User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 147

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tony
    Sep 1, 2008
    8
    If you liked the first game, you'll love this one. The graphics are nice, but they could be better. But who cares because this game is fun. The online co-op is a bit weird. You can't go off and do two separate things like Crackdown, but it's fun to either help a friend or get some help. The explosions and things that do explode are the highlights of the game. Things blow up If you liked the first game, you'll love this one. The graphics are nice, but they could be better. But who cares because this game is fun. The online co-op is a bit weird. You can't go off and do two separate things like Crackdown, but it's fun to either help a friend or get some help. The explosions and things that do explode are the highlights of the game. Things blow up in the sort of a way you see in movies. Big fiery explosions that actually catch fire to things around them. So like I said, if you liked the first game and you played the hell out of it, you'll love this game. Expand
  2. BL
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    If you like games where you get tons of weapons and can blow everything up, this is the best KABOOM for your buck.
  3. Lucas.W
    Sep 9, 2008
    8
    Awesome game. Sure the graphics aren't anything to write home about, and the physics may be buggy as hell, but to be honest, for a game that can be so much fun as to negate all of it's shortcomings through absolute mayhem and destruction, that's saying alot for me. (and believe me, I'm very OCD about game breaking bugs, or even minor bugs for that matter) Gameplay and Awesome game. Sure the graphics aren't anything to write home about, and the physics may be buggy as hell, but to be honest, for a game that can be so much fun as to negate all of it's shortcomings through absolute mayhem and destruction, that's saying alot for me. (and believe me, I'm very OCD about game breaking bugs, or even minor bugs for that matter) Gameplay and controls is almost identical to the original Mercenaries, but without the Deck of 52 thing. If they had just put it off for a little longer and ironed out all the bugs, this game would definately be a 10. I just love blowing the s*** out of everything with big guns and bombs! Expand
  4. mikebare
    Dec 13, 2008
    8
    This game is definitely fun. You can play it the way you want, be it running and gunning like superman or staying back and calling in airstrikes to clear out hostiles like a special ops member. There isn't as much of a feeling of freedom as the Grand Theft Auto series, but i honestly take the Mercs game much more seriously.
  5. FroggyMojo
    Sep 2, 2008
    8
    More fun than the original mercenaries, with a larger map, more vehicles, more firepower, more missions, better graphics. However, the game is unpolished, with numerous bugs (out-of-place notifications, gettting stuck in boulders...) and bad coding (civilian AI, pop-ins). Coop (online only) works flawlessly and makes the game that much more enjoyable (drop-in-drop-out works like a charm). More fun than the original mercenaries, with a larger map, more vehicles, more firepower, more missions, better graphics. However, the game is unpolished, with numerous bugs (out-of-place notifications, gettting stuck in boulders...) and bad coding (civilian AI, pop-ins). Coop (online only) works flawlessly and makes the game that much more enjoyable (drop-in-drop-out works like a charm). Despite its flaws, the game is incredible fun: a good sanbox game of destruction and mayhem, mildly hampered by a few questionable program decisions and/or quality assurance. Expand
  6. BibbyF.
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    Does what it says on the tin. People were expecting a sequel to a 4 year old game and thats exactly what they have. Some of the scenery issues from the first have somehow made it into the second, (concrete bushes) but it doesn't really detract from anything. Its not how it looks, its how it plays and if you loved the first, you'll love this.
  7. Tanner
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    I bought this game yesterday and trust me, if anyone has this game and is bummed out (like i was at first), THE GAME GETS BETTER you need to do the story missions to get all the cool weapons and vehicles. I haven't even played coop yet and it might turn my 9 to a 10.
  8. BobN.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. The only bad thing about it is that its animated. Other then that its the best game i've ever played.
  9. Brinan
    Sep 3, 2008
    10
    Truely amasing game, wasn't expecting much going in -- but i was impressed. So many weapons and vehs! Lots of 'mission' variation to keep anyone busy from boredom, everything is destructable.. airstrikes.. supply drops. Just so many options to complete each mission, no mission is really the same, and you can't use a single weapon and blow through the entire game -- you Truely amasing game, wasn't expecting much going in -- but i was impressed. So many weapons and vehs! Lots of 'mission' variation to keep anyone busy from boredom, everything is destructable.. airstrikes.. supply drops. Just so many options to complete each mission, no mission is really the same, and you can't use a single weapon and blow through the entire game -- you HAVE to use everything at your disposal. The Co-op just takes this game to the next level.. Double the destruction, nothing like blowing up entire cities with a buddy. Expand
  10. Toltec01
    Sep 4, 2008
    8
    I can't believe Bad Company got higher rating than this game, seems suspicious to me! Mercs 2 was alot of fun and can't wait to get back to playing. My only gripe is that it takes wayyyy to long to purchase any of the cooler items, these items shoudl be available to the player from the start of the game. Don't hold back and don't be greedy devs it will bite you in the I can't believe Bad Company got higher rating than this game, seems suspicious to me! Mercs 2 was alot of fun and can't wait to get back to playing. My only gripe is that it takes wayyyy to long to purchase any of the cooler items, these items shoudl be available to the player from the start of the game. Don't hold back and don't be greedy devs it will bite you in the but. Give the player the tools asap; listen in a world where player attention span is 3 seconds going into 10, you better give them the goods! Expand
  11. DonM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    This game is perfect for anyone who loves to shoot and destroy. The story of the game is a little mixed up but it keeps you busy. It is a better more in depth version of GTA4
  12. DarrenM.
    Sep 12, 2008
    8
    Gamespot, are you serious ?, not much to do , this game is one of the best blow the hell everything up to kingdom come shooters ive played in ages, so what if there are a few clithches the action is fast paced enough to make you go ," who cares", you guys who scored the game less than 75, go play chess !
  13. StevenC.
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    Its a fantastic sandbox game. I like the online co op. The Airstrikes are spectacular. Lots of fun
  14. DavidN.
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    This game really worth it. It's realistic, beautiful, and awesome gameplay. If you need a game to wait for FABLE 2, GOW 2, spore or FARCRY 2, buy this one . You will never regret its awesomeness.
  15. BobT.
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing and i believe that it will be one that i will be playing for a long time! love COOP!!
  16. KiraR.
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    Has a lot of bugs and quirks, but some patching should fix the bugs and for the sheer entertainment you derive from jacking a tank, blowing the hell out of a city with a rocket strike, or the over-the-top PMC vehicles you can get should be more then enough to get past the quirks.
  17. JoeyK.
    Sep 8, 2008
    8
    The game is embarrassingly last-gen in many technical aspects, but it does manage to look and feel good. There are lots and lots of glitches, too. For the most part, the glitches *add* character to the game, strangely enough. Like the overwhelming cheesiness of a good/bad B-movie, they add a sense of nonsensical hilarity to the mix that makes you say "Screw it, I'm having fun!" even The game is embarrassingly last-gen in many technical aspects, but it does manage to look and feel good. There are lots and lots of glitches, too. For the most part, the glitches *add* character to the game, strangely enough. Like the overwhelming cheesiness of a good/bad B-movie, they add a sense of nonsensical hilarity to the mix that makes you say "Screw it, I'm having fun!" even though that trashcan is indeed hovering a hundred feet in the air for no apparent reason. Of the obvious glitches, very few of them actually impede gameplay, so it's hard to disparage them too much. The game isn't spectacular, but it's definitely fun and often wildly entertaining, if you're willing to remove the stick from your bum and just accept "inexcusable" glitches as part of the experience. Expand
  18. TrevorB.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    I though this game was a great destructive romp through a war-torn country. There was so much destruction and my only complaint is the mediocre story.
  19. jakestiner
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This IS the best game I have ever played and Icant wait to get it for the Xbox 360 and buy nuclear bombs. Lighting the trees on fire and everything is my dream game!!!!!!!!! This totaly, totaly wipes Grand Theft Auto IV RIGHT off the market and Mercenaries 2 in stock
  20. JamesM.
    Nov 7, 2008
    8
    How much fun can you have in a game? ok, so this can be seen as a poor rip off of GTA and the graphics are not the best and some of the controls and handling of vehicals can be shakey at times. It also has a LOT of bugs in the game which makes you wonder how they managed to release it without fixing them. HOWEVER, you have so much fun blowing things up and flattening everything you can How much fun can you have in a game? ok, so this can be seen as a poor rip off of GTA and the graphics are not the best and some of the controls and handling of vehicals can be shakey at times. It also has a LOT of bugs in the game which makes you wonder how they managed to release it without fixing them. HOWEVER, you have so much fun blowing things up and flattening everything you can see that you just wont car. If you embrace this game as GTA's evil child and just run with it you will enjoy it. If you are the kind of person who picks holes in every small flaw and gets irrate when things dont happen as then should, perhaps you should stay away from this game. If you just want to have a laugh then this is well worth getting. Expand
  21. DVSA.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    I actually loved this game. Yeah, sure it has some minor bugs, but as soon as you blow something up, you forget about it. Blowing up a small town with a crapload of big bombs, while getting paid for doing it, so that you get to do it again. And what is more fun than this? Doing it with a friend over xbox live! Double people= double explosions and death. Ok, i have to say, the graphics I actually loved this game. Yeah, sure it has some minor bugs, but as soon as you blow something up, you forget about it. Blowing up a small town with a crapload of big bombs, while getting paid for doing it, so that you get to do it again. And what is more fun than this? Doing it with a friend over xbox live! Double people= double explosions and death. Ok, i have to say, the graphics arent top notch, but the controls are pretty much as good as it is possible. I actually enjoyed this more than GTA4 Expand
  22. MattA.
    Sep 15, 2008
    8
    Could have been a little better on bullet precision. I was a big fan of "Play Ground of Destruction", so I love this one.
  23. SteveM
    Sep 2, 2008
    8
    I'm absolutely temped to give this game a 9, but I'll stick with something more around 8.7. This game is an accomplished open world third person shooter. I admit, I'm only a few hours in, but the game is really awesome. Anyway, I'm not here to review, I'm here to put to rest some incorrect claims about this game. First, it's really not as buggy as people I'm absolutely temped to give this game a 9, but I'll stick with something more around 8.7. This game is an accomplished open world third person shooter. I admit, I'm only a few hours in, but the game is really awesome. Anyway, I'm not here to review, I'm here to put to rest some incorrect claims about this game. First, it's really not as buggy as people would have you believe. Second, for an open world game, the graphics look quite nice. Finally, people in general seem to be hating on this game, but I took a chance with it, and as I big fan of GTA4, I can honestly say this game, while not quite at the level of polish that GTA4 had, is still up there and makes up for what it's lacking with huge explosions. Seriously. Ka-boom. Expand
  24. NicholasK.
    Sep 27, 2008
    8
    Ater a hard day of serious corporate affairs, professionalism and employment responsibilities it is very relaxing and rejuvenating to just come home, kick off my shoes and start blowing up and destroying everything in sight! Cluster bombs are my particuliar favotite!
  25. MatthewS.
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    a great game but there are several glitches that are annoying if you beat the game you get mos of the achivements the coop sucks because of lag at times differing information and progress is not transferable to single player unless ur the host the diffucality can be insanly hard to insanely easy at times
  26. chrisy
    Sep 3, 2008
    8
    This game is great fun, i loved the first one and could not wait for number two. yes its true the games not going to win any visual awards, but like i said it looks great and is alot of fun.
  27. MikeD.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    The game looks great and sounds great. The main mission and side missions are well done and will take a decent bit of time. It's a blast on single player and exponentially more entertaining with a human comrade running through Venezuela with you. There are some bugs that can be bothersome but none that I would personally say are even close to being dealbreakers. Bottom line is---you The game looks great and sounds great. The main mission and side missions are well done and will take a decent bit of time. It's a blast on single player and exponentially more entertaining with a human comrade running through Venezuela with you. There are some bugs that can be bothersome but none that I would personally say are even close to being dealbreakers. Bottom line is---you can blow $#!t up as you see fit and most importantly; It's just flat-out plain old fashioned fun. Expand
  28. Bor
    Aug 21, 2008
    8
    The Best Game!!!
  29. BrendonV.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    This game is really hit or miss (as you can see in the comments). If you're looking for a well rounded game that has a compelling story and mind blowing graphics you're in the wrong place. This game is for people who love destruction in all the variety of ways it can be administered. I've only had the game for a short while now but I'm totally enamored. Playing online This game is really hit or miss (as you can see in the comments). If you're looking for a well rounded game that has a compelling story and mind blowing graphics you're in the wrong place. This game is for people who love destruction in all the variety of ways it can be administered. I've only had the game for a short while now but I'm totally enamored. Playing online with a friend is just amusing as hell. The game isn't polished, but it delievers its "World in Flames" tag line very very thoroughly. Its arcadish and throws realism out the door, but I didn't buy it for either of those. Its strength is in the joys of explosions, crazy vehicles, and explosions. Expand
  30. BenC
    Sep 16, 2008
    8
    The game does have a few graphical hitches, and it doesn't have the greatest AI in the world, but if you want a mindless action game that leaves you with a massive stupid grin on your face, its so easy to ignore the issues, which lets not forget GTA4 had its equal share. In the end, while it might not be the best horse at the show, it gets down to what games should be: fun.
  31. OpW.
    Sep 18, 2008
    8
    I was bought this game as a birthday present, so I have no conflicts of interest in offering my review. I have to say, despite my initial reservations having read many gaming reviews, this is the most fun game I've played since COD4. Indeed, Mercs 2 and COD4 are probably the only FUN games I've played in quite a while... Mercs 2 is not as pretty as it should be, and the AI, I was bought this game as a birthday present, so I have no conflicts of interest in offering my review. I have to say, despite my initial reservations having read many gaming reviews, this is the most fun game I've played since COD4. Indeed, Mercs 2 and COD4 are probably the only FUN games I've played in quite a while... Mercs 2 is not as pretty as it should be, and the AI, targeting, and pop up are almost unforgivable. But they ARE forgivable because the game is fun! I wish the same could be said of the many games I've payed for over recent years. Expand
  32. [Anonymous]
    Sep 21, 2008
    8
    Fun sandbox game. More enjoyable than GTA. Online Co op a great added feature. Unlockables add a great replay value. Not a perfect game but a solid one.
  33. Apr 14, 2011
    8
    Short review: I just watched a Let's Play for this game and boy, did it remind me how much fun it was. It's not a great game, but it's just plain non-stop fun of blowing stuff up. In the end, I prefer Just Cause 2, which has the advantage of being younger than Mercs2. Both are great for blowing stuff up.
  34. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    It is more of an 8.5 but I'm rounding up. This is one of the most underrated games on the 360 (or PS3) loads guns, vehicles, airdrops to play with and you can blow up almost everything if you put your mind too it. helicopters are fun to fly. The sandbox environments are huge. The story is ho-hum and there can be some pop in but the core game is incredibly fun. I'm sure this game is like 15It is more of an 8.5 but I'm rounding up. This is one of the most underrated games on the 360 (or PS3) loads guns, vehicles, airdrops to play with and you can blow up almost everything if you put your mind too it. helicopters are fun to fly. The sandbox environments are huge. The story is ho-hum and there can be some pop in but the core game is incredibly fun. I'm sure this game is like 15 bucks most places now, if you can find it do yourself a big favour and pick it up! It is a great co-op game but just as fun solo. Expand
  35. Jul 31, 2014
    8
    This is fun, but flawed, mostly due to EA shutting down the multiplayer servers. It also is a little buggy, and its graphics aren't top notch, but are good. This is good to play as long as you can ignore its small little screw ups.
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 69
  2. Negative: 2 out of 69
  1. The game is worth a rental and a purchase if you want to keep your destruction going. So if you’re looking for a fun game, check out Mercs 2.
  2. 79
    For every time I cursed the stupid AI, I cheered at the demolition of another building. For every bug that got me stuck in some bushes, there was an attack chopper waiting to be jacked. If Mercenaries 2 had more polish, it would have been a great game. As is, it’s still worth playing – and enjoyable – but falls far short of its promise.
  3. 83
    It won't light the world on fire, but this next-gen playground of destruction offers you tons to do (well, tons to explode), it's always enjoyable, and I dove right back in after the credits rolled.