Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Xbox 360

Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 361 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance moves the notorious Metal Gear franchise into new territory by delivering a novel action experience. Coupling development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, Revengeance was made with the goal of providing players with a fresh synergistic experienceMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance moves the notorious Metal Gear franchise into new territory by delivering a novel action experience. Coupling development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, Revengeance was made with the goal of providing players with a fresh synergistic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive Metal Gear universe. The game introduces Raiden as the main character; a child soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    97
    It's a bit on the short side, sure, and the visuals have a tiny hiccup here and there. Everything else about the game is perfect. Seriously, it's exactly right. If you like your action to be intense, dramatic, and totally ridiculous, this could very well be your game of the year.
  2. 90
    Metal Gear Rising: Reveneance is another must-have game from Platinum Games for fans of the sub-genre hack and slash and an interesting, but different, chapter in the Metal Gear saga.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    89
    Revengeance is a great hack and slash: Frantic, fun and fast running at 60 fps. It's a good mix of Metal Gear's universe and Platinum Style, but Raiden fails with stealth situations.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Revengeance is unapologetic in the way it indulges your greatest power fantasies, often doing so with such a grandiose display of style that you'll be unable to wipe that ever-present smile from your face. It's fast, flashy, and fun--and it's easy to excuse Revengeance's hiccups when even the simplest battles rival the best cutscenes in any previous Metal Gear.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    Ultimately Platinum has managed to deliver on the vision that Kojima first announced back in 2009, and it's a roller coaster ride from start to end. The gameplay is the forefront of importance for the genre and it’s there that they’ve certainly managed to deliver.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Franchise aficionados will know how convoluted Metal Gear plots can be. Revengeance also stumbles into preachy territory and tries to provide comment on America, politics and terrorism. This is expected for the most part and doesn't become too overbearing until the final hour, where cutscenes take an even greater role in proceedings. If the sociocultural commentary becomes too much, Virtual Reality missions offer a direct chance to get down and dirty.
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    65
    When Revengeance is firing on all cylinders, it is a sight to behold. Watching Raiden tear through enemies while a dynamic speed metal soundtrack plays in the background is undeniably impressive. After spending an extended amount of time with the game, though, it becomes obvious that beauty is only skin-deep. Revengeance is more impressive to watch than it is to play, but it's certainly no Bayonetta.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 67
  2. Negative: 6 out of 67
  1. Jul 22, 2015
    10
    At first, I had the lowest expectations on this game. I mean, I always been a great fan of Metal Gear games, and this one just seemed a spinAt first, I had the lowest expectations on this game. I mean, I always been a great fan of Metal Gear games, and this one just seemed a spin off game.
    But as I always do, I gave it a try. The results were surprisingly the opposite: One of the best action games I ever played with a gorgeous story and one of the most stunning soundtracks I ever listened.
    I couldn't give it any other score than the maximum.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2013
    10
    Massive amounts of fun, a must have for any MG fan. Some of the controls are a little bit iffy but I think that's always the case with a MGMassive amounts of fun, a must have for any MG fan. Some of the controls are a little bit iffy but I think that's always the case with a MG game. Overall an action extravaganza, you will be hard pressed to find another game where you have this much fun wielding a sword. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Blown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. haveBlown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. have fun out there Expand
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    9
    I expected nothing less than an amazing action game from the people that brought me Bayonetta. I was right to assume this. Metal Gear RisingI expected nothing less than an amazing action game from the people that brought me Bayonetta. I was right to assume this. Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is an awesome action game, it might just be one of the best ones out there. The combat is fluid and fast, and the action never stops. Great game, worth every cent.

    8.7/10
    Expand
  5. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    The Good:Graphics,Jack The ripper,enemies,bosses,story.,music!,ending.
    Bad:George style,PC release..
    This game is nearly perfect finally
    The Good:Graphics,Jack The ripper,enemies,bosses,story.,music!,ending.
    Bad:George style,PC release..

    This game is nearly perfect finally Raiden unleashed his true nature self Jack the ripper,we play an anti hero this is actually a pretty fantastic! and rare! and it would be greater if he later change to be a same as Solidus snake was until jack die.George was irritating by the way of he speaking.PC release a big negative this game should exist only for consoles.The ending was perfect.
    Expand
  6. Jan 29, 2016
    7
    Metal Gear Rising Revengeance is an odd Metal Gear title, let me explain why this game just leaps above average. The gameplay, for one, isMetal Gear Rising Revengeance is an odd Metal Gear title, let me explain why this game just leaps above average. The gameplay, for one, is amazing, Raiden moves amazingly quick, slicing and dicing his way through the puny resistance, the Blade Mode is really fun, letting you slow down time to let you cut in any specific direction that you want. The game runs at 60 FPS, which really enhances the experience. The boss fights in Rising are also amazing, having Raiden up against a hulking cyborg with meat cleavers to a ninja cyborg who can separate his body parts to dodge Raidens blade. The game suffers from some problems though: first of all, the story is boring, and undoes everything that was established in the end of Guns Of The Patriots. second of all, the camera can be a real annoyance sometimes, ruining immersive moments. apart from that, Rising is a decent game that i would only recommend to Metal Gear Solid fans who want something to play while waiting for Ground Zeroes, which drops in 2014. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    I have never played a traditional MG game before, because they do not appeal to me. I was aware that this was an action spin-off, a genre thatI have never played a traditional MG game before, because they do not appeal to me. I was aware that this was an action spin-off, a genre that I am attracted to. DmC is a game that I enjoyed a lot, for example (although that too was far from perfect).

    I could not finish this game. I became bored with the gameplay, story and world very quickly.

    --Gameplay--
    Unlike most action games, in each fight you are able to slow down the action to a crawl by entering "Blade Mode". This allows you to slash the sword in any direction you wish, attacking the enemy. I found this not only intrusive, but also contrary to the fast action that I crave from such a game. When you enter the mode, a box will appear over the enemy's body, in which you are supposed to aim your attack (so you can regain life). This detracts from the danger that usually comes with these games, since every enemy potentially provides a health boost. Using the right stick is clunky at best, and turns the game into some sort of target practice, which I absolutely abhor. The beauty of action (and fighting) games is that you can learn combos and skills and become fluent in utilising them in heated battles. Blade mode completely dispenses with this and therefore all the excitement I usually get from these games.

    Aside from blade mode, I was dissatisfied with the other battle mechanics. Two buttons are used, one for a light and one for a strong attack. Fine. Ninja Gaiden also uses this system and it worked. However, when you get the option to equip a "unique" weapon (e.g. you can use a pole as well as your sword), then it turns into a one-button battle system, as each weapon is allocated to one button each. There are some combos to learn (roughly the same in number as in DmC), but the experience is trivialised because of this. Soul Calibur (albeit a fighting game), in contrast, is light years ahead.

    The "VR Mission Mode" was largely an unpleasant experience. In some battles, the enemies fired rocket launchers at you before you were able to move. The small area you are placed in makes the dreadful camera much worse to deal with.

    The "parrying" (when in fact they mean countering) is a mixed blessing. There is no blocking in this game, and evading is very limited (once you learn it). I was sceptical about this from the offset. Blocking and evading are skills you develop in action games, which add to the adrenaline rush you get from overcoming tricky situations. Removing blocking entirely, and restricting evading, only further dumbs down the battle mechanics. However, the parrying is somewhat well thought out. You have to press the "X" button and move the left stick in the direction of the enemy to parry the attack. Pressing "X" alone to counter would have been fine, but problems arose because of the stick movement. The awful camera, with a mind of its own, makes it very easy to move the stick in the wrong direction, or a direction that is not quite right. Admittedly a bad camera is a complaint of many action games, but movement of the left stick is not so important there. Overall I found "parrying" more of a hassle than it was worth - it was usually better to just polish off enemies before they attacked, especially if you are being swarmed. There is absolutely nothing you can do if more than one enemy is coming at you head on.

    Some bosses were a bore to play. I wish games like these would make bosses where you have to utilise your skills in novel, tricky ways (think Dark Souls). Too often (this is a criticism of similar games also), boss fights are extended by meaningless, easy gimmicks that have no relation to the rest of the game - often at times where the boss is unable to be attacked. For example, one boss flies away and hurls items at you. Fine, you have to use blade mode on them to save yourself before they hit you. But challenging it is not. This is Link's Crossbow training, not an action game. Then, the boss throws bigger objects at you, which you simply must run away from. Each of these distractions takes up a few minutes of time, where you are not "battling" anything at all. There is no heat and no adrenaline. I wish developers would stop it.

    --Story--
    The story is almost parodical. Sonic and Knuckles had a more meaningful story - and I am not being hyperbolic. I won't spoil anything here, but basically, be prepared for "brain transplants", and therefore having to "save the brains".

    The characters are somewhat well done, albeit cliche (the cool black guy, the beautiful busty blonde, the mad german scientist). Unfortunately, you only see them if you press "Back" and then initiate a conversation over video-phone. Most interaction with them can be completely avoided, which is advisable, since most of what they have to say is a futile attempt at building character.

    --World--
    Grey and dank. It is the exact opposite of a Nintendo game.

    --Conclusion--
    Not what I want from an action game at all.
    Collapse

See all 67 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.