style. Multiplayer is also extremely enjoyable and offers a lot of variety with all the unlockables and different game modes. Expand
  27. May 16, 2012
    9
    I don't know the game, so I cannot comment on them. However I'm here to make a note that every user review scored under 5 were trolling. Just check their profile. Some dude rated skyrim a 0 and diabolo 3 a 10. Some dude rated Max Payne 3 xbox a 0 and Max Payne 3 ps3 version a 10, and many others. C'mon why do people post those trolling reviews on this site?
  28. May 17, 2012
    10
    I have been waiting for this game for a long time now, all i can say now is Freaking awesome!!!! At first the gameplay takes a bit of getting used to, the way the characters move as you can feel the weight of the character and there weapons. Its pretty awesome.

    Max Payne 3 also makes me wonder if this (Besides bullet time of course) is an early feel to what GTA 5 will play like..hmmm
    I have been waiting for this game for a long time now, all i can say now is Freaking awesome!!!! At first the gameplay takes a bit of getting used to, the way the characters move as you can feel the weight of the character and there weapons. Its pretty awesome.

    Max Payne 3 also makes me wonder if this (Besides bullet time of course) is an early feel to what GTA 5 will play like..hmmm something to consider. As you can carry over your multiplayer Gang/crew over to GTA 5, which is also a cool feature and obviously will keep the multiplayer alive that time. The multiplayer also has quite a few weapons and attachments and gadgets to unlock as you progress to you rank 50. And a few cool features, like when you die you get to see how many times and where you were shot. The other cool feature i like is the Vendetta action, where if the same person keeps killing you can put a bounty type thingy on there head, but dont let them kill you again.

    The single player is just epic if you are a max payne fan, if your not then its still epic. Yes the FMVs are a bit annoying at first but you do get used to it and sucked into the world of max payne 3. And for the 12hrs of single player thats longer than any shooter i have played this year. Theres also plenty of reason to keep playing the single player once finished, like the time challenge in arcade mode.

    All i can say is Buy or at least rent max payne 3, its Outstanding!!!!!
    Expand
  29. May 18, 2012
    9
    Forget that guys that doesn't know appreciate different ways to present a game. Max Payne 3 have the most recent way to tell us a excellent cinematographic story and a terrific graphics. This game will be remember as one of the better games in 2012. I know that this is no a GOTY (maybe), but is in the level of any good game in this year. Thanks Rockstar for this excellent game and thanksForget that guys that doesn't know appreciate different ways to present a game. Max Payne 3 have the most recent way to tell us a excellent cinematographic story and a terrific graphics. This game will be remember as one of the better games in 2012. I know that this is no a GOTY (maybe), but is in the level of any good game in this year. Thanks Rockstar for this excellent game and thanks Remedy for create Max Payne. Expand
  30. May 24, 2012
    10
    Max Payne 3 is probably the best 3rd person shooter I have ever played. I know with it being a Rockstar game you're expected to get a well developed, an outstanding quality product and an immersive experience, Rockstar certainly have done this.

    To me MP3 makes you actually care about the characters involved in the story especially MP himself, not many games can make you feel emotional
    Max Payne 3 is probably the best 3rd person shooter I have ever played. I know with it being a Rockstar game you're expected to get a well developed, an outstanding quality product and an immersive experience, Rockstar certainly have done this.

    To me MP3 makes you actually care about the characters involved in the story especially MP himself, not many games can make you feel emotional for the protagonist or what is happening around them, once again Rockstar deliver for what their renowned for and thats focusing on giving the audience the best experience possible from the campaign. A lot of people are complaining about the cutscene transition, as far as I'm aware this have never been done in a game before and it works so well, there is a good balance of gameplay and cutscences (I didn't notice there being so many cutscenes that most of the game is based around watching rather than playing?) you never feel lost as to what is happening and it's really immersive how you suddenly become involved in the frantic shootouts. I personally don't feel Rockstar have taken away the core of the MP nostalgia, if anything they have developed on it and embraced it and have made it something their own which to me is a great thing, because we all know that the MP franchise (if they continue with any sequels) is in good hands and they will never dissapoint. The multiplayer aspect of the game is a nice and interesting concept because the previous MP games didn't have the kind of technology or experience to discover how bullet time could work in multiplayer. It's a lof of fun and quite addictive and just feels like a scale downed version of GTA 4 with bullet time but that's not a bad thing.

    However the real main reason to pick this game up is for the single player, anyone whom is a MP fan or is new to the series, I reccommend this game without shadow of a doubt you will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  31. May 15, 2012
    0
    Max Payne 3 is Totally Awesome in every way.
    Now I was never a fan boy of this series way back in the XBOX/PS2 day's,but so far I'm loving everything this game has to offer.The single player is fun with great Voice acting and awesome gun play.the story does start off kinda boring, but after awhile Max Payne 3 is all out guns blazing balls to you're face action that doesn't hold you're
    Max Payne 3 is Totally Awesome in every way.
    Now I was never a fan boy of this series way back in the XBOX/PS2 day's,but so far I'm loving everything this game has to offer.The single player is fun with great Voice acting and awesome gun play.the story does start off kinda boring, but after awhile Max Payne 3 is all out guns blazing balls to you're face action that doesn't hold you're hand.Ohh and let's talk about the multi-player *which is Totally AWSOME*there was allot of love put into the multi-player It's waaay to addicting and the lvl up system is a great addition to the none stop action on screen.If I could give this game a 9.75 I would But instead I'm giving Max Payne 3 a 9 out of 10.this is a contender for Game of the Year.
    Collapse
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 80 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 80
  2. Negative: 1 out of 80
  1. Jul 8, 2012
    90
    A compelling, down and dirty bullet basket populated by real characters and visceral gunplay. [July 2012, p.55]
  2. Jun 26, 2012
    90
    The presentation is top-notch, the game feels like you want it to never end while you're playing it, and the multiplayer gives it longevity that will stick around for a good while.
  3. Jun 20, 2012
    87
    Max Payne 3 is a great action-movie experience with life-like characters that Rockstar is famous for. It does fall a bit flat on the actual action part, however. The controls on consoles are confusing and hard to get used to. Still very much worth a play-thru. It's also one of the best looking console games in the current generation. [June 2012]