• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 16, 2010
  • Also On: PC
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 299 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 32 out of 299

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    8
    Like Metro 2033's cousin, STALKER, the main draw is the fascinating world around you. Immersing yourself in a post-apocalyptic society thriving underground is unforgettable. The gunplay is merely adequate at best, as well as the stealth components. There are also some pretty intense moments scattered here and there (one involving the most unlikely of places: a library) Overall, Metro is a solid shooter sporting some pretty unique set pieces and characters. Expand
  2. Dec 7, 2011
    6
    Read the book? No? Want to buy this game first before buying the game? Yes? Well, it's not the best thing to do first. Why I'm telling to buy the book, then play the game? Because the story might be difficult to follow, because it barely tells the story of the book. It pretty much tells very small amount of the book, but it doesn't have its own story. The game makes much more sense when you have read the book first. Well, how is the game other wise then? It's decent. It mixes with stealth and run 'n gun action well. Run 'n gun doesn't have the last click feel, which would make it great and stealth becomes very annoying, because of how it's pretty much based on remembering the waypoints the enemies use. I would have preferred less linear style of gameplay too, but it doesn't mean the game is bad. Overall, the game doesn't impress in anything, but it's still good enough to be bought...After you have the book... Expand
  3. Aug 20, 2010
    8
    This game looks nice and is very atmospheric. I love the array of makeshift weapons such as the shotgun that has the butt of a P90. Also I like how you have to charge your flashlight and your journal is in realtime and is a 'weapon' that is affected by ambient light. I would recommend this to anyone who likes FPS/Survial games.
  4. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    This is a spectacular game although it isn't as polished as the likes of COD it has a wonderfully odd story and the gameplay accommodates to that by the constant fear of what lurks around that dark corridor or the fact that you cant breath outside without a gas mask. The atmosphere is what i think the games strong point is i mean the depth of the game is amazing with a lot of set pieces and sneaking bits i have to say this is the best survivall game i have ever played thank god there is still games like this instead of the regular stories that have been repeated too many times, this story is original in its own way and is definitely worth a try i mean it has Russians in it how fing awesome is that Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2011
    2
    Metro 2033 has a decent premise and setting, but the gameplay is broken. The controls often feel unresponsive and clunky. I was uninterested in the story and characters, and the enemies were unvaried. I am struggling to find any positives from my playthrough, but the campaign is a decent length and the setting is atmospheric. If you can get over the glitchy controls and boring story, you might enjoy it. 1/5. Expand
  6. Oct 29, 2010
    8
    The underground of Moscow in 2033 with monsters, tunnels, darkness and a radioactive Earth surface...sounds good so far... Overall this game stands out with its amazing atmosphere which in our books will beat Bioshock's atmosphere 8 days of the week. The story is again a masterpiece and we can't fault it too much - We just wish it would have gone on for even longer!!!! So far everything is perfect...Our flaw is in the game engine and AI... Many online reports have found many glitches with the actual game and with DLC too! The AI is another annoyance. Enemies take cover behind cover (or so they think they are!). They are actually in the open but look like they are looking out from cover. You will also hear the AI enemies constantly say the same lines over and over again until you finally kill them off with the bullets..which brings us to our final problem: guns and bullets. Not only are they inconsistent but very annoying. Sometimes a single bullet will knock enemies off their feet but most of the time it will take entire unloading of clips of ammo into enemies just to watch them shout "you're dead!" in a super hardcore voice whilst they sit behind their non-existent cover. No wait, one more problem: you spend half the game collecting currency bullets and find a super cool gun you want to buy but it will cost everything you have, so you do it, knowing your reward is epic...then you walk through to the next level only to find the first enemy you encounter has the same gun and its might even have some attachments and you wasted all your ammo as you could have got it for free....damnit! Expand
  7. Jul 30, 2011
    3
    I really wanted to like Metro 2033, i loved the storyline, the graphics, and the narrators voice oozes atmosphere, yeah i really wanted to like Metro 2033, but the fact that it's one of the most frustrating games i've ever played means i didn't like it at all.

    I mean who's idea was it that when you die on the surface because you've run out of oxygen filters, that when the game reloads
    from the previous checkpoint you still have no oxygen filters, so you die quickly and on and on it goes, until you realize, you have to go back a whole section of the game to buy or scavenge said filters, and then replay through it all again, add a clunky shooting mechanism and you have a hugely disappointing game.

    Games should be fun, this is Rubbish
    Expand
  8. Mar 3, 2014
    6
    I absolutely love this game's atmosphere, story, and setting. This is one of those games I was completely absorbed and invested in. It's dark, mysterious, tense, and often scary. All of the feelings the game can bring are made even more intense by the game's fantastic graphics which still look excellent even by today's standards. It has been a while since I have been so invested in a video game world. The game definitely has the ability to suck you into it's world, but I found the gameplay experience to be sadly lacking.

    I love the game's emphasis on survival-like gameplay. You have to scrounge around for ammo and other supplies, and managing things like gas mask filters and flashlight power is essential. Unfortunately the whole ammo as currency thing falls short because there's nothing to really spend the much needed bullets on. It's a minor issue though. I love this style of gameplay and this survival style is something I wish more games would focus on. Where I found the gameplay to be lacking was in it's gunplay and stealth. Stealth is basically broken and shootouts are rarely exciting. During stealth enemy AI is almost godlike. During shootouts their basically brain-dead. Human AI frequently ignored cover and stood out in the open, or failed to shoot back. Yet somehow when I was trying to sneak by the managed to pinpoint my exact location by hearing a knife cut through the air. It's pretty irritating. Shootouts against monsters usually just end up with you and an AI companion back against a wall holding off various waves. It's competent, but not very exciting. The moments where you are on your own and don't know where an enemy will come from are exciting and tense, and easily some of the best parts of the game.

    Overall while I did find the gameplay experience to be flawed, I have to say I really did enjoy the game. With it's amazing atmosphere but flawed gameplay it kind of comes across as a poor man's "Fallout 3". Still this is one post-apocolyptic adventure I do recommend playing. Just be wary that the shooting, which is the core gameplay, isn't exciting. There's a lot worth experiencing here, but the gameplay doesn't hold up. I still recommend it though.
    Expand
  9. Dec 27, 2010
    9
    THIS IS AWESOME GAME !!!! 10 / 10 !!!
  10. Jan 17, 2011
    3
    Metro feels like a really bad version of Bioshock stuck on rails ala the COD games with none of the fun or polish that either of those titles provide. Given it 's an FPS it fails on the most basic premise, the shooting, it's broken! For example, sometimes a double barrel shotgun to face would send an enemy reeling other times you can empty both barrels reload and repeat they still stand there! After trying a number of times to get into the game I just gave up, a few nice cut scenes and half decent story do not cover up the fact it's just not very good. Expand
  11. Jan 28, 2011
    6
    Graphics: 9/10 - beautiful in a dystopian sense
    Story: 6/10 - bland plot, characters generally uninteresting
    Sound - 5/10 - in the communal areas, you literrally hear 5 conversations at once, and you can't make out a word. And the accents are pretty dire.
    Gameplay: 6/10. The biggest problem with this game is the gameplay. Yes, its linear, but who cares - Half Life is linear, and who
    doesn't love Half Life? The problem is that it sets itself up to be great - good gameplay mechanics, great potential for some awesome shootouts - and then doesn't give you the opportunity to put these into practice. You encounter plenty of mindless mutants (solution: hold down the trigger while they run at you) but hardly any smart human enemies. Those you do encounter aren't always all that smart - they will be seen running one area of cover to another, sometimes with their backs to you. Sometimes they're standing out in the open and won't shoot at you. You're offered a reasonable variety of weapons, upgrades (e.g. silencers, scopes, laser sights), but none of it really matters. You basically need a rifle and a shotgun, and thats it. Throwing knives? I managed to find one single opportunity to use one of these successfully. Bottom line: visually amazing shooter with great potential, let down by its shooting. Expand
  12. Apr 20, 2011
    7
    A generally underrated game, and though much of it could be developed to a higher degree, its haunting atmosphere, edgy gameplay, and mysterious plot makes a ripple that's worthwhile among the scattered assortment of apocalyptic titles in the media industry today.
  13. May 2, 2011
    10
    FIrst of all I have to make a note on the fantastic graphics, which helps a great deal in showing the player a dark underground world in which humanity has ended up in. The storyline was original with interesting characters along the way, if and the voice acting is great. The overall feel of the game is dark and slightly gothic (in a russian kinda way :P) but this is wonderfully presented, creating an immersive and extremely fun experience, a must have for people who enjoy this type of fps. Expand
  14. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    In Metro 2033 you are a citizen of a metro station about 20 years after there was a nuclear war. When you find out that these creatures created form the radiation of the nukes are beginning to come into the metro system you leave to warn and get help from the biggest station in the metro. Metro 2033 is a very linear FPS that is dark and depressing. What helps make the game feel that way is the great art design and the low creepy music. Shooting on Metro 2033 is a little heavier than most shooters, but does not take to long to get used to. Throughout the game you stop at different stations that have shops where you can buy new weapons, armor, and ammo. The currency is bullets. Specifically high quality bullets that are more rare and more powerful. You can trade in the items to get more bullets to use to buy other items. The bullets can also be used to shoot, but I recommend not do that to often, especially on later levels. Metro 2033 is more challenging than most shooters. It does not hold your hand and the player learns from experience what are the best tactics and weapons to use in certain situations. Voice acting in can be a little questionable once in a while, but it is good enough. Metro is different than most shooters in the fact that it is more story based and does not have the over the top action like other shooters. Also Metro does not have multiplayer, but the single-player over shadows it. I am personally happy that there is not any multiplayer because it could of hurt the story and gameplay. If you want to compare Metro 2033 to any other shooter the closest one is Half-Life. If you want a good story driven shooter that is different than most shooters than Metro 2033 is for you. I am looking forward to Metro Last Light. Expand
  15. Jun 10, 2011
    8
    The power of that game in its color and beauty. Weak side of that game is much more complicated. At first - a game concept, which delivers a bunch of different mini-games followed one after another thanks to a poor idea behind the game. Second thing is absolutely brainless monsters programmed to use one way only although most of them are pretty tough. Third one - you can not explore anything - even the biggest locations, they'd been placed there like a great decoration stuff (even people). Overall game is good, it's interesting and has a lot of fun-scary moments. Worth to buy (i'm looking at the steam price now - June 2011) but not expect that Metro 2033 is a kind of a masterpiece. 6 of 10 Expand
  16. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they put the air powered weapons in the game since finding them is next to impossible except for the rare one or two times. The scoped weapons scopes don't work very well in darker environments even with night vision goggles on. I like the stealth elements of the game as well. It's not like other games with stealth in them where you only have to keep track of a few things. You have to keep track of the light exposure, how much noise your making, and how far you are from others that you might wanna kill. While this may sound unnecessarily complicated, it's actually all very simple.

    I did find it annoying that there's no obvious way to get the "good" ending of the game. I actually had to find a guide only to find that you would have to pretty much talk to everybody and interact with pretty much everything to get to it. I'm also disappointed that they didn't use the "good" ending for the sequel but instead went with the "bad/normal" ending. But then again it's understandable since, the book, Metro 2034 doesn't have much fighting in it like Metro 2033 has.

    The guns are also extremely fun to use. I was really surprised that using the AK-47, or the Kalash as the in game residence call it, didn't feel like just firing yet another AK-47. Using the silenced weapons to get rid of enemies quietly and destroying lights are also fun to do.

    Overall, the game is extremely good. It may not be for the one who is looking for nothing but action but it's still good. I recommend setting your own challenges in the game since it makes it even more fun. For example, playing the entire game using only pistols or rifles.
    Expand
  17. Sep 1, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Metro, for all its faults, is quite underrated. To be honest, yes combat is kind of bad, but the game isn't meant to be a shooter, as many people treat it. It is mostly focused on the Story, which can be quite gripping if you are willing to go any try everything a second time. Combat isn't very good because it doesn't require you to fight EVERY baddie that crosses your path. On the Communist vs. Nazi mission, you can get an achievement for both killing them all AND for sneaking past them. In Fact, its recommended not to do it without the STEALTH suit. The nosalises are constantly just going past you or standing up mid-combat because they are stupid. They were more than likely created out of moles that mutated into them, if you take a look at their faces. As for people complaining about graphics, you're missing a very noticeable point: This is irradiated Moscow, which probably didn't look so happy in the first place. However, I will agree that the Gas Mask doesn't seem to make much sense. After all, if Gas Masks cancelled out radiation, we wouldn't have Haz mat suits. Expand
  18. Mar 3, 2013
    10
    An excellent game set in a richly detailed and elaborately conceived environment. The story is much stronger than the industry average for FPS games. The textures and art design are also above average. Sound is generally decent also and the Russian accents add authenticity to the dialogue. The brilliance of Metro lies among a host of little details done exceptionally well. There is claustrophobia in the dark tunnels but as soon as you leave them you can't wait to get back. Every bullet is scarce, and thus valuable, a notion that is wonderfully underlined by the use of bullets as currency. Gas masks and their filters are a necessity while traversing certain areas... and are always necessary outside. Masks can break during combat, leading to rapid asphyxiation. Avoiding combat through stealth makes sense then, but don't take too long doing so or you'll run out of filters..! In short the brilliance of this game lies in the way that it manages to convey both continual dread and omnipresent threat. Expand
  19. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Metro 2033 is a very underrated game. It has some issues indeed, it's not for everyone but for me who doesn't like mindless shooters it's one of the best games I've played so far. It's dark, violent, mature and its atmosphere is just stunning and very depressing. The story is great, as it's based on the book, which I really enjoyed and the graphics, for a 2010 game, are really nice. The world of Metro is completely destroyed and beautiful at the same time and still, after playing the game and reading the books, it has a lot of questions unanswered which makes me extremely hyped for Metro: Last Light. However, the game is very annoying sometimes. It's glitchy, not very polished and the AI is so precise that it's almost impossible to sneak unnoticed, which kinda ruins the game for me. I don't recommend it for everyone, but if you like shooters with a good story and atmosphere, go get it ASAP, even if you'll be annoyed sometimes. Expand
  20. Nov 29, 2011
    7
    A really solid shooter, despite the slightly sluggish controls. I can't help but feel that this is the campaign that Modern Warfare fans have been longing for, yet completely let slip by them.
  21. Nov 20, 2011
    8
    OVERALL: Easily one of the most underrated game of its time. This game delivers on some very key components that you would look for in a FPS.


    PROS: As said earlier, the big things you are looking for in a game, Metro 2033 succeeds in. The storyline is great, containing two possible endings that both are exciting and leave you suspicious until the end. "Ranger" difficulty can make it a
    very challenging game making every bullet important, killing every enemy an accomplishment, and making every "Cartridge" spent carefully. The gameplay is very intuitive and offers a wide range of styles of playing. The graphics are amazing, from the people in each station, the post-apocalyptic Moscow, and every monster you encounter in the frozen wasteland.


    CONS: There are two big problems that this game has. First, Metro 2033 is very bug-filled, making some points in the game impossible to proceed which makes the game very frustrating at some points. It can also get confusing and sometimes too difficult, for some players, as this is a very hardcore game. Another problem is the stealth system. Stealth is an option in this game but is very difficult to control and master. This is partly due to bugs, how a guy will automatically know where you are at when you silent killed another guy in the dark. The cons are an issue but doesn't stop it from being a great game or should it stop you from buying it.


    GRAPHICS: 9 out of 10 Very nice, makes you feel like you are surviver living in the Moscow Metro
    STORYLINE: 8 out of 10 A bit confusing at first, gets better as it goes along.
    GAMEPLAY: 8 out of 10 Tons of new features and styles makes it unique, some bugs to work out.
    LASTING APPEAL: 6 out of 10 No multiplayer or anything, but "Ranger Mode" will keep plenty of people busy for a while.
    OVERALL: 8 out of 10


    THE CONCLUSION: For a new game developer (4A Games) and a new franchise, there is always going to be some kinks to work out. But this is definitely something great they created and I cannot wait for the refined Metro: Last Light.
    Expand
  22. Jun 23, 2013
    6
    While we've seen who knows how many games based on movies, Metro 2033 is special in that it's based on a novel. True deal: this is a game adaptation of a novel by Dmitry Glukhovsky. Metro is about the aftermath of the apocalypse. Survivors in Moscow inhabit the city's metro, the subway, and each station has become effectively its own nation-state. Predictably, this sort of nationalism coupled with desperately short supplies means conflict. So let's take a tour of Metro 2033. First and foremost, this game does exactly what it sets out to do: to create a tense, atmospheric environment where combat with humans and mutants is a constant threat, the environment itself is your enemy, and you're never quite sure who your friends are. There's plenty of creativity on the part of the devs, which leads to some interesting situations for you as a player: in a society where bullets are currency, do you use your preciously-hoarded ammunition to buy or blast? You can't have both. Graphics are generally very good, and environments are beautifully rendered...and when you can say ruins are beautiful, then you know the graphics team got it right. And storytelling is extremely well done, providing a solid driving force...something of a rarity in a shooter like this. But a 6? Yes, and here's why. First, the voice acting is uneven; while most of the game is well done, there are instances where the suspension of disbelief is broken by either scriptwriting or performance. Music is fair, nothing special, but it doesn't do much to add to the game. But the worst mistake on the part of Metro 2033 is its total failure to capture the obvious and low-hanging fruit that would've made this game great: it should have been open-world. The entire design of the game's world lent itself toward being a sandbox game, and really most gamers would probably be itching at an opportunity to just walk this world, but you're never given the chance. Metro is a rail shooter, point blank and period, and that is its single greatest failing. Rail shooters were fine back when that was all the tech could handle. But just like the more-recent Aliens: Colonial Marines, this just does not cut it any more. A rail shooter needs to be something truly spectacular, borderline otherworldly in its concept and execution to be good today. When shown a world that has so much potential and then be told, no, you can't go explore and experience, then that's a failure. This is, hands down, the single greatest fault in the game. If you're looking for a diversion that puts you in a well-made postapocalyptic hellhole, then Metro 2033 is a good choice. Just don't expect to be given the keys to the city. A 6 for Metro 2033, a game with lots of potential it inexplicably (and unforgivably) decided to ignore. Expand
  23. May 17, 2013
    10
    This is my PC opinion for this game, it's here since I'played it on my 360 also, clearly the PC tech part does not apply here.

    Among the best atmosphere in a game so far, it's somehow linear but in way that makes you feel more free than how you actually are, in this game you actually cares about your weapons and stuff, you can feel every bullet you or your enemies fires, you have to
    fight against various kinds of threats, enemies, time and fears in an environment that really sucks you in, it's a mature and tense experience able to drag a bit of the scary kid out of everyone no matters age or experience, kids you are warned.
    Complaints about a narrow FOV are just nonsense from beginners, this game is supposed to give a good amount of claustrophobic feeling and is pretty damn good at it, complaints about weapons "feeling" lets clearly understand who played it with a controller and who didn't, usually mouse and keyboard doesn't have a rumble pack inside, actually a controller is the best way to play many games and many PC gamers have to realize that mouse and keyboard weren't planned to play games while a controller, yes. The sounds are creepy and relaxing at a right pace, the graphics looks really good but are heavy at higher settings on non high-spec or old machines, the AI is balanced and challenging, if you walk on glass or alarms, no wonder they will hear you and suspect something is going on, in a reality in which everything can kill you the fact they set up traps an get immediately alerted is quite reasonable, it's not about "you" but everyone and "everything" could be there.
    Many of the few complaints I've seen here among the negative reviews seems to come from beginners or people scared by this game that are actually searching for other reasons to mask their feelings and to "punish" the game...childish, there are people simply giving a 0 to this game due to the fact they haven't understood this game or they've thought it were something else, NO, it's not Call of Duty, it's a damn immersive experience and it NEEDS a more narrow field of view than other shooters for kids, it's an engaging, immersive and amusingly punitive hard-core experience for mature "minds" regardless of physical age.
    Few "here and there" and the fact that on PC it has heavily requirements to be pushed to the limit would require a little lowering of my rating that would approximate more a high 9 than a 10 but the fact that there are people giving out 0-4 not being able to roam the configuration menus or not reading all the hints the game gives out lead me to round this up to 10 just to balance this unfairness, a good game getting bad rating from bad players is something that drives me mad, when I realize that a game is not my kind and or I don't have enough skill to play it, simply I don't drop crap on it giving a bad rating and blaming as a fault of the game itself.

    The short version is: I've played it on the 360 a first time and decided to replay it on PC to enjoy better graphics and sound lately while waiting for Last Light, by my point of view it's a masterpiece and never gets old, every serious gamer should not miss this experience.
    Expand
  24. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    Downloaded this for cheap on XBOX Live sale. Always wanted to play it and now I have. 3 years after it was released and man! Its awesome! This game is severely underrated! This is a dark, gritty thinking mans FPS. Gameplay is wonderful, spooky and surreal. Yes, the graphics may not be great but they do the job. Anyway, most of the time you are smothered in the darkness. If you are looking for something away from the Battlefields, COD's and any other military shooters, give this a try. Expand
  25. Feb 22, 2013
    7
    I am changing my score from eight to seven. The atmosphere is still great, and the potential for a mind blowing game is still there, but as I have played more I have seen more issues with poor hit detection and silly AI. Being that combat is a big part of the game (stealth is much fun in this game) I felt that a score of eight was too high and adjusted down to a seven. This game is still a lot of fun, and worth picking up. Hopefully, Metro: Last Light will have these issues resolved (if it gets released). Expand
  26. May 17, 2012
    9
    What a surprise hit. This is a really fun and immersive game. The action is intense but manageable. A little bit of a stretch when it comes to the story but still involving after the first couple of chapters. The weapons have power too, a headshot feels explosive. All in all a great game, I recommend It.
  27. May 11, 2012
    9
    A highly under-rated gem and a must have for the post-apocalyptic fan. This game is a unique and dark story-driven post-apocalyptic tale that adds some original weapons and mechanics to the fps genre. There are a few things the game could have done better such as a quick melee button instead of manually switching to the knife but overall the environments and unique weapons make this game stand out. The underground settlements really feel alive with npc's playing guitars, having hushed conversations, cooking a meal, and children's scribbles scattered around. This game does much more right that wrong and I am really looking forward to the sequel. Expand
  28. May 22, 2012
    8
    While the game, at release, was marred by animation glitches, performance issues, and lackluster gunplay, after a number of patches, along with the later released 'Ranger' pack, Metro 2033 stands as a breath of fresh for the fps genre. One of the most atmospheric titles I've had the pleasure to play through, the game does a great job of placing you within it's world, creating a believable atmosphere, both oppressive and almost heartbreaking. The world is as much a character itself as any of the souls you will come across throughout the story. This, combined with a strong narrative, creates a very interesting and satisfying experience for the player. As stated above, the gunplay, easily the weakest element of the game at launch, has received a major upgrade in the form of a dlc pack. The 'Ranger' dlc pack (240 points on xbox, free for pc), offers two new weapons, as well as two new difficulty modes. These modes boost the damage of both yours and your enemies' weapons, doing away with the excessive damage both parties used to take. This goes a long way to improving the overall feel of the combat. That said, there are still a few issues that I have with the game. With all the improvements they have made since launch, the stealth section are still rather shoddy, prone to be broken through either ai issues, or simply through lackluster design. The physics found in the game are also a mixed bag. While it allows for realistic weight to the firing of weapons, some ragdoll animations are less than believable, and the throwing of grenades feels very, very off. Everything said, this was still one of the most satisfying gaming experiences of a long while. Not without it's problems, it's easy to see that 4A games went out of their way to offer something truly interesting to the player. A highly recommended title, there is only a few gripes holding this game back. Even then, the pros largely outweigh the cons. Now easily found for cheap, there is little reason for someone not to check out this title. Expand
  29. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    I wanted to like this game, but it was pretty bad. Couldn't play more than an hour before I realized it wasn't going to get any better. The monsters were laughable and the poor gameplay sucked any sense of suspenseful atmosphere right out of the game.
  30. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    Metro 2033 is a post apocalyptic first person shooter that's based on the novel of the same name by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky. A story about one man's journey through the last standing pieces of civilization to seek help for his home, defending humanity from being swept away by an evolutionary menace and being lost forever. The main character, Artyom, is a man born before the nuclear conflict that destroyed the world and left the surface uninhabitable, but too young to remember anything of the old world. All he can recall is the cold underground of the deep Metro subway systems. One day he simple life defending his family is interrupted by his unit being slaughtered by an unknown evil. Forced to leave his home to seek assistance from a far and unfamiliar station, he must battle through the horde of the new species that survive the wilderness of the cold frozen surface, the surviving forces of long dead political parties, and mysterious paranormal forces to save the last of humanity.

    Read Full Review http://www.ign.com/blogs/thegrandmasboy Wasnt enough room for full post.
    Collapse
  31. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    didnt know what to expect and was happy with my purchase! i dont whats with me but i like russian post - apocalyptic shooters. just the feel of it is fun. the only thing that i was a bit disappointed in is the story. sometimes it just feels like its not there and you forget about it when you're shooting the mutant rats or whatever their called. but since the game was based on a series of books. i might go out and buy them now! Expand
  32. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    This is one of those games that despite its flaws it is different enough and has the bells and whistles in place that the flaws can be easily over-looked. The game is set in future Russia where mankind is now settles underground. I never tell story elements in my reviews and never read reviews with potential spoilers but the setting is what makes this game so good. For a 360 game it looks downright fantastic. The lighting and atmosphere is above everything else not called Hal 4. It really is a sight to behold. The only flaw is the outside levels (Very few) have some ugly texture work.
    Another cool feature is the good ammo and the worn down ammo mechanic. The good ammo is standard affair while the older ammo takes more bullets to down and enemy or you can use it to trade for better weapons and ammo. At first it is a tad confusing which one you are using however. Also the gun play is not up to par with other shooters. It is a bit clunky. As good as the story is, I wish the developers did a better job of giving the players more variety instead of a still pic with the words text across the screen and the main character reading it off. At least Artyum is a cool character and the other characters do a decent job filling you in on the back story. Enemy A.I. is either incredibly stupid or brutal. So the difficulty is all over the place and I did find a few bugs. But regardless, when it comes to production values, atmosphere, and creepy settings, very few games touch this gem. A must play and I can't wait for the next installment.
    Expand
  33. May 16, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game's atmosphere and unique design choices will make it a worthwhile experience for some, but Metro 2033 suffers from a number of issues (poor implementation of stealth, recurring glitches, etc.) Expand
  34. Jan 1, 2013
    9
    ill keep it brief, this is one of the best single player experiences money can buy, i have seen some pretty unfair reviews on this game and all i can say is that they are full of it. The only thing wrong with the game is the stealth system, and i felt like they over dramatized it, it wasn't that bad, sure not perfect, but not broken. Other than that this game is great, you do have to get the secret enlightenment ending to fully appreciate the themes and the message this game is sending you, which is something few games can math, the atmosphere is top notch. If your thinking about getting this game do it, and show THQ some support! Expand
  35. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    A great game very different from what someone would expect from a first-person-shooter. The atmosphere is original and top notch, the graphics hold up pretty well and the firefights are exhillerating. Something from the atmosphere of the first Gears of War, FEAR and a lot of darkness.

    The drawbacks are that it has a steep learning curve and the AI is problematic. Also the game could use
    some puzzles or smthing like puzzles because of its nature. The story and universe are incredible, though I expected a bit more info up till the end.

    Overall, the authenticity is there and except from a few problems, I can't wait till I get my hands on Last Light. The PC version is far superior to the console version.
    Expand
  36. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    This game's bread and butter is the environment. That's the most enjoyable, well done part of it, and sets it apart from other shooters. I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic settings, and an edgy game like Metro surely fit the bill. Going into this game, as I just finished here in February 2013, I had high expectations since I have a friend who is in love with Metro and it is one of his favorite games. Alas, it didn't take long before I found out this game wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Artyom is the main character, as most people know by now, but you really don't get to find out much about him. And, while I understand the decision, it always leaves something to be desired when you play as a silent protagonist. The story remains interesting throughout based on one thing some type of hallucinations that Artyom has in which special types of mutants contact him. Otherwise, most of the characters in the game don't really matter much. Bourbon and Ulman have interesting personalities, but otherwise everyone is pretty generic. The conclusion, I found, really didn't do much justice. I wish they could have fleshed it out more, instead of just giving you a short conclusion and a sentence or two from the mind of Artyom.

    The Gameplay is really what sinks the experience. Stealth is made possible, but it is extremely difficult. If you thought Hitman games were hard, you've got another thing coming. There is no gray area, as the IGN review said. It's either you don't exist or everyone within the current level is trying to kill you. Besides stealth mechanics, the game is not that difficult or complicated. Having a shotgun and an automatic rifle will guide you through any close encounters. Bombs and throwing knives are seldom needed, if at all in the entire game. The shooting, however, is very wonky, and the game is very glitchy, even post-patch here in 2013. In the last chapter, Artyom kept pulling out the universal charger everytime it went below 100% without me pressing the button for him to do so, for example. Overall, Metro 2033 was an enjoyable game, and I am considering a second playthrough to see the alternate ending. I am fascinated with what the game calls 'Dark Ones.' While the environment leaves you nervous to see what's around the corner, the gameplay and glitches ultimately pull Metro down.
    Expand
  37. May 14, 2013
    9
    Extremely atmospheric game with tons of immersion. Fairly decent shooting mechanics, but nothing to write home about. Overall, good story, good shooting mechanics, great atmosphere, great gameplay mechanics (like having to change gas mask when cracked and filters for it when you run out.)
  38. Jul 10, 2013
    8
    The 'Metro' books are easily my favourite book series because their concept is so original and fresh. It pleases any reader who enjoys horror and is rather tired of the 'Vampires & Werewolves' stories that seem to now be associated with our beloved genre. So after discovering there are game based on the books, you will understand that I simply had to play them. Metro 2033 being the first of the two (soon to be three when Metro 2035 is published) was the first I played. I went into the game hoping for a story-driven, fresh, new thriller. I was not disapointed.

    As with FPS you obviously have to look at the shooting mechanics in general, and recognizing that this isn't an Activizion or Bungie title, so you can't expect them to compete with the best, Metro 2033's shooting mechanics can certainly hold there own with any other non A-list shooters. The guns themselves and their actions are smooth, even if the recoil is a bit jumpy, and occasionally as a monster jumps at your face, your shotgun shots seem to go through or mysteriously bend round the target. But such small things don't take away or affect the fun of intense fights with demons by torchlight in the pitch dark of a metro tunnel.

    As far as the Horror aspect goes, Metro 2033 has one of the best, ecspecially for a console game. Not enough to compete with the original Resident Evil games, but enough to ensure that through out the entire game you never feel safe unless you have someone, anyone with you, and just as you realise that, you find yourself completley alone, in the Metro, in the Dark, with only your flashlight, a home-made gun, and a limited amount of bullets. When you finally come face-to-face with the thing you could only hear echoing behind you and in the tunnels, you may not be as scared as your imagination may have made you think you were going to be, but you may certainly be panicked and squeezing the controller harder than you thought you would or could as you get ambushed by a group of mutants or a flying demon, but the models themselves certainly don't compare with th ones I imagined in my head as I read their descriptions in the book, and the models themselves or how they attack aren't great, they still do their job well enough and are enough to make you jump. Also the variety and originallity of the Mutants you will meet (ecspecially the 'Librarian') are very interesting and seperate Metro 2033 from those tiring games we have all played at one point or another where the enemy type is repetative and boring, thankfully Metro 2033, staying true to the book, does not suffer from this problem.

    A major issue that all players will find, whether they expect a good stealth system or not, is the fact that the stealth in this game is definatley below par. Generally irritating issues and decisions that seem to have been made in development will make certain levels very annoying and tiresomme if you're a perfectionist, and generally irritating if you arn't. Mechanics such as missing once with a silent throwing knife will cause EVERY ENEMY ON THE LEVEL to immeadiatley know your location nd attack you. Even if the guy you missed the first time has been silently killed before he could make a sound. Somebody programmed that, and I will never know why.

    The only other complaints are minor but necesarry to mention. The HUD isn't very friendly to a controller, to stab somebody with your knife, for example is tideous, rather than a quick button press like in other FPS games, you have to press left on the D-pad at least twice to select the knife and then attack with it, pointless and annoying. Another is the over-complicated oxygen system. As you enter areas where oxygen is either unavailable or contaminated you will have to put a gas mask on and replace the filters periodically, but the system to tell you how long you have left of oxygen is unclear and uneasy to read or understand without googling or YouTubing it.

    One other notable thing in the game is its trade system, rather than money, (as in the books) bullets are used to facilitate trade. There are several types of bullets: Pistol bullets (only used as ammo for pistols), Machine gun Bullets (only for use in rifles or sub-machine guns) and Shotgun shells (only used in shotguns). The other type of bullet is called; 'Millitary Grade Ammunition' this is used as cash for medpacks, filters, other types of bullets and grenades. They can also be shot, and often are because they do alot more damage than regular bullets, but saving them is neceasarry. The trade sytem isn't obivious at first glance, but is logical and makes sense the more you trade.

    Overall the Game was disapointing from a book-reader's perspective but very fun from a gamer's perspective, if you enjoyed the books, buy the game because you will definatley enjoy immerising yourself in the universe. If not, then I would only recomend the game to people who are willing to overlook minor issues, to discover a true gem of a game.
    Expand
  39. May 18, 2013
    10
    This is the Best FPS in the world, in story,protagonist,voice acting,music is fit for the game,atmosphere is unique.not like metro last light in my opinion that is a failure game.
  40. May 26, 2013
    8
    This was actually the first time Iv'e seen a game based of a best-selling book, Russian to be precise, and actually work! There's no MP yet for the franchise, but the single-player story is something to look at. However, I recommend the game be played on PC over Xbox 360, helps with the moody atmosphere the game has.
  41. May 30, 2013
    8
    I was very pleased with this game. Despite it being a bit short and have less desirable stealth mechanics, this game is really fun and it actually feels like a survival horror game because of its dark setting in areas where you don't have a lot of room to move around. Fun game and I'd recommend it.
  42. Nov 20, 2013
    8
    A really engaging and interesting first person shooter, variation on traditional game mechanics with ammo currency and toxic environments were really interesting and created a sense of anxiety in this post apocalyptic survivalist shooter, the shooting itself seemed to be a bit off at times and difficult to track but that probably unintentionally created a greater sense of panic, graphics were eerie and oppressive (in a good way) but the voice acting was pretty terrible. I found this a unique and gratifying experience. Expand
  43. Jul 1, 2013
    8
    I loved this game and it was short a masterpiece,im truly saddened due to thq selling it to deepsilver.The best Russian game out there,hopefully no one will copy it...
  44. Jul 3, 2013
    8
    The game is VERY underrated. It very immersive, intense and fun. Though the stealth mechanics could do with some improving, It's optional so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, its a great game with a tale worth telling.
  45. Mar 22, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Critic's can't seem to see a good thing if it's right in front of them.
    Metro 2033 is a " What if" scenario, where the United States dropped a nuclear missile on Moscow in Russia causing World War III. In the aftermath, your play as a character named Artyom who lived the underground safe havens of a Metro. After your Metro was under attacked by mutated leftovers who rome the darker sides of the Metro, Artyom is sent to reach the other side of the Metro so that he could get some help for his home Metro.
    Metro 2033 was a game that kept interested thought out it, the action is intense, the story is interesting, and it gives off the real atmosphere of an apocalypse.
    The combat is so much fun after you get use to it, however you could use a more stealthy approach but its broken as hell, also the rounds for gun are in really short demand and what ever clip you find could only give a total of three-thirty round so ammo management is a need to and make every shot count. The story is outstanding to go through, it's not like the Call of Duty s**t you go through. The story is one that if something good or bad happens you react to it majorly felling happy, mad, or sad. Finally the setting of the apocalyptic world. Well it's down right beautiful, the Metro's lighting sets the area where its dark and damp, while the ruins of the world you go through outside is gorgeous. However so parts fell lazy and liner paths to fallow.
    There's no way to describe the way this game was, the rating was an 8.5 but its generous to give a 9 so an 8 is going to have to do
    Expand
  46. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome for those who love this genre. Atmosphere is impressive, ambient is amazing. The game is not without a lacks, quite short besides, however the one who likes this world will stay here forever.
  47. Aug 30, 2013
    8
    It took me a little while to get into this one (basically because I wasn't very good) but it was worth the effort.

    The shooting mechanics do take a bit of getting used to and it has a steep learning curve but the challenge is rarely (too) frustrating.

    The atmosphere and game world is highly immersive once you get into it and there are some genuinely scary moments, in particular the
    library level.

    The stealth works well and is the most interesting part of the game. The brief excursions to the surface are also really exciting.

    I'd recommend this game to people willing to put some time into getting into it, it's not a pick up and play for a few minutes game.
    Expand
  48. Jul 31, 2012
    0
    Metro 2033 is a post apocalyptic first person shooter that's based on the novel of the same name by Russian author Dmitry Glukhovsky. A story about one man's journey through the last standing pieces of civilization to seek help for his home, defending humanity from being swept away by an evolutionary menace and being lost forever. The main character, Artyom, is a man born before the nuclear conflict that destroyed the world and left the surface uninhabitable, but too young to remember anything of the old world. All he can recall is the cold underground of the deep Metro subway systems. One day he simple life defending his family is interrupted by his unit being slaughtered by an unknown evil. Forced to leave his home to seek assistance from a far and unfamiliar station, he must battle through the horde of the new species that survive the wilderness of the cold frozen surface, the surviving forces of long dead political parties, and mysterious paranormal forces to save the last of humanity.

    Read Full Review http://www.ign.com/blogs/thegrandmasboy Wasnt enough room for full post.
    Collapse
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. Here’s the problem: the shooting, the only real game in Metro 2033, is broken.
  2. 85
    If post-nuclear apocalyptic thrillers are your thing, then Metro 2033 should be on your “must buy” list.
  3. If you're a first-person shooter fanatic that's not into micromanagement and just wants to kill things, this is definitely not your game. However, if you're looking for something in the genre that digs a little deeper, this one demands exploration.