Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Xbox 360

Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
Buy On
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Metal Gear series and hardcore beat 'em ups fans will fall in love with this one. They will even extend their experience by replaying the game. They will have no troubles at all with its highly-problematic camera along with its useless junk in the combat system. They will handle it. Gamers outside the fandom do not need to get excited, there is nothing interesting for them.
  2. Apr 1, 2013
    70
    The action in Metal Gear Revengeance is always spectacular, albeit it won’t be long before you notice some repetitive patterns. Unfortunately, the story that glues these battles together is weak.
  3. Mar 12, 2013
    70
    As an action game it's fantastic, especially the well integrated "Blade Mode" in which the protagonist Raiden can precision cut his foes. The script is kind of lacking though, and environments are often reused. Fantastic, but not perfect.
  4. Mar 6, 2013
    70
    Rising is a great game that needed more time and effort to achieve perfection.
  5. Feb 28, 2013
    70
    All the features, boss fights, stealth elements and VR missions just can’t compensate for the game’s relatively short story mode, as well as some nasty AI bugs and annoying camera issues.
  6. 70
    There's a great game in Revengeance, buried under the rubble of a previous franchise collapse. With a little less zatsu and a little more dan, Platinum Games could be on to something.
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    65
    When Revengeance is firing on all cylinders, it is a sight to behold. Watching Raiden tear through enemies while a dynamic speed metal soundtrack plays in the background is undeniably impressive. After spending an extended amount of time with the game, though, it becomes obvious that beauty is only skin-deep. Revengeance is more impressive to watch than it is to play, but it's certainly no Bayonetta.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 356 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 68
  2. Negative: 6 out of 68
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Blown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. haveBlown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. have fun out there Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Animations are awesome. Great story for die hard MG fans. A little short length if you don't count the cut scenes and codec calls. This gameAnimations are awesome. Great story for die hard MG fans. A little short length if you don't count the cut scenes and codec calls. This game is pretty much flawless. Go get this now. Platinum games out did them selves. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best sword games I've played in my entire life! As a metal gear fan I was pumped for this new direction. I always wanted toThis is one of the best sword games I've played in my entire life! As a metal gear fan I was pumped for this new direction. I always wanted to take control of a cyborg ninja the franchise is known for. Come on? Let's face it Grey fox and RAIDEN were the real bad ass of their games! I had high hopes for this game and it surpassed my expectations. Kojima and kamya is a match made in gaming heaven. The game play is Beautiful and fluid, precise and deadly, and when you think this is just a button masher suddenly your health is almost at an end. This game takes skill to master. The more you experiment, the more your rewarded... And the boss fights... OMG those boss fights! May I say this game has the most exhilarating rating boss fights to date. This is by far the best action slasher of this generation. Full Review »