Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 314 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance moves the notorious Metal Gear franchise into new territory by delivering a novel action experience. Coupling development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, Revengeance was made with the goal of providing players with a fresh synergistic experienceMetal Gear Rising: Revengeance moves the notorious Metal Gear franchise into new territory by delivering a novel action experience. Coupling development teams at Kojima Productions and PlatinumGames, Revengeance was made with the goal of providing players with a fresh synergistic experience that combines the best elements of pure action and epic storytelling, all within the expansive Metal Gear universe. The game introduces Raiden as the main character; a child soldier transformed into a half-man, half-machine cyborg ninja, equipped with a high-frequency katana blade and a soul fueled by revenge. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    97
    It's a bit on the short side, sure, and the visuals have a tiny hiccup here and there. Everything else about the game is perfect. Seriously, it's exactly right. If you like your action to be intense, dramatic, and totally ridiculous, this could very well be your game of the year.
  2. 90
    Metal Gear Rising: Reveneance is another must-have game from Platinum Games for fans of the sub-genre hack and slash and an interesting, but different, chapter in the Metal Gear saga.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    89
    Revengeance is a great hack and slash: Frantic, fun and fast running at 60 fps. It's a good mix of Metal Gear's universe and Platinum Style, but Raiden fails with stealth situations.
  4. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Revengeance is unapologetic in the way it indulges your greatest power fantasies, often doing so with such a grandiose display of style that you'll be unable to wipe that ever-present smile from your face. It's fast, flashy, and fun--and it's easy to excuse Revengeance's hiccups when even the simplest battles rival the best cutscenes in any previous Metal Gear.
  5. Apr 3, 2013
    80
    Ultimately Platinum has managed to deliver on the vision that Kojima first announced back in 2009, and it's a roller coaster ride from start to end. The gameplay is the forefront of importance for the genre and it’s there that they’ve certainly managed to deliver.
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    80
    Franchise aficionados will know how convoluted Metal Gear plots can be. Revengeance also stumbles into preachy territory and tries to provide comment on America, politics and terrorism. This is expected for the most part and doesn't become too overbearing until the final hour, where cutscenes take an even greater role in proceedings. If the sociocultural commentary becomes too much, Virtual Reality missions offer a direct chance to get down and dirty.
  7. Feb 19, 2013
    65
    When Revengeance is firing on all cylinders, it is a sight to behold. Watching Raiden tear through enemies while a dynamic speed metal soundtrack plays in the background is undeniably impressive. After spending an extended amount of time with the game, though, it becomes obvious that beauty is only skin-deep. Revengeance is more impressive to watch than it is to play, but it's certainly no Bayonetta.

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 6 out of 63
  1. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Well, i can call it is Hack and Slash game literally. Of course, you can slash stuff ingame too. All those martial animations look veryWell, i can call it is Hack and Slash game literally. Of course, you can slash stuff ingame too. All those martial animations look very stylish. The boss's sound track even have lyric that fit with boss's personality. And weapon taken from boss have very creative design. Not to mention exciting boss battle with epic cutscene. Kojima take a good job on making bosses with their own personality, i even like some bosses than the main character. Expand
  2. Feb 21, 2013
    10
    I've waited about 4 to 5 years for this game to come out. IT DOES NOT DISAPPOINT!!! Platinum Games delivers yet another hack n slash gem inI've waited about 4 to 5 years for this game to come out. IT DOES NOT DISAPPOINT!!! Platinum Games delivers yet another hack n slash gem in the form of Metal Gear Rising: Revengeance. Its pretty much what I wanted this game to be. Thank you Kojima, Platinum Games and Konami for making this game not suck. Expand
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Blown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. haveBlown away. I thought this was gonna be another boring action game. its so fun and fast. i beat it twice. great game. worth the price. have fun out there Expand
  4. Mar 12, 2013
    9
    Man, what an awesome game! Platinum Games once again proves that it is the quintessential company when it comes to crafting action games. If IMan, what an awesome game! Platinum Games once again proves that it is the quintessential company when it comes to crafting action games. If I hadn't already played their previous masterpiece, Bayonetta, this game would have blown me away even more. You will hear people complain about the the length of the story, but like most other action games out there, the appeal is playing thru the game multiple times. You'll want to unlock all the awesome weapons and all the harder difficulties. If you are a fan of action games (and a fan of the Metal Gear series) you really can't go wrong with Metal Gear Rising. Expand
  5. Oct 31, 2014
    8
    I got this game WAY late, and when i say late I mean over a year after it was released, but I figure I will put my two cents review in.

    Ive
    I got this game WAY late, and when i say late I mean over a year after it was released, but I figure I will put my two cents review in.

    Ive always been a fan of the MG and MGS series. They were apart of the stealth genre, but somehow felt different then say Splinter Cell. Maybe the more unrealistic story? I'm not sure. But regardless i was a fan ever since i played MGS 1 and had to go back and replay MG and MG 2. Now I've never owned a PSP or PS3, went the route of Xbox 360 so the story was a bit hazy for me up until recently but live I've already said I enjoy the series.

    Now onto MGR: R. This game is a complete spin off of the original MGS series. Follows Raiden now a cyborg ninja who has his own path to follow aside that from what he has been leading in the MGS story with Snake. It takes a VERY few things from the original MGS series, and i think this is done perfectly. It is a spinoff series of course so the genre and style can be its own, and it is. Even compared to other hack and slash games, its unique in its own right.

    What this game does right.
    The music, i felt this soundtrack was amazing. Every boss encounter has its own song and it gets you into the fight. The first time you fight a boss and go to block a giant sword and the song changes, it felt awesome. It really felt like you could take on the whole world. That is until you meet Sam and he cuts your arm off.

    The blade mode is very unique. You to into a bullet time and stand still where now your analog stick controls the movement of your sword. You can also use the light and heavy attack buttons to slash vertically and horizontally. During your blade time you can also pull the cyber spines out of your enemies to heal yourself and your BM meter.

    To finish off a boss you go into a blade mode bullet time and slice them to bits, even though they can talk to you after the fight for a moment?... Regardless it is cool.

    As the game progresses you get points you can spend on additional weapons, more health and different techniques.

    As a hack and slash game, it throws away the traditional dodge for a block mechanic which in most cases can block all incoming damage and stagger your enemy for a second to counter attack. Unfortunately some bosses will do mitigated damage though the block so you need to either make sure you carry rations or end the fight quickly.

    Raiden's new look is awesome, and playing as him is really fun.

    Now some of the issues with the game.
    Like before I said the have a block mechanic in this game. You push the analog stick in the direction you are about to be attacked and press the light attack button to block. Sounds simple enough right? Its too simple. The window where you can actually perform a block is HUGE. Its a good 2 seconds before the attacks are performed you can go into the blocked stance. For the most part you should be able to block every attack, and for whatever you cant, you can steal enemies cyborg spines to heal to full. Yes full. Even if you're at 1% health you will go to full health and full BM.

    Some of the boss fights felt a bit buggy, but I watched videos on them as well and they didn't seem to do the same thing they did when i fought them so I'm not really sure about that. It could be differences in the ports from PS3 to Xbox 360.

    The combat feels a bit shallow, for the most part you'll find that you are hitting the light attack button due to the fact that it does damage and blocks at the same time, you'll end up taking more damage at the cost of very little damage increase if you use the heavy attack more often.

    This is a modern hack and slash game, so of course there is a rating system at the end of every level, but it seems to really on factor in combos and times. Damage taken or deaths do not weight at all on the score, which is strange because this is from the same devs as Bayonetta who penalized you quite a bit for items used, deaths and damage taken.

    Another thing is your main weapon can never be changed, only upgraded which I guess is okay but some variety would be nice. Once you kill a boss their weapon becomes available for purchase from the store, unlike most games who would provide it for you for a reward for killing said boss, but they are usually pretty cheap to buy (though can get expensive to upgrade so pick one and stick with it)

    Within the actual game there are VR mission unlockables, but no health or weapon unlocks which is also strange but it doesn't necessarily take anything away from the game expect for maybe some replay value.

    Overall its an amazing entry to the MG series. I love hack and slash/action games and I also really like the MG franchise, this game gives me a good medium for both. The combat is a bit lacked to others in the same genre and from the same devs, and the blocking mechanic could be tightened up a bit to make it more challenging, but its a great game in its own light and also a great game for people trying to play a good hack and slash game. 8/10
    Expand
  6. Feb 23, 2013
    7
    Spin off to the MGS series. I expected better game mechanics. Although there is a lot of great aspects to this particular title. It is verySpin off to the MGS series. I expected better game mechanics. Although there is a lot of great aspects to this particular title. It is very short. with only 7 levels of 4-5 hrs of solid gameplay. Blade mode is cumbersome and hard to use. And the responsiveness of the action sequences needs a patch or two. Other than the problems mentioned. Its a good game overall. Expand
  7. Mar 23, 2014
    0
    I have never played a traditional MG game before, because they do not appeal to me. I was aware that this was an action spin-off, a genre thatI have never played a traditional MG game before, because they do not appeal to me. I was aware that this was an action spin-off, a genre that I am attracted to. DmC is a game that I enjoyed a lot, for example (although that too was far from perfect).

    I could not finish this game. I became bored with the gameplay, story and world very quickly.

    --Gameplay--
    Unlike most action games, in each fight you are able to slow down the action to a crawl by entering "Blade Mode". This allows you to slash the sword in any direction you wish, attacking the enemy. I found this not only intrusive, but also contrary to the fast action that I crave from such a game. When you enter the mode, a box will appear over the enemy's body, in which you are supposed to aim your attack (so you can regain life). This detracts from the danger that usually comes with these games, since every enemy potentially provides a health boost. Using the right stick is clunky at best, and turns the game into some sort of target practice, which I absolutely abhor. The beauty of action (and fighting) games is that you can learn combos and skills and become fluent in utilising them in heated battles. Blade mode completely dispenses with this and therefore all the excitement I usually get from these games.

    Aside from blade mode, I was dissatisfied with the other battle mechanics. Two buttons are used, one for a light and one for a strong attack. Fine. Ninja Gaiden also uses this system and it worked. However, when you get the option to equip a "unique" weapon (e.g. you can use a pole as well as your sword), then it turns into a one-button battle system, as each weapon is allocated to one button each. There are some combos to learn (roughly the same in number as in DmC), but the experience is trivialised because of this. Soul Calibur (albeit a fighting game), in contrast, is light years ahead.

    The "VR Mission Mode" was largely an unpleasant experience. In some battles, the enemies fired rocket launchers at you before you were able to move. The small area you are placed in makes the dreadful camera much worse to deal with.

    The "parrying" (when in fact they mean countering) is a mixed blessing. There is no blocking in this game, and evading is very limited (once you learn it). I was sceptical about this from the offset. Blocking and evading are skills you develop in action games, which add to the adrenaline rush you get from overcoming tricky situations. Removing blocking entirely, and restricting evading, only further dumbs down the battle mechanics. However, the parrying is somewhat well thought out. You have to press the "X" button and move the left stick in the direction of the enemy to parry the attack. Pressing "X" alone to counter would have been fine, but problems arose because of the stick movement. The awful camera, with a mind of its own, makes it very easy to move the stick in the wrong direction, or a direction that is not quite right. Admittedly a bad camera is a complaint of many action games, but movement of the left stick is not so important there. Overall I found "parrying" more of a hassle than it was worth - it was usually better to just polish off enemies before they attacked, especially if you are being swarmed. There is absolutely nothing you can do if more than one enemy is coming at you head on.

    Some bosses were a bore to play. I wish games like these would make bosses where you have to utilise your skills in novel, tricky ways (think Dark Souls). Too often (this is a criticism of similar games also), boss fights are extended by meaningless, easy gimmicks that have no relation to the rest of the game - often at times where the boss is unable to be attacked. For example, one boss flies away and hurls items at you. Fine, you have to use blade mode on them to save yourself before they hit you. But challenging it is not. This is Link's Crossbow training, not an action game. Then, the boss throws bigger objects at you, which you simply must run away from. Each of these distractions takes up a few minutes of time, where you are not "battling" anything at all. There is no heat and no adrenaline. I wish developers would stop it.

    --Story--
    The story is almost parodical. Sonic and Knuckles had a more meaningful story - and I am not being hyperbolic. I won't spoil anything here, but basically, be prepared for "brain transplants", and therefore having to "save the brains".

    The characters are somewhat well done, albeit cliche (the cool black guy, the beautiful busty blonde, the mad german scientist). Unfortunately, you only see them if you press "Back" and then initiate a conversation over video-phone. Most interaction with them can be completely avoided, which is advisable, since most of what they have to say is a futile attempt at building character.

    --World--
    Grey and dank. It is the exact opposite of a Nintendo game.

    --Conclusion--
    Not what I want from an action game at all.
    Collapse

See all 63 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.