User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 306 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 306

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Blown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. have fun out there
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Animations are awesome. Great story for die hard MG fans. A little short length if you don't count the cut scenes and codec calls. This game is pretty much flawless. Go get this now. Platinum games out did them selves.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best sword games I've played in my entire life! As a metal gear fan I was pumped for this new direction. I always wanted to take control of a cyborg ninja the franchise is known for. Come on? Let's face it Grey fox and RAIDEN were the real bad ass of their games! I had high hopes for this game and it surpassed my expectations. Kojima and kamya is a match made in gaming heaven. The game play is Beautiful and fluid, precise and deadly, and when you think this is just a button masher suddenly your health is almost at an end. This game takes skill to master. The more you experiment, the more your rewarded... And the boss fights... OMG those boss fights! May I say this game has the most exhilarating rating boss fights to date. This is by far the best action slasher of this generation. Expand
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    WORTH EVERY PENNY! One of the best hack n slash games of this ganeration. So much fun with slashing enemies, environment with you katana blade. Although, don't buy Xbox 360 version if you have PS3 Microsoft console version have worse looking cut scenes than PS 3 version. In terms of gameplay they are the same. 60 FPS of instant action!
  5. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    I remember seeing the gameplay footage of this years ago. It showed Raiden perfectly slicing a watermelon into several pieces. I think the biggest flaw of the game is in fact the Blade mode. The controls are not tight enough when it comes to dismembering your victims. I think part of the the problem is because the game is so fast paced. The only other complaint I have with this game is that there doesn't seem to be too much of a variety of different moves. Other than that the game can be extremely enjoyable when the control issues don't get into your way. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    Mgs rising is one heck of a game the visuals are awesome the design feels real metal gear the combat is fast and fluid and makes you want to come back for more on the negative side is the camera it interfere with you at crucial boss battles the difficulty spikes in the boss battles it makes you feel like your fighting shao khan in almost every single battle and sometimes a roll option would be nice also the slicing mechanic is hard to control and it is a crucial part of the game but all in all the game will want you to come back for more Expand
  7. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    From a gameplay standpoint, Rising has everything I expected from it and more. The combat is smooth, combos work like a dream, and Blade Mode is an incredible visual flair. Light stealth elements also allow the game to feel a bit more at home with the title of Metal Gear on the cover and add a surprising amount of depth. If there's one thing that holds this game back from being flawless, though, it's the pacing of the story. With the exception of the final boss battles, the gameplay's pacing is every bit as flawless as the action, as a new mechanic is added into the experience every chapter and enemies become increasingly stronger throughout, both enemies seen early game and new enemies added to the mix, but the storytelling is insanely brief. It really strings you along and expects you to buy what's happening, and it's really hard to when Platinum took very few opportunities to flesh out moments of characterization and plot progression. It's a real shame that this is the case, as the presentation of the game is absolutely phenomenal. Irritating story pacing aside, though, this is arguably the greatest Action game ever made, and it's certainly given Platinum's Bayonetta and Vanquish a run for their money. All in all, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a stellar hack-and-slash roller coaster ride that will have you on the edge of your seat until the credits roll. It's more than worthy for Raiden's first playable role as a cyborg and feels every bit as satisfying to play as watching him fight in Metal Gear Solid 4 did. Ignore it at your own cost. Expand
  8. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    At first, I wasn`t very sure about this, but is KOJIMA, AND KOJIMA NEVER FAILS! Platinum Games takes Metal Gear to a whole new genre with this masterpiece. THIS is what a next-gen hack n´slash game has to be. The gameplay is solid and story is epic. The blade mechanic is amazing (more accurate and precise than the one in the demo) and the combat is so intese. Also, the soundtrack of this game is one of the bes soundtrack I`ve ever heard in a game. JAPAN GAMING LIVES! Expand
  9. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    rad game. if you want a game with awsome music, gameplay, and story, pick this game up. Game of the month of not year. get blazed and play for the best time.
  10. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This is a stylist game and i have think the kind of game platinum produces is both good and have the Japanese taste and story that I like. I feel you should definitely buy MGS rising
  11. Mar 28, 2013
    0
    I quite enjoyed the older MGS games but this is HORRIBLE! As usual there's way too many cutscenes and quicktime events (where your character will finish a battle etc. without any input from you). Also the bosses are just horribly frustrating. You're put up against these characters who have crazy over-the-top powers and moves and it's just plain unfair. You have to try again and again until you manage to chip away at their health to win the battle and it's NOT fun.

    This is it for me and MGS games never again this was horrible in every way I am warning you now DO NOT BUY THIS and support such an awful game.
    Expand
  12. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Massive amounts of fun, a must have for any MG fan. Some of the controls are a little bit iffy but I think that's always the case with a MG game. Overall an action extravaganza, you will be hard pressed to find another game where you have this much fun wielding a sword.
  13. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    awesome, entertaining, new concept, new design. At first, I wasn`t very sure about this, but is KOJIMA, AND KOJIMA NEVER FAILS! Platinum Games takes Metal Gear to a whole new genre with this masterpiece. The blade mechanic is amazing (more accurate and precise than the one in the demo) and the combat is so intese. Also, the soundtrack of this game is one of the bes soundtrack I`ve ever heard in a game. JAPAN GAMING LIVES! Expand
  14. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    for dmc's sake i played it be4 the magnificent mgs, like all platinum games be4 it this is a hardcore game and just why i love p games Its relentless and difficult on hard and requires skill acompanied by some signature over the top action. Raiden doesn t cut it as an awesome character for me but meh hes ok. So now that i have established that the game play is freaking incredible. The next big thing i ll talk about here is the soundtrack hats off to the musical score of this game. This is definitely not a typical mgs game but the easter eggs here and there are really cool. This game doesn't take itself too seriously but its fun thrilling ride Expand
  15. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Let's make this clear, MG Rising is one of the best game to come out of this generation. At its heart, MGR is a strange lovechild between MGS, Bayonetta and Vanquish; all rolled into one slick package. Superb graphics as well as the usual great controls are trademarks of Platinum Games; more surprising is the difficult to master 'Parry System', a bit similar to 3DS' Shinobi. Done right, it will make you feel like a bad ass Ninja Cyborg. Why only a 9? Well, it is a bit on the short side, but for what it's worth, it is filled with enough heart stopping moments of coolness that you can't help but smile. Strange fact, it felt like a great collaboration between Kojipro (essentially Konami) and Platinum Games, who were made of Capcom's ex staffers. An incredible game and an early candidate of game of the year. Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I sense Solid Snake faboyism on the Critics review. This game like almost all Platinum Games (Looking at you Anarchy Reigns) is a breathe of fresh air. The graphics are stunning with 60-40 fps. The only thing I hate about this game is the compressed cutscene. If parrying is a problem then you lack skill to play the game (lol skillz...).
  17. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest fetus transplant ever: a game KojiPro could never make, handed over to Platinum Games, who can only make this kind of game. Even though previous MGS titles had VR missions as ninjas, they were severely constrained by their engines. Platinum's engine, explicitly for hack 'n slash gives the proper cyborg ninja experience. The story is pretty good and properly topical (like MGS1 or MGS3) main focus being Raiden's personal crusade to stop a defence contractor from turning children into cyborg soldiers, and stimulating the war economy by framing Pakistan for an attempt to assinate the US president (leading to one of the most epic Metal Gear battles ever). The biggest subplot is Raiden's alter ego from his days as child soldier "Jack the Ripper". This gives the player an equivalent to God of War's rage mode. All together, this is the same universe Metal Gear fans know and love but with a new, fresh vector into it they didn't even though they would love. Expand
  18. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    Spin off to the MGS series. I expected better game mechanics. Although there is a lot of great aspects to this particular title. It is very short. with only 7 levels of 4-5 hrs of solid gameplay. Blade mode is cumbersome and hard to use. And the responsiveness of the action sequences needs a patch or two. Other than the problems mentioned. Its a good game overall.
  19. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Combat animations are the best I have seen since Ninja Gaiden 2, combat controls are tight (once mastered) and very fun to play with. Parrying takes time to figure out, and the current system basically ensures that button mashing wont work in large battles- I consider this a good thing. Love the story, love the bad guys- love almost everything about this game. One major flaw- where is the wall run? Cant have a good ninja game without a wall-run mechanic (I think Platinum games should path this in lol). Expand
  20. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Well, i can call it is Hack and Slash game literally. Of course, you can slash stuff ingame too. All those martial animations look very stylish. The boss's sound track even have lyric that fit with boss's personality. And weapon taken from boss have very creative design. Not to mention exciting boss battle with epic cutscene. Kojima take a good job on making bosses with their own personality, i even like some bosses than the main character. Expand
  21. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Great game of hack 'n slash, autentic Metal Gear story and Raiden in the best performance.... Platinum games do a good job in this game... AGAIN!!)
  22. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Completely blown away. I was never much a fan of hack and slash games, but being a Metal Gear fan, I had to at least give it a shot. The boss fights are extremely well designed, especially in the sound department, as the music changes depending on how deep into the fight you are. I never felt out of control with Raiden, which was one of my concerns, as a lot of games like to grab you into an animation and you feel helpless. The fast paced gameplay mixes really nicely with the "can cut anything" sword that Raiden possesses, allowing you to slice and dice everything from humanoid cyborgs, to mechs, to about half of the environmental props in a particular level.

    Metal Gear Solid fans will notice some of the series' implanted design you can hide under a cardboard box or a barrel to try and sneak up on enemies if you'd rather one-hit-kill them stealthily, or you can go in guns blazing true to the Metal Gear franchise in that respect.

    Again, I stress that this normally -is not- my type of game, but I'm just blown away by the sheer quality and dedication that Platinum games put into the title. Boss fights may leave you clapping.
    Expand
  23. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    I've waited about 4 to 5 years for this game to come out. IT DOES NOT DISAPPOINT!!! Platinum Games delivers yet another hack n slash gem in the form of Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. Its pretty much what I wanted this game to be. Thank you Kojima, Platinum Games and Konami for making this game not suck.
  24. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Very smooth gameplay and graphics, the franchise potential is high. Keep improving the gameplay and the storytelling.
  25. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Irony is such a strange yet wonderful thing! It's ironic that as I enjoy this game deep down I felt like this is what a new DMC should of been like, it's also wonderfully ironic that the maligned yet battle proven Platinum Games were 'attacked' by apparent new DmC fans due to certain erroneous issues. All I will say is my money went towards Platinum Games and this excellent game, while I and many many others didn't and will never spend a penny towards that unholy mess Capcom threw up! MGR greatest assets are it's variety in gameplay ie stealthy kills or all out war, it's excellent boss battles (bar one chapter) and lastly the parry system. As a Soul Calibur fan, this was an excellent addition where genuine skill and timing is needed to excel, skill which is sadly absent in other *cough* hash and slash titles. Though two marks were deducted due to the following: Regardless of re-playability the 7 hours or so it takes to finish isn't long enough, though with the revised development time that would of been forgiven if the camera wasn't so bad. Ahh the memories of DMC1 and never seeing where the boss Nightmare attached you from, it's that bad on MGR especially when you have to face an opponent to parry only to get a several hit combo unleashed on poor Raiden. Despite these issues MGR and PG have shown the gaming world that the Orient do hash and slash best, maybe now others will learn that lesson too! Expand
  26. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    lol DOSHGAMING12 maybe ur review would mean something if you than didnt recommend Devil May cry 4....the game everyone thinks is the worst in the series so if you like such an easy and crappy game as DMC 4 im glad you dont like this game it probably means it good
  27. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Ninjas, Blades, Mecha, Samurai. The game is so good I cannot find anything to complain except for the game length. I do not think anyone can not understand the greatness in this game. Well, except for woman who does not like machoism.
  28. Jun 22, 2013
    8
    Oh my!
    It is a very nice surprise for every MGS fan who also likes the hack'n slash genre.
    High paced, spectacular OST, easy to follow storyline (latest MGS games are quite deep and complicated) and a lot of replay value. The game goes very smooth, 60FPS I'd say, and the gameplay is complete and enjoyable.
    It's a little short but it has a lot of replay value.
    Totally worth it!
  29. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I'll be short here Amazing game amazing gameplay the bad thing is that the game has a short length.
    But every second of gameplay is awesome and worth playing.
  30. Feb 26, 2013
    8
    it's a little short... but dlc are on it's way... it could be a 9 or even a 10 if it was longer.... you can SLICE UP ANYTHING WITH THE SLIGHTEST PRECISION EVER.... most of the time i found myself slicing EVERITHING JUST TO SEE HOW WELL IT WORKED... it's so awesome... and i love the extra weapons... but the machetes... they are too slow for my tastes
  31. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is a game that I luckily borrowed from one of my friends and not actually bought it the game is fun don't get me wrong but it is definitely not a buy for it only being about a 6 hour experience and no other modes other then story to do it is not a 60 dollar title but when the price goes down and it will definitely go out and get the game or at least rent it now the story is great the dialogue is charming and the gameplay is fast paced and in your face Expand
  32. Dec 28, 2013
    7
    This game is a great game. The combat is fun,but can be repetitive and the game has to many quick-time events. The soundtrack is great, with some interesting environments (with a somewhat frustrating camera). I would recommend this for fans of Metal Gear and beat 'um up games.
  33. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Man, what an awesome game! Platinum Games once again proves that it is the quintessential company when it comes to crafting action games. If I hadn't already played their previous masterpiece, Bayonetta, this game would have blown me away even more. You will hear people complain about the the length of the story, but like most other action games out there, the appeal is playing thru the game multiple times. You'll want to unlock all the awesome weapons and all the harder difficulties. If you are a fan of action games (and a fan of the Metal Gear series) you really can't go wrong with Metal Gear Rising. Expand
  34. Jul 5, 2014
    2
    A two, solely due to the cutting mechanic and this wad of disappointment should be grateful for even that. Kojima is praised as a genius, but bluntly I think his stories are convoluted, nonsensical, and dumb. Like bad abstract art.
  35. Mar 30, 2013
    5
    Metal Gear Rising is a classic example of a over-hyped game. Admittedly, the debut trailer left me excited and I couldn't wait for the games release. Now that I finally picked up so long after release, I am left dissapointed. I couldn't help but feel that the game is just a mash of some over games of similar genre. The extremely "over the top" combat and general sword action, extensive cut scenes and pauses and (to my opinion), a stale story, makes this game hard to take seriously. Not to mention the sticky controls and awful cameras. I thought games were past this. The number of times I tried to pan the camera around to see what I was fighting only to have it freak out is stupid. Even most of the enemies are unimaginative. Most enemies just feel like copies from other games and then the rest are just unnecessary, way over thought enemies that just hardly fit in. It appears that the game main attraction is the sword mechanics and the "blade" mode. All the trailers seem to focus primarily on this feature. Allowing players to go crazy. This gets boring 5 minutes into the game. Sure, It's fun to try slice that perfect watermelon like in the trailer, It's fun to slice a car in half, It's funny to slice the supports on a bridge to have it collapse but in the end its just not needed. Give a kid a toy and he'll just play with the box. An accurate statement for this game. Overall, a over hyped, lazy game that has it's moments but I just cannot take seriously. Expand
  36. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    While the game can be completed in 3-4hr, it's damn well spent and has a large opportunity for replay value. The "Blade Mode" feature is fantastic as you actually get the feeling of slice an enemy in half by slowing down time and cutting in any specific direction you want. The boss fights make the game incredibly exciting, Raiden has a robust upgrade system, and the VR missions are a nice touch. For Rising, it doesn't matter how long it is or the fact that it's ditched stealth what matters is that this is one of the best action games released in a long time Another great title from Platinum Games. Expand
  37. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    if you're expecting a metal gear solid game, look away because this is a spin-off! apart from that this game is amazing!

    pros: good story, great gameplay, amazing graphics

    cons: short, annoying gameplay elements and ennemies (being stunned), brief story
  38. Mar 6, 2013
    6
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, after reading many reviews and watching a few let's plays of the first mission, I became dead set on buying this game. As a matter of fact, I rushed to my local game store and bought it the very next day.

    I've always been a fan of the Metal Gear Solid series, and, in particular, I enjoyed MGS2. I was one of the (apparent) few who enjoyed playing as Raiden and, to this day, it is one of my favorite games of all time.

    My first impressions of the game were great. I had a lot of brainless fun with fluent controls, great animations and, above all, a bad-ass soundtrack. Half the reason why I liked the game (and that it is rated above 5 by me) is the way the music fits so well in the game, getting more and more epic as the fights progress.

    This didn't remain the same for the whole game.

    While the music is constantly awesome, and the graphics are great, I find the experience to be... hollow. Combat is repetitive, usually following the pattern of "XXYYXYXY ZANDETSU slash slash steal spine repeat". Zandetsu is fun, giving Raiden the power to cut and slice like an actual sword should, and I hope a mechanic similar to it will be in future games. Parrying is in the game, which I'm not really a big fan of. This is biased as I am a big fan of dodging, which is in the game as an unlock-able skill. However, that skill isn't as good as say, a dodge button. If you could press A to dodge in a direction instead, I think I'd have more fun with the combat. OH! There is stealth in the game, but it's poorly integrated. The game would be better with-out it.

    The story is bland, which I'm normally fine with action games, but it's a Metal Gear game. I expect some beef and potatoes in the story. There are a few moral dilemmas in the game, and some great character development (I'm looking at you, Wolf). However, the story is weak, not really accomplishing much and not really feeling like a Metal Gear story. I like how Raiden acts in the game, but the lack of his wife and child appearing in the story (only briefly mentioned) is disappointing. Also there's codec conversations. The ones that happen in game are fine, and provide good exposition. The ones that you have to pause and watch are, for the most part, dumb. This is biased slightly, but I don't think they should had them in the game. It was fine in the Metal Gear Solid series because you were an undercover soldier, using tactics, espionage and communication to get through the game. In those games, it made sense to talk with people to get more information about the mission. In an action game as a cyborg ninja, it makes no sense to pause for story. I think it would've been amazing if these Codec things would casually play during combat sequences. imagine: Raiden talking with the Doktor in a calm, joking tone and the Doktor talking back while Raiden is ripping people to shreds. It would make the repetitive combat a bit more spicy.

    Also, this might just be me, but I found all the boss fights lackluster, the only ones I enjoyed being the fight with METAL GEAR RAY IN THE FIRST MISSION (That has to be one of the greatest fights ever in a game), and the fight with Sundowner (which made great use of Zandetsu). Personally, all the other boss fights I found cool at first but, again, repetitive and boring in the long run. For example, Monsoon's fight was cool for the first 2 minutes, but after the fourth time he went off screen to throw tanks at me, I started getting bored of it. Similar issues with Sam's fight. The only great thing that I will mention (which I have mentioned before) is the music is amazing in these fights, and fits well to the action that happens on screen. Games of all genres should look at how music was integrated into this game and learn from it.

    At time of writing, I've beaten the game twice. Once on easy and once on normal. I'm not the best gamer, OK? I got stuck on mission 2 on normal, so I completed the whole game on easy and went back to finish it on normal because I thought easy was.... well let's just say I thought the combat was flat out terrible after playing on easy. Playing on normal made combat better, but didn't stop it from becoming repetitive. Overall, through the 2 difficulties, I got a good 8 hours (give or take an hour or so) of entertainment, which is fine. I do wish I rented the game instead of buying it, but whatever. Who rents games nowadays anyway? There are many people who enjoy this game, and I think that they have every right to enjoy it. It is a fine game, but I'm not overly impressed with it. 6/10
    Expand
  39. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I expected nothing less than an amazing action game from the people that brought me Bayonetta. I was right to assume this. Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is an awesome action game, it might just be one of the best ones out there. The combat is fluid and fast, and the action never stops. Great game, worth every cent.

    8.7/10
  40. May 7, 2013
    6
    A visually stunning game and an interresting main character could make for a great game, but not a great Metal Gear game. The element of stealth is almost completely gone, leaving you a few unnatural feeling stealth approaches that don't feel stealth at all. The sword controls work great, but when you enter Sword Mode (by holding LT), all movability gets removed and you gan fling your right joystick from side to side, hoping to cut an enemy in to, despite the underdeveloped mechanic, enjoyable little pieces. Except for cats though. Cats are more agile than any enemy. Expand
  41. Mar 3, 2013
    8
    Really great addition to the Metal Gear universe. Even people with no previous experience with any of the Metal Gear games will get a kick out of this. It's fast, fun and adrenaline pumping; it's the first game in ages which I can compare to a never ending rollercoaster; it's just action scene after action scene, it's crazy good! BUT the one downside I have to it is the random difficulty spikes. Just randomly it'll get insanely hard out of nowhere and then for the next hour will be painfully easy, but I guess that's whats gotta happen when il you're catering to multiple audiences. My favourite part about this game was the ability to play as Gray Fox, my favourite character from MGS1. They play it a little differently where instead of getting a code to unlock him and just playing him from the get-go, you redeem your code and have to fight for in-game currency to unlock his armour and then his sword, which I thought was a really good touch to give you some extra motivation to slash those foes up! Good story, crazy action scenes that'll make you spit out your Pepsi, and a great game all in all. Expand
  42. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    I'll admit my expectations were low (not that Platinum Games can't deliver, because they have great games), especially since this game seemed to be lost in development limbo for the longest time, but it sure was worth it! Yes, the game is a bit on the short side, and it has some camera issues, but the sheer volume of stuff do to/collect/kill is just insane. I'm a huge Metal Gear fan, and even the over the top story in this game still "felt" like Metal Gear. It's nice that this game still feels like it belongs in the MG universe. If you like fast action games that can be super challenging, regardless on your thoughts on the MG series, you must play this game. Expand
  43. Mar 20, 2013
    7
    "METAL GEAR RISING: REVENGEANCE is a acceptable indulging take on the METAL GEAR universe. The gameplay is lighting fast, ridiculous & offers some interesting mechanics for fans to master that keeps the replay value up. The boss battles are interesting for the most part harkening to a real Mega Man feel & the visceral annihilation of all your foes is hilariously good fun. But it’s also extremely short, frustrating at times & has a forgettable story & cast about redemption & other meaningful moody stuff.

    It doesn’t quite live up to the METAL GEAR name completely, but it’s still a perfectly fun & accessible detour from the usual stealth & hour long cutscene sagas before it. Just don’t expect to be blown away in amazement."

    Read my full review: http://tmblr.co/ZOA6EyfFK9Jd
    Expand
  44. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    After devil may cry 4 I was wondering is there any better hack and slash around and suddenly I played this one and can't describe how this game great is.
  45. Apr 25, 2013
    7
    Other than a weakish story, its mostly about the gameplay. The gameplay has you griping the controller and feeling like you're actually using a blade makes it even better. The Boss Battles are enjoyable, but this is mostly for MG Fans, but if you can look past the story anyone could enjoy this.
  46. Apr 2, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Is a hack and slash game with swords instead of a stealth game with number of mindless codex's talks a lot so you be pressing the skip button a lot.

    Oh and cut scenes after each other go on forever kill this guy then a cut scene will come on, then kill another then move CUT SCENES will be on, annoying.

    A red wall will stop you from going anywhere until you kill all bad guys can be dull a lot to do this why don't you just continue moving through the game without pauses?

    This used to be a SLOW and STEALTH game it's a dull hack and slash now where is Snake?
    Instead we get Raid en.

    It's annoying to see a company will do anything just for money.
    Expand
  47. May 25, 2013
    7
    Metal gear rising revengeance is the newest installment to the mgs series and though a lot of fans were not excited for this being a hack and slash game from a stealth game it does hold up being an awsome game though it does some problems. While theA.I. is good it seemed like the thing that really tried to kill me was the camera. The do try to incorporate some stealth but you will rarely ever do that but it is nice to see the old card board box back. The story isn't good but it's easy to under stand. The new blade mode is awsome were you can cut the out of your enemy's and then out their cyborg spine and regain your health. So metal gear rising is a awsome game with a lot of replay ability if your a fan of mgs I suggest picking up this game. Expand
  48. May 7, 2013
    8
    Really fast faced, rewarding and fun gameplay (but not very deep). Really really short campaign (it has replay value in other difficulties). Awesome boss fights and music. Not so good story (not bad though). If you like hack n slash and you love platinum games style buy it right now. If you are a metal gear fan you might feel offended (shallow characters horrible stealth) and you shouldn't buy it. If it had the same number of boss batltes distributed in more and more polished levels it could be much better. Some problems with the camera but not very noticeable ones. Expand
  49. May 20, 2013
    7
    This Game is INSANELY challenging. thats what makes this game fun, apart from the awesome gameplay, but it is a little over the top sometimes. and i played on NORMAL. the last thing thats hilarious, when you die it is really cheesy when they say RAIDIEN!!!!
  50. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    Hack n Slash at its best in this Metal Gear spin-off. (Well if you can call it that) Great visuals, over the top action and an immense amount of satisfaction from slaying all those enemies. All of this at 60 fps? Count me in. The only thing I didn't like that much is that it's a bit short. Good thing it has a lot of replay value. Worth every penny. If you were thinking that it was a bit too expensive at $60, you should definitely get it now. If you look around carefully enough you can find it for $15.

    Oh, and the action is even better with kick ass soundtrack playing in the background. RULES OF NATURE!
    Expand
  51. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    The Good:Graphics,Jack The ripper,enemies,bosses,story.,music!,ending.
    Bad:George style,PC release..

    This game is nearly perfect finally Raiden unleashed his true nature self Jack the ripper,we play an anti hero this is actually a pretty fantastic! and rare! and it would be greater if he later change to be a same as Solidus snake was until jack die.George was irritating by the way of
    he speaking.PC release a big negative this game should exist only for consoles.The ending was perfect. Expand
  52. Jun 1, 2013
    8
    this game is awesome! i was in doubt of buying this game but i finally got it and it is seriously one of the best games of 2013 yet, the action is great, the blade mode is something great and fresh, i finally get to "cut" enemies instead of just smacking them with a foam sword, the game has some issues though like the camera and the lenght, but this game succeds in the action,, the game is really fun, the boss battles are great too, i beat the game 3 times already and it seems that i can not get bored of it! Expand
  53. Jan 23, 2014
    4
    I adore Metal Gear Solid, and I love Bayonetta. Why not combine the two?
    Well, because it will be filled to the brim with poor design choices!

    The first issue is the camera. More of the time, the camera stays where it needs to be. However, when fighting multiple enemies or enemies with ranged attacks, I was regularly blindsided by missiles and heavy attacks from offscreen, causing my
    death on more than one occasion. This is especially prominent during any boss fight in which the boss summons minions. As you fight them, the boss is offscreen, charging its super-death attack, to take down 75% of your health and you have no way to stop them or see it coming.

    The second big issue is the lack of feedback the game gives you. The tutorial takes about a minute to explain what is going on, but then abruptly ends, almost like it was unfinished. Then, the game just sorts of throws you into the game with no explanation. Stealth is not explained (and is extremely poorly implemented, almost to say "SEE, THIS IS METAL GEAR, YOU CAN BACKSTAB ENEMIES"), and neither is the game's main selling point: The "Zandetsu". Essentially, you can line up and quickly cut enemies to bits exactly where you want to cut them. Unfortunately, this seems completely pointless, as a single cut using this skill (which operates on a meter, which also was no explained in the tutorial) will kill most enemies. On top of this, the game counts the pieces you cut the enemies into, but I still have no idea if this affects literally any aspect of the game.

    Another rather strange problem I had was that the game had no dodge function, and in order to block enemy attacks, you had to essentially be standing still, or had to flick the analog stick in the direction of the attack enemy, then press the attack button. This led to a lot of accidental missteps, as I was sprinting around, trying not to be shot, before being suckerpunched because I couldn't block at the same time quickly.

    I THINK the game has some sort of dodge move, because it's listed in the store, but even after I bought and equipped it, I wasn't told how to use it.

    Another major issue is the story, which is absolutely abysmal. I assumed that, this being a Metal Gear game, the story would be at least serviceable, but this is absolute trash. They treat is as though it is a sequel to something I should already be completely familiar with, and don't particularly explain who all these people giving me missions are, why they're important, why Raiden teamed up with them, or what exactly he's doing. For the first several hours of the game, I visited Africa, Mexico, and Russia, and had no idea why I was there or who the characters were, despite my best efforts to understand even the basics of the plot. It is absolute goofy gibberish, and is an excuse at best.

    So, I really don't understand the love for this game. It is a mediocre-at-best Bayonetta knock-off that is wearing a mask that looks vaguely like Metal Gear Solid. The controls are tight, but the mechanics make little to no sense, the Zandatsu is there basically for eye candy and little else, the plot is nonsensical and pointless and lacks 100% of the intrigue of previous games, and it just feels cheap and aggravating to play, due to being constantly pummeled from just off screen.

    Save your money, buy the MGS Collection instead.
    Expand
  54. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This game was great. Graphics were great in terms of console expectations, the music was good, the setting was a great one and above all, the gameplay was great. It's essentially what Ninja Gaiden is, but it definitely surpassed what the third one tried to do. Not to mention you can hack off limbs(whether a tree's or a humans) with precise accuracy with Blade Mode. The final boss aggravated me to no end, but daaamn it was satisfying! If you're not afraid to get bruised up a little bit and are willing to put in the effort toget through the game, you won't regret it. Just remember to parry! Expand
  55. Jun 25, 2013
    8
    The changes in the game was the devolving team that put Kojima Prodiction was in jeoprady, because Naked snake dosen't make appereance in the game. The lightning bolt action dosen't feel quiet right. It's just, not right. the good news for the game was the gameplay that a little bit of kicking to kick-ass! You might wanna know why it's great, because it's really great than the demo from 2010.
  56. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I love this game, not just because of the awesome hack and slash but Raiden has become a lot more interesting since mgs2. Graphics, story, and game play are all great, I'd gladly buy and play a sequel, so long as it's continuing with Raiden's story, I feel like I'm still missing some important parts of his past and future. Besides, he's the kind of guy character that girls like me and all my female friends actually enjoy playing and watching for hours, ha ha. (nothing against snake...but seriously...) Collapse
  57. Jan 8, 2014
    9
    Metal Gear Rising is an amazing game. High intensity action, absurdly addicting gameplay, an above average story, amazing boss battles (some of the best i've ever played in a game) and topping it off with possibly the best soundtrack of any game this year. This game is meant to be replayed so the game being short is not a concern, at least for me anyway. While the game is not perfect (that camera), Rising deserves a spot in your library. I give this game a 9 for both the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions (woulda given it a 9.5, but the rating system won't let me). Expand
  58. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    Metal gear rising Revengeance is a spectacle fighter which was released on consoles a year ago. The game has recently been ported over to PC and I preordered since I didn't get a chance to play the console version. I wish I could say the game was perfect, but there are many issues with it which I found to be disappointing. The resolutions which you can select are severely limited. I have a 1080p monitor so it doesn't bother me as much but anyone with a older screen will have issues. The game has constant frame rate drops. I have a gtx 770oc, with a i5 chip and 8gb of RAM. I can max out every game at the moment including battlefield 4 without any issues, so I should not be getting frame rate issues when my rig can handle it. I experienced massive frame rate drops in the first boss fight and in open areas. Next is the textures. They look hideous. I'm sure this graphical fidelity is acceptable for consoles at the time since they're old hardware but this is not acceptable for for PC, especially when this is a AAA title. The next issue I have with the game is the cost. This game costs £19.99 at the moment on steam. This isn't good enough for a title which was released a year ago. I would be more inclined to recommend this game if this cost less than £15 so I would say wait for the steam sales. The final issue I'd like to bring up, is the fact that theres no dodging, only parrying. I know this is a personal preference but honestly, I would have liked the option to have BOTH.

    But overall despite these issues the game is very enjoyable. If I were to compare this with the other spectacle fighters in this genre, more specifically DMC, I found this to be more enjoyable and satisfying. The voice acting is awful but thats expected in a metal gear solid game but the game doesn't take itself seriously, so that is passable. You can string together combos perfectly, but I would recommend a controller if you have one. Playing with mouse and keyboard isn't bad but weapon swapping is awkward.

    So overall, 7/10, would have been perfect if they sorted out the graphic menu, frame rate issues, and added the ability to dodge and not just parry attacks. In all honestly, wait for the steam sales because spending £19.99 on a year old game without multiplayer, or any DLCs or any graphical improvements is robbery in my opinion.
    Expand
  59. Jan 19, 2014
    2
    THIS GAME IS TOTAL **** now then i couldnt even get past the first boss because of the dodgy camera and terrible parrying mechanics it made it near impossible. the slow motion cutting people up was fun as **** but i couldnt get over the dodgy mechanics and poor camera sorry MGS
  60. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    I have never played a traditional MG game before, because they do not appeal to me. I was aware that this was an action spin-off, a genre that I am attracted to. DmC is a game that I enjoyed a lot, for example (although that too was far from perfect). I could not finish this game. I became bored with the gameplay, story and world very quickly. --Gameplay-- Unlike most action games, in each fight you are able to slow down the action to a crawl by entering "Blade Mode". This allows you to slash the sword in any direction you wish, attacking the enemy. I found this not only intrusive, but also contrary to the fast action that I crave from such a game. When you enter the mode, a box will appear over the enemy's body, in which you are supposed to aim your attack (so you can regain life). This detracts from the danger that usually comes with these games, since every enemy potentially provides a health boost. Using the right stick is clunky at best, and turns the game into some sort of target practice, which I absolutely abhor. The beauty of action (and fighting) games is that you can learn combos and skills and become fluent in utilising them in heated battles. Blade mode completely dispenses with this and therefore all the excitement I usually get from these games.

    Aside from blade mode, I was dissatisfied with the other battle mechanics. Two buttons are used, one for a light and one for a strong attack. Fine. Ninja Gaiden also uses this system and it worked. However, when you get the option to equip a "unique" weapon (e.g. you can use a pole as well as your sword), then it turns into a one-button battle system, as each weapon is allocated to one button each. There are some combos to learn (roughly the same in number as in DmC), but the experience is trivialised because of this. Soul Calibur (albeit a fighting game), in contrast, is light years ahead.

    The "VR Mission Mode" was largely an unpleasant experience. In some battles, the enemies fired rocket launchers at you before you were able to move. The small area you are placed in makes the dreadful camera much worse to deal with.

    The "parrying" (when in fact they mean countering) is a mixed blessing. There is no blocking in this game, and evading is very limited (once you learn it). I was sceptical about this from the offset. Blocking and evading are skills you develop in action games, which add to the adrenaline rush you get from overcoming tricky situations. Removing blocking entirely, and restricting evading, only further dumbs down the battle mechanics. However, the parrying is somewhat well thought out. You have to press the "X" button and move the left stick in the direction of the enemy to parry the attack. Pressing "X" alone to counter would have been fine, but problems arose because of the stick movement. The awful camera, with a mind of its own, makes it very easy to move the stick in the wrong direction, or a direction that is not quite right. Admittedly a bad camera is a complaint of many action games, but movement of the left stick is not so important there. Overall I found "parrying" more of a hassle than it was worth - it was usually better to just polish off enemies before they attacked, especially if you are being swarmed. There is absolutely nothing you can do if more than one enemy is coming at you head on.

    Some bosses were a bore to play. I wish games like these would make bosses where you have to utilise your skills in novel, tricky ways (think Dark Souls). Too often (this is a criticism of similar games also), boss fights are extended by meaningless, easy gimmicks that have no relation to the rest of the game - often at times where the boss is unable to be attacked. For example, one boss flies away and hurls items at you. Fine, you have to use blade mode on them to save yourself before they hit you. But challenging it is not. This is Link's Crossbow training, not an action game. Then, the boss throws bigger objects at you, which you simply must run away from. Each of these distractions takes up a few minutes of time, where you are not "battling" anything at all. There is no heat and no adrenaline. I wish developers would stop it.

    --Story--
    The story is almost parodical. Sonic and Knuckles had a more meaningful story - and I am not being hyperbolic. I won't spoil anything here, but basically, be prepared for "brain transplants", and therefore having to "save the brains".

    The characters are somewhat well done, albeit cliche (the cool black guy, the beautiful busty blonde, the mad german scientist). Unfortunately, you only see them if you press "Back" and then initiate a conversation over video-phone. Most interaction with them can be completely avoided, which is advisable, since most of what they have to say is a futile attempt at building character.

    --World--
    Grey and dank. It is the exact opposite of a Nintendo game.

    --Conclusion--
    Not what I want from an action game at all.
    Expand
  61. Oct 9, 2013
    0
    I love this game, not just because of the awesome hack and slash but Raiden has become a lot more interesting since mgs2. Graphics, story, and game play are all great, I'd gladly buy and play a sequel, so long as it's continuing with Raiden's story, I feel like I'm still missing some important parts of his past and future. Besides, he's the kind of guy character that girls like me and all my female friends actually enjoy playing and watching for hours, ha ha. (nothing against snake...but seriously...) Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Metal Gear series and hardcore beat 'em ups fans will fall in love with this one. They will even extend their experience by replaying the game. They will have no troubles at all with its highly-problematic camera along with its useless junk in the combat system. They will handle it. Gamers outside the fandom do not need to get excited, there is nothing interesting for them.
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Revengeance has moments worth 90/100 but it is surprisingly short and rather shallow. Apparently turbulence during the development process forced the team to make some cutbacks. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.70]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    Ultimately Platinum has managed to deliver on the vision that Kojima first announced back in 2009, and it's a roller coaster ride from start to end. The gameplay is the forefront of importance for the genre and it’s there that they’ve certainly managed to deliver.