Metro 2033 Xbox 360

  • Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 346 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 346
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TomC
    Mar 28, 2010
    6
    Metro 2033 is a unique experience that is heavily linear and heavily combat based. In the first few levels visiting the small station towns was a real treat, the atmosphere is breath taking, and there are so many details that one can absorb. Though unfortantly that atmosphere dies down as you progress through the further levels, becoming then bland, and boring. The combat perhaps is even Metro 2033 is a unique experience that is heavily linear and heavily combat based. In the first few levels visiting the small station towns was a real treat, the atmosphere is breath taking, and there are so many details that one can absorb. Though unfortantly that atmosphere dies down as you progress through the further levels, becoming then bland, and boring. The combat perhaps is even worse. While it is an fps, it's a very flawed fps. There is a limmited supply of bullets, which for some may damper on the fun. An honestly, after 10 hours of gameplay shooting these strange, mutated, grotesque enemies really lose my interest. Overall I expected a heavy linear, dark, with a great story. An overall I guess I did get that, but in a much smaller dose. Perhaps if the game was more polished, the combat more upped the ante, the enviorment more expressive, then maybe, maybe it could've turned out the game I THOUGHT it could've been. Still overall a good game you can play once, though after that not much else to see. Expand
  2. AndrewL
    Mar 18, 2010
    5
    The fairly long game gets every point for graphics, no doubt. It's stunning and the physics are just great. The atmosphere is spooky but a bit jarring. You're never free to roam around the Metro, as the story goes you are dragged through loading screens as new areas are uncovered, in a linear fashion. The game treats you well however, letting you outside every now and then, and The fairly long game gets every point for graphics, no doubt. It's stunning and the physics are just great. The atmosphere is spooky but a bit jarring. You're never free to roam around the Metro, as the story goes you are dragged through loading screens as new areas are uncovered, in a linear fashion. The game treats you well however, letting you outside every now and then, and while a lot of the time you have a gas mask on, it still unmasks a lot of beauty you thought you wouldn't see. Each map is like a sandbox, where you can only move forward as the story progresses, but when you can, you're free to explore and pick up fresh (very original weapons) and ammo/currency. It gets intense manually pumping a steam-powered shotgun, or recharging your generator while creatures flock around you. Unfortunately this makes the game extremely difficult, causing quite a few deaths here and there. The traps are very subtle, hence you suddenly explode when you touch a trip wire you forget you should be looking for. The healing system is delayed and you don't get NEARLY enough health to deal with the amount of enemies the game sends at you. Whether they carry guns or have claws, the enemies are always going to stress you out, and unless your aim is dead-on, you're done for. Reloading is a death-wish, it's extremely slow and once you start you better be running. It's basically necessary to have your guns locked and loaded before taking another step. That said, this game is not for casual gamers, and those who are desperate to pick it up, I'd suggest the Easy mode. In the long run, I didn't have high expectations for Metro 2033, but I wasn't disappointed, just a little unhappy that even though the storytelling, voice-acting, graphics and gunplay are phenomenal, it lacks everything else that Fallout 3 does so well, and I hate to compare them, but the two games share so much (as far as post-apocalyptic games go), and yet, with all its greatness, it just left me wanting to play Fallout instead. Expand
  3. BrandonR
    Mar 24, 2010
    7
    This game has all kinds of potential. It seems like the developer spent way more time on the underground city dwelling experience than on the actual combat gameplay. The currency and buying/selling mechanic and just overall city experience are impressive, way more so than any other FPS I've played in a while. As impressive as it is however, the actual first person shooter parts of This game has all kinds of potential. It seems like the developer spent way more time on the underground city dwelling experience than on the actual combat gameplay. The currency and buying/selling mechanic and just overall city experience are impressive, way more so than any other FPS I've played in a while. As impressive as it is however, the actual first person shooter parts of the game (which is 75% of what this game is about) is underwhelming to the point of being nearly broken. Overall a fairly interesting experience if you can put up with it. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    Read the book? No? Want to buy this game first before buying the game? Yes? Well, it's not the best thing to do first. Why I'm telling to buy the book, then play the game? Because the story might be difficult to follow, because it barely tells the story of the book. It pretty much tells very small amount of the book, but it doesn't have its own story. The game makes much more sense whenRead the book? No? Want to buy this game first before buying the game? Yes? Well, it's not the best thing to do first. Why I'm telling to buy the book, then play the game? Because the story might be difficult to follow, because it barely tells the story of the book. It pretty much tells very small amount of the book, but it doesn't have its own story. The game makes much more sense when you have read the book first. Well, how is the game other wise then? It's decent. It mixes with stealth and run 'n gun action well. Run 'n gun doesn't have the last click feel, which would make it great and stealth becomes very annoying, because of how it's pretty much based on remembering the waypoints the enemies use. I would have preferred less linear style of gameplay too, but it doesn't mean the game is bad. Overall, the game doesn't impress in anything, but it's still good enough to be bought...After you have the book... Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    I absolutely love this game's atmosphere, story, and setting. This is one of those games I was completely absorbed and invested in. It's dark, mysterious, tense, and often scary. All of the feelings the game can bring are made even more intense by the game's fantastic graphics which still look excellent even by today's standards. It has been a while since I have been so invested in a videoI absolutely love this game's atmosphere, story, and setting. This is one of those games I was completely absorbed and invested in. It's dark, mysterious, tense, and often scary. All of the feelings the game can bring are made even more intense by the game's fantastic graphics which still look excellent even by today's standards. It has been a while since I have been so invested in a video game world. The game definitely has the ability to suck you into it's world, but I found the gameplay experience to be sadly lacking.

    I love the game's emphasis on survival-like gameplay. You have to scrounge around for ammo and other supplies, and managing things like gas mask filters and flashlight power is essential. Unfortunately the whole ammo as currency thing falls short because there's nothing to really spend the much needed bullets on. It's a minor issue though. I love this style of gameplay and this survival style is something I wish more games would focus on. Where I found the gameplay to be lacking was in it's gunplay and stealth. Stealth is basically broken and shootouts are rarely exciting. During stealth enemy AI is almost godlike. During shootouts their basically brain-dead. Human AI frequently ignored cover and stood out in the open, or failed to shoot back. Yet somehow when I was trying to sneak by the managed to pinpoint my exact location by hearing a knife cut through the air. It's pretty irritating. Shootouts against monsters usually just end up with you and an AI companion back against a wall holding off various waves. It's competent, but not very exciting. The moments where you are on your own and don't know where an enemy will come from are exciting and tense, and easily some of the best parts of the game.

    Overall while I did find the gameplay experience to be flawed, I have to say I really did enjoy the game. With it's amazing atmosphere but flawed gameplay it kind of comes across as a poor man's "Fallout 3". Still this is one post-apocolyptic adventure I do recommend playing. Just be wary that the shooting, which is the core gameplay, isn't exciting. There's a lot worth experiencing here, but the gameplay doesn't hold up. I still recommend it though.
    Expand
  6. Jan 28, 2011
    6
    Graphics: 9/10 - beautiful in a dystopian sense
    Story: 6/10 - bland plot, characters generally uninteresting
    Sound - 5/10 - in the communal areas, you literrally hear 5 conversations at once, and you can't make out a word. And the accents are pretty dire. Gameplay: 6/10. The biggest problem with this game is the gameplay. Yes, its linear, but who cares - Half Life is linear, and who
    Graphics: 9/10 - beautiful in a dystopian sense
    Story: 6/10 - bland plot, characters generally uninteresting
    Sound - 5/10 - in the communal areas, you literrally hear 5 conversations at once, and you can't make out a word. And the accents are pretty dire.
    Gameplay: 6/10. The biggest problem with this game is the gameplay. Yes, its linear, but who cares - Half Life is linear, and who doesn't love Half Life? The problem is that it sets itself up to be great - good gameplay mechanics, great potential for some awesome shootouts - and then doesn't give you the opportunity to put these into practice. You encounter plenty of mindless mutants (solution: hold down the trigger while they run at you) but hardly any smart human enemies. Those you do encounter aren't always all that smart - they will be seen running one area of cover to another, sometimes with their backs to you. Sometimes they're standing out in the open and won't shoot at you. You're offered a reasonable variety of weapons, upgrades (e.g. silencers, scopes, laser sights), but none of it really matters. You basically need a rifle and a shotgun, and thats it. Throwing knives? I managed to find one single opportunity to use one of these successfully. Bottom line: visually amazing shooter with great potential, let down by its shooting.
    Expand
  7. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    A generally underrated game, and though much of it could be developed to a higher degree, its haunting atmosphere, edgy gameplay, and mysterious plot makes a ripple that's worthwhile among the scattered assortment of apocalyptic titles in the media industry today.
  8. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    A really solid shooter, despite the slightly sluggish controls. I can't help but feel that this is the campaign that Modern Warfare fans have been longing for, yet completely let slip by them.
  9. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    While we've seen who knows how many games based on movies, Metro 2033 is special in that it's based on a novel. True deal: this is a game adaptation of a novel by Dmitry Glukhovsky. Metro is about the aftermath of the apocalypse. Survivors in Moscow inhabit the city's metro, the subway, and each station has become effectively its own nation-state. Predictably, this sort of nationalismWhile we've seen who knows how many games based on movies, Metro 2033 is special in that it's based on a novel. True deal: this is a game adaptation of a novel by Dmitry Glukhovsky. Metro is about the aftermath of the apocalypse. Survivors in Moscow inhabit the city's metro, the subway, and each station has become effectively its own nation-state. Predictably, this sort of nationalism coupled with desperately short supplies means conflict. So let's take a tour of Metro 2033. First and foremost, this game does exactly what it sets out to do: to create a tense, atmospheric environment where combat with humans and mutants is a constant threat, the environment itself is your enemy, and you're never quite sure who your friends are. There's plenty of creativity on the part of the devs, which leads to some interesting situations for you as a player: in a society where bullets are currency, do you use your preciously-hoarded ammunition to buy or blast? You can't have both. Graphics are generally very good, and environments are beautifully rendered...and when you can say ruins are beautiful, then you know the graphics team got it right. And storytelling is extremely well done, providing a solid driving force...something of a rarity in a shooter like this. But a 6? Yes, and here's why. First, the voice acting is uneven; while most of the game is well done, there are instances where the suspension of disbelief is broken by either scriptwriting or performance. Music is fair, nothing special, but it doesn't do much to add to the game. But the worst mistake on the part of Metro 2033 is its total failure to capture the obvious and low-hanging fruit that would've made this game great: it should have been open-world. The entire design of the game's world lent itself toward being a sandbox game, and really most gamers would probably be itching at an opportunity to just walk this world, but you're never given the chance. Metro is a rail shooter, point blank and period, and that is its single greatest failing. Rail shooters were fine back when that was all the tech could handle. But just like the more-recent Aliens: Colonial Marines, this just does not cut it any more. A rail shooter needs to be something truly spectacular, borderline otherworldly in its concept and execution to be good today. When shown a world that has so much potential and then be told, no, you can't go explore and experience, then that's a failure. This is, hands down, the single greatest fault in the game. If you're looking for a diversion that puts you in a well-made postapocalyptic hellhole, then Metro 2033 is a good choice. Just don't expect to be given the keys to the city. A 6 for Metro 2033, a game with lots of potential it inexplicably (and unforgivably) decided to ignore. Expand
  10. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    I am changing my score from eight to seven. The atmosphere is still great, and the potential for a mind blowing game is still there, but as I have played more I have seen more issues with poor hit detection and silly AI. Being that combat is a big part of the game (stealth is much fun in this game) I felt that a score of eight was too high and adjusted down to a seven. This game is still aI am changing my score from eight to seven. The atmosphere is still great, and the potential for a mind blowing game is still there, but as I have played more I have seen more issues with poor hit detection and silly AI. Being that combat is a big part of the game (stealth is much fun in this game) I felt that a score of eight was too high and adjusted down to a seven. This game is still a lot of fun, and worth picking up. Hopefully, Metro: Last Light will have these issues resolved (if it gets released). Expand
  11. Apr 15, 2013
    5
    I wanted to like this game, but it was pretty bad. Couldn't play more than an hour before I realized it wasn't going to get any better. The monsters were laughable and the poor gameplay sucked any sense of suspenseful atmosphere right out of the game.
  12. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    Metro 2033 is a post apocalyptic first person shooter that's based on the novel of the same name by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky. A story about one man's journey through the last standing pieces of civilization to seek help for his home, defending humanity from being swept away by an evolutionary menace and being lost forever. The main character, Artyom, is a man born before theMetro 2033 is a post apocalyptic first person shooter that's based on the novel of the same name by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky. A story about one man's journey through the last standing pieces of civilization to seek help for his home, defending humanity from being swept away by an evolutionary menace and being lost forever. The main character, Artyom, is a man born before the nuclear conflict that destroyed the world and left the surface uninhabitable, but too young to remember anything of the old world. All he can recall is the cold underground of the deep Metro subway systems. One day he simple life defending his family is interrupted by his unit being slaughtered by an unknown evil. Forced to leave his home to seek assistance from a far and unfamiliar station, he must battle through the horde of the new species that survive the wilderness of the cold frozen surface, the surviving forces of long dead political parties, and mysterious paranormal forces to save the last of humanity.

    Read Full Review http://www.ign.com/blogs/thegrandmasboy Wasnt enough room for full post.
    Expand
  13. Aug 28, 2015
    7
    metro 2033 is that weird kind of FPS where it derives from a russian science fiction book while simultaneously diverging from it, dropped onto our laps like a curious gem of oddities, essentially being Russia's answer to Fallout 3 (like as if there was anyone necessarily clamoring for it). Anyhow, as for my experience with Metro 2033, it was for the most part satisfactory and enjoyable,metro 2033 is that weird kind of FPS where it derives from a russian science fiction book while simultaneously diverging from it, dropped onto our laps like a curious gem of oddities, essentially being Russia's answer to Fallout 3 (like as if there was anyone necessarily clamoring for it). Anyhow, as for my experience with Metro 2033, it was for the most part satisfactory and enjoyable, albeit clunky, annoying, and downright frustrating at times, and probably for the wrong reasons. You being your quest as Artyom, a Russian equivalent of the 'downcast gritty protagonist' but add a silent protagonist vibe AND A inner monologue between loading screens and he becomes downright insufferable. I know what you are thinking: I don't hate silent protagonists, but It certainly bothers me when a silent protagonist DOES talk but refuses not to just to make conversations with the NPCS awkward. Not that it would matter since all or most of the NPCs sound exactly the same (sorry Russia for being racist apparently) making conversations even more confusing as I try to figure who is talking to who. While the voice acting is solid and technical, most of the sound in the rest of the game is either way too loud, way too weird, or borrowed straight from the Half Life 2 sounds (when you brake cardboard is the most prominent borrow of that soundbyte). Sometimes when I enter areas weird ass sounds will ring for no apparent reason and no clue as to how they came about, which also makes trying to sneak around enemies all the more difficult. Sure, the game certainly TRIES to ehance stealth by making you aware of light sources and 'noisemakers' as well as traps and shards of glass, but of course once you get caught by one dude ALL other dudes will automatically know your position and it is, of course, impossible to invade them, especially when they have pitch perfect aiming even if they are shooting you in the dark from a mile away. As for the guns, well, they work for the most part, even if the damage is for no discernible reason incosistent when killing certain enemies (often it can take either 1 shell or a whole clip to kill the SAME enemy from the SAME distance in the SAME EXACT spots), and I do like how you have to have some foresight as to what armaments you will carry onto the next area, whether to be sneaky (like that'll work anyway) or to go run in gun everything. Enemies both human and monster are varied but the monsters are by far more enjoyable to kill as they aren't as cheap as enemies, although at the same time human enemies will have loads of ammo to keep you from having to be precise with shots. As for the theme, story and setting, theme and setting are all extremely strong, showcasing a desolate Moscow that looks much more nigh inhabitable and more seamless than Fallout 3's world (even for a linear shooter no less) with the metro also being beautifully detailed and looking like as if you could explore the entire metro (which is misleading given the map that you see throughout each loading screen). Story upon the first half is unsubstantial as you are merely sending a message to some guy about some other guy dying, for whatever reason as to help your 'station' from the Dark Ones, and I won't spoil anything about them but the ending is a moral choice which is very well ambiguous and gray in nature, as it should be what with most of the choices you make (other than the 'am I ready or not' ones). So while I get somewhat annoyed with the questionable choice of sounds, the indistinguishable NPCs and the nonsensical damage output, what really gets my git is the **** checkpoints. I had one segment where I had a checkpoint that landed me essentially in a deathzone, having to redo that segment 8 times before I could finally triumph and manage the game to give me a more safe chekcpoint. While on one hand I can appreciate the need to have checkpoints, checkpoints come randomly and don't consider your current situation, so you may end up eating bullets on a checkpoint forcing you to start the entire campaign again. Luckily that never happened for me. Adding more onto my critique of the guns, some of the guns have weird mechanics, the double barreled shotgun having each of it's barrels tied to the bumper sticks, the auto shotty not having an ironsight but instead an awkward melee attack, and I didn't even bother with the pneumatic weapons as it seems as though those would be innefective. Anyhow, I've rattled on this game enough. While it does sport a lot of depth, creativity and love to the original source material, sound, stealth mechanics, gunplay and choice of voicework need improvement. tune in later for my review of Last Light. Expand
  14. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    didnt know what to expect and was happy with my purchase! i dont whats with me but i like russian post - apocalyptic shooters. just the feel of it is fun. the only thing that i was a bit disappointed in is the story. sometimes it just feels like its not there and you forget about it when you're shooting the mutant rats or whatever their called. but since the game was based on a series ofdidnt know what to expect and was happy with my purchase! i dont whats with me but i like russian post - apocalyptic shooters. just the feel of it is fun. the only thing that i was a bit disappointed in is the story. sometimes it just feels like its not there and you forget about it when you're shooting the mutant rats or whatever their called. but since the game was based on a series of books. i might go out and buy them now! Expand
  15. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game's atmosphere and unique design choices will make it a worthwhile experience for some, but Metro 2033 suffers from a number of issues (poor implementation of stealth, recurring glitches, etc.) Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    This game's bread and butter is the environment. That's the most enjoyable, well done part of it, and sets it apart from other shooters. I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic settings, and an edgy game like Metro surely fit the bill. Going into this game, as I just finished here in February 2013, I had high expectations since I have a friend who is in love with Metro and it is one of hisThis game's bread and butter is the environment. That's the most enjoyable, well done part of it, and sets it apart from other shooters. I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic settings, and an edgy game like Metro surely fit the bill. Going into this game, as I just finished here in February 2013, I had high expectations since I have a friend who is in love with Metro and it is one of his favorite games. Alas, it didn't take long before I found out this game wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Artyom is the main character, as most people know by now, but you really don't get to find out much about him. And, while I understand the decision, it always leaves something to be desired when you play as a silent protagonist. The story remains interesting throughout based on one thing some type of hallucinations that Artyom has in which special types of mutants contact him. Otherwise, most of the characters in the game don't really matter much. Bourbon and Ulman have interesting personalities, but otherwise everyone is pretty generic. The conclusion, I found, really didn't do much justice. I wish they could have fleshed it out more, instead of just giving you a short conclusion and a sentence or two from the mind of Artyom.

    The Gameplay is really what sinks the experience. Stealth is made possible, but it is extremely difficult. If you thought Hitman games were hard, you've got another thing coming. There is no gray area, as the IGN review said. It's either you don't exist or everyone within the current level is trying to kill you. Besides stealth mechanics, the game is not that difficult or complicated. Having a shotgun and an automatic rifle will guide you through any close encounters. Bombs and throwing knives are seldom needed, if at all in the entire game. The shooting, however, is very wonky, and the game is very glitchy, even post-patch here in 2013. In the last chapter, Artyom kept pulling out the universal charger everytime it went below 100% without me pressing the button for him to do so, for example. Overall, Metro 2033 was an enjoyable game, and I am considering a second playthrough to see the alternate ending. I am fascinated with what the game calls 'Dark Ones.' While the environment leaves you nervous to see what's around the corner, the gameplay and glitches ultimately pull Metro down.
    Expand
  17. Sep 1, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Metro, for all its faults, is quite underrated. To be honest, yes combat is kind of bad, but the game isn't meant to be a shooter, as many people treat it. It is mostly focused on the Story, which can be quite gripping if you are willing to go any try everything a second time. Combat isn't very good because it doesn't require you to fight EVERY baddie that crosses your path. On the Communist vs. Nazi mission, you can get an achievement for both killing them all AND for sneaking past them. In Fact, its recommended not to do it without the STEALTH suit. The nosalises are constantly just going past you or standing up mid-combat because they are stupid. They were more than likely created out of moles that mutated into them, if you take a look at their faces. As for people complaining about graphics, you're missing a very noticeable point: This is irradiated Moscow, which probably didn't look so happy in the first place. However, I will agree that the Gas Mask doesn't seem to make much sense. After all, if Gas Masks cancelled out radiation, we wouldn't have Haz mat suits. Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. Here’s the problem: the shooting, the only real game in Metro 2033, is broken.
  2. 85
    If post-nuclear apocalyptic thrillers are your thing, then Metro 2033 should be on your “must buy” list.
  3. If you're a first-person shooter fanatic that's not into micromanagement and just wants to kill things, this is definitely not your game. However, if you're looking for something in the genre that digs a little deeper, this one demands exploration.