Midnight Club: Los Angeles Xbox 360

Midnight Club: Los Angeles Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 142 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Whether driving by the beach or beating the competition by cutting through a parking garage at 200 mph, Midnight Club: Los Angeles provides a seamless, breathtaking environment for everyone who loves to compete. With no load times, no tracks, and no rules, the game allows players to race whoWhether driving by the beach or beating the competition by cutting through a parking garage at 200 mph, Midnight Club: Los Angeles provides a seamless, breathtaking environment for everyone who loves to compete. With no load times, no tracks, and no rules, the game allows players to race who they want, when they want, and where they want in an unbelievable recreation of Los Angeles. A racing game is nothing without the great cars and Midnight Club: Los Angeles allows extensive customization of vehicles for both performance and appearance. Players can now fully personalize their officially licensed imports, tuners, classic muscle cars and motorcycles both inside and out with a dizzying array of licensed rims, spoilers, interior gauges, tires and more. [Rockstar Games] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Games Master UK
    93
    The pinnacle of the series - honest to the original concept, but faster and better looking. [Dec 2008, p.76]
  2. Overall, Midnight Club Los Angeles is a superb racing game.
  3. Midnight Club Los Angeles is a great racing game that has shown itself as one of the best arcade racers on the market.
  4. Despite a lopsided difficulty Midnight Club L.A. is quite enjoyable, especially if the previous installments hit home.
  5. Midnight Club: Los Angeles is most successful when it keeps things simple. The game's checkpoint events and time trials are the best we've seen, and the option to create circuits from scratch adds the potential for some truly epic contests. For slick graphics, intelligent design and pure arcade fun, this is the racing game to keep your motor running this winter.
  6. Rockstar San Diego has created something good here, so if they release a patch that eases things up a bit, they’ll have something even better. If you are looking for something more beginner-friendly, you may just want to give it a rental first.
  7. Patient racing fans will find things to enjoy, but everyone else should weigh both the game's pros and cons before making a final decision on whether or not this one is worthy of a purchase.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Excellent. There are loads of things to customize your car with, the races are pumped with adrenaline. The police chases even more so. IExcellent. There are loads of things to customize your car with, the races are pumped with adrenaline. The police chases even more so. I honestly can't pick out many flaws at all. Higfhly Reccomended. Collapse
  2. Feb 7, 2015
    10
    This game is SUPERB. I am a huge car & racing game enthusiast (loved NFS UG 1&2 NFS MW) if you're looking for a long but exciting streetThis game is SUPERB. I am a huge car & racing game enthusiast (loved NFS UG 1&2 NFS MW) if you're looking for a long but exciting street racing game that never gets old this is the game. The story is actually pretty decent and there is so much to do in game. The cops have a very minimal part of the game which has it's pros and cons. Honestly one of my favorite things about the game is how realistic it is, the super cars are quite hard to manage in this game. Meaning, that you need to take the time in the start of the game to master the lower end cars before just jumping to the fastest car. Even then they can be a lot to handle, I like this because it makes the game more open. You don't just want to get to the best car and quite playing. The car customization is unreal! If you love being able to mod your cars, this game is second to none. Also a huge plus is motorcycles, they are super fun and well integrated into a car based game. This game is so cheap now, if you're even thinking about getting it, just do it! YOU WILL NOT REGRET IT. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2014
    9
    Graphics, music, driving, customization are all great. The races and police chases are adrenaline pumping good. I enjoyed this game so much IGraphics, music, driving, customization are all great. The races and police chases are adrenaline pumping good. I enjoyed this game so much I still play it from time to time. The only issue I have is that the learning curve is steep - when you first start out, the game can be tough especially with heavy traffic slowing you down and cops catching you if you don't know the map. Also, be aware the other drivers AI is very well done, they are challenging opponents and at times unfair and they will drive dirty and try to take you out.

    Overall, a lot of great things about the game but it isn't perfect. Still a great game though and I recommend it if you like arcade racers.
    Expand
  4. DanG.
    Oct 30, 2008
    8
    I'm really enjoying the game. First impressions I wasn't too sure about handling, but after few plays you get to grip with cars. I I'm really enjoying the game. First impressions I wasn't too sure about handling, but after few plays you get to grip with cars. I find I'm able to corner really well now. Its beautiful rendered city has really nice graphics. Some people say its hard including reviews but I've raced prob 15 times and have won 5 times and I'm not a hard core gamer. You need to make sure you have nitro added to car and slip stream behind other cars or use short cuts to get ahead. But the traffic is set just right its easy to zip between cars. Negative points is cash system, I'm currently getting $300 per race for win. Each race can take upto 10mins. So even after 15 races I'm still stuck with the first car. Hopefully more cash will be given so can buy a nicer car. Also the garage options seem dull and bit slow loading. Hoping with new cars better paint jobs can be performed. Great game though for racing fans. word warning if police chase you and you avoid capture for a long time then get caught, the fine will be really high. I had to pay $1145 once, which is annoying since thats alot of race time money, prob 45 mins play time lost to cops. Expand
  5. Nov 19, 2014
    8
    This game's crazy. It's a total must buy The customizations are great. From nitrous, to different types paint jobs, etc. Rockstar nailed itThis game's crazy. It's a total must buy The customizations are great. From nitrous, to different types paint jobs, etc. Rockstar nailed it in that department. The map, is so hugh, and feels just like LA. They have Santa Monica, Hollywood, HollyWood Hills, Wilshire, Central, the long beach, etc. But however I felt they could of included the southern part of it. The graphics were great. Now let's talk driving and racing. The driving feels very arcadish, but challeneging, and the racing AI is good but sort of weird at the same time. If you try while crashing other racers while racing without this aggro special abilty it won't help. I found that very annoying. The racers do respond to you if you're in first or last. The police are chases are sort of ridicolous. You could lose them and they'll some how find you again. However there are a few cons, and flaws but the racing's, and freeroaming's fun. I was going to give this game 9, but I realized there were too many flaws for that. But it's still a bad ass game. Expand
  6. PeteF.
    Oct 21, 2008
    6
    way too high a ratio of shitty to awesome cars. this game is too hard and not because the difficulty is set too high but because the AI of way too high a ratio of shitty to awesome cars. this game is too hard and not because the difficulty is set too high but because the AI of the other racers is about as cheap as mortal kombat 3. rockstar REALLY disappointed me with this one. sick car graphics, OK scenery graphics, useless and terrible human graphics, and every car handles the exact same way except with variations in speed. and WORST of all is that the e-brake DOESN'T DO ANYTHING unless your ALREADY in a turn. wtf, this game is made by people who have no idea how cars work for people who like to get pissed off while listening to crappy music. and the fact that they stole SO much of the scenery and menu system from GTA4 is pathetic. rockstar needs to give up already. Expand
  7. NajamU.
    Feb 18, 2009
    0
    unplayable.the worst game ever made.i wouldn't buy it if it were the only game made in 2008.the worst in the series of midnight club games.

See all 33 User Reviews