Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    97
    It's a bit on the short side, sure, and the visuals have a tiny hiccup here and there. Everything else about the game is perfect. Seriously, it's exactly right. If you like your action to be intense, dramatic, and totally ridiculous, this could very well be your game of the year.
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    95
    Revengeance can now be considered part of the pantheon of action games, right alongside of Devil May Cry 3, Bayonetta, Ninja Gaiden, and other classics. Platinum created a deep and rewarding combat system, layered it on top of an action packed story that captures the most outrageous moments of the Metal Gear Solid series, and added their own signature mark.
  3. Mar 1, 2013
    92
    An awesome game, one of the best action games of this gen capable of combining a great story and characters with an adrenaline-fueled and highly satisfying gameplay. Its only flaw is in the short story duration, but if you're willing to test yourselves with higher difficulty levels and VR Missions, it will be worth your money.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    92
    An amazing action game that offers a level of exacting fidelity that few can match. The short length isn’t a detractor--you’ll definitely come back for seconds given everything it has to offer. Hacking enemies to pieces hasn’t felt this good in a long time. Don’t be surprised if this isn’t the last we see of Raiden.
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    91
    Whether you enjoy or dislike the dumb, loud action provided by the script, I find it hard to believe that you wouldn’t fall in love with the well-crafted gameplay that fills the void between cutscenes. It’s a remarkable experience.
  6. 90
    Metal Gear Rising: Reveneance is another must-have game from Platinum Games for fans of the sub-genre hack and slash and an interesting, but different, chapter in the Metal Gear saga.
  7. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    This is a game primarily for people who want to see everything and try to play as well as possible at all times, until they're sitting enthroned on the defeated beast, all achievements or trophies acquired. Every encounter teaches you new intricacies of the brilliant fighting engine, honing your skills in the process. If that's what you're looking for and thought of the last Devil May Cry as a bit too easy, you should rush out and get this.
  8. Feb 25, 2013
    90
    I can imagine some Metal Gear fans might not enjoy this style of gameplay, but if any are willing to give it a shot or if you are a fan of high paced action, then you owe yourself to jump into Revengeance’s stylish and exceptional top class gameplay and have a slash of a time.
  9. Feb 22, 2013
    90
    Moment on moment action is outstanding, boss battles some of the most hectic and awesome we’ve seen in years and the presentation – from the bonkers cut-scenes to the brilliantly eclectic evolving soundtrack – is top-notch.
  10. Feb 19, 2013
    90
    These animations are fantastic, with some crossing the line into total (joyful) absurdity, and most end with the opportunity to completely obliterate your target by cutting them into a hundred pieces. How many games are there where the player could, at a moment's notice, find themselves running across the tops of missiles to destroy a military helicopter with a sword?
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    89
    Revengeance is a great hack and slash: Frantic, fun and fast running at 60 fps. It's a good mix of Metal Gear's universe and Platinum Style, but Raiden fails with stealth situations.
  12. 89
    If it weren’t for the occasional camera issue, a steep learning curve, and somewhat frustrating QTE’s, this game would be pretty much flawless. That being said, it is an absolutely gorgeous title with a terrific soundtrack and just the right mix of Platinum Game’s frenetic, stylish action and Kojima Production’s fantastic storytelling, and when everything is combined it makes for a wild, over the top, exciting game that should not be missed.
  13. Mar 20, 2013
    88
    The distinctive feature of MGR: Revengeance is the Blade mode. Platinum Games surpassed themselves with the development of the mechanics on this is game: the cuts that you make with Raiden's katana will be extremely accurate, your enemy's limbs will detach right where you aim just like a piece of ham that was put through a slicer.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 6 out of 63
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Blown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. haveBlown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. have fun out there Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Animations are awesome. Great story for die hard MG fans. A little short length if you don't count the cut scenes and codec calls. This gameAnimations are awesome. Great story for die hard MG fans. A little short length if you don't count the cut scenes and codec calls. This game is pretty much flawless. Go get this now. Platinum games out did them selves. Full Review »
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best sword games I've played in my entire life! As a metal gear fan I was pumped for this new direction. I always wanted toThis is one of the best sword games I've played in my entire life! As a metal gear fan I was pumped for this new direction. I always wanted to take control of a cyborg ninja the franchise is known for. Come on? Let's face it Grey fox and RAIDEN were the real bad ass of their games! I had high hopes for this game and it surpassed my expectations. Kojima and kamya is a match made in gaming heaven. The game play is Beautiful and fluid, precise and deadly, and when you think this is just a button masher suddenly your health is almost at an end. This game takes skill to master. The more you experiment, the more your rewarded... And the boss fights... OMG those boss fights! May I say this game has the most exhilarating rating boss fights to date. This is by far the best action slasher of this generation. Full Review »