Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 391 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Under the ruins of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, what remains of mankind are besieged by deadly threats from without – and within. Mutants scale the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt the poisoned skies above. But instead of standing united, the station-cities of the Metro are locked in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is burgeoning that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but motivated by hope, you hold the keys to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 17, 2013
    90
    It's not just another frightening trek through the dark corridors of the metro, but a rhythmic symphony of surging dread and emerging hope.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    As a sequel, Last Light approaches perfection. It improves on its predecessor in just about every way, but may leave newcomers scratching their heads.
  3. May 14, 2013
    85
    If you love a great story and some fun first-person shooter action, Metro: Last Light is sure to please. Only a couple of minor shortcomings hold the experience back, including the much-improved—but still not completely polished—stealth gameplay.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Possibly the most surprising addition are the amount of stealth sequences.
  5. May 22, 2013
    80
    A marked improvement on the original, and though it does make a few new mistakes, there's a lot here that story-loving FPS fans will appreciate. [Issue#98, p.65]
  6. May 17, 2013
    72
    In terms of storytelling, atmosphere and visuals Metro is up there with the heavyweights like BioShock Infinite. But the action is rather ordinary and held back by the appalling AI.
  7. May 13, 2013
    70
    Its world, story and survival gameplay create a unique first-person shooter, and Last Light is a worthy successor to the original game, even if it carries similar problems. In a pre-apocalypse world, Last Light's roughness would perhaps not be so forgiven, but it feels somewhat suitable here.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 2 out of 56
  1. Aug 4, 2013
    10
    Metro last light taking off were the last one left off. You "Artem" live with the survivors of a nuclear war that has left Moscow and the world in a waste land. this world is only habitable in the metro's, because the surface is radioactive and full of mutant cross breeds. The game gives you an amazing atmosphere amazing story and an amazing AI. but the game some times experiences glitches and bugs that do become annoying. from A.I. just stopping for no reason to getting stuck in the ground. but apparently these bugs are rare so I wouldn't count on you "the buyer" to worry. I would encourage you to get the pc version if you can and if you could Subscribe to my youtube channel AverageGamerReviews2. final verdict 10/10. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I never thought I would like a sequel to game that is based off a novel. This game is one of my all time favorite games. It has an amazing story that brings together human on human conflict and supernatural to make one of the best games I have every played. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece, but this one is more unique it has very impressive qualitys and choices.I'm sad it was sold to deep silver not to be mean but I cant see deep silver making another metro. Expand
  4. May 20, 2013
    9
    Metro Last Light is a game you want to continue playing to see what is around the corner. The game holds back somewhat and then when you're ready it gives you the next story bit just when you're ready for it. Even on the 360 it looks great. Especially good is the option to hide in the shadows or go guns blazing. Its better to take out as many lights as you can and powering down power sources before things break out into a gun battle. If this ever comes out on the PS4 or Xbox 720 I will likely buy that version as well..... Expand
  5. Aug 4, 2013
    8
    metro last light does many things that modern shooters do not do. This game creates immersion and atmosphere that most games simply cannot get anywhere near. The world is interesting and begging to be explored. Post apocalyptic games are every where these days and it take a really believable world to ensure that the experience is worth while. Metro last light's world is full of desperation and despair and life outside of the metro tunnels is bleak yet full of life outside of the human species. this game does a fantastic job with the setting and is visually stunning. the game play aspects all add to this immersion as you are constantly checking your wrist watch for how much air is left in your oxygen canister, how many bullets you have remaining and if you can tackle the enemies head on as well as if you have enough filters to brave the outdoors. the game improved the combat immensely from the previous title and yet the enemy Ai is probably the most disappointing aspect of this game. once engaged in combat it is serviceable but there are videos of people literally doing a circle around an enemy and they still do not notice them.

    Apart from these minor complaints the game tells and an interesting story and the atmosphere is incredible and one of the best atmospheres in a game since fallout new vegas. however the game does fall short on AI which does break the experience.
    Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    Darkness... the only friend you have in this surreal, and unknown game. Metro Last Light is the sequel to Metro 2033, taking place a year later to last game. A lot has changed, as Rangers have left their old ravaged metro station for a secret Russian military bunker. But Artyom, the main character, leaves the comfort of his home to adventure the outside world for a last surviving Dark One. But ends up betrayed and caught in a frenzy of a war between Nazis and The Reds who fight over the secret Military bunker of the Rangers. Making this story have a double importance as the main character, as he must help protect his home and friends and getting the last Dark One for his personal issue. But to the game...

    It feels like the older Metro. Very forward, and driven to a goal. It reminds me of Half-Life 2, only without the gritty tone of death and disorder. But the problem with this is the controls. As to the other game was way faster and much more manageable, as with this you get disorganized and confused and it doesn't have the feeling of panic as the first one did, as you are sometimes following a person. It gets it high notes of dropping you into a area of total darkness filled with enemies, but I wanted more a surface roaming playground like the first one where I fought to get to my objective to advance the story, or sneaking around for supplies in booby trapped areas.

    Graphics are clear... even on Xbox... where as the details of the environment make the immersion draw you in, but only if the story doesn't get in the way as the pacing kills the chance to look around and explore.

    Sounds amazing too. As almost everything can break, explode, or topple over. To distract the guards or get your attention to something else... maybe a monster hunting you or getting flanked by guard during a firefight.

    AI has to be the greatest thing. As they respond to situations. As if a unaware enemy finds all his friends dead he will panic and more frantically look around as he is frightened by what would kill him. Even if you hunt them one by one the AI will bunch together and try to defend itself with other AI. Even in firefights they flank, throw grenades, retreat, push forward to flush you out. If they are the only one left they might run and hide from you in fear of you. They also avoid explosives, like gas canisters or tanks of flammable materials.

    It's very good for gameplay, but the story is overbearing and the controls are problematic.
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2013
    1
    Easily one of the worst console ports I have ever gotten my hands on. Pre-ordered the game but still did not receive the ridiculous pre-order bonus of "The way the game is meant to be played" ranger mode. If you enjoy wading around through boring tunnels with a sickeningly narrow and un-adjustable field of view, I encourage you to buy this game. If you're however sane and don't wish to support a company that would cut an essential part of the game out in favor of charging you for DLC, avoid until a major price drop. Expand

See all 56 User Reviews