• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 83 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 311 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the shattered subway of a post apocalyptic Moscow, Metro 2033 is a story of intensive underground survival where the fate of mankind rests in your hands. In 2013 the world was devastated by an apocalyptic event, annihilating almost all mankind and turning the earth’s surface into a poisonous wasteland. A handful of survivors took refuge in the depths of the Moscow underground, and human civilization entered a new Dark Age. The year is 2033. An entire generation has been born and raised underground, and their besieged Metro Station-Cities struggle for survival, with each other, and the mutant horrors that await outside. You are Artyom, born in the last days before the fire, but raised Underground. Having never ventured beyond your Metro Station-City limits, one fateful event sparks a desperate mission to the heart of the Metro system, to warn the remnants of mankind of a terrible impending threat. Your journey takes you from the forgotten catacombs beneath the subway to the desolate wastelands above, where your actions will determine the fate of mankind. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 83
  2. Negative: 2 out of 83
  1. The ideal Metro 2033 player is someone looking for something new, something immersive and something really, really hard. If you fit that description, we cannot recommend Metro 2033 highly enough.
  2. An incredible FPS experience, mixed with survival horror elements. Great graphics and a good plot (by the Russian author Dimitry Glukovsky) make this the shooter to have these days; don't miss it!
  3. The atmosphere is perfect for anyone who loved Fallout 3 and although the combat takes some getting used to and could be frustrating for some, Metro 2033 is an exciting adventure that will keep you hooked until the end.
  4. A post-apocalyptic fight for survival in the shape of FPS, with an incredibly immersive atmosphere that shines in its audiovisual presentation. The nearly 12 hours of tense journey is totally worthy of play. However, despite its visual highlights, the game fails in trying to escape its linear structure and scripted events. Ultimately it does not offer enough incentives to be replayed.
  5. Metro 2033 features an intriguing and exciting journey with a few bumps along the way. Though frustrating in some areas, fans of FPS and those fascinated by a post-apocalyptic world will find Metro 2033 a rewarding experience.
  6. When Metro's credits rolled, and as I looked across a vast landscape to see the results of my actions, I couldn't help but feel a tinge of disappointment, partly because it was over, but mainly because there is such obvious room for improvement. Metro 2033 comes recommended, but falls a little short of claiming a place among the genre's elite.
  7. Metro 2033 has a ton of really great ideas, but not only do they not fit together well, they actually compete with each other, sucking all the enjoyment out of the experience.

See all 83 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59
  1. Jul 20, 2011
    10
    I was actually really surprised with this one. It's pretty rare to see a shooter rely on story to keep the player going instead of the mindless action we see in the Call of Duty series. There are some but very few parts that are annoying, but they aren't very big things. Numerous times I forgot to take off my gas mask because the breathing audio is barely audible. I'm not sure why they put the air powered weapons in the game since finding them is next to impossible except for the rare one or two times. The scoped weapons scopes don't work very well in darker environments even with night vision goggles on. I like the stealth elements of the game as well. It's not like other games with stealth in them where you only have to keep track of a few things. You have to keep track of the light exposure, how much noise your making, and how far you are from others that you might wanna kill. While this may sound unnecessarily complicated, it's actually all very simple.

    I did find it annoying that there's no obvious way to get the "good" ending of the game. I actually had to find a guide only to find that you would have to pretty much talk to everybody and interact with pretty much everything to get to it. I'm also disappointed that they didn't use the "good" ending for the sequel but instead went with the "bad/normal" ending. But then again it's understandable since, the book, Metro 2034 doesn't have much fighting in it like Metro 2033 has.

    The guns are also extremely fun to use. I was really surprised that using the AK-47, or the Kalash as the in game residence call it, didn't feel like just firing yet another AK-47. Using the silenced weapons to get rid of enemies quietly and destroying lights are also fun to do.

    Overall, the game is extremely good. It may not be for the one who is looking for nothing but action but it's still good. I recommend setting your own challenges in the game since it makes it even more fun. For example, playing the entire game using only pistols or rifles.
    Expand
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Game is awesome for those who love this genre. Atmosphere is impressive, ambient is amazing. The game is not without a lacks, quite short besides, however the one who likes this world will stay here forever. Expand
  3. May 14, 2013
    9
    Extremely atmospheric game with tons of immersion. Fairly decent shooting mechanics, but nothing to write home about. Overall, good story, good shooting mechanics, great atmosphere, great gameplay mechanics (like having to change gas mask when cracked and filters for it when you run out.) Expand
  4. May 26, 2013
    8
    This was actually the first time Iv'e seen a game based of a best-selling book, Russian to be precise, and actually work! There's no MP yet for the franchise, but the single-player story is something to look at. However, I recommend the game be played on PC over Xbox 360, helps with the moody atmosphere the game has. Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2014
    8
    A great game very different from what someone would expect from a first-person-shooter. The atmosphere is original and top notch, the graphics hold up pretty well and the firefights are exhillerating. Something from the atmosphere of the first Gears of War, FEAR and a lot of darkness.

    The drawbacks are that it has a steep learning curve and the AI is problematic. Also the game could use some puzzles or smthing like puzzles because of its nature. The story and universe are incredible, though I expected a bit more info up till the end.

    Overall, the authenticity is there and except from a few problems, I can't wait till I get my hands on Last Light. The PC version is far superior to the console version.
    Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2013
    7
    This game's bread and butter is the environment. That's the most enjoyable, well done part of it, and sets it apart from other shooters. I'm a sucker for post-apocalyptic settings, and an edgy game like Metro surely fit the bill. Going into this game, as I just finished here in February 2013, I had high expectations since I have a friend who is in love with Metro and it is one of his favorite games. Alas, it didn't take long before I found out this game wasn't as good as I thought it would be. Artyom is the main character, as most people know by now, but you really don't get to find out much about him. And, while I understand the decision, it always leaves something to be desired when you play as a silent protagonist. The story remains interesting throughout based on one thing some type of hallucinations that Artyom has in which special types of mutants contact him. Otherwise, most of the characters in the game don't really matter much. Bourbon and Ulman have interesting personalities, but otherwise everyone is pretty generic. The conclusion, I found, really didn't do much justice. I wish they could have fleshed it out more, instead of just giving you a short conclusion and a sentence or two from the mind of Artyom.

    The Gameplay is really what sinks the experience. Stealth is made possible, but it is extremely difficult. If you thought Hitman games were hard, you've got another thing coming. There is no gray area, as the IGN review said. It's either you don't exist or everyone within the current level is trying to kill you. Besides stealth mechanics, the game is not that difficult or complicated. Having a shotgun and an automatic rifle will guide you through any close encounters. Bombs and throwing knives are seldom needed, if at all in the entire game. The shooting, however, is very wonky, and the game is very glitchy, even post-patch here in 2013. In the last chapter, Artyom kept pulling out the universal charger everytime it went below 100% without me pressing the button for him to do so, for example. Overall, Metro 2033 was an enjoyable game, and I am considering a second playthrough to see the alternate ending. I am fascinated with what the game calls 'Dark Ones.' While the environment leaves you nervous to see what's around the corner, the gameplay and glitches ultimately pull Metro down.
    Expand
  7. Apr 25, 2011
    2
    Metro 2033 has a decent premise and setting, but the gameplay is broken. The controls often feel unresponsive and clunky. I was uninterested in the story and characters, and the enemies were unvaried. I am struggling to find any positives from my playthrough, but the campaign is a decent length and the setting is atmospheric. If you can get over the glitchy controls and boring story, you might enjoy it. 1/5. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews