Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Might and Magic Clash of Heroes takes place 40 years before the Heroes V saga. Scattered across five different regions of Ashan, 5 special heroes must travel their own dangerous paths to grow in strength, unravel a demonic plot, and ultimately save the world from Chaos.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    93
    For fans of the Might & Magic series, puzzle lovers, and those enamored of Puzzle Quest (in concept, gameplay, or both), I strongly recommend picking this up. Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes won't disappoint.
  2. Apr 15, 2011
    90
    With a depth and longevity that humbles most full-price releases – including five single-player campaigns and online multiplayer – Clash Of Heroes HD demands your immediate and undivided attention.
  3. May 6, 2011
    90
    With a masterful built and long lasting single player campaign and a neat multiplayer mode, Clash of Heroes is a must buy for fans of the genre.
  4. Apr 18, 2011
    80
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is a good looking, well-presented strategy and puzzle hybrid that clearly is one of the best releases so far 2011 on PSN and even Xbox Live Arcade.
  5. Jun 28, 2011
    80
    A damn good tactical strategic game that has a ridiculous amount of depth for an XLA title. [Issue#73, p.102]
  6. Apr 20, 2011
    80
    A delicious blend that masks its less welcoming ingredients with the grace of Tom Cruise in Cocktail. Its innovative, genre bending mechanics, forgiving design, brisk pace, and lovely setting more than compensate for the occasional unlucky circumstance or superfluous battle.
  7. Apr 13, 2011
    70
    With its inventive gameplay, its enhanced graphics and the new online multiplayer mode, this HD version of Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is greater than the original. Let's just ignore the bad storyline and the poor characters.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Oct 7, 2011
    10
    This is the Puzzle/RPG genre to perfection. It's not slow and boring like Puzzle Quest, where it can take upwards of an hour for one battle. This is more fast-paced, smart, and has a real story, which can take up to 40 hours depending on how you play and if you do all the side questing. That's not all though, you can play online in 1v1 or 2v2 battles. Expand
  2. May 7, 2011
    9
    Might & Magic: Clash of Heroes is this year's Puzzle Quest. Merging elements of puzzle, strategy and role playing, players face off against a beefy single player campaign where you'll take to the story with a few different characters that each have their own main strengths/weaknesses and different units for you to adjust your tactics and strategy. The game also adds the option to play competitively online which is a new addition. If you have the DS game or heard about the game on the DS you'll be happy to hear that the graphics have been upgraded to beautiful HD visuals, achievements/friend's leaderboards added as well as adding on the already mentioned online battle modes. Aside from the lack of variety with the game (things are mixed up with side quests, puzzle challenges and the like), this is the perfect arcade game to keep you entertained and before you know it you'll have spent hours playing this game. Recommend Expand
  3. May 27, 2011
    9
    I am a fan of strategy games and this little gem really hit the spot. At first, the feeling was.."hmmm..this is quaint and simple" with a smirk thinking I might toy with it for a few more minutes. Next thing I know, its hours later and my thirst for the game was growing with each step. Next thing after that, it had been around a week and I had played nothing else. There is something about the mechanics of the combat that is addictive. It borrows a bit from bejeweled in that placing 3 units adjacently is at its base, but the similarities end there. You can build walls for defense horizontally and attacks vertically. Turn timers based usually on the relative strength of an attack count down and then your units charge across to the enemy field, smacking into them with a variety of unit based effects. It feels like Voltron has formed his blazing sword when you light the candle on some of the heavier pieces and it really builds suspense while one of these impending doom bringers is charging up. It is a great thrill when you develop a strong attack or defense and then watch it unfold successfully. Between the battles you walk around to different locations and can find random encounters or treasure chests containing artifacts for your hero (more a general than a combat participant). Each hero gets a different spell that slowly charges during each battle with effects ranging from direct damage to shields or wall manipulation or reduced cool downs and much more. The narrative won't blow you away, but it fits the game. The beauty of this game is its simple approach that yields complex strategy/puzzle decisions. You don't have to be a chess master to beat the game, but you will put your thinking cap on and rub your chin as the game throws twists and turns at you. Bottom line...accessible strategy/puzzle fun that has multi-player to boot, but can also entertain a room of strategy enthusiasts even during single player as different possibilities are spotted and discussed. Dig it!!! Expand
  4. Apr 23, 2011
    9
    If you like rpg games and strategy/puzzle games, look no further this is the game for you. I never was able to play the original and am happy it came to XBLA. Well worth the 1200msp for the single player alone. Did I mention it has 1vs1 and 2 vs 2 multiplayer. The game is awesome. Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2012
    8
    I enjoyed this one all the way through. I don't play a lot of this type of game, so I spent a while playing the game but not really doing combat effectively. But once I stopped ignoring chains and all that (like a dope), encounters became a lot more fun. I enjoyed the stories and the characters. I really liked the art style and the overall presentation. I still don't consider myself a big fan of turn-based combat games (though I've been enjoying the Fire Emblem games and, given what a Final Fantasy fanboy I am, I'm surprised I haven't played more of the Final Fantasy Tactics games), but I'd sure like to see more games like Clash of Heroes. Now, if only the game would have told me earlier on that I was playing like such a dunce, maybe I would have enjoyed my time with this game even more. C'est la vie, I guess. Expand
  6. May 16, 2011
    8
    The first thing that came to mind playing this title was the epic battles my brother and I used to have with Tetris Attack, back on the SNES. It's the ultimate competitive puzzle game. I think I played it a solid 2 or 3 days without a break when I first picked it up. It was that difficult to set down.

    People will throw "RPG elements" in there as if there were any. There is for the single player in the most extremely loose sense of the word, so if you're buying this for that reason, don't. It's a strategy puzzle game.

    Core gameplay has you linking units of the same color together which then fire off at the enemy champion after a few rounds. Defense is maintained by creating walls by linking units horizontally as opposed to vertically or simply leaving extra units in the way to soak up damage. It's pretty simple but it takes awhile to really master.

    The reason I give this an 8 instead of a 9 is because it's horribly imbalanced online. Unfortunately, the two most common strategies utilized by players that really want to win don't require an ounce of strategy and still manage to win 90% of the time. I hope balance issues are addressed because the potential for an extremely deep puzzle game is there if not for that one hinderance.

    2v2 mode is awful. Avoid it unless you really like being paired with idiot teammates. I have been on the short end of the stick every time I have ever attempted it. The only difference between the basic 1v1 battle and the 2v2 battle is you have to worry about someone else mucking up the otherwise awesome combos you set up rounds in advance. Truly a terrible idea and one I wish wasn't linked to an achievement.
    Expand
  7. May 26, 2011
    5
    If you're a fan of turn based strategy games then for sure try this one out as it is fun and terribly addicting. It falls flat as far as graphics and storyline go but that's not what these type of games are about. The main flaw of this game though are the long loading screens. Every time you take a few steps or get in/out of a fight you have to endure a loading screen. They are so bad in fact that I stopped the game because of them. Collapse

See all 9 User Reviews