Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 31
  2. Negative: 3 out of 31
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    95
    The perfect game for every MJ lover and one of the best Kinect games around: a must buy if you're willing to put some work in learning all Michael Jackson's signature moves.
  2. Jun 18, 2011
    82
    Overall, this isn't the quintessential Kinect game, but really, the only reason is because it's strictly a Michael Jackson game, and MJ isn't for everyone. That being said, this is what a Kinect game should be.
  3. Dec 12, 2011
    80
    With its focus on fun over competition-like accuracy, this is the first dancing game to grab and hold my attention beyond just a couple of songs. Plus, the soundtrack is just plain hard to top.
  4. May 11, 2011
    80
    Great effects, highly enjoyable gameplay, smooth graphics and a soundtrack to die for will all win you over and immerse you into the world of the King of Pop, as you take the stage and make it your own, feeling every bit as special and exciting as the very man who laid the foundation for you.
  5. Apr 22, 2011
    80
    It's easy to compare it to the less-tech-risky Wii version or the incredible Dance Central and say that it didn't pass the test. Still, it may not be the most perfected dance title for Kinect, but it remains a title worth checking out especially for those die-hard Jackson fans.
  6. Apr 13, 2011
    78
    As a fan of Michael Jackson, I can say The Experience on Kinect is fun despite its shortcomings. Working through each track and learning the routines is a refreshing reminder of his greatness as a performer. I may never dance like MJ, but after my time with The Experience, I am much closer to perfecting the moonwalk.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 3 out of 12
  1. Apr 18, 2011
    7
    It will be difficult not to compare this to Dance Central as the latter has set the standard for dancing games on Kinect, but having saidIt will be difficult not to compare this to Dance Central as the latter has set the standard for dancing games on Kinect, but having said that, if you liked Dance Central, this is the closest to it that you will get. So until Dance Central 2 comes along or something better, I'd advise you to go for Michael Jackson: The Experience.
    Cons:
    1 - Navigation can be clunky by times. I don't understand why developers make the fonts so small when they should know by now we use our hands to navigate through the menus.
    2 - The initial feel to the game can be...well, overwhelming. Basic moves seem a bit difficult and complex from the get go.
    3 - Singing is not as shaped as made out to be. Yes, you can throw your vocals in there, but it seems to mess it up more than enhance the game.
    Pros
    1 - You get to be MJ. Dance and discover how his moves were choreographed. My wife and I tried a few and was rather surprised by the complexity, yet ease with the execution.
    2 - If you can't 'beat it' the first time, the set up allows you to practice again and again.
    3 - Visual and audio are excellent. That's what one would want.
    Gameplay:
    Songs are broken down into dance steps, not unlike that of Dance Dentral. Difficulty varies and you start off with low settings. Learn the moves, and then get graded on them.
    You can choose songs differing from just dancing, or just singing (like The Earth Song) or a combination of both.
    Multiplayer - only online - allows you to get down with friends. The ultimate future of these dancing games will be when we can fit at least 2 people comfortably in front of the Kinect and have them show off together ~ something that seems to be still problematic for game developers of Kinect at this moment.

    I've read some reviews saying this is a great game for a party starter, but I won't totally agree with that. You need to know a little how this game works and have mastered a few moves before I'd throw it on for the party.
    Also, choose songs with a slower beat, like Billie Jean, before you jump into Smooth Criminal (my biggest mistake) as it will give you a better feel and you will adapt more naturally.

    If you want a dance game and you haven't bought Dance Central yet, then go buy that first. If you have that already and need something else to tie you over for the time, then Michael Jackson: The Experience is it. If you own a Wii, a PS3 and an Xbox and can't decide which one to go for, trust me on this: Kinect will give you the closest to satisfaction needed for this purchase.
    Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2011
    10
    I must admit I was slightly hesitant at first when it came to picking up this game, as I was devastated when MJ died. But once I slipped on myI must admit I was slightly hesitant at first when it came to picking up this game, as I was devastated when MJ died. But once I slipped on my official Michael Jackson collectors edition glove, and began breaking it down oh so low to 'Billy Jean' I felt Michael was alive again, living through the rhythmic undulations of my pelvis! I especially like the bonus levels, racking up points touching as many prepubescent boys possible while the timer counts down is almost as thrilling as the real thing! Or so I've heard. I've often fallen back onto my sofa, in a sweaty mess after a good 2 hour session of the game just to let my gloved hand do the walking... wink wink. It's almost like Michael is in the room with me. This is a must buy for die hard fans. Full Review »
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    7
    I like this game!... music, graphics and animation are good. The Kinect controls make this game feeling so realistic like Fitness evolved. TheI like this game!... music, graphics and animation are good. The Kinect controls make this game feeling so realistic like Fitness evolved. The game is easy and is for casual gamers only but is very very fun. Full Review »