• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 299 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. The ideal Metro 2033 player is someone looking for something new, something immersive and something really, really hard. If you fit that description, we cannot recommend Metro 2033 highly enough.
  2. An incredible FPS experience, mixed with survival horror elements. Great graphics and a good plot (by the Russian author Dimitry Glukovsky) make this the shooter to have these days; don't miss it!
  3. The atmosphere is perfect for anyone who loved Fallout 3 and although the combat takes some getting used to and could be frustrating for some, Metro 2033 is an exciting adventure that will keep you hooked until the end.
  4. A post-apocalyptic fight for survival in the shape of FPS, with an incredibly immersive atmosphere that shines in its audiovisual presentation. The nearly 12 hours of tense journey is totally worthy of play. However, despite its visual highlights, the game fails in trying to escape its linear structure and scripted events. Ultimately it does not offer enough incentives to be replayed.
  5. Metro 2033 features an intriguing and exciting journey with a few bumps along the way. Though frustrating in some areas, fans of FPS and those fascinated by a post-apocalyptic world will find Metro 2033 a rewarding experience.
  6. When Metro's credits rolled, and as I looked across a vast landscape to see the results of my actions, I couldn't help but feel a tinge of disappointment, partly because it was over, but mainly because there is such obvious room for improvement. Metro 2033 comes recommended, but falls a little short of claiming a place among the genre's elite.
  7. Metro 2033 has a ton of really great ideas, but not only do they not fit together well, they actually compete with each other, sucking all the enjoyment out of the experience.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 58
  2. Negative: 5 out of 58
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they put the air powered weapons in the game since finding them is next to impossible except for the rare one or two times. The scoped weapons scopes don't work very well in darker environments even with night vision goggles on. I like the stealth elements of the game as well. It's not like other games with stealth in them where you only have to keep track of a few things. You have to keep track of the light exposure, how much noise your making, and how far you are from others that you might wanna kill. While this may sound unnecessarily complicated, it's actually all very simple.

    I did find it annoying that there's no obvious way to get the "good" ending of the game. I actually had to find a guide only to find that you would have to pretty much talk to everybody and interact with pretty much everything to get to it. I'm also disappointed that they didn't use the "good" ending for the sequel but instead went with the "bad/normal" ending. But then again it's understandable since, the book, Metro 2034 doesn't have much fighting in it like Metro 2033 has.

    The guns are also extremely fun to use. I was really surprised that using the AK-47, or the Kalash as the in game residence call it, didn't feel like just firing yet another AK-47. Using the silenced weapons to get rid of enemies quietly and destroying lights are also fun to do.

    Overall, the game is extremely good. It may not be for the one who is looking for nothing but action but it's still good. I recommend setting your own challenges in the game since it makes it even more fun. For example, playing the entire game using only pistols or rifles.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome for those who love this genre. Atmosphere is impressive, ambient is amazing. The game is not without a lacks, quite short besides, however the one who likes this world will stay here forever. Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2012
    9
    Metro 2033 is a very underrated game. It has some issues indeed, it's not for everyone but for me who doesn't like mindless shooters it's one of the best games I've played so far. It's dark, violent, mature and its atmosphere is just stunning and very depressing. The story is great, as it's based on the book, which I really enjoyed and the graphics, for a 2010 game, are really nice. The world of Metro is completely destroyed and beautiful at the same time and still, after playing the game and reading the books, it has a lot of questions unanswered which makes me extremely hyped for Metro: Last Light. However, the game is very annoying sometimes. It's glitchy, not very polished and the AI is so precise that it's almost impossible to sneak unnoticed, which kinda ruins the game for me. I don't recommend it for everyone, but if you like shooters with a good story and atmosphere, go get it ASAP, even if you'll be annoyed sometimes. Expand
  4. May 22, 2012
    8
    While the game, at release, was marred by animation glitches, performance issues, and lackluster gunplay, after a number of patches, along with the later released 'Ranger' pack, Metro 2033 stands as a breath of fresh for the fps genre. One of the most atmospheric titles I've had the pleasure to play through, the game does a great job of placing you within it's world, creating a believable atmosphere, both oppressive and almost heartbreaking. The world is as much a character itself as any of the souls you will come across throughout the story. This, combined with a strong narrative, creates a very interesting and satisfying experience for the player. As stated above, the gunplay, easily the weakest element of the game at launch, has received a major upgrade in the form of a dlc pack. The 'Ranger' dlc pack (240 points on xbox, free for pc), offers two new weapons, as well as two new difficulty modes. These modes boost the damage of both yours and your enemies' weapons, doing away with the excessive damage both parties used to take. This goes a long way to improving the overall feel of the combat. That said, there are still a few issues that I have with the game. With all the improvements they have made since launch, the stealth section are still rather shoddy, prone to be broken through either ai issues, or simply through lackluster design. The physics found in the game are also a mixed bag. While it allows for realistic weight to the firing of weapons, some ragdoll animations are less than believable, and the throwing of grenades feels very, very off. Everything said, this was still one of the most satisfying gaming experiences of a long while. Not without it's problems, it's easy to see that 4A games went out of their way to offer something truly interesting to the player. A highly recommended title, there is only a few gripes holding this game back. Even then, the pros largely outweigh the cons. Now easily found for cheap, there is little reason for someone not to check out this title. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    A great game very different from what someone would expect from a first-person-shooter. The atmosphere is original and top notch, the graphics hold up pretty well and the firefights are exhillerating. Something from the atmosphere of the first Gears of War, FEAR and a lot of darkness.

    The drawbacks are that it has a steep learning curve and the AI is problematic. Also the game could use some puzzles or smthing like puzzles because of its nature. The story and universe are incredible, though I expected a bit more info up till the end.

    Overall, the authenticity is there and except from a few problems, I can't wait till I get my hands on Last Light. The PC version is far superior to the console version.
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2013
    7
    didnt know what to expect and was happy with my purchase! i dont whats with me but i like russian post - apocalyptic shooters. just the feel of it is fun. the only thing that i was a bit disappointed in is the story. sometimes it just feels like its not there and you forget about it when you're shooting the mutant rats or whatever their called. but since the game was based on a series of books. i might go out and buy them now! Expand
  7. MatthewE
    Mar 19, 2010
    0
    They should have stayed with GSC and learned how to develop this franchise. 1) Quick time events suck. Especially in FPS. 2) Linear campaign is BORING. 3) Cut-scenes are too frequent. 4) The more you play the game, the more it will suck as it is not a Survival Horror at all. It cannot decide between a stealth/FPS/movie? 5) Plot is less than worthless. It actually would be less annoying if the narrator just never spoke at all, and let the player use their imagination. Buy COD4 if you want failbox-360 shooters. Buy "Call of Pripyat" if you want to see a REAL survival horror FPS for the PC... Expand

See all 58 User Reviews