Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 270 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: EALA is crafting this single-player component of this modern-day, Afghanistan-set reboot of the classic shooter series; DICE is working on the multiplayer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 71
  2. Negative: 0 out of 71
  1. Oct 21, 2010
    91
    Medal of Honor is more than just a reboot of a storied franchise. It takes the FPS genre to a whole new level.
  2. 85
    Intense without being brash, and focused on a tight situation as opposed to a global theater of operation, the relaunched Medal of Honor definitely finds its own voice as a military shooter. It's polished and visually appealing, while providing a little gaming perspective on a controversial military action. And you don't get that every day.
  3. Oct 21, 2010
    81
    While some elements are fantastically executed and the main campaign is quite compelling, there just isn't enough innovation or diversity in the multiplayer or beyond the story to pry people away from its behemoth of a competitor.
  4. Oct 27, 2010
    75
    In the end I was satisfied, but this could have been so much more.
  5. Dec 23, 2010
    70
    Medal of Honor tries to cram in every trick it can conjure up, but ultimately fails to include the kind of staying power needed to take over from Call of Duty.
  6. Oct 21, 2010
    70
    All the parts for a great multiplayer experience are here – class unlocks, a variety of familiar modes, lots of guns – but they don't come together in a way that makes Medal of Honor a must-play shooter. Military buffs may enjoy the game on some level, but in such a densely packed genre, EA must try harder to stand out.
  7. Oct 21, 2010
    55
    A new candidate for the most disappointing game of 2010, Medal of Honor doesn't deliver on any of its promises.

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 73 out of 124
  2. Negative: 32 out of 124
  1. Oct 12, 2010
    10
    This is an excellent game,for the those people who are used to the Call OF Duty series this is a welcome change.The first thing that jumps outThis is an excellent game,for the those people who are used to the Call OF Duty series this is a welcome change.The first thing that jumps out at you is how believable they make the story seem,The sound in the game is awesome every voice chatter every footstep it's just well done,the graphics are very good the detail in things like the sand and environmental damage is excellent, cut scenes look beautiful and the characters look and behave realistic. I haven't gone online yet but it should be good nonetheless.Overall MOH does not disappoint. Expand
  2. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I love this game. Wery good single compaign and great multiplayer - even better than CoD4:MW. Super graphics and sound and pace of the game.I love this game. Wery good single compaign and great multiplayer - even better than CoD4:MW. Super graphics and sound and pace of the game. I'm waiting for MOH2. Collapse
  3. Nov 10, 2010
    9
    Medal of Honor is by no means perfect, but it did alot of things right. The sounds and music is the best I've heard on any game (and yes..Medal of Honor is by no means perfect, but it did alot of things right. The sounds and music is the best I've heard on any game (and yes.. even the Linkin Park song). The graphics, while not perfect, are still better than anything I've been on Fallout or dare I say the "no-no word" Modern Warfare. The biggest problem I had with the game was the story. I think Danger Close missed a great opportunity to make a game based on an ongoing war , and give it some perspective. I have never been to war or joined the armed forces, but I am sure the sacrafices these men and women make for our freedoms is far more relative than just going from point A to point B for no apparent reason. On the multiplayer side, I have never been much of a fan of any multiplayer to begin with. But in all honesty, I found myself clocking in a few hours. I thought the progression system was relatively simple (perhaps thats the problem?), and I have yet to encounter any lag and/or campers (but again, I have not played multiplayer to great extents).

    Perhaps the coolest additions to the game was the "Tier 1 Mode." Very fun and addictive. Although not perfect, I honeslty hope EA continues to support this game (some story driven DLC instead of the dreaded map packs...?) and gets another crack at it in Medal of Honor 2. It was an honorable attempt.. one which I think deserves more credit than its been getting.
    Expand
  4. Aug 10, 2013
    7
    I liked this game because it was a little different. It tried to mimic real life Afghanistan where enemies are far away in the distance andI liked this game because it was a little different. It tried to mimic real life Afghanistan where enemies are far away in the distance and creep up out of nowhere, it had a whole different feel to it compared to other first person shooters. The graphics were nice too. The only thing i didn't like was how EA games said this wasn't another "GO TEAM USA" propaganda piece, then that's exactly what it turned out to be. It's based on real life missions in real life settings, yet they removed all other nations troops and replaced them with America troops only to try make America look cool and badass in that typical American fashion. It would of been nice to play as other nations soldiers within the campaign. We had 25yrs of games being either a lone steroid fuelled American or American troops only, Call of Duty Modern Warfare 4 turned the tide and changed all that in 2007 and it was very refreshing. But it would seem EA are a very patriotic bunch who want to nip this in the butt and get back to American only troops in games. It was boring 25yrs ago EA! Expand
  5. Oct 19, 2010
    6
    Its good but not great. for starters the guns are underpowered. it took me longer than usual to kill wide open AI. my favorite part of theIts good but not great. for starters the guns are underpowered. it took me longer than usual to kill wide open AI. my favorite part of the game is the campaign even though it is a little short. i was really looking forward to the multiplayer but it was pretty bad in the end. mainly because of the respawning. if yo really wanted to feel good DICE multiplayer just play battlefield 2. Expand
  6. Oct 22, 2010
    5
    I have three complaints with game. 1 Why is single player and multi-player like playing two separate games. You would've have thought thatI have three complaints with game. 1 Why is single player and multi-player like playing two separate games. You would've have thought that both developers would have had a chance to see how different each game was before they launched it. 2 Horrible spawn system in multi-player, there have been many occasions where either I was spawn camping or was being spawn camped. No reason that I should fear spawning and dying immediately upon doing so, sometimes several times in a row. 3 Explosives are weaker than pistol fire, so many times launching a rocket into a group of enemies only to have them turn around and kill me, no need to use c4 or noob tube because they don't actually kill anything anyway. Also I love you when you throw c4 i just drops ground, you can launch a grenade across the map but c4 is pulled down by earth amazing gravity. I will definitely be buying COD: black ops now. I was wanting a way out of the monster that activision has created, I guess I will have to wait for Brink for any hope of that. Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a perfect game for 2002 year. Maps very littles for multiplayer, no interactive ambientation, EXAMPLE: the cases break off and the lamps not! I know why EA GAMES have sold the game before call of duty black ops........ BECOUSE AFTER, THEY wouldn't have sold A LOT OF COPY OF THIS GAME!!!! IRRESPONSABLE SOLD OF A GAME!!!!!! THEY PLAY WITH OUR MONEY!!!! 0.0 Expand

See all 124 User Reviews