User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 35 out of 421

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece, but this one is more unique it has very impressive qualitys and choices.I'm sad it was sold to deep silver not to be mean but I cant see deep silver making another metro.
  2. May 14, 2013
    9
    Great atmosphere, improved game play & stealth, shooting is easily the best this year so far!
    Not perfect though, could have been more open and less linear. Enemies not very challenging (probably because I'm playing on medium! Great game overall
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Just beat Metro: Last Light. The game is just amazing. From the graphics to the story line and even just the little things you can do that don't affect the game. I also love how every little action you make can affect your gameplay both positively and negatively. I recommend getting the game if you like post-apocalyptic games or first person shooters.
  4. Mar 22, 2014
    10
    Its a dark and atmospheric FPS. If you dont like those...why did you buy it?

    Its a great game..a bit on rails, but if you like the first 1 you will like this more. Its lasts quite a long time and is good.

    The game is a fun shooting game and if you dont like those, buy something else.
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I never thought I would like a sequel to game that is based off a novel. This game is one of my all time favorite games. It has an amazing story that brings together human on human conflict and supernatural to make one of the best games I have every played.
  6. Jun 14, 2013
    10
    You cant have it both ways; The only 2 things holding Metro back are it being released in the shadow of Bioshock and the AI on human enemies was reduced because of compaints of the first Metro being to tough. Well i say when you are one man against trained soldiers "tough" is realistic but now the changes seem to be the main complaint by most.The game is by no means easy. Its difficultyYou cant have it both ways; The only 2 things holding Metro back are it being released in the shadow of Bioshock and the AI on human enemies was reduced because of compaints of the first Metro being to tough. Well i say when you are one man against trained soldiers "tough" is realistic but now the changes seem to be the main complaint by most.The game is by no means easy. Its difficulty seemed to be well paced and Ranger mode is great for your 2nd+ play through. I found the game to be extremely enjoyable, breath taking even. The story line is well done, I often found myself eavesdropping and exploring every inch of Moscow to learn more about the shattered world i now live in. All in all the game play, story and even the combat mechanics were well done and a improvement on the first beloved Metro 2033. I think Metro Last light is well worth adding to any ones game collection. 10/10. Expand
  7. May 16, 2013
    10
    I loved the first Metro game. I loved the atmosphere and the sense of fear and excitement that every turn and corner brought with it. The real sense of relief of finally reaching a friendly station was great fun. The gameplay was tense and a true blast to play. M:LL improves on all of those things that made the first one so special to me. The weapons are fully realized and adequatelyI loved the first Metro game. I loved the atmosphere and the sense of fear and excitement that every turn and corner brought with it. The real sense of relief of finally reaching a friendly station was great fun. The gameplay was tense and a true blast to play. M:LL improves on all of those things that made the first one so special to me. The weapons are fully realized and adequately powerful. But the one thing that surprised me the most is the fact that the story is even more engrossing this time around. I play a lot of games and this one is one of my favorites of all time. If your looking for a quality game with an amazing story and cast of characters then I would highly recommend this title. Prepare to be immersed. Expand
  8. May 14, 2013
    10
    A HUGE improvement over Metro 2033 back in 2010. Almost all of the negative aspects of that game have been fixed here. Mainly the stealth and shooting mechanics. Superb atmosphere that immerses you completely, with tons of creepy noises and stunning sights. The shooting actually feels great now and can compete with the best FPS's out there. The story is also interesting. DO NOT listen toA HUGE improvement over Metro 2033 back in 2010. Almost all of the negative aspects of that game have been fixed here. Mainly the stealth and shooting mechanics. Superb atmosphere that immerses you completely, with tons of creepy noises and stunning sights. The shooting actually feels great now and can compete with the best FPS's out there. The story is also interesting. DO NOT listen to the people that rate it 1's 2's and 3's etc bashing the game. They are talking complete nonsense. Most of these negative reviews will no doubt come from the "angryjoe ranger mode DLC debacle" band wagon jumpers. That is not a reason to bash the game, at all, end of. The publishers are to blame. Expand
  9. May 16, 2013
    10
    This game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. TheThis game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. The atmosphere was amazing, being dismal with rays of hope appearing at times, helping you immerse even further in the universe. 1 or 2 glitches, but that can be expected from nearly any major game. Great guns and gunplay, with the SAIGA 12 being the most awesome thing for clearing out mutants and armies devised by man. The karma system was very different; it doesn't tell you how you are being rated, or when you are being rated, or even whether that particular action matters in the whole scheme or not, almost like in the real world, though they could have added more opportunities to use this system. Overall, amazing! Expand
  10. May 14, 2013
    10
    Finally it's out. The best looking game that I've played so far!
    Love the overall improvements, satisfying combat and awesome stealth mechanics. Got to replay in ranger mode!
  11. May 18, 2013
    9
    Metro: 2033 was one of my favorite games of this generation. The atmosphere, setting, narrative, and gameplay were all something I loved. So when a sequel, Last Light, was announced a year or so ago, I had mixed feelings of excitement and apprehension. How could they do what they did the first time again. Well, in Last Light we have our answer. How do you do something as singularly uniqueMetro: 2033 was one of my favorite games of this generation. The atmosphere, setting, narrative, and gameplay were all something I loved. So when a sequel, Last Light, was announced a year or so ago, I had mixed feelings of excitement and apprehension. How could they do what they did the first time again. Well, in Last Light we have our answer. How do you do something as singularly unique as Metro 2033 a second time? By leaving things mostly the same. Very little here is drastically new, really, but instead is vastly improved variations on what was in the first game. Almost all the mechanics, from stealth to gunplay to trading has been improved. The clunkiness of the first game's controls and gameplay has been polished away quite nicely here. Meanwhile, the tense, forbidding atmosphere is still present, and the stellar narrative is front and center once again. Granted, not all is well. The AI could use some definite work, and there were a few glitches, but nothing game-breaking. All told, Last Light is a game that will probably sail under a lot of gamer's radars because it's different. Don't make that mistake. Pick this game up. It's absolutely worth it. Expand
  12. May 17, 2013
    9
    Awesome story. The dreary METRO is a glorious in it's drabness. Knowing what kind of conditions 4A was working in you cannot begin to understand how they were able to pull of a game of this detail and action. Again...AWESOME.
  13. May 24, 2013
    9
    This has to be one of the most surprising games you'll play in a long time, simply because of the incredible quality of the game. This game singles out everything a next-generation game should be. Absorbing story, quality combat system, none glitchy and a deeply exciting world to explore. It gets so much right a very little wrong... One of the best things about this is that you literallyThis has to be one of the most surprising games you'll play in a long time, simply because of the incredible quality of the game. This game singles out everything a next-generation game should be. Absorbing story, quality combat system, none glitchy and a deeply exciting world to explore. It gets so much right a very little wrong... One of the best things about this is that you literally can play it as you want, whether you want to be stealthy or all guns blazing, this game gives you the tools and allows you to do as you please. Many games have boasted this but when it came down to it, it almost forced you to play a certain style. Metro I feel have learned from these things and evolved themselves a hybrid combat system which absolutely strikes every cord for any type of gamer. If I was being picky I'd probably have to point out the average voice acting and the nudity. But apart from that, this is a game you'll want to pick up. Expand
  14. Jun 14, 2013
    9
    Wow. That's all I can say after playing this... What an amazing experience! I recommend this game to anyone who liked Fallout, Metro 2033 or is just interested in something new and different from your average shoot em' up. The game has beautiful graphics and a much more vibrant world than its predecessor, the underground towns feel alive with activity as family talk about the above worldWow. That's all I can say after playing this... What an amazing experience! I recommend this game to anyone who liked Fallout, Metro 2033 or is just interested in something new and different from your average shoot em' up. The game has beautiful graphics and a much more vibrant world than its predecessor, the underground towns feel alive with activity as family talk about the above world and impending doom. It really sets a tone for the whole experience. The voice work in this game is better than 2033 for sure, but still has some work that could be put into it. The guns are awesome, there aren't that many and I liked that, the guns are upgrade-able now and look awesome. The atmosphere is beautiful, hands down. When you first come out of the Metro, and see the sight from afar it blew me away. The story is something else I loved, with different factions all fighting control and you're stuck in the middle. It all adds up to make you feel an impending doom, as the world is still on the brink of war. I did not like, however, the story picks off right at the end of 2033 and chooses the worst ending for you, and even if you did get the best ending they assume you got the worst one there is no carry over saves. Also, I loved the enemies they always made the environments feel eerie and scared for my life when I looked around a corner expecting the worst. The ending of the game ended with a bang, leaving you with 2 different endings. Just a message to all of you who want a good ending, it's like Dishonored, you can't kill as many people etc. But overall this game is great and I loved it. Expand
  15. May 16, 2013
    9
    Metro 2033 had a great atmosphere and a pretty good story. Metro Last Light brings back that gritty environment, tense feeling, and unique atmosphere. The first thing I noticed is the graphical improvement. Metro 2033 looked good on Xbox but lacked some textures and particle effects, but Metro Last Light looks pretty great in my opinion. There are now a lot of visible textures, enhancedMetro 2033 had a great atmosphere and a pretty good story. Metro Last Light brings back that gritty environment, tense feeling, and unique atmosphere. The first thing I noticed is the graphical improvement. Metro 2033 looked good on Xbox but lacked some textures and particle effects, but Metro Last Light looks pretty great in my opinion. There are now a lot of visible textures, enhanced lighting, and added things to immerse you such as your character wiping the blood and dirt off of his gas mask. Also what I noticed was a lot better than 2033 was the shooting mechanics. 2033's mechanics at times were clunky and not as accurate as you would like an fps but Last Light improved upon that immensely. It now feels very smooth and there is no longer any screen tearing or frame rate drops. Stealth has been vastly improved as well. You can simply crouch and sneak up behind an enemy and either kill them with your knife, or knock them out. You can also shoot out lights and turn them off manually so you do not get detected. One way I would improve stealth though is by allowing you to drag the bodies to a darker area so you do not get detected but other than that stealth works quite well. On a bad note though, but not too common, is the fact that at certain parts my game would crash. It happened in 2 different parts of the campaign but I reloaded and tried again and it worked, so nothing too major. The story and setting are unique, and the game-play feels surprisingly refreshing for the over saturated fps market. Overall I would say if you love a unique game, a good story, and great game-play I would definitely pick this up. This game was made from a studio that had ten percent of a normal budget and they pulled this off, so it is an outstanding achievement. Graphics 9.0/10, Story 9.0/10, game-play 9.0/10. Expand
  16. Jul 3, 2013
    9
    It will win you over. The combat and stealth are evenly fun, the world is wonderful detailed and intriguing to learn about, and the pacing is wonderful and refreshing.
  17. May 20, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light is a game you want to continue playing to see what is around the corner. The game holds back somewhat and then when you're ready it gives you the next story bit just when you're ready for it. Even on the 360 it looks great. Especially good is the option to hide in the shadows or go guns blazing. Its better to take out as many lights as you can and powering down powerMetro Last Light is a game you want to continue playing to see what is around the corner. The game holds back somewhat and then when you're ready it gives you the next story bit just when you're ready for it. Even on the 360 it looks great. Especially good is the option to hide in the shadows or go guns blazing. Its better to take out as many lights as you can and powering down power sources before things break out into a gun battle. If this ever comes out on the PS4 or Xbox 720 I will likely buy that version as well..... Expand
  18. Jun 26, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light improves upon its predecessor in almost every way, the stealth, for example is now fixed and is actually a very strong aspect of the game. The shooting mechanics have been sharpened up so that they are both comfortable and realistic, they have however not turned the game into a run of the mill FPS with little to no recoil or weight of the guns. Each gun requires differentMetro Last Light improves upon its predecessor in almost every way, the stealth, for example is now fixed and is actually a very strong aspect of the game. The shooting mechanics have been sharpened up so that they are both comfortable and realistic, they have however not turned the game into a run of the mill FPS with little to no recoil or weight of the guns. Each gun requires different strategies, and are ideal in different situations, the guns themselves are very imaginative and build upon the already quite original arsenal of 2033. The story of the game is fantastic and follows the more common or "evil" ending of 2033, the story is filled with interesting characters, some great plot turns and some very memorable set pieces. The missions that stood out most to me personally were the surface missions, much like 2033 it felt like a very different and hostile world, and the frantic fending off mutants, reloading, and changing filters in your gas mask make for very interesting, and on higher difficulties very challenging gameplay. Some new mutants have been added to the already hideous and frightening freaks that dwell on the surface and in metro, such as the spiderbug, as someone who fears spiders this added another layer of fear and dread to any encounters i had with these creatures. It goes without saying that this game has a brilliant atmosphere, through use of its supernatural themes the game creates a sense of genuine uneasiness that lasts through large portions of the game, another thing i personally loved was the lack of jump scares, they were instead used quite sparingly which coupled with the great and yet creepy atmosphere made them that much scarier. Another great feature of this game is the graphics, this game is gorgeous; every time i traversed the surface i always stopped and admired the detail and beauty in the scenery. My only quarrel with this game is that it freezes a little to often, you also may encounter the odd glitch, of which i only encountered one, thankfully they are quite rare. Overall Metro Last Light is a shining example of how a sequel should be done, they improved what was not so good with the original, made even better what did work, added plenty of new aspects to the game, i commend 4A games for their work on this game, especially considering the budget and working conditions. Metro Last Light is a great post apocalyptic FPS survival horror game that i recommend to anyone and everyone. Expand
  19. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    I've reviewed Last Light previously, do I'll keep this brief- Metro 2033 was a good game, despite the flak it received for various unconventional gameplay elements and specific glitches it experienced. Nobody can deny that. Last Light steps into the spotlight with a new handler and a continuing story that works pretty well. Yes, the game is a linear game pretending to be a nonlinear one atI've reviewed Last Light previously, do I'll keep this brief- Metro 2033 was a good game, despite the flak it received for various unconventional gameplay elements and specific glitches it experienced. Nobody can deny that. Last Light steps into the spotlight with a new handler and a continuing story that works pretty well. Yes, the game is a linear game pretending to be a nonlinear one at times, that is very true. Yes, it is an action-shooter pretending to be more of an role playing game at times as well. That is also true. However, despite Last Light being a slightly easier to grasp experience than its predecessor, it is no worse off for it. Just as Metro 2033 was quite dark and dramatic, so are portions of Last Light's campaign. After all- Russia's nuked out wasteland and catacomb-like metro tunnels aren't the brightest of places anyway, especially when inhabited by rangers, mutants, and the Reich. Not quite the best vacation spot, if I do say so myself. However, that is not to say that it does not sport a pretty well-rounded, if linear story and experience. The gameplay can be tantalizing and it can be brutal. The soundwork is excellently crafted- from hideous shrieks of monsters and mutants, to the voiceovers for characters and enemies. The stealth mechanics work worlds better than their previous outing, and the controls are finely tuned as well. The story, action-filled gameplay, and the atmosphere itself are living, breathing embodiments of the Metro book(s), and represent that world fairly in my mind. Sure, at times, this game has its problems as well- as most good and bad games often do. Good as the graphics are, the animation work and the texturing can be wonky at times, and horribly panned out at worst. It's a very enjoyable experience over all however, albeit a summarily short and challenging one, and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Excellent job. Expand
  20. May 24, 2013
    10
    The greatest game of this year. But you have to read original book Metro 2033 before play this and previous games about metro. Thanks for the developers for the opportunity to feel the atmosphere of post-Apocalypse
  21. May 23, 2013
    10
    This game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. TheThis game is honestly one of the best games that I have played. Period. The story was incredible, though slightly lacking at the beginning and end. The AI was a major step up from the last game, with it not being able to telepathically communicate your exact position to every person in the metro, while still being difficult enough that you can't just sit around while you are sneaking. The atmosphere was amazing, being dismal with rays of hope appearing at times, helping you immerse even further in the universe. 1 or 2 glitches, but that can be expected from nearly any major game. Great guns and gunplay, with the SAIGA 12 being the most awesome thing for clearing out mutants and armies devised by man. The karma system was very different; it doesn't tell you how you are being rated, or when you are being rated, or even whether that particular action matters in the whole scheme or not, almost like in the real world, though they could have added more opportunities to use this system. Overall, amazing! Expand
  22. May 24, 2013
    9
    Quite a large improvement from what Metro 2033 was. AMAZING graphics, good atmosphere. I personally think that Deep Silver did much better than THQ. I highly recommend playing on Ranger Mode if available, due to its massive atmospheric improvement. Just walking around the tunnels, looking in every corner starts to give you a bit of claustrophobia. AMAZING Game.
  23. May 28, 2013
    9
    This is a fantastic game. The atmosphere of this game is excellent, the music is subtle but good, the gameplay is improved from Metro: 2033 and the stealth is much better than most other fully based stealth games.

    However, I would have still preferred if the game wasn't so linear and there were more varieties of mutants but regardless, the game gets its survival and gameplay right. The
    This is a fantastic game. The atmosphere of this game is excellent, the music is subtle but good, the gameplay is improved from Metro: 2033 and the stealth is much better than most other fully based stealth games.

    However, I would have still preferred if the game wasn't so linear and there were more varieties of mutants but regardless, the game gets its survival and gameplay right. The graphics are also superb and the good ending was satisfying although I won't spoil it. The graphics are also outstanding with realistic sound effects and lighting to back it up.
    Expand
  24. May 29, 2013
    10
    Metro last light. Is my game of the year contender.

    Why funny dialogs the atmosphere is amazing you should first play in English then you play it in russian.

    THe weather storms.

    The gunplay.Stealth is awsome Nice graphic

    you feel like you are in the game
  25. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Metro last light taking off were the last one left off. You "Artem" live with the survivors of a nuclear war that has left Moscow and the world in a waste land. this world is only habitable in the metro's, because the surface is radioactive and full of mutant cross breeds. The game gives you an amazing atmosphere amazing story and an amazing AI. but the game some times experiences glitchesMetro last light taking off were the last one left off. You "Artem" live with the survivors of a nuclear war that has left Moscow and the world in a waste land. this world is only habitable in the metro's, because the surface is radioactive and full of mutant cross breeds. The game gives you an amazing atmosphere amazing story and an amazing AI. but the game some times experiences glitches and bugs that do become annoying. from A.I. just stopping for no reason to getting stuck in the ground. but apparently these bugs are rare so I wouldn't count on you "the buyer" to worry. I would encourage you to get the pc version if you can and if you could Subscribe to my youtube channel AverageGamerReviews2. final verdict 10/10. Expand
  26. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    Put simply, a triumph. Saturated in it's own delicious flavour of atmosphere Metro tightens the shooting, improves the stealth and tells a worthwhile story while doing it. Still somewhat flawed in it's greater ambition but the rewarding exploration and rich, detailed world of the Metro make this less than noticeable. Not quite up there with the narrative behemoths like Bioshock, but Metro:Put simply, a triumph. Saturated in it's own delicious flavour of atmosphere Metro tightens the shooting, improves the stealth and tells a worthwhile story while doing it. Still somewhat flawed in it's greater ambition but the rewarding exploration and rich, detailed world of the Metro make this less than noticeable. Not quite up there with the narrative behemoths like Bioshock, but Metro: Last Light stands firm as a unique and worthwhile venture into Moscow's subterranean underbelly. Expand
  27. May 16, 2013
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played :D Makes me wish I had gotten into the franchise sooner. The gameplay is amazing compared to any other post Apocalyptic game. Ha, kinda makes me wish this stuff happened in real life :b
  28. May 17, 2013
    9
    Not the best but not the worst.

    we can say what we want on Metro last light, I have rarely seen a game with such a universe.

    Very similar to Stalker without the RPG side
  29. May 27, 2013
    10
    It's almost too perfect. I love it so much. It's a piece of art. Why can't Hollywood make story, characters, monster like this.
  30. May 20, 2013
    9
    No new additions to the game since metro 2033 but there is a focus on the story ,dialogues and twists
    Overall the game is a good experience, don't miss it
  31. May 17, 2013
    10
    The atmosphere and stealth elements are hugely improved story is engaging and the gun play is very polished recommend to anyone colossal improvement over the already impressive metro 2033 HUD and menus are easier to navigate.
  32. May 18, 2013
    10
    This game gave me a feeling that im in this apocalyptic world.I played the first Metro,named "Metro 2033"I really like the stealth in this game,and the monsters are realistic that makes me want to play the game in 3D.The atmosphere was really nice about the Moscow in the 2034 after the apocalypse.The enemies,well i could say "humans"are not so very hard to beat.Artificial intelligence inThis game gave me a feeling that im in this apocalyptic world.I played the first Metro,named "Metro 2033"I really like the stealth in this game,and the monsters are realistic that makes me want to play the game in 3D.The atmosphere was really nice about the Moscow in the 2034 after the apocalypse.The enemies,well i could say "humans"are not so very hard to beat.Artificial intelligence in the enemies are not that good,but it's stil enjoyable.The story in Metro 2033 gave me a feeling that im the main characther doing all this things.The game is great! 10/10 Expand
  33. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    One of the greatest games in recent memory. Metro last light hits it with great level design and some really intense sections. The story is great and is a large improvement over 2033. sadly the boss fights were aweful and glitchy. buy this game.
  34. May 22, 2014
    9
    A fantastic game! I haven't enjoyed a single-player FPS game in a very long time. I played Metro 2033 a while ago for about half an hour and to be honest I found the gameplay and AI was awful so I didn't give the game a chance. After finished last light I really want to revisit 2033, and for some reason I think I will enjoy 2033.
    The atmosphere in last light is phenomenal, both
    A fantastic game! I haven't enjoyed a single-player FPS game in a very long time. I played Metro 2033 a while ago for about half an hour and to be honest I found the gameplay and AI was awful so I didn't give the game a chance. After finished last light I really want to revisit 2033, and for some reason I think I will enjoy 2033.
    The atmosphere in last light is phenomenal, both underground and above-ground world are amazingly scary! The gameplay is improved and fun. The story, though is linear, it is somehow made me want to follow and find out what is going on. I give this a game a 9/10, not because it is better than some 8/10 games I rated, but because it offers me a unique experience and I haven't enjoyed a game like this for a long time..
    Expand
  35. Sep 13, 2014
    9
    People said that this is one heck of a disappointment. Ummm sure, not to sound rude but some of them don't really go into great details making people change their minds.

    Metro Last Light is a fantastic addition to the Metro series. Fallowing in the previous game Metro Last Light has the story that seems to capture many peoples heart. If you haven't played the last one which is Metro
    People said that this is one heck of a disappointment. Ummm sure, not to sound rude but some of them don't really go into great details making people change their minds.

    Metro Last Light is a fantastic addition to the Metro series.

    Fallowing in the previous game Metro Last Light has the story that seems to capture many peoples heart. If you haven't played the last one which is Metro 2033, it might be a good idea to try that first if you're thinking about getting this one first because it could be confusing too play. The graphics are amazing to the cramp and gloomy metro to the beautiful ruins of Mascow. The gameplay is great but in all the wrong reasons, first the level designs are great giving off the the feeling of being in the Metro plus the audio helps out the immersion factor making the game sound crisp and fluent though some of the sounds do crack and firing a rapid shooting weapon makes the audio skip and loop sometimes. The company also improved some of the mechanics from the first one; Stealth in Metro 2033 was broken but in Last Light it is much easier making it fair then the first one but also makes it harder to go through without firing a shot on you're very limited ammo, that's also another thing restricting the capacity of your ammo which is okay but makes it feel Call of Dutyish because in the first one it's limited ammo you get in each clip you find with no capacity to stop you from picking it up here it's much easier to get ammo since each clip you find has the max ammo in your clip for that weapon but it's a good thing they didn't change anything with the military rounds except making them a little more rare and less forgiving then the first one, in comparison to the first one it still has that scare factor to it because of the immersion making you feel paranoid in checking around you every few moments in certain parts of the metro and some locations in the ruins, finally the games difficulty (not to sound rude) was reduced slightly because of the improvement to stealth making enemies easy to take out if you take time to think out your route but the game can get harder when it feels if you deserve a little butt kicking. Now the biggest problem to most people is the game does branch off the story a bit because the developers decided to make it a huge knockers feast mid way through the game witch Metro was a game that doesn't need to do to keep the player "interested" when were already interested in the story, also the Ranger mode this may sound rude but you have to be a little dumb to fuss over a difficulty that you don't really need. Sure it was suppose to be released in the first place not making it a DLC pack but there is one thing you could do just ignore it now so people could enjoy an already challenging game. Since the game has a few problems witch sounds like nit picking it's very well done. It score in an 9/10
    Expand
  36. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    Metro last light is amazing. The world is breath taking I found myself just stopping to look at the game in awe with its magnificent graphics and detail they managed to really make it look like an apocalyptic world. Gun play is good as well is the stealth game play. Some little features in the game also made it as good as it was like the gas mask and looting. To sum it up I would defiantlyMetro last light is amazing. The world is breath taking I found myself just stopping to look at the game in awe with its magnificent graphics and detail they managed to really make it look like an apocalyptic world. Gun play is good as well is the stealth game play. Some little features in the game also made it as good as it was like the gas mask and looting. To sum it up I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone who enjoys a great campaign. Expand
  37. Nov 20, 2014
    10
    Incredible dense shooter with a gripping storyline, uber intense atmosphere, great graphics and lots of gaming details (lke the fantastic stealth elements) that make all the difference. You can see and feel a lot of love went into this game and that it's made by an Independent russian studio makes it a real jewel between all those never-ending Shooter Series by big publishers. I've beenIncredible dense shooter with a gripping storyline, uber intense atmosphere, great graphics and lots of gaming details (lke the fantastic stealth elements) that make all the difference. You can see and feel a lot of love went into this game and that it's made by an Independent russian studio makes it a real jewel between all those never-ending Shooter Series by big publishers. I've been playing open world games for a while now and i liked getting back to a very linear gaming. I get goosebumps every time I replay it. Expand
  38. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    An incredible game, all around. I was genuinly surprised how they were able to improve every single element of the first game, while keeping the unique setting intact. This game is a must-play for anyone who likes a game with an immersive story, and would enjoy a FPS that's more then just shooting stuff.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 28, 2013
    83
    It’s superbly paced and well scripted, and though still missing that necessary level of polish, an experience you’ll be remiss to pass on.
  2. May 27, 2013
    70
    Time will tell, for now Metro: Last Light is a solid gorgeous shooter which presents something a little different from the norm, if not as different as the first game in the series.
  3. May 22, 2013
    80
    A marked improvement on the original, and though it does make a few new mistakes, there's a lot here that story-loving FPS fans will appreciate. [Issue#98, p.65]