Metro: Last Light Xbox 360

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 447 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 447
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece, but this one is more unique it has very impressive qualitys and choices.I'm sad it was sold to deep silver not to be mean but I cant see deep silver making another metro.
  2. May 14, 2013
    9
    Great atmosphere, improved game play & stealth, shooting is easily the best this year so far!
    Not perfect though, could have been more open and less linear. Enemies not very challenging (probably because I'm playing on medium! Great game overall
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Just beat Metro: Last Light. The game is just amazing. From the graphics to the story line and even just the little things you can do that don't affect the game. I also love how every little action you make can affect your gameplay both positively and negatively. I recommend getting the game if you like post-apocalyptic games or first person shooters.
  4. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    metro last light does many things that modern shooters do not do. This game creates immersion and atmosphere that most games simply cannot get anywhere near. The world is interesting and begging to be explored. Post apocalyptic games are every where these days and it take a really believable world to ensure that the experience is worth while. Metro last light's world is full of desperationmetro last light does many things that modern shooters do not do. This game creates immersion and atmosphere that most games simply cannot get anywhere near. The world is interesting and begging to be explored. Post apocalyptic games are every where these days and it take a really believable world to ensure that the experience is worth while. Metro last light's world is full of desperation and despair and life outside of the metro tunnels is bleak yet full of life outside of the human species. this game does a fantastic job with the setting and is visually stunning. the game play aspects all add to this immersion as you are constantly checking your wrist watch for how much air is left in your oxygen canister, how many bullets you have remaining and if you can tackle the enemies head on as well as if you have enough filters to brave the outdoors. the game improved the combat immensely from the previous title and yet the enemy Ai is probably the most disappointing aspect of this game. once engaged in combat it is serviceable but there are videos of people literally doing a circle around an enemy and they still do not notice them.

    Apart from these minor complaints the game tells and an interesting story and the atmosphere is incredible and one of the best atmospheres in a game since fallout new vegas. however the game does fall short on AI which does break the experience.
    Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Its a dark and atmospheric FPS. If you dont like those...why did you buy it?

    Its a great game..a bit on rails, but if you like the first 1 you will like this more. Its lasts quite a long time and is good.

    The game is a fun shooting game and if you dont like those, buy something else.
  6. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I never thought I would like a sequel to game that is based off a novel. This game is one of my all time favorite games. It has an amazing story that brings together human on human conflict and supernatural to make one of the best games I have every played.
  7. Mar 2, 2014
    8
    Pros:
    Atmospheric.
    Excellent pacing.
    Good weapons that feel good.
    Graphics are pretty good.
    Length of 12 hrs is good.
    Creepy.

    Cons:
    Mute protagonist.
    Confusing story that could of been amazing.
    Two endings? Apparently. Didn't see any choices are nothing.
    Stealth could use more polish.
  8. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    You cant have it both ways; The only 2 things holding Metro back are it being released in the shadow of Bioshock and the AI on human enemies was reduced because of compaints of the first Metro being to tough. Well i say when you are one man against trained soldiers "tough" is realistic but now the changes seem to be the main complaint by most.The game is by no means easy. Its difficultyYou cant have it both ways; The only 2 things holding Metro back are it being released in the shadow of Bioshock and the AI on human enemies was reduced because of compaints of the first Metro being to tough. Well i say when you are one man against trained soldiers "tough" is realistic but now the changes seem to be the main complaint by most.The game is by no means easy. Its difficulty seemed to be well paced and Ranger mode is great for your 2nd+ play through. I found the game to be extremely enjoyable, breath taking even. The story line is well done, I often found myself eavesdropping and exploring every inch of Moscow to learn more about the shattered world i now live in. All in all the game play, story and even the combat mechanics were well done and a improvement on the first beloved Metro 2033. I think Metro Last light is well worth adding to any ones game collection. 10/10. Expand
  9. May 16, 2013
    10
    I loved the first Metro game. I loved the atmosphere and the sense of fear and excitement that every turn and corner brought with it. The real sense of relief of finally reaching a friendly station was great fun. The gameplay was tense and a true blast to play. M:LL improves on all of those things that made the first one so special to me. The weapons are fully realized and adequatelyI loved the first Metro game. I loved the atmosphere and the sense of fear and excitement that every turn and corner brought with it. The real sense of relief of finally reaching a friendly station was great fun. The gameplay was tense and a true blast to play. M:LL improves on all of those things that made the first one so special to me. The weapons are fully realized and adequately powerful. But the one thing that surprised me the most is the fact that the story is even more engrossing this time around. I play a lot of games and this one is one of my favorites of all time. If your looking for a quality game with an amazing story and cast of characters then I would highly recommend this title. Prepare to be immersed. Expand
  10. May 14, 2013
    10
    A HUGE improvement over Metro 2033 back in 2010. Almost all of the negative aspects of that game have been fixed here. Mainly the stealth and shooting mechanics. Superb atmosphere that immerses you completely, with tons of creepy noises and stunning sights. The shooting actually feels great now and can compete with the best FPS's out there. The story is also interesting. DO NOT listen toA HUGE improvement over Metro 2033 back in 2010. Almost all of the negative aspects of that game have been fixed here. Mainly the stealth and shooting mechanics. Superb atmosphere that immerses you completely, with tons of creepy noises and stunning sights. The shooting actually feels great now and can compete with the best FPS's out there. The story is also interesting. DO NOT listen to the people that rate it 1's 2's and 3's etc bashing the game. They are talking complete nonsense. Most of these negative reviews will no doubt come from the "angryjoe ranger mode DLC debacle" band wagon jumpers. That is not a reason to bash the game, at all, end of. The publishers are to blame. Expand
  11. May 16, 2013
    10
    This game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. TheThis game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. The atmosphere was amazing, being dismal with rays of hope appearing at times, helping you immerse even further in the universe. 1 or 2 glitches, but that can be expected from nearly any major game. Great guns and gunplay, with the SAIGA 12 being the most awesome thing for clearing out mutants and armies devised by man. The karma system was very different; it doesn't tell you how you are being rated, or when you are being rated, or even whether that particular action matters in the whole scheme or not, almost like in the real world, though they could have added more opportunities to use this system. Overall, amazing! Expand
  12. May 14, 2013
    10
    Finally it's out. The best looking game that I've played so far!
    Love the overall improvements, satisfying combat and awesome stealth mechanics. Got to replay in ranger mode!
  13. May 18, 2013
    9
    Metro: 2033 was one of my favorite games of this generation. The atmosphere, setting, narrative, and gameplay were all something I loved. So when a sequel, Last Light, was announced a year or so ago, I had mixed feelings of excitement and apprehension. How could they do what they did the first time again. Well, in Last Light we have our answer. How do you do something as singularly uniqueMetro: 2033 was one of my favorite games of this generation. The atmosphere, setting, narrative, and gameplay were all something I loved. So when a sequel, Last Light, was announced a year or so ago, I had mixed feelings of excitement and apprehension. How could they do what they did the first time again. Well, in Last Light we have our answer. How do you do something as singularly unique as Metro 2033 a second time? By leaving things mostly the same. Very little here is drastically new, really, but instead is vastly improved variations on what was in the first game. Almost all the mechanics, from stealth to gunplay to trading has been improved. The clunkiness of the first game's controls and gameplay has been polished away quite nicely here. Meanwhile, the tense, forbidding atmosphere is still present, and the stellar narrative is front and center once again. Granted, not all is well. The AI could use some definite work, and there were a few glitches, but nothing game-breaking. All told, Last Light is a game that will probably sail under a lot of gamer's radars because it's different. Don't make that mistake. Pick this game up. It's absolutely worth it. Expand
  14. May 17, 2013
    9
    Awesome story. The dreary METRO is a glorious in it's drabness. Knowing what kind of conditions 4A was working in you cannot begin to understand how they were able to pull of a game of this detail and action. Again...AWESOME.
  15. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Wow. That's all I can say after playing this... What an amazing experience! I recommend this game to anyone who liked Fallout, Metro 2033 or is just interested in something new and different from your average shoot em' up. The game has beautiful graphics and a much more vibrant world than its predecessor, the underground towns feel alive with activity as family talk about the above worldWow. That's all I can say after playing this... What an amazing experience! I recommend this game to anyone who liked Fallout, Metro 2033 or is just interested in something new and different from your average shoot em' up. The game has beautiful graphics and a much more vibrant world than its predecessor, the underground towns feel alive with activity as family talk about the above world and impending doom. It really sets a tone for the whole experience. The voice work in this game is better than 2033 for sure, but still has some work that could be put into it. The guns are awesome, there aren't that many and I liked that, the guns are upgrade-able now and look awesome. The atmosphere is beautiful, hands down. When you first come out of the Metro, and see the sight from afar it blew me away. The story is something else I loved, with different factions all fighting control and you're stuck in the middle. It all adds up to make you feel an impending doom, as the world is still on the brink of war. I did not like, however, the story picks off right at the end of 2033 and chooses the worst ending for you, and even if you did get the best ending they assume you got the worst one there is no carry over saves. Also, I loved the enemies they always made the environments feel eerie and scared for my life when I looked around a corner expecting the worst. The ending of the game ended with a bang, leaving you with 2 different endings. Just a message to all of you who want a good ending, it's like Dishonored, you can't kill as many people etc. But overall this game is great and I loved it. Expand
  16. May 16, 2013
    9
    Metro 2033 had a great atmosphere and a pretty good story. Metro Last Light brings back that gritty environment, tense feeling, and unique atmosphere. The first thing I noticed is the graphical improvement. Metro 2033 looked good on Xbox but lacked some textures and particle effects, but Metro Last Light looks pretty great in my opinion. There are now a lot of visible textures, enhancedMetro 2033 had a great atmosphere and a pretty good story. Metro Last Light brings back that gritty environment, tense feeling, and unique atmosphere. The first thing I noticed is the graphical improvement. Metro 2033 looked good on Xbox but lacked some textures and particle effects, but Metro Last Light looks pretty great in my opinion. There are now a lot of visible textures, enhanced lighting, and added things to immerse you such as your character wiping the blood and dirt off of his gas mask. Also what I noticed was a lot better than 2033 was the shooting mechanics. 2033's mechanics at times were clunky and not as accurate as you would like an fps but Last Light improved upon that immensely. It now feels very smooth and there is no longer any screen tearing or frame rate drops. Stealth has been vastly improved as well. You can simply crouch and sneak up behind an enemy and either kill them with your knife, or knock them out. You can also shoot out lights and turn them off manually so you do not get detected. One way I would improve stealth though is by allowing you to drag the bodies to a darker area so you do not get detected but other than that stealth works quite well. On a bad note though, but not too common, is the fact that at certain parts my game would crash. It happened in 2 different parts of the campaign but I reloaded and tried again and it worked, so nothing too major. The story and setting are unique, and the game-play feels surprisingly refreshing for the over saturated fps market. Overall I would say if you love a unique game, a good story, and great game-play I would definitely pick this up. This game was made from a studio that had ten percent of a normal budget and they pulled this off, so it is an outstanding achievement. Graphics 9.0/10, Story 9.0/10, game-play 9.0/10. Expand
  17. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    It will win you over. The combat and stealth are evenly fun, the world is wonderful detailed and intriguing to learn about, and the pacing is wonderful and refreshing.
  18. May 20, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light is a game you want to continue playing to see what is around the corner. The game holds back somewhat and then when you're ready it gives you the next story bit just when you're ready for it. Even on the 360 it looks great. Especially good is the option to hide in the shadows or go guns blazing. Its better to take out as many lights as you can and powering down powerMetro Last Light is a game you want to continue playing to see what is around the corner. The game holds back somewhat and then when you're ready it gives you the next story bit just when you're ready for it. Even on the 360 it looks great. Especially good is the option to hide in the shadows or go guns blazing. Its better to take out as many lights as you can and powering down power sources before things break out into a gun battle. If this ever comes out on the PS4 or Xbox 720 I will likely buy that version as well..... Expand
  19. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light improves upon its predecessor in almost every way, the stealth, for example is now fixed and is actually a very strong aspect of the game. The shooting mechanics have been sharpened up so that they are both comfortable and realistic, they have however not turned the game into a run of the mill FPS with little to no recoil or weight of the guns. Each gun requires differentMetro Last Light improves upon its predecessor in almost every way, the stealth, for example is now fixed and is actually a very strong aspect of the game. The shooting mechanics have been sharpened up so that they are both comfortable and realistic, they have however not turned the game into a run of the mill FPS with little to no recoil or weight of the guns. Each gun requires different strategies, and are ideal in different situations, the guns themselves are very imaginative and build upon the already quite original arsenal of 2033. The story of the game is fantastic and follows the more common or "evil" ending of 2033, the story is filled with interesting characters, some great plot turns and some very memorable set pieces. The missions that stood out most to me personally were the surface missions, much like 2033 it felt like a very different and hostile world, and the frantic fending off mutants, reloading, and changing filters in your gas mask make for very interesting, and on higher difficulties very challenging gameplay. Some new mutants have been added to the already hideous and frightening freaks that dwell on the surface and in metro, such as the spiderbug, as someone who fears spiders this added another layer of fear and dread to any encounters i had with these creatures. It goes without saying that this game has a brilliant atmosphere, through use of its supernatural themes the game creates a sense of genuine uneasiness that lasts through large portions of the game, another thing i personally loved was the lack of jump scares, they were instead used quite sparingly which coupled with the great and yet creepy atmosphere made them that much scarier. Another great feature of this game is the graphics, this game is gorgeous; every time i traversed the surface i always stopped and admired the detail and beauty in the scenery. My only quarrel with this game is that it freezes a little to often, you also may encounter the odd glitch, of which i only encountered one, thankfully they are quite rare. Overall Metro Last Light is a shining example of how a sequel should be done, they improved what was not so good with the original, made even better what did work, added plenty of new aspects to the game, i commend 4A games for their work on this game, especially considering the budget and working conditions. Metro Last Light is a great post apocalyptic FPS survival horror game that i recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  20. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    I've reviewed Last Light previously, do I'll keep this brief- Metro 2033 was a good game, despite the flak it received for various unconventional gameplay elements and specific glitches it experienced. Nobody can deny that. Last Light steps into the spotlight with a new handler and a continuing story that works pretty well. Yes, the game is a linear game pretending to be a nonlinear one atI've reviewed Last Light previously, do I'll keep this brief- Metro 2033 was a good game, despite the flak it received for various unconventional gameplay elements and specific glitches it experienced. Nobody can deny that. Last Light steps into the spotlight with a new handler and a continuing story that works pretty well. Yes, the game is a linear game pretending to be a nonlinear one at times, that is very true. Yes, it is an action-shooter pretending to be more of an role playing game at times as well. That is also true. However, despite Last Light being a slightly easier to grasp experience than its predecessor, it is no worse off for it. Just as Metro 2033 was quite dark and dramatic, so are portions of Last Light's campaign. After all- Russia's nuked out wasteland and catacomb-like metro tunnels aren't the brightest of places anyway, especially when inhabited by rangers, mutants, and the Reich. Not quite the best vacation spot, if I do say so myself. However, that is not to say that it does not sport a pretty well-rounded, if linear story and experience. The gameplay can be tantalizing and it can be brutal. The soundwork is excellently crafted- from hideous shrieks of monsters and mutants, to the voiceovers for characters and enemies. The stealth mechanics work worlds better than their previous outing, and the controls are finely tuned as well. The story, action-filled gameplay, and the atmosphere itself are living, breathing embodiments of the Metro book(s), and represent that world fairly in my mind. Sure, at times, this game has its problems as well- as most good and bad games often do. Good as the graphics are, the animation work and the texturing can be wonky at times, and horribly panned out at worst. It's a very enjoyable experience over all however, albeit a summarily short and challenging one, and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Excellent job. Expand
  21. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    This game is great.It has a great story,fun gameplay and a very dark atmosphere.Even though most of it is has fantasy enemies,the game looks very realistic.
  22. May 24, 2013
    10
    The greatest game of this year. But you have to read original book Metro 2033 before play this and previous games about metro. Thanks for the developers for the opportunity to feel the atmosphere of post-Apocalypse
  23. May 23, 2013
    10
    This game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. TheThis game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. The atmosphere was amazing, being dismal with rays of hope appearing at times, helping you immerse even further in the universe. 1 or 2 glitches, but that can be expected from nearly any major game. Great guns and gunplay, with the SAIGA 12 being the most awesome thing for clearing out mutants and armies devised by man. The karma system was very different; it doesn't tell you how you are being rated, or when you are being rated, or even whether that particular action matters in the whole scheme or not, almost like in the real world, though they could have added more opportunities to use this system. Overall, amazing! Expand
  24. May 24, 2013
    9
    Quite a large improvement from what Metro 2033 was. AMAZING graphics, good atmosphere. I personally think that Deep Silver did much better than THQ. I highly recommend playing on Ranger Mode if available, due to its massive atmospheric improvement. Just walking around the tunnels, looking in every corner starts to give you a bit of claustrophobia. AMAZING Game.
  25. May 28, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic game. The atmosphere of this game is excellent, the music is subtle but good, the gameplay is improved from Metro: 2033 and the stealth is much better than most other fully based stealth games.

    However, I would have still preferred if the game wasn't so linear and there were more varieties of mutants but regardless, the game gets its survival and gameplay right. The
    This is a fantastic game. The atmosphere of this game is excellent, the music is subtle but good, the gameplay is improved from Metro: 2033 and the stealth is much better than most other fully based stealth games.

    However, I would have still preferred if the game wasn't so linear and there were more varieties of mutants but regardless, the game gets its survival and gameplay right. The graphics are also superb and the good ending was satisfying although I won't spoil it. The graphics are also outstanding with realistic sound effects and lighting to back it up.
    Expand
  26. May 29, 2013
    10
    Metro last light. Is my game of the year contender.

    Why funny dialogs the atmosphere is amazing you should first play in English then you play it in russian.

    THe weather storms.

    The gunplay.Stealth is awsome Nice graphic

    you feel like you are in the game
  27. Jul 4, 2013
    8
    I wasn't a huge fan of the first metro but this one changed my mind people say it has a cod feel to it but it all around has improved still so goofy glitches but nothing frequent, shortish campaign may be better to rent then to own unless your a huge fan of the metro games.
  28. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Terrified is the first feeling I felt while playing this game, Weather you are in very claustrophobic metro tunnels or large open areas on the surface you will be terrified. There are many improved features such as stealth and atmosphere, It's very intense when you are on the surface, your gas mask's filter will have to be changed every 5 minutes so you don't suffocate. One of the mostTerrified is the first feeling I felt while playing this game, Weather you are in very claustrophobic metro tunnels or large open areas on the surface you will be terrified. There are many improved features such as stealth and atmosphere, It's very intense when you are on the surface, your gas mask's filter will have to be changed every 5 minutes so you don't suffocate. One of the most annoying thing is that if you want the best experience you better be willing to pay another 5 dollars because for some reason the developers decided it would be a good idea to charge 5 dollars for ranger mode. Ranger mode is the best way to play because it makes ammo rare and the enemy AI better. I decided that it wouldn't effect my final score. In the end the game is fun, scary, intense, and annoying. And some advice is conserve your ammo on harder difficulty's because one time I had used up 3/4s of all my ammo just so I could fight a boss. I beat the boss with one bullet and then had to fight it a second time but this time it had little minions. So save your ammo if you want to survive it. Expand
  29. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Metro last light taking off were the last one left off. You "Artem" live with the survivors of a nuclear war that has left Moscow and the world in a waste land. this world is only habitable in the metro's, because the surface is radioactive and full of mutant cross breeds. The game gives you an amazing atmosphere amazing story and an amazing AI. but the game some times experiences glitchesMetro last light taking off were the last one left off. You "Artem" live with the survivors of a nuclear war that has left Moscow and the world in a waste land. this world is only habitable in the metro's, because the surface is radioactive and full of mutant cross breeds. The game gives you an amazing atmosphere amazing story and an amazing AI. but the game some times experiences glitches and bugs that do become annoying. from A.I. just stopping for no reason to getting stuck in the ground. but apparently these bugs are rare so I wouldn't count on you "the buyer" to worry. I would encourage you to get the pc version if you can and if you could Subscribe to my youtube channel AverageGamerReviews2. final verdict 10/10. Expand
  30. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Put simply, a triumph. Saturated in it's own delicious flavour of atmosphere Metro tightens the shooting, improves the stealth and tells a worthwhile story while doing it. Still somewhat flawed in it's greater ambition but the rewarding exploration and rich, detailed world of the Metro make this less than noticeable. Not quite up there with the narrative behemoths like Bioshock, but Metro:Put simply, a triumph. Saturated in it's own delicious flavour of atmosphere Metro tightens the shooting, improves the stealth and tells a worthwhile story while doing it. Still somewhat flawed in it's greater ambition but the rewarding exploration and rich, detailed world of the Metro make this less than noticeable. Not quite up there with the narrative behemoths like Bioshock, but Metro: Last Light stands firm as a unique and worthwhile venture into Moscow's subterranean underbelly. Expand
  31. May 19, 2013
    8
    The game play was really great This is a really great FPS the story is a little hard to understand but that's just me because i did not play the first one. the only thing i did not like is that you pay for the extra game mode and there are some glitches in the game like burning stuff and when People lead you some were and my game has froze one time, on my play throw. but the game dos haveThe game play was really great This is a really great FPS the story is a little hard to understand but that's just me because i did not play the first one. the only thing i did not like is that you pay for the extra game mode and there are some glitches in the game like burning stuff and when People lead you some were and my game has froze one time, on my play throw. but the game dos have a really good check point system to counter all this but they sill need to fix it. Expand
  32. May 24, 2013
    9
    This has to be one of the most surprising games you'll play in a long time, simply because of the incredible quality of the game. This game singles out everything a next-generation game should be. Absorbing story, quality combat system, none glitchy and a deeply exciting world to explore. It gets so much right a very little wrong... One of the best things about this is that you literallyThis has to be one of the most surprising games you'll play in a long time, simply because of the incredible quality of the game. This game singles out everything a next-generation game should be. Absorbing story, quality combat system, none glitchy and a deeply exciting world to explore. It gets so much right a very little wrong... One of the best things about this is that you literally can play it as you want, whether you want to be stealthy or all guns blazing, this game gives you the tools and allows you to do as you please. Many games have boasted this but when it came down to it, it almost forced you to play a certain style. Metro I feel have learned from these things and evolved themselves a hybrid combat system which absolutely strikes every cord for any type of gamer. If I was being picky I'd probably have to point out the average voice acting and the nudity. But apart from that, this is a game you'll want to pick up. Expand
  33. May 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played :D Makes me wish I had gotten into the franchise sooner. The gameplay is amazing compared to any other post Apocalyptic game. Ha, kinda makes me wish this stuff happened in real life :b
  34. May 17, 2013
    9
    Not the best but not the worst.

    we can say what we want on Metro last light, I have rarely seen a game with such a universe.

    Very similar to Stalker without the RPG side
  35. May 27, 2013
    10
    It's almost too perfect. I love it so much. It's a piece of art. Why can't Hollywood make story, characters, monster like this.
  36. May 20, 2013
    9
    No new additions to the game since metro 2033 but there is a focus on the story ,dialogues and twists
    Overall the game is a good experience, don't miss it
  37. May 17, 2013
    10
    The atmosphere and stealth elements are hugely improved story is engaging and the gun play is very polished recommend to anyone colossal improvement over the already impressive metro 2033 HUD and menus are easier to navigate.
  38. May 18, 2013
    10
    This game gave me a feeling that im in this apocalyptic world.I played the first Metro,named "Metro 2033"I really like the stealth in this game,and the monsters are realistic that makes me want to play the game in 3D.The atmosphere was really nice about the Moscow in the 2034 after the apocalypse.The enemies,well i could say "humans"are not so very hard to beat.Artificial intelligence inThis game gave me a feeling that im in this apocalyptic world.I played the first Metro,named "Metro 2033"I really like the stealth in this game,and the monsters are realistic that makes me want to play the game in 3D.The atmosphere was really nice about the Moscow in the 2034 after the apocalypse.The enemies,well i could say "humans"are not so very hard to beat.Artificial intelligence in the enemies are not that good,but it's stil enjoyable.The story in Metro 2033 gave me a feeling that im the main characther doing all this things.The game is great! 10/10 Expand
  39. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest games in recent memory. Metro last light hits it with great level design and some really intense sections. The story is great and is a large improvement over 2033. sadly the boss fights were aweful and glitchy. buy this game.
  40. Aug 26, 2015
    9
    Fantastic game, start to finish. A worthy successor to Metro 2033 that has made small improvements to every single aspect of the original. Some will complain about the field of view or the semi-constant cramped environments, but this is atmosphere in a game taking place mostly underground or with a mask on and it works perfectly.
    Where this game really stands out is in how the storyline
    Fantastic game, start to finish. A worthy successor to Metro 2033 that has made small improvements to every single aspect of the original. Some will complain about the field of view or the semi-constant cramped environments, but this is atmosphere in a game taking place mostly underground or with a mask on and it works perfectly.
    Where this game really stands out is in how the storyline unfolds. At times you will feel lost but by the end it all comes together for a terrific climax that ranks as one of the best first person shooter endings I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

    For something different in the first person genre, this is a must play, but make sure to play Metro 2033 first or you will be lost.
    Expand
  41. Nov 13, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. As I promised, here is the sequel to Metro 2033, known colloquially as Last Light. The Events of Last Light occur relatively right after the events of Metro 2033, and despite the moral choice you made at the end of the first game, Last Light just assumes one choice over another for the sake of its plot. Not a criticism, just to inform you that your choices in 2033 do not directly carry over on Last Light. Anyway, we return with our lovable Silent Russian Protagonist/Inner Monologue Artyom, who after single handedly destroyed all the dark ones (sorry, had to spoil it for you) is on the chase to find the very last remaining Dark One. But of course, in the metro, nothing is nearly that easy, just like when he went to Polis to go tell some guy about some other guy dying. Anyway, what has changed, improved, or has gotten worth over? Generally, Last Light has made great improvements on many a different aspect from Metro 2033. Instead of an awkward melee with the Shambler, you can ACTUALLY aim down the sights, and the Duplet can fire both shells with one button or each shell individually with another (rather than each shell being tied to each trigger button). As usual, military grade bullets are your 'currency', which is simultaneously more proliferate and rare from the predecessor. And as for military grade bullets, your inventory and HUD has become a lot more organized and simplistic from it's previous, as you can check your entire inventory without oddly shaped visual icons that MAY differ from one another. Not only that, but instead of having to check your watch for your air filters, you will get a beeper that of which will warn you to change filters. There are also more weapons introduced, including Rifle weapons, such as a Valve (a favorite of mine) and the Saiga 12K (ALSO a FAVORITE). The factions of the Hansa, Reich and Reds have become much more fleshed out and more prominent to the overall story, rather than just being sidelined to the more important issue of going to polis station (always with Polis Station). And while trying to differentiate between which Russian is talking is still difficult, at least the audio falloff has improved so you won't be able to hear a conversation a mile away in a crowded area indoors. As for the factions and general enemies, unlike in 2033, Last Light actually provides consistent damage against enemies rather than feeling randomized, but the one glaring problem that they didn't fix was the feeling as if you CAN hurt certain enemies such as Demons, which Demons have become almost just window dressing for the surface world as I NEVER HAD TO FIGHT ONE OF THEM, or at least, never had to fight one of them outside a scripted sequence. As for the mutants of the surface, a whole new crop of nasties have come to rip your russian ass a new pecker, such as the Shrimps, Spiders, Threshers, and yep, Nosaleses (sorry if i'm pronunciating that right). And while most of these monsters require clever ways to kill them, as long as you constantly run and let your regenerating health go on, most of the game is a breeze, especially with the faction enemies. At least the stealth mechanics ACTUALLY work, and I'm a guy that doesn't go for subtleties, so that's pretty impressive considering that I couldn't even stealth kill one guy without getting detected in the previous game. As for plot, it is just as strong and thought provoking, the continuing moral progenity going on with the factions and the reluctant choices that people make for their own salvations, although the path to get to the 'good ending' is extremely vague other than the 'don't kill everyone' thing that didn't work so well in Dishonored. More on that later. Anyway, this is generally a much better outing for the Metro lore than in the previous game, with overall improved gameplay, audio, stealth, with some gripes still left untouched but overall not too glaring to give this game a 6 or so. Expand
  42. May 22, 2014
    9
    A fantastic game! I haven't enjoyed a single-player FPS game in a very long time. I played Metro 2033 a while ago for about half an hour and to be honest I found the gameplay and AI was awful so I didn't give the game a chance. After finished last light I really want to revisit 2033, and for some reason I think I will enjoy 2033.
    The atmosphere in last light is phenomenal, both
    A fantastic game! I haven't enjoyed a single-player FPS game in a very long time. I played Metro 2033 a while ago for about half an hour and to be honest I found the gameplay and AI was awful so I didn't give the game a chance. After finished last light I really want to revisit 2033, and for some reason I think I will enjoy 2033.
    The atmosphere in last light is phenomenal, both underground and above-ground world are amazingly scary! The gameplay is improved and fun. The story, though is linear, it is somehow made me want to follow and find out what is going on. I give this a game a 9/10, not because it is better than some 8/10 games I rated, but because it offers me a unique experience and I haven't enjoyed a game like this for a long time..
    Expand
  43. May 3, 2014
    8
    A surprisingly beautiful game with environments that are just breathe taking. The atmosphere is unbelievable good a real surprise hit of 2013, that went under a lot of peoples raiders. Metro: Last night will leave new comers confused such as myself but forced them to quickly catch on. Fans will be satisfied, because this game is everything the original wasn't. pure amazement. Looking for aA surprisingly beautiful game with environments that are just breathe taking. The atmosphere is unbelievable good a real surprise hit of 2013, that went under a lot of peoples raiders. Metro: Last night will leave new comers confused such as myself but forced them to quickly catch on. Fans will be satisfied, because this game is everything the original wasn't. pure amazement. Looking for a new game to check out. THIS IS IT. FPS's heaven. Expand
  44. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    People said that this is one heck of a disappointment. Ummm sure, not to sound rude but some of them don't really go into great details making people change their minds.

    Metro Last Light is a fantastic addition to the Metro series. Fallowing in the previous game Metro Last Light has the story that seems to capture many peoples heart. If you haven't played the last one which is Metro
    People said that this is one heck of a disappointment. Ummm sure, not to sound rude but some of them don't really go into great details making people change their minds.

    Metro Last Light is a fantastic addition to the Metro series.

    Fallowing in the previous game Metro Last Light has the story that seems to capture many peoples heart. If you haven't played the last one which is Metro 2033, it might be a good idea to try that first if you're thinking about getting this one first because it could be confusing too play. The graphics are amazing to the cramp and gloomy metro to the beautiful ruins of Mascow. The gameplay is great but in all the wrong reasons, first the level designs are great giving off the the feeling of being in the Metro plus the audio helps out the immersion factor making the game sound crisp and fluent though some of the sounds do crack and firing a rapid shooting weapon makes the audio skip and loop sometimes. The company also improved some of the mechanics from the first one; Stealth in Metro 2033 was broken but in Last Light it is much easier making it fair then the first one but also makes it harder to go through without firing a shot on you're very limited ammo, that's also another thing restricting the capacity of your ammo which is okay but makes it feel Call of Dutyish because in the first one it's limited ammo you get in each clip you find with no capacity to stop you from picking it up here it's much easier to get ammo since each clip you find has the max ammo in your clip for that weapon but it's a good thing they didn't change anything with the military rounds except making them a little more rare and less forgiving then the first one, in comparison to the first one it still has that scare factor to it because of the immersion making you feel paranoid in checking around you every few moments in certain parts of the metro and some locations in the ruins, finally the games difficulty (not to sound rude) was reduced slightly because of the improvement to stealth making enemies easy to take out if you take time to think out your route but the game can get harder when it feels if you deserve a little butt kicking. Now the biggest problem to most people is the game does branch off the story a bit because the developers decided to make it a huge knockers feast mid way through the game witch Metro was a game that doesn't need to do to keep the player "interested" when were already interested in the story, also the Ranger mode this may sound rude but you have to be a little dumb to fuss over a difficulty that you don't really need. Sure it was suppose to be released in the first place not making it a DLC pack but there is one thing you could do just ignore it now so people could enjoy an already challenging game. Since the game has a few problems witch sounds like nit picking it's very well done. It score in an 9/10
    Expand
  45. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Metro last light is amazing. The world is breath taking I found myself just stopping to look at the game in awe with its magnificent graphics and detail they managed to really make it look like an apocalyptic world. Gun play is good as well is the stealth game play. Some little features in the game also made it as good as it was like the gas mask and looting. To sum it up I would defiantlyMetro last light is amazing. The world is breath taking I found myself just stopping to look at the game in awe with its magnificent graphics and detail they managed to really make it look like an apocalyptic world. Gun play is good as well is the stealth game play. Some little features in the game also made it as good as it was like the gas mask and looting. To sum it up I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a great campaign. Expand
  46. Jan 19, 2014
    8
    This game is so underrated; it's unique and fresh. The one thing that did bother me was it not having a co-op and the protagonist not speaking. I brought this game used for $14.99 thinking "ehh...why not". To my surprise the game is awesome and defiantly worth more used. Don't care about MP when it comes to a game like this, but co-op would have been the icing on the cake. While I knowThis game is so underrated; it's unique and fresh. The one thing that did bother me was it not having a co-op and the protagonist not speaking. I brought this game used for $14.99 thinking "ehh...why not". To my surprise the game is awesome and defiantly worth more used. Don't care about MP when it comes to a game like this, but co-op would have been the icing on the cake. While I know most reviews have limited time to play a game, rate it, and write a review for the public to read and make a judgment call on wither to buy the game, way to many games get low ratings they don't deserve, and way to many large money makers like the Call Of Duty franchise get ratings they don't deserve. It would take a person 20 minutes or less to see how sad the Single player story is and how regurgitated that game is with nothing truly fresh and new.

    The largely read reviewer websites seem to learn towards writing good reviews because of how famous the game is, and how many of people love this first Person Shooter game. This makes them project themselves when writing a review as Call Of Duty fan boys and not a neutral reviewer . Scott Lowe (IGN)headline for COD is "Old dog, new tricks" and having a "Exceptional campaign" Really? Seems to me like old dog with a big budget that can do a quick slight of hand right in your face to make it seem like it has new tricks. Also, COD games have never been seen in any way form or fashion as having even a good campaign, so-so at most. I won't go as far as saying there's some money being passed underneath the table, but the final verdict from IGN's Colin Moriaty of 8.8 "Great" is way too high and 7.2 "Good" for Metro: Last light is way too low.

    Colin Moriaty's Metro: Last Light Story Review:

    Colin Moriarty starts off calling it "an interesting story-driven single-player-only FPS. It undoubtedly rewards methodical players" but goes on to say that "the last third of its 10-hour campaign is weaker than everything that came before it". The story is different as it takes a different path instead of taking the usual "hero company saves all, We killed who did this" route. While Colin was "longing for more about the Nazis and Communists" (must like those older war movies) and wanted it to be focused on "politics and personalities " (like we haven't seen and heard enough politics in games as well as in real life to last a life time), This would have taken the game down the "normal" and "predictable" story path and ending. I liked the German version of "The X-Files" type story, but agree more personality would have been nice.

    Which brings me to my last point, There is a part that at times can plague smaller companies when a game first comes out...game freezes and/or glitches. So what did Colin have to say? He wrote "Folks around the office playing the game on Xbox 360 have experienced some console freezing and crashing while playing the game". While not a excuse (as the game should have been tested more before release, even more so as a smaller company) the lack of resources the bigger companies can afford can hinder them when trying to getting a game out there to make a return on the investment they put into in. For me as I was a late comer to the game, the patches that I had to download when I first started the game, 4k must of fixed these issue as I have not come across this issue on my Xbox 360.
    Expand
  47. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Incredible dense shooter with a gripping storyline, uber intense atmosphere, great graphics and lots of gaming details (lke the fantastic stealth elements) that make all the difference. You can see and feel a lot of love went into this game and that it's made by an Independent russian studio makes it a real jewel between all those never-ending Shooter Series by big publishers. I've beenIncredible dense shooter with a gripping storyline, uber intense atmosphere, great graphics and lots of gaming details (lke the fantastic stealth elements) that make all the difference. You can see and feel a lot of love went into this game and that it's made by an Independent russian studio makes it a real jewel between all those never-ending Shooter Series by big publishers. I've been playing open world games for a while now and i liked getting back to a very linear gaming. I get goosebumps every time I replay it. Expand
  48. May 15, 2014
    8
    Really good game
    buy it if you dont have it
    cool fps with original & immersive story
    I only played hard mode but i can tell it's difficult.
    you will need filters when out of the metro and it's not always easy to find. Yes, you will suffocate a couple times.
    You will also search for ammo. you will not have a sh!t load of bullets to shoot so watch out!
    oh I almost forgot... boobs. yeah.
  49. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    An incredible game, all around. I was genuinly surprised how they were able to improve every single element of the first game, while keeping the unique setting intact. This game is a must-play for anyone who likes a game with an immersive story, and would enjoy a FPS that's more then just shooting stuff.
  50. Oct 16, 2015
    9
    Metro: Last Light is a brillitant single-player experience. With a gripping storyline, great music and fantastic and varied combat, this game will pull you in if you are into post-apocolyptic games or FPS games. Try it if you haven't already. Better still, you can buy Metro Redux on next-gen consoles which includes Metro 2033 and Metro: Last Light.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 28, 2013
    83
    It’s superbly paced and well scripted, and though still missing that necessary level of polish, an experience you’ll be remiss to pass on.
  2. May 27, 2013
    70
    Time will tell, for now Metro: Last Light is a solid gorgeous shooter which presents something a little different from the norm, if not as different as the first game in the series.
  3. X-ONE Magazine UK
    May 22, 2013
    80
    A marked improvement on the original, and though it does make a few new mistakes, there's a lot here that story-loving FPS fans will appreciate. [Issue#98, p.65]