Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Nov 6, 2012
    80
    Younger gamers out there may not see the appeal, but this nostalgia-driven collection is a must have for gamers who remember placing quarters on cabinets to call next game.
  2. Feb 11, 2013
    65
    The Midway Arcade Origins pack gives modern gamers the opportunity to play through a fantastic collection of some of the best arcade titles, but for those who are used to playing these games from an arcade cabinet, the nostalgic feel may be dampened by awkward controls.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    65
    Midway Arcade Origins is a collection of old games that does not fit very well in the actual generation. A product only for true retro game lovers.
  4. Dec 8, 2012
    60
    I hate using the term "mixed bag," but Midway Arcade Origins really is exactly that. A decent sampling of some classic titles that mostly control well with very limited options, and a few games that will leave you scratching your head at their inclusion (or exclusion, as the case may be). For those that remember these games, it's a great bit of nostalgia.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    60
    An arrow straight to the heart of nostalgia. Midway Arcade Origins serves up 30ish memorable arcade classics in a neat package. A few games are still bad, as they were back then, but most games are still quite good. Backbone Entertainment has lovingly transferred the games onto new formats with their usual sense of detail.
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    60
    If you're ok with its price, then you can bring home 31 pieces of the history of video games, pretty well adapted to HDTVs, with trophies/achievements, ranking boards and no loading screens. However, we miss some kind of information about the titles included.
  7. 60
    The biggest bummer for retro enthusiasts is this package's complete lack of special features.
  8. Nov 27, 2012
    60
    Midway Arcade Origins is a nice compilation of good old classics, but the lack of pretty important games (Paperboy?) is a shame. The collection is still interesting for Midway's fans, due to the presence of great old arcade machines into the disc.
  9. 59
    I do admit that I for one loved some of these titles; some of the simplistic gameplay manages to stand up to the test of time. Unfortunately time is not kind to all of the games, which makes the collection a purely nostalgic purchase, not a must have.
  10. Jan 1, 2013
    57
    A mixed bag, with some unforgettable classics but many uninteresting or badly aged ones too, and without any extras to make the package more interesting.
  11. Nov 14, 2012
    55
    If you're looking for history lesson, you're only getting part of the story. And if you are stuck with this game because your parents picked it up on a whim, well, at least you can score some easy Achievements.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 1 out of 1
  1. Feb 24, 2013
    3
    Load of rubbish, having grown up with some of these games I cannot believe how bad some of them are. It doesn't help that the controls are almost non existent for most and just an exercise in frustration. I wish I hadn't bothered and left the good memories of these games as just that. Full Review »