User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 29 out of 147

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BL
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    If you like games where you get tons of weapons and can blow everything up, this is the best KABOOM for your buck.
  2. Tanner
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    I bought this game yesterday and trust me, if anyone has this game and is bummed out (like i was at first), THE GAME GETS BETTER you need to do the story missions to get all the cool weapons and vehicles. I haven't even played coop yet and it might turn my 9 to a 10.
  3. BobN.
    Oct 4, 2008
    10
    Excellent game. The only bad thing about it is that its animated. Other then that its the best game i've ever played.
  4. Brinan
    Sep 3, 2008
    10
    Truely amasing game, wasn't expecting much going in -- but i was impressed. So many weapons and vehs! Lots of 'mission' variation to keep anyone busy from boredom, everything is destructable.. airstrikes.. supply drops. Just so many options to complete each mission, no mission is really the same, and you can't use a single weapon and blow through the entire game -- you Truely amasing game, wasn't expecting much going in -- but i was impressed. So many weapons and vehs! Lots of 'mission' variation to keep anyone busy from boredom, everything is destructable.. airstrikes.. supply drops. Just so many options to complete each mission, no mission is really the same, and you can't use a single weapon and blow through the entire game -- you HAVE to use everything at your disposal. The Co-op just takes this game to the next level.. Double the destruction, nothing like blowing up entire cities with a buddy. Expand
  5. DonM.
    Sep 4, 2008
    10
    This game is perfect for anyone who loves to shoot and destroy. The story of the game is a little mixed up but it keeps you busy. It is a better more in depth version of GTA4
  6. StevenC.
    Sep 1, 2008
    9
    Its a fantastic sandbox game. I like the online co op. The Airstrikes are spectacular. Lots of fun
  7. DavidN.
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    This game really worth it. It's realistic, beautiful, and awesome gameplay. If you need a game to wait for FABLE 2, GOW 2, spore or FARCRY 2, buy this one . You will never regret its awesomeness.
  8. BobT.
    Sep 2, 2008
    10
    This game is simply amazing and i believe that it will be one that i will be playing for a long time! love COOP!!
  9. KiraR.
    Sep 5, 2008
    9
    Has a lot of bugs and quirks, but some patching should fix the bugs and for the sheer entertainment you derive from jacking a tank, blowing the hell out of a city with a rocket strike, or the over-the-top PMC vehicles you can get should be more then enough to get past the quirks.
  10. TrevorB.
    Oct 12, 2008
    9
    I though this game was a great destructive romp through a war-torn country. There was so much destruction and my only complaint is the mediocre story.
  11. jakestiner
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    This IS the best game I have ever played and Icant wait to get it for the Xbox 360 and buy nuclear bombs. Lighting the trees on fire and everything is my dream game!!!!!!!!! This totaly, totaly wipes Grand Theft Auto IV RIGHT off the market and Mercenaries 2 in stock
  12. DVSA.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    I actually loved this game. Yeah, sure it has some minor bugs, but as soon as you blow something up, you forget about it. Blowing up a small town with a crapload of big bombs, while getting paid for doing it, so that you get to do it again. And what is more fun than this? Doing it with a friend over xbox live! Double people= double explosions and death. Ok, i have to say, the graphics I actually loved this game. Yeah, sure it has some minor bugs, but as soon as you blow something up, you forget about it. Blowing up a small town with a crapload of big bombs, while getting paid for doing it, so that you get to do it again. And what is more fun than this? Doing it with a friend over xbox live! Double people= double explosions and death. Ok, i have to say, the graphics arent top notch, but the controls are pretty much as good as it is possible. I actually enjoyed this more than GTA4 Expand
  13. MatthewS.
    Sep 3, 2008
    9
    a great game but there are several glitches that are annoying if you beat the game you get mos of the achivements the coop sucks because of lag at times differing information and progress is not transferable to single player unless ur the host the diffucality can be insanly hard to insanely easy at times
  14. MikeD.
    Oct 16, 2008
    9
    The game looks great and sounds great. The main mission and side missions are well done and will take a decent bit of time. It's a blast on single player and exponentially more entertaining with a human comrade running through Venezuela with you. There are some bugs that can be bothersome but none that I would personally say are even close to being dealbreakers. Bottom line is---you The game looks great and sounds great. The main mission and side missions are well done and will take a decent bit of time. It's a blast on single player and exponentially more entertaining with a human comrade running through Venezuela with you. There are some bugs that can be bothersome but none that I would personally say are even close to being dealbreakers. Bottom line is---you can blow $#!t up as you see fit and most importantly; It's just flat-out plain old fashioned fun. Expand
  15. BrendonV.
    Sep 12, 2008
    9
    This game is really hit or miss (as you can see in the comments). If you're looking for a well rounded game that has a compelling story and mind blowing graphics you're in the wrong place. This game is for people who love destruction in all the variety of ways it can be administered. I've only had the game for a short while now but I'm totally enamored. Playing online This game is really hit or miss (as you can see in the comments). If you're looking for a well rounded game that has a compelling story and mind blowing graphics you're in the wrong place. This game is for people who love destruction in all the variety of ways it can be administered. I've only had the game for a short while now but I'm totally enamored. Playing online with a friend is just amusing as hell. The game isn't polished, but it delievers its "World in Flames" tag line very very thoroughly. Its arcadish and throws realism out the door, but I didn't buy it for either of those. Its strength is in the joys of explosions, crazy vehicles, and explosions. Expand
  16. Nov 28, 2012
    9
    It is more of an 8.5 but I'm rounding up. This is one of the most underrated games on the 360 (or PS3) loads guns, vehicles, airdrops to play with and you can blow up almost everything if you put your mind too it. helicopters are fun to fly. The sandbox environments are huge. The story is ho-hum and there can be some pop in but the core game is incredibly fun. I'm sure this game is like 15It is more of an 8.5 but I'm rounding up. This is one of the most underrated games on the 360 (or PS3) loads guns, vehicles, airdrops to play with and you can blow up almost everything if you put your mind too it. helicopters are fun to fly. The sandbox environments are huge. The story is ho-hum and there can be some pop in but the core game is incredibly fun. I'm sure this game is like 15 bucks most places now, if you can find it do yourself a big favour and pick it up! It is a great co-op game but just as fun solo. Expand
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 69 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 69
  2. Negative: 2 out of 69
  1. The game is worth a rental and a purchase if you want to keep your destruction going. So if you’re looking for a fun game, check out Mercs 2.
  2. 79
    For every time I cursed the stupid AI, I cheered at the demolition of another building. For every bug that got me stuck in some bushes, there was an attack chopper waiting to be jacked. If Mercenaries 2 had more polish, it would have been a great game. As is, it’s still worth playing – and enjoyable – but falls far short of its promise.
  3. 83
    It won't light the world on fire, but this next-gen playground of destruction offers you tons to do (well, tons to explode), it's always enjoyable, and I dove right back in after the credits rolled.