Metro: Last Light Xbox 360

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 427 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is 2034. Under the ruins of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, what remains of mankind are besieged by deadly threats from without – and within. Mutants scale the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt the poisoned skies above. But instead of standingThe year is 2034. Under the ruins of post-apocalyptic Moscow, in the tunnels of the Metro, what remains of mankind are besieged by deadly threats from without – and within. Mutants scale the catacombs beneath the desolate surface, and hunt the poisoned skies above. But instead of standing united, the station-cities of the Metro are locked in a struggle for the ultimate power, a doomsday device from the military vaults of D6. A civil war is burgeoning that could wipe humanity from the face of the earth forever. As Artyom, burdened by guilt but motivated by hope, you hold the keys to our survival – the last light in our darkest hour. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. May 17, 2013
    90
    It's not just another frightening trek through the dark corridors of the metro, but a rhythmic symphony of surging dread and emerging hope.
  2. May 13, 2013
    90
    As a sequel, Last Light approaches perfection. It improves on its predecessor in just about every way, but may leave newcomers scratching their heads.
  3. May 14, 2013
    85
    If you love a great story and some fun first-person shooter action, Metro: Last Light is sure to please. Only a couple of minor shortcomings hold the experience back, including the much-improved—but still not completely polished—stealth gameplay.
  4. May 13, 2013
    80
    Possibly the most surprising addition are the amount of stealth sequences.
  5. May 22, 2013
    80
    A marked improvement on the original, and though it does make a few new mistakes, there's a lot here that story-loving FPS fans will appreciate. [Issue#98, p.65]
  6. May 17, 2013
    72
    In terms of storytelling, atmosphere and visuals Metro is up there with the heavyweights like BioShock Infinite. But the action is rather ordinary and held back by the appalling AI.
  7. May 13, 2013
    70
    Its world, story and survival gameplay create a unique first-person shooter, and Last Light is a worthy successor to the original game, even if it carries similar problems. In a pre-apocalypse world, Last Light's roughness would perhaps not be so forgiven, but it feels somewhat suitable here.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 66
  2. Negative: 2 out of 66
  1. Sep 6, 2014
    10
    An incredible game, all around. I was genuinly surprised how they were able to improve every single element of the first game, while keepingAn incredible game, all around. I was genuinly surprised how they were able to improve every single element of the first game, while keeping the unique setting intact. This game is a must-play for anyone who likes a game with an immersive story, and would enjoy a FPS that's more then just shooting stuff. Expand
  2. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    I never thought I would like a sequel to game that is based off a novel. This game is one of my all time favorite games. It has an amazingI never thought I would like a sequel to game that is based off a novel. This game is one of my all time favorite games. It has an amazing story that brings together human on human conflict and supernatural to make one of the best games I have every played. Expand
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    10
    Another masterpiece, but this one is more unique it has very impressive qualitys and choices.I'm sad it was sold to deep silver not to be meanAnother masterpiece, but this one is more unique it has very impressive qualitys and choices.I'm sad it was sold to deep silver not to be mean but I cant see deep silver making another metro. Expand
  4. Aug 26, 2015
    9
    Fantastic game, start to finish. A worthy successor to Metro 2033 that has made small improvements to every single aspect of the original.Fantastic game, start to finish. A worthy successor to Metro 2033 that has made small improvements to every single aspect of the original. Some will complain about the field of view or the semi-constant cramped environments, but this is atmosphere in a game taking place mostly underground or with a mask on and it works perfectly.
    Where this game really stands out is in how the storyline unfolds. At times you will feel lost but by the end it all comes together for a terrific climax that ranks as one of the best first person shooter endings I have ever had the pleasure of experiencing.

    For something different in the first person genre, this is a must play, but make sure to play Metro 2033 first or you will be lost.
    Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2013
    8
    Terrified is the first feeling I felt while playing this game, Weather you are in very claustrophobic metro tunnels or large open areas on theTerrified is the first feeling I felt while playing this game, Weather you are in very claustrophobic metro tunnels or large open areas on the surface you will be terrified. There are many improved features such as stealth and atmosphere, It's very intense when you are on the surface, your gas mask's filter will have to be changed every 5 minutes so you don't suffocate. One of the most annoying thing is that if you want the best experience you better be willing to pay another 5 dollars because for some reason the developers decided it would be a good idea to charge 5 dollars for ranger mode. Ranger mode is the best way to play because it makes ammo rare and the enemy AI better. I decided that it wouldn't effect my final score. In the end the game is fun, scary, intense, and annoying. And some advice is conserve your ammo on harder difficulty's because one time I had used up 3/4s of all my ammo just so I could fight a boss. I beat the boss with one bullet and then had to fight it a second time but this time it had little minions. So save your ammo if you want to survive it. Expand
  6. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    Darkness... the only friend you have in this surreal, and unknown game. Metro Last Light is the sequel to Metro 2033, taking place a yearDarkness... the only friend you have in this surreal, and unknown game. Metro Last Light is the sequel to Metro 2033, taking place a year later to last game. A lot has changed, as Rangers have left their old ravaged metro station for a secret Russian military bunker. But Artyom, the main character, leaves the comfort of his home to adventure the outside world for a last surviving Dark One. But ends up betrayed and caught in a frenzy of a war between Nazis and The Reds who fight over the secret Military bunker of the Rangers. Making this story have a double importance as the main character, as he must help protect his home and friends and getting the last Dark One for his personal issue. But to the game...

    It feels like the older Metro. Very forward, and driven to a goal. It reminds me of Half-Life 2, only without the gritty tone of death and disorder. But the problem with this is the controls. As to the other game was way faster and much more manageable, as with this you get disorganized and confused and it doesn't have the feeling of panic as the first one did, as you are sometimes following a person. It gets it high notes of dropping you into a area of total darkness filled with enemies, but I wanted more a surface roaming playground like the first one where I fought to get to my objective to advance the story, or sneaking around for supplies in booby trapped areas.

    Graphics are clear... even on Xbox... where as the details of the environment make the immersion draw you in, but only if the story doesn't get in the way as the pacing kills the chance to look around and explore.

    Sounds amazing too. As almost everything can break, explode, or topple over. To distract the guards or get your attention to something else... maybe a monster hunting you or getting flanked by guard during a firefight.

    AI has to be the greatest thing. As they respond to situations. As if a unaware enemy finds all his friends dead he will panic and more frantically look around as he is frightened by what would kill him. Even if you hunt them one by one the AI will bunch together and try to defend itself with other AI. Even in firefights they flank, throw grenades, retreat, push forward to flush you out. If they are the only one left they might run and hide from you in fear of you. They also avoid explosives, like gas canisters or tanks of flammable materials.

    It's very good for gameplay, but the story is overbearing and the controls are problematic.
    Expand
  7. May 14, 2013
    1
    Easily one of the worst console ports I have ever gotten my hands on. Pre-ordered the game but still did not receive the ridiculous pre-orderEasily one of the worst console ports I have ever gotten my hands on. Pre-ordered the game but still did not receive the ridiculous pre-order bonus of "The way the game is meant to be played" ranger mode. If you enjoy wading around through boring tunnels with a sickeningly narrow and un-adjustable field of view, I encourage you to buy this game. If you're however sane and don't wish to support a company that would cut an essential part of the game out in favor of charging you for DLC, avoid until a major price drop. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews