User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 298 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 41 out of 298

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    for dmc's sake i played it be4 the magnificent mgs, like all platinum games be4 it this is a hardcore game and just why i love p games Its relentless and difficult on hard and requires skill acompanied by some signature over the top action. Raiden doesn t cut it as an awesome character for me but meh hes ok. So now that i have established that the game play is freaking incredible. The next big thing i ll talk about here is the soundtrack hats off to the musical score of this game. This is definitely not a typical mgs game but the easter eggs here and there are really cool. This game doesn't take itself too seriously but its fun thrilling ride Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    WORTH EVERY PENNY! One of the best hack n slash games of this ganeration. So much fun with slashing enemies, environment with you katana blade. Although, don't buy Xbox 360 version if you have PS3 Microsoft console version have worse looking cut scenes than PS 3 version. In terms of gameplay they are the same. 60 FPS of instant action!
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    I sense Solid Snake faboyism on the Critics review. This game like almost all Platinum Games (Looking at you Anarchy Reigns) is a breathe of fresh air. The graphics are stunning with 60-40 fps. The only thing I hate about this game is the compressed cutscene. If parrying is a problem then you lack skill to play the game (lol skillz...).
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Combat animations are the best I have seen since Ninja Gaiden 2, combat controls are tight (once mastered) and very fun to play with. Parrying takes time to figure out, and the current system basically ensures that button mashing wont work in large battles- I consider this a good thing. Love the story, love the bad guys- love almost everything about this game. One major flaw- where is the wall run? Cant have a good ninja game without a wall-run mechanic (I think Platinum games should path this in lol). Expand
  5. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Well, i can call it is Hack and Slash game literally. Of course, you can slash stuff ingame too. All those martial animations look very stylish. The boss's sound track even have lyric that fit with boss's personality. And weapon taken from boss have very creative design. Not to mention exciting boss battle with epic cutscene. Kojima take a good job on making bosses with their own personality, i even like some bosses than the main character. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    At first, I wasn`t very sure about this, but is KOJIMA, AND KOJIMA NEVER FAILS! Platinum Games takes Metal Gear to a whole new genre with this masterpiece. THIS is what a next-gen hack n´slash game has to be. The gameplay is solid and story is epic. The blade mechanic is amazing (more accurate and precise than the one in the demo) and the combat is so intese. Also, the soundtrack of this game is one of the bes soundtrack I`ve ever heard in a game. JAPAN GAMING LIVES! Expand
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best sword games I've played in my entire life! As a metal gear fan I was pumped for this new direction. I always wanted to take control of a cyborg ninja the franchise is known for. Come on? Let's face it Grey fox and RAIDEN were the real bad ass of their games! I had high hopes for this game and it surpassed my expectations. Kojima and kamya is a match made in gaming heaven. The game play is Beautiful and fluid, precise and deadly, and when you think this is just a button masher suddenly your health is almost at an end. This game takes skill to master. The more you experiment, the more your rewarded... And the boss fights... OMG those boss fights! May I say this game has the most exhilarating rating boss fights to date. This is by far the best action slasher of this generation. Expand
  8. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I'll be short here Amazing game amazing gameplay the bad thing is that the game has a short length.
    But every second of gameplay is awesome and worth playing.
  9. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Massive amounts of fun, a must have for any MG fan. Some of the controls are a little bit iffy but I think that's always the case with a MG game. Overall an action extravaganza, you will be hard pressed to find another game where you have this much fun wielding a sword.
  10. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Animations are awesome. Great story for die hard MG fans. A little short length if you don't count the cut scenes and codec calls. This game is pretty much flawless. Go get this now. Platinum games out did them selves.
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    awesome, entertaining, new concept, new design. At first, I wasn`t very sure about this, but is KOJIMA, AND KOJIMA NEVER FAILS! Platinum Games takes Metal Gear to a whole new genre with this masterpiece. The blade mechanic is amazing (more accurate and precise than the one in the demo) and the combat is so intese. Also, the soundtrack of this game is one of the bes soundtrack I`ve ever heard in a game. JAPAN GAMING LIVES! Expand
  12. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    rad game. if you want a game with awsome music, gameplay, and story, pick this game up. Game of the month of not year. get blazed and play for the best time.
  13. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Blown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. have fun out there
  14. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Completely blown away. I was never much a fan of hack and slash games, but being a Metal Gear fan, I had to at least give it a shot. The boss fights are extremely well designed, especially in the sound department, as the music changes depending on how deep into the fight you are. I never felt out of control with Raiden, which was one of my concerns, as a lot of games like to grab you into an animation and you feel helpless. The fast paced gameplay mixes really nicely with the "can cut anything" sword that Raiden possesses, allowing you to slice and dice everything from humanoid cyborgs, to mechs, to about half of the environmental props in a particular level.

    Metal Gear Solid fans will notice some of the series' implanted design you can hide under a cardboard box or a barrel to try and sneak up on enemies if you'd rather one-hit-kill them stealthily, or you can go in guns blazing true to the Metal Gear franchise in that respect.

    Again, I stress that this normally -is not- my type of game, but I'm just blown away by the sheer quality and dedication that Platinum games put into the title. Boss fights may leave you clapping.
    Collapse
  15. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    I've waited about 4 to 5 years for this game to come out. IT DOES NOT DISAPPOINT!!! Platinum Games delivers yet another hack n slash gem in the form of Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. Its pretty much what I wanted this game to be. Thank you Kojima, Platinum Games and Konami for making this game not suck.
  16. Feb 26, 2013
    10
    Very smooth gameplay and graphics, the franchise potential is high. Keep improving the gameplay and the storytelling.
  17. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    After devil may cry 4 I was wondering is there any better hack and slash around and suddenly I played this one and can't describe how this game great is.
  18. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This game was great. Graphics were great in terms of console expectations, the music was good, the setting was a great one and above all, the gameplay was great. It's essentially what Ninja Gaiden is, but it definitely surpassed what the third one tried to do. Not to mention you can hack off limbs(whether a tree's or a humans) with precise accuracy with Blade Mode. The final boss aggravated me to no end, but daaamn it was satisfying! If you're not afraid to get bruised up a little bit and are willing to put in the effort toget through the game, you won't regret it. Just remember to parry! Expand
  19. Oct 9, 2013
    10
    I love this game, not just because of the awesome hack and slash but Raiden has become a lot more interesting since mgs2. Graphics, story, and game play are all great, I'd gladly buy and play a sequel, so long as it's continuing with Raiden's story, I feel like I'm still missing some important parts of his past and future. Besides, he's the kind of guy character that girls like me and all my female friends actually enjoy playing and watching for hours, ha ha. (nothing against snake...but seriously...) Expand
  20. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    Metal Gear Rising is an amazing game. High intensity action, absurdly addicting gameplay, an above average story, amazing boss battles (some of the best i've ever played in a game) and topping it off with possibly the best soundtrack of any game this year. This game is meant to be replayed so the game being short is not a concern, at least for me anyway. While the game is not perfect (that camera), Rising deserves a spot in your library. I give this game a 9 for both the PS3 and Xbox 360 versions (woulda given it a 9.5, but the rating system won't let me). Expand
  21. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Man, what an awesome game! Platinum Games once again proves that it is the quintessential company when it comes to crafting action games. If I hadn't already played their previous masterpiece, Bayonetta, this game would have blown me away even more. You will hear people complain about the the length of the story, but like most other action games out there, the appeal is playing thru the game multiple times. You'll want to unlock all the awesome weapons and all the harder difficulties. If you are a fan of action games (and a fan of the Metal Gear series) you really can't go wrong with Metal Gear Rising. Expand
  22. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    lol DOSHGAMING12 maybe ur review would mean something if you than didnt recommend Devil May cry 4....the game everyone thinks is the worst in the series so if you like such an easy and crappy game as DMC 4 im glad you dont like this game it probably means it good
  23. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    Let's make this clear, MG Rising is one of the best game to come out of this generation. At its heart, MGR is a strange lovechild between MGS, Bayonetta and Vanquish; all rolled into one slick package. Superb graphics as well as the usual great controls are trademarks of Platinum Games; more surprising is the difficult to master 'Parry System', a bit similar to 3DS' Shinobi. Done right, it will make you feel like a bad ass Ninja Cyborg. Why only a 9? Well, it is a bit on the short side, but for what it's worth, it is filled with enough heart stopping moments of coolness that you can't help but smile. Strange fact, it felt like a great collaboration between Kojipro (essentially Konami) and Platinum Games, who were made of Capcom's ex staffers. An incredible game and an early candidate of game of the year. Expand
  24. Feb 20, 2013
    9
    From a gameplay standpoint, Rising has everything I expected from it and more. The combat is smooth, combos work like a dream, and Blade Mode is an incredible visual flair. Light stealth elements also allow the game to feel a bit more at home with the title of Metal Gear on the cover and add a surprising amount of depth. If there's one thing that holds this game back from being flawless, though, it's the pacing of the story. With the exception of the final boss battles, the gameplay's pacing is every bit as flawless as the action, as a new mechanic is added into the experience every chapter and enemies become increasingly stronger throughout, both enemies seen early game and new enemies added to the mix, but the storytelling is insanely brief. It really strings you along and expects you to buy what's happening, and it's really hard to when Platinum took very few opportunities to flesh out moments of characterization and plot progression. It's a real shame that this is the case, as the presentation of the game is absolutely phenomenal. Irritating story pacing aside, though, this is arguably the greatest Action game ever made, and it's certainly given Platinum's Bayonetta and Vanquish a run for their money. All in all, Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance is a stellar hack-and-slash roller coaster ride that will have you on the edge of your seat until the credits roll. It's more than worthy for Raiden's first playable role as a cyborg and feels every bit as satisfying to play as watching him fight in Metal Gear Solid 4 did. Ignore it at your own cost. Expand
  25. Jul 27, 2013
    9
    Ninjas, Blades, Mecha, Samurai. The game is so good I cannot find anything to complain except for the game length. I do not think anyone can not understand the greatness in this game. Well, except for woman who does not like machoism.
  26. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is the greatest fetus transplant ever: a game KojiPro could never make, handed over to Platinum Games, who can only make this kind of game. Even though previous MGS titles had VR missions as ninjas, they were severely constrained by their engines. Platinum's engine, explicitly for hack 'n slash gives the proper cyborg ninja experience. The story is pretty good and properly topical (like MGS1 or MGS3) main focus being Raiden's personal crusade to stop a defence contractor from turning children into cyborg soldiers, and stimulating the war economy by framing Pakistan for an attempt to assinate the US president (leading to one of the most epic Metal Gear battles ever). The biggest subplot is Raiden's alter ego from his days as child soldier "Jack the Ripper". This gives the player an equivalent to God of War's rage mode. All together, this is the same universe Metal Gear fans know and love but with a new, fresh vector into it they didn't even though they would love. Expand
  27. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    While the game can be completed in 3-4hr, it's damn well spent and has a large opportunity for replay value. The "Blade Mode" feature is fantastic as you actually get the feeling of slice an enemy in half by slowing down time and cutting in any specific direction you want. The boss fights make the game incredibly exciting, Raiden has a robust upgrade system, and the VR missions are a nice touch. For Rising, it doesn't matter how long it is or the fact that it's ditched stealth what matters is that this is one of the best action games released in a long time Another great title from Platinum Games. Expand
  28. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    This is a stylist game and i have think the kind of game platinum produces is both good and have the Japanese taste and story that I like. I feel you should definitely buy MGS rising
  29. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    Great game of hack 'n slash, autentic Metal Gear story and Raiden in the best performance.... Platinum games do a good job in this game... AGAIN!!)
  30. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I expected nothing less than an amazing action game from the people that brought me Bayonetta. I was right to assume this. Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is an awesome action game, it might just be one of the best ones out there. The combat is fluid and fast, and the action never stops. Great game, worth every cent.

    8.7/10
  31. Mar 8, 2013
    9
    I'll admit my expectations were low (not that Platinum Games can't deliver, because they have great games), especially since this game seemed to be lost in development limbo for the longest time, but it sure was worth it! Yes, the game is a bit on the short side, and it has some camera issues, but the sheer volume of stuff do to/collect/kill is just insane. I'm a huge Metal Gear fan, and even the over the top story in this game still "felt" like Metal Gear. It's nice that this game still feels like it belongs in the MG universe. If you like fast action games that can be super challenging, regardless on your thoughts on the MG series, you must play this game. Expand
  32. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    Hack n Slash at its best in this Metal Gear spin-off. (Well if you can call it that) Great visuals, over the top action and an immense amount of satisfaction from slaying all those enemies. All of this at 60 fps? Count me in. The only thing I didn't like that much is that it's a bit short. Good thing it has a lot of replay value. Worth every penny. If you were thinking that it was a bit too expensive at $60, you should definitely get it now. If you look around carefully enough you can find it for $15.

    Oh, and the action is even better with kick ass soundtrack playing in the background. RULES OF NATURE!
    Expand
  33. Feb 19, 2013
    0
    Completely blown away. I was never much a fan of hack and slash games, but being a Metal Gear fan, I had to at least give it a shot. The boss fights are extremely well designed, especially in the sound department, as the music changes depending on how deep into the fight you are. I never felt out of control with Raiden, which was one of my concerns, as a lot of games like to grab you into an animation and you feel helpless. The fast paced gameplay mixes really nicely with the "can cut anything" sword that Raiden possesses, allowing you to slice and dice everything from humanoid cyborgs, to mechs, to about half of the environmental props in a particular level.

    Metal Gear Solid fans will notice some of the series' implanted design you can hide under a cardboard box or a barrel to try and sneak up on enemies if you'd rather one-hit-kill them stealthily, or you can go in guns blazing true to the Metal Gear franchise in that respect.

    Again, I stress that this normally -is not- my type of game, but I'm just blown away by the sheer quality and dedication that Platinum games put into the title. Boss fights may leave you clapping.
    Collapse
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    70
    Metal Gear series and hardcore beat 'em ups fans will fall in love with this one. They will even extend their experience by replaying the game. They will have no troubles at all with its highly-problematic camera along with its useless junk in the combat system. They will handle it. Gamers outside the fandom do not need to get excited, there is nothing interesting for them.
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    80
    Revengeance has moments worth 90/100 but it is surprisingly short and rather shallow. Apparently turbulence during the development process forced the team to make some cutbacks. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.70]
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    Ultimately Platinum has managed to deliver on the vision that Kojima first announced back in 2009, and it's a roller coaster ride from start to end. The gameplay is the forefront of importance for the genre and it’s there that they’ve certainly managed to deliver.