Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Microbot is a an arcade shooter for Xbox Live Arcade and the PlayStation Network.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 5 out of 25
  1. Jan 7, 2011
    80
    This is yet another quality downloadable shooter that deserves both your money and your love.
  2. Jan 10, 2011
    74
    MicroBot's baseline gameplay isn't revolutionary, but for an arcade shooter, it's not bad. Might be worth a trip just for the aesthetics, depending on how much like the genre.
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    66
    If you can play with a friend and/or look past a lot of the issues, MicroBot might be worth a try. For everyone else, there are far too many problems that hamper the experience and prevent it from being the game the developers were hoping to achieve.
  4. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    A few neat elements help keep this tepid dual-stick shooter afloat.
  5. Feb 2, 2011
    60
    Microbot's interesting premise, setting, and mechanics are undermined by several issues that cause the game to be more of a tedious chore than an enjoyable experience.
  6. Jan 10, 2011
    50
    It's hard to recommend that someone drop ten bucks into a prettier version of a game you might play better on a site like Kongregate or Newgrounds, but there really isn't anything god awful about MicroBot, just nothing at all very good.
  7. Jan 7, 2011
    40
    MicroBot is a technically accomplished but sterile experience. As the game settles into a rut, its stylistic strengths lose more and more ground to the sluggish combat, uninspiring upgrades and repetitive stages.

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    9
    I like this game because it's twin stick shooter but way more "zen" than others. It's also really addictive. There are tons of upgrades to find and level up, and the action gets intense at times, but still it feels relaxing overall. Expand
  2. Jan 23, 2011
    9
    This game really deserves more love. It's a steal right now at 400 points, and I think the reviews have been overly harsh. Microbot is a clever top down dual stick shooter that isn't perfect, but has great moments. It has a very relaxing quality that is punctuated by intense fighting. The graphics are really well done too. The upgrade system is also great and adds depth for those who like grinding for loot. Give it a chance, it definitely feels like a game made in a short amount of time, but there is some interesting stuff here sprinkled throughout. For the price, you have to try. Expand
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    9
    As a lover of teh top down shooters, I have to say microbot is unique in the way your ship moves and feels in the fluid environments. It's a smooth, joyful experience to fly around the world, killing stuff. My only complaint is that I wish there was more levels and more variety, but if any game leaves me wanting MORE then I have to give it at least a 9. Expand
  4. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    This game is totally worth the ten bucks for the co-op, graphics, and the tons of customization options! Instead of just trying to overwhelm the player with enemies, Microbot is balanced and carefully ramped. They've actually taken the time to create interesting levels and vary the enemy types. I just wish there was online co-op! Collapse
  5. Jan 12, 2011
    8
    While not perfect, Microbot has it's moments and exceeds expectation. The audio and visuals are top-notch, there are number of fun moments throughout the game, and the price is right. Greeneree is bang on with the "zen" comment, this isn't your usual, bullet-hell, it's a more mature, enveloping experience best played with a friend in co-op. Expand
  6. Jan 26, 2011
    7
    This game is everything one needs in a top-down shooter to be happy, but the levels kind of drag on and aren't varied enough (especially the last 2), but its fun, after the boss fight, to see what the new area will look like and explore it for a while. Some of the annoyances is the search for buckeyballs, where you would have to go through a whole level to see if you actually collected it in that level, where it would have been easier to have a menu hud telling if we collected it or not. The biggest annoyance of this game is the final boss and the end sequence, it's just a pain that the game was building up to this lackluster ending, I expected better. But the game is fun, the upgrade is cool, it gives a unexpected challenge, and coop is a hoot. All in all, you should try this game out. Expand
  7. Mar 16, 2011
    2
    I downloaded this game when it was on sale without trying the demo as it was on the cheap. This game is just awful. The controls are unresponsive, weapons are awful and ineffective, the enemies have no variety, and it is a very frustrating game. While it is an interesting premise being "microbot" that kills infections in the body/blood. That is the only thing going for it. It is not a broken game just very frustrating and boring. Avoid at all costs. Expand